View Full Version : Still the best season ever....
Sadly, the Hawks look like winning the flag, but looking on the bright side of this terrible event, our 2000 team is still the best ever! :thumbsu:
Yay! :)
BabyBombers
27 Sep 2008, 17:10
Totally unrelated just wondering if you or anyone knows whether Lloyd won mark of the year?? It was a ripper.
gdaytiger2001
27 Sep 2008, 17:42
Sadly, the Hawks look like winning the flag, but looking on the bright side of this terrible event, our 2000 team is still the best ever! :thumbsu:
Common spikey lets give the Hawks their due they were brilliant today but give us a few years and we will be back on the big stage again!
Watched the 2000 flag again last night made me wonder if the bombers of 2000 or the blues of 1995, i wonder how they would have gone today because they are still the two best sides i have ever seen play.
Ben the Gooner
27 Sep 2008, 17:48
Just wanted to pop in quickly with my new sig.:thumbsu:
But **** off, Hawthorn.:thumbsd:
Just so you know, I'm stealing that.
AndyLesPaul
27 Sep 2008, 18:05
Lol its like geelong did an opposite 2000-2001
16ish wins several losses, a premiership
24-1, grand final loss. hahaha
theres no point having a season of 21-1 if you dont win the grand final
essendon 2000 > geelong 2008 by a lot
Over a two year period we look pretty much the same. I don't know why people bother with it anyway. Geelong supporters still have their GF win and who was the best overall side will never change it.
If by chance they come back and play in another GF next year you could say they are a better side becasue in the three year period they playing in three grand finals.
The whole rating of sides from different eras is totaly pointless becasue it is all based on opinion.
As for your sigs, well guys the Geelong supporters can always reply with "have won a flag in the last 5 years " ;):)
bomba4eva
27 Sep 2008, 19:24
Why 5 when they can say 7?
Our team was superior, we know it and now it has been confirmed:):thumbsu:
Why 5 when they can say 7?
Our team was superior, we know it and now it has been confirmed:):thumbsu:
How has it been confirmed. By my count both sides have 1 win and 1 loss :)
I think he's saying the best over one season, as opposed to an era.
And in that regard, we happily take the cake. :)
I never rate one season. I have real trouble saying that we where the best team ever, even for that year, when IMO we underachieved with that squad.
If that side was one of the best ever it would not have lost a prelim final to Carlton in 99.
I never rate one season. I have real trouble saying that we where the best team ever, even for that year, when IMO we underachieved with that squad.
If that side was one of the best ever it would not have lost a prelim final to Carlton in 99.
True, there's never the same happiness in a season as there is an era.
However, looking beyond that, what we did in 2000 was extraordinary, and the true measure of its greatness was confirmed today.
bomba4eva
27 Sep 2008, 20:23
Yes, quite clearly that is what I meant. And yes, we happily take the cake:)
OzBomber
27 Sep 2008, 20:28
Totally unrelated just wondering if you or anyone knows whether Lloyd won mark of the year?? It was a ripper.Hasn't been mentioned anywhere.
windyhill
28 Sep 2008, 00:00
Night flag as well, no -one will dominate a season like 2000. Night flag/Day flag, just ask Johnny Blakey.
TimeIsRunningOut
28 Sep 2008, 00:10
Night flag as well, no -one will dominate a season like 2000. Night flag/Day flag, just ask Johnny Blakey.
5p76ad8wukI
Sensational.
windyhill
28 Sep 2008, 00:14
5p76ad8wukI
Sensational.
T.I.R.O, you are killing me brother . I love it.
Sam the RAMA fan
28 Sep 2008, 06:28
Just so you know, I'm stealing that.
Me 3. ;)
The Donners
28 Sep 2008, 09:07
How many sides could make it to the prelim without arguably one of its greatest ever players, James Hird. That's not an excuse for losing, that's a legitimate reason!
Hirdismyhero
28 Sep 2008, 09:56
Just wanted to pop in quickly with my new sig.:thumbsu:
But **** off, Hawthorn.:thumbsd:
I'm stealing it too.
:)
How many sides could make it to the prelim without arguably one of its greatest ever players, James Hird. That's not an excuse for losing, that's a legitimate reason!
Yet we still should have won that game. Hird or no Hird it was a choke. We finished the year as one of the best two sides without Hird playing many games at all yet could not make the GF. It was an under achievment simple as that.It is not like we lost Hird the week before, he went down with injury in round 2.
You guys know I made this topic with my tongue in check right?
Bomberbrilliance
28 Sep 2008, 15:48
I don’t know if you have noticed this but there are some startling facts between the 2001 Essendon Grand Final loss and the 2008 Geelong Grand Final loss.
-Both Essendon and Geelong won the Grand Final the year before easily (2000&2007)
-Both teams went into there back to back Grand Final as heavy favorites.
-Both sides were going for back to backs.
-Both sides had tough Prelims the week before while there opposition had easy wins.
-Both Grand Final days were unusually warm and sunny.
-Both the Dons and the Cats finished top of the ladder two seasons in a row.
-Both sides played sides (Brisbane and Hawthorn) who finished second on the ladder.
-Both sides started the game well and were in control in the 1st half.
-Both the Essendon and Geelong captains (Hird and Harley) had little effect on the match due to injury.
-Both sides were over-run in the second half by a fast, young, running team.
-Both Essendon and Geelong lost by 26 points.
-7 years before the 2008 Grand Final Essendon lost the 2001 Grand Final and 7 years before the 2001 Grand Final, Geelong lost to West Coast in the 1994 Grand Final.
FREAKY MUCH? :eek:
OzBomber
28 Sep 2008, 15:53
I don’t know if you have noticed this but there are some startling facts between the 2001 Essendon Grand Final loss and the 2008 Geelong Grand Final loss.
-Both Essendon and Geelong won the Grand Final the year before easily (2000&2007)
-Both sides had tough Prelims the week before while there opposition had easy wins.
-Both sides played sides (Brisbane and Hawthorn) who finished second on the ladder.
-Both the Essendon and Geelong captains (Hird and Harley) had little effect on the match due to injury.
-7 years before the 2008 Grand Final Essendon lost the 2001 Grand Final and 7 years before the 2001 Grand Final, Geelong lost to West Coast in the 1994 Grand Final.
Both covered by channel 7. :eek:
It's just a coincidence.
Bomberbrilliance
28 Sep 2008, 15:55
Both covered by channel 7. :eek:
It's just a coincidence.
lol yeh deffs but still its weird
TimeIsRunningOut
28 Sep 2008, 16:33
I don't think we were really heavy favourites leading into the 2001 GF. Brisbane were going into the match on a 15 match winning streak (beating Essendon along the way). The two teams were only separated by percentage after 22 rounds, Brisbane had the better run of form during the finals and we had numerous injury worries.
Bomberbrilliance
28 Sep 2008, 16:48
I don't think we were really heavy favourites leading into the 2001 GF. Brisbane were going into the match on a 15 match winning streak (beating Essendon along the way). The two teams were only separated by percentage after 22 rounds, Brisbane had the better run of form during the finals and we had numerous injury worries.
we went in favourites none the less.
OzBomber
28 Sep 2008, 17:32
gYqsDJCeSvY
We're still the best. :)
As enjoyable as that game was, at the end of the season I looked back and thought that was the death of us that year.
As much as injuries ruined us that year, I think we played like millionaires after that game.
OzBomber
28 Sep 2008, 18:58
As enjoyable as that game was, at the end of the season I looked back and thought that was the death of us that year.
As much as injuries ruined us that year, I think we played like millionaires after that game.True. After that, we lost our next 2, and lost round 22 as well. Then we struggled in the Prelim where we had people like Mercuri doing their ankle etc.
MachineTeam
28 Sep 2008, 19:05
Err no.. the machine team won 4 flags in a row and went through the home and away season undefeated
TimeIsRunningOut
28 Sep 2008, 19:20
Err no.. the machine team won 4 flags in a row and went through the home and away season undefeated
24-1 > 17-3
24-1 > 17-3
24-1 > 19-1
24-1 > 17-3
The thread is titled "still the best season ever" for a reason. The 'machine team' did not have a season better than Essendon's in 2000.
MachineTeam
28 Sep 2008, 19:32
24-1 > 17-3
24-1 > 17-3
24-1 > 19-1
24-1 > 17-3
The thread is titled "still the best season ever" for a reason. The 'machine team' did not have a season better than Essendon's in 2000.Uhh yeah they did.. 1 loss same as you but we backed it up with multiple flags.. have to give it to us
TimeIsRunningOut
28 Sep 2008, 19:41
Uhh yeah they did.. 1 loss same as you but we backed it up with multiple flags.. have to give it to us
Multiple flags don't mean anything when the topic is about the best single season ever.
AndyLesPaul
28 Sep 2008, 19:45
if your not 80 years old then you arent obligated to say that statement.
Ludwig van Bertstare
28 Sep 2008, 19:54
In a suburban league.
drybones
28 Sep 2008, 23:08
A few things that make our 2000 season stand out over Geelong in 2008 are:
- We won the pre-season competition (no losses there)
- We set the record for best start to a season, 20 wins
- Only loss was by 11 points (only 5 points when the siren sounded)
- WE WON 24 GAMES INCLUDING THE PREMIERSHIP!!
- Geelong won 23 games and not the premiership!!
I'm happy we have somehow managed to come out of 2008 with some braging rights over the top side.
drybones
28 Sep 2008, 23:11
Oh and..
- We had a 100+ goal kicker and Coleman Medalist
After all that is the thing all year that people kept saying was Geelong's weakness.. they don't have a good key forward, not even one!! We had a couple.. ;)
Bombermania
28 Sep 2008, 23:48
SUNDAY 28TH SEPTEMBER 2008!
We are going on about how great we were in 2000!!!
WE ALL HAVE FOND MEMORIES OF THAT GREAT SEASON BUT THIS IS SO COLLINGWOOD LIKE TALKING ABOUT THE 1920S OR BRISBANE TALKING ABOUT THE THREE PEAT OR HAWTHORN TALKING ABOUT THE 1980S
I'VE HAD ENOUGH OF THIS LIVING IN THE PAST, YES WE HAVE 16 PREMIERSHIPS, YES WE ARE THE GREATEST FOOTBALL CLUB IN THE LAND BUT WE HAVE WON NOTHING IN EIGHT YEARS!!
I DO NOT WANT ANYMORE EXCUSES OR LIVING IN THE PAST.
MARK MCVEIGH MADE A SPEECH AFTER THE ST KILDA GAME! MANY SAID IT WAS A GOOD SPPECH! YOU KNOW I'M TRYING OF NICE PRETTY WORDS, I WANT ACTIONS.:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
FOUR WHAT ITS WORTH THE 2000 ESSENDON SIDE WAS THE GREATEST OF ALL TIME DEBATE OVER!
Sir James
29 Sep 2008, 09:21
I agree
Bomberbrilliance
29 Sep 2008, 10:50
Mate you idiot, that was done when footy players had full time jobs and there were less than 10 teams in the comp. I dont think you can really compare a footy side from the 20s against a modern day team from say 1980 onwards. You bloody Collingwood supporters like to think your the best but you're NOT!
THE BEACON
29 Sep 2008, 14:36
SUNDAY 28TH SEPTEMBER 2008!
We are going on about how great we were in 2000!!!
WE ALL HAVE FOND MEMORIES OF THAT GREAT SEASON BUT THIS IS SO COLLINGWOOD LIKE TALKING ABOUT THE 1920S OR BRISBANE TALKING ABOUT THE THREE PEAT OR HAWTHORN TALKING ABOUT THE 1980S
I'VE HAD ENOUGH OF THIS LIVING IN THE PAST, YES WE HAVE 16 PREMIERSHIPS, YES WE ARE THE GREATEST FOOTBALL CLUB IN THE LAND BUT WE HAVE WON NOTHING IN EIGHT YEARS!!
I DO NOT WANT ANYMORE EXCUSES OR LIVING IN THE PAST.
MARK MCVEIGH MADE A SPEECH AFTER THE ST KILDA GAME! MANY SAID IT WAS A GOOD SPPECH! YOU KNOW I'M TRYING OF NICE PRETTY WORDS, I WANT ACTIONS.:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
FOUR WHAT ITS WORTH THE 2000 ESSENDON SIDE WAS THE GREATEST OF ALL TIME DEBATE OVER!
Totally concur Bombermania
deeplivid
29 Sep 2008, 15:02
We were undefeated in the preseason! We started the year as the best side and FINISHED it that way too! Better percentage as well - Dons 2000 with ~163% for the home and away + finals, while Geelong 08 have just done ~157% for home and away + finals. Seems to sum it up pretty simply.
And about this era v era thing, IMO Essendon 2000 played a style of footy that woulda whiped the floor with the Hawks outfit that just won this "modern era's" flag.
deeplivid
29 Sep 2008, 15:07
And the whole of Victoria betrayed us and went for Brisbane! Disgraceful. Serves them right for not getting the flag in Melbourne for 7 years.
deeplivid
29 Sep 2008, 15:22
OH and another thing.
Essendon 2000 was the best TEAM ever. Better than Collingwood in the '20s. Better than Brisbane 01-03. Better than any team from any era. And you wanna know why?
Because the only way to talk about any team is to talk about a single season. If you wanna talk about an era you can only talk about your club, not your team. From every season to the next, a club's team changes and by that definition it is not the same TEAM. Players retire. Players are drafted. Players are traded. Coaches are sacked and hired...
In any single season you essentially have a team set in stone. One list of players to use for the season and (usually) one coach. A team is defined by a season and a season is defined by a team.
In the 2000, football was defined by Essendon, the greatest team ever.
daniher dynasty
29 Sep 2008, 16:27
I've always thought the criticism that we underachieved in 1999-2001 a little harsh. People always seem to overlook that in '99 we were without James Hird. OK we still cruised to the prelim final without having had him all year , but the fact is we were beaten by the narrowest margin by a side lifted by an inspirational performance by their champion. While we can never know for sure,you'd like to think that if James had been out there and not in the stand he'd have lifted us to meet the challenge. In 2001 we were had a number of players coming back off interrupted seasons, including Jimmy, who weren't quite on song and went down narrowly to a side widely regarded as being among the best ever. It's true as Ant says that Cats are capable of bouncing back in 2009 but just now they are still like the boy with the wheelborrow.
Ben the Gooner
29 Sep 2008, 21:13
http://www.thebestpageintheuniverse.net/c.cgi?u=af07
james_omahoney
29 Sep 2008, 21:25
We were undefeated in the preseason! We started the year as the best side and FINISHED it that way too! Better percentage as well - Dons 2000 with ~163% for the home and away + finals, while Geelong 08 have just done ~157% for home and away + finals. Seems to sum it up pretty simply.
And about this era v era thing, IMO Essendon 2000 played a style of footy that woulda whiped the floor with the Hawks outfit that just won this "modern era's" flag.
Absolutely. We saw what pressure football did to the Cats. Bombers 2000 played with a dynamism that has only been matched by the Cats, but the Bombers added amazing hard-ball pressure and Matthew Lloyd at his peak.
For what it's worth, I know this is stating the obvious, especially on the Bombers board, but I watched the 2000 premiership over again a few weeks ago and was blown away by Lloyd - I had actually forgotten how bloody good he was!
No way would the Hawks come close to us, nor Geelong, nor Brissie, nor Sydney nor West Coast. Carlton 95 would be our closest rival but still fall short I reckon.
windyhill
29 Sep 2008, 21:48
Amuses me that Scott Lucas is always over looked when missing players are mentioned in regards to that final.
MarkJohnson#1
29 Sep 2008, 23:33
Don't forget the record number of Brownlow votes for a team in that season too ;)
We barely dropped a vote that year.
centurion
30 Sep 2008, 08:19
The Machine Team didn't lose a single game during the home and away
The fact they went on and won 4 flags in a row should tell you who the best team was.. we didn't fall in a heap after 1 season
Its about a single season and we have the old collingwood team covered easily. Its not about the next four flags.
centurion
30 Sep 2008, 08:27
We had the same single loss in a season as you but our team was truly great and went on to prove that with 4 flags in a row.. you lose
With less teams, in a suburban league. Your loss was in the finals series whereas we completely dominated the finals series. See ya loser.
centurion
30 Sep 2008, 08:52
Fell in a heap the next year.. great team??? pffft
4 flags in a row, still considered the greatest team of all time..
see ya loser
Do you actually understand the concept? I don't think so.
Its about a single season and the modern era is a little different to the 1920's don't you think.
But anyway you hang your hat on that, everybody knows who's greater.
now piss off to your colliwobbles board.
centurion
30 Sep 2008, 09:03
And both teams only had a single loss.. so to seperate them we have to look beyond it to see who the real champion team was.. only one went on to greatness and history.. yours died in the arse
No, because once again you fail to comprehend the concept and the facts.
Try again.
centurion
30 Sep 2008, 09:29
The seasons are even.. 1 loss each.. one team went on to greatness and one team proved it was a one hit wonder..
Game over
Essendon won 24 out of 25. Collingwood won 19 out of 20.
Who is better flog? And for the last time, its not about what you went on to do back in 1721.
Game over for you.
centurion
30 Sep 2008, 09:40
A season is a season.. more teams means diluted talent pool and more weak teams
4 flags in a row.. game over
lol yeah whatever.
As i post this reply, his name switches to red.
hahahahahahaha
Ben the Gooner
30 Sep 2008, 11:25
Essendon won 24 out of 25. Collingwood won 19 out of 20.
Who is better flog? And for the last time, its not about what you went on to do back in 1721.
Game over for you.
Essendon - 96% win record
Collingwood - 95% win record
Even ignoring the greater number of games we had to play, and the quality of opposition, Essendon > Collingwood.
And JC, it looks pretty awesome you posting 5 in a row, and quoting his missing replies in each one.:D
centurion
30 Sep 2008, 12:04
Essendon - 96% win record
Collingwood - 95% win record
Even ignoring the greater number of games we had to play, and the quality of opposition, Essendon > Collingwood.
And JC, it looks pretty awesome you posting 5 in a row, and quoting his missing replies in each one.:D
Umm yeah, either that or im going insane. :D
Ben the Gooner
30 Sep 2008, 12:15
Umm yeah, either that or im going insane. :D
BunnyStomper is just a figment of your imagination, isn't he?:p
centurion
30 Sep 2008, 12:25
BunnyStomper is just a figment of your imagination, isn't he?:p
Yes, but i was talking to someone before im sure of it. :p
Ben the Gooner
30 Sep 2008, 12:31
Yes, but i was talking to someone before im sure of it. :p
A Beautiful Mind.;)
sen entertainment bloke
12 Aug 2009, 18:04
The 2000 grand final is on fox tonight at 8 P.M.
ChelseaFC
16 Aug 2009, 20:48
our domination lives another year
windyhill
16 Aug 2009, 21:01
I`m sure st.kilda didn`t win the pre-season cup. Now that is domination.
Darealrath
16 Aug 2009, 21:29
I`m sure st.kilda didn`t win the pre-season cup. Now that is domination.
And they aint winning 3 finals by well over 200 points I'm pretty sure.
stay true
17 Aug 2009, 03:53
Quality thread IMO.
sen entertainment bloke
17 Aug 2009, 08:36
In light of StKilda's close wins, probably should be noted that 11 points against Sydney in Sydney was the closest anyone got.
Then 2 goals against Melbourne and the rest comfortable.
Our smallest win by memory was 13 points against Melbourne mid year in 2000.
OzBomber
17 Aug 2009, 18:46
I need to watch the Bomberblitz DVD sometime soon.
sen entertainment bloke
23 Aug 2009, 16:18
All arguments over.
Lance Uppercut
23 Aug 2009, 16:31
that's all folks
OzBomber
23 Aug 2009, 16:42
Lives on another year. :)
All arguments over.
You've clearly ****ed up their season via bumping this topic...Good work! :thumbsu:
mugsyman
23 Aug 2009, 19:27
In response to the thread title..... No.... The season has had just as many low points of extreme proportions to cancel the high points. Nowhere near best season ever
Psst, read at least the first post before you respond.
mugsyman
23 Aug 2009, 19:47
Hmm yeah soz my rage took over at least north reassured us that our 2000 team was better today... At least I can take somethin outta today minus the loss/ davey injury