View Full Version : Can we take the chance with Krejza?

LondonCalling
4 Oct 2008, 14:52
So he's gone wicketless for 120 runs at run a ball, and now made a duck in this tour game, against effectively India A.

Do we read into this on the weight of one game, and realise he's not good enough, and not play him? Do we play him anyway?

Do we play Siddle and go with 4 quicks instead? Do we fly in Casson and go with what we know? Play Watson and play an extra bat?

As silly as it can seem to go by one game, from what I've seen on the highlights, he looks well out of his depth at this level. I'd hate to see the first test.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
4 Oct 2008, 15:02
Id wait to see what he does in the 2nd dig before making any hasty decisions. However, this performance in this tour game is concerning. Granted, we havent played for some time and this is our first true hit out on Indian pitches but this performance isnt good enough.

Watson will defintely come into the side so that will give us the 4 seamers. Watson will obviously be used to relieve the frontliners.

Lets mate till the end of the match to make any decisions.

Unwritten_Law
4 Oct 2008, 15:05
Hilfenhaus, Geeves, Griffith, Denton.

He's not in Tasmania's first choice bowling attack, how the hell is he in the test team?

With Watson in the team you would expect that he is going to play regardless. I can't see them going in with three quicks and three part timers in Watson, Clarke and Katich, although they might as well. Dave Hussey would nearly be more dangerous with the ball than Krejza.

LondonCalling
4 Oct 2008, 15:25
Id wait to see what he does in the 2nd dig before making any hasty decisions. However, this performance in this tour game is concerning. Granted, we havent played for some time and this is our first true hit out on Indian pitches but this performance isnt good enough.

Watson will defintely come into the side so that will give us the 4 seamers. Watson will obviously be used to relieve the frontliners.

Lets mate till the end of the match to make any decisions.

The way we're going with the bat, there's no guarantee there'll be a second crack with the ball.

King Elvis
4 Oct 2008, 15:44
Where is the Hilf at these days? If he's in form, he could at some variety to our line-up, and go with quicks only.

The other joker in the pack is Tait - he went well during the Australia A Tour, he's fit and firing, and would definitely rattle the Indians... The question is (and I'm a massive fan, so this isn't a shot), could he hack it at this stage?

The other obvious one is Roy. Get him back, strengthen our batting line up and has obviously developed into a decent spinner.

I'd rather another quick or another batsman - even if it means we're playing to draw the series.

LondonCalling
4 Oct 2008, 15:46
Hilf is injured, last time I heard. Back problems, which forced him out of the Windies squad.

Blue Dimension
4 Oct 2008, 16:11
I know we're playing in India, but i'm starting to think we should go in with a 5 pronged pace attack (Lee, Clark, Johnson, Siddle, Watson) and blast them out of there. Clarke can provide optional spin if necessary.

I'll reserve judgement for the second bowling stint.

The Sim Dog
4 Oct 2008, 16:27
#### no. Indian pitches or not if we don't have a spinner good enough then they should not be picked. No use having someone being smashed everywhere and making stuff all with the bat. I am so sick of Australia wasting time on these crap young spinners. Would not mind if they had dominated our first class ranks but they don't.

andrew_embley
4 Oct 2008, 21:57
Happy to go with the 4 quicks and Michael Clarke win us the game on the last day ;)

Seriously though, if he's not much chop don't pick him. Go the quicks.

Cotchin 9
5 Oct 2008, 00:15
I reckon guys like D. Hussey, Heal, Hauritz, Katich, Clarke, Doherty could do a better job than Krejza if he cant get a game for Tasmania then why is he in the test team? Surely he isnt the best right arm finger spinner in the country, but hey if he plays he could prove me wrong and do well.

Warsaw
5 Oct 2008, 00:15
I think the 5 quicks would do us better than taking the chances of Krejza. I know it may be a long shot to play in india but seriously i don't rate the guy at all. Haven't seen much of him for tassie so maybe that's my problem but 0/123 against a side that doesn't boast tendulker, dravid etc?

I've heard the comparisons that he is a bit like Mendis but i haven't seen anything that would convince me that he has uncanny ability to spin the ball.

I am seriously worried about this tour because I think unless we step up to the plate were going to be going home on the back of an elephant.

Russian
5 Oct 2008, 03:15
Under Ponting I don't think we can take the chance of not playing Krejza. Giving him 5 quicks to juggle will be a disaster :(

likka
5 Oct 2008, 08:17
The other joker in the pack is Tait - he went well during the Australia A Tour, he's fit and firing, and would definitely rattle the Indians... The question is (and I'm a massive fan, so this isn't a shot), could he hack it at this stage?

You been whacking off to your Taity posters again?

Tait is even more mentally fragile than Krezja... he may make it back to international "hit & giggle" cricket but I seriously doubt he'll play test cricket again.

Even said so himself recently, suggesting his bowling style is much more suited to the shorter form of the game.

TheColeTrain
5 Oct 2008, 09:19
He is a terrible terrible bowler, noy just judging on one game either, its based on his entire career FFS, he is a spud, we almost have no choice but to play four pace bowlers, and part time spinners Katich and Clarke.
However I am almost certain the moron selectors will give Krejza a very underserving cap

King Elvis
5 Oct 2008, 12:48
You been whacking off to your Taity posters again?

Tait is even more mentally fragile than Krezja... he may make it back to international "hit & giggle" cricket but I seriously doubt he'll play test cricket again.

Even said so himself recently, suggesting his bowling style is much more suited to the shorter form of the game.

Didn't I say most of that?

I'd prefer another batsmen or a White type over Krejza or another quick.

I loathe the Indians so much, if we can't win, I'd rather draw the series, just to piss them off.

Blue Dimension
5 Oct 2008, 13:56
Under Ponting I don't think we can take the chance of not playing Krejza. Giving him 5 quicks to juggle will be a disaster :(

The good thing about is is that he'll have plenty of options with the ball, including Clarke and Katich as spin options.

Ultimately 6-7 guys who can turn their arm over, which is essentially a massive plus - especially for when the going gets tough.

Black Thunder
5 Oct 2008, 17:29
i don't even know how he got on this tour. there are some tours where you can take a guy for experience, and then there are tours where this just isn't an option - ashes, indian and pre-1999 the west indies...

he's just not even close to a test match bowler. in fact he's a questionable first class bowler...

i usually defend the australian selectors cause they do a good job but krezja... hmmmm. i didn't comment on it much when the squad was first announced in that i didn't think he'd get a game with McGain there but now we are under pressure.

The Sim Dog
5 Oct 2008, 19:13
Another great day at the office for Krejza with 0/76 off 11 overs. Makes 0/199 off 31 overs for the game. If this bloke gets the game I'll scream. Would be one of the most embarrassing selections ever.

Johnson#26
5 Oct 2008, 20:02
Go for Siddle. He'd be great value.

Cousin Jed
5 Oct 2008, 21:01
He's given them 199 reasons not to.

unstable punt
5 Oct 2008, 22:54
He's given them 199 reasons not to.

why the f%#k is he even in the squad, hate to go on about it but where does this guy come from?????????????????? you guessed it, baggy green in a brown paper bag for these jerks:confused::mad::thumbsd:
http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2008/10/05/1223145161184.html

LondonCalling
5 Oct 2008, 23:39
http://content-aus.cricinfo.com/indvaus2008/content/current/story/372517.html

Reading between the lines here, with Watson confirmed to play, and one of the two to play, I would think Krejza gets in.

No point playing White at 8. 7's a stretch as it is

Black Thunder
6 Oct 2008, 04:49
http://content-aus.cricinfo.com/indvaus2008/content/current/story/372517.html

"We need to work out how to use him best ... the field placements and the way the Indians tend to play him. " - Ricky Ponting

unfortunately the best field placements may be in the crowd when Sach, VVS, Sehwag and Dhoni get moving....

i can't see how Krezja can get a gig. I really can't.

White isn't much better IMO but at least White a) a better bowler, b) definetaly has more potential to turn into a test spinner, although i wouldn't be counting on that either, c) a better batsmen and fielder, and d) a far more mature cricketer, e) has some form of international experience....

although i'm not particular massive on either option, it's just not possible that White could be behind Krezja...

Black Thunder
6 Oct 2008, 04:50
after giving him a serve, Krezja will probably get picked and pick up a bag :rolleyes:

i wouldn't be betting the house on it though.

ben_cats_fan
7 Oct 2008, 09:23
Hilfenhaus, Geeves, Griffith, Denton.

He's not in Tasmania's first choice bowling attack, how the hell is he in the test team?

A) Denton came across this summer, Griffith was injured all of last. We haven't had a chance to see who is our first choice bowling attack this summer.

B) Last summer, Krejza was our first choice spinner in FC & Doherty ODD.

The Sim Dog
7 Oct 2008, 12:47
after giving him a serve, Krezja will probably get picked and pick up a bag :rolleyes:

Bag of what? Pappadums? He aint getting a bag of wickets that's for sure.

BLPC08
7 Oct 2008, 16:52
No Spinner and we would need a miracle, Kumble and Harbhajan are quality spinners that will spin us out for less than 250. I guess Michael Clarke got a 6 for 9 last time, so we could throw him the responsibility.

KardiniaPark
8 Oct 2008, 09:49

But its been shown before that if ponting doesnt trust someone he wont bowl him so its probably a waste of time kreja being there anyway. He's done it on a few occasions with tait.

XFactor1979
9 Oct 2008, 11:44
shame about bryce mcgain not being up for it

mcgain would be picked for subcontinental tours - india, sri lanka and BANGLADESH (the mighty DESHIS!) of course... 3 test cricket playing countries play there! always has, always will be :)

mushtaq ahem....

seriously i think test matches at home wont feature a specialist spinner for a while, symonds and clarke rolling their arms over as part timers and lee, clark and johnson the main fast bowlers

ben_cats_fan
9 Oct 2008, 11:54
Nathan Hauritz?

hotdish
9 Oct 2008, 12:29
I'm laughing at all the crap thats being thrown at Krejza! It was a tour game - where the Indians had nothing to lose going the tonk! Do you see Dravid tearing him a new one - NO I see him holding down an end and being solid, to give our fast bowlers some rest. He is also solid with the bat. Wouldn't be surprised if he knocks off a half century this series...

LondonCalling
9 Oct 2008, 13:46
....and we don't.

Justice prevails.

TheColeTrain
9 Oct 2008, 13:48
oh thank god.
terrible cricketer

BLPC08
9 Oct 2008, 15:41
Abysmal, talentless, useless, mediocre player who should never have even been taken to India.

Eagle87
9 Oct 2008, 16:28
Can you imagine the final selection meeting to discuss the spin position last night:

"Well, its between Krezja and White"

"White cant bowl for shit but a very handy batsman and good in the field"

"Krezja is just shit at everything and has no peripheral vision in night clubs ...;)"

"So in summary, neither can bowl?"

"Yep"

"Well its White then, better bloke, can field and bat ....the ideal Aussie spinner after the aberration of the Warne years"....

emperor
9 Oct 2008, 16:48
Well Cam White looks more like Warney - probably just got him a nose in front of Krezja in the selection meeting