View Full Version : SANFL - A master's league??
footyman
9 Oct 2002, 14:28
I might get a few South Australian's offside here, but the SANFL Grand Final was like a master's games event. How many names were AFL rejects who had gone back to SA to play football? People like Ben Nelson and Simon Arnott to name a couple. I read that Ross Funcke who was delisted from the Demons might go and play SANFL next year. The week before we saw Steven Pitt playing. Where are the young blokes? I'm amazed that Brent Reilly couldn't even get a game - he was taken pick 12 in last year's draft. The SANFL is holding back the development of players like him. If he was in Victoria he would've played every game this year in the VFL seniors.
While I'm at it - why not have 22 a side and be the same as the AFL? And why not get rid of the red behind posts as well while they're at it. It's a shocker of a competition I reckon...don't be proud of it South Australians.
Dogwatcher
9 Oct 2002, 16:19
As a fan of a club which has clear British origins, I'm going to employ the soccer term you used in your opening gambit: Footyman, you are offside!
Why shouldn't South Australia be proud of our competition. We don't pretend that it is THE competition, but we do enjoy barracking for OUR own sides. Not clubs that have been formed like a corporation or clubs that are continually being propped up by the competition to survive.
The reason we are proud of the SANFL is because they are our clubs - players from our neighbourhoods take part. We know the players and can get close to them without being looked down upon. They represent the pride of our suburbs and we all have a contact with them, even if we live in their coutnry zones. Does the AFL still have country zones - no because that's just one more personal touch that has disappeared since the national extension of the game.
Fine there are some former AFL players in the Masters mode that you suggest the SANFL is, as there would be in the VFL and WAFL. If you follow a VFL side and don't recognise that element in your competition then you can definately pull your head in.
There are good promising young players in the sides, like Marty Mattner and Jade Sheedy for Sturt, perhaps the reason you picked up on names like Nelson and Arnott is because you recognise them and dont know the names of the promising youngsters you questioned the lack of.
Another point can be made there: the fact those players choose to come to the SANFL after flunking the superhuman test in the AFL is because it is highly regarded as the next best level of football. Would you prefer those players disappear to ply their trade in country Victoria, because that is their rightful place. Or maybe you would like them to stop playing altogether, because hey, once you haven't made the AFL you shouldn't bother playing.
Your attack on SA football lacks originality, it just seems like another attack on this state, and lacks a real knowledge of what is happening outside of the AFL.
Blues_Brat
9 Oct 2002, 16:42
Well said Dogwatcher.
Originally posted by footyman
I'm amazed that Brent Reilly couldn't even get a game - he was taken pick 12 in last year's draft. The SANFL is holding back the development of players like him. If he was in Victoria he would've played every game this year in the VFL seniors.I reckon that says more about the low standard of the VFL than anything else, if what you say is true.
Dogwatcher
9 Oct 2002, 16:47
Thanks for the compliment.
But do me a favour Brat get rid of the comment regarding centrals supporters from your sig, or I may have to add some choice Sturt comments to mine! Lol.
Blues_Brat
9 Oct 2002, 16:53
Originally posted by Dogwatcher
Thanks for the compliment.
But do me a favour Brat get rid of the comment regarding centrals supporters from your sig, or I may have to add some choice Sturt comments to mine! Lol.
I'm sure there are a few choice words said by supporters of each side. ;)
I got elbowed in the ribs by some woman as I was walking along, it was no accident cos she started laughing so I called her a nicety and forgot all about it until half an hour later when two blokes came down to hassle me in my seat, one wanted me to apologise to his girlfriend, well you can guess the rest by the quote. :)
Dogwatcher
9 Oct 2002, 17:07
Okay, well I won't bother repeating some of the more offensive rubbish that was said to me, but I will tell this:
Sturt supporter (while Sturt celebrations are continuing on field - I wouldve thought his attention would've been better focussed on soaking up the moment): Get back in your Datsun 180 and drive back to Elizabeth you dole bludger!
Dogwatcher: Can you give me some directions so I can get there quicker....in my WRX, son?
I thought it wasn't a bad call. I don't live in Elizabeth anymore, but I'm don't have to deny that - I'm proud of the place, but I thought the WRX call was a nice table turner.
Better than retorting with something about chardonnay set and snobs and all that jazz.
footyman
10 Oct 2002, 00:31
Dogwatcher - fair comments mate. I'm just getting some discussion going. I see a handful of this year's draft chances have played SANFL seniors so I'm sure the less strong teams have young kids playing.
I would like to know why they still only have 3 on the bench though.
Porthos, the VFL beat the SANFL in this year's state game. What a pity the SANFL don't want to play the VFL again next year.
Leaping Lindner
10 Oct 2002, 00:53
And why not get rid of the red behind posts as well while they're at it.
When the bloody hell are the AFL/VFL going to paint theirs red! It's about time these leagues got with the times!:)
I too watched the SANFL GF on foxtel and was indeed amazed at the "men" running around. But this criticism is short sighted.
In the WAFL, we watch year after year youngsters drafted to AFL. Year after year we watch WAFL footballers who have just reached maturity attracted to the country for higher pay. Because of our low salary cap ($135,000 this year – was $110,000 last year!), and indeed low grant money from the WAFC ($245,000) we can not afford to pay the money these players would receive in the bush or even the SANFL. Where previously players would return from the VFL/AFL and play with their original clubs, they now just retire. A further dearth of experience in the league. Players are now rarely reaching 100 let alone 150 games for their WAFL club.
Thus a majority of our players are under 25 years. In fact my club Perth, has an average playing age of only 22. It is becoming increasingly rare Whilst this may seem desirable it has been detrimental to the standard of football in the WAFL. Youth requires experience to fully mature, and those already established players are great teachers.
Remember, this is not just a game for the young. They should have to prove they are better than the older players they replace – this makes them better players and better human beings. Rather than the pathetic attitudes we see slipping into some of our young players where they think they are owed selection and payment for just turning up.
Whatever pride there was in playing league football in the WAFL is quickly being eroded and devalued by this lack of public status. At least the SANFL has maintained loyal following and not cowered to the AFL philosophy of youth at all costs.
So to youth at all costs – I don’t think so!
Port Adelaide 1870
10 Oct 2002, 09:10
Originally posted by hassa
I too watched the SANFL GF on foxtel and was indeed amazed at the "men" running around. But this criticism is short sighted.
In the WAFL, we watch year after year youngsters drafted to AFL. Year after year we watch WAFL footballers who have just reached maturity attracted to the country for higher pay. Because of our low salary cap ($135,000 this year – was $110,000 last year!), and indeed low grant money from the WAFC ($245,000) we can not afford to pay the money these players would receive in the bush or even the SANFL. Where previously players would return from the VFL/AFL and play with their original clubs, they now just retire. A further dearth of experience in the league. Players are now rarely reaching 100 let alone 150 games for their WAFL club.
Thus a majority of our players are under 25 years. In fact my club Perth, has an average playing age of only 22. It is becoming increasingly rare Whilst this may seem desirable it has been detrimental to the standard of football in the WAFL. Youth requires experience to fully mature, and those already established players are great teachers.
Remember, this is not just a game for the young. They should have to prove they are better than the older players they replace – this makes them better players and better human beings. Rather than the pathetic attitudes we see slipping into some of our young players where they think they are owed selection and payment for just turning up.
Whatever pride there was in playing league football in the WAFL is quickly being eroded and devalued by this lack of public status. At least the SANFL has maintained loyal following and not cowered to the AFL philosophy of youth at all costs.
So to youth at all costs – I don’t think so!
Ahh..Hassa..
The average playing age is decreasing in the SANFL..slowly, but surely....
200 gamers, league life members, men who's lives revolve around the fortunes and noteriety of SANFL clubs has gone..You see Premiership players leaving SANFL clubs to go to Victorian country leagues and so forth......
The SANFL, though in many ways retaining much more than the WAFL...is only doing that because of the strength of...Max Basheer and Leigh Whicker President and CEO of the league..
when they are gone their places will slowly be filled by those seimilar to some of the WA thread posters I have read, No idea of the Football community that surrounds them , only the propoganda and marketing of the AFL..
I call them Coca Cola kids, the new Generation, theyll tell you all the benefits and features of the NEW product with a sense of reasoning that simply blows you away..straight out of Uni, theyll fit in with ...all the others at the club ..because
"They are the best for the job", whilst experienced people with 30 years under their belts will be moved aside..
The Coca Cola kids will be slaves to the quikest route to AFL house...and all will suffer in SA football because of it..
There is no sense of History with the new ones, they perceive the WAFL and SANFL to be 10 th rate, their perspective tells them what they see now is what it always has been,
" how can the oldies try and justify telling us it was once as good as the AFL"..
I mean you only have to read the AFL history books and watch the TV and play the AFL video games and get the stickers and the fake tatoos and the match box cars ..to realise that anything outside of that is 10th rate..
PA1870
Uncle Steve
10 Oct 2002, 11:13
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
When the bloody hell are the AFL/VFL going to paint theirs red! It's about time these leagues got with the times!:)
That would make a good start.
The revolution will be complete only when the AFL awards 2 match points per win, measures % on 0 to 100, introduces goal umpire cam, and recognises the checkside punt :D
McAlmanac
10 Oct 2002, 11:29
How many names were AFL rejects who had gone back to SA to play football? People like Ben Nelson and Simon Arnott to name a couple. I read that Ross Funcke who was delisted from the Demons might go and play SANFL next year. The week before we saw Steven Pitt playing. Where are the young blokes? I'm amazed that Brent Reilly couldn't even get a game - he was taken pick 12 in last year's draft. The SANFL is holding back the development of players like him. If he was in Victoria he would've played every game this year in the VFL seniors.
Where should these blokes play then? Simon Arnott in SANFL Reserves? Hardly. If a number 12 draft pick can't get a game in the SANFL then maybe he was drafted too high. Competition for places - a concept draftees should get used to after being automatic picks in junior footy.
Uncle Steve
10 Oct 2002, 11:49
Originally posted by McAlmanac
Competition for places - a concept draftees should get used to after being automatic picks in junior footy.
Give the man a cigar - I could not agree more.
One of my pet peeves is hearing about the Smears or Clowns trying to influence the selection and/or positioning of AFL listed players in SANFL teams. FFS - the SANFL teams do not exist solely to service the whims of the AFL clubs.
Nor can I mask my contempt for soft players like Mark "whinger" Harwood who go crying to their AFL club when they get dumped to the reserves in the SANFL. Not any different to a tearful under-8 player running to daddy when he didn't make the team. Let them compete for places with the rest of their SANFL teammates.
In Norwoods case IMHO!!!
Our juniors are being stifled by so called experienced AFL players being selected!!!!
Like any good side it requires a balance between youth and experience!!!!!
Not a great amount of youth out at The Parade!!!!!
Brent Reilly case - If he plays well enough for Sturt he goes up to play for Adelaide - These situations are frustrating for team balance and stability!!!!
If I was GM at a club they wouldnt be participating in the Mini-Draft!
Hollypig
10 Oct 2002, 21:36
Originally posted by Uncle Steve
not exist solely to service the whims of the AFL clubs.
[/B]
Remember Tom Gilligan.
Remember the outcry from Cornes that North dropped him to the B`s. ( He simply could`nt play )
Congrats to the doggies, they just sack em when the PAPS demand their players to be selected & played in certain positions.
Mick Nunan used to play the dropped crows where ever they were most useful to the North Adelaide Football Club, infuriating Cornes.
But of course that all changed when the fool got to be coach, now we don`t have the manpower to be strong, thanks to losing so much experience in those three dark years.
However, what does`nt kill us will make us stronger.
Leaping Lindner
10 Oct 2002, 22:28
Originally posted by Hollypig
Remember Tom Gilligan.
Remember the outcry from Cornes that North dropped him to the B`s. ( He simply could`nt play )
Congrats to the doggies, they just sack em when the PAPS demand their players to be selected & played in certain positions.
Mick Nunan used to play the dropped crows where ever they were most useful to the North Adelaide Football Club, infuriating Cornes.
But of course that all changed when the fool got to be coach, now we don`t have the manpower to be strong, thanks to losing so much experience in those three dark years.
However, what does`nt kill us will make us stronger.
I'd forgotten Tom Gilligan Holly but thanks:rolleyes: for the reminder. Also seem to recall we had a pretty strong ruck division at the time (Sandford and Boomer ?).I also remember Modra being dropped to West to find form and Geoff Morris playing him on a half back flank!
We must be the strongest bastards in the world;)
Dogwatcher
10 Oct 2002, 23:49
Originally posted by Davo75
In Norwoods case IMHO!!!
Our juniors are being stifled by so called experienced AFL players being selected!!!!
I think you're right Davo, looking at Norwood's side in the prelim I really think they will struggle next year unless they go on a recruiting binge of young former AFL players instead of those past their prime, which is what they seemed to get last year.
The Legs really do need a youth injection because that's exactly what they ran out of in that game...Legs.
Centrals will still be ok next season, but they do need another ruckman and another key forward, even if Mc Ardle comes back from his knee ok.
Sturt will be damn good again...their defence will continue to win them games, I think it really depends on maintaining their midfield as to whether they will again scale the magnificent heights of this season. Will Mattner play more games? Will Sheedy and Wicks get drafted? Wicks is a smoky but he should put his hand up, he was a very hardworker with pace, AFL scouts love that.
Port are up a creek without a paddle, while Glenelg from my understanding aint moving from the foot in a hurry.
West will continue to self destruct.
I think North and the Eagles, although they made the finals, will be the real sources of hope for imprvoment in the SANFL next year.
I don't see much hope for South at this point, as all thei5r grades were inconsistent, while Westies will just self destruct again, despite the talented youngblood ocming through.
I will probably be proved wrong and I don't think my analysis is definitive...but that's the way I see it.
Port Adelaide have just had the season they had to have!!!!
They will make a marked improvement next year!!!!!