View Full Version : Merged Draft Threads - Part 3

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Ludwig van Bertstare
23 Sep 2008, 12:42
Last one reached 1,000 posts so it's time to start a new one

That depends on the deal. What if the deal was Lovett and Hislop and our second round pick for the first rounder and a third rounder ?
I am going to get hell for mentioning the over hyped Hislop here

ant555
23 Sep 2008, 12:51
Shouldnt we copy the last page of the previous thread rather than the first page of the first thread ?

Ludwig van Bertstare
23 Sep 2008, 12:58
Fixed.

Spikey
23 Sep 2008, 13:21
Reached 1005 actually. Pick up your game mods....

:p

Ben the Gooner
23 Sep 2008, 16:13
Reached 1005 actually. Pick up your game mods....

:p

I should have started it.;)

Spikey
23 Sep 2008, 16:20
Yes, you should have. But you weren't here when we needed you the most....

Ben the Gooner
23 Sep 2008, 16:26
*hangs head in shame*

bomber69
23 Sep 2008, 20:15
Back to business.

Has Ziebell been cleared for this weeks game against Stingrays? The bump was't that bad..

efcboy
23 Sep 2008, 21:21
is there any live tv coverage for the u18s granny???

its been a tradition of mine to kick back over some bacon & eggs watching the game GF morning. i know its been moved to friday arvo but surely they should televise it?

Windas_Magic
23 Sep 2008, 21:26
is there any live tv coverage for the u18s granny???

its been a tradition of mine to kick back over some bacon & eggs watching the game GF morning. i know its been moved to friday arvo but surely they should televise it?
TAC Cup final is on Fox Sports on Friday, at 4.00pm

The Dustbin
23 Sep 2008, 22:40

Beauty. :thumbsu:

Ludwig van Bertstare
23 Sep 2008, 22:45
I think Ziebell's been cleared.

efcboy
23 Sep 2008, 23:06

i'll tape it and watch it saturday morning anyway - they can't #### with my tradition!

bomba4eva
24 Sep 2008, 03:36
Hird! Make it happen EFC:):):):):)

I cant believe he might make a return!!!

skdhjfajfdskjfhsdfhsder8wr8904r9q0r34918
`324#@$#@$@$#@$!@#$TGEFEDGERT#$T#$hjbcbcdsb,dsJBKJB

Make it happen!!!!!

dssdjkfhdsasdafsjkfhdslfdlhja

bomba4eva
24 Sep 2008, 03:53
James Hardy.

bomba4eva
24 Sep 2008, 04:01
Hmmm but would he be too old? Would he benefit the team? Take a spot of a kid? Be like Tim Watson possibly and win us another flag? Fit enough? Ruin a glorious career? Hmmm.

Hirddddddd.

DonMania#5
24 Sep 2008, 04:44
Hmmm but would he be too old? Would he benefit the team? Take a spot of a kid? Be like Tim Watson possibly and win us another flag? Fit enough? Ruin a glorious career? Hmmm.
Who cares?
Hirddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd

eth-dog
24 Sep 2008, 08:37
not going to happen... but hirddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd

ant555
24 Sep 2008, 08:39
He has been on radio this morning and denied he is coming back.
Can we keep the topic under control :)

eth-dog
24 Sep 2008, 08:42
soly

The Dustbin
24 Sep 2008, 11:41
Greg Denham was on SEN this morning with KB...
He was saying that if Warnock doesn't get traded to Carlton for their 2nd round draft pick, Warnock will register for the national draft and Freo will get zilch.

Interesting...

Would you be prepared to pick Warnock with pick 23 (If we keep it)? Or better still we offer this pick to Freo...

Thoughts

Spikey
24 Sep 2008, 13:30
Can we keep the topic under control :)

I dunno know, can you? ;)

And no, I wouldn't use pick 23 on Warnock.

Scott West on the otherhand...:p

Colin D'Cops
24 Sep 2008, 14:23
Pick 23 I'd definitely offer Freo, or we could just nab him (Warnock) in the National Draft for the same amount, doesn't bother us. Actually, lets just get him in the National Draft. Harvs wanted Kepler & Johnno for free and that's what he got, give that pr*ck Harvey nothing..! :p

Ludwig van Bertstare
24 Sep 2008, 14:48
I'd rather try to package our 2nd pick with Lovett for a mid first rounder to try to get someone like Hill or Blease if we pick Hurley, or Trengove if we pick Ziebell.

bomba4eva
24 Sep 2008, 16:23
Sorry lads. Hird is not coming back:(

Spikey
24 Sep 2008, 16:27
Not with that kind of talk he won't!

bomba4eva
24 Sep 2008, 16:27
I'd rather try to package our 2nd pick with Lovett for a mid first rounder to try to get someone like Hill or Blease if we pick Hurley, or Trengove if we pick Ziebell.
Yep, I like your thinking there mate. Much prefer the second option of Ziebell and Trengrove. Be a good end to a very poor year.

Another option of course is packaging Lovett and Hislop up for a mid 1st rounder. I don't want Hislop to go but there are mutterings about the place that he has a poor attitude and might be on the way out. Is out of contract and would much prefer to trade him then simply let him go. A boy with immense talent and a high pick in 2006.

Draft camp may help me decide whether Hurley is our man or not. Could be a blessing in disguise that we didn't get a higher 1st pick also. Massive question marks over Rich and especially Natanui. Watts I doubt we would take as we have Gumbleton. We may end up with the safer options like Hartlett for example.

bomba4eva
24 Sep 2008, 16:29
Not with that kind of talk he won't!
Yep, positive reinforcement! I like it:)

Probably best that the great man stays away. With him and Sheedy gone it is all about the future now.

*sigh* But boy would I love him to make a comeback for a couple of years....

Colin D'Cops
24 Sep 2008, 16:30
..Massive question marks over Rich..

In what way?

bomba4eva
24 Sep 2008, 16:34
In what way?
Work ethic.

Colin D'Cops
24 Sep 2008, 16:36
Work ethic.

I would say that would be an easier thing to fix compared to say a kicking technique.

Any other major question marks on him?

bomba4eva
24 Sep 2008, 16:44
I would say that would be an easier thing to fix compared to say a kicking technique.

Not too many others. Laziness is his main criticism and seems to be occurring with alarming regularity recently. Can't seem to shake a tag also but I wouldn't hold that against him at this stage of his career. His pace is ok without being express. Very good kick which is his main asset. Natanui is a much bigger risk and silently I am pleased that we probably won't be in a position to pick him up. But then again, there is plenty of potential there.

Ben the Gooner
24 Sep 2008, 16:44
Sorry lads. Hird is not coming back:(

To be so elated, then to have your hopes dashed within 12 hours.

Life is cruel.

Colin D'Cops
24 Sep 2008, 17:02
Can't seem to shake a tag also but I wouldn't hold that against him at this stage of his career.

Cotchin couldn't shake McGinnity off him from WA a year ago at the Champs and the Tiger's recruiters didn't show the slightest of concerns, so I wouldn't really hold that against him.

bomba4eva
24 Sep 2008, 17:11
Cotchin couldn't shake McGinnity off him from WA a year ago at the Champs and the Tiger's recruiters didn't show the slightest of concerns, so I wouldn't really hold that against him.
Hence why I said I wouldn't hold it against him. Back when it seemed we would certainly have a top 3 pick I was all for Rich. Perhaps deep inside I don't want him to become a very good player because for a while we might have had the chance to get him. Either way, we won't know for a few years whether Rich will be exposed or become an A Grade midfielder. Adding some class to our midfield is very appealing but also during up FB for the next decade is appealing. Nice dilemma to have though. Reckon this will be our final top 5 pick for a number of years unless one of the WA boys wants to return home after winning a premiership with us in 2011:cool:

Colin D'Cops
24 Sep 2008, 17:14
..one of the WA boys wants to return home after winning a premiership with us in 2011:cool:..

I like the positivity. ;)

Can I borrow a pair of your rose coloured glasses there bomba? :cool:

Ben the Gooner
24 Sep 2008, 17:15

A few:
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/0565823700copy-1.jpg

Pfft. Couldn't even do it to a team in the top flight.....:p

The average age of the team was 19, with the oldest being keeper Fabianski at the ripe old age of 23.

Colin D'Cops
24 Sep 2008, 17:17
I'll pay that one Goon. Not bad at all. :cool::thumbsu:

Ben the Gooner
24 Sep 2008, 17:29
I'll pay that one Goon. Not bad at all. :cool::thumbsu:

I thought it was cringeworthy, and was about to stop, when I thought to myself, "When have I ever backed away from a bad joke before?":cool:

:o

Spikey
24 Sep 2008, 17:30
The bad jokes from everyone on here is what keeps me here tbh

Ben the Gooner
24 Sep 2008, 17:35
The bad jokes from everyone on here is what keeps me here tbh

Guilty, as charged.

The Donners
24 Sep 2008, 18:39
Matera name lives on at grand final

http://images.watoday.com.au/2008/09/24/216760/matera420-420x0.jpg Brandon Matera.

The AFL grand final heritage of the Matera name will continue this Saturday when Brandon - son of former Eagle Wally and nephew of club greats Peter and Phil - steps out at the MCG.
And despite the obvious pressure the surname brings, given the feats of his elders - including the now legendary Norm Smith medal performance by Peter in the Eagles' 1992 premiership, the latest Matera off the production line says he harbours dreams of an AFL career - while shockingly admitting Essendon are his favourite club.
Matera will be part of the WA side which takes on Vic Metro in the deciding clash in the NAB AFL under-16 division one championship title as a curtain raiser to the blockbuster grand final in Melbourne on Saturday afternoon.
With the two sides having shared the last five under-16 titles, WA are looking for revenge after losing by 45 points in the opening game of this year's championship.
Flying out of Perth today, the WA squad will be hosted by Carlton, Collingwood and Richmond before Saturday's clash with the AFL clubs happy to host some of the best young talent in the country - while no doubt making a few notes in readiness for possible draft choices in years to come.
And Matera said he hoped to be part of that system, while first concentrating on repeating the tradition of Matera heroics at the MCG on the last day in September.
"We always had it in the back of our minds to make it onto the MCG to play," Matera said.
"I get a bit of (pressure) because everyone wants to see who I play like I suppose, if I play like Peter or Phil or Dad - but I have got to play my own way and my own style.
"Some people reckon I run like Peter and kick like Phil, but my Dad has taught me all of it. All the mental stuff comes from Dad, all the tips.
"I am actually a Bombers supporters and a Bombers member, my aunty is a mad Essendon supporter and got to me first."
Wally, who played with West Coast and Fitzroy in the AFL, eventually ended his career at South Fremantle in the WAFL, where he won the Bulldogs best and fairest and was made captain.Despite the footballing ties, Brandon also played tennis up until last year, but gave it up to concentrate on football - and has started his career where his father ended, playing for South Fremantle's colts this year and with hopes of graduating to the reserves next season,
"I actually have played tennis, but I gave that up last year. But I have always played footy ... Mum reckons I was born with a footy," Matera said.
"I have photos of me with the Norm Smith, and the year Dad won the foundation derby medal - so it is in my blood."
And with under-16 teammates Jack Darling and David Swallow - who were both rewarded for their efforts in the carnival with selection in the AIS-AFL scholarships program - Matera says he is ecstatic about being able to play on the MCG in front of a massive crowd.
"I have been watching videos of my uncle when he kicked those goals that day (in 1992), and I have been watching vision of my Dad as well, which has really fired me up," Matera said.

http://www.watoday.com.au/sport/matera-name-lives-on-at-grand-final-20080924-4n8f.html

Can someone shed some light on Brandon Matera? Worth a look at?

The Dustbin
24 Sep 2008, 18:55
He won't be eligible for a few more years. He's 17 next year, not sure if it is next year when the AFL are changing the age of draftees to 18? Ant might be able to help out on that one...

One to keep an eye on.

The Dustbin
24 Sep 2008, 19:02
Found this on eaglesflyinghigh...

Brandon Matera (Bull Creek/Leeming)- Wally Matera's son, small, but one of the better players in the squad. Amazing skills, goal-kicking midfielder. All-Australian in 15s.

The Donners
24 Sep 2008, 19:43
Found this on eaglesflyinghigh...

Thanks mate, that extract has certainly got me captivated! :thumbsu:

Sigmund
24 Sep 2008, 21:23

Spot on I think RIG. What has Warnock actually done to deserve this hype?? I would much rather look to late first round pick in a deep draft

Jonesy1987
25 Sep 2008, 00:14
What do people in the know think about Zaharikis? From the limited amount I've seen of him I was very impressed, would be very happy if he was still there at our second pick.

ant555
25 Sep 2008, 09:50
What do people in the know think about Zaharikis? From the limited amount I've seen of him I was very impressed, would be very happy if he was still there at our second pick.

No left side.

HFF_07
25 Sep 2008, 15:45
Would people here be happy with both Hurley (pick 5) and Trengrove (Pic 23) at Essendon, would release Paddy (Ruck??) and Pears (3rd defender),

thoughts.....????

Colin D'Cops
25 Sep 2008, 16:53
I'd be VERY surprised to see Trengove slide out of the first round HFF, so I think that's a bit unrealistic.
If he does, I'll eat my hat with some barbeque sauce on top.

mick4
25 Sep 2008, 18:56
Would people here be happy with both Hurley (pick 5) and Trengrove (Pic 23) at Essendon, would release Paddy (Ruck??) and Pears (3rd defender),

thoughts.....????

I would be happier with 2 of Gaertner, Lisle, Milne or Sengstock later in the draft..

Do like the idea of releasing Paddy into the ruck though :thumbsu:

bomber69
25 Sep 2008, 19:48
No left side.
Like Zoolander?

DaSawx
25 Sep 2008, 20:14
Like Zoolander?

and Hird, he has a good footy brain

bombersrbest05
25 Sep 2008, 22:11
Are we any chance of drafting cousins

yaco55
25 Sep 2008, 22:17
Are we going through this charade about Ryder again.

Ryder is an average touch ruckman and doesn't win enough possessions around the ground.

I am certain the coaching panel realise that Ryder's best position is in the backline.

Ludwig van Bertstare
25 Sep 2008, 22:23
Are we any chance of drafting cousins

Hope so.

Smyth94
25 Sep 2008, 22:47
Are we going through this charade about Ryder again.

Ryder is an average touch ruckman and doesn't win enough possessions around the ground.

I am certain the coaching panel realise that Ryder's best position is in the backline.

I understand your concerns about Ryder's ability as a ruckman but name me one twenty year old ruckman who wins an adequate amount of possessions around the ground.

Luenberger is one of the top ruck prospects and his around the ground work needs a lot of working on.

Learning where to run and when to run as a ruckman can take years - David Hille.

FWIW, I do agree that Ryder's current best position is in the backline but it would be stupid to not give him more exposure in different positions

Ben the Gooner
26 Sep 2008, 11:06
I see Paddy eventually becoming a Goodes-type player, able to play anywhere, but with key back as an extra trump card over Goodes. Certainly no harm done in giving him exposure in every position, but I wouldn't like to rely on him in the ruck.

The Donners
26 Sep 2008, 14:17
Bombers take aim at lively Yarran

26th September 2008, 7:00 WST http://m1.au.2mdn.net/viewad/817-grey.gif (http://ad.au.doubleclick.net/click;h=v8/3747/0/0/%2a/n;44306;0-0;0;27188927;4986-300/600;0/0/0;;~sscs=%3f)

Chris Yarran could still be selected as high as No. 5 at the AFL draft despite a quiet September campaign for Swan Districts that ended with the clever forward being beaten soundly in the grand final.
Essendon assistant coach Ashley Prescott revealed the Bombers were keen to recruit the exciting 17-yearold and predicted he would be taken early in the first round of the draft.
Yarran had 10 disposals in the grand final but had no impact after being blanketed by Subiaco defender Greg Broughton.
His sole goal came during time-on in the last quarter.

Prescott compared Yarran’s physique and skills to Port Adelaide’s talented Shaun Burgoyne.

“We would love to get him. Chris is a super talent but I don’t think he will last until the second round,” Prescott said.

“It depends on what sort of player each club wants but he could become a valuable acquisition.”

Essendon will have pick No. 5 after coming 12th this season and will retain it unless they lose the selection as part of a trade deal.

Victorian teenager Jack Watts appears set to be drafted by Melbourne with the first pick while WA duo Nick Naitanui and Daniel Rich, who faced off in the WAFL grand final, are likely to go to local clubs West Coast and Fremantle, who have the next two selections.

Prescott coached Yarran at Clontarf Aboriginal College and said he and Paddy Ryder, who was drafted from East Fremantle to Essendon in 2005 and has played 43 of their past 44 matches, were the best two players to come through the college’s football academy.

Yarran burst into senior football this season with best-on-ground performances in his first two matches before he took part in the national 18s championships.

He was affected by hamstring injuries in the second half of the season but still managed a creditable 38 goals in his 14 games. Sandover medallist Hayden Ballantyne, rising star Ian Richardson and AFL veteran Troy Longmuir were the only small forwards to kick more goals this season.

Subiaco started regular full-back Darren Rumble on Yarran in the grand final before switching Broughton to him midway through the second quarter.

Yarran only had another four touches from that point and missed a critical shot at goal late in the second term that might have slowed Subiaco’s charge which resulted in eight unanswered goals to set up their premiership victory.

http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=12&ContentID=99813

Windas_Magic
26 Sep 2008, 14:31
“We would love to get him. Chris is a super talent but I don’t think he will last until the second round,” Prescott said.

Thank god, there's no way we'd use pick 5 on Yarren

Colin D'Cops
26 Sep 2008, 15:37
Bombers take aim at lively Yarran

Prescott coached Yarran at Clontarf Aboriginal College and said he and Paddy Ryder, who was drafted from East Fremantle to Essendon in 2005 and has played 43 of their past 44 matches, were the best two players to come through the college’s football academy.

That's the most important part of the article I reckon. If he thinks he has similar talent to Paddy Ryder and he is a rare type of player, I'd have no issues with nabbing him at pick 5. He looks so smooth with the ball in his hands, shows good goal sense and applies good defensive pressure. The only concern with Yarren from my point of view is his fitness. I wouldn't think he'd be able to play over a half of footy in the midfield and if the supply didn't come to the forwards enough throughout the match, he wouldn't have any effect on the game at all. Interesting to see the lead up thus far, at the moment it looks like it is between Ziebell, Hartlett & Yarren you would have to think we'd take with our first pick, five.

bomba4eva
26 Sep 2008, 15:44
Watched him at tje Champs and he defnitely has a lazy part to his game but when he wants to turn it on he is electric. He could easily become a fan favourite with his dazzling skills or he could be an absolute flop that will never be able to stand up to the rigours of AFL footy. Personally I hope we don't take him at 5 but Prescott rates him very highly. No doubt the talent is there but the application may not be.....

Ill trust the clubs judgement but I wont be going into draft day hoping we get Yarran at 5. If we can trade into the latter part of the 1st round though I would be very happy to pick him up with the security of an earlier 1st rounder.

B-Bomber
26 Sep 2008, 15:44
Maybe they're looking to replace like with like by trading lovett for the pick that will allow us to get Yarran.

bomba4eva
26 Sep 2008, 15:47
The longer it gets drawn out the more I get the feeling Lovett will be packaged with Hislop for a mid 1st Rounder:mad::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Colin D'Cops
26 Sep 2008, 15:47
Maybe they're looking to replace like with like by trading lovett for the pick that will allow us to get Yarran.

I don't think we'll able to get an early to mid first rounder for Lovett, and I think that's where Yarran will fall. Could be a possibility though.

bomber69
26 Sep 2008, 15:48
People are under-rating Yarran alot. I wouldn't be bitter at all if we took him at pick 5. ATM I am sold on Hartlett and Ziebell for pick 5 as I believe they would fill one of our greatest needs.

U Got Reimered
26 Sep 2008, 15:55
Watched him at tje Champs and he defnitely has a lazy part to his game but when he wants to turn it on he is electric. He could easily become a fan favourite with his dazzling skills or he could be an absolute flop that will never be able to stand up to the rigours of AFL footy. Personally I hope we don't take him at 5 but Prescott rates him very highly. No doubt the talent is there but the application may not be.....

Ill trust the clubs judgement but I wont be going into draft day hoping we get Yarran at 5. If we can trade into the latter part of the 1st round though I would be very happy to pick him up with the security of an earlier 1st rounder.

I totally agree. Does anyone think that maybe the trade talk about Lovett will snap Lovett out of his bad behaviour. I hope it is because he is an extremely valuable player, and will be sorely missed.

bomber69
26 Sep 2008, 16:22
Ant, surely Sidebottom has to be in contention to come to Essendon with pick 5. I have seen him a play a few times, and each time has been class. He already has 2 goals and 5 disposals halfway through the first quarter in Murray vs Eastern. Another BOG today could make him feature prominently within the top 10.

U Got Reimered
26 Sep 2008, 16:32
Yeh Steele Sidebottom would be a great pick up, along with any of Tyrone Vickery, David Zaharakis, Damien Hynes or even Rhys O'Keefe...

abers47
26 Sep 2008, 16:50
Anyone watching the Under 18 GF. Some prospective draftees running around.

Kit146
26 Sep 2008, 17:02
who would essendon be interested out of these 2 teams :confused:

Windas_Magic
26 Sep 2008, 17:05
Sidebottom having a beauty. Certainly another one to consider for pick 5. His skills on both sides of his body are outstanding.

Ziebell has been quiet so far, don't know if he's carrying an injury or not. When he has had the ball though, he's used it well.

Tippaz
26 Sep 2008, 17:06
nah.
listening to it on radio instead. SEN1116 are doing it live. :thumbsu:

very disappointed they aren't doing the game at the MCG tomorrow morning, because i am going to the GF and always enjoy watching the U18s GF before the big game.

Rockliff. i remember him from last year. very surprised he wasn't picked up. he's a very influential forward. takes marks, kicks goals, gets heaps of stats. i've heard people describe him as a Steve Johnson type, but i think he's more Brad Johnson than StevieJ. if there's 1 player i want from today's game, it's him.

Zabiell. don't know much about Zabiell, and still don't. i wouldn't even know what he looked like. haven't heard his name called a lot, but the commentators all rate his draft prospects.

Merv
26 Sep 2008, 17:16
at the moment it looks like it is between Ziebell, Hartlett & Yarren you would have to think we'd take with our first pick, five.

I think Hurley is more likely, and Yarran would be no chance.

If they wanted him at 5, they wouldn't be talking in the media about it.

Ludwig van Bertstare
26 Sep 2008, 17:18
Pickering thinks we'll take Hurley at #5.

strategy
26 Sep 2008, 17:22
Scully and Sidebottom going well .

The trouble is thats its ok to be King of the Kids like some of them are but can they perform at the AFL level : ie Palmer , Rioli etc

Thats why i like Robinson ( Tas 18's ) and Cockie ( Subiaco )

Colin D'Cops
26 Sep 2008, 17:22
If they wanted him at 5, they wouldn't be talking in the media about it.

Yeah I find it interesting that'd they're talking about some of them & taking looks at the draft so early on that features on our website.

You seem quietly confident that if Hurley's there at five we'll most probably pick him up, do you know something we don't? Or are you like most of us, taking some educated guesses?

bombersrbest05
26 Sep 2008, 17:29
Sidebottom playing really well 16 disposals and 4 goals just into the third quarter

The Donners
26 Sep 2008, 17:37
nah.
listening to it on radio instead. SEN1116 are doing it live. :thumbsu:

very disappointed they aren't doing the game at the MCG tomorrow morning, because i am going to the GF and always enjoy watching the U18s GF before the big game.

Rockliff. i remember him from last year. very surprised he wasn't picked up. he's a very influential forward. takes marks, kicks goals, gets heaps of stats. i've heard people describe him as a Steve Johnson type, but i think he's more Brad Johnson than StevieJ. if there's 1 player i want from today's game, it's him.

Zabiell. don't know much about Zabiell, and still don't. i wouldn't even know what he looked like. haven't heard his name called a lot, but the commentators all rate his draft prospects.

I heard Ziebell's name quite a bit late first quarter, early second when I turned on SEN for my drive home, sounded like he got a few clearances in a short period and kicked it inside 50 a couple of times, didn't hear him hit a target though... hard to tell via radio though. Commentator said he'd go around the same as Sidebottom, between 6-15... don't know if that means much.

bombersrbest05
26 Sep 2008, 17:39
Steele another goal he now has 24 disposals 6 goals 10 inside 50s and he kicked the last goal from 50 :eek: looks good and preforms in finals any chance for a second round pick now

The Donners
26 Sep 2008, 17:41
That's the most important part of the article I reckon. If he thinks he has similar talent to Paddy Ryder and he is a rare type of player, I'd have no issues with nabbing him at pick 5. He looks so smooth with the ball in his hands, shows good goal sense and applies good defensive pressure. The only concern with Yarren from my point of view is his fitness. I wouldn't think he'd be able to play over a half of footy in the midfield and if the supply didn't come to the forwards enough throughout the match, he wouldn't have any effect on the game at all. Interesting to see the lead up thus far, at the moment it looks like it is between Ziebell, Hartlett & Yarren you would have to think we'd take with our first pick, five.

I've heard the name Trengrove (sp?) thrown about a little bit, will he drop to 2nd round? I've never seen him, kp?

Windas_Magic
26 Sep 2008, 17:45
Sidebottom killing it here: 20+ possessions and 6 goals. He is great overhead, is silky on both sides and doesn't mind the hard stuff. Not to mention he kicked a left foot goal from 50m out.

As far as pick 5 goes, it's between Hartlett ,Hurley and Sidebottom for me.

EDIT: Sidebottom 7 goals and 25 touches, and it's not even three quarter time!!!

bombersrbest05
26 Sep 2008, 17:45
Steele 8 goals now has to be considered

The Donners
26 Sep 2008, 17:47
EDIT: Sidebottom 7 goals and 25 touches, and it's not even three quarter time!!!

Sounds like he's on fire!

I'm assuming he's a tall forward? Do we draft for need or do we draft the best possible player... the age old question! :)

Windas_Magic
26 Sep 2008, 17:49
Sounds like he's on fire!

I'm assuming he's a tall forward? Do we draft for need or do we draft the best possible player... the age old question! :)
8 goals now.
He is a midfielder/HFF

U Got Reimered
26 Sep 2008, 17:52
8 goals now.
He is a midfielder/HFF

He also plays in the backline (CHF), as he did in the under 18 championships earlier in the year. GET HIM!!!

abers47
26 Sep 2008, 17:53
Still another quarter to go - if you are going to kick a bag, today is the day to do it!

SirJimi05
26 Sep 2008, 17:55
I never really watch the up and coming kids play but enjoy reading the reports from some of our posters.

I am only watching today's game because it is live on Fox.

From what i have seen Sidebottom looks an amazing talent.

Highly skilled on both sides of his body and a great overhead mark for his size. Also a dead straight kick for goal.

I also like the look of a few others such as Ziebell and the kid that looks like Thomas (number 13)

The Donners
26 Sep 2008, 17:56
I'll have to take your word, instead of watching him I am on BF! :D

P.S. I don't have a laptop.

SirJimi05
26 Sep 2008, 17:57
I'll have to take your word, instead of watching him I am on BF! :D

P.S. I don't have a laptop.

He looks the goods.

Great skills on both sides of his body, great overhead mark for his size and a dead eye kick at goal.

Windas_Magic
26 Sep 2008, 17:58
Sidebottom's stats to 3/4:

26 touches
8 goals
11 inside 50's

DaSawx
26 Sep 2008, 18:06
No issue here if we took him at pick 5

The Donners
26 Sep 2008, 18:08
Ruddy post! Would've been a perfect 10!!! :D

Deni Rams 3RDS
26 Sep 2008, 18:09
Ruddy post! Would've been a perfect 10!!! :D

we must take sidebottom after todays effort

Ludwig van Bertstare
26 Sep 2008, 18:25

He's had an amazing game, but you don't choose someone based off one performance.

The Donners
26 Sep 2008, 18:28
... the kid that looks like Thomas (Clarke?).

Wright I think... dead ringer! :D

richcogs
26 Sep 2008, 18:30
I reckon you guys are now in the box seat for Sidebottom:mad:. He will be an be absolute super star! Maybe though will go in the top 2 or 3 though.

Colin D'Cops
26 Sep 2008, 18:33
He's had an amazing game, but you don't choose someone based off one performance.

Was just about to post the same thing RIG, though Sidebottom has been named in the best a fair few times as well throughout the TAC Cup season on top of today's great performance.

Anyone have Ziebell stats? I'm not to worried about his disposal rate because when he touches the ball, he always uses it beautifully.

The Donners
26 Sep 2008, 18:35
I reckon you guys are now in the box seat for Sidebottom:mad:. He will be an be absolute super star! Maybe though will go in the top 2 or 3 though.

Watts, Rich, Naitinui, Suban, Sidebottom... from reputation alone any of those would be welcome at Windy Hill.

Windas_Magic
26 Sep 2008, 18:37
Was just about to post the same thing RIG, though Sidebottom has been named in the best a fair few times as well throughout the TAC Cup season on top of today's great performance.

Anyone have Ziebell stats? I'm not to worried about his disposal rate because when he touches the ball, he always uses it beautifully.
Not sure of how many touches he had, but i barely noticed him. At the end of the game, one of the commentators said something like "Another solid performance by Ziebell", but i thought he was very disappointing.

He may have been carrying an injury, and he did some nice things but to me, he didn't stand out much at all