View Full Version : Merged Trade/Delisting Threads - Part 4

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

Ludwig van Bertstare
30 Sep 2008, 21:09
Last one reached 1000+ posts

Can people please tell me, an educated point of view, what type of player young Cale Hooker will become, as he has been touted as a KPP, but is a really good runner, becuase if he can fill a KP, then we may want to go for that gun mid in the first round,

Colin D'Cops
30 Sep 2008, 21:14
Cale has been given all sorts of jobs such as CHB, CHF and a few flank jobs as well at Bendigo. He's still very raw, so I think this time next year we'll know a lot more about where he plays his best footy so I couldn't give you a definite answer at the moment.

Ben the Gooner
30 Sep 2008, 21:15
Last one reached 1000+ posts

What about my fantastic epics? They don't get quoted.:mad::p

I'd like to see some more discussion on this one, though.

If people are prepared to give up 2 first round picks for Kerr why not give up pick 5 for Garland?

Some thoughts from the D&T Board (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=502839).

Yer pick 5 is definately the right compensation for him

even as a melbourne supporter i'd say that was paying over the odds.

garland had a decent first up season playing down back, but not enough to warrant a top 5 selection in what is purportedly a very strong and even draft.

You will get some Melbourne supporters who'll shoot you down, but that's really tough proposition.

That's probably about his value, an early first rounder. After this year he's shaping as our best defender, especially seeing as Rivers can't get out on the park. If we are well covered for 1 area, it's tall defenders with Garland, Rivers, Warnock, Martin, Frawley and McNamara, we can probably afford to lose 1, but Garland is the pick of the bunch.

I wouldn't be happy about losing such a promising young player, but i'd probably do it. A second top 5 pick would be great for Melbourne, we could get Watts/Naitanui then a top flight midfielder and that would be a great start towards building a premiership team.

I reckon 5 is about right - he is pretty much the brightest young kid on our list, and obviously #5 is a premium price.

Don't recon it would happen, but what about our Warnock? He really came of age this year and considering the flood of footy entering our defensive 50, he really did a brilliant job.

Obviously, he is a few years older than Garland, and is more suited to the bulkier, slower forwards.

But with the likelihood of a)Essendon giving up its first pick in this draft and b) the Dees letting go of Garland pretty slim, would a second round pick for Warnock be a decent proposition?

Or say: Warnock and our fourth round for your second round?

Interesting thought on Warnock in the last one.

And Merv is bang on the money again.

The_Young_Gun
30 Sep 2008, 21:23
I wouldn't be surprised if Hooker's utilised as a Full Back next year.

HULK HOGAN
30 Sep 2008, 21:24
Hooker needs one or two more pre seasons before we will really be able to get a real gauge on him. I like him better running in straight lines so better probably suited to full back with ryder at chb and pears picking up the next tallest and Myers being our "QUATERBACK". Problem being when Dustin retires whos gonna take the oppositions best forward (leaves a big hole), which is why people are screaming for an established key back so throw in Daniher with thoose names and ad Atkinson to future backline we do have some options down the track but Hooker definately is the one with the most ???? after his name.

What established backs will be available?????

bomba4eva
30 Sep 2008, 23:06
Colin Garland at pick 5? Is that a bad joke?
The club would never do that. No surprise Melbourne fans were jumping out of their skins at such a delicious trade:thumbsd:

The_Young_Gun
30 Sep 2008, 23:15
The club would never do that. No surprise Melbourne fans were jumping out of their skins at such a delicious trade:thumbsd:

2nd round pick and we'd have a certain deal.

:(:( Gee I hate trade talk..

bomba4eva
30 Sep 2008, 23:16
Interesting stuff from the Swans board:

Some news:

Brett Kirk and the Swans leadership group met Andrew Lovett in Sydney on Monday and strongly encouraged him to make the move north.
The Swans are now seen to head the race for Lovett.
Apparently, Sydney has also expressed interest in Brent Stanton, while Essendon is stepping up its bid to lure ROK.

And just to add: Lovett and ROK are now managed by the same company.

That is what was posted. Seems like they are chasing Lovett hard. Interest in Stanton? What do people think about that? I was reading how ant was saying people won't be happy with the hard decisions that need to be made like trading Stanton. Have we put him up for trade? Hmmm interesting. Promises to be an interesting trade period. Hislop still hasn't signed yet unfortunately:thumbsd:

People's thoughts?

bomba4eva
30 Sep 2008, 23:17
2nd round pick and we'd have a certain deal.

:(:( Gee I hate trade talk..
Pick 15 and I would do it. Pick 5 is overpaying.

The Great Barry Besanko
30 Sep 2008, 23:22
Did I just hear right on Fox Sports. They said we're interested in Kerr and that we may look at using either Ryder or Gumby in a trade!! No thanks

bomba4eva
30 Sep 2008, 23:25
We would never use Ryder in a trade for Kerr. Gumbleton I am unsure of as he is unproven and may be homesick. Highly doubt it. Hurry the hell up and sign the dotted line Kerr:mad::mad:

Ludwig van Bertstare
30 Sep 2008, 23:27
I think that's developed from a Brad Hardie story where he said we're offering Ryder + pick 5.

whelan=legend
30 Sep 2008, 23:28
I wouldn't do it.

Pick 5 - Michael Hurley.

Colin Garland will be alot better then Michael Hurley in the future.

Col just reminds me of Dustin Fletcher.... the way he plays, provides drive from defence, even his body shape.

If i was list manager of the demons and you guys offered pick 5 i would say

"Thanks, but no thanks. Feel free to look at other items though;)"

essendon2008
30 Sep 2008, 23:31

Some news:

Brett Kirk and the Swans leadership group met Andrew Lovett in Sydney on Monday and strongly encouraged him to make the move north.
Apparently, Sydney has also expressed interest in Brent Stanton, while Essendon is stepping up its bid to lure ROK.

That is what was posted. Seems like they are chasing Lovett hard. Interest in Stanton? What do people think about that? I was reading how ant was saying people won't be happy with the hard decisions that need to be made like trading Stanton. Have we put him up for trade? Hmmm interesting. Promises to be an interesting trade period. Hislop still hasn't signed yet unfortunately:thumbsd:

People's thoughts?

Was there a source on the Sydney board? I personally don't mind Sydney looking at Stanton if we could get something good out of it

bomba4eva
30 Sep 2008, 23:35
Was there a source on the Sydney board? I personally don't mind Sydney looking at Stanton if we could get something good out of it
Stanton for their pick 12 would be overpaying from their point of view IMO. A sweetener may be needed but I am loathed to just randomly add someone when in reality it doesn't happen often. Perhaps if we threw in a 4th rounder? From the Swans view I think that would be unfair.

bomba4eva
30 Sep 2008, 23:36
I wouldn't do it.

Pick 5 - Michael Hurley.

Col just reminds me of Dustin Fletcher.... the way he plays, provides drive from defence, even his body shape.

If i was list manager of the demons and you guys offered pick 5 i would say

"Thanks, but no thanks. Feel free to look at other items though;)"
Luckily we both have the same opinion because I also wouldn't do that. You can keep Garland:)

essendon2008
30 Sep 2008, 23:40
Stanton for their pick 12 would be overpaying from their point of view IMO. A sweetener may be needed but I am loathed to just randomly add someone when in reality it doesn't happen often. Perhaps if we threw in a 4th rounder? From the Swans view I think that would be unfair.

Stanton + Lovett for O'Keefe + 2nd rounder?

Prem87
30 Sep 2008, 23:45
Kerr for Pick 5 + Ryder is a very juicy deal for WC. I reckon we'll take that. Maybe we might chuck in Pick 18/20.

IMO thats over the odds for Kerr but we'll take it :p

bomba4eva
30 Sep 2008, 23:46
Stanton + Lovett for O'Keefe + 2nd rounder?
Think we are overpaying there. It is a fine line because we are giving one of our best midfielders away:o plus Lovett who is quite potent and in his prime for O' Keefe who will probably be passed his best when we are genuine contenders and a pick 30 odd which is a lottery. O' Keefe may not fit us unfortunately but he is a gun player.

bomba4eva
30 Sep 2008, 23:47
Kerr for Pick 5 + Ryder is a very juicy deal for WC. I reckon we'll take that. Maybe we might chuck in Pick 18/20.

You are right. Very juicy deal indeed and quite ridiculous. You would have to throw in your PP. No deal obviously.

essendon2008
30 Sep 2008, 23:49

You won't get it. Would be lucky to have pick 5 involved and lucky to have Ryder involved, let alone both.

essendon2008
30 Sep 2008, 23:51
I might be highly criticised for this but I think we should really chase (within reason) one of Cousins or Kerr. McVeigh is a star player and Watson gets plenty of the ball. Add Cousins or Kerr to that midfield and it looks pretty good.

yaco55
30 Sep 2008, 23:59
I am reading between the lines, but if EFC is offering Lovett and Stanton to Sydney,they would expect Sydney's first draft pick.

And they would use the 2 first rounders to trade for Kerr.

Kerr at his best would be equal to Stanton and Lovett put together.

I dont think that O'Keefe is part of the equation.

essendon2008
1 Oct 2008, 00:04
I am reading between the lines, but if EFC is offering Lovett and Stanton to Sydney,they would expect Sydney's first draft pick.

And they would use the 2 first rounders to trade for Kerr.

Kerr at his best would be equal to Stanton and Lovett put together.

I dont think that O'Keefe is part of the equation.

I am always sceptical of not having any first round picks but maybe might be worth it for Kerr.

What about:

Stanton + Lovett to Sydney for Sydney's 1st rounder
Sydney's 1st rounder (now Essendons) + Essendon's 2nd rounder to WCE for Kerr?

I have a feeling that West Coast will want a player involved in a Kerr trade though

Merv
1 Oct 2008, 00:06

I would be interested in why you say it is such a bad deal.

Not "he's not worth that much" but actually why.

What are the areas of his game that you don't like or why won't he go on and develop into a top FB.

Or conversely why the player you think we should pick will make it at AFL level and end up a better player than Garland.

I wouldn't do it.

Pick 5 - Michael Hurley.

whelan, come on mate, i am a big Garland fan but no ones knows that to be true.

Come back and bump the thread and have a brag in 5-7 years if you are right and i will give you kudos but until then lets say they are both good prospects.

Ludwig van Bertstare
1 Oct 2008, 00:06
I'd rather just keep their first rounder and take Trengove with it.

whelan=legend
1 Oct 2008, 00:21
whelan, come on mate, i am a big Garland fan but no ones knows that to be true.

Come back and bump the thread and have a brag in 5-7 years if you are right and i will give you kudos but until then lets say they are both good prospects.
I guess it's all speculative, but Hurley really is a traditional full back in the sense he will always beat his man, but really won't get much of the ball.

Garland beats his man but really creates that run and drive... he's fletcher-like.

It's all IMO of course.

Ludwig van Bertstare
1 Oct 2008, 00:25
TROUBLED Essendon midfielder Andrew Lovett could be headed north after the Bomber flew to Sydney yesterday to meet senior club figures about a shift to the Swans.

Lovett remains contracted to Essendon for next year, but the club privately late in the season informed him they would seek to trade him at season's end. At the time, coach Matthew Knights said no definitive decision had been made on his future and that it would be reviewed at season's end.

The player had wanted to remain at Essendon, and may yet if a trade cannot be done, but that would appear unlikely as the club is anxious to move him on and there is no shortage of clubs pursuing him. Essendon is believed to favour a quality draft pick in a trade. It is understood Lovett flew to Sydney yesterday and met with senior players as well as coach Paul Roos and club officials.

Fremantle and the Brisbane Lions are also understood to have interest in the super-fast midfielder as they seek to inject pace into their onball divisions.

St Kilda, which is likewise keen to inject more speed into its side, is not pursuing Lovett.

The Bombers had expressed interest in Saint Nick Dal Santo's situation, but were repeatedly told by the Saints that Dal Santo — or Justin Koschitzke — was not on the trade table.

A deal with the Saints would also be complicated by the fact the Essendon midfielder was involved in an ugly incident in a match earlier this year when he was sledged by Saints' captain Nick Riewoldt about a domestic violence issue.

Lovett has been plagued by discipline and other issues at Essendon and ultimately exhausted the club's patience. A change of environment was considered by player and club to be preferable.

Lovett, 25, has played 66 games and should be coming into his footballing prime. A match-winner with an electrifying burst of speed, he won the Anzac Medal in 2005 after just a handful of games.

But he has battled throughout to maintain consistency in performance and preparation. He was twice this season suspended by the Bombers for missing training sessions.

While Ryan O'Keefe is considering a move to Melbourne, Essendon is understood not to have held talks with the Swan star as yet.

Lovett's possible interest in moving north might give the Bombers cause to approach the Swan to form part of a possible trade.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/lovett-heads-north-for-talks/2008/09/30/1222651083353.html

yaco55
1 Oct 2008, 00:42
WC would accept two first round picks for Kerr.

I will be with a few of the WC boys on a boat trip tomorrow and will see if any player urgently takes a phone call.

Mighty_bombers
1 Oct 2008, 01:36
SYDNEY is leading the chase for Essendon bad boy Andrew Lovett.

The Swans (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/club/0,26579,19773,00.html) flew Lovett to the Harbour City on Monday for a meet-and-greet session.
Lovett met members of the Swans' leadership group over lunch.
It is understood the players, headed by spiritual leader Brett Kirk, strongly urged Lovett to consider a move.
Lovett is also on the radar of Fremantle (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/club/0,26579,19765,00.html) and West Coast (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/club/0,26579,19774,00.html), but Sydney is the first club to show genuine interest.
Lovett, the 2005 Anzac Day medallist, appears certain to be traded by the Bombers (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/club/0,26579,19764,00.html).
The 25-year-old still has a year of a contract to run, but the leadership at Windy Hill has seemingly run out of patience with his lack of commitment off-field.
Sydney, determined not to slide down the ladder and bottom out, may have to part with a second-round draft pick to secure the exciting midfielder.
Lovett, with his dynamic line-breaking ability, would add much needed spark to Sydney's hard-working midfield.
Peter Everitt, who had also been dogged by controversy, met the leadership group before crossing from Hawthorn (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/club/0,26579,19767,00.html) to Sydney two years ago.
With their revered "Bloods" culture and leadership, the Swans may back themselves to turn Lovett's career around.
The move on Lovett comes as speculation about Ryan O'Keefe's future continues.
If O'Keefe decides to leave the Swans, Essendon is believed to be high on his list of preferred destinations.
Lovett and O'Keefe are advised by Stride Management, adding fuel to the theory they could both be involved in any deal between the clubs.
Essendon has plenty of room in its salary cap and Lovett could be ideal bait to strike a trade with any club.
There is also speculation Bombers midfielder Brent Stanton is attracting interest, possibly also from Sydney.
Lovett played 17 matches this season but was twice suspended by the Bombers.
The first was for missing an early morning training session in the pre-season. The club would not confirm if alcohol was involved.
Lovett sat out games against Richmond (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/club/0,26579,19771,00.html)and Collingwood (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/club/0,26579,19763,00.html)in Rounds 16 and 17 after missing training.
Coach Matthew Knights confirmed Lovett had been out the night before "socialising".

link

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24428336-19742,00.html

Don Gibson
1 Oct 2008, 02:23
lovett and stanton for o'keefe and a high draft pick?? prob a 2nd rounder. lot of positives for both clubs there.

dons_fan185
1 Oct 2008, 02:35
I might be highly criticised for this but I think we should really chase (within reason) one of Cousins or Kerr. McVeigh is a star player and Watson gets plenty of the ball. Add Cousins or Kerr to that midfield and it looks pretty good.

I think I'm going to be criticised more here...I think we can do better.

We'd benefit in keeping our first round draft pick. Cousins and Kerr were/are brilliant and all at WC, but over time I think we could have just as good from our pick number 5.

Kerr will potentially cause Lovett-like trouble, and Cousins isn't exactly in his prime any more is he ?? They're both out to prove something too (Cousins that he's still fantastic, Kerr that he can win games on his own), so that leads to ego issues and could really hurt the rest of the midfeild.

And we could have the next Selwood/Palmer in our no. 5 or at least mould a McVeigh/Watson/Whoever hybrid. It just seems like a better idea.

TimeIsRunningOut
1 Oct 2008, 02:35
For a club that has a 'no d---head' policy they sure chase after a lot of d---heads.

Atavistic
1 Oct 2008, 02:53
For a club that has a 'no d---head' policy they sure chase after a lot of d---heads.

Good call. Maybe they feel they can reform anyone. Regardless, I'd love to see ROK at Essendon, though I don't want to see Stanton go in such a deal.

Hopefully we get ROK and Dal Santo.

Enki
1 Oct 2008, 02:57
I'd rather just keep their first rounder and take Trengove with it.

I agree, if we can get a first rounder I'd also rather keep it thus allowing us to pick a quality midfielder and KPP. That and I really want Trengove but people say that there is more depth to the talls in this draft so we are probably planning on taking a midfielder with pick 5, which we also need to add some class to our midfield. Another first rounder would give us both, which should be a good investment for the future.

james_omahoney
1 Oct 2008, 07:20
Good call. Maybe they feel they can reform anyone. Regardless, I'd love to see ROK at Essendon, though I don't want to see Stanton go in such a deal.

Hopefully we get ROK and Dal Santo.

Stanton won't go. Chill ;)

The Dustbin
1 Oct 2008, 07:26

LOL. Funny that. :D

Ben the Gooner
1 Oct 2008, 08:47
I agree, if we can get a first rounder I'd also rather keep it thus allowing us to pick a quality midfielder and KPP. That and I really want Trengove but people say that there is more depth to the talls in this draft so we are probably planning on taking a midfielder with pick 5, which we also need to add some class to our midfield. Another first rounder would give us both, which should be a good investment for the future.

Agreed. Lovett and Hislop (both of whom Sydney are interested in) for 1st rounder?

stugots
1 Oct 2008, 08:53
Stanton won't go. Chill ;)

not what my tea leaves are telling me...

centurion
1 Oct 2008, 08:55
not what my tea leaves are telling me...

Good to hear. :thumbsu:

ant555
1 Oct 2008, 08:59
Agreed. Lovett and Hislop (both of whom Sydney are interested in) for 1st rounder?

Works for me :D

Ben the Gooner
1 Oct 2008, 09:04
lovett and stanton for o'keefe and a high draft pick?? prob a 2nd rounder. lot of positives for both clubs there.

Positives for us?

We lose Lovett and our best midfielder, and gain a 2nd round pick, and a HFF (remembering we have more than enough HFF already).

Some people will do anything to get rid of Stanton:rolleyes:

saint leo
1 Oct 2008, 09:13
Lovett and 2nd round pick for Okeefe and sydneys 2nd round???

table tennis
1 Oct 2008, 09:14
Works for me :D

If we went for a hislop/lovett trade for a first rounder, I would be happy for that. However, i would not want to on trade our first round picks to WCE for Kerr.

I would rather draft some good quality kids and develop them and the side together.

Our midfield isnt so bad now, get another good kid in there and it will be good. We beat Carlton twice this year, when Judd fired, with pals like nick stevens, murphy and gibbs. Jobe cut Collingwood to pieces with 17 clearances in a half. We have a very underrated midfield, and as good as kerr would be, i dont think we need him.

bombersno1
1 Oct 2008, 09:33
Lovett for their traded pick that they get with O'Keefe. Suit us well.

bombersno1
1 Oct 2008, 09:35
But no trades for players over 24 years of age for mine. Adam Thomson is the one I'd consider but not before a 3rd rounder

The_Young_Gun
1 Oct 2008, 09:43
Positives for us?

We lose Lovett and our best midfielder, and gain a 2nd round pick, and a HFF (remembering we have more than enough HFF already).

Some people will do anything to get rid of Stanton:rolleyes:

I think the number 5 will keep Stanton at Essendon for a few more decades.

I hope

The_Young_Gun
1 Oct 2008, 09:52
If trading for draft picks means we loose our best mid (Stants)..

Then I'm not for it!

It just means another 4 years of development gone down the bin.

Bomberlicious
1 Oct 2008, 10:02
I was pretty disappointed to hear the club was keen to offload Lovett, but reading the fish 'n chip wrap today, if we can tie him up in a deal for ROK (and keep Stants!!), I for one would be stoked.

He's not just a HFF either, but an elite running forward who could offer us versatility in the middle as well. AA HF/Mids don't come around very often, the club has stated we are in the market for a big name, and the Swans are keen on Lovett - looks like a win-win to me...

james_omahoney
1 Oct 2008, 10:30
I was pretty disappointed to hear the club was keen to offload Lovett, but reading the fish 'n chip wrap today, if we can tie him up in a deal for ROK (and keep Stants!!), I for one would be stoked.

He's not just a HFF either, but an elite running forward who could offer us versatility in the middle as well. AA HF/Mids don't come around very often, the club has stated we are in the market for a big name, and the Swans are keen on Lovett - looks like a win-win to me...

Lovett is worth a fair bit on the market - we could get a good deal for him. Remember it's discipline for which Essendon would want to trade him, not ability. Other clubs will salivate at his footspeed and give us something decent in return, thinking that they could tame him with the move to their club. Don't think EFC need to package up Stants to get a good return. I'm pretty sure Knights would see Stants as part of his ongoing strategy.

AndyLesPaul
1 Oct 2008, 10:34
lol so much for sydney not approaching contracted players. -.-

B-Bomber
1 Oct 2008, 10:42
Lovett has been steadily improving onfield his whole career ala Leon Davis. But Lovett has more tools then Leon -- I fear he would really blossom at sydney not because of sydney but because he was on the verge no matter what club he's at. We should play hardball -- we've lost so many players that we need to get multiple picks or we'll be taking 5th or 6th round selections...

Bomberlicious
1 Oct 2008, 10:45
Lovett is worth a fair bit on the market - we could get a good deal for him. Remember it's discipline for which Essendon would want to trade him, not ability. Other clubs will salivate at his footspeed and give us something decent in return, thinking that they could tame him with the move to their club. Don't think EFC need to package up Stants to get a good return. I'm pretty sure Knights would see Stants as part of his ongoing strategy.

Totally agree with you, I was always concerned with Lovett's indiscretions, and I only included Stanton's name in my post to show that any deal between ROK & Lovett shouldn't include the current no. 5, IMO Stants is an important part of us going forward and upward

Wahooti Fandango
1 Oct 2008, 10:47
I would be happy with a second round pick for Lovett. Similar to the Richards trade that we used to get Dempsey a few years back.

AndyLesPaul
1 Oct 2008, 10:48
I doubt knighters goner trade for anything but draft picks

That being said i doubt Knights is going to trade. period

ant555
1 Oct 2008, 10:55

I am not a huge fan of Stanton but i would want pick 12 in that deal and not the second rounder.

ant555
1 Oct 2008, 10:55
I doubt knighters goner trade for anything but draft picks

That being said i doubt Knights is going to trade. period

Lovett will go so that will be one trade.

GuzzLG
1 Oct 2008, 11:01
What are the chances of getting Sydney's first pick?

Lovett + pick 39 for pick 12?

Lovett + pick 23 for pick 12?

AndyLesPaul
1 Oct 2008, 11:03
Lovett will go so that will be one trade.
has it been confirmed though?
if it has,
still doubt it will happen.

The Factor
1 Oct 2008, 11:17
has it been confirmed though?
if it has,
still doubt it will happen.

I doubt we'll do any trades. I still feel Lovett at Essendon is the best fit for all parties.

Merv
1 Oct 2008, 11:20

Anyone with such a disgraceful avatar and sig shouldn't be able to make any suggestions/questions, let alone post on our board :D

Ludwig van Bertstare
1 Oct 2008, 11:23

If we could acquire pick 12 it could possibly mean Trengove :D

GuzzLG
1 Oct 2008, 11:26
Anyone with such a disgraceful avatar and sig shouldn't be able to make any suggestions/questions, let alone post on our board :D
Well......

at least I have a sig. :o

Ben the Gooner
1 Oct 2008, 11:30
Well......

at least I have a sig. :o

I'd create a new account if I were you.

My sig >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Your sig

Hirdy_5
1 Oct 2008, 11:33
I haven’t really speculated on trades thus far but thought this deal seamed ok,

Essendon trade Lovett and Hislop to Sydney for their first rounder.

We then trade that pick to Melbourne for Colin Garland. As people are saying he isn’t worth our pick 5.

Sorry if this has been mentioned before.

rusman
1 Oct 2008, 11:53
If we could acquire pick 12 it could possibly mean Trengove :D

This is what i was hoping for :D

The Great Barry Besanko
1 Oct 2008, 11:57
So why would we chase Kerr yet get rid of Lovett when Kerr has had as many indiscretions as Lovett??? Double standards there imo.

Stanton won't be going anywhere.

Ben the Gooner
1 Oct 2008, 11:58
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6098

Vote yes!

PressureCooker
1 Oct 2008, 12:14

We then trade that pick to Melbourne for Colin Garland. As people are saying he isn’t worth our pick 5.

So at the end of the day we're trading Lovett and Hislop for Garland? Doesn't sound too good to me...

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
1 Oct 2008, 12:15
Hypothetically say we wanted O'Keefe

Would we be in the box seat as he is out of contract and Lovett is in contract?

bombersno1
1 Oct 2008, 12:35
Hypothetically say we wanted O'Keefe

Would we be in the box seat as he is out of contract and Lovett is in contract?

NO, as there are a few other Melbourne sides, UNLESS he does what Judd did and nominates just one side he wishes to be traded to

The Great Barry Besanko
1 Oct 2008, 12:53

Are you nuts!!! A 1st round pick for Garland??? We got Hislop with pick 20 of one of the strongest drafts ever and now you want to give not just him but Lovett? No chance. That's Garland for Lovett & Hislop! Crazy stuff.

Ludwig van Bertstare
1 Oct 2008, 13:06
Hislop hasn't done anything except one solid game against Sydney.

Jaymin
1 Oct 2008, 13:08
Jason Davenport from Geelong is a name that i keep hearing linked to Essendon...but surprisingly haven't seen it on this board yet?

Anyone know much about him or whether he would be a decent get for us?

The Great Barry Besanko
1 Oct 2008, 13:20
Hislop hasn't done anything except one solid game against Sydney.

Well he has been injured as fair bit. Let's at least see whether or not he can play. Play well in one game this year and was off injured again.

You can't dump players you've spent high picks on just because their young bodies have been struggling with injuries.

Mr Mojo Risin
1 Oct 2008, 13:28

As much as other people don't like this, I don't mind this at all if Melbourne and Sydney would go for it.

Use pick 5 for Hurley, get Garland who I rate and that really helps setup the KP Backs for our future. It would also enable us to use Paddy Ryder in future in a more attacking role from the backline which I like the sound of.

A spine of Hurley, Garland, Hille, Gumbleton & Neagle in the future is promising (if Gumby ever gets injury free)

loopy_cam
1 Oct 2008, 13:34
As much as other people don't like this, I don't mind this at all if Melbourne and Sydney would go for it.

Use pick 5 for Hurley, get Garland who I rate and that really helps setup the KP Backs for our future. It would also enable us to use Paddy Ryder in future in a more attacking role from the backline which I like the sound of.

A spine of Hurley, Garland, Hille, Gumbleton & Neagle in the future is promising (if Gumby ever gets injury free)

I wouldn't be too unhappy if this deal was done either.

I do think, however, that if we got Garland we'd go for a mid with pick 5.

The Donners
1 Oct 2008, 13:38

Some news:

People's thoughts?

Surely my every hope and dream could not come true?!? ;)

LeeARM
1 Oct 2008, 13:40
NO, as there are a few other Melbourne sides, UNLESS he does what Judd did and nominates just one side he wishes to be traded to

i thought i heard we were nominated by him. but i cant find where i heard it. i do know he used to play for strathmore so's he's local

Merv
1 Oct 2008, 13:41
Jason Davenport from Geelong is a name that i keep hearing linked to Essendon...but surprisingly haven't seen it on this board yet?

Anyone know much about him or whether he would be a decent get for us?

I saw him play a lot last year for Geelong Ressies, he was a rookie from memory.

He stood out in that lower grade and had a touch of class about him but i haven't seen him at all this year and am not sure how his form has been.

I haven't heard anything with him linked to us.

Merv
1 Oct 2008, 13:42
Are you nuts!!! A 1st round pick for Garland???

I will ask you the same question i asked the other poster that queried it.

I would be interested in why you say it is such a bad deal.

Not "he's not worth that much" but actually why.

What are the areas of his game that you don't like or why won't he go on and develop into a top FB.

Or conversely why the player you think we should pick will make it at AFL level and end up a better player than Garland.

mick4
1 Oct 2008, 13:48
Well he has been injured as fair bit. Let's at least see whether or not he can play. Play well in one game this year and was off injured again.

You can't dump players you've spent high picks on just because their young bodies have been struggling with injuries.

You can dump them if they have poor attitudes though

Mr Mojo Risin
1 Oct 2008, 13:49
I wouldn't be too unhappy if this deal was done either.

I do think, however, that if we got Garland we'd go for a mid with pick 5.

I wouldn't be unhappy going for a mid with pick 5 in this instance, however would prefer to sure up our biggest weakness in our back line and go for some mids with our second and third round picks.

I think we have an under-rated midfield currently and with Reimers, Myers and Houli to add to Watson, Lonergan, Welsh, McVeigh and Stanton through the middle over time plus whatever we pick up in the second and third rounds then that will be a decent midfield IMO.

Add to that a little pinch hitting by Jetta, Monfries and Davey in middle and with the KPP settled it will be stronger team by using pick 5 on Hurley.

bombersno1
1 Oct 2008, 14:18
i thought i heard we were nominated by him. but i cant find where i heard it. i do know he used to play for strathmore so's he's local

All he has said is he wants to come back home. Does not mean he is coming to us. I actually hope we don't get him. Lets just get the pick for Lovett and pick our picks in the National Draft. Get Hurley 1st round, then hopefully Swift with Lovett's pick (hoping for Sydney's 2nd 1st rounder- say pick 16-Hawks which is where I recon O'Keefe will go) then pick a project player- Gaertner would not be a bad option actually.

OzBomber
1 Oct 2008, 14:41
Could Lovett be a straight swap for O'Keefe?

Windas_Magic
1 Oct 2008, 14:43
I've heard that Lovett could be a straight swap for Ryan O'Keefe.
From who?

warney7
1 Oct 2008, 14:49
If that deal got done I'd be absolutely over the moon.

But while Lovett may go to Sydney and O'Keefe could come to Essendon, we'd have to add something.

Ben the Gooner
1 Oct 2008, 15:00
All he has said is he wants to come back home. Does not mean he is coming to us. I actually hope we don't get him. Lets just get the pick for Lovett and pick our picks in the National Draft. Get Hurley 1st round, then hopefully Swift with Lovett's pick (hoping for Sydney's 2nd 1st rounder- say pick 16-Hawks which is where I recon O'Keefe will go) then pick a project player- Gaertner would not be a bad option actually.

He hasn't said anything. It's all coming from the media "understanding" everything.

I think, personally, that he's just trying to leverage a new deal.

larson
1 Oct 2008, 15:32
I really would like to keep Lovett, I think at his best he is in our top 10 players and we definately wont receive what he is worth through a trade

Mr Mojo Risin
1 Oct 2008, 15:42
I really would like to keep Lovett, I think at his best he is in our top 10 players and we definately wont receive what he is worth through a trade

Is true BUT only when he is firing. Unfortunately that only happens at most once every 3 games on average IMO.

The sad thing about it is that with the reality check of being traded he could well commit to playing footy properly and be a gun. However if he stays at Essendon I think it's quite likely he will continue to be a good inconsistent player.

As much as I like him I think if we can get a 2nd rounder or better from anywhere for him we should take it.

Caj
1 Oct 2008, 15:51

Um I'd prefer to cut the Dons out of the trade completely and swap Garland for pick 12

Won't happen in any event, Bailey isn't stupid

bomberz08
1 Oct 2008, 16:41
lovett and 2nd round pick is fair for O'keefe, no way is sydney going to agree to a straight swap.

On the Garland issue, if we get him with our first pick, would we try get a midfielder with our second pick, if so who would be a good choice?

To be honest i'd rather have Hurley over Garland, but its just a hypothetical

HULK HOGAN
1 Oct 2008, 16:42
OK looking into my crystal ball- Lovett and our 3rd pick for Okeefe, Stanton not going anywhere!!! ludicrous to think he would wether you like him or not
1st pick best keydefender 2nd pick best available midfielder.
Pre season draft Ben cousins.
Stanton would be better than he is with these in the side.
After that its "HAPPY DAYS"

table tennis
1 Oct 2008, 16:48
OK looking into my crystal ball- Lovett and our 3rd pick for Okeefe, Stanton not going anywhere!!! ludicrous to think he would wether you like him or not
1st pick best keydefender 2nd pick best available midfielder.
Pre season draft Ben cousins.
Stanton would be better than he is with these in the side.
After that its "HAPPY DAYS"

I agree. Stanton to stay put.

But i dont want O'Keefe. He will miss our next window so to speak and probably will only have another 2 years of his very best football left.

So i dont want to pay over the odds for him.

I would like to get a younger player in. Brent Prismall or Thomson from port maybe.

Prismall will apparently be right by round one with his acl injury, so he could be the classy foot skilled onballer that we need. And with the injury, we might be able to get him with a 3rd rounder.

Other than that, i hope we get a second rounder for Lovett, or if we chuck a hislop or someone in with the deal and get a second first rounder, i would be happy to keep the picks and get in some good kids.

Hurley and tengrove or a sidebottom etc. It would be an exciting time to have 3 kids along with pears and myers to come along for the next couple of years, especially if gumby gets going and delivers on potential.

HULK HOGAN
1 Oct 2008, 16:55
I agree. Stanton to stay put.

But i dont want O'Keefe. He will miss our next window so to speak and probably will only have another 2 years of his very best football left.

So i dont want to pay over the odds for him.

I would like to get a younger player in. Brent Prismall or Thomson from port maybe.

Prismall will apparently be right by round one with his acl injury, so he could be the classy foot skilled onballer that we need. And with the injury, we might be able to get him with a 3rd rounder.

Other than that, i hope we get a second rounder for Lovett, or if we chuck a hislop or someone in with the deal and get a second first rounder, i would be happy to keep the picks and get in some good kids.

Hurley and tengrove or a sidebottom etc. It would be an exciting time to have 3 kids along with pears and myers to come along for the next couple of years, especially if gumby gets going and delivers on potential.
Sorry mate the crystal ball is never wrong:D

table tennis
1 Oct 2008, 17:00
Sorry mate the crystal ball is never wrong:D

Hope it is with the HAPPY DAYS comment!!! dont care how we get there.

R_n_B
1 Oct 2008, 17:04
You kow the more I read trade proposals, the more I hope we don't trade for an established player. Also, I am not really that keen on trading our first rd pick for a younger player or someone like Kerr.

I would rather us keep our draft picks and build our own team from within.

If Lovett is traded I hope it only involves draft picks coming our way.

Anyone else feel the same way? :o

table tennis
1 Oct 2008, 17:13
You kow the more I read trade proposals, the more I hope we don't trade for an established player. Also, I am not really that keen on trading our first rd pick for a younger player or someone like Kerr.

I agree. If we could get a good established player for a 3rd rounder i would be happy with that, or a second rounder if we attain an extra pick there.

The picks we have been given, i hope we keep.

Jaymin
1 Oct 2008, 17:35
Just listening to SEN. Was anyone listening this morning when Tim Watson went nuts at a supposed Essendon supporter called Ron?

They just replayed it and i want to know what rumour he was trying to start that got Watson so fired up?

Crumpler83
1 Oct 2008, 17:56

I pretty much agree with that.

While it would be great to have a player the ilk of Kerr or O' Keefe, the more I look into it the more it seems like we'd have to give up too much to get them.

I'd be more than happy to just trade Lovett for an extra second round pick and leave it at that. This draft is going to be a crucial one for our development in the future and we really have to NAIL it before GC 17 comes in and gets all their concessions.

Picks, picks and more picks is what we should be aiming for IMO.

As for Stanton's name coming up in the discussions, he is a good player but we would be crazy not to listen to offers for his services if other clubs are interested. I'm not saying we should get rid of him but he is by no means untouchable IMO.