View Full Version : 2009 Sponsorship
bigburger
28 Sep 2008, 14:45
Is it time to start thinking about this if not mods feel free to delete or close this thread till you think its appropriate.
FiveStrings
28 Sep 2008, 15:00
I'll put my name down now before it gets locked!
Masten_Magic
28 Sep 2008, 15:02
I'll put my name down now before it gets locked!
So will i!
Thirded :thumbsu:
Also shotgun not fletcher :p:o
bigburger
28 Sep 2008, 15:18
Thirded :thumbsu:
Also shotgun not fletcher :p:o
It will be interesting to see if Keyser keeps flogging that dead horse.;)
MaxHunt
28 Sep 2008, 15:59
add me. missed out last this year. cant go another watching from the stands.
Crimson King
28 Sep 2008, 16:28
Daniel Rich for me or I am taking my ball home.
happy_eagle
28 Sep 2008, 16:30
Do you want to run in BB
Il be in aswell
All you gotta do is get every ones name, then randomize an order, then the rest is up to us
Or i could run it if no one wanted to
Willow_2000
28 Sep 2008, 16:30
I had a shit yr with mine. Started off ok with Chad Jones but when he done his ankle i swear he fell of the edge of the earth and we never heard of him again :(
greennick
28 Sep 2008, 17:30
I had a shit yr with mine. Started off ok with Chad Jones but when he done his ankle i swear he fell of the edge of the earth and we never heard of him again :(
Obviously you weren't pumping his tyres enough!! You better lift your game, or maybe you should pick Fletcher. :D
I would do it again, I think I did an OK job with Ebert. :thumbsu:
We may start thinking about it now, but until the draft and trade periods are over, nothing will be done on this.
Willow_2000
28 Sep 2008, 18:00
Obviously you weren't pumping his tyres enough!! You better lift your game, or maybe you should pick Fletcher. :D
I would do it again, I think I did an OK job with Ebert. :thumbsu:
We may start thinking about it now, but until the draft and trade periods are over, nothing will be done on this.
Not true at all, I think i pumped his tyres up to much and they popped.
Think i took it a bit far saying Chad Jones, 2008 coleman medalist at the start of the yr:o
peterss
28 Sep 2008, 18:04
im in.
I'm in again, hopefully my pick this year will be before all the fringe/unknown newbies are the only leftovers.
happy_eagle
28 Sep 2008, 18:19
OK Names so far
BigBurger
FiveStrings
Masten Magic
Kall
Max Hunt
Crimson King
Happy_eagle
Willow_2000
Greenick
Peterss
CafinatedMop
Play By Numbers
TheBigUnit
Rojo Junior
Juddy Like
Eagle Ant
Quiznate
Lyal
Wce_all_the_way
heals
eagles06
Big Man
WCE57
Keyser Soze
Larrikin
Sydney Eagle
Kane249
Mitchzz
Prolix
Maybe to make sure we get dedicated posters, only use board regulars (eg amount of posts needed)
Play by Numbers
28 Sep 2008, 18:27
I would also like to take part.
MaxHunt
28 Sep 2008, 19:21
I'm in again, hopefully my pick this year will be before all the fringe/unknown newbies are the only leftovers.
But you are the king of spotting the newbies.... :)
Looking forward to your preseason training write ups and pics again when preseasons starts CM.
TheBigUnit
28 Sep 2008, 19:26
Put my name down too, happy_eagle.
happy_eagle
28 Sep 2008, 19:32
K looks like im running this thing
bigburger
28 Sep 2008, 19:54
K looks like im running this thing
Thats fine with me so long as I get a good pick :cool:
happy_eagle
28 Sep 2008, 20:10
Last year it was supposably randomised and i got last pick
Didnt stop me getting big Ryan Davis though (and i plan to again)
RoJo Junior
28 Sep 2008, 23:02
Im in ... heck yesssss i made it.
juddy_Like
28 Sep 2008, 23:28
Im in.
Last year I ended up with the first pick and picked up Eric McKenzie of all blokes.
Anyone who dare taakes E-Mac will be confronted with an arse rapping from the chief.
Eagle Ant
28 Sep 2008, 23:31
Sign me up! :thumbsu:
wce_all_da_way
29 Sep 2008, 00:07
I will be in and I'm sure heals will be willing to run it again. (It is his thing)
happy_eagle
29 Sep 2008, 00:42
I will be in and I'm sure heals will be willing to run it again. (It is his thing)
oh k i wasnt aware
I was only willing to do it if no one else was
Will keep the list updated for easy acess though
eagles06
29 Sep 2008, 09:19
Put me down
The Big Man is here.
Cheers Happy.
Put me down.
I will happy to defend Fletch, Stinga, Staker or any other scapegoat ;) in 2009,
Keyser Soze
29 Sep 2008, 14:24
It will be interesting to see if Keyser keeps flogging that dead horse.;)
Just sign me up for Fletch now and save yourselves the trouble
larrikin
29 Sep 2008, 14:33
Keys is a saddist
Add me to the list
happy_eagle
29 Sep 2008, 14:57
Good to see some actual posters sign up this year, compared to the long list of n00bz that singed up last year and then left
sydney eagle
29 Sep 2008, 17:12
I'd like to give it a go as well. It was fun last year reading the praise heaped upon their "chosen ones" by the various posters !
sydney eagle
29 Sep 2008, 17:15
Keys is a saddist
Add me to the list
Sadist or masochist "larrikin" ? Remeber that the masochist says "Whip me ! Whip me ! " and the sadist says "No !":p
Crimson King
29 Sep 2008, 17:16
A bit of both, I would think.
kane249
29 Sep 2008, 17:33
Count me in as well, happy to have sponsored the only Eagle to get AA honours last year :P
BTW is anyone keeping count of the number of applicants? We may end up with more applicants then players at this rate...
Count me in as well, happy to have sponsored the only Eagle to get AA honours last year :P
BTW is anyone keeping count of the number of applicants? We may end up with more applicants then players at this rate...
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=12624216&postcount=14
26 thus far.
bigburger
29 Sep 2008, 19:38
BigBurger
FiveStrings
Masten Magic
Kall
Max Hunt
Crimson King
Happy_eagle
Willow_2000
Greenick
Peterss
CafinatedMop
Play By Numbers
TheBigUnit
Rojo Junior
Juddy Like
Eagle Ant
Quiznate
Lyal
Wce_all_the_way
heals
eagles06
Big Man
WCE57
Keyser Soze
Larrikin
Sydney Eagle
Kane249
mitchzz
Prolix
Finding Ebo
BUMP!!!!!!!!!!
FiveStrings
29 Sep 2008, 19:41
I'd be extremely happy if that was the draft order :D
After the final team list is finalised we can start to get things rolling, at the moment were just in pre season.
FiveStrings
29 Sep 2008, 19:44
After the final team list is finalised we can start to get things rolling, at the moment were just in pre season.
Off topic, heals are you aware that you're a member of the East Side Hawks? You're in danger of losing your spot in the 20 if you don't start posting.
On topic, yeah we won't be able to pick until the end of November at the earliest (assuming we don't have a PSD pick, which is pretty likely).
bigburger
29 Sep 2008, 19:45
Agreed but it would be good to get the 44 people who are going to pick and the draft order atm.
mitchzz
29 Sep 2008, 19:55
Yay... been wanting to do this for ages.
Sign me up, I'm dedicated. :)
I'll do it, I'm dedicated...ish.
Hell this can motivate me to post more.
Finding Ebo
29 Sep 2008, 20:31
If there's room for me and I am deemed worthy, I would be honoured :D
Cheers.
bigburger
29 Sep 2008, 20:35
If there's room for me and I am deemed worthy, I would be honoured :D
Cheers.
Your in...but only by the skin of your teeth soldier ;)
happy_eagle
29 Sep 2008, 20:46
You happy to update the list bb
mitchzz
29 Sep 2008, 21:04
You happy to update the list bb
He did already -
BigBurger
FiveStrings
Masten Magic
Kall
Max Hunt
Crimson King
Happy_eagle
Willow_2000
Greenick
Peterss
CafinatedMop
Play By Numbers
TheBigUnit
Rojo Junior
Juddy Like
Eagle Ant
Quiznate
Lyal
Wce_all_the_way
heals
eagles06
Big Man
WCE57
Keyser Soze
Larrikin
Sydney Eagle
Kane249
mitchzz
Prolix
Finding Ebo
BUMP!!!!!!!!!!
happy_eagle
29 Sep 2008, 21:09
I meant from now on
So i dont have to update the one on page 1
bigburger
29 Sep 2008, 21:25
I meant from now on
So i dont have to update the one on page 1
Yeah whatever mate you did most of it. Should be pretty easy to keep up to date now.
stuart27
29 Sep 2008, 21:41
Can I play?
Finding Ebo
29 Sep 2008, 21:46
Your in...but only by the skin of your teeth soldier ;)
Woot.
Ebo FTW!
bigburger
29 Sep 2008, 22:08
Can I play?
This isn't a game dude.
stuart27
29 Sep 2008, 22:27
This isn't a game dude.
I'm aware of that, I just wanted to know if I was too late to go in or not.
bigburger
29 Sep 2008, 22:29
I'm aware of that, I just wanted to know if I was too late to go in or not.
No worries as long as your going to keep your players thread and info up to date then thats fine.
stuart27
29 Sep 2008, 22:36
No worries as long as your going to keep your players thread and info up to date then thats fine.
Then lock me in BB.
Masten_Magic
29 Sep 2008, 22:42
I have been reading this site for about 2 years now
i always find player sponsor picking exciting and i am happy that i have signed up so i can be part of the fun
bigburger
29 Sep 2008, 23:48
BigBurger
FiveStrings
Masten Magic
Kall
Max Hunt
Crimson King
Happy_eagle
Willow_2000
Greenick
Peterss
CafinatedMop
Play By Numbers
TheBigUnit
Rojo Junior
Juddy Like
Eagle Ant
Quiznate
Lyal
Wce_all_the_way
heals
eagles06
Big Man
WCE57
Keyser Soze
Larrikin
Sydney Eagle
Kane249
mitchzz
Prolix
Finding Ebo
stuart27
neng
beatlesmith
Ljp86
bigburger
29 Sep 2008, 23:49
Hey Darth you wanna sponsor a player?
Isandula
30 Sep 2008, 00:09
Not me Im too lazy this year, I'll be the alround critic or defender this year.
beatlesmith
30 Sep 2008, 02:09
yeah count me in. Look at Jmac's performances under my tutelage. We gonna random generate this mofo?
kane249
30 Sep 2008, 02:14
yeah count me in. Look at Jmac's performances under my tutelage. We gonna random generate this mofo?
I think people are getting ahead of themselves considering the Eagles haven't even finished finalizing the list yet.
The PSD / Rookie Draft isn't till December 16th people, even if we get the draft order up it's going to be 2 and a half months before the picks would start.
Unless people want to start trading draft picks amongst themselves :D
bigburger
30 Sep 2008, 02:23
I think people are getting ahead of themselves considering the Eagles haven't even finished finalizing the list yet.
The PSD / Rookie Draft isn't till December 16th people, even if we get the draft order up it's going to be 2 and a half months before the picks would start.
Unless people want to start trading draft picks amongst themselves :D
We won't have to worry about the PSD and Rookie drafts this year Kane if no one jumps off ship that is. Also it might be fun to take draft picks instead of players if it comes to that. Would be a big risk but it might come off for someone. :)
sydney eagle
30 Sep 2008, 10:46
Perhaps someone should outline just what the "duties" of a sponsor are. I assume that they are to highlight your player's performances each week and to boost him at every opportunity. Anything else ? (I just hope that I get someone that I can easily recognize on T V, otherwise I might have trouble)
sydney eagle
30 Sep 2008, 10:49
We won't have to worry about the PSD and Rookie drafts this year Kane if no one jumps off ship that is. Also it might be fun to take draft picks instead of players if it comes to that. Would be a big risk but it might come off for someone. :)
The only problem I can see with taking draft picks instead of players is for someone like myself who isn't in Perth. If say I were to have played last year and got Paddy McGinnity, who was injured and didn't make his debut for the Eagles, it might have been difficult for me to praise him as we don't hear too much about the WAFL over in Sydney.
kane249
30 Sep 2008, 11:21
If Davis and Wilkes get elevated, then we would probably get 2 more rookies in so there's no guarantees there.
Just saying it might be worth holding it off till the list is actually finalised, but that's just my 2 cents worth :p
greennick
30 Sep 2008, 12:55
off topic, heals are you aware that you're a member of the east side hawks? You're in danger of losing your spot in the 20 if you don't start posting.
wtf?
FiveStrings
30 Sep 2008, 12:56
Fantasy footy. I DID say it was off topic :o
greennick
30 Sep 2008, 13:11
Should we rank posters on the number of posts on the WC board or something to ensure we get people that actually post??
Half the people last year were all up and about until shortly after the actual draft. Some people didn't even fill out their player profiles.
Masten_Magic
30 Sep 2008, 13:14
I havent been able to post much since signing up
this would make me post more
kane249
30 Sep 2008, 14:23
Should we rank posters on the number of posts on the WC board or something to ensure we get people that actually post??
Half the people last year were all up and about until shortly after the actual draft. Some people didn't even fill out their player profiles.
Sounds like a good idea, a 'seeding' system would be a smart move to ensure the regulars get preference on draft entry.
The draw itself would still remain random to ensure integrity of course
MaxHunt
30 Sep 2008, 14:35
Yeah thats cool. I'll be bringing up the rear if its due to post count as i only post when i think its needed.
Masten_Magic
30 Sep 2008, 16:30
Me too i read all the threads but only post when i feel i have something to say about the topic
bigburger
30 Sep 2008, 17:43
Yeah thats cool. I'll be bringing up the rear if its due to post count as i only post when i think its needed.
You've got heaps. You''ll be fine Max.
I agree.
Give me #1 pick. :cool:
A good idea, although it, perhaps unfairly, disadvantages those of us who may have joined more recently *coughmecoughcough*.
bigburger
30 Sep 2008, 18:54
I don't think we should it encourages post whoring and theres enough of that going on in the RDT thread :D. The system you guys used last year seemed to work well for most I think we should just stick with it. If theres any posters that miss out that shouldn't have then we may have to look at chopping someone out of the list so they take their well earned place.
FiveStrings
30 Sep 2008, 18:56
Should just have it random IMO.
But people who sgn up should agree to participate fully for the entire season, upon penalty of catapult.
Fantasy footy. I DID say it was off topic :o
Ahh ok , Ill pop my head in this week.
Finding Ebo
30 Sep 2008, 20:22
Should just have it random IMO.
But people who sgn up should agree to participate fully for the entire season, upon penalty of catapult.
I agree.
But then, I would wouldn't I...
Juddy88
30 Sep 2008, 23:38
Yeah I'll be in :thumbsu:
eagles06
1 Oct 2008, 16:03
Well if there was an award for it I think I would recieve sponsor of the year:p
Look how well Scooter has gone :thumbsu:
eagles06
1 Oct 2008, 19:15
the Scott Selwood thread had over 5000 views and more that 88 replies
You other sponsor should be ashamed of yourselves;)
Hahah love it.
Come on i had Dean Cox, how many times can you say Best ruckman in the AFL without it getting repetitive? :p
You've got heaps. You''ll be fine Max.
Cheers mate. :thumbsu:
eagles06
1 Oct 2008, 20:44
Come on i had Dean Cox, how many times can you say Best ruckman in the AFL without it getting repetitive? :p
Haha, well you should have picked more carefully:p
eagles06
1 Oct 2008, 20:46
Maybe there should be a sponsor of the year award. The sponsor voted the best would get pick one as the prize?
Theres a few good threads out there
It would be a good reward:thumbsu:
happy_eagle
1 Oct 2008, 21:08
My love for Davis >>>>>>>>> Your love for Selwood
eagles06
1 Oct 2008, 21:17
My love for Davis >>>>>>>>> Your love for Selwood
Yeah, you have a weirder kind of love though;)
TheBigUnit
1 Oct 2008, 21:48
Maybe there should be a sponsor of the year award. The sponsor voted the best would get pick one as the prize?
Theres a few good threads out there
It would be a good reward:thumbsu:
You'd get my vote, mate - easily did the best job of keeping it up to date :thumbsu:.
eagles06
1 Oct 2008, 21:56
You'd get my vote, mate - easily did the best job of keeping it up to date :thumbsu:.
I suppose its easy when you like what your doing. Its good to pump up a guy that you follow so closely
Big man did a great job with Priddis, Scotland with TBU, happy with Davis, Kerrby with Notte.
I feel away after rnd 12.
Well done on your efforts mate. :)
I feel away after rnd 12.
Well done on your efforts mate. :)
Keep your hands to yourself BM! :p
sydney eagle
2 Oct 2008, 09:58
Given that you are mainly talking to West Coast fans I would say that you can say it as often as you like, and that still won't be often enough !;)
if there's anymore spots, ill take one.:thumbsu:
Given that you are mainly talking to West Coast fans I would say that you can say it as often as you like, and that still won't be often enough !;)
Particularly with the way everything else went this year :o