View Full Version : TV Top Gear Australia - season 1
Admiral Afterworld
29 Sep 2008, 19:05
Premieres tonight at 7.30pm on SBS.
I'm a little sceptical. I've enjoyed the original Top Gear when I've seen it but it's not really must see to me (I'm not much of a car guy :p). So who knows what the Australian version will be like! I guess it might have more relevance to us from a consumer standpoint :confused:
Discuss.
NorthBhoy
29 Sep 2008, 19:08
Love the UK version. I'm just pissed off they have taken it off for this crap.
essendon2008
29 Sep 2008, 19:43
Terrible presenters. The UK one is awesome, this is embarrasing.
Don't just show is a Lambo...thrash the **** out of it!
I can be our Stig.
camsmith
29 Sep 2008, 19:54
It's like the US doing the office.. dont know, it would always be hard to win me over.. especially with the UK version being so good.
I'll give it some time.. not a bad start but yeah, give me the UK one anytime.
essendon2008
29 Sep 2008, 20:01
Is it annoying anyone else the way they pronounce 'Nissan'?
Blue Red and Gold
29 Sep 2008, 20:05
Is it annoying anyone else the way they pronounce 'Nissan'?
Yes!
Not impressed thus far
TassieSaint
29 Sep 2008, 20:08
I'm confused as to why this show is necessary? Do we really need our own version? I liked the UK one just fine...
they are trying way too hard.
hopefully they can give themselves a few episodes to work out their own way of doing things
Paddy_Mac
29 Sep 2008, 20:16
It's watchable. But it's not up to the same standard as the UK version.
Valentino Dmitri
29 Sep 2008, 20:16
Surely a lot of the appeal of the UK show (at least to those of us who don't normally care about cars) is the charisma of the presenters? I really don't know about this.
Mr Eagle
29 Sep 2008, 20:19
Not bad... just ordinary. I do see potential though.
Surely a lot of the appeal of the UK show (at least to those of us who don't normally care about cars) is the charisma of the presenters? I really don't know about this.
they are trying to be too funny
Valentino Dmitri
29 Sep 2008, 20:25
they are trying to be too funny
They're coming on pretty strong aren't they? Hopefully they will tone it down a little.
This must be what it feels like for women at the bar when I am ineptly trying to crack on to them
:D
saying that - I don't mind the guy with the mow
the blonde guy is a bit of a tool, but i reckon its first ep nerves.
the other guy with the beard isn't great either, but hopefully he improves....
rfctigerarmy
29 Sep 2008, 20:37
I didn't think it was too bad. Of course the UK one is better, we know and love the humour involved already. We are used to that one.
Ithought they tried too hard aswell, but it would be hard to live up to such huge expectations. I didn't like the views from the test track very much. Its a 'good' show, I think and it will take a while for us (and them) to get used to it.
SlainteO'Hailpin
29 Sep 2008, 20:41
Truly awful tv.
It wasnt great but i do think that its got potential.
Season 1 of TGUK was worse than what i just saw of Top Gear Australia.
Don't just show is a Lambo...thrash the **** out of it!
I can be our Stig.
That seemed odd they just showed it.Surely if Lambo wouldn't allow one of them to drive it then they could've had a "Lambo Stig",like the UK show did a couple of years ago when they had "The Stig" drive the Renault F1 car around their track but it was actually then Renaults test driver Heikki Kovalainen.
The track was a bit lame compared to the UK one.
rfctigerarmy
29 Sep 2008, 22:07
Problem was that you couldn't really see the track. Too many barriers and rubbish like that.
Oh and like RUNVS said S1 of Top Gear UK wasn't very good at all.
Problem was that you couldn't really see the track. Too many barriers and rubbish like that.
Oh and like RUNVS said S1 of Top Gear UK wasn't very good at all.
But the Australian version is hardly starting from scratch, they have the UK template to work from.
AsianWithAFro
29 Sep 2008, 23:07
Truly awful tv.
Not that bad compare to most of the shit that's on our TV screens these days it's shine above them.
I do believe they were trying a bit hard the short guy was really annoying me at one stage. It's not a bad show it's just hard to compare to the the original series. I am also very glad the shark didn't eat the Moke. Those cars are almost collectibles these days.
gandaal
29 Sep 2008, 23:19
Positives:
1. They got the hosts right- the hosts have chemistry with each other and didn't have boring personalities, even if the one guy really needs to shave off the tash.
2. Wasn't a Holden vs Ford borefest- Could've gone down the road of looking at nothing but old Commedore and Falcon's but thankfully they avoided the temptation.
Negatives:
1. Didn't really introduce the cars they used- Just assumed that you knew what they were. That's fine if you're targeting the niche petrolhead market but I expect that for a $10 million outlay SBS is probably keen on picking up those with only a mild interest in the industry.
2. Didn't review any cars- Half of the show was on three 4WDs where they tested them on a beach, and in snow conditions. What were the results? Did they find out anything interesting about the performance of the vehicles? What's the best bang for your buck in a mid range 4WD? No questions were asked or answered which is a real shame and made the whole thing seem a complete waste of time. Sure the real TopGear sometimes pulls stupid stunts that prove nothing as well, but driving a 4WD on beach and in the snow isn't "out there" enough to make it worthwhile just for its own sake.
mattf83
29 Sep 2008, 23:21
I thought it was terrible, shows can never be replicated when the original is as good as Top Gear UK.
SBS should have fast tracked the UK version instead of making this crap.
The moke shark cage was just trying too hard, it just reeked of cheap imitation.
that_dood
29 Sep 2008, 23:44
Positives:
2. Wasn't a Holden vs Ford borefest- Could've gone down the road of looking at nothing but old Commedore and Falcon's but thankfully they avoided the temptation.
You will love next week then!!!:D
Not bad I thought. Sure their not nearly as good as the British guys but it was a good effort and looks like it will improve.
gandaal
29 Sep 2008, 23:49
You will love next week then!!!:D
Not bad I thought. Sure their not nearly as good as the British guys but it was a good effort and looks like it will improve.
Had to be done eventually but gladly it doesn't appear to be an ongoing cornerstone of the show.
that_dood
30 Sep 2008, 00:03
Had to be done eventually but gladly it doesn't appear to be an ongoing cornerstone of the show.
Yeah, I think everyone would have been disappointed if we didn't get at least one red vs blue challenge.
Bond,ShaneBond
30 Sep 2008, 00:14
It was okay. Like people are saying, UK is awesome because of Clarkson, May and Hammond.
I'm willing to give it time to see if the presenters improve, no doubt they were nervous and they did seem to try too hard. Hopefully as they get more comfortable they will relax into it.
Also they could have been more original with the set. It looked like a clone.
Mirror image of the UK version minus the chemistry, wit, charisma and entertainment value. It is not the format of Top Gear UK that has made it so popular, it is the content.
Reminded me more of a Fast Forward type parody than anything else.
Won't be watching next week.
moistie
30 Sep 2008, 09:18
It wasnt great but i do think that its got potential.
Season 1 of TGUK was worse than what i just saw of Top Gear Australia.
Exactly. The early episodes of Top Gear UK were equally as bad, if not worse. The show was passable and it may take a while for the presenters and show to hit upon their own winning formula, but the potential is there.
I was suprised they had an identical set as the UK version.If they don't want to be compared to the UK version then they shouldn't have things like an identical looking set.
Identical set, segment formats, program structure, number of hosts, camera angles in and out of the studio... reckon SBS would have also cloned Clarkson if it was possible.
NorthBhoy
30 Sep 2008, 10:05
Mirror image of the UK version minus the chemistry, wit, charisma and entertainment value. It is not the format of Top Gear UK that has made it so popular, it is the content.
Reminded me more of a Fast Forward type parody than anything else.
Won't be watching next week.
Agree with all of that.
Not only did the hosts have no genuine charisma or attraction, the old bloke and the little weedy ****er are downright smackable. The little bloke especially is a ****ing wanker.
Shithouse.
Bruce Monteath
30 Sep 2008, 10:57
Terrible & unecessary show. Cheap, cheap imitation right down to the wardrobe of the hosts.
"WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?"
Wallaby
30 Sep 2008, 11:56
Top Gear UK is a car show in the same way that MASH was a medical show, and Blackadder is a historical documentary - ie not much at all.
It s a comedy show built around the cars - and its brilliant, because it has good writers and comedian/presenters.
I just hope SBS have employed some good comedy writers for their version
Mixed thoughts on the 1st show (although I missed the 1st 10mins):
Positives
- it is the 1st show, so plenty of room for improvement.
- I liked the 4wds in the snow (missed the 1st section on the beach)... thought "sand & snow" was a good topic to show off OZ... wont get that in UK version.
- I liked Warren the best of the presenters... he seemed to be trying the least.
- The blonde hair lead guy was ok too.
- I like the new segment "whatwheretheythinking" or whatever it was called.
Negatives
- It was missing the DETAIL!!! see following...
- Warren test drives the Maybach... after a 2 min intro with music and police escort etc... Warren is in the car and all he tells us is it comes with "Headphones and they plug in here." WTF... stuff all about the car or where exactly all the money went too. Just a waste of 5 min airtime really.
- Thought they could have used someone/something esle rather then "the Stig"... leave the Stig in the UK... maybe "The Mrs Stig"... IDK just something not too serious.
- Would it hurt them to atleast show us a layout of their test circuit? And come up with some interesting names for the sections of their track? Really showed during their test drives and the celebrity lap... "Yep coming up through a bend here, and now onto a straight... pause..... pause... and around the bend... along the straight to the finish... and across the line". Honestly, it was pretty average.
- I too don't want the show to become another regular "Holden v Ford" battle... but at the same time all the cars they showed were the same cars we've seen in the UK series. Atleast feature 1 aussie car.
- MokeCage was a JokeCage... really trying to connect sharks to cars... WTF? My Wife walked in during that segment and I had a hard time explaining to her what and WHY they were doing it. They should have done a "Dingo vs a mini"... and then cried "a dingo took my mini".
I will watch it a few more times and hopefully they will fill in the gaps with the details.
4/10
"WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?"
"How hard could it be?"
That old bloke imitating Clarkson was the worst. I mean, Vince Colosimo was the first ever person to do a lap, and he said "you did it.......in one minute...............forty................point............2 6!" It was the first lap mate. No need for the suspense.
If the guys loosen up a bit and don't try to mimick the UK version, I think it'll be fine. They seemed a bit nervous.
Wahooti Fandango
30 Sep 2008, 18:14
Terrible presenters. The UK one is awesome, this is embarrasing.
Jeremy Clarkson is embarrassing. The man is a complete tool. Although, I think I am one of the only people in the world who does not love this show. Each to their own, I guess.
Power21
30 Sep 2008, 19:58
The Stig should definatly change, he/she then might develop a cult following which will drive viewers up and might even see a cross-over show with the UK version with the thier stig and our ..... whatever featured.
that_dood
30 Sep 2008, 19:58
Identical set, segment formats, program structure, number of hosts, camera angles in and out of the studio... reckon SBS would have also cloned Clarkson if it was possible.
I think that was the idea to have as much resemblance as possible to the British Top Gear. it isn't an original car show, it is Top Gear and you would expect the same sort of set, segments, etc.
They could have at least not chosen poor mans versions of the UK presenters.
The lamest part was that I own two of the cars they tested.
You watch Top Gear to see exotic cars that you could only drive in your wildest dreams, not for the ****ing Subaru I have in my garage.
The Sultan
1 Oct 2008, 09:30
it was a pass there was a sense that the may have been trying a bit too hard, but will give it a season, hopefully they make a second, to find there feet. As mentioned TGUK was pretty hit and miss for the first 3 seasons or so, they tended to test drive normal cars most of the time, and the fat host (prior to May) was offering nothing.
I agree they should have shown the test track either computer lay out or an over head heli-shot to show the each of the corners their names etc, and the way they cut the laps in post production was terrible the celeb lap went for about 30 seconds..
anyway will still next week....
Sir Vlado
1 Oct 2008, 10:56
imo it should get better as we see more episodes. I suppose you could change the Stigs name and probably not make him look like an identical copy of the UK Stig, perhaps change the colour or maybe personality???
I'm positive that it will improve as the season goes, then we'll have better 2nd and 3rd seasons. I think its got potential, you have to give it another chance, or a couple more.
The presenters should also try bringing in their own personalities, not trying to act solely on Clarkson, Hammond and May. At this time I still prefer the UK version.
I'll just be patient and what I get is what I get. :)
that_dood
1 Oct 2008, 14:19
Second series as been commissioned after the good ratings on Monday.
Didn't mind the smaller guy and the one with the mo. The old "tryhard" guy was just plain annoying though. As for the show, I'll reserve judgment until a few more episodes. Even though it was a bit of a mish-mash first up, it was still more promising than most of the local crap on tv.
that_dood
6 Oct 2008, 22:32
I thought it was pretty good tonight and an improvement on last week. The challenge at the Super Pit was alright, the Smart undertaker's car was pretty good, and the testing of the Ford GT was more insightful than last weeks testing. The Ford vs Holden challenge was the only downside as it had nothing other than which was faster in a drag and which could brake. No other details.
Overall they are getting better.
This weeks episode was ALOT better than last weeks episode. It was quite a enjoyable hour of television.
Dandy_GO
7 Oct 2008, 01:00
Definitely better this week.
The little guy is a ****, and the old guy is just a shit presenter, but I'm willing to give them time. Warren is the only decent host (not surprisingly he's the only one who's actually ever hosted his own show), and he's carrying the show for me right now. The old dude and the little dude do NOT sound natural at all. Both need to relax, and tone down the hand movements as well. It's awful when they tell a joke during discussion, yet you can tell its clearly scripted by their awful presenting skills. Cringe inducing. Once they get a bit more comfortable, I'd like to see them do away with the script and improvise as all 3 know their stuff.
Some of the segments have been a bit weak, and would like a bit more information and less crap jokes.
Overall, it's passable. Could have been a lot better though. Would have really preferred if they departed from the template a bit. Can't help but see it as a cheap imitation. There are plenty of ways they could have made a uniquely Australian Top Gear, but they played it too safe IMO.
It's watchable though, and I'm sure it'll get better with time, particularly once shorty and old guy loosen up a bit.
They need to tie Charlie's arms to his side.When he talks he waves them around like an Italian.
Last night was a bit better.Steve Bisley looked like he was packing darkies.Odd when you see actors interviewed and they look so nervous.The hearse bit was okay,but dragged out.The pit challenge was good.They still need a better test track.Why not just use Wakefield Park ?
I quite enjoyed hearing Bisley talk about the Mad Max stuff, even though the interviewer was very average. For comparison, I mostly hate the interviews on TGUK.
Otherwise I think Dandy_GO pretty much nailed it with his post.
I think it is definitely worth persevering with. I laughed at the chihuahua doing doggy paddle line.
NorthBhoy
7 Oct 2008, 10:03
So forced.
There are two main issues. The presenters are shyte and it's horribly written. That little bloke should be put down. I literally cannot watch him. Jokes fall flat as they are pushed out by unfunny men (Clarkson and May especially are funny blokes in comparison).
It was better, but still not much chop.
A massive drop in ratings from week one to this week.It was down 250,00 viewers
Aussie Top Gear ratings slump (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,24459514-5005961,00.html)
daddy_4_eyes
7 Oct 2008, 13:24
Too close a copy to the UK version.
The presenters plain and simply suck. Their jokes seem forced, the way they talk comes across as phoney (like they're trying to imitate the UK presenters) and they all look like they've stepped out of a 70's porno.
I don't like it.
:thumbsd:
that_dood
7 Oct 2008, 14:06
Aussie Top Gear ratings slump (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,24459514-5005961,00.html)
Unfortunate as it was far better than week one. Hopefully they pick up.
Sir Vlado
8 Oct 2008, 13:30
Definitely hope it picks up again and soon. :eek:
I quite enjoyed hearing Bisley talk about the Mad Max stuff, even though the interviewer was very average. For comparison, I mostly hate the interviews on TGUK.
Otherwise I think Dandy_GO pretty much nailed it with his post.
I think it is definitely worth persevering with. I laughed at the chihuahua doing doggy paddle line.
Yeah me too, that was a good line. Much better this week, esp liked the Super pit challenge. Aparrently the ratings were really bad, though.
Edit - should have read the above posts. Goose.
moistie
14 Oct 2008, 20:02
Double post
moistie
14 Oct 2008, 20:05
Mondays show wasn't too bad, a rather up and down review of the Mercedes Black, another of the new BMW, it's like they're afraid to really pan a car. But given the show is in its infancy and none associated with it would be feeling hugely secure in their jobs, I suppose it's understandable. If they're about in another five years then I think we would hear them say a car was a load of rubbish.
The junkyard car challenge was fun, but I would have liked to have seen more than two competitions. Then again, given one car couldn't even start the second challenge, it may have been an enforced shortened challenge...
Must, learn, edit, button.
that_dood
14 Oct 2008, 20:16
Another good episode. They are getting their slowly but unfortunately the ratings are crap so whether it lasts or not is another question.
Paddy_Mac
14 Oct 2008, 20:36
They need to advertise the show more. I only realised it was on when it was 30 minutes in to the show.
that_dood
14 Oct 2008, 20:49
They need to advertise the show more. I only realised it was on when it was 30 minutes in to the show.
It's like what the Crows are preaching about how no players want to be traded to Adelaide because of it's perception as a backwater. No one can be bothered switching from their Today Tonight or Home & Away to watch something on SBS, even if it is better than the crap they watch anyway.
Scotland
14 Oct 2008, 21:12
Definitely not on the 'must watch' list.
Slacker
21 Oct 2008, 10:57
I'm persevering, but last nights episode was pretty poor - maybe the worst so far?
Why the hell did they sit Brown on a horse while the tracker walked? Looked poor IMO.
The lawn bowls was a good idea that was poorly executed. Ramp was too steep and damaged the cars. The jack was too small and they ran it over. And the intentional ramming of cars didn't come across that funny to me. Could have been a lot funnier if thought out better.
The 427 review was interesting. Just need a few more cameras at the test track, when the stig went off the camera seemed 500m away. Best part of last nights show to me.
ATM, I just can't see this show getting any better unless they start to find their own personalities and ideas. Poor imitation of TGUK so far.
NorthBhoy
21 Oct 2008, 11:07
any better unless they start to find their own personalities and ideas.
Not a good idea. You could drag together the charisma and sense of humour of all three and struggle to come up with something worthy of being on television. I switched over for literally 10 seconds last night and that moron with the beard asked a bloke if his horse "ever gets a flat shoe". Shut. The. ****. Up.
How hard is it to source talent? 20 million people in this country and they pick the holy trinity of deadshits.
Slacker
21 Oct 2008, 11:22
I thought Brown might have the most potential out of all of them. He is the only one not trying to be a clone from TGUK and seems a lot more natural on camera. Admittedly he was poor last night.
Cox is desperately unfunny and wooden. Pizzati is trying way too hard.
Anyone else think their track is too narrow and tight?
It's crap.They should've just used a real track like Wakefield Park [about 2 hours out of Sydney I believe]
http://img162.imageshack.us/img162/6670/trackarialfz8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
The Poms track,Dunsfold Park,is wider because that airfield is used for the Jumbo cargo plane you often see in the background.The Aussie airfield is just a small planes airfield so the runway doesn't need to be wide.
that_dood
21 Oct 2008, 13:58
No the best last night, but they are getting better. The second series has just been officially approved and will hit our screens in early 2009. I agree with the poster who says that they need more cameras at the track. I reckon they need one on the exit barrier of that little chicane on the long runway. Plus one at the back of the track where the Stig ran wide last night.
Wallaby
22 Oct 2008, 11:27
The Poms track,Dunsfold Park,is wider because that airfield is used for the Jumbo cargo plane you often see in the background.The Aussie airfield is just a small planes airfield so the runway doesn't need to be wide.
(Aviation Wanker Alert).
The Jumbo at the Top Gear track in the UK (and in the Toureg ad) doesn't fly - it is only now used as a movie prop etc.
If you look closely, you can see that it has been reconfigured to have pairs of engines on the wing pylons. That was done for Casino Royale.
(Aviation Wanker Alert).
The Jumbo at the Top Gear track in the UK (and in the Toureg ad) doesn't fly - it is only now used as a movie prop etc.
If you look closely, you can see that it has been reconfigured to have pairs of engines on the wing pylons. That was done for Casino Royale.
:rolleyes: Aviation Wanker ;)
Wallaby
22 Oct 2008, 12:00
Well, I warned you.
(Aviation Wanker Alert).
Well there you go,you learn something new every day.Cheers for that info
Next time someone spots that I know what i'm going to say :)
the fly
28 Oct 2008, 23:04
Amphibious car, essentially a combo of Jeremy's Toyboata and James's sailboat, with less laughs.
I loved the Toorak tractor though.
The test track is at Camden Aerodrome.
The ratings for TGA are dropping more and more each week.Get the series 2 of the real Top Gear back on A.S.A.P
Completely agree.
Watched the first episode, and have flicked across for 5-10 mins of a couple of other times... and it is absolute rubbish. Too cringeworthy and had to switch it off.
Reminds me of a fake Tag or Rolex watch you can buy in Bangkok, looks similar to the real thing but could not be further from it in terms of quality (ie entertainment).
Or to use a more recent analogy... looks like a delicious chocolate sunday, but it is actually a pile of shit.
Wallaby
29 Oct 2008, 12:10
C'mon - it's hilarious, it's wacky and it's a whole lot of fun.
I know, because the hosts tell me it is.
that_dood
4 Nov 2008, 19:12
A pretty good episode last night. The ratings jumped from around 400k last week to 650k this week. James Morrison is an extremely good driver. I wouldn't have picked it.
Didn't mind last nights episode...
- the 4WD drive was good and James Morrison great.
- Merc feature was ok except for Charlie (see below).
- What Were They Thinking... was crap last night... Parking Inspectors and some old Lotus... pfttt.
My only problems with the show atm are:
-Charlie Cox is really really shocking as a host especially the main host. Warren is easily the best, the other annoying guy is settling in and growing on me... but Charlie... AHHHH he is like an awkward 3rd wheel. He seems so fake, struggles with his timing, and can't ad-lib anything to save his life.
- Think they shouldn't have WWTT as a weekly segment... need something else to break it up.
Next week looks good with the new Nissan GTR.
James Morrison is an extremely good driver. I wouldn't have picked it.
I think he's done at least 2 celeb races at the Australian F1 GP over the years
- Think they shouldn't have WWTT as a weekly segment... need something else to break it up.
Agree.The Poms don't do 'The Cool Wall' every week.
Agree with your points there Kaysee.
I'm also starting to come around on Pizzati (sp?) and yes, Charlie is still struggling.
NorthBhoy
5 Nov 2008, 09:31
The cartoonist hasn't said one thing in the total 2 hours or so I have watched of the series that I would consider even slightly funny. And he is the best by far.
Shithouse.
-Charlie Cox is really really shocking as a host especially the main host. .
is he the old grey loud really up himself one? the one i woud best describe as a dicko clone
if so yes he is shocking and the main reason i don;t watch the show & by the looks of the ratings maybe i'm not alone
i
is he the old grey loud really up himself one? the one i woud best describe as a dicko clone
if so yes he is shocking and the main reason i don;t watch the show & by the looks of the ratings maybe i'm not alone
i
Yep that is him.
Would it kill CC to actually comment when either The Stig or Guest does a lap?
CC: "James, why don't YOU talk us through you lap."
WTF... stop being a disinterested, lazy, GIT and provide commentary. The often moments of silence whilst the cars go around the track REALLY DETRACT from these segments.
For me... they don't have to be funny... just interesting.
Warren isn't really funny but alteast he is being his honest goofy self and his segments aren't filled with static noise.
Annoying guy... might be annoying but atleast he says something and tries.
You could drive a road train through the gaps in CC's commentary... and his scripted comedic timing is just painful. F&*^ get a hot looking chick on to replace CC. :D :D
SKC
Anyone see last nights episode?
Steve Pizzati (annoying one) has grown on me now. He seems to settled in now and is finding/firming his feet.
Warren Brown is still going strong.
Charlie Cox... has to go. He is the weakest link. Especially as the "main" presenter... he is just shocking.
Anyone notice how last night CC again handballed the commentary of the Celebrity Drivers off to the 2 drivers themselves.
Actually last nights show was one of the best to watch IMO... and is was probably due to CC have less to do. SP and WB did the STI vs Tiger Helicopter Challenge, SP and WB did the WWTT, SP did the Nissan GTR review, and they had 2 Supercar drivers doing the laps with minimal input from CC.
J-Train
11 Nov 2008, 11:46
Anyone see last nights episode?
Steve Pizzati (annoying one) has grown on me now. He seems to settled in now and is finding/firming his feet.
Warren Brown is still going strong.
Charlie Cox... has to go. He is the weakest link. Especially as the "main" presenter... he is just shocking.
Anyone notice how last night CC again handballed the commentary of the Celebrity Drivers off to the 2 drivers themselves.
Actually last nights show was one of the best to watch IMO... and is was probably due to CC have less to do. SP and WB did the STI vs Tiger Helicopter Challenge, SP and WB did the WWTT, SP did the Nissan GTR review, and they had 2 Supercar drivers doing the laps with minimal input from CC.
The silence surrounding the WWTT segment was incredibly awkward. All that was missing was the cricket sound and a tumbleweed rolling past.
that_dood
11 Nov 2008, 15:19
And for someone whose profession is a motor racing commentator you would think he would be doing it and making it interesting. But it sounds amateurish when the celebrities have to commentate as they have no idea how to properly.
Other than that I thought it was great last night.
I wonder if they will commit to Holden or ford in the challenge next week. I would like their to be a winner instead of them sitting on the fence.
It seems TGA is in the crapper with some car manufacturers
Top Gear's repear bill costs $200,000 (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,24766810-5006022,00.html)
Have none of these car manufacturers seen the British version and know what could be done ?
Cox out (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,24823947-5005961,00.html)
Charlie Cox is leaving TGA and heading back to Britain.James Morrison has replaced him.
Cox out (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,24823947-5005961,00.html)
Charlie Cox is leaving TGA and heading back to Britain.James Morrison has replaced him.
Its a good move.
that_dood
20 Dec 2008, 12:29
That is a great move as Cox was stale, scripted and by far the worst of the hosts. Morrison is a good replacement and could really help the show improve their ratings and the quality of the show.
lincsPJ
20 Dec 2008, 21:02
the australian version is a poorly scripted, try hard, embarrassing disgrace to australian television. it's up there with the ilk of US kath and kim.
it's boring and unfunny. cox imo was the only one to have natural tv persona. brown and pizzatti just try too hard. the series wont get any more viewers in season 2. they'll likely get less. i hoping this was the end of it all... now theyre gonna try and save it with mr balloon cheeks. no chance.
that_dood
20 Dec 2008, 21:11
the australian version is a poorly scripted, try hard, embarrassing disgrace to australian television. it's up there with the ilk of US kath and kim.
it's boring and unfunny. cox imo was the only one to have natural tv persona. brown and pizzatti just try too hard. the series wont get any more viewers in season 2. they'll likely get less. i hoping this was the end of it all... now theyre gonna try and save it with mr balloon cheeks. no chance.
Hardly an embarrassment to Australian TV. It was a good series that will only improve. Cox was the one who was pretty much scripted while the other two were more natural to TV. Morrison will compliment them well and hopefully they learn from the first series just like the Brits did after their first series.
that_dood
11 May 2009, 22:52
*Hump de Bump*
Back on tonight and I thought it was an improvement on last season. Morrison is a lot better than that twit Cox and doesn't try to impersonate the Brits in his delivery. Glad the "What were they thinking" was gone and glad they explained the track as it was pretty foreign and hard to understand the different sections last season.
Still a way to go but getting better.
Admiral Afterworld
12 May 2009, 00:02
I don't think tonight's episode was part of season 1 :p
This show is like softcore porn... a pathetic imitation and completely pointless.