View Full Version : Essendon Board - Changes, wish lists, new ideas

ant555
5 Oct 2008, 11:52
As the heading says what changes or ideas do you wan't to put forward ?
Any ideas for competitions or interesting themes to follow over the summer months ?

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
5 Oct 2008, 12:56
I'd be happy to keep the merged threads for discussion of players like Harris, or draftees like Redden, but I reckon the following threads would be good:

Sticky: Merged Trade/Delistings Threads
Sticky: Merged Draft Threads
Draft Camp
Draft: Michael Hurley
Draft: Steele Sidebottom
Draft: Jack Ziebell
Draft: Hamish Hartlett
Trade: Andrew Lovett
Ben Cousins

That way the main topics get their own thread, but random 3rd round possbilities, or shit players out of contract don't clutter up the board.

It's the best of both worlds.

Sounds like a good idea.

The only problem is people start coming up with ridiculous trades, hence, the topic of Andrew Lovett turns into O'Keefe, turns into Pick 12 etc. The merged threads allowed that to happen. With more specific threads, posters are going to make sure they stick with topic, and if they want to discuss more broadly, they can post using the merged threads.

The last thing i want is to read about Lovett and find someone has posted a three way trade between Sydney, Fremantle and Carltank!

Ben the Gooner
5 Oct 2008, 13:09
I liked the consensus thing we did last year.

EDIT: Seeing as the main board thread is closed, what are your thoughts on the post EFC4lyfe quoted?

Ben the Gooner
5 Oct 2008, 13:48
One of the new features of the blogs on BF are joint blogs (i.e. others are authorised to post on a blog).

Maybe we could have an Essendon board blog where certain respected posters (e.g. ant555, RIG, Merv, foj1 etc.) can post every day.

Tambu
5 Oct 2008, 13:53
Keep the Trade thread as one thread and have individual threads for each of our draft picks to discuss potential selections...

-Trades
-Pick 5
-Pick 23
-Pick 39
-Pick 55
-Pick 71

Colin D'Cops
5 Oct 2008, 15:04
And when it gets closer to draft time, as the above poster mentioned, make a seperate thread for each pick. (5, 23, etc) Let people make their prediction for who we're going to pick up with that pick and if Merv has got plenty of prizes to throw around, maybe even award a few prizes for the people that guess the right kid. Just chucking an idea out there.

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
5 Oct 2008, 17:32
Trade: Players Up for trade > Our players and other clubs> Draft picks up for trade (Multiple Threads)

Draft: Players up for draft > Draft Picks (Multiple Threads)

Forward > Midfield > Defense > Ruck: (Threads)

One thing, is that you wouldn't want people making threads on players that names get thrown up once on trade week, like maybe a Harris.

Maybe after this is done, we need to set up some rules for posting, and make sure people dont spam with worthless threads?

essendon2008
5 Oct 2008, 17:40
Merv sorry for repeating this as i know i have already asked you about this, however i still feel any threads falling under drafting,trading or delisting deserve to be in a sub-forum. The drawback to this is the issue of the amount of traffic that would circulate this sub-forum, however at this time of year the traffic is high. Admittedly during early and mid-season the traffic could be quite limited but i feel this would help clean out the Essendon board and also make it a bit more user friendly during busy times.

I realise you guys are trying to please the people and you do a great job. This is a solution I would like to see put into place.

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
5 Oct 2008, 17:41
My first example ^^

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/curves/buttons/firstnew.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?goto=newpost&t=505144) Wayde Mills (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=505144)
Tippaz

Not really necessary as a new thread.

Colin D'Cops
5 Oct 2008, 18:08
I think that above thread (^) is okay. Delisted from the Lions and the OP wanted everyone's thoughts all in one thread. If it gets out of hand, then we can think of merging it but I don't see a problem with it at the moment.

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
5 Oct 2008, 18:17
I think that above thread (^) is okay. Delisted from the Lions and the OP wanted everyone's thoughts all in one thread. If it gets out of hand, then we can think of merging it but I don't see a problem with it at the moment.

Then why not make one for every play that has been delisted, or is up for trade? (Not having a go at you or the poster of that thread:p)

Its just that, the problem i have, is that people will get distracted, and then the Topic of Mills changes to soemone else, because they don't rate Mills for a reason or something like that.

Example: I like Mills > I Dont > I would rather have Thomson > Thomson is terrible i'd rather have ... etc.

The good thing about the merged threads is that its open to everything. Im still deffs up for separate threads, but i dotn want to be searchign through a thread on Ben Cousins and find out its turned into another player.

Colin D'Cops
5 Oct 2008, 18:32
Its just that, the problem i have, is that people will get distracted, and then the Topic of Mills changes to soemone else...

If that happens, like I said in my previous post in this thread, I'd be more than happy if we merged that thread into the trade/delistings one.

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
5 Oct 2008, 18:38
If that happens, like I said in my previous post in this thread, I'd be more than happy if we merged that thread into the trade/delistings one.

(Y) I agree with you

Ben the Gooner
5 Oct 2008, 19:57
I sent this to Merv Neagle via PM a month or so ago during a discussion about the board:

Without thinking too much about it, would a "troll the Essendon board" thread be an idea for the summer? While not condoning posts like "Lol, Essendon's shit and are going to be shit for the next 1000 years", it would be a chance for supporters of other clubs to ask questions of our list, amongst other things, and to engage us in debate.

If the guidelines were set out properly in the first post, it'd encourage more supporters to our board, and give them the chance to discuss the flaws in our club which they've spent hours trying to find.

It'd be a chance for them to ask questions like, "I'm not sure about the quality in your midfielders. While there'll be a lot of good players like Houli, Lonergan, Myers etc., I'm not sure of the potential for any of them to be absolute stars" without worrying about getting carded, and having their question ignored amongst all the cries of "Troll!".

It might be a bit shaky to start with, but if it's run properly, it'd be a good discussion, without descending into Bay 13.

Just a thought, anyway.

Wahooti Fandango
5 Oct 2008, 19:59
I sent this to Merv Neagle via PM a month or so ago during a discussion about the board:

As long as shotta is banned then it sounds like a good idea. ;)

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
5 Oct 2008, 20:00

Sounds like a good idea. But like you said, don't want it to turn into an "Essendon Suck" fest.

Colin D'Cops
5 Oct 2008, 20:05
I quite like the idea BTG. Could invite the more quality opposition supporters across to our board.

Though it coud get ugly, heaps of trolls will probably be there and then you get newbies who throw out the odd swear word and the like and the thread skyrockets south quickly.

As long as the mods are on standby, I think it's a great idea.

Hirdman
5 Oct 2008, 20:11
I'm fine with it as long as its no Bay 13.
I think we need to show a bit of maturity if we open up the baord, for example someone comes in and says Ryder is overrated he should be tearing up the competition..... then we reply with the fact that he has played 50 games only x games in one position etc... Healthy debate and any way to spice up the sight is a positive.

By the way I do get annoyed at the closed threads stuff its silly season and I want to read about trades, and I want to read what our fellow supporters think

Wahooti Fandango
5 Oct 2008, 20:18
Perhaps a sub-forum similar to Footy Fourth Estate (or Media Watch) would be useful in terms of keeping track of Essendon players etc. in the media (e.g. when they are appearing on various footy shows or the radio). Just a suggestion.

ant555
5 Oct 2008, 20:22
I am nervous about it ..lol.. Good idea but also an open invitation for trolls which means a lot more moderating to be done.
We have to moderate to the standards set out by the admin which means we can not let a total free for all happen and i don't trust a lot of the users out there to play by the rules ;)
I do really like the idea but as a mod it will mean a crap load of work.

Ben the Gooner
5 Oct 2008, 20:35
Perhaps a sub-forum similar to Footy Fourth Estate (or Media Watch) would be useful in terms of keeping track of Essendon players etc. in the media (e.g. when they are appearing on various footy shows or the radio). Just a suggestion.

I'm sure an open sticky could cover that next season.

For next year's stickies, I'd like to see:

Forum Rules (obviously)
Injury List, Contract Status (closed, with a weekly update from efc.com.au by one of the mods)
Windy Hill (kept)

and your idea could fit in there.

The merged threads throughout the season was a good idea, and won't fall off the main page, so don't need stickying.

The Dustbin
5 Oct 2008, 20:40
BTG, that's the best idea thus far. As long as it can remain civilised and controlled, then it will be a definate winner. :thumbsu:

ant555
5 Oct 2008, 20:44

Media watch is a good idea. I can keep a stickied thread where people can post the articles or links that they find over pre season and into the new season :thumbsu:

The Dustbin
5 Oct 2008, 20:47
Media watch is a good idea. I can keep a stickied thread where people can post the articles or links that they find over pre season and into the new season :thumbsu:

Will that include articles from essendonfc.com.au? Or should that get it's own thread, so it can also act as an archive?

B-Bomber
5 Oct 2008, 21:15
We could expand our use of Windy Hill forum as its not used much atm. Not sure what for exactly...

bomba4eva
5 Oct 2008, 21:16
One of the new features of the blogs on BF are joint blogs (i.e. others are authorised to post on a blog).

Maybe we could have an Essendon board blog where certain respected posters (e.g. ant555, RIG, Merv, foj1 etc.) can post every day.
It does not matter about how respected they are when their football knowledge would be of a similar standard to most others that post. Other then ant who clearly has a very good knowledge of football and foj who seems to know the draftees well, you and I would have a similar knowledge to the others.

Changes can start by not having only 2 threads which get the bulk of our 'traffic'. I would prefer more interest from opposition supporters as it is often enjoyable to debate with them. Trolls are easy enough to deal with also and I don't feel we need to be, dare I say Carlton Board like.

Wahooti Fandango
5 Oct 2008, 21:59
We are making some good progress. :thumbsu:

ant555
5 Oct 2008, 23:14
Will that include articles from essendonfc.com.au? Or should that get it's own thread, so it can also act as an archive?

I was thinking along the lines of one thread but if people thought they needed to be split then i am happy to go along with it.

loopy_cam
6 Oct 2008, 11:59
Aren't those articles usually reserved for Bomber Spotting?

topdon
6 Oct 2008, 13:05
I think we are heading in the right direction. Cleaning out our fitness department was a priority, and i am glad it has been done. A new direction for the club that hopefully sees our players build up their core strength and limit the amount of soft tissue injuries we've experienced through the past few years.

I'm excited by the future.

essendon2008
6 Oct 2008, 13:59
I think we are heading in the right direction. Cleaning out our fitness department was a priority, and i am glad it has been done. A new direction for the club that hopefully sees our players build up their core strength and limit the amount of soft tissue injuries we've experienced through the past few years.

Umm this thread is actually about ideas for the Essendon BigFooty board :p.
Good post nonetheless!

Ben the Gooner
6 Oct 2008, 15:51
Aren't those articles usually reserved for Bomber Spotting?

I started a thread like that earlier which died in the arse, but I think that posts get lost in Bomber Spotting, and a media watch thread, with every article about players, and every radio interview, TV interview etc. posted is a better way to do it.

loopy_cam
6 Oct 2008, 16:18
Maybe we could have that coloured writing before thread names which some other boards have. They could say draft, trade etc.

The Dustbin
6 Oct 2008, 19:25

Um topdon, we're talking about our board. Not the club itself.

:cool:

Ben the Gooner
6 Oct 2008, 19:30
I think that the extra threads to go with the merged ones are working.

Next year, I'd like to see the merged threads until after Essendon's last game, then the extra threads like now.

Thoughts?

Merv
6 Oct 2008, 20:57
It certainly gives the board a more active look.

It is the first day of trade week, so interest is higher but i do think the extra threads are or will generate more discussion.

iPhone
6 Oct 2008, 23:38
Hi, firstly; thanks for letting me in the sub group, hope I can contribute a little. Personally, I'd prefer the draft threads to be based on the picks. I.e: Pick 5, Pick 23 etc etc, mainly because I think we could get some good hurley vs sidebottom discussions going rather than the Conversation spilling over two threads. Of course this will be better post trade week, because we'll know our draft order, not "maybe we'll land pick 12 for player X" and so forth.

Cheers.

dapto
7 Oct 2008, 03:37
Some really good ideas here and appreciate the boards movement on this front

Would like to say that if I sponsored a sentiment which was inferred to be negative then that wasn't the quotient of my posts. Certainly, I see the this boards deficits as a problem at home.

The board and all the mods have my full support. No reason for them not to have it. And merv I would like to retract the comment re "washed hands". It was a quip but poorly conceived. Nonetheless there was no 'mod bashing' as you stated and less need for you to challenge me re being a perienial mod basher. It was a long time coming, but you got your opportunity. I must congratulate all those that supported an idea in those threads and not the poster, which was the positive outcome for board content.

In any event my orientation and critical comments are/were positive re the board in general.

Take this as you will. I hope the issue is dusted

And general compliments to all posters here for being proactive and redeeming issues which arose in the other threads

Colin D'Cops
7 Oct 2008, 22:09
Actually I'm against all the threads actually, I quite liked the merged threads.
I know a lot of people will say it's easier to make comments, etc. But I actually found it easier to look through and post easier in the merged threads.
Since there's a lot of traffic and there's a fair few more trolls than usual, plus I've got to get a few things done this week, I think you'll find me posting a lot more on the weekend or next week in general for those wondering why my comments haven't been as regular as usual.

Merv
14 Oct 2008, 18:57
Seems to have ground to a halt.

Wahooti Fandango
14 Oct 2008, 19:04

Maybe the masses are happy. :D

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
14 Oct 2008, 19:39
Hrmm

What to do in the pre-season..

Anyone got ideas on what threads should be opened when it hits PSD/ND/NAB Draft time?

Anything...new...?

Ben the Gooner
14 Oct 2008, 21:21
I think these are the ones which should be considered first, because they would be easiest to implement.

I liked the consensus thing we did last year.

I'm sure an open sticky could cover that next season.

For next year's stickies, I'd like to see:

Forum Rules (obviously)
Injury List, Contract Status (closed, with a weekly update from efc.com.au by one of the mods)
Windy Hill (kept)

and your idea could fit in there.

The merged threads throughout the season was a good idea, and won't fall off the main page, so don't need stickying.

Maybe we could have that coloured writing before thread names which some other boards have. They could say draft, trade etc.

dapto
15 Oct 2008, 10:58

Maybe the masses are happy. :D
Impetus is a funny thing PP. It is an kind of energy that creates some things but by its nature cannot be sustained. Nothing Holy about it, and shouldnt be something to be sensitive about

OzBomber
16 Oct 2008, 20:01
Wish list - Essendon 2008 Board Awards

We never seem to have gotten a reply in the awards thread.

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
2 Nov 2008, 18:19
Maybe some threads about Players other than under the sub forum:

e.g.

2009: Gumbleton:

- A brief Overview of him

Then people can post
-Expectations
-Role they want him to play
-How much he should play
-What role within the team (his inclusion will have)
- Who will miss out because of him
- etc

Of course you cant make threads for all players, but ones the seem to have promise/hype, but haven't yet performed/proven themselves/lack fo game time.

Gumbleton
Winderlich
Myers?

Ben the Gooner
2 Nov 2008, 19:18
That's the whole point of the subforum. It would just mean that people have to repeat themselves when we invariably end up discussing the same things in two different threads.

I still like the Mediawatch sticky idea. Can we get that happening, mods?

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
2 Nov 2008, 19:22
That's the whole point of the subforum. It would just mean that people have to repeat themselves when we invariably end up discussing the same things in two different threads.

I still like the Mediawatch sticky idea. Can we get that happening, mods?

Exactly, but, if we're looking for some activity, maybe you could bring out some "selected" players to the forum.

I'm liking the media watch idea also (Y)

eth-dog
3 Nov 2008, 10:26
Exactly, but, if we're looking for some activity, maybe you could bring out some "selected" players to the forum.

I'm liking the media watch idea also (Y)
I like this idea, but Gumby, Winderlich, Myers and Bellchambers would all have to be included.

FandangoDingo
7 Nov 2008, 13:06
I like the idea of the invited-troll thread. I think it will reduce the amount of work for the mods in other threads within our board. Healthy, robust discussion with the enemy is good. Show the ever-so-touchy Carlton board exactly how petty they actually are! :p

The Bulldogs board (I think) do a weekly preview of their match.... getting a respected poster from the opposition team to provide their own in-depth analysis (strengths, weaknesses, matchups etc.) V another preview/analysis from Essendon. This is top notch!!! :thumbsu:

As most here do, I also always look forward to Ant's training reports! :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

LOL. Read the headline then post. Whatever you don't, don't read the OP or the rest of the thread!!!!! ;)

Ben the Gooner
8 Nov 2008, 13:14
The Bulldogs board (I think) do a weekly preview of their match.... getting a respected poster from the opposition team to provide their own in-depth analysis (strengths, weaknesses, matchups etc.) V another preview/analysis from Essendon. This is top notch!!! :thumbsu:

Agreed. Definitely.

Which posters would be worth inviting in? H2F would definitely be one. Others?

Colin D'Cops
8 Nov 2008, 13:27
Agreed. Definitely.

Which posters would be worth inviting in? H2F would definitely be one. Others?

Here's a quick list ;

Adelaide - CrowGirl
Brisbane - Quigley
Carlton - Cruiser
Collingwood - Jabso
Fremantle - Bushie
Geelong - Exhale You
Hawthorn - H2F
Melbourne - Deestroy
North Melbourne - Dingster
Port Adelaide - Macca19
Richmond - Realistic Tiger
St. Kilda - Kildonan
Sydney - SouthSwans
Western Bulldogs - OldSchool
West Coast - Keyser Soze

Ben the Gooner
8 Nov 2008, 15:43
Fremantle - Bushie

bushie's gone.:(

Stronzo or estibador would be up there.

Merv
8 Nov 2008, 15:53
Before you guys go too much further, there is the possibility of a preview board next year.

We did it here last year but the response was lukewarm at best.

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
8 Nov 2008, 15:55
A lot of People Dont seem to be interested in the Sub-forums:(

Ben the Gooner
8 Nov 2008, 15:56
Before you guys go too much further, there is the possibility of a preview board next year.

Do you mean a board solely for matchday preview threads? I think that would be good. Leave the general discussion for the main board and the specialised discussion (players, matches) for the sub-boards.

Merv
8 Nov 2008, 16:30

A lot of People Dont seem to be interested in the Sub-forums:(

Do you mean a board solely for matchday preview threads? I think that would be good. Leave the general discussion for the main board and the specialised discussion (players, matches) for the sub-boards.

I meant to say this year, not last year, and it was on the Essendon board, not a sub forum.

The idea is being tossed around no decision has been made about it yet.

I only mentioned it to save you guys organising posters etc, only to have it trumped.

Ben the Gooner
11 Nov 2008, 19:54
Sorry Merv, just saw this now.

I don't think either of us were getting too far ahead of ourselves. The more discussion in this thread, the better.

Which of the ideas in this thread are more likely than others?

bombersno1
12 Nov 2008, 15:41
I don't mind the idea of allowing 1-2 respected guys from each club board to offer previews on the games

efcboy
12 Nov 2008, 21:07
i'm happy with the way things are being controlled for pre-season, agree the bomber bagging thread has merit to create traffic but equals a lot of work for mods so understand the limitations.

once the draft is over a thread "Best 22" could entertain some up until r1. during H&A i'd be a fan of the following thread subjects:

Game preview - official lineups posted by mod, media coverage, betting markets (head to head, line bets, etc - i'm a punter so regularly check these so could post them in if need be), and discussion of matchups etc

Injury/suspension updates

Essendon functions/events - help promote the club we all love.

Bendigo Bombers - official lineup posted by mod and post match analysis.

The positives

The negatives - where all the whinging willies can bind together.