View Full Version : 5 Feb Practice Match

Back Seat Of A Taxi
6 Feb 2001, 05:16
Practice Match today at Whitten Oval starting at 2.30pm. Anyone interested?

------------------
Can You Feel My Love Buzz

Darky
6 Feb 2001, 05:19
Nooooooooooooooooooooo! Say it ain't so.
I need some friggen sleep, haven't slept in over 24 hours and now they do this to me. If I wake up by 2.30 I might go.
If anyone sees a guy sleeping within the confines of this magnificent arena, just gimme a gentle kick in the head to wake me up http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Rooboy 96
6 Feb 2001, 05:52
Seniors or Murray Kangaroos???? against the Dogs????

Back Seat Of A Taxi
6 Feb 2001, 06:02
it's only a intraclub.

Back Seat Of A Taxi
6 Feb 2001, 06:04
hey Darky, been on the cookies have we?

Darky
6 Feb 2001, 14:29
Originally posted by Back Seat Of A Taxi:
hey Darky, been on the cookies have we?

No I work night shift (aka zombie shift). Combine this with chronic insomnia and it makes life...ahem... "interesting" (read " downright scary) at times! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Danni
6 Feb 2001, 14:41
Sorry to invade your board guys - but just got a question:

the young guy, Tregenza (sp?), did he do his knee today at the practice match or in training?

Always horrid to hear young guys now out for a year.

Darky
6 Feb 2001, 14:48
I heard that Calthorpe thought his leg was a chicken drummie and went the big bite http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

35eye
6 Feb 2001, 15:36
Danni, where did you hear this?

You're right, it is just terrible. Rod had just joined our rookie list from way over in Perth.

His reputation in WA had him looking like a very promising player. I hope he has a speedy recovery & that his AFL dreams aren't over.

Danni
6 Feb 2001, 15:45
I heard it on the Footy show on OptusVision tonight - but I missed the first part of the article about where/when it happened.....that is why I am asking.

They said he has done a cruiciate ligament and is out for the year....

They started by talking about the practice game today....I left the room for 1 min....came back and they were talking about his injury.

35eye
6 Feb 2001, 16:40
I was curious how you knew so much being from Brisbane & all.

I wish I still had Optusvision if they're giving decent air time to one of our rookies. Wow!

Well the practice match was late this afternoon & there was a training session on Saturday morning. I don't even know what Tregenza looks like yet but the only bloke on crutches on Saturday was John Spaull.

So it may have happened today but it would have been a pretty swift diagnosis wouldn't you think?

So how's Pikey settling in up there?

Danni
6 Feb 2001, 17:05
Hey some of us in Brissy are footy mad and take any info we can get!!!

Umm Pikey...can't answer that one as yet sorry - seems to be doing alright from the training sessions I went to a few weeks ago - but thanks to the combination of my job and that state election I havent' been able to attend lately. However I am hoping to go down there on Wednesday....oh no hold that thought - son's play 'date' on wednesday I think.....Ok how about this I am definately attending the intra club on Friday night - I will let you know after that!

35eye
6 Feb 2001, 17:17
Thanks, would appreciate that. Many of us still have a soft spot for Marty.

I see Channel 7 did a story on North's intra club match so I'm hoping it might be on the late edition at 11:30pm.

Hey, do your Brissie compatriots know that you're adding numbers to our board? You'll be in strife!

Danni
6 Feb 2001, 17:24
And I would care about that because??
I am sure you have seen my point of view on that in a post I placed on the Brissy board a few days ago.

It ain't the place for competition....

Speaking of which - any of you guys heading up to Brissy for the Round 2 game?? Good bar under the 'green roof' at the Gabba for pre-game drinks between foes!!!

hilly
6 Feb 2001, 17:46
Originally posted by Darky:
I heard that Calthorpe thought his leg was a chicken drummie and went the big bite http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

35eye
6 Feb 2001, 17:46
Yes, I've already booked our plane flights for myself & 3 other Roos fanatics to attend and am really looking forward to it.

I guess I'd better start worrying about chasing tickets to get into the game or else it will all be for nothing if its a sellout. What are the chances of that do you reckon?

Would love to catch up in the bar if you're up for it. Always before the game, never after. (Who says I'm a bad loser?)

Danni
6 Feb 2001, 17:54
Chances are pretty good of it being a sell-out IMO. Last years Essendon game was a 'sell out' but not everyone showed up due to the torrential rain. Tho still there was 35,000 at a game in the pouring rain.

Hope you have planned for a later flight home. Don't be surprised if they put the game back by a few hours - or maybe even bring it forward to the night before - due to heat up here at that time of year.

35eye
7 Feb 2001, 16:53
Yep, I've got the entire week to spend on the Gold Coast leading up to the following weekend's match in Sydney before coming home so we should be fine.

Thanks for the tip though, I'll get onto booking tickets asap.

warrior
8 Feb 2001, 15:00
dont forget friday at 4.00pm at sandringham?

warrior http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

35eye
8 Feb 2001, 15:31
Apparently its been switched to 2pm.

I can't make it now, bummer!

Rooboy 96
9 Feb 2001, 07:51
why 2pm... I am out too... can someone confirm it is 2pm...

Malibu
9 Feb 2001, 09:10
A guy (6baileys) who posts to the Roos forum is a Statistician for the roos, he confirmed it, but it also states it in the Express (the free paper in the mornings) that it's on a 2pm tomorrow.