View Full Version : Unofficial Nickname
AndyLesPaul
4 Sep 2008, 22:25
According to Craig Hutchison of the Footy Show the Gold Coast footy club has put all nicknames aside and decided to have no nickname whatsoever.
Thoughts?
bigdroppunt
4 Sep 2008, 22:26
They dont want one.....What can you come up with ?
Goldies ?
And LMAO at there gay looking mascot...
Is this a joke? Anyone see the mascot on TFS...its an ABSOLUTE joke...Freo have finally gotten off the bottom of the ladder (in jokes)
No nickname and what are the colours again? Red, Yellow, Blue, White or something crazy...holy shit...ban them already!
gavdog08
Are they trying to be like the A-League's Sydney FC? The "glamour club" of the competition?
Digby_from_Dingley
Done to leave the door open for a Melbourne team to move there and keep their nickname.
Will be Gold Coast Demons or Kangaroos.
Reading between the lines, i think the Gold Coast would have put forward a nickname, but Demetriou disapproved, and this is the result.
Mr.Chicken
4 Sep 2008, 22:27
Lazy
LionsRoar
good! I like the idea of Gold Coast FC.
gavdog08
Gold Coast Demons:)
Epic fail. The mascot looks terrible as well.
rainman06
the homo's
Move over Fremantle, the AFL has a new gayest club.
AndyLesPaul
Reading between the lines, i think the Gold Coast would have put forward a nickname, but Demetriou disapproved, and this is the result.
Lol
i wonder what the mascot will be xD
Epic fail. The mascot looks terrible as well.
What does it look like?
RoyalBlue
4 Sep 2008, 22:28
Ha ha ha ha.
What does it look like?
Like a gay lifesaver
Shinboner '07
4 Sep 2008, 22:29
what a dumb decision not to have a nickname:thumbsd:
AndyLesPaul
4 Sep 2008, 22:29
What does it look like?
Its going to be a bunch of stuff from the beach i'm pretty sure
so probably garbage
What does it look like?
Imagine the dockers mascot, in a lifeguard style uniform with blue as well.
Pathetic.
RoyalBlue
4 Sep 2008, 22:30
Like a gay lifesaver
Gold Coast Floaters?
gavdog08
Lol
i wonder what the mascot will be xD
The mascot is a lifesaver, lol.
giantroo
like a gay lifesaver
warrrrricccckkkkk capppperrrrrr!!!
what a fizzer , i was atleast expect something decent from all this umming and ahhing over the past 6 months and the "Gold coast football club" is the best they could do , and the colours arent anything spectacular , there jumper better be boldy good looking or else this will go down as a no intrest thing on the coast.
seriously tasmania have seem to put more thought into the submission for a license.
RoyalBlue
4 Sep 2008, 22:31
Will make the merger with Brisbane in a decade easier.
/trolls.
No really I think not coming out with a strong identity, including a mascot, is a mistake.
/supports expansion, genuinely, no hard feelings and looking forward to the rivalry.
Frankster177
Pretty bad.
Sounds like they came up with the name to piss of real football people (soccer).
The mascot looks Gaylord lol.
HK_Bulldog
Meter Maids?
AndyLesPaul
What a load of shit, I hate this team already. It's gonna make me so angry having the bastards in the competition
Whats even worse is they get 9 of the first 15 draft picks.
When you think about it, didn't most of the original AFL (then VFL etc.) clubs not have mascots from day 1, they got attached for various reasons. That seemed to be the angle they were going with, not necessarily a bad thing.
Only thing I'm curious of (but too lazy/distracted to look up atm), is that there is a Gold Coast team in the A-League from next year, and they all go by 'football club' these days, so that could get confusing from a business/marketing point of view. :confused:
Shinboner '07
4 Sep 2008, 22:32
i thought the mascot was a joke, literally
this club is a joke
AndyLesPaul
4 Sep 2008, 22:32
The mascot is a lifesaver, lol.
oh god. http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5524820,00.jpg
:D
What does it look like?
Jonny Bravo with a cape and lifeguard clothing :D
So this bastardised team gets so much leg up from the AFL yet can't up with a name nor a decent logo? Talk about lacking creativity.
Not to mention they have half the rainbow as their official colours :o
Epic fail
Howard Littlejohn
4 Sep 2008, 22:33
The mascot's a shocker, but I don't mind the no nickname thing.
No nick is certainly better than some of the rubbish that's been suggested.
Makings of the Fremantle debacle all over again
Incidentally, did anybody else think that the logo looked like they just ripped off Sports Tonight but made it "GC" instead of "ST"?
bigdroppunt
4 Sep 2008, 22:35
The mascot's a shocker, but I don't mind the no nickname thing.
No nick is certainly better than some of the rubbish that's been suggested.
Or is the no nickname a ploy....maybe leaving the door open to Merge with another team ????
Draftpicks.
Gold Coast Draftpicks - you know it makes sense :cool:
giantroo
4 Sep 2008, 22:35
oh god. http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5524820,00.jpg
:D
Yes, thanks Andy!!:D:thumbsu:
RoyalBlue
4 Sep 2008, 22:36
Incidentally, did anybody else think that the logo looked like they just ripped off Sports Tonight but made it "GC" instead of "ST"?
YES!
I half expected their 'mascot' when it was displayed to be a depiction of Brad McEwen trying to tune Sandra sully.
gavdog08
AFL GRAND FINAL 2020 - Gold Coast FC 8.9.57 def. Tasmania Devils 8.8.56
Willow_2000
I missed the mascot, what is it?
notting18
Letting a nickname grow over time makes sense! Most of the clubs in the AFL have their nicknames as a result of development over years.
Gilbert_Hodge
There were so many great designs over on the expansion board which would have allowed for a proper nickname i.e the marlons, stingrays etc.
The AFL are blind and stupid! They really are.
giantroo
Spot on. Pack of thieves.
Big Nasty
4 Sep 2008, 22:37
They couldn't even come up with a name.
How the F will they run a new team?????????????
I have always neglected this Tassie Bulls*** idea.
However I would rather loose draft consessions to a state that actually loves this game than to a team who has no idea what friggin planet there on.
epic fail? idiots
you reckon a hundred years ago when the vfl/vfa clubs were starting up they came up with nicknames.
nicknames are unofficial monnikers.
Adelaide football club not the adelaide crows football club
essendonfc not the ebfc.
you think that when carlton started that they called themselves the blues? no. it took time for that name to eventuate.
Gilbert_Hodge
I missed the mascot, what is it?
A homo in speedos.
AndyLesPaul
Yes, thanks Andy!!:D:thumbsu:
no problem lol
good old footy show.
TassieSaint
Makings of the Fremantle debacle all over again
But without the 100+ years of proud footy history and culture.
Oh and I forgot about the logo :D
It just says "GC" on a red background :eek:
Seems like they had a deadline to meet tonight but only started working on this at noon or something judging by the total lack of creativity.
I liked how when the mascot came up, the whole audience of the footy show cracked up and didn't know if it was for real or not.
Hahaha I wonder when we the first supporter of Gold Coast FC will pop onto bigfooty.
Willow_2000
4 Sep 2008, 22:38
A homo in speedos.
What is Ian Thorpe their mascot:confused:
RoyalBlue
4 Sep 2008, 22:38
epic fail? idiots
you reckon a hundred years ago when the vfl/vfa clubs were starting up they came up with nicknames.
essendonfc not the ebfc.
you think that when carlton started that they called themselves the blues? no. it took time for that name to eventuate.
Mate there's a big difference in today's television marketing and merchandise sales based off field footy operations compared to what happened, what, a century or more ago?
Ideally they'd want something that captures the imagination.
I have no idea why they didn't just grab the Sharks, fits the bill perfectly.
I fully conceed they might look toa big nickname comp in 2010, but this is a fizzer.
LongBomb
4 Sep 2008, 22:39
Great start.
This venture is going to be worse than Fremantle.
LongBomb
bigdroppunt
What is Ian Thorpe their mascot:confused:
Could not of said it better myself...its like a cartoon Ian...
Kangas_Div
I thought they were taking the piss with that mascot.. but then realised they wernt :o
Gilbert_Hodge
4 Sep 2008, 22:40
There were so many great designs over on the expansion board which would have allowed for a proper nickname/mascot i.e the marlons, stingrays etc.
Even their logo is shit. Seriously what are the AFL thinking?!?!?! :eek:
TassieSaint
4 Sep 2008, 22:40
epic fail? idiots
essendonfc not the ebfc.
So you are comparing the formation of clubs over a century ago in the sports infancy to the creation of a modern day franchise, and we're the idiots? Adelaide might officially be called AFC but they've still had a nickname from day 1. A nickname is a vital part of any footy club and has been for a long time.
scarecrow2k1
4 Sep 2008, 22:41
I think its actually a good idea. They said that they were going to let a nickname develop. It will probably happen by the time it enters AFL, as supporters will coin something at games. I know back in the day people used to unofficially call Richmond 'The Wasps' before the Tigers, so people will come up with something and it will be better than a lame corporate name like The Dockers
Gold Coast FC.... We'll just have to make do with the FC and call them those Fookin' Coonts
http://www.curl.co.nz/wp-content/uploads/2008/01/cutback.jpg
After a few years, as the money starts to dry up, they can call themselves the Gold Coast Cutbacks
Done to leave the door open for a Melbourne team to move there and keep their nickname.
Will be Gold Coast Demons or Kangaroos.
ching ching
AndyLesPaul
4 Sep 2008, 22:43
epic fail? idiots
essendonfc not the ebfc.
Yes but for example even the NRL was able to get a nickname ala Gold Coast Titans
And its been a while since Carlton and Essendon started up, but now that they do have nicknames its sort of essential for new clubs to follow that.
They have colours?!
What are their colours?
TimeIsRunningOut
4 Sep 2008, 22:44
They should have gone with this design, it's perfect. Credit goes to Mero.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v477/rmered/Gold-Coast-Marlins3.gif
Toronto FC did this when the entering the MLS.
The idea was let the community develop their own organic identity, rather than imposing a nickname on it.
Which is probably a good idea, if they develop their own nickname, they'll probably have a stronger attachment to it.
Johnson#26
4 Sep 2008, 22:45
Stupid idea for a club.
Stupid name for a club.
Already unloved by the footballing public.
giantroo
4 Sep 2008, 22:46
They have colours?!
What are their colours?
Blue,yellow,red,white.:thumbsd:
RoyalBlue
4 Sep 2008, 22:47
The Gold Coast No Nickers?
Would describe most of the girls I've ever met from there.
I think its a great idea to see what the 430 fans think it should be after a few years in the competition.
gavdog08
4 Sep 2008, 22:48
Gold Coast FC are already more hated than Collingwood and they haven't even entered the AFL yet, lol!
Already unloved by the footballing public.
Everyone hates Collingwood and they do alright.
Made the Top 8 this year and sold their pub.
Gasometer
4 Sep 2008, 22:48
I'm with Johno26...they sh*t me already
Gaso
They have colours?!
What are their colours?
red, yellow, blue and white
looks to be a lighter shade of blue, and red seems to be the dominant colour. No jumper has been revealed yet.
Ahhhh I see, they're obviously going for the beachy thing, fair enough.
Possible clashes to ensue?
Us and the Bulldogs perhaps. Sydney also potentially.
RoyalBlue
4 Sep 2008, 22:50
I missed a bit of the show, was there actual laughter when they showed the mascot?
Was this true?
As i said, I missed it.
AndyLesPaul
it seems they have the colours for north melbourne and melbourne just in case. lol
Tigerbob
Now that is impressive.
Amazing what you can achieve with some brains and hard work.
Something the AFL and GC17 lack.
What a shocking franchise, kill it off already, it's over.
I missed a bit of the show, was there actual laughter when they showed the mascot?
Was this true?
As i said, I missed it.
Yes. Audience had a good ol' chuckle. Won't be seen as a good sign by the club I'm sure.
When you pick every colour in the rainbow, there is bound to be clashes!
epic fail? idiots
essendonfc not the ebfc.
A hundred years ago, Carlton and Essendon didn't have a local rugby league and soccer club to compete with or to confuse fans with. What are we doing tonight? Going to the footy to see Gold Coast. Which one? The Titans, the nameless AFL version or the yet to be determined soccer mob?
gavdog08
4 Sep 2008, 22:53
red, yellow, blue and white
looks to be a lighter shade of blue, and red seems to be the dominant colour. No jumper has been revealed yet.
I assume the players will be wearing jumpers similar to the one that "Homo Lifegaurd" mascot was wearing.
Wally Matera
4 Sep 2008, 22:53
Draftpicks.
Gold Coast Draftpicks - you know it makes sense :cool:
Ahhh the irony... pot kettle black.
From a Carlton supporter.
:rolleyes:
A hundred years ago, Carlton and Essendon didn't have a local rugby league and soccer club to compete with or to confuse fans with. What are we doing tonight? Going to the footy to see Gold Coast. Which one? The Titans, the nameless AFL version or the yet to be determined soccer mob?
I thought that had been confirmed as "Gold Coast United"???
RoyalBlue
4 Sep 2008, 22:54
Yes. Audience had a good ol' chuckle. Won't be seen as a good sign by the club I'm sure.
Im sure Witheriff has just emailed Andy on his Blackberry asking for another truckload of cash and some picks to make up for the laugher.
'That was worrying laughter Andy!'
Aren't they going to play in the A-League? I think the name Gold Coast Football Club is already taken.
I assume the players will be wearing jumpers similar to the one that "Homo Lifegaurd" mascot was wearing.
That I fear.
Coolangatta
4 Sep 2008, 22:55
They should've been called the Gold Coast Gorillas, with the Chief as their mascot. Or the Gold Coast Geckos.
Sounds better in my opinion.
Im sure Witheriff has just emailed Andy on his Blackberry asking for another truckload of cash and some picks to make up for the laugher.
'That was worrying laughter Andy!'
Hehe. Its funny cos its true.
RoyalBlue
4 Sep 2008, 22:56
That I fear.
Do the blue speedos clash with anyone?
AndyLesPaul
4 Sep 2008, 22:56
Aren't they going to play in the A-League? I think the name Gold Coast Football Club is already taken.
Gold Coast United that is.
xD
http://i434.photobucket.com/albums/qq67/bonserma/GC17man.jpg
I'm guessing the mascot looks something like this :confused::D
gavdog08
4 Sep 2008, 22:57
A-League: Gold Coast United FC
AFL: Gold Coast FC
ARL: Gold Coast Titans
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,6043937,00.jpg
This is the most accurate depiction of the mascot that I could find.
That is impressive :thumbsu:
You have to love bigfooty though.
On one hand there's a desperate need to write it off as a soulless franchise. On the other, there's anger and confusion that they're giving their community an opportunity to develop a name as their own, rather than it be imposed upon them.
Coolangatta
4 Sep 2008, 23:00
The Gold Coast Goats.
The Gold Coast Goldfish.
The Gold Coast Giraffes.
The Gold Coast Guineas.
The Gold Coast Gazelles.
And as I've just mentioned, the Gold Coast Geckos or the Gold Coast Gorillas, any of those would've been better than just Gold Coast Football Club.
The A-League club has been named the Gold Coast United Football Club.
nowhereneargeelong
4 Sep 2008, 23:01
Fremantle V Gold Coast = Homoerotica.