View Full Version : GC17 jumper

magic_johnson!
26 Sep 2008, 21:39
i have come to a few that really stand out from both the threads for us all to vote on.

the pictures are 4 comments down in this thread

jayaa01
26 Sep 2008, 21:50
i have come to 5 that really stand out from both the threads for us all to vote on.

So where are they?

smashh
26 Sep 2008, 21:51
i have come to 5 that really stand out from both the threads for us all to vote on.
That's great, but where are they?

magic_johnson!
26 Sep 2008, 22:18
far out- wont let me put pics in the poll options cause they're all over 50 characters (they're about 60 letters each) SORRY
how the hell do i overcome this?
for now ill just write them here:
1. by tigerdeanohttp://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/1.jpg
2. by tuckyliveshttp://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/2.png
3. by tigerdeanohttp://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/3.jpg
4. by magic_johnson!http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/4.jpg
5. by magic_johnson! http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/5.jpg
6. by gocats63http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/6.gif
7. by mr eagleshttp://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/7.gif

magic_johnson!
26 Sep 2008, 22:18
8. by merohttp://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/8.gif
9. by paddy_mac http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/9.jpg
10. by dale_thomas13http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/10.jpg
11. by crow28http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/11.jpg
12. by tjpeg_44http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/12.png
13. by hot_pies81http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/13.png
14. by hot_pies81http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u227/carnthecattas63/14.png

names added

jayaa01
26 Sep 2008, 22:42
My eyes hurt:eek:

phurry
27 Sep 2008, 02:18
Number 4 would be best but i also really like 8 and 11 it's just a shame they decided againts the marlins.
Without a name #4 is the way to go just needs a touch of the blue!!
I can't wait to see the rest of our merchandise.

Paddy_Mac
27 Sep 2008, 10:37
Number 9 is clearly the best one.

PumpyChowdown
27 Sep 2008, 10:46
11 is the best.

EDIT - 12 is the best.

FootyJunkie
28 Sep 2008, 20:42
I like number 11, but remove the white band separating the yellow top from the red bottom. Don't need it.

zzzapp
28 Sep 2008, 20:49
#13 is the goer, i reckon. 14, 1 and 2 aren't too bad either..

KUNG FU
29 Sep 2008, 11:43
#11 easily

KWAH FAN
29 Sep 2008, 11:56
Hang on, let me slip my transistions on before i view them.

Mr Crow!
29 Sep 2008, 14:42
I like 12 ... although it is a conservative choice. The one with the wave from the Geelong league is pretty good if they want to go for something radical.

mattdamon12
29 Sep 2008, 14:45
I think 8 is the best! the marlon looks preety good mate!

KUNG FU
29 Sep 2008, 14:56
I like number 11, but remove the white band separating the yellow top from the red bottom. Don't need it.

Thats #12

CoastBhoy
29 Sep 2008, 16:34
12 for me.

Azzballz Deluxe
29 Sep 2008, 22:24
Number 2 for mine

MELTY
29 Sep 2008, 22:30
should have a big doodle in the middle of it i think, thoughts?

RatPlatten44
30 Sep 2008, 00:22
Should be Gold Coast Sharks or Marlins for sure, Not just Gold Coast or how will you sell merchandise?, GC on a jumper would be too boring. Maybe they are keeping the naming opening incase of a relocation?

Pessimistic
30 Sep 2008, 06:18
No 1 or 5 using the lifeguard flag is a winner.

I'm up here on hols and that flag is literally everywhere - everytime I see it I think of GC17.

Its like a billion dollars of free advertising

Pessimistic
30 Sep 2008, 06:19
Should be Gold Coast Sharks or Marlins for sure, Not just Gold Coast or how will you sell merchandise?, GC on a jumper would be too boring. Maybe they are keeping the naming opening incase of a relocation?

They have 2 years to come up with something - why would you release all your big attractions 2 years too early ?

Lordifan
30 Sep 2008, 11:39
9 is hideous. They'd go for it if they were to be called Gold Coast Clowns. All they'd need would be facepaint and balloon animals.
And elephant crap.

Paddy_Mac
30 Sep 2008, 11:45
9 is hideous. They'd go for it if they were to be called Gold Coast Clowns. All they'd need would be facepaint and balloon animals.
And elephant crap.
As if! At least it's innovative. If it was the Gold Coast Clowns it would have polka-dots. Do you want me to make one.

Paddy_Mac
30 Sep 2008, 12:12
As if! At least it's innovative. If it was the Gold Coast Clowns it would have polka-dots. Do you want me to make one.
Here we are. The Gold Coast Clowns.
http://i203.photobucket.com/albums/aa248/Paddy_Mac/gfeg.gif
Do do do-do do-do do do do-do...

Bezerka
30 Sep 2008, 12:21

But Colours need to be changed.

magic_johnson!
30 Sep 2008, 18:16
i sent a link of this thread to the GC17 website
hope they check it out and see what we have come up with :thumbsu:

roylandroos
30 Sep 2008, 20:03
how do you post pics on this

magic_johnson!
30 Sep 2008, 20:10
you mkae a photobucket acount on www.photobucket.com (http://www.photobucket.com)
upload the pics onto that website
then copy and paste the img code into a reply

LeeARM
30 Sep 2008, 20:33
i'll go with #7

Paddy_Mac
30 Sep 2008, 21:48
I'd be a millionaire if everyone who's asked me this gave me $1.

Deenamite
1 Oct 2008, 12:40
2 or 12.

joduffy
1 Oct 2008, 13:54
I simply love the interest everyone shows in the GC17 bid however what we now know about the bid committee is that they ignore suggestions and put their faith in the cafe latte marketing set that beleive their goal is to inovate while pushing aside the opinions of the potential fan base. We didn't get a nickname or a decent mascot, maybe they'll decide that Gold Coast FC will buck tradition and wear mesh singlets and bike shorts...who knows?

1 Oct 2008, 14:51
I simply love the interest everyone shows in the GC17 bid however what we now know about the bid committee is that they ignore suggestions ?

Maybe they only took suggestions from GC supporters not people with vested interests.

Salad dodger
1 Oct 2008, 15:02
All too busy in my opinion, the best jumpers are two colours of basic design. as evidence I submit

Good
North
Pies
Cats
Dons
Tigs

Bad
Port too busy too many colours
Freo see above
the old Eagles jumper from a couple of years ago
the poos and wees when they have the mainly blue with diamond shaped yellow and brown just hidious

In other words two colours in a simple design is the right way to go, just because modern tech allows for more elabirate design doesn't mean you should adopt it. in this case less is more.

Yellow jumper CGFC (links as per the Carlton jumper) in Maroon with Maroon shorts. simple, queenland and instantly recognisible.

LeeARM
1 Oct 2008, 18:22
Yellow jumper CGFC (links as per the Carlton jumper) in Maroon with Maroon shorts. simple, queenland and instantly recognisible.

you dont think that might be a bit too much like brisbane bears? plus you have to remember this club is a new franchise trying to look "exciting" as they've said, carltons jumpers hardly exciting.

plus i think both west coasts jumpers look good at the moment

Azzballz Deluxe
1 Oct 2008, 18:25
All too busy in my opinion, the best jumpers are two colours of basic design. as evidence I submit

Good
North
Pies
Cats
Dons
Tigs

Bad
Port too busy too many colours
Freo see above
the old Eagles jumper from a couple of years ago
the poos and wees when they have the mainly blue with diamond shaped yellow and brown just hidious

In other words two colours in a simple design is the right way to go, just because modern tech allows for more elabirate design doesn't mean you should adopt it. in this case less is more.

Not gonna happen matey

They've already said they are going to buck tradition and go for something "sexy" :o

But if they go for something like number 2, it should be alright. :thumbsu:

LeeARM
1 Oct 2008, 18:43
hmm 11's nice but it needs a brighter orange and a blue instead of black and number 8 would be a better clash for it.

are we allowed to combine 2 designs for a home and a clash?
well, i did anyway

Mitchell Madness
1 Oct 2008, 18:55
Not trolling here, but the proposed colours are very simmilar to the dogs... wouldnt be surprised if they are shafted to the GC in a Fitzroy/Bears style

Father Jack
2 Oct 2008, 19:30
12 and 13 look like they could be a goer, they may be a bit bulldogish, but Adelaide got away with something similar re Geelong. No 3 looks a bit like West Coast, oddly enough.

joduffy
3 Oct 2008, 12:58
Maybe they only took suggestions from GC supporters not people with vested interests.

It's hard not to be cynical after hearing some in the bid committee had never seen an live AFL game. High flyers rise and fall on the Gold Coast like the tide. Rather than being hijacked by those who think they'll make a dollar or two, we need people with serious football cred or we will struggle. Engaging the supporters is vital but so far they've failed. Send us Sheedy to teach them something about the heart of the game. Please.

MarketingTosser
5 Oct 2008, 15:50
Got to admit that I like the idea of a two colour design as well. As an ex-pat Queenslander, I'm missing the excitement of another team joining the AFL from my home state. But I also agree with some of the comments on the 'baggage' about trying to make a new team without all the reminders of the 'bad news' bears.

Further, if you go with a yellow jersey, there's always the opening for those magpie supporters to use the 'you're yellow' (a coward) chant at the point in the game that 'Joffa' indicates that the match is over...

Got to ask- why on earth are they planning to go with a mix of red, blue and yellow? They're already being used to death in this comp. Why not use ochre/gold (for sand/Gold coast), olive-green (for the fertility and symbolism of the hinterland), silver (for prosperity) and Sky-blue (The weather)?

If they want a radical design (that doesn't date), they just need to keep the design timeless. OK, so they don't want stripes and a yoke to the colours. So, have the complete back panel in Silver, and the front in olive green. On the left breast of the jersey print Gold (on top of) Coast in ochre on sky-blue, and do the same on the back for the numbers. If you really want to make the jersey more stylised, you could always have a tall sand dune crossing the front and back panels under the arms.

In any case, this sort of jersey would be simple and attractive, and instantly recognisable.

Sure, it's four colours, but then again, you could always take the Freo road and produce some killer 'tartan' tie designs as well.

Cheers!

Stereophonic
5 Oct 2008, 16:03
A poll has now been added for this thread.

You can now choose your preferred GC Footy jumper:thumbsu:

LeeARM
5 Oct 2008, 17:00
geez, i wonder who voted number 9...

Paddy_Mac
5 Oct 2008, 17:05
geez, i wonder who voted number 9...
Ummm me. Well I did make it and I think it's good.

LeeARM
5 Oct 2008, 17:32
Ummm me. Well I did make it and I think it's good.

oh, i knew. you dont think its a bit... well it hurts your eyes

magic_johnson!
6 Oct 2008, 16:21
13- would be very easy to make a clash jumper for

Pessimistic
6 Oct 2008, 18:51
http://i451.photobucket.com/albums/qq233/drodgers34/goldcoastfc.jpg

Used your designs as a base. was on the GC the last week and thought the guards flag is iconic.

Its the flag against a blue sky and white sandy beach

LeeARM
6 Oct 2008, 19:09
http://i451.photobucket.com/albums/qq233/drodgers34/goldcoastfc.jpg

Used your designs as a base. was on the GC the last week and thought the guards flag is iconic.

i like the idea. it might need some experimenting with though (screwin around with colours)

peas_and_corn
7 Oct 2008, 13:55
Voted four as it's my favourite that uses the announced colours, though my favourite is 8. Will be a bit of a lurker on this board, hope the club is successful :)

Ludwig van Bertstare
7 Oct 2008, 15:04
#4 is my favourite.

Banga19
7 Oct 2008, 16:54
#13 all the way:thumbsu:

buddymania
8 Oct 2008, 03:32
http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/7265/gcjumpersyj0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img100
.imageshack.us/img100/gcjumpersyj0.jpg/1/w850.png (http://g.imageshack.us/img100/gcjumpersyj0.jpg/1/)

This might be a bit easier for comparison :thumbsu:

In order i like: 5,12,1,4,13,2 and should be called the Gold Cost Giants or Goliaths

buddymania
8 Oct 2008, 03:53
http://img355.imageshack.us/img355/866/gcjumperalterationxp8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img355.imageshack.us/img355/gcjumperalterationxp8.jpg/1/w317.png (http://g.imageshack.us/img355/gcjumperalterationxp8.jpg/1/)

i think 5 would look good with the GC having white following the writing around on the jumper... can kind of see what im trying to get at. maybe someone whos a wiz at this stuff can do a better one :)

MacMum
8 Oct 2008, 03:54
Number 4 would be best but i also really like 8 and 11 it's just a shame they decided againts the marlins.
Without a name #4 is the way to go just needs a touch of the blue!!
I can't wait to see the rest of our merchandise.

Yes, I also like 4 and 8.......needs to be colours and design completely different to any in use now..

Amers
8 Oct 2008, 10:00
1 or 13 for me. Some good designs in there though, well done to those who created them !!

HBF
8 Oct 2008, 11:09
I like #10.

Beerfish
8 Oct 2008, 12:25
Please let it be number 9...

smileatme
8 Oct 2008, 18:41
seven as the home strip and six as the away.

sausageroll
8 Oct 2008, 22:18
Sorry guys

Although there a some great efforts in there I don't really like any of them:(

magic_johnson!
9 Oct 2008, 16:30
seven as the home strip and six as the away.
so u want the team to have like 6 colours?

TIGER CONVERT
9 Oct 2008, 21:16
I think 8 also and i think 2 or 6 as a reserves or TAC cup jumper.

trotto
9 Oct 2008, 21:56
number 2

TIGER CONVERT
10 Oct 2008, 08:58
i think of the number 8 as being the AFL jumper and 6 and 10 as being the reserves and the TAC jumpers.

joduffy
10 Oct 2008, 10:41
They have 2 years to come up with something - why would you release all your big attractions 2 years too early ?

I don't disagree with that but they asked for suggestions, people voted on their web site so naturally the locals here thought there would be one selected and therefore announced at the launch. It was the hot topic around here and generated hype any marketing team would die for. Most people now have no idea what is happening because they said the name would 'evolve'. Could someone explain what that means because we are left scratching our heads. I like the name 'Suns':thumbsu: but happy with anything except the 'Ironmen'.:thumbsd:
P.S. Like your jumper except it needs blue on the back so it doesn't look like the Swans.:)

DrEvil
10 Oct 2008, 12:53
9 would instantly make GC my second team

Team Mo'
10 Oct 2008, 17:53
Number 9 looks like a Ronald Mcdonald outfit. Bloody horrible!

mess
10 Oct 2008, 18:08
Surprised that my 2 favourites are the 2 favourites.
Well voted people!

longytap
11 Oct 2008, 18:05
number 10

LeeARM
11 Oct 2008, 18:50
im suprised number 4 is equal first
personally i find 1 and 4 a bit plain and they dont really fit GC17's idea of "exciting" and "sexy"

i think this is what they'd prefer...
http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e246/LeeARM/SexyFlandersGCFC.jpg

Stereophonic
11 Oct 2008, 19:02
Bit too Brisbane Lions for mine:thumbsu:

SainterSimmo09
11 Oct 2008, 22:16
I think #1 but change the white stripe to blue and then have blue shorts and then it will be awesome!!! If someone could make that it would be appreciated because i dont know how to make it, i tryed on paint but nah. #1 but change the stripe to blue and blue shorts for me.

AdamB
13 Oct 2008, 16:55
I really like number one....the front of it looks like the top of a beer in a pilsner glass...its got my vote

stuart27
13 Oct 2008, 17:29
personally i find 1 and 4 a bit plain and they dont really fit GC17's idea of "exciting" and "sexy"

Stupid Sexy Flanders!

One, Two or Twelve are the ones I'm liking, but I'm worried that GC will try to go a bit too modern and Brisbane-Lions-Clash-Jumper-y for their own good.

Athomas
13 Oct 2008, 19:02
I like 4. 1 is simple, but good too.

peas_and_corn
13 Oct 2008, 20:23
Maybe after a bit longer the top 4/5 could be taken out and a poll done on those?

magic_johnson!
24 Oct 2008, 19:10
Maybe after a bit longer the top 4/5 could be taken out and a poll done on those?
good idea :thumbsu:
maybe do that mid november-ish

Father Jack
25 Oct 2008, 00:32

I think this suggestion has potential.

Kapow!!!
31 Oct 2008, 10:47
I'm a fan of Mero's design, a couple of them look really good though. My idea (and a pity that I'm pretty well computer illiterate so I couldn't make this one) would be a Bulldogs style jumper with the Gold being the dominant colour, white the colour in the mid region circular sash and a black marlin or stingray in their. Though I guess with the colours already decided that'd have to be blue in the middle with a red marlin which would look rather gruesome.

HSSB
23 Nov 2008, 15:34
I like number 1 the best, ones like the chequered guernsey are just ugly

a1104201
17 Dec 2008, 11:44
Is it true that the GC colours are going to be Blue Red and Gold? As a South Aussie I don't think it can be considering that is our State colours. Number 6 is by far the best guernsey but instead of orange perhaps incorporate some maroon. Got to have some queensland in there. The 1st jumper looks like the swans top but with yellow instead of white??