View Full Version : A WAFL thread

i_luv_westcoast
2 Oct 2002, 21:03
Well it seems some have been complaining that not enough is written about the WAFL, so I thought I would try and rectify the situation.

We have 9 teams in the league. Ummmmm, im struggling to come up with anything else at the moment ;). Some help would be appreciated.

Leaping Lindner
2 Oct 2002, 21:07
Originally posted by i_luv_westcoast
Well it seems some have been complaining that not enough is written about the WAFL, so I thought I would try and rectify the situation.

We have 9 teams in the league. Ummmmm, im struggling to come up with anything else at the moment ;). Some help would be appreciated.

Well for starters who do YOU follow? Your profile only mentions the Weagles!

Blues_Brat
2 Oct 2002, 21:15
Any news on Peter Germans walkout of Peel and rumours several players are leaving despite their strong finish to the season?

How about rumours that Wayne Brittain will coach the Royals while Micale takes up a full time position with the Eagles.

Port Adelaide 1870
2 Oct 2002, 21:36
O.M.G. a WAFL post.......well you could knock me over with a feather..!!!!:D :D

PA1870

Keep em comin' folks !!!!

eagleskickass
2 Oct 2002, 21:45
Well i go for East Perth;) Back to Back to Back:D
I would really like to talk WAFL more, but not enough people come on here talking it...and it is now the off-season so i doubt it will get much attention.

i_luv_westcoast
2 Oct 2002, 21:52
Well I support South Fremantle. A few years back I would go with my old man and see 4 or 5 games a season. Don't really go and see them anymore, just watch them on TV sometimes and look at the results in the paper.

I used to live in Mandurah so had a soft spot for Peel Thunder as well. Peter German basically left because he wanted to coach a better team I think. I just hope Peel manages to stay in the competition, because there are so many kids down there that want to play footy.

Voice of Reason
2 Oct 2002, 23:41
West Perth.

The mighty Falcons, the Cardies, the Garlic-munchers.

The team of the red and the blue. My heart beats true.

Great club. Lot of loyal people, good young players, passionate.

Moved from our traditional home at Leederville Oval to the Joondalup Arena, a new purpose-built ground in the northern suburbs a few years ago.

Still make no money, but we have a good time.

Beaten in the GF this year by the all-powerful and completely fair with no extra support from the Eagles or certain wealthy benefactors East Perth (the Royals or Ferals) this year.

Weren't expected to make the Four.

I probably got to about 12 games, home and away, this year and we had 3 great finals (OK, Ok, 2 great finals and a disappointment).

Uncle Steve
3 Oct 2002, 11:00
Originally posted by Voice of Reason
West Perth.
[...]
The team of the red and the blue. My heart beats true.
So West Perth has the "grand old flag" ditty for its club song?

Just like Port Melbourne, Melbourne, and Norwood.

Is there a club anywhere in Australia that wears red and blue but doesn't have "grand old flag" for its club song?

(Sorry to diverge from the WAFL, but I'm curious)

Port1978
3 Oct 2002, 12:20
Originally posted by eagleskickass
Well i go for East Perth;) Back to Back to Back:D
I would really like to talk WAFL more, but not enough people come on here talking it...and it is now the off-season so i doubt it will get much attention.
I moved over here in 2000 & East Perth have won the GF since I;'ve been here.....I wonder if that's coincidence?;) I'm actually a Subi supporter, cos I lived near there when i first moved here, & also cos of Richard Ambrose from Port Adelaide.......Hmmm, maybe I should move back to Adelaide to stop East Perth from winning GF's! :D ;)

Port1978
3 Oct 2002, 12:22
Originally posted by Uncle Steve

So West Perth has the "grand old flag" ditty for its club song?

Just like Port Melbourne, Melbourne, and Norwood.

Doesn't Sturt have that song as well?

hassa
7 Oct 2002, 14:04
If you want some info on my club and visit it's lively discussion board go to http://www.perthdemons.com.au

Our colours are Red and Black. The jumper is similar to Essendons with a red sash, but we wear red socks and for a while were known as the redlegs. We are now known as the Perth Demons.

The Perth Football Club has been around for 102 years and has won 7 premierships. Perth won its first premiership in 1907 in astonishing circumstances. East Fremantle had the game by five points. During the following week Perth lodged a protest, claiming that East Fremantle were wrongly awarded a goal kicked after the half time bell. Evidence was taken from a number of people. As a result the goal was deducted from East Fremantle's score, and Perth were premiers by one point - several days after the match. It must be made clear that all requests for a rematch by Perth were declined by the authorities at the time!

We had to wait 48 years for our second premiership; again against East Fremantle; but this time by two points. It was a miraculous game, with Perth nearly three goals down in the last quarter and kicking into a very strong wind, scrambling to victory in the closing seconds. It became recognised as triple Sandover and triple Simpson and Tassie medallist, Merv McIntosh's game. It was his last game and he gave an amazing Simpson medal-winning performance.

We were premiers 1966-1968 with one of the greatest teams seen in WAFL history, which included Barry Cable who won 3 simpson medals for best player in the GF. Perth also won in 1976-77 and were beaten by East Perth in 1978 by 2 points.

The past 20 odd years have been lean for the Demons. Last season we missed the four by one game - winning 9 games, the season before 6 games and in 2000 one game. We are certainly on the rise. Stan Magro (Sth Freo/Collingwood/East Perth) has been our coach for the past 2 years and has been instrumental in it's improvement. Hopefully we will have Winston Abraham back at the club this year.

Players of note we have produced...

Ern Henfry, Merv McIntosh, Barry Cable, Greg Brehaut, Robert Wiley, Bryan Cousins, Peter Bosustow, Kevin Hill (Centrals - late 70's?), Troy Cook, Daniel Bandy, Winston Abraham, Paul Maher, Richard Kelly, Chance Bateman, Leon Davis, Scott Stevens, Darren Glass, Ryan Hargrave, Andrew McDougall, Mark Couglan, Dion Woods, Robert Haddrill, Steven Armstrong and Damon White.

In fact in the past 4 years we have had 11 players drafted to the AFL.

We play at Lathlain Park, just outside the CBD of Perth. Our club song is sung to the tune of the Marines Theme and has been for decades... the Crows must have copied us!

Hope that's gives a reasonable overview of the mighty Perth Demons....:p

GoEagles
7 Oct 2002, 22:46
West Perth for me too. Have many memories sitting in the outer at Leederville Oval or sitting in the LA Roper Stand as a young tacker.

Would like to go to more local games, but unfortunately AFL takes all the headlines throughout the season.

What are the SANFL club theme songs (many the same theme as AFL clubs)?

tjrra
7 Oct 2002, 23:42
The WAFL still has some fans.......

Hassa
I enjoyed the short history of the Perth Demons you wrote, good stuff.

Jazza
8 Oct 2002, 00:24
As I said in another post, If you want WAFL news, footygoss.com
is the most informative website with breaking news on it all the time.
You will get your dose of WAFL and AFL there.

Leaping Lindner
8 Oct 2002, 00:57
Originally posted by GoEagles
West Perth for me too. Have many memories sitting in the outer at Leederville Oval or sitting in the LA Roper Stand as a young tacker.

Would like to go to more local games, but unfortunately AFL takes all the headlines throughout the season.

What are the SANFL club theme songs (many the same theme as AFL clubs)?

I'm probably a little out of touch with this particular side of the SANFL but I'll see how I go(PA1870 can confirm or deny)

CENTRAL - Same as Hawthorn
GLENELG - Same as Richmond
NORTH ADELAIDE - ORIGINAL!!!("It's a great great club")
NORWOOD - Same as Melbourne,Sturt and West Perth
PORT ADELAIDE - Same as Sydney
SOUTH ADELAIDE - Original(????)
STURT - See Norwood
WEST ADELAIDE - See Central
WOODVILLE- WEST TORRENS - Not sure.Woodville use to have a club song to the tune of 'Woody Woodpecker' and West Torrens use to have a club song to the tune of 'Glory glory Hallejuah'

Hope that helps!

Port Adelaide 1870
8 Oct 2002, 07:15
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner

I'm probably a little out of touch with this particular side of the SANFL but I'll see how I go(PA1870 can confirm or deny)

STURT - See Norwood
WOODVILLE- WEST TORRENS - Not sure.Woodville use to have a club song to the tune of 'Woody Woodpecker' and West Torrens use to have a club song to the tune of 'Glory glory Hallejuah'

Hope that helps!

Leaping you almost got it right...... Port Adelaide have an original song called "The Power to win" and

The Port Magpies have a song based on South Melbournes, now the Sydney Swans club song.

remember that nutty Woodpecker laugh !

PA1870 :D

As an aside..I went to the South Adelaide team of the Century dinner some months ago..well they sang the song, ( you know I cant remember it ) and hardly anyone in the AAMI convention room were singing those that were ,were kinda looking at each other in that sheepish , embarrassed kinda way, trying to keep their voices down......It was..well ..embarrasing..

screech
8 Oct 2002, 13:54

STURT - See Norwood

Hope that helps!

South Adelaide is actually the same as Carlton (We are the Blue & White, we are the Grand Old Blue & White... etc)

Port Adelaide 1870
8 Oct 2002, 14:02
Originally posted by screech

South Adelaide is actually the same as Carlton (We are the Blue & White, we are the Grand Old Blue & White... etc)

Thats it...!!!! No wonder they were sheepish !:D

PA1870

Leaping Lindner
8 Oct 2002, 14:06
Thats got to be a recent thing(last ten years).I am almost certain it was different in the 80's!

eagleskickass
9 Oct 2002, 17:50
ARGH the SANFL are trying to take over the WAFL thread:P hehehe

LEAVE OUR THREAD ALONE;)(j/k)

GoEagles
9 Oct 2002, 19:03

STURT - See Norwood

Hope that helps!

Huge help! Thanks mate :)

But if Sturt and Norwood are playing, do they play the same theme song twice or is the same tune, but different lyrics?

Leaping Lindner
9 Oct 2002, 19:22

Huge help! Thanks mate :)

But if Sturt and Norwood are playing, do they play the same theme song twice or is the same tune, but different lyrics?

At the risk of hijacking a WAFL thread(sorry EKA)!
Same song twice(substitute the ol' double blues with the red and the blues).
Funny story though at half time of the 78 grand final(N v St) a brass band came on and played various songs.At one stage they went to each end of footy park and played the club's song in front of the cheer squads.It was a brass band with no singer so just music.And the difference was.........??????

To keep this a WAFL thread.Will South Fremantle stay with John Northey after a VERY ordinary season?

eagleskickass
9 Oct 2002, 21:32
I think they will stick with him, having heard any rumblings of him leaving, probably give him another year to see how he goes.

GoEagles
11 Oct 2002, 02:54

To keep this a WAFL thread.Will South Fremantle stay with John Northey after a VERY ordinary season?

Yep, the Bulldogs will keep Northey for another year. AFAIK he's still contracted and rated as one of the best coaches in the WAFL, dispite his poor 2002 record.

Who else do Souths have to replace him anyway? Brad Hardie? :eek:

Leaping Lindner
11 Oct 2002, 11:11

Yep, the Bulldogs will keep Northey for another year. AFAIK he's still contracted and rated as one of the best coaches in the WAFL, dispite his poor 2002 record.

Who else do Souths have to replace him anyway? Brad Hardie? :eek:

It was just that my mail was there were rumblings down South Freo way and they were trying to get Neesham again.Apparently he was first in line last year but didn't take it.

Voice of Reason
11 Oct 2002, 13:37

It was just that my mail was there were rumblings down South Freo way and they were trying to get Neesham again.Apparently he was first in line last year but didn't take it.

I went into the South Freo huddle at 3/4 time last year when they were 10 goals down and it was typical Northey - abusing the players, telling them what a disgrace they were etc.

It worked though - they kicked 9 in the last quarter! (Still lost). Doubt they could afford to sack him while contracted - he's come from Qld for them.

masai
14 Oct 2002, 19:57

Neesham is busy with his aboriginal education programme, so he is out of the running, plus he's helping Bomber Riley out at Claremont.

Anyway Swan Districts have first dibs on him for the senior job, when he becomes available.

anchor man
15 Oct 2002, 00:58
Maybe the mighty Bulldogs had an ordinary season but they had to play a large number of young colts and ressies during the year.Northey appeared to do a very good job with the side he had available.Also they lost a lot of the aligned AFL players this year and had to make up numbers from there as well.To finish where they did was really a credit to the players and Northey.
We are the mighty Bulldogs always fighting on
with true grit and courage we win
So come on South lets play the game to win
South Fremantle for ever more