View Full Version : Nathan Bracken has a cry...

hotdish
28 Sep 2008, 13:08
http://content-www.cricinfo.com/ci/content/story/371473.html Seriously, people who miss out on a spot in the Australian team need to man up and quit sooking to the media. If they've got a problem, get in touch with the Australian Coaches or the selectors and talk it through with them. When are people gonna learn that having a cry to the media does nothing for your career - Brad Williams anyone? Bracken and Noffke should recognise that teams are selected with a horses for courses policy, and that at different stages of the summer they may be a chance to play test cricket...

Black Thunder
28 Sep 2008, 20:09
good post. it's becoming increasingly common to see guys having a whinge about not getting picked.

at the end of the day the australian team is redicolously strong and to be excluded is not necessarily a put down on a players ability.

i agree that i can't understand how these guys think it will further their career by complaining in the media....

Hoggy
29 Sep 2008, 08:56
To be fair, he has a case.

TheColeTrain
29 Sep 2008, 09:27
You know why you don't make the Test team Bracken?
Because every time you have got a game, I have not seen anybody look less threatening to the other teams batsmen.
It is a totally different game to ODI

likka
29 Sep 2008, 09:32
You know why you don't make the Test team Bracken?

Because every time you have got a game, I have not seen anybody look less threatening to the other teams batsmen.

It is a totally different game to ODI

Yep, Andrew Symonds is a more dangerous test bowler than Bracken.

Has he conveniently forgotten the last test series he played against India?

King Elvis
29 Sep 2008, 10:50
Bracken is apparently the biggest tosser in the 'Squad,' - even more so than Hodge.

FlyingDucks
29 Sep 2008, 12:44
good post. it's becoming increasingly common to see guys having a whinge about not getting picked.

at the end of the day the australian team is redicolously strong and to be excluded is not necessarily a put down on a players ability.

i agree that i can't understand how these guys think it will further their career by complaining in the media....

Bracken has every right to be upset, he is clearly the ideal bowler for the conditions. He is twice the bowler of Johnson. He deserves a chance.

Black Thunder
29 Sep 2008, 12:51
Bracken has every right to be upset, he is clearly the ideal bowler for the conditions. He is twice the bowler of Johnson. He deserves a chance.
he probably has a case to getting in the team. i never said he didn't. but this australian team is strong and there isn't room for everyone.

and bleating to the media about it isn't the way to go about it.

fwiw bracken is, statistically, far and away the most succesful bowler over the past five seasons in the Sheffield Shield. averages around about 20.5 with the next best being just under 25.

The 747
29 Sep 2008, 18:38
he probably has a case to getting in the team. i never said he didn't. but this australian team is strong and there isn't room for everyone.

and bleating to the media about it isn't the way to go about it.

fwiw bracken is, statistically, far and away the most succesful bowler over the past five seasons in the Sheffield Shield. averages around about 20.5 with the next best being just under 25.

Regardless of his domestic figures it is pretty clear that he had his chance at Test level, wasn't good enough and is now not considered by the selectors as an option at Test level.

Probably harsh but IMO the right call.

flash2
29 Sep 2008, 21:51
He looks like a girl. Needs a hair cut. He's got himself a hot girlfriend the last time I looked though which surprises me. He's an ODI bowler, not a test bowler IMO.

SBI
29 Sep 2008, 22:31
Eh. He's well done in the pecking order now - I think his test career is done. Noffer, Bollinger, and even Siddle ahead of him.

emperor
30 Sep 2008, 10:06
Yep, Andrew Symonds is a more dangerous test bowler than Bracken.

Has he conveniently forgotten the last test series he played against India?

But he's 'ticked off all the boxes'!!:rolleyes:

Btw I wouldn't go up to him on the street and tell him he should be in the test side :D

likka
30 Sep 2008, 10:32
Btw I wouldn't go up to him on the street and tell him he should be in the test side :D

I'm taller, heavier with some martial arts training behind me... he shouldn't cause me too many problems. ;)

Belnakor
30 Sep 2008, 14:08
I reckon Bracken would claw and bite, you'd need to be on your guard

DeadlyAkkuret
30 Sep 2008, 19:10
Weird how every 2nd person on BF has done some form of martial arts training.

You also good with nunchucks?

likka
1 Oct 2008, 12:44

Nah, clueless with weapons... trained with a MMA kickboxing coach (mate of a mate). We used it basically as a form of cross training and to increase our flexibility, but it is amazing how much you pick up over the course of a few years. Hardest physically training I've ever done... bloke was a complete nutter.

riewoldt4aa2011
5 Oct 2008, 19:16
maybe if he bowled his cutters all the time he could get the gig as the aus spinner, lol.

BLPC08
7 Oct 2008, 16:55
Yeah, sooking isn't the best way to go about it, but when you are dominating teams in the ODI form of the game - you would think that the selectors would at least give you a chance in the Tests.

ManWithNoName
8 Oct 2008, 09:12

Well most of us grew up watching Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

KardiniaPark
8 Oct 2008, 09:45
Id be cut up rough if doug bollinger was selected ahead of me as well.

STC
8 Oct 2008, 16:32
To be fair, he has a case.
No he doesn't, he's proven himself to be an ODI specialist, and isn't young either. We're much better off going trying out new guys who haven't proven failures at test level yet. Guys like Siddle and Bollinger and even Noffke deserve it more.

The 747
8 Oct 2008, 17:51
Id be cut up rough if doug bollinger was selected ahead of me as well.

45 wickets at 14 last domestic summer, yeah he is lucky to be picked ahead of Bracken :rolleyes: