View Full Version : Sturt Football Club
AlfAndrews
6 Oct 2002, 20:34
well .... who won?
Sturt 13.14.92 defeated Central District 6.9.45.
AlfAndrews
6 Oct 2002, 21:06
Thank you, Sapaul. I wasn't sure if you were laughing WITH them or laughing AT them in your initial post.
Must be 26 years, by my calculations. Well done, Blues.
The Bulldogs were insipid. That is it.
On a lighter side... good to see the other SA members of BigFooty again and some for the first time.
Bring on Season 2003.
Congrats to Sturt.
Bad Luck Central.
I was equally as pleased two years ago to see you win it.
My beloved South Adelaides must be next.:D
mattyc2422
6 Oct 2002, 21:35
Congratulations to Matty Dent on his 2nd consecutive premiership. firstly with Box Hill and now with Sturt.
i was watching on fox footy and they said the crowd was 35,000 but behind one of the ends there were all these silver seats and on the outer there were more. Anyone want to tell me the offical attendence :)
Congrats to the double blues or whatever they are called :D
Wouldnt be able to beat East Perth though nor would a combined SANFL side beat a combined WAFL side :D
Originally posted by wellsy
i was watching on fox footy and they said the crowd was 35,000 but behind one of the ends there were all these silver seats and on the outer there were more. Anyone want to tell me the offical attendence :)
Wouldnt be able to beat East Perth though nor would a combined SANFL side beat a combined WAFL side :D
The capacity at AAMI stadium is 54,000 or so... those silver seats you saw would've accounted for the 19,000 vacancies, methinks.
Port Adelaide 1870
7 Oct 2002, 08:45
Seemed more than 35,000 with much of the seating taken up just prior to first bounce..
After the first few Sturt goals, there were literally thousands of Doggies Fans under the stands in all the bars watching the game on the T.V.s...
Must say adornment and myself had one of the best Grand Final days I can remember..( dont remember many....believe me )
Unfortunately for Centrals it was all one way...
It was sensational to meet up with fellow Big Footyites ..please forgive me if I Have forgotten you and remind me If I did..
Raboyle ( sat with adornment and me ) then quietly dissapeared...... where did you get to fella..the Bar, or with the Centrals boys up the back ? Raboyle seems a quiet listener
( not that he could get a word in edge ways with me about ), with a brilliant knowledge of Football and Tasmanian football at that as well..a delight to meet ..thanks Raboyle, we'll have to catch up next season
Jerome, Blues Girl ( what a hoot ) that girl was born to party, Hollypig--more my vintage i.e. Old Fart ! And Go South..in Sturt gear ???
and a young articulate, passionate, vocal, pleasant fella...Blues Brat..What an absolute turn up for the books this fella is..I fully expected a smart arse little sh*t head and what I found was a true blue devoted Sturt man...
Blues Brat sat with the Cheer squad , helped with the Banner,
shouted his heart out and reaped the rewards..Nice meeting you fella, hope to catch up again..
One fellow with Blues Brat had flown in from London to see the game...thats Club devotion !
On a sadder note were the Centrals Fans that I noticed that were abusive, threatining, violent ,towards the end of the game some broke Sturt flag poles as people walked by....
We went to the Northern end for the last quarter..The sturt man up there with the shaved head, tall muscular and brooding...loud with his entourage of subservient goons and molls ( he must of been in his 30's) ..there were some Port supporters with their Port gear on , maybe 5 or 6..barracking their hearts out for Sturt..ineffectual types, they Looked slightly handicapped, were served a dose of the most vehement slice of foul abuse by this man with that muscly finger pointing ( Im gonna getcha type look ) after Sturt won...what a drop kick !!
It was a great game..Sturt were soooooo...slick, fast and effective with Handball and kicking to the man...Centrals were a real dissapointment....As much as I thought Sturt couldnt lose by the end of the first quarter...I honestly believed Centrals would stage an absolutely ferocious comeback...
But the reality is...Sturt had 4 Magarey medallists in their side..thats like having Russel Ebert at Centre !!!!!!
4 Magarey medallists..and it showed.
went back to the Crows shed after the game...what an experience that was:rolleyes: Never been in their before..went to the bar to get a Strongbow for adornment and guess ..they didnt have any..I asked what did they have that was perhaps lighter than spirits...and guess what they told me.........................Chardonnay !!!!! ..without a word of a lie !
Sat with Blues Brat and Family for a while, enjoyed the atmosphere, enjoyed watching so many happy people, enjoyed a wonderful day.....
Commiserations Centrals....youve had five bites of the Cherry and tasted it twice...remember Port has had 68 bites with 34 Wins , up to 1996......Thats 34 Grand final losses !!! you only begin to be able to savour the Glory of victory once youve had the bitter meal of defeat as well..
And to Sturt and their fans...Well Done...absolutely deserving
S.A.N.F.L. Premiers 2002
PA1870:D :D:D :D
Dr.Colossus
7 Oct 2002, 09:18
Congratulations to the Sturt boys. It was a comprehensive win!
Originally posted by Port Adelaide 1870
It was sensational to meet up with fellow Big Footyites ..please forgive me if I Have forgotten you and remind me If I did..
Raboyle ( sat with adornment and me ) then quietly dissapeared...... where did you get to fella..the Bar, or with the Centrals boys up the back ? Raboyle seems a quiet listener
( not that he could get a word in edge ways with me about ), with a brilliant knowledge of Football and Tasmanian football at that as well..a delight to meet ..thanks Raboyle, we'll have to catch up next season
Jerome, Blues Girl ( what a hoot ) that girl was born to party, Hollypig--more my vintage i.e. Old Fart !
and a young articulate, passionate, vocal, pleasant fella...Blues Brat..What an absolute turn up for the books this fella is..I fully expected a smart arse little sh*t head and what I found was a true blue devoted Sturt man...
PA1870:D :D
You've got your Centrals fans mixed up! That was me you were sitting with!
I got to the ground just after 11 and watched Centrals v Port in the reserves final. That was a very tight match early. Port's defence was excellent and moving the ball down the ground with ease. Lokan and the Davey boys were looking good and outscoring the Dogs. In the second quarter the dogs lifted and kicked 8 goals and outran and outworked Port all over the joint. Cowans became a great focal point for the Dogs and the little bloke in the number 53 jumper for us had great skills and used the ball well.
At 1, I headed down to the medallist bar to see Raybole, Hollypig, PA 1870, Go South - in his sturt gear!, Blues Brat and Blues Girl. We watched Centrals clean up Port by 102 points and I was hoping for the double!
Stayed in the bar until after the cheer girls finished...please don't let us have to endure that "spectacle" again next year! I sat up at the southern end and watched Sturt used the ball brilliantly and not allow us any space.
Our defence was a rabble and playing straight into Sturts hands always kicking down to the grandstand wing. Our forwards could not play in front to save themselves. My great hope at this point was Sturt's goalkicking. They could have really killed us off in the first quarter but kicked 7 points. they were keeping us in it.
I was sitting with PA 1870 (I dissapeared in the third as I spotted some mates from work sitting behind us!) and I was screaming for our mob to kick some goals in the second. which they did and when the Centrals boys got going they were great!!
If we were gonna win, we had to really hit 'em hard in the third and we did'nt! we finally woke up and stopped kicking out to the members side, but they outworked us. Too slick! In the last we had given up, some our forwards first and second efforts in that quarter were a disgrace! we need some big mobile bastards up forward next year!
It was great win by Sturt, totally fantastic!! I made my way down to the Sturt cheer squad to congratulate Blues Girl and couldnt get near Blues Brat. Enjoy yourselves you guys deserved it.
Jerome
Leaping Lindner
7 Oct 2002, 10:09
Brenton Phillips:D
Damien Squire:D
Bradley Ryan:D
Thief:mad:
Well done Sturt good win.I spent the weekend in Adelaide and stayed at my mums(the house I was raised in).I spent the weekend walking and catching buses everywhere and Sturt won the premiership so why the hell wasn't "Countdown" on telly last night?;)
Dogwatcher
7 Oct 2002, 12:04
Well done Sturt!
Great effort played our game and beat us at it.
We had no one around the packs all day and Sturt's defence, as predicted, were right up to the task.
Losing Damien Hicks early was a big blow as he is our defensive marshal, while some players needed to concentrate on the game when it was getting away from us rather than needling the opposition.
Where were our forwards, appeared to be behind all day and if we took 15 marks in our attacking 50 I will go he.
As for supporters most were alright, but the guys the dodgy's weren't confined to Centrals supporters. I had one guy two seats away who spoke throughout the match telling us all he knew about footy, when he knew jack ****.
He kept calling Barnaby French "Barmnaby" and Chambers "Chalmers" and of course every decision that went Central's way was cause for derision.
Furthermore there was a bloke three seats behind who kept waving his banner over my head and telling me to go back to the pound.
Also Brodie Atkinson had better watch out, if he plays on there may be a few Doggies players seeking retribution for his apparent eye gouging tactics in the first quarter on the eastern wing.
However, that will probably be balanced by the s h it that the Gowans boys will cop when we next play the Blues.
Unfortunately I couldn't catch up with you guys - I stood outside the bar for about 10 minutes looking and hoping to identify a group of bi-partisan supporters but no luck.
I also have the damned flu, making the day even worse.
Well done to our ressies, magnificent effort - especially Ben wAlton, Richie Cochrance and Adrian Wilson.
Great job Sturt, you deserved the win, now it's up to us to get it back in 2003.
bulldog pommy
7 Oct 2002, 13:22
Well done to Sturt. Spanked us all over the ground.
Sorry didn't get to the bar guys as i was caught up with helping out with the banner.
I did see a bloke with blue hair who i assume was blues brat but didnt get the chance to catch up with him.
As for the fans towards the end of the game it was looking ugly there but fortunately some of us were able to get our guys out before anything happened. And dont think it was all one way either. But with all the kids around and bugger all cops and security it could have been a lot uglier.
My mate saw one fight outside after the game which involved 6 sturt fans and 2 centrals fans. Apparently the centrals fans won that one.
One thing that does annoy me is the crap people say about Elizabeth when they have probably never been there.
Anyway enjoy the win and we will be back next year to do it all again.
When will this hangover go away.
:cool:
P.S. i did tip Sturt, but not by that much :confused:
Port Adelaide 1870
7 Oct 2002, 15:57
Originally posted by Jerome
You've got your Centrals fans mixed up! That was me you were sitting with!
I was sitting with PA 1870 Jerome
Oops..Sorry mate..:D
All the stuff I said about Raboyle..change that to Jerome !!!!:D
Sorry it wasnt closer..:(
Great catching up despite all that see you next season.
PA1870:)
Go South
7 Oct 2002, 16:42
Originally posted by topjars
My beloved South Adelaides must be next.:D
Get in line.
;)
Go South
7 Oct 2002, 16:47
Must say adornment and myself...
LOL @ adornment... love it.
Loved the name tags too ;)
Go South
7 Oct 2002, 16:58
Originally posted by Jerome
At 1, I headed down to the medallist bar to see Raybole, Hollypig, PA 1870, Go South - in his sturt gear!, Blues Brat and Blues Girl.
Hahaha... yes.
Would have loved for it to have been us there, but I do have a heavy preference for Sturt (due to Blues_Girl and family's influence), so in a way it was the next best thing.
It's been a great weekend... very worthy winners.
Originally posted by Dogwatcher
Well done to our ressies, magnificent effort - especially Ben Walton, Richie Cochrance and Adrian Wilson.
Adrian Wilson? Is'nt he at the draft camp? I don't remember seeing him out there.
Jerome
Dogwatcher
7 Oct 2002, 18:19
Adrian Wilson was definately out there.
He played a reasonable part in the win, kept the ball in our attacking half a bit. Wears number 52.
Port1978
7 Oct 2002, 18:39
I've seen both SANFL & WAFL footy, & IMO SANFL is superior!
BTW, congrats to Sturt, you deserved the win......hope it's the Maggies next season. :D
All the stuff I said about Raboyle..change that to Jerome !!!!:D
Great catching up despite all that see you next season.
PA1870:)
You were right the first time PA1870... I am a bit of a quiet listener. I must admit I feel a bit awkward in groups.
It would be better explained in person than on the boards.
Go South
7 Oct 2002, 19:40
Originally posted by raboyle
You were right the first time PA1870... I am a bit of a quiet listener. I must admit I feel a bit awkward in groups.
I didn't say much yesterday either... I think I was completely overwhelmed by the almighty presence of PA1870! :)
Was great to put a face to the names, even if I didn't get the chance to talk much.
Youngster
7 Oct 2002, 23:53
Oh what a day...it was truly worthwhile making the trek down from Alice.
Must say I was impressed with the Dogs supporters where we were sitting, very humble in defeat. I think some of our fans can take a leaf out of their book. Especially the bandwagoners...
Great to catch up again BB in the Shed (must say, that was electric in there) and again at Unley, also to meet you Go South and Blues Girl, don't worry, I was tanked as well!!! Back in the office today less than enthusiastic....
Unley Legend
8 Oct 2002, 00:14
I was hoping to catch up with you people but I got there a bit late and had my wife and 2 young kids with me, and just wanted to get them in a good spot where the kids could see. I have bad memories of my dad trying his hardest in 1974 to get me into a reasonable vantage point and failing. Admittedly there were more people there on GF day in '74, but I wanted my boys to be able to see, so we sleazed our way up the top of the members'. Hope to catch up with you all next time.
Go South
8 Oct 2002, 16:05
The shed was fantastic... the atmosphere was huge.
I'll be hearing "It's a grand old flag..." in my sleep for weeks.
Unley Legend
9 Oct 2002, 12:36
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
:
Well done Sturt good win.I spent the weekend in Adelaide and stayed at my mums(the house I was raised in).
Now you know why you moved out, am I right? Happens to me any time I with my parents for more than half an hour.
Blues_Brat
9 Oct 2002, 13:16
I know it's a bit after the event but I am still recovering :D
YOU BLOODY BEAUTY!!
I feel like this hangover is going to last 26 years. Ouch. I will be posting some piccies later on when I get home and do some scanning.. funny hat day with the TS Hill trophy! And I finally got to drink beer out of the thing after telling someone a few years ago that I one day would ;)
G'day to everyone I met for the first time on Sunday, Hollypig, Jerome, raboyle and PA1870 (it was an abosolute pleasure).
Glad to see you made it back home in one piece Youngster!
Port Adelaide 1870
10 Oct 2002, 09:40
Originally posted by Blues_Brat
I know it's a bit after the event but I am still recovering :D
YOU BLOODY BEAUTY!!
G'day to everyone I met for the first time on Sunday, Hollypig, Jerome, raboyle and PA1870 (it was an abosolute pleasure).
The pleasure was all adornments and mine...:D
We enjoyed that game like few others. I sincerley enjoyed watching all you guys down front having such a great time being thrilled from your teams performance..as Your friend said to me Blues_ brat, the chap from England...he was born the year of Sturts last Premiership !
I begin to realise, what I have taken for granted as I grew up, being a Port Adelaide supporter....
I wish that all club supporters of the SANFL can begin to share in the joy of that Premiership feeling..I hope your club delivers soon..It is a wonderful thing !:)
PA1870
mud n blood
10 Oct 2002, 10:40
you mob all sound like a bunch of those "happy-clappers" after a weekend sleep out ...... :rolleyes:
I might hafta start saving a few pennies and make the trip down for next year's final when Sturt "try" to defend the flag against Port. :)
Then you can all show me around Add-lade and the supposed non-existent nightlife !!!!
This'll be a big trip for a bananalander ....... ;)
Port Adelaide 1870
10 Oct 2002, 12:43
Originally posted by mud n blood
you mob all sound like a bunch of those "happy-clappers" after a weekend sleep out ...... :rolleyes:
I might hafta start saving a few pennies and make the trip down for next year's final when Sturt "try" to defend the flag against Port. :)
Then you can all show me around Add-lade and the supposed non-existent nightlife !!!!
This'll be a big trip for a bananalander ....... ;)
Your on !!!!
Lots of Youngsters here will show you the night clubs and we'll do a tour of the SANFL clubs as well.!!
PA1870
Blues_Brat
15 Oct 2002, 06:13
http://www.sanfl.com.au/template/sturtpremiers.jpg
Blues_Girl
15 Oct 2002, 10:55
Originally posted by Blues_Brat
http://www.sanfl.com.au/template/sturtpremiers.jpg
:( :mad: :( :mad:
mud n blood
15 Oct 2002, 12:11
You'll be looking forward to 2028 now, wouldn't you ? :p