View Full Version : O'Keefe in PSD [Re-signs with Sydney]
Grey Smith Bar
10 Oct 2008, 13:19
Just wondering if you think O'Keefe will nominate for the PSD, and as we are one of the lower Melbourne based clubs, do we have a chance of picking him up?
Ludwig van Bertstare
10 Oct 2008, 13:20
Could be a chance. I wouldn't be surprised if he re-signed with Sydney though.
thebigboy
10 Oct 2008, 13:21
I reckon we would be a shot.
We have the room in the cap and a fairly early pick in the PSD (assuming we leave a pick for a selection).
Would be suprised if he makes to our pick though.
warney7
10 Oct 2008, 13:22
I expect he'll sign with Sydney.
I guess the $600k price tag could scare off Melbourne though and WC, Freo and Port would probably be smart enough to leave it alone.
If ne nominated for PSD it would be a big decision for Essendon.
But no use speculating yet. I think he'll remain a swan!
Flying_dutchman
10 Oct 2008, 13:25
I reckon we would be a shot.
We have the room in the cap and a fairly early pick in the PSD (assuming we leave a pick for a selection).
Would be suprised if he makes to our pick though.
Melbourne wont be able to afford him.
Depends if the 3 interstate clubs want to take him against his will.
He rolled the dice and is now in an awkward position. I think the Bombers are in a much better postion then Carlton.
Flying_dutchman
10 Oct 2008, 13:27
I expect he'll sign with Sydney.
I guess the $600k price tag could scare off Melbourne though and WC, Freo and Port would probably be smart enough to leave it alone.
If ne nominated for PSD it would be a big decision for Essendon.
But no use speculating yet. I think he'll remain a swan!
If you were at Sydney would you want him back??
warney7
10 Oct 2008, 13:29
Why not?
He just said he wanted to come home.
But who knows what will happen now.
As I've said all along, I just don't want him to go to Carlton
If he nominates and is there at pick 5, I want him.
If he's already gone, then so be it!
thebigboy
10 Oct 2008, 13:31
Melbourne wont be able to afford him.
Depends if the 3 interstate clubs want to take him against his will.
He rolled the dice and is now in an awkward position. I think the Bombers are in a much better postion then Carlton.
Absolutly we are.
If he's available at our pick, we have the room to make him a bomber.
I would think West Coast wouldn't as there after youth, same as freo and Port would probably go after Josh Carr.
Flying_dutchman
10 Oct 2008, 13:33
Why not?
Were on the same page with Carlton. I would love to see the look on their faces if he nominates, puts $500-$600K on his head and we go YOINK!! at pick 5.
I really think he has burnt bridges at Sydney.
bluesforever
10 Oct 2008, 13:36
Were on the same page with Carlton. I would love to see the look on their faces if he nominates, puts $500-$600K on his head and we go YOINK!! at pick 5.
I really think he has burnt bridges at Sydney.
He said he wants to come to Carlton you bastards :D Let him go where he wants to! :p
O'Keefe is a must in PSD !!!
i would offer him every remaining dollar in our salary cap to get him.
don't let him slip through to Carlton (out of all clubs :mad:)
make it happen Essendon :cool:
Flying_dutchman
10 Oct 2008, 13:42
He said he wants to come to Carlton you bastards :D Let him go where he wants to! :p
If we let him go to you guys I would be furious. Sheedy wouldn't let it happen but I'm not %100 sure about Knights.
How do you know he would rather go the The Blue's then the Bombers anyway? We could be higher on his priority list.
Would Port throw half a mill on the table? I don't know. Freo and WC certainly wont with the state of their lists.
I'd looove to know what he's thinking right now.
He is from Strathmore. When he said he wants to come home why not literally come home to where you grew up?
This is certainly something to watch with interest.
He's probably about 2 years too old for Melbourne to consider him and one would think West Coast, Fremantle and Port Adelaide won't consider him given his wish to return to Melbourne.
He probably just slides into our age demographic, he'd bring vital experience and he'd fit into our salary cap.
Obviously we'll have to see if he wants to come to us, but it's a serious possibility.
BacharHouli_43
10 Oct 2008, 14:22
melbourne would probably pick him up even accounting for their youth policy. Interstate clubs wouldnt pick him up, but we may be a chance. Personally, i would be happy either way if we picked him up or not. If we did, we would be a chance for top 4 but may hinder opportunities for the future.
warney7
10 Oct 2008, 15:20
Going by the Premiership clock, Melbourne are at 12:01 and couldn't be further from a Premiership tilt.
If they take O'Keefe (on a huge contract), who would hate the move, they are probably the stupidest club in the AFL
The Dustbin
10 Oct 2008, 16:06
If O'Keefe decides to nominate for the PSD, I think we are a huge show. We've got the cash and the pick before Carlton.
Just a matter of O'Keefe being part of the EFC demographic. :p
If O'Keefe is there, grab him, would be a great asset to have around our young kids!
timbo3195
10 Oct 2008, 16:15
I'd prefer Cousins if he's there personally, wouldn't mind O'Keefe though ;)
Are there any other out of contract players who may nominate worth considering, or any other players whatsoever?
Charliebrow16
10 Oct 2008, 16:22
As people have said, If O'Keefe nominates for the PSD then we're arguably in the best spot to land him.
I don't see any of the four clubs above us going after him. He'd look alright in the red and black I reckon.
The Donners
10 Oct 2008, 16:24
Are there any other out of contract players who may nominate worth considering, or any other players whatsoever?
I know you did say "worth" but the only others I can think of are J White, K Tenace, S Byrnes... touch and go whether any or all are considered by any of the clubs.
I was surprised with M Gardiner re-signing with the Saints today, thought they'd de-list him for sure! :confused:
Juddrockz
10 Oct 2008, 16:24
This is certainly something to watch with interest.
He's probably about 2 years too old for Melbourne to consider him and one would think West Coast, Fremantle and Port Adelaide won't consider him given his wish to return to Melbourne.
He probably just slides into our age demographic, he'd bring vital experience and he'd fit into our salary cap.
Obviously we'll have to see if he wants to come to us, but it's a serious possibility.
ROK wont have a choice if he ends in the PSD,good chance of you guys getting him i reckon if Knights doesnt stick to the youth program.
ROK wont have a choice if he ends in the PSD,
No, he won't, but if he's not interested in playing for us, I think we'd have to reassess whether or not to go after him.
Furthermore, not wanting to play for us could lead to him re-signing with Sydney.
mojon95
10 Oct 2008, 18:04
Melbourne -
West Coast -
Fremantle -
Port Adelaide -
Essendon -
who will really take him b4 us?
Melbourne - Maybe but they are rebuilding
West Coast - Might do the good thing and let him move to melbourne
Fremantle - Might do the good thing and let him move to melbourne
Port Adelaide - Might do the good thing and let him move to melbourne
Essendon - are rebuilding, but knights wants him
are we a real chance???
will the Eagles, Docker and Port let him have his dream???
do melbourne want him???
will he nominate???
warney7
10 Oct 2008, 18:09
Mate........
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=507459
The Dustbin
10 Oct 2008, 18:14
I've found it funny thus far how the media are saying that if ROK nominates for the PSD he'll go to Carlton. Um hello, we have a pick 5 (If we choose to use it), Carl pick 6. :rolleyes:
Can't see money being a problem. If he fits our demographic, we should select him. :D
Still alot of water to cross under the bridge though.
If he's happy to come to Windy Hill and he fits into our salary cap lets get him.
If we manage to get O'keefe and along with prismall I think we have done very well. Is it just me or do Essendon always seem to do well during trade week?
mojon95
10 Oct 2008, 19:09
He is from Strathmore. When he said he wants to come home why not literally come home to where you grew up?
i know his family their from Essendon, they live there now :thumbsu::D
wazzabp
10 Oct 2008, 19:32
Well worth getting if we can. Hes a super player, has about 4 or 5 years left in him, will show the young kids how hard they need to work to be a decent AFL footballer, and why not make the kids earn their stripes?
**** it, lets just do it to piss Carlton off!:p
Smyth94
10 Oct 2008, 20:03
I've got some trepidation with signing ROK, especially if he really doesn't want to play for the club.
Gun player but at 28 how many really good seasons does he have left? I wouldn't go past three so by the time our list is ready for a tilt he'd be basically finished.
Besides he really doesn't fit a specific need
I would be totally against getting him just because we wouldn't want Carlton to have him.
bombersno1
10 Oct 2008, 20:10
At $600,000 maybe not, that is my concern though
The Dustbin
10 Oct 2008, 20:39
At $600,000 maybe not, that is my concern though
Me too. I'd be happy to pass. Having said that I won't be disappointed if we do pick him up.
I'd take him.
We're on the rise and don't need anymore top 5 picks, the sooner these youngsters taste finals experience and the more often they experience it the better.
flyin'high
10 Oct 2008, 20:48
the only reason id take him is so that carlton wouldnt get him:D
but im pretty sure he'll resign
Don Gibson
10 Oct 2008, 20:50
I'd take him.
We're on the rise and don't need anymore top 5 picks, the sooner these youngsters taste finals experience and the more often they experience it the better.
i half agree. the more top 5 picks the better, BUT the more finals experience the better for the young blokes. ROK can drag us up a few spots on the ladder.
Windas_Magic
10 Oct 2008, 20:50
The most likely outcome will be that he'll re-sign with the Swans.
But, if he went into the PSD and was available at our pick, then i'd definitely take him. He may cost a bit but he is proven, AA, and what some would consider an elite player. And we would be getting him for nothing!
i half agree. the more top 5 picks the better, BUT the more finals experience the better for the young blokes. ROK can drag us up a few spots on the ladder.
We need our winning culture back, sick of losing and IMO we've killed the last few drafts giving us an exccellent platform to move forward with.
bloods05
10 Oct 2008, 21:12
Why not?
If he does leave,i would hope he get's a lot less than we offered him and espically hope those Carlton Cap cheat's don't find a way to pay him under the table as they are still doing now with Judd being Visy's poster boy for big buck's away from his footy salary.
un_eggs
10 Oct 2008, 21:28
Hasn't our club been bemoaning the fact that we have a dearth of experience in the 25-28 year old bracket? Surely O'Keefe fits that bill nicely. If they have the money they'd be derelict in their duty to pass him up. Would free up McPhee as the utility that he naturally is. Having said all that I don't think he'll be there for us unfortunately.
I'm the same as you.. I'd much prefer Cousins over O'Keefe, but I wouldn't complain with O'Keefe either though.
kelvin_sheedy
10 Oct 2008, 22:14
Any chance we can add more quality to the side then we should jump at it.
It's basically a free hit at a quality player and we should throw good money at him.
Get on the front foot and tell his manager that if he's available at our pick then we'll take him.
Offer him a 4 year deal and front load his contract so his last 2 years are pretty cheap.
joffa_2
10 Oct 2008, 22:26
take him on a 2 year deal for what ever we have left then at the end of next year trade him for a first rounder
macdiddle
10 Oct 2008, 22:34
Was that right after he said he wanted to go to Hawthorn
take him on a 2 year deal for what ever we have left then at the end of next year trade him for a first rounder
I like this idea a lot!
SirJimi05
11 Oct 2008, 08:44
It's definitely gonna be a race in 3 to secure ROKS serv ices next season.
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,24478585-23211,00.html
Don't count us out of O'Keefe race
By Jon Ralph
October 11, 2008 Blues reject complex O'Keefe deal, as Bombers say ...
CARLTON'S decision to reject a complicated three-club trade deal that would have landed it Ryan O'Keefe and Robbie Warnock could thrust it into a war with Essendon over the Sydney star.
A week of frantic negotiations over 27-year-old O'Keefe came to nothing when Carlton's four-year $2 million offer blew Hawthorn's initial offer out of the water.
Despite O'Keefe's determination to move to Melbourne no deal was done, which means he must decide whether to stay in Sydney or move into the December 16 pre-season draft.
Carlton has pick six in that draft and hopes its massive offer will scare off other challengers.
While Melbourne (pick one) and lowly interstate clubs Fremantle, West Coast and Port Adelaide have no interest, Essendon (pick five) could spoil Carlton's party.
Not only do they have the salary cap space to accommodate his requests, but they were increasingly interested in a player Matthew Knights raised as a trade possibility early this week.
The Bombers said they would sit down with O'Keefe next week before deciding to bid for his services.
Carlton came close to agreeing to a complex three-way deal with Fremantle and Sydney that would have seen O'Keefe and Warnock at Princes Park, but the Blues giving up picks six and 24.
They would have got back Sydney's pick 12 and the Swans and Fremantle would have shared Carlton's draft picks, with the Swans' pick 30 also involved.
But while it would have given Carlton both of the high-profile players of trade week, the club's recruiters convinced it that while pick six would likely bring it a star, there was no guarantee over pick 12.
The deal then foundered, which saw the 2pm deadline pass without agreement and put O'Keefe's future in limbo.
O'Keefe was left considering his future. He met coach Paul Roos after the 2pm trade deadline.
His manager Tom Petroro said he was undecided about whether to enter the draft.
"He is just going to have a think about it over the next week and assess his options," Petroro said.
"He is going to consider everything, but it is too early to tell what he will do. We are going to keep talking to Sydney."
In the only frenetic negotiations of the week, Hawthorn offered its first- and third-round picks (16 and 50) for O'Keefe and Sydney's second selection (30).
That deal was jettisoned when Carlton made its hefty offer, which is just higher than Sydney's offer.
In effect, Carlton was offering him much more money but Hawthorn was offering Sydney much better picks, so the deal reached an impasse.
Then the three-way deal with Fremantle bobbed up, before eventually being scuppered.
Carlton coach Brett Ratten said he hoped the club could still land O'Keefe.
"We will sit down and Steven (Icke, Blues football manager) will have a look at our numbers. We have had some interest in Ryan through the trade period, so if we could, it would be fantastic," Ratten said.
Sydney recruiting manager Stuart Maxfield said he was still hopeful of a reconciliation.
"It's really up to Ryan now. I suppose Ryan now needs to get back to us and say, 'I want to remain at the Sydney Swans'," and then we can start talking about contracts
I dont like the price tag but i suspect we are going to have a serious look.
I will be a good thing player wise and lit wise. My only concern is tying up $500,000 over 4 years.
Crumpler83
11 Oct 2008, 10:27
^^^^
Yeah I agree.
Would it be a wise move to tie up so much money on a 28 year old whose best footy may well be behind him? Hmm I don't know but I can say for sure that it would be a fantastic off season for us picking up Prismall for a relatively small price, O' Keefe without having to give up any players or draft picks and keeping Lovett on the list!!
kelvin_sheedy
11 Oct 2008, 11:05
I dont like the price tag but i suspect we are going to have a serious look.
I will be a good thing player wise and lit wise. My only concern is tying up $500,000 over 4 years.
Fletch, Lucas, Lloyd will be gone in 2 years.
Hille and McVeigh will be on the vets list.
if we can't fit him in then our accountants and list managaer need to be shot.
Geelong has 10 superstars and they are all still togehter. Carlton just threw ridiculous money at Warnock, they have Judd and Fev and they can fit him in.
Hawkzzz
11 Oct 2008, 11:27
Why not?
:thumbsu: Get him and every other team (except Carlton) will buy an Essendon membership. SImply for not letting him get to the mercenary club.:cool:
I think we'd take him if available, don't get your hopes up Carlton fans
or do, would be more fun that way
MarkJohnson#1
11 Oct 2008, 11:30
Sign him up! Would be a fantastic inclusion and as Kelvin said Fletch, Lucas and Lloyd will be gone soon and he'll provide much needed leadership, experience and talent to the side. $500k for 4 years would surely not be a problem for us.
CARLTON'S decision to reject a trade deal to get Ryan O'Keefe could thrust it into a war with Essendon over the Sydney star.
A week of frantic negotiations over 27-year-old O'Keefe came to nothing yesterday when Carlton's four-year $2 million offer blew Hawthorn's initial offer out of the water.
Despite O'Keefe's determination to move to Melbourne no deal was done, which means he must decide whether to stay in Sydney or move into the December 16 pre-season draft.
Carlton has pick six in that draft and hopes its massive offer will scare off other challengers.
While Melbourne (pick one) and lowly interstate clubs Fremantle, West Coast and Port Adelaide have no interest, Essendon (pick five) could spoil Carlton's party.
httphttp://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24478023-19742,00.html://
CARLTON and Essendon are in the hunt to lure Sydney Swan Ryan O’Keefe as the out-of-contract forward assesses his options after failing to find a new home during AFL trade week.
Just six players switched clubs but O’Keefe, the highest-profile player linked to deals throughout the week, failed in his bid to return to his native Melbourne.
O’Keefe had initially wanted to be traded to Hawthorn but neither club – the Swans or the Hawks – could come to an agreement that satisfied both parties.
The Swans hope to convince O'Keefe to stay, however, they now face the possibility of losing him for nothing, with the 27-year-old able to nominate for December's NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft.
The Age reports that Carlton and Essendon are the big contenders for O'Keefe's services should he put himself in the pre-season draft, with both clubs having the salary cap room to accommodate the talented goalkicker.
Carlton coach Brett Ratten said the Blues were yet to re-sign all of their required players but, if needed, they could make room for O’Keefe.
"I think we are not too far off it and we know that in a couple of years Brendan (Fevola) goes onto the veterans list so that is the scope for us to get movement," Ratten told Saturday's The Age.
"Maybe with other clubs they don't have that luxury to get a veteran that is one of your highest paid players."
Essendon's chief operating officer Travis Auld confirmed the club could be interested in O'Keefe and would decide next week whether to pursue him.
"We've got enough room (in the salary cap) to think about it as an option," he said.
The Swans, meanwhile, must simply work to entice their gun to remain in Sydney, having already made him a three-year offer.
"It's really up to Ryan to make that decision whether he wants to remain at the Swans," player personnel manager Stuart Maxfield said.
http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=68922
loopy_cam
11 Oct 2008, 15:09
It has been reported here in SA that Port will take O'Keefe if he is available at their pick. Even if he desires to move back to Melbourne.
Poor form Port. :thumbsd:
Lance Uppercut
11 Oct 2008, 15:28
It has been reported here in SA that Port will take O'Keefe if he is available at their pick. Even if he desires to move back to Melbourne.
meh, it's just a negotiating position. They would say that. It's an ambit claim.
We'd be absolutely mad not to get him if we can. He fits right into that age-group black-hole that we have. I find it funny that people say his best years are behind him, or he doesn't have 5 years left in him. So what? He's in the prime of his footballing career, the next couple of years he may well play his best football.
The whole youth policy is the right way to go, but that doesn't mean it's a hard and fast rule. If you can off-set the youth with some experience, you do it.
We have the salary cap space. As someone said earlier, front-end his contract so we don't have issues with the Gold Coast entry.
Adding he and Prismall, along with Picks 5 and 23, would be an excellent result for the Bombers
Colin D'Cops
11 Oct 2008, 15:38
If we can acquire O'Keefe's services in the PSD it would be brilliant. We give Sydney nothing but the down side to getting him is he'll want plenty of money, and rightly so as he is a talented footballer. We have stated we've got the money in the cap to chase after him and hopefully we can nab a high profiled player this year unlike most other years.
What a tremendous looking forward attack we'd have ;
O'Keefe - Lucas - Lovett
Davey - Lloyd - McPhee
:eek:
loopy_cam
11 Oct 2008, 15:44
Add monfries, Jetta, Gumby and Neagle into that and it'd be close to, if not the best forward line in the league.
Port have every right to go for him and I'd do the same the same if we were in their position.
I'm not gonna lose any sleep over it, if he doesn't get to us, we'll move on, if he does, bonus.
I hope he re-signs because the damn draft is 2 months away.
bombersno1
11 Oct 2008, 17:46
If we get him I hope we play him almost as a midfielder like Sydney did in the last 2 months
retroparty
11 Oct 2008, 20:11
It would be great if Essendon could pick him up, it would take pressure off Lloyd and Lucas to hang around at the club and it would also take pressure off Neagle and Gumbleton to develop quickly. these boys need time to develop, especially as they haven't had much time on the park in the past 2 years. Lloyd and Lucas are nearing the end and if O'Keefe were playing for us, then they wouldn't have to stay around waiting for Gumbleton and Neagle to develop.
Getting him could be a worry though and fitting him in the cap on a 4 year contract would be hard. But it can be done. If he does decide to nominate for the PSD, I hope the Dees, Freo WCE and Port don't decide to pick him up so the Dons can have him!
Grey Smith Bar
11 Oct 2008, 22:07
We could back-end the contract, as there will be a hell of a lot more room in our salary cap in a couple of years.
Ludwig van Bertstare
11 Oct 2008, 23:41
I'd prefer it's front-ended so we don't have to risk losing players to GC17.
abers47
11 Oct 2008, 23:44
If he's happy to come to Windy Hill and he fits into our salary cap lets get him.
If we manage to get O'keefe and along with prismall I think we have done very well. Is it just me or do Essendon always seem to do well during trade week?
It's just you - we rarely do anything during trade week!:)
I'd prefer it's front-ended so we don't have to risk losing players to GC17.
I'd back our players loyalty
Just a point to those punters who get hung up on ROK's price tag, albeit 500,000 +, you only get what you pay for in that age bracket.
Furthermore, given the tpp, the money is spread between 93-X%, and has to be spent. With LLoyd and lucas and Fletch aging faster so to speak, and few other able to command a great percentile of that payment wack, it makes sense to remunerate a player who will make a return for the club on the field.
Look at the stupidity of Richmond and melbounre etc in the past having to grossly overpay underperforming players because of their TPP requirements.
Leave the financials out of the equation and focus upon his net worth to the team not the club's bean counters
AndyLesPaul
12 Oct 2008, 09:29
I'd back our players loyalty
But cant GC17 just take players from teams if their uncontracted?
Only 1 player per team and only if that player wants to leave.
Players don't have to go, they can't be forced to sign a contract with them
Pretty sure they changed it to as many players from any team, but 16 all up
Sigmund
12 Oct 2008, 10:00
Just a point to those punters who get hung up on ROK's price tag, albeit 500,000 +, you only get what you pay for in that age bracket.
Furthermore, given the tpp, the money is spread between 93-X%, and has to be spent. With LLoyd and lucas and Fletch aging faster so to speak, and few other able to command a great percentile of that payment wack, it makes sense to remunerate a player who will make a return for the club on the field.
Look at the stupidity of Richmond and melbounre etc in the past having to grossly overpay underperforming players because of their TPP requirements.
Leave the financials out of the equation and focus upon his net worth to the team not the club's bean counters
Top post Dapto:thumbsu:
Thanks mate:thumbsu:
I am for ROK from every angle at EFC but I doubt it will come around. Typically these issues revert back to some kind of new concordance with the home club that previously was masked by other ambit claims in the wind.
The devil you know....
knights said last week he was considering trading for o'keefe - for no cost (pick or player) it seems a no brainer he'd pick him up in the PSD if available.
AndyLesPaul
12 Oct 2008, 13:14
Oh kk, good to know.
I doubt they'll take any of our players so thats good. lol
but only time will tell
We could back-end the contract, as there will be a hell of a lot more room in our salary cap in a couple of years.
fair chance it would have to be front and back ended - to kill off other clubs they will need to front load it a bit, drop it down a fair bit in 2010 then back load it when lloyd, lucas, fletcher retire. should actually work out well.
Darealrath
12 Oct 2008, 21:29
To sign him we'd need to pay him well over the odds for 4 years. Plus I think he's a good footballer but a bit overrated. Happy to pass on this one.
Since you guys already have Lloyd & Lucas, would you want him taking the spot of another forward?
If you get him, these 3 guys will be the only targets up forward for the next few years. It would then be really hard for any of your younger players to gain much experience up there.
All 3 will retire around the same time, leaving you with a massive gap up forward, and potentially no one ready to fill any of the spots, let alone 3.
I'm not saying that you pass on an AA who is free; your forward-line would be awesome, and potentially could open up your window earlier than expected.
But yeah, just curious if you'd be worried that although he'll improve your forward-line, and team, he'd hamper the developement of your next forward, leaving no real chance for anyone to gain experience behind these 3.
It's a bit like all the talk of Carlton getting Kerr; sure he would improve our midfield, but since it is already our strength, most wouldn't have wanted him taking Gibb's spot, and affecting his development for example.
The Dustbin
13 Oct 2008, 06:52
Since you guys already have Lloyd & Lucas, would you want him taking the spot of another forward?
Why does he have to play forward? Can play further up the ground on a wing...
If you get him, these 3 guys will be the only targets up forward for the next few years. It would then be really hard for any of your younger players to gain much experience up there.
Again, O'Keefe doesn't have to play as a permanant forward. Our younger players have to be fit and off the injury list before we start worrying about match experience for the future. Neagle, Lloyd, Gumby, Lucas, McPhee, Monfries and maybe ROK can all rotate/play different roles up forward....
All 3 will retire around the same time, leaving you with a massive gap up forward, and potentially no one ready to fill any of the spots, let alone 3.
ROK is 3 years younger then Lloyd and Lucas and he won't be retiring at the same time as them.
Gumby and Neagle are still relatively unproven but are being groomed to take over from Lloyd and Lucas. Plus we'll have a few more drafts and trading, before they retire.
I'm not saying that you pass on an AA who is free; your forward-line would be awesome, and potentially could open up your window earlier than expected.
Contradiction. :confused:
But yeah, just curious if you'd be worried that although he'll improve your forward-line, and team, he'd hamper the developement of your next forward, leaving no real chance for anyone to gain experience behind these 3.
Your searching for negatives and reasons as to why we shouldn't pick him, if he decides to nominate for the PSD. If I said we won't pick ROK in the PSD, would that put your mind to rest?
It's a bit like all the talk of Carlton getting Kerr; sure he would improve our midfield, but since it is already our strength, most wouldn't have wanted him taking Gibb's spot, and affecting his development for example.
Kerr was linked with every Melb club and Sydney.
Gibbs development this year can be attributed to the defensive roles he has played. eg Goodes.
Longy413
13 Oct 2008, 08:03
Yep, it means he's not taking up a spot in the Carlton forward line.
Giggidy Giggidy
13 Oct 2008, 09:18
Any chance we can add more quality to the side then we should jump at it.
It's basically a free hit at a quality player and we should throw good money at him.
Get on the front foot and tell his manager that if he's available at our pick then we'll take him.
Offer him a 4 year deal and front load his contract so his last 2 years are pretty cheap.
Agree 100%:thumbsu:
Would have thought that with our supposed abundant cap space at the moment (and the fact that many key players are already signed up until the end of 2010) we could afford to blow other clubs out of the water with an offer of say $2.2M for 4 years - front loaded at approx. $750K in 2009-10; then $350K in 2011-12 when we will need more space to re-sign Hille; Myers; Gumby; etc....
There is no reason NOT to take ROK if he is available to us in the PSD, since he is undoubtedly capable on-field, and we could afford to pay over the odds.
If we offered him the above, IIRC from previous PSDs, he could accept in principle; put that price on his head and attain permission to train with us prior to the PSD. Would then be very suprised if one of the 4 before us in the PSD took him?
Your searching for negatives and reasons as to why we shouldn't pick him, if he decides to nominate for the PSD. If I said we won't pick ROK in the PSD, would that put your mind to rest?
Before you take any player, I think searching for negatives is exactly what you should do.
Did you think I was trying to get assurance from an internet poster that Carlton are in with a chance of getting him if he nominates :confused: No one on here makes decision, and I very much doubt we'd get him.
Was just posing a question mate, and wondering if you'd think it could be bad in a way. (Also, didn't know Rok was 3 years younger than the others...based on that, my question obviously doesn't have as much merit, and if anything highlights that you guys should probably pick him up)
The Dustbin
13 Oct 2008, 14:10
Was just posing a question mate,
And I answered it. :rolleyes:
HyperAgressiveDonk
14 Oct 2008, 11:56
Melbourne won't take him because he has a 500k per year price tag on his head. In my opinion, you guys probably shouldn't pick him up as I personally think you would be better served giving a kid a regular starting spot in your side :) Essendon have got a solid developing young list, you should play as much youth as possible to unearth more talent for a flag push in 3 to 5 years :D Good luck, I like the way your club is heading and I am a big fan of Knights :thumbsu:
Longy413
14 Oct 2008, 12:53
you should play as much youth as possible to unearth more talent for a flag push in 3 to 5 years
O'Keefe will still be playing then...
HyperAgressiveDonk
14 Oct 2008, 13:11
O'Keefe will still be playing then...
Yeah but not at his best
kelvin_sheedy
14 Oct 2008, 14:35
Yeah but not at his best
Crawf wasn't at his best this year but he still played.
Why didn't you guys cart him off when you were rebuilding :confused:
HyperAgressiveDonk
14 Oct 2008, 14:45
Crawf wasn't at his best this year but he still played.
Why didn't you guys cart him off when you were rebuilding :confused:
Becasue he had been part of the club for so long and his experience is invaluable to a team that only had 3 players on the playing list over 25. Essendon will be a different story in 3 to 5 years time than Hawthorn are now I would think. It's just my opinion that the Dons should play a kid instead of draft O'Keefe and focus on long term success :)
Smyth94
14 Oct 2008, 14:48
Becasue he had been part of the club for so long and his experience is invaluable to a team that only had 3 players on the playing list over 25. Essendon will be a different story in 3 to 5 years time than Hawthorn are now I would think. It's just my opinion that the Dons should play a kid instead of draft O'Keefe and focus on long term success :)
Essendon only have 9 or so (not 100% sure) players > 23 years of age :thumbsu:
O'Keefe's experience would be invaluable
HyperAgressiveDonk
14 Oct 2008, 14:54
Essendon only have 9 or so (not 100% sure) players > 23 years of age :thumbsu:
O'Keefe's experience would be invaluable
His experience would be handy but the kids have already got Fletch, Lloyd and Lucas to feed off (all premiership players). Just my opinion that Essendon should play kids, kids and more kids! You guys might even push for a 7th or 8th next year :thumbsu: I would honestly prefer the Bombers list to Carltons right now because I like what I see with a few of the young guys coming through, I think that's the way forward :) By the way I think Neagle will be a very good player in the coming years:D
They won't be around in 3-5 years, then we will have no one for experience.
O'Keefe is a gun, he won't die on his 30th Birthday which a lot of people on BF seem to think players do these days.
We have players such as McPhee, McVeigh, Hille, Watson, Stanton, Davey who can lead the way in 3 years time.
And what exactly would be wrong with adding another player to that group?
The Dustbin
15 Oct 2008, 08:37
CARLTON has withdrawn from the race for Ryan O'Keefe, conceding it would be too difficult to secure the Sydney star in the pre-season draft. The Blues have pick six in the pre-season draft, and with Essendon (selection five) shaping as a hot contender, cannot find a way to get O'Keefe to Princes Park.
They believe he will re-sign with Sydney, although Essendon is expected to meet O'Keefe soon.
The Blues denied they had offered O'Keefe a $500,000 a year deal, and said they never considered offering selection six in the national draft.
O'Keefe's manager, Tom Petroro, said yesterday that Essendon would seem his only other realistic destination other than Sydney.
The club decided at the weekend it had the capacity and inclination to bid for the 27-year-old.
Carlton chief executive Greg Swann said the Blues would concentrate on taking young talent in the November 29 national draft.
"We think he will stay in Sydney and we haven't spoken to his manager," he said.
"I would be staggered if he doesn't stay in Sydney."
While O'Keefe could still feasibly get to Carlton, two months in limbo and the interest of the bottom five clubs has muddied the waters enough to discourage the Blues.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24498585-19742,00.html
Carlton have finally conceded in the race for ROK. It's down to a two horse race.
We're giving Sydney a 3 length head start with 200m to go. Stay tuned...
warney7
15 Oct 2008, 10:38
Come on Ryan, come home.
Sever all ties with Sydney and win a Premiership with Essendon before your career is over.
Surely that's where we can convince him to leave!
He'll be in the starting 22 every week, and being reasonable, we're likely to challenge for a flag before Sydney do again.
He wants another flag so staying probably isn't his best option.
there is nothing wrong with saying you want to come back to melbourne. but i dont understand how you could backflip on that only a month later. if he decides to stay in sydney he will lose a lot of respect in the afl community one thinks. you either want to return to melbourne or you dont.
warney7
15 Oct 2008, 10:45
there is nothing wrong with saying you want to come back to melbourne. but i dont understand how you could backflip on that only a month later. if he decides to stay in sydney he will lose a lot of respect in the afl community one thinks. you either want to return to melbourne or you dont.
Very true.
I think he's probably already caused a minor rift with players, coaches and supporters, possibly it can be repaired, but who knows.
As you say, you either want to come back or you don't.
I can't think of (m)any players that have expressed a desire to return home with nothing in their way and then changing their mind.
Well if someone like Port say we will take you regardless, he'd probably rather stay in Sydney
ryan o'keefe will be on SEN tomorrow morning it has been reported.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24498585-19742,00.html
Carlton have finally conceded in the race for ROK. It's down to a two horse race.
They have room for another spaz like Ackland. That's why.
Bombers_Forever
15 Oct 2008, 19:05
I hope the club really makes a play for him and sells the club to him big time (e.g. Warnock getting the full VIP treatment to convince him to join the Dees). We have the cash, Melbourne is home for him - we just need to complete the puzzle by really convincing him of where we are going and that we really want him. Prismall wanted to go to Windy Hill because the club really wanted him - they need to do the same of O'Keefe
Goodwinblues
15 Oct 2008, 20:03
I would honestly prefer the Bombers list to Carltons right now because I like what I see with a few of the young guys coming through, I think that's the way forward :) I might be biased but you're kidding aren't you (even if the buggers did knock us over twice).