View Full Version : The Surf Club

Stereophonic
2 Oct 2008, 12:56
The point of this thread is for supporters of the new Gold Coast Football Club to get to know each other. This thread can be used to for supporters to discuss lifestyle, occupations, memberships, players and the like on a social basis.

Eventually, it is hoped if this thread is popular, it will become a subthread that all GC supporters can feel comfortable posting in and getting to know one another in the lead up to Season 2011.

SwampCreature
3 Oct 2008, 13:37
Hi guys, Im SC, and I'm hoping to be the resident idiot around here, plus share some of my simple footballing thoughts.... Go Coasters!

Stereophonic
3 Oct 2008, 13:39
Theres always room for one of those on every board SC;)

No seriously, good to have you on board mate, I ve enjoyed reading your posts on the Expansion board:thumbsu:

hot_pies81
3 Oct 2008, 15:56
Hi all

I can't wait for this to get rolling. Sorry, but won't be jumping ship from my beloved Pies, but will probably post here more than on the Collingwood thread since I live up here and love everything about the Coast (except Surfers Paradise and Toolies). I will definitely be buying memberships for myself and my family in 2011, but until then really looking forward to some TAC Cup matches next year.

Ant_
3 Oct 2008, 16:51
I prefer Brisbanistan.

Haven't heard that one..we've got Nerangistan here...(its where all the Nerangatangs live) :D

Stereophonic
3 Oct 2008, 16:58
:thumbsu:I prefer Brisbanistan.

More like Brisbatarian or Brisbian;)

Great to see you have crossed over to the better divide TBD ;)

Ant_
3 Oct 2008, 16:59
:thumbsu:

Lol Brisbatarian.

TheBrownDog
3 Oct 2008, 17:06

Oh I'm Brisbane through and through, don't worry about that.

I'm here for the lulz.

Ant_
3 Oct 2008, 17:07
Oh I'm Brisbane through and through, don't worry about that.

I'm here for the lulz.

Broncos or Titans?

Edit : Reading your signature, interested in your answer. :D

TheBrownDog
3 Oct 2008, 17:11
Broncos or Titans?

Edit : Reading you sig interested in your answer. :D

I should have said Brisbane Lions through and through.

Ant_
3 Oct 2008, 17:12
I should have said Brisbane Lions through and through.

Yeah I can't stand rugby either..shits me that the Robina stadium is pretty much walking distance for me and it's the wrong shape.

Stereophonic
3 Oct 2008, 17:14
Thats what I think every time I walk past Suncorp... to the XXXX factory...

Ant_
3 Oct 2008, 17:18
Thats what I think every time I walk past Suncorp... to the XXXX factory...

Do you work there mate?

Stereophonic
3 Oct 2008, 17:20
Only in my wildest (actually one of) dreams:thumbsu:

Ant_
3 Oct 2008, 17:21
Only in my wildest (actually one of) dreams:thumbsu:

Ahh not a XXXX fan...now the factory at Yatala is another story. :D

hot_pies81
3 Oct 2008, 17:57
Ahh not a XXXX fan...now the factory at Yatala is another story. :D

Beers and pies!:D

Ant_
3 Oct 2008, 20:19
Strange did some of these posts move to this thread?

Beers and pies!:D

Lol, except I reckon those pies are overrated, sure they're nice but "Worlds Best" I think not.

sausageroll
3 Oct 2008, 23:58
G'day guys.

Originally from country SA. Moved to Gold Coast new year 2002/03 and been here since.

Looking forward to inaugural membership and hoping to become actively involved in the club at some level if possible:D:thumbsu:

hot_pies81
4 Oct 2008, 09:59
G'day guys.

Originally from country SA. Moved to Gold Coast new year 2002/03 and been here since.

Looking forward to inaugural membership and hoping to become actively involved in the club at some level if possible:D:thumbsu:

Nice to meet you. I would also love to be actively involved in the club, potentially get a job with them in some capacity.

monkeyshine
4 Oct 2008, 23:59
Hey JTGM,

How's it going?

I'm new around the traps but I'm lookin' forward to be an active member here on Big Footy, particulary on the GC Board.

Cheers
ms

Stereophonic
5 Oct 2008, 06:15
Nice to meet you MS, welcome aboard:thumbsu:

tora tora tora
5 Oct 2008, 19:24
Nice to meet you MS, welcome aboard:thumbsu:

yo,
i'm a tigers man in north nsw... I go up to carrara occasionally just to check out a game of afl.
So a new team up on the goldie is great for me.
It can be my second team at least - and over time who knows?
tora

Stereophonic
5 Oct 2008, 19:27
that is a cool username:)

LIONOFZION
9 Oct 2008, 10:50
:thumbsu:

I'm not on the coast anymore but back in the days I was they were referred to simply as Brizzos and were generally regarded as a subhuman species - well the blokes were anyway, mainly because of their brizzo tans and the fact that most couldn't surf. The chicks were generally excused from this type of ridicule especially if you were lining one up later that night ;)

Perhaps this type of promotion could be used to enhance the future rivalry round?

Stereophonic
9 Oct 2008, 14:43
I'm not on the coast anymore but back in the days I was they were referred to simply as Brizzos and were generally regarded as a subhuman species - well the blokes were anyway, mainly because of their brizzo tans and the fact that most couldn't surf. The chicks were generally excused from this type of ridicule especially if you were lining one up later that night ;)

Perhaps this type of promotion could be used to enhance the future rivalry round?

Brilliant:thumbsu:

James_37
15 Oct 2008, 14:22
Hey guys, thought I'd say hi,

Am a die hard Crows fan, but will definitely be supporting the new GC team as much as I can, without actually jumping ship, will be great to see a permanent AFL team up here

scotty4
19 Oct 2008, 21:30
gday fellas im a lions man but very happy to see the gc get up and going good to have a bit of rivalry in qld and someone to back against vic teams

joduffy
21 Dec 2008, 09:28
gday fellas im a lions man but very happy to see the gc get up and going good to have a bit of rivalry in qld and someone to back against vic teams

It will be interesting to see if you feel that way in a few years when the GCFC robs you of top eight spot. I wonder if the Crows were supportive of the fledgling Power until they did better in the comp. Can someone answer that?

bomba4eva
13 Jan 2009, 22:54
Just came back from a holiday at Gold Coast and I must say that I'm not a big fan of the much vaunted weather up there! Much too muggy and humid for me to enjoy.
Was passing by Southport and I realised this must be where the Sharks are stationed and I started thinking footy and really hoping that the Gold Coast team is well supported and successful. Will be eagerly looking out for any news on the expansion up into the Gold Coast and wish your team the best of luck. I'll be a fan until there is some incident which negatively affects the Bombers causing uproar from our fans against your mob:p

Well there we go. I've now lost my virginity on this Board. Best of luck to your club:thumbsu:

ghostdog
15 Jan 2009, 14:51
I'm from the hinterland but have always followed the Bombers. Brisbane were my second team, though Goldie will now share that mantle... same as B4E though... until they negatively affect our aspirations. Looking forward to the rivalry though. Living down south at the mo, but I'll be barracking for the Sharks at any Coast matches. Fans will decide.

Brisbane and Gold Coast's potential rivalry isn't being constructed and capitalised on as strongly as it could be... the marketing strategists should have some kind of schedule of promotion and s*** stirring I would have thought.

Daniel Rich will be a gun by then. Who will drive Coast's midfield?

Iva Bigun
16 Mar 2009, 14:07
Hey guys, Iva here

I'm a North Fan but will be jumping ship (after 32 years) to the GC once its up and running and have already purchased my first family membership.

I live in Brissie but spent a few years on the Coast when I first moved to Qld from Melbourne and love the area, in fact I still have a house in Broadbeach Waters that I intend to move back into in the future.

Hope to catch up with some of you at the games to share a few beers and hopefully cheer the team to victory.

Exciting times ahead. :)

Stereophonic
18 Mar 2009, 13:41
:thumbsu:Exciting times indeed:thumbsu: