View Full Version : Can we build a premiership side in 4 years?

Stereophonic
27 Sep 2008, 20:07
Hawthorn, with some shrued recruiting,

Hodge #1 2001
Roughead #2 2004
Franklin #5 2004
Lewis

With all the picks coming in in 2011, there is no reason that GC cannot be top 4 in 2015.

Given, you need a strong board, good support and the like, but I have no doubt that J Witherall will pass on the club to a successful board, there are at least 35,000 signed petition members, a ground (which can do with an upgrade, a successful coach (GMAC tasted success in September in 1992,1994.

I think that it is imperative that in the next two years GC recruit KPP and Ruckmen, rookie list a ruckmen and develop them, and trade pick 4 or 5 for Reiwoldt and throw a heap of cash at him, as he will be 28 and still worth a pick.

The rest of the squad should be developed within, I hope GC do not trade for ready made players, I would prefer to see a young team win 4-5 games a season and develop then have a team floating around the bottom 8 before ultimately bottoming out.

Hawthorn definately proved today (as WCE did in 2001 onwards that a team can be built successfully and fast, is it possible also with GC?

sumavich
27 Sep 2008, 20:19
The word is SHREWD but good luck with it !!
Um, no chance !!!

Freomaniac
27 Sep 2008, 20:41
Your asking of building a premiership side in 4 years... thats a bit sudden isnt it? To be honest I think when it comes to bringing a new side in the AFL it would probrably take at least 5 if not 6 years for a new club to win a flag. As A freo supporter I havent had that premiership taste yet.

You got to have some finals experience to become a premiership contender you cant just chuck in 38 teenagers that are under 20 to expect to win a flag.

Ok lets see how some of the "non-victorians" have been making finals and winning flags:

First year: 1991
First finals appearence: 1993
First Flag: 1997

Brisbane
First Year: 1987
First finals appearence: 1995
First Flag: 2001

Fremantle first year: 1995
First finals appearence: 2003
First Flag: none yet:rolleyes:

Sydney Swans
First Year: 1982
First finals appearence: 1986
First Flag: 2005

Port Adelaide Power
First Year: 1997
First finals appearence: 1999
First Flag: 2004

West Coast Eagles
First year: 1987
First finals appearence: 1988
First Flag: 1992

One of the Main thing is that you have a good coach thats step one.

Step two is what you will get in your foundation squad when Gold Coast enters the AFL. You need a blend of youth and experience. Nick Reiwoldt at 28 when the Gold Coast comes in, will be your perfect captain for this foundation squad and your certain to have at least 4 good years out of him.

After the first four years You should probrably have a good 23-25 year old player after reiwoldt retires at 32-34. My Advice for Gold Coast... only trade 1 Good pick for Reiwoldt and Spend the next 2-4 years developing the kids. You can realistically make finals in your 2nd or 3rd year and after getting enough finals experience win a flag in your 5th or 6th year.

magic_johnson!
27 Sep 2008, 20:56
looking at ^^^^^'s stats, west coast did it in 5 years. Possible, but they need some good recruiting to form some older players. I have no doubt now that they will get cameron mooney preeety cheaply and he's a good leader. A couple more older blokes will mix well.

phurry
28 Sep 2008, 12:58
After watching the Grand Final yesterday all i could do was picture the Gold Coast out there winning their first premiership.
I believe we can do it within 4 years.
West Coast did it so soon because they had a state side. WA was rich in talent so there would have been something wrong if West Coast didn't win. In saying that though, it was for the best of the game and it really made it a national game.
No disrespect for Freo but Gold Coast will win a premiership before Freo.
Yeah... Carn' the Coasters!! :D

28 Sep 2008, 17:21
After watching the Grand Final yesterday all i could do was picture the Gold Coast out there winning their first premiership.
West Coast did it so soon because they had a state side. WA was rich in talent so there would have been something wrong if West Coast didn't win.

IMO WCE had the most advantageous entry into the competition.
I don't think the GC will be quite in the same starting position, but I do think it will be a good position as the AFL are extremely conscious of avoiding the mistakes they made with the Bears. And let's face it, this is virtually the same situation - start an AFL side from scratch and play them out of the GC.

mattys123
28 Sep 2008, 18:29
My realistic expectations, and hopes, for the Gold Coast team would be;

3-4 years in; playing in a final series.

5-6 years in; finishing in top 4 and challenging for a flag.

Having said that, I hope the team develops a little bit quicker then that, as immediate success, even one final, would be a great boost to the new club in seeking members and stability.

I see the Gold Coast as the most important new venture the AFL may have ever under taken, so I wish them all the best.

p.s. Shouldn't the Gold Coast have their own team board now, that they are officially a certain AFL team.

Stereophonic
28 Sep 2008, 18:46
My realistic expectations, and hopes, for the Gold Coast team would be;

3-4 years in; playing in a final series.

5-6 years in; finishing in top 4 and challenging for a flag.

Having said that, I hope the team develops a little bit quicker then that, as immediate success, even one final, would be a great boost to the new club in seeking members and stability.

I see the Gold Coast as the most important new venture the AFL may have ever under taken, so I wish them all the best.

p.s. Shouldn't the Gold Coast have their own team board now, that they are officially a certain AFL team.

wack it in the suggestion thread, or better yet, the GC17 moderator nominations thread....

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=492142

Denmark AFL
28 Sep 2008, 21:03
not for at least 10 years

Stereophonic
28 Sep 2008, 21:11
care to expand!

rotto
28 Sep 2008, 23:16
West Coast did it so soon because they had a state side. WA was rich in talent so there would have been something wrong if West Coast didn't win. In saying that though, it was for the best of the game and it really made it a national game.
No disrespect for Freo but Gold Coast will win a premiership before Freo.
Yeah... Carn' the Coasters!! :D

yeah the eagles had it easy. original squad of 35 and could only pick 5 players from anyone wafl team. at the same time the vfl team had league, ressies and colts. also, the likes of bairstow, winmar, and other players were signed up by other teams. eagles had to pay a large of transfer fees for wafl players, couldnt train at subi, and trained a non footy ground.

west coast did it the hardway and they werent state team.

29 Sep 2008, 11:38
yeah the eagles had it easy. original squad of 35 and could only pick 5 players from anyone wafl team. at the same time the vfl team had league, ressies and colts. also, the likes of bairstow, winmar, and other players were signed up by other teams. eagles had to pay a large of transfer fees for wafl players, couldnt train at subi, and trained a non footy ground.

Some good points there, that we've tended to overlook, but luckily for the Eagles there was still a depth of talent in the WAFL at that stage .

Cap
29 Sep 2008, 14:38
The word is SHREWD but good luck with it !!
Um, no chance !!!

:D:D:D

Sorry, had to do that

yes you can - Adelaide should have had one in 3 if only for a fart at half time (or so I've heard) and Port should have had one in 3.

you guys should win one in 4

A Living God
29 Sep 2008, 15:16
Not officially, the decision on the 17th license will be announced in October.

fairdinkum
29 Sep 2008, 15:20
With Vlad's support you should be in the finals within two years and have 1-2 flags within five years.

If the generous concessions aren't enough to achieve this, expect extra salary cap concessions* to ensure that the GC franchise has a cup in its trophy cabinet.

After all, we all know how fickle those GC supporters can be when things go pear-shaped. Vlad would be more acutely aware of this than anybody.

*A 'la Brisbane circa 2001-2003

RussellEbertHandball
29 Sep 2008, 15:27
It took West Coast 6 years, Adelaide 7 years and Port 8 years to win their first flags and they all had state zone selections for 3, 2 and 1 years respectively from very strong state leagues to build their initial squads and then add to them.

It would be a major achievement if the GC could win a flag as early as their 10th year.

RussellEbertHandball
29 Sep 2008, 16:15
:D:D:D

yes you can - Adelaide should have had one in 3 if only for a fart at half time (or so I've heard) and Port should have had one in 3.

You can't say Adelaide would have definitely beaten Carlton in 1993 had you beaten Essendon. I was at Waverley the week before that PF, when Carlton beat you the and even though you kicked a lot of pts, Carlton played superior footy all day.

How can you say Port should have won between 97 and 99. We didn't make the finals in 97 and 98 and finished 7th in 99 and then played North Melbourne were Carey single handly smashed us in the third quarter kicking 4 goals in 10 minutes and 6 for the game.

We should have made the GF in 2002 and 2003 but as I wrote last night on the Port board, 2002 was the Lions best side. In 2002 only Brisbane could have beaten Brisbane. In 2002 we got smashed at the Gabba by 9 goals, beat them by a goal in rd 22 at Footy Park and then got smashed again at the Gabba by 9 goals in the PF. At a neutral MCG maybe a 4 or 5 goal win to Brisbane was likely. In 2003 we were never going to win the GF without Primus, Francou and James playing in the finals. That would be the equivalent of Brisbane without Keating, Voss and Black for a finals series. But we should have beaten Sydney and made the GF.

CoastBhoy
29 Sep 2008, 16:30
Hawthorn, with some shrued recruiting,

Hodge #1 2001
Roughead #2 2004
Franklin #5 2004
Lewis

With all the picks coming in in 2011, there is no reason that GC cannot be top 4 in 2015.

Given, you need a strong board, good support and the like, but I have no doubt that J Witherall will pass on the club to a successful board, there are at least 35,000 signed petition members, a ground (which can do with an upgrade, a successful coach (GMAC tasted success in September in 1992,1994.

I think that it is imperative that in the next two years GC recruit KPP and Ruckmen, rookie list a ruckmen and develop them, and trade pick 4 or 5 for Reiwoldt and throw a heap of cash at him, as he will be 28 and still worth a pick.

The rest of the squad should be developed within, I hope GC do not trade for ready made players, I would prefer to see a young team win 4-5 games a season and develop then have a team floating around the bottom 8 before ultimately bottoming out.

Hawthorn definately proved today (as WCE did in 2001 onwards that a team can be built successfully and fast, is it possible also with GC?

Would be thrilled if it does mate :D, but its looking likely that McKenna will build a young list , that will take a good 5-6 years to mature , i'd be looking at the 2016 an onwards.

Cap
29 Sep 2008, 16:31
You can't say Adelaide would have definitely beaten Carlton in 1993 had you beaten Essendon. I was at Waverley the week before that PF, when Carlton beat you the and even though you kicked a lot of pts, Carlton played superior footy all day.

How can you say Port should have won between 97 and 99. We didn't make the finals in 97 and 98 and finished 7th in 99 and then played North Melbourne were Carey single handly smashed us in the third quarter kicking 4 goals in 10 minutes and 6 for the game.

We should have made the GF in 2002 and 2003 but as I wrote last night on the Port board, 2002 was the Lions best side. In 2002 only Brisbane could have beaten Brisbane. In 2002 we got smashed at the Gabba by 9 goals, beat them by a goal in rd 22 at Footy Park and then got smashed again at the Gabba by 9 goals in the PF. At a neutral MCG maybe a 4 or 5 goal win to Brisbane was likely. In 2003 we were never going to win the GF without Primus, Francou and James playing in the finals. That would be the equivalent of Brisbane without Keating, Voss and Black for a finals series. But we should have beaten Sydney and made the GF.

I get what your saying but they at least (the Crows that is) should have made a GF within 3 years giving them a reasonable chance to win it.
Apologies for the Port gaff, I was thinking for some reason you did well in 2000? So ’02 and ’03 is what 5 and 6 years into the comp?, so you could reasonably expect the GC side to make a GF in the first 3-5 years and win won in at least 8?

RussellEbertHandball
29 Sep 2008, 16:55
I get what your saying but they at least (the Crows that is) should have made a GF within 3 years giving them a reasonable chance to win it.
Apologies for the Port gaff, I was thinking for some reason you did well in 2000? So ’02 and ’03 is what 5 and 6 years into the comp?, so you could reasonably expect the GC side to make a GF in the first 3-5 years and win won in at least 8?

But as I put in post # 16 WCE, crows and port all drew players from very strong state leagues who had the expectations of a whole state, well in WC and crows situation and were able to draw on the best sports people from all sports to assist them build their sides. The GC will be competing with the Lions, Broncos, Titans, Reds and even Cowboys to get the best sports industry people out of Qld.

Basically the GC will have a lot of kids from Qld who haven't gone thru the devlopment at junior levels that the WA and SA kids went thru. They will have a lot more of their squad who don't come from Qld and the go home factor will affect them. And there also wont be the go back home factor to Qld as there was for WA and SA. Apart from maybe Reiwoldt were are the Glendinning's, Harding's, Annear's, Mcguinness's, Robran's, Jarman's, Wanganeen's, Wakelin's, Pickett's etc who returned back to their home state to boost their teams chance to win a flag.

Also the level of professionalism in 1987, 1991 and 1997 was a lot less than it will be in 2011.

I would think if the GC make a GF by year 8 and premiership by year 10 then they have done very well. When Choco was appointed assistant coach at Port in 1996 he asked Bucky for a 10 year contract as he thought that's how long it would take to build a team from scratch to win a flag. He went thru the whole birth of the Bears and history shows he wasn't wrong by much. Bucky told him to pull his head in and gave him a 3 year contract.

Yeah they get a lot of high draft picks in 2010 but those kids will take time to become big and strong enough. And unlike Hawthorn they wont have many experienced old heads around them in their first few years to learn from. The key will be trading for those high picks and how many decent uncontracted players they get in 2010.

BLPC08
29 Sep 2008, 18:15
The AFL will pay out most of the financially-weak clubs to take a dive in the first couple of years to keep the fans interested.

Stereophonic
29 Sep 2008, 18:39
The AFL will pay out most of the financially-weak clubs to take a dive in the first couple of years to keep the fans interested.

Do you seriously believe that?

Freomaniac
1 Oct 2008, 22:22
I dont expect them to make the 8 with in their 3rd or 4th year. If they have a lot of players in their original squad that are only teenagers. expect them to spent their first 2-4 years of developing the kids.

w00dy
2 Oct 2008, 02:07
i'm surprised there's not a rule that GC don't have to trade a number of their picks... what good is it going to be to them if they have riewoldt running around with a bunch of kids... they should use their picks to stock up on ready made players...

Bound 4 september
5 Oct 2008, 22:43
i'm surprised there's not a rule that GC don't have to trade a number of their picks... what good is it going to be to them if they have riewoldt running around with a bunch of kids... they should use their picks to stock up on ready made players...
I reckon they should target maybe a couple of marquee players to keep them atleast a little competitive. As we've seen with Hawthorn and Geelong in the last couple of years its better to build a successful side through the draft than looking for quick fixes or topping up. My belief is that the GC will struggle initially but after a few years building through the draft they should be able to get it right if they have the right personel in charge.

CoastBhoy
6 Oct 2008, 19:24
I reckon they should target maybe a couple of marquee players to keep them atleast a little competitive. .

I would be shocked if that did'nt happen to be honest , not only for the on field success but the off field success as well.

Stereophonic
6 Oct 2008, 19:27
I would be shocked if that did'nt happen to be honest , not only for the on field success but the off field success as well.

I hear Cameron Mooney's name being thrown around. I think that would be a poor move, I think the best Marquee player without a shadow of doubt would be Reiwoldt, local boy turned good.

Depending on how he goes, I wouldnt be too peturbed if GC tried to lure Kurt Tippet, and then build around them.

The mids will come on easily, I think perhaps now is the time to be recruiting KPP's to play in the TAC and maybe the QAFL to play against bigger bodies, is Clark Keating in the QAFL?

CoastBhoy
6 Oct 2008, 19:36
I hear Cameron Mooney's name being thrown around. I think that would be a poor move,?
Agreed.

I think the best Marquee player without a shadow of doubt would be Reiwoldt, local boy turned good.

Agreed , but 2 years down the track a 25 y.o David Hale might be the go.

Depending on how he goes, I wouldnt be too peturbed if GC tried to lure Kurt Tippet, and then build around them.

I guess we can go a bit to Qld player conscience , but he looks the goods.

The mids will come on easily, I think perhaps now is the time to be recruiting KPP's to play in the TAC and maybe the QAFL to play against bigger bodies, is Clark Keating in the QAFL?

Do you know how we are going about the make up of TAC cup team ??

Stereophonic
6 Oct 2008, 19:59
Agreed.

Agreed , but 2 years down the track a 25 y.o David Hale might be the go.

I guess we can go a bit to Qld player conscience , but he looks the goods.

Do you know how we are going about the make up of TAC cup team ??

No idea, Im tipping we will probably find out more after we get the licence, but its a hell of a lot of kids to come up with at once, considering we dont raid the draft till next year. May be a lot of kids from the local league. But its a pretty interesting point.

UpForGrabs
8 Oct 2008, 15:20

Not to mention the amount of millions we had to pay for our license and the fact that the VFL turned around and demanded the money earlier than previously stated - leaving a few individuals (such as current Swans Chairman Richard Colless) to foot the bill.