View Full Version : TV Survivor Micronesia - Fans vs Favorites
Starts tonight on Nine at the ungodly hour of 10.30pm. For those of us who actually waited for it to come on free-to-air. No spoilers please!
Admiral Afterworld
1 Oct 2008, 00:49
Saw this in the guide so I did a search: this season is 8 months old! :eek: I guess this means Nine will be airing Survivor: Gabon in May? :rolleyes:
I watched the first episode tonight, wasn't too bad I thought. The Favourites were too cocky in my opinion, they never really gave the Fans much respect and that was probably part of the reason why they lost the immunity challenge. Not to mention their organisational skills at the start of the challenge were poor for a group who have played the game before.
Kind of disappointed that Fairplay was voted out first (via his own wishes). Would have been very, very interesting to see him go further into the game, he could have made the game his own had he wanted to stay but I guess it wasn't to be. The African-American girl from the Favourites (can't remember her name) will surely be voted out when they go to tribal council next, she comes across as rather useless.
Too early to have any real opinions about the Fans, that taller girl's mouth is going to get her in trouble though.
Parvati is still hot as. ;) :D
Saw this in the guide so I did a search: this season is 8 months old! :eek: I guess this means Nine will be airing Survivor: Gabon in May? :rolleyes:
I can't see Nine showing it in the middle of the ratings season. I'm hoping they'll show Gabon immediately after Micronesia finishes, that's the only way we'll be able to see it without it being delayed until late 2009. With summer coming on, hopefully Nine will move it forward to a better timselot.
Gridlock'd
1 Oct 2008, 09:33
Bummer that Fairplay is gone first. He would have provided some excellent entertainment.
Geez, id like to smasht the back out of Parvati as well.
The clip for next week showed Ozzy hooking up with one of the birds. Wasnt Parvati was it? If so, massive respect to Ozzy.
This was a cracking season... one of their very best mainly due to the contestants they brought back and the inclusion of people who have watched every season.
The strategy, social manipulation, blindsiding, and physical challenges make this season a must for any Survivor fan. Also contains one of the most infamous incidents in the show's history... you'll have to see it to believe it.
Spectacular location too.
Enjoy!
I cant believe how one of the chicks from the fans looks like kathy griffen. Or is it her...
Cassius_Clay
1 Oct 2008, 18:03
Oh Parvati is a sex bomb. Not the hottest survivor ever but she's a little ****ty and what a turn on she is. :eek:
Actually looks like a great season, especially the amount of good looking chicks.
What the **** was Fairplay doing? Damn you...
I sooo disagree with you lot about Parvati. She has one of the ugliest mouths I think I've ever seen. Still, she's a flirty little so and so, and that might get her some way in this series, though I'd be shocked if she wins it.
Actually, I'm pretty disappointed with the selection of "favourites". Ozzy, Yau Man and James are the only three I like. The black girl's name is Cirie, by the way. And I agree that she won't last long.
I thought the Favourites were downright embarrassed in the immunity challenge. As for Fairplay, I couldn't stand him and I'm delighted to see the back of him! Obviously it was the wrong time for him to play Survivor again. You have to wonder how concerned he may have been about his public image. He probably thinks he'll win respect, who knows...?
Anyway, it was an interesting first episode. Fans vs Favourites is something different and I always like to see innovation on this show.
Cassius_Clay
1 Oct 2008, 18:44
Out of all the series of survivor, Yau Man is the guy I despise the most. Thinks he's too clever for everyone else. I still laugh at the fact he threw I million away last series. :D :D
I sooo disagree with you lot about Parvati. She has one of the ugliest mouths I think I've ever seen. Still, she's a flirty little so and so, and that might get her some way in this series, though I'd be shocked if she wins it.
Parvati is hoooottt. I don't think you'd be complaining too much if it was around somewhere else... ;) :D
Actually, I'm pretty disappointed with the selection of "favourites". Ozzy, Yau Man and James are the only three I like. The black girl's name is Cirie, by the way. And I agree that she won't last long.
I'm guessing some of the people on there weren't first choice selections. Cirie (thanks for the name) doesn't look like she's going to go all that far, she comes across as pretty useless. Surely there's no way she was picked first by the producers?
I thought the Favourites were downright embarrassed in the immunity challenge. As for Fairplay, I couldn't stand him and I'm delighted to see the back of him! Obviously it was the wrong time for him to play Survivor again. You have to wonder how concerned he may have been about his public image. He probably thinks he'll win respect, who knows...?
Fairplay is a classic survivor contestant despite his less than ethical ideas. I was hoping he'd go deep into the series as he has the ability to completely change the landscape of the game and it makes great viewing. Unfortunately we won't see that now.
Anyway, it was an interesting first episode. Fans vs Favourites is something different and I always like to see innovation on this show.
Agreed, a good concept. Hopefully they'll do another All-Stard soon but with the "Favourites" playing this time it might not be for a while.
The clip for next week showed Ozzy hooking up with one of the birds. Wasnt Parvati was it? If so, massive respect to Ozzy
Might have been Amanda. And yes, good on him.
Valentino Dmitri
1 Oct 2008, 21:06
As others have said, I can't believe Johnny Fairplay is gone. He was CLEARLY only brought on to stir the pot, the producers must be fuming that he went straight away. Very disappointing.
TigerGlory
5 Oct 2008, 11:23
As others have said, I can't believe Johnny Fairplay is gone. He was CLEARLY only brought on to stir the pot, the producers must be fuming that he went straight away. Very disappointing.
They were always going to get rid of him straight away.
Would you honestly run the risk of keeping him on the island? Especially since you know hes going to screw with the whole tribe.
Smart, sensible move I thought, they might have even thrown the challenge to piss him off straight away before he caused any damage. :thumbsu:
Also, im predicting that as the game goes on, The Fans will die out, and the Favourites will take over. They have the experience and will run it out better than the Fans in my opinion.
I would have preferred if they mixed the tribes up. Like 5 fans and 5 favourites on each tribe, would have made it more interesting i reckon.
Also, im predicting that as the game goes on, The Fans will die out, and the Favourites will take over. They have the experience and will run it out better than the Fans in my opinion.
Time will tell whether experience gives the Favourites a significant advantage.
I would have preferred if they mixed the tribes up. Like 5 fans and 5 favourites on each tribe, would have made it more interesting i reckon.
Possibly, but that would have put the favourites at something of a disadvantage. Eg. the fans would have seen them play before and would know their reputations and what they were capable of. And a fellow like Fairplay wouldn't stand a snowballs chance in hell.
So glad to see this show back. :thumbsu:
And I think I saw an ad on Channel 7, saying the Amazing Race was coming back too?!?! :thumbsu:
What season are they up to these days????
20????
What season are they up to these days????
Micronesia was season 16.
Gabon is season 17 and has just started in the States.
I just love it when people get blindsided at Tribal Council. :thumbsu:
There's some interesting alliances happening in both of the tribes at the moment. Exile Island always adds a twist or two to the game. The Favourites finally got their act together in the immunity challenge.
tiger of old
9 Oct 2008, 09:50
Micronesia was season 16.
Gabon is season 17 and has just started in the States.
They should have a series, Aussies vs the Yanks:thumbsu::D
Stenglein's a Champ!
9 Oct 2008, 22:14
I just love it when people get blindsided at Tribal Council. :thumbsu:
There's some interesting alliances happening in both of the tribes at the moment. Exile Island always adds a twist or two to the game. The Favourites finally got their act together in the immunity challenge.
Loved how Joel had Mary voted off just to send a message to Michael.
The challenge next week looks pretty good, with the blokes showing their strength.
Loved how Joel had Mary voted off just to send a message to Michael.
The challenge next week looks pretty good, with the blokes showing their strength.
And Joel didn't vote for Mary himself, he voted for Tracey.
Well, I was sad to see Yauman go. He was one of the few in the Favourites that I liked. Him being voted off was testament to the great player he is. The others were obviously very concerned about his abilities.
Meanwhile Jonathan is once again displaying his obnoxiousness, just like he did in the last series he was in. He's boring, selfish, a chronic whinger and just very unpleasant. I look forward to his arse being booted off. He certainly isn't popular with Cirie.
He certainly isn't popular with Cirie.
Because she sees straight through him.
Exactly why she is such a brilliant player of this game... her social perception and ability to manipulate is vastly underrated. She is a very wily fox.
TigerGlory
17 Oct 2008, 17:28
Meathead Joel survived another week.
One of the funniest things i heard him say the other night. Something along the lines of...
"Anybody who crawls into my home, im gonna kill 'em"
...Meathead. :thumbsu:
Dylan12
22 Oct 2008, 02:04
Looks like it won't matter after seeing the promo for next week, but what were the fans doing voting Mike out? Were they trying to create a weak team? I didn't really like Mike a whole lot, and I know it was strategic, but geez Chet or the old duck are absolutely hopeless.
I am hoping that dude from the fans who spoke up right before they voted wins. Guys like him usually don't win, but after Fairplay was voted out and my other favourite Jonathan looking like he will get the boot, here's hoping that other dude wins. Cirie is the one I can't stand, I don't know why they didn't vote her ass out of there instead of Yau last week.
The Old Dark Navy's
22 Oct 2008, 13:13
Ozzie has this game down. Dominates the challenges .. how smart was he to push all of the coconuts or whatever they were along to the end of the cage. Fans got up 2 nil with another about to come out but his strategy crushed them. Then he finds the idol and replaces it with a fake one, concealing it nicely from the chick there and all the while he gets to get some serious action going with Amanda, who is hotter than Parvati IMO.
Legend. I didn't watch the one with Ozzie in it last time I don't think, but wish I had.
Gridlock'd
23 Oct 2008, 17:51
Ozzie has this game down. Dominates the challenges .. how smart was he to push all of the coconuts or whatever they were along to the end of the cage. Fans got up 2 nil with another about to come out but his strategy crushed them. Then he finds the idol and replaces it with a fake one, concealing it nicely from the chick there and all the while he gets to get some serious action going with Amanda, who is hotter than Parvati IMO.
Legend. I didn't watch the one with Ozzie in it last time I don't think, but wish I had.
He is a gun, but had some very decent opposition in Yul, in his original survivor. Yul was a top bloke and also awesome at challenges.
Strachuniee
23 Oct 2008, 20:02
He is a gun, but had some very decent opposition in Yul, in his original survivor. Yul was a top bloke and also awesome at challenges.
They were awesome challenges between Yul and Ozzy but IIRC Ozzy won like the last 4 challenges or something like that. That was a great season and probably the one that got me back into it.
Strachuniee
23 Oct 2008, 20:06
Looks like it won't matter after seeing the promo for next week, but what were the fans doing voting Mike out? Were they trying to create a weak team? I didn't really like Mike a whole lot, and I know it was strategic, but geez Chet or the old duck are absolutely hopeless.
I am hoping that dude from the fans who spoke up right before they voted wins. Guys like him usually don't win, but after Fairplay was voted out and my other favourite Jonathan looking like he will get the boot, here's hoping that other dude wins. Cirie is the one I can't stand, I don't know why they didn't vote her ass out of there instead of Yau last week.
Agreed, basically the only reason that they were so close in that coconut challenge. I also rate that chick from the fans i think her names starts will a
bloodpumpsRnB
23 Oct 2008, 21:21
Exactly why she is such a brilliant player of this game... her social perception and ability to manipulate is vastly underrated. She is a very wily fox.
She went from being the only one without an alliance, to the one controlling her alliance. She's gonna win it this time, remember the only reason she didn't make it to the final 3 in her first season was because she couldn't build a fire.
Another good episode. Fans are shooting themselves in the foot by voting out the stronger players. They'll stand no chance once the tribes encounter a challenge involving strength.
Jonathan might be next to go if the Favourites are back at tribal council. A real shame cause he's one of my favourite players.
undies37
23 Oct 2008, 21:58
Man i love this series
i have watched it on youtube but will still watch it on 9
its great
It seems a common trend throughout all the different series of Survivor that it is in fact more important to not be unpopular than it is to be a strong player.
In particular, anyone who's perceived as being overly bossy usually gets the arse pretty quickly. Hence Mike's departure. So it might be difficult for TV viewers to understand why the lame ducks aren't voted out instead, but then I guess we don't have to put up with a tyrant 24 hours a day.
I'm glad we're getting two new teams next week. Hopefully it'll spice things up a bit. For me this series has been pretty mediocre so far.
Might have been Amanda. And yes, good on him.
yeah good work Oz - I reckon Amanda is smoking hot. Easily one of the most attractive survivors ever IMO. :thumbsu:
How funny was it watching Joel drag Chet around that reward challenge like a dead dog on a leash.
"I hurt my head"
"I don't care!!"
"I know"
:thumbsu:
Gridlock'd
29 Oct 2008, 10:48
How funny was it watching Joel drag Chet around that reward challenge like a dead dog on a leash.
"I hurt my head"
"I don't care!!"
"I know"
Haha yeah, poor old Chet got cleaned up a few times there.
Still it was a pretty poor effort from him, no heart at all.
Some classic James moments once again last night.
Another ripper series, too bad we have had to wait six months for it.
"I hurt my head"
"I don't care!!"
"I know"
:D
I felt a tiny bit sorry for him (like Joel was the big bully and he was the weak little nerd on the school ground), but yeah crap effort by Chet (again).
How he is still in the game i dont know.
Will serve the tribe right if they keep losing.
I felt a tiny bit sorry for him (like Joel was the big bully and he was the weak little nerd on the school ground), but yeah crap effort by Chet (again).
How he is still in the game i dont know.
Will serve the tribe right if they keep losing.
It's amazing how many of the dud fans are still there.
I suppose Ozzy thinks he is untouchable now he has immunity. Chet will just do anything he wants him to do, while now the big tough Joel is gone. And Cherie was real smart last night..
I guess its a fine line Surivor. But bottom line, ya gotta stay strong to win challenges, up until the final merge when it's everyone for themself.
I suppose Ozzy thinks he is untouchable now he has immunity. Chet will just do anything he wants him to do, while now the big tough Joel is gone. And Cherie was real smart last night..
I guess its a fine line Surivor. But bottom line, ya gotta stay strong to win challenges, up until the final merge when it's everyone for themself.
Yeah. Looks like next week's episode will be a belter, with the false idol found and Jonathan looking crook.
It would have been interesting if Ozzy had changed campsites and hadn't been able to bring the idol with him.
TigerGlory
29 Oct 2008, 17:21
Am i missing something here, or is the tribe TRYING to lose by keeping Chet?
The last two weeks the tribe with Chet has voted off Joel and Mikey B, two bigger blokes.
Imagine if they'd gotten Ozzy, Joel, Mikey B and that other wannabe-Ozzy all on the one tribe. They'd have dominated. :thumbsu:
Am i missing something here, or is the tribe TRYING to lose by keeping Chet?
The last two weeks the tribe with Chet has voted off Joel and Mikey B, two bigger blokes.
Imagine if they'd gotten Ozzy, Joel, Mikey B and that other wannabe-Ozzy all on the one tribe. They'd have dominated. :thumbsu:
Not to mention the first girl who got voted off, Mikey's buddy - she seemed pretty fit too.
TigerGlory
29 Oct 2008, 17:37
Not to mention the first girl who got voted off, Mikey's buddy - she seemed pretty fit too.
I think they are overthinking it a little bit.
Because they are Survivor Nerds, they are probably thinking weeks ahead. About the merger, who will be the strongest etc.
Problem is, they gotta get there first. Your better off just kicking off the weaklings at the start, then actually figuring out what to do with the merger when you actually get there. :thumbsu:
The Old Dark Navy's
29 Oct 2008, 17:41
The best manipulators are getting voted off first. Fairplay, Mikey, Joel ... working well.
Eliza is a bit of a player but is not well liked.
Ozzie steers things when he needs to. Right now though, he lets Cerie pick the victims as long as they are not his friends. She gets the blame and removes Ozzie's main competition. Jonathan is a player too but has been weakened.
If Ozzie and Amanda can hang around until James and Parvati rejoin them when the tribes merge as one, then they are the final four. I think Amy might throw a spanner in the works to get rid of Parvati though as they want to break up that alliance for later in the game.
Yeah. Looks like next week's episode will be a belter, with the false idol found and Jonathan looking crook.
It would have been interesting if Ozzy had changed campsites and hadn't been able to bring the idol with him.
Yup, read in the Guide today, next weeks episode is meant to be another awesome one. :thumbsu:
And i was thinking the exact same thing!! If Ozzy changed camps, wtf would happen with the idol. Probably would just sit there, until the merger happened so he could get it again.
Yup, read in the Guide today, next weeks episode is meant to be another awesome one. :thumbsu:
And i was thinking the exact same thing!! If Ozzy changed camps, wtf would happen with the idol. Probably would just sit there, until the merger happened so he could get it again.
That's if he made it that far.
Stenglein's a Champ!
29 Oct 2008, 23:51
Haven't laughed as hard as I did during the challenge last night in a while.
That initial flip when Chet got pulled over the obstacle was f**king gold. Only got better when he was being dragged around. Was slightly disturbing though as I could picture Chet being in that sort of situation before, though in a completely different context.
As I predicted, picking new tribes was the best thing that could have happened and it certainly livened up the series!
I don't really like any of the players in this series. Maybe Ozzy and Erik just a bit. But my least favourite players are Jonathan and Parvati, so I'm going for Malakal at the moment.
I don't understand why Ozzy told his alliance he had found the idol. There was absolutely no need to do that. It could seriously come back to bite him on the arse. You can't trust people on this show and now that there's new tribes, it just makes it even sillier. I think it was poor judgment and blatant overconfidence by Ozzy. But having said that, he does appear to be in a pretty strong position in his new tribe - at the moment.
Joel was certainly an interesting character, but in the end, his own eagerness to win and lack of compassion cost him dearly!
I've just finished watching the fourth series Survivor Marquesas, which was the one not shown on Australian TV. Trust me, it's one of the best series ever! I hope you other Survivor fans get to see that one at some point. :)
As I predicted, picking new tribes was the best thing that could have happened and it certainly livened up the series!
I don't really like any of the players in this series. Maybe Ozzy and Erik just a bit. But my least favourite players are Jonathan and Parvati, so I'm going for Malakal at the moment.
I don't understand why Ozzy told his alliance he had found the idol. There was absolutely no need to do that. It could seriously come back to bite him on the arse. You can't trust people on this show and now that there's new tribes, it just makes it even sillier. I think it was poor judgment and blatant overconfidence by Ozzy. But having said that, he does appear to be in a pretty strong position in his new tribe - at the moment.
Joel was certainly an interesting character, but in the end, his own eagerness to win and lack of compassion cost him dearly!
I've just finished watching the fourth series Survivor Marquesas, which was the one not shown on Australian TV. Trust me, it's one of the best series ever! I hope you other Survivor fans get to see that one at some point. :)
Ah really! That's the only one I haven't seen too.
Dylan12
30 Oct 2008, 19:02
Ozzy telling the others was very foolish on his part. James had two idols IIRC in the last Survivor and told people, who later blind-sided him at tribal and thinking he was ok didn't use them and got voted off. History has taught us, that on this show, never under-estimate any under-handed tactics by your closest allies.
Where did you watch the fourth series? I have been checking ebay/amazon for years hoping it would be released on dvd but it never has or the Survivor 3 which was not shown either.
The one person I want gone, is Cirie...badly, I cannot stand her smugness and hoping they wake up to her. She offers sweet f.a but struts around bad mouthing everyone else's inadequacies without highlighting her own. I know that is what you need to do in this game and she does it well, but its these people that shit me the most. At least your Fairplays, Jonothan's and Joel's make no bones about their intentions which I like, but unfortunately it gets you know where except get rids of the players you actually want to see play the game. The tribes need to wake up to her and vote her sorry ass out of there.:mad:
Ozzy telling the others was very foolish on his part. James had two idols IIRC in the last Survivor and told people, who later blind-sided him at tribal and thinking he was ok didn't use them and got voted off. History has taught us, that on this show, never under-estimate any under-handed tactics by your closest allies.
Where did you watch the fourth series? I have been checking ebay/amazon for years hoping it would be released on dvd but it never has or the Survivor 3 which was not shown either.
The one person I want gone, is Cirie...badly, I cannot stand her smugness and hoping they wake up to her. She offers sweet f.a but struts around bad mouthing everyone else's inadequacies without highlighting her own. I know that is what you need to do in this game and she does it well, but its these people that shit me the most. At least your Fairplays, Jonothan's and Joel's make no bones about their intentions which I like, but unfortunately it gets you know where except get rids of the players you actually want to see play the game. The tribes need to wake up to her and vote her sorry ass out of there.:mad:
Downloaded, I assume.
Also, we did see Survivor 3 in Australia. It was in Africa, Ethan won from memory.
Dylan12
31 Oct 2008, 16:06
Downloaded, I assume.
Also, we did see Survivor 3 in Australia. It was in Africa, Ethan won from memory.
I have seen every survivor except 3 & 4. Because I missed season 2, I actually bought it and have been trying to find 3 and 4. For some reason I didn't think 3 was shown in Aus, but you are right, it was. Hopefully I don't remember that name SJ Daics when I do watch it someday!
Downloaded, I assume.
That was a good series. There's some pricks who win survivor and some nice guys -Ethan was one of the good ones.
Dasher39
2 Nov 2008, 16:01
That was a good series. There's some pricks who win survivor and some nice guys -Ethan was one of the good ones.Yep, he was one of my favourite winners.
Isn't he now dating a fellow Survivor and I think they have set up some form of charity.
Yep, he was one of my favourite winners.
Isn't he now dating a fellow Survivor and I think they have set up some form of charity.
Yes that's right, Jenna Morasca I think.
Just watched the episode then. Is Chet one of the worst survivors ever? Honestly, the guy is ****in useless, does absolutely nothing at camp, shit at challenges and then has the audacity to blame everyone but himself for the team's troubles. It was funny how he blamed Joel at the immunity for the loss when he was the one telling everyone what to do. And he couldn't even do that right!!! For ****s sake, it must be so infuriating to have such a muppet on your team.
Cirie is no better either. Like what Dylan said, calling most of the shots but does very little else to better the tribe. I hope she and Chet go pretty soon, they don't add anything to the game.
A pretty good episode still. Joel got beaten at his own game, Malakul got dudded at the switch with some shit players. Parvati and Amanda still look amazing.
Still hope Jonathan wins although that looks unlikely now with his leg problem.
This series is starting to get good. :thumbsu:
Downloaded, I assume.
That was the first series of Survivor I ever watched. Haven't seen 1,2 and 4.
KENT2008
2 Nov 2008, 22:59
you gotta watch season 1 as it was the original and really kicked off the whole reality tv movement add to that it was a great season seeing hatch (unfortunately naked) really set the tone for future survivors with his scheming, season 2 was also a great season as it was held in australia!
my personal fav season was pearl islands, really good twists and great variety of people such as rupert and fairplay!
That was Panama, if I recall...
And yeah, that was definitely one of the best.
Didn't realise there was a thread for Survivor. Seriously I was ROFLMAO when he stuck around. I'd think you would of had to call the doctor if they had Ozzy gone. But I was ROFLMAO when that Jason kid was so bloody stupid that he thought he got the idol. I mean SERIOUSLY COME ON!!. FUNNY AS HELL.
Sad to see Johnno go though.
Stenglein's a Champ!
4 Nov 2008, 23:52
Was really hoping the fans of Malakai pulled off that blindside on either Ozzy or Cirie, would've really marked their intentions.
Sad to see Johnathon go though, he was sitting in a prime position to dominate.
And honestly, how much of a beast is James? Almost single-handedly carried those poles across in the immunity challenge.
PS: Can't wait until Jason tries to use that immunity idol.
Shame to see Jonathan go, one of my favourite players. He was a good position in the game also, may have even gone all the way if it weren't for that knee of his. Not the way he would have wanted to go.
Finally Chet is gone, one of the most useless contestants ever. Hopefully Tracy and Cirie follow pretty soon. James is proving just how good he really is. He pretty much single handedly won that game for Airai through sheer strength.
Looking forward to the next few eps, we should see the real contenders come to the fore.
soupaman
5 Nov 2008, 12:22
Didn't realise there was a thread for Survivor. Seriously I was ROFLMAO when he stuck around. I'd think you would of had to call the doctor if they had Ozzy gone. But I was ROFLMAO when that Jason kid was so bloody stupid that he thought he got the idol. I mean SERIOUSLY COME ON!!. FUNNY AS HELL.
Sad to see Johnno go though.
Yes, the idol is pretty sh*t, but if you found that could you afford to say it isn't the idol? If you found that I'm pretty sure you would be hanging onto it, because regardless of how pathetic it looks there is still the chance of it being the idol, and therefore you have to hang onto it. Unfortunately it may be his downfall.
Totally agree that the fans royally stuffed up by not blind siding Ozzy, but wished it had have been Cirie, can't stand that arrogant bitch. If Chet had any balls, he would have spoke up last week instead and nominated himself for the sake of the fans and let Joel hang around, regardless that they would have got Joel voted in out in the short term, but don't tell me his strength wouldn't have come in handy last night.
Bitterly disappointed Jonathan had to retire...the two I was hoping to go far, him and Fairplay gone so early...ruined the series and now we have to put up with stooges like Cirie, Eliza, Tracee, ...god I hope James wins!
Cirie proves that it's not all about braun.
As for Chet, I know we don't see everything, but Tracey really needed to say to him to stay for the vote, then retire from the game the following day through injury. It would have been the biggest blind side in the history of the game.
Cirie proves that it's not all about braun.
As for Chet, I know we don't see everything, but Tracey really needed to say to him to stay for the vote, then retire from the game the following day through injury. It would have been the biggest blind side in the history of the game.
Haha big call that! Even last season, James had two immunity idols and was blindsided from nowhere.
Well, I rather enjoyed the last episode. Unlike some of you, I'm delighted to see the back of Jonathan, who I found to be an obnoxious, self-centred bully. I was surprised at the amount of love his teammates had for him.
And yeah, I agree Chet had to be one of the worst players ever. I don't mean to be judgmental, but he was a shocker. He'd given up days ago and was just the walking dead. The producers need to choose better players than that, surely!
Jason's reaction to finding the idol was hilarious. It's going to be so much fun if he has to use it and finds it's not really the idol. :D
I'm not liking Ozzy as much as I did in the last series. I've decided I'm supporting Erik from this point. I was also happy to see Eliza thinking ahead and realising the danger of the James-Parvati-Ozzy-Amanda alliance reforming. Hopefully Parvati will get the arse soon.
Haha big call that! Even last season, James had two immunity idols and was blindsided from nowhere.
Why do they do that? I liked the way they used to do it- if you got the majority of the vote you then used it and then the dumb idiot who got 1 or two votes gets outed!
I just hate after all this hidden immunity idol bullshit, people can get kicked out and it doesnt even get used.
Why do they do that? I liked the way they used to do it- if you got the majority of the vote you then used it and then the dumb idiot who got 1 or two votes gets outed!
I just hate after all this hidden immunity idol bullshit, people can get kicked out and it doesnt even get used.
I think it's probably better this way - the first time it was too powerful, so powerful it was never used.
Tribes never bothered trying to flush it out because they knew each time that it could be played, and there was too much risk.
Now it still has the immunity benefit but it's not a 'get out of gaol' card.
I think it's probably better this way - the first time it was too powerful, so powerful it was never used.
Tribes never bothered trying to flush it out because they knew each time that it could be played, and there was too much risk.
Now it still has the immunity benefit but it's not a 'get out of gaol' card.
I still reckon I like the other way better.
Last week for instance they could have given the majority of the vote to Ozzie, (whilst giving a couple votes to Chet), thus forcing him to play the idol, so he wouldnt have the benefit of it from there on in!
Either way, the producers of this show need a new idea to shake things up imo. Still a great show! I'm not trying to overly complain here...
I still reckon I like the other way better.
Last week for instance they could have given the majority of the vote to Ozzie, (whilst giving a couple votes to Chet), thus forcing him to play the idol, so he wouldnt have the benefit of it from there on in!
Either way, the producers of this show need a new idea to shake things up imo. Still a great show! I'm not trying to overly complain here...
Yeah that was the original idea but never worked, the players had plans they wanted to implement immediately but the risk of trying to combine flushing out the idol together with voting out someone else was too great.
The Old Dark Navy's
7 Nov 2008, 12:43
Maybe they should allow the idol to be played after voting right up until the tribes merge or the jury starts forming, then if you don't play it before voting and get blindsided ... bad luck. Best of both worlds. You get an advantage by getting through to the last half of the show but don't get two chances in the last half of the show.
Much better the way it is now. You need the brains & brawn to get the idol in the first place, but you need the social perception to realise when it needs to be played.
James and Yauman were the perfect examples... one got complacent with two idols and was blindsided, and the other kept his wits about him and saved his skin.
This series was one of the better ones pre merge, but really heats up after the merge.
Sad to see Jonathan go.
In the immunity challenge when James was basically carrying the poles by himself, why didn't the other tribe do the same think when they realised they were so far behind? They waited until it was Amy's turn and by then the challenge was over.
Sad to see Jonathan go.
In the immunity challenge when James was basically carrying the poles by himself, why didn't the other tribe do the same think when they realised they were so far behind? They waited until it was Amy's turn and by then the challenge was over.
Maybe because they weren't very bright? :D
Maybe because they didn't have anyone of James' strength to do the same.
MARVELDC
8 Nov 2008, 12:50
The show is GARBAGE! :thumbsd:
Maybe because they weren't very bright? :D
And the fact they voted out Joel the week before when they should have voted that poor excuse in Chet. Served them right!
So why post?
So you're the tough guy who rated this thread one star.
Well done. :thumbsu:
TigerGlory
9 Nov 2008, 11:17
They were stupid for not getting rid of Chet sooner.
Hopeless excuse for a player, the lack of food must be affecting their brains.
Before this season and in the first episode it was heavily talked up that these "fans" were true fans of the game, but I haven't seen or heard much from them that sets them apart from many others.
I was hoping for players with distinct game plans and strategies, and apart from Joel and Mikey, I'm not sure if the fans have portrayed much of that. At least not to the camera.
Before this season and in the first episode it was heavily talked up that these "fans" were true fans of the game, but I haven't seen or heard much from them that sets them apart from many others.
I was hoping for players with distinct game plans and strategies, and apart from Joel and Mikey, I'm not sure if the fans have portrayed much of that. At least not to the camera.
"Fans vs Favorites" was just a marketing title, I'd suggest.
I realise that, and that's why I'm disappointed, because they initially marketed it like this:
vDUTPsGpsqM
The fans voted out all the decent "fans" like what you said above (Joel and Mikey). Now they've left us with all the muppets. If Malukul keep losing, Ozzy and co will pick off the fans one-by-one and then once the merge comes around, the favourites will have a massive majority and they'll easily vote off the last remaining fans.
To be honest, they haven't really done a lot. Perhaps they've been too "starstruck".
MARVELDC
9 Nov 2008, 15:40
So why post?
To state my opinion! Isn't that what this site is all about? :confused: :rolleyes:
Fine then your opinion is shite. There you go.:rolleyes:
BTW if you want to state your opinion say it and then leave.:rolleyes:
And you explained the reasons for your opinion so clearly.
Stenglein's a Champ!
9 Nov 2008, 23:05
I realise that, and that's why I'm disappointed, because they initially marketed it like this:
Had to laugh at calling them 'super-fans'.
So you're the tough guy who rated this thread one star.
Well done. :thumbsu:
Make that TWO of us. :thumbsu:
This is nothing but rubbish television. :thumbsd:
Fine then your opinion is shite. There you go.:rolleyes:
BTW if you want to state your opinion say it and then leave.:rolleyes:
Yup.
Heres another opinion. I hate heavy metal for example, yet im not going to go onto the music board and proclaim in big letters I HATE HEAVY METAL, woot arent I good? :rolleyes:
LMAO. :D:thumbsu:
Make it 3, do I here 4?
The Old Dark Navy's
10 Nov 2008, 13:06
Some of you are doing nothing more than trolling and derailing this thread. You might want to revisit the rules.
Make it 3, do I here 4?
Its 'hear' nitwit.
(Still laughing ass off :thumbsu:)
** Whoosh **
TigerGlory
11 Nov 2008, 17:16
Im very disappointed in the idiots who kept Chet around that long.
Clearly Mola-whatever could have had a massive strength advantage. Theoretically could have had Ozzy, Joel, Mickey B and the other bloke who is an Ozzy wannabe but isn't as good.
They've shot themselves in the foot, and only have themselves to blame when they get absolutely owned in the challenges.