View Full Version : Barks

Hawkas
9 Oct 2002, 17:08
Has anyone heard the rumour that Barker is going to pull the pin? For what it is worth, I heard it down at Glenferrie last night.

goal_umpire
9 Oct 2002, 17:20
Originally posted by Hawkas
Has anyone heard the rumour that Barker is going to pull the pin? For what it is worth, I heard it down at Glenferrie last night.
Injuries and health problems

hawks-chick28
9 Oct 2002, 17:25
ohhhhhh what? thats terrible if its true! the guy is a legend!!!!
go hawks

jacqui9
9 Oct 2002, 17:39
I didnt realise you were John Barker's press secretary Suzi...

Rusty Brookes
9 Oct 2002, 17:52
This would be horrible if it's true. Geez, talk about being struck down in your prime.

I hope it's just a rumour as a fit John Barker is a great thing to watch.

jacqui9
9 Oct 2002, 17:54
well who else is going to kick from those 'impossible' Foty Park pockets??

hawkfan5
9 Oct 2002, 18:24
John Barker has become a lot of people's favourite player since coming over from Brisbane and shocking the footballing world with some great footy at the Hawks.

It would be a terrible shame to see JB go, he would be sorely missed and there would certainly be plenty of people looking for a new favourite player if he does go.

I just think that he has only had one dissapointing season, and can still be a great player for three or four years to come if he can just get over his injures.

Come on JB, you can fight back mate.

Adelaide Hawk
9 Oct 2002, 20:52
Just what we need, the loss of another goal kicking forward.
I hope he is able to continue, but in case he isn't .....
Barks, you were terrific for the Hawks, I shall never forget those two goals you booted against Port in that final at Football Park. The crowd went so silent, especially after the 2nd one, and it was a pleasure to hear.
All the best mate, let's hope for better news.

goal_umpire
9 Oct 2002, 20:59
Originally posted by jacqui9
I didnt realise you were John Barker's press secretary Suzi...
I am not his press secretary. It has been known for some time at hawthorn that his OP injury could shorten his career.

Hawkas
9 Oct 2002, 21:06
It is only a rumour....probably started by the people who have nothing better to do...remember the Johnny Hay rumour?

hawkfan5
9 Oct 2002, 21:23
Originally posted by Hawkas
It is only a rumour....probably started by the people who have nothing better to do...remember the Johnny Hay rumour?

Probably be better if you don't post this rumour anywhere else then?

hawkapatto
10 Oct 2002, 18:55
I have no doubt we will see a fit and raring to go Jonny B come round 1 next year.

No worries here people.

Grimace
12 Oct 2002, 23:34
I bloody hope he doesn't go! I'd be absolutely shattered if he did...

:( :( :(

mattyc2422
12 Oct 2002, 23:43
*crosses fingers*
Please no...