View Full Version : Had Enough of the AFL? - Australian Football Action Group
waflwatcha
11 Oct 2002, 14:10
After reading a few threads I get the feeling there are a many disenfranchised people outside Victoria (and within) that are concerned about the administration of Australian Football and its obvious Victorian Bias.
I have always thought the best way to cause change in an unjust environment is form an action group and just keep pounding at the doors of those that think they are above accountability. So maybe in this electronic age where we can communicate so easily from afar, we should consider creating an action group, say called the “Australian Football Action Group”. The reason for the name is we are trying to change for the better the administration of football to cater Australia-wide– not just SA and WA – not just QLD, NSW and Tasmania - and not just Victoria.
I do not mean that an Anti-Victorian group should be started but a group to ensure any decision made by the power-brokers (the AFL in this case) at least shows considers all parties affected by their decisions, right through to the country leagues. I am too experienced not to realise with football that people actions are influenced by which team they support and not all verdicts will please everybody.
By simply making the AFL very aware that a number of active people we will not continue to accept their bullying will in itself cause some change. A groundswell against them would certainly make them take note.
If the group was extremely organised through communication I believe we could force change the following ways:
- If a decision was about to be considered, then mass e-mail the parties concerned so they were flooded with opinions. Once again to be effective then this would need to be co-ordinated and the correct people targeted.
- Continually bombard the media, both local and national, with conflicting views to the propaganda the AFL provides. Once again timing is the key.
- Be involved in creating an ever-evolving alternative strategies and policies for the betterment of Australian Football.
I am willing to set up and host a website just for this purpose – will cost me $120 for a domain name, and about $25 a month for hosting – but I will wear that if the group is a fair and active entity. Eventually we may need donations for some actions, but initially through the electronic medium is the way we would act.
I would think teh website would contain the current events/decisions the AFL are in the process of determining and our strategy to deal with it… eg email the following people, send letters to the media, with sample documents/responses to guide people. The site would also contain the evolving policies and strategic document (plan) for the Group which people would add their opinions…. We would probably also need a co-ordinator from each state. People would also register for the group so we could send weekly newsletters, updates and calls for action.
If you want to email me directly, my anonymous address is waflwatcha@mbox.com.au, please understand I do not wish to exist as a clandestine entity but I have to be careful as I am officially involved with a WAFL club and may jeopardise their position/status within the WAFL.
What do people think? What name should be used? Any graphic artists out there that could create a logo?
Mobbenfuhrer
11 Oct 2002, 18:27
Did you realise that the acronym is "AFAG"????
waflwatcha
11 Oct 2002, 19:18
That's why I asked "What name should be used?"...
Maybe AAFLAG - Accountable AFL Action Group
or MAFLA - Making AFL Accountable...
Who knows... at least we know its not going to ba AFAG... people would confuse us with a Gay Rights group...
As a fan of traditional footy, of the WA variety I would like to wish you good luck with your endeavours.
Good Luck also !
The National Football League of Australia(or similar)
used to run football before the AFL took over everything.
Time to return to an independant body.
Blues_Brat
12 Oct 2002, 17:30
Sadly it is like asking the USA to listen to the direction of the UN.
Port Adelaide 1870
13 Oct 2002, 17:52
Originally posted by Blues_Brat
Sadly it is like asking the USA to listen to the direction of the UN.
Roll over Blues _brat and let them do whatever you want them to !!
You certainly dont come over as a person that accepts
" The inevitable " or " Evolution" or "Thats the way it is ..so ACCEPT IT "..
Lets get right behind this fella....
Imagine if the Vandals and Huns had accepted Romes perspective forever...
Or the Russians, the rule of the Soviets....
Its about righting wrongs, no matter how big the Invading aggressor or Controlling Authority is....As long as you are true to your ideals ....The AFL is not true to the ideals of Australian Football...its quest is to control it for its own interests...and in the end result..rewrite History to exclude all other League football that rivalled its antecedent ..
PA1870
Uncle Steve
13 Oct 2002, 19:27
Originally posted by Port Adelaide 1870
Its about righting wrongs, no matter how big the Invading aggressor or Controlling Authority is....As long as you are true to your ideals ....The AFL is not true to the ideals of Australian Football...its quest is to control it for its own interests...and in the end result..rewrite History to exclude all other League football that rivalled its antecedent ..
...coming from a person whose club sold out to the aggressor, then bent over backwards to be the next mob to join it.
If you are serious with your anti-AFL rhetoric, let's see you burn your Port Power membership. Refuse to patronise those nasty AFL games anymore, and get behind your SANFL club.
Port Adelaide 1870
13 Oct 2002, 19:44
Originally posted by Uncle Steve
...coming from a person whose club sold out to the aggressor, then bent over backwards to be the next mob to join it.
If you are serious with your anti-AFL rhetoric, let's see you burn your Port Power membership. Refuse to patronise those nasty AFL games anymore, and get behind your SANFL club.
Uncle Steve,
Your replies of late are leaning towards a personal attack on the football club I've followed all my life..
You are certainly not responding to issues raised or perspectives aired.
You for your own reasons continue to refer to a non existant AFL club called " Port Power". I would sumise simply to ire me. I have no intention of allowing you to derail an important perspective merely for cheap shots at the club I follow.
Sarcastic terminology such as "Nasty" in the referance you used it, detracts from any valid point or reply you make.
I value your input on so many issues found on Big Footy, There is no need to be so bitter towards me..I dont take it upon myself to be pre-emptively so towards you ..
It isnt a personal thing..its only a football perspective.
PA1870
Port Adelaide 1870
13 Oct 2002, 19:52
and get behind your SANFL club.
I have stated before , my club of Preferance in the SANFL is the PAMFC, now that my club is no longer in the SANFL, however it is not the only club we support.
We assist a number of SANFL clubs through the work we do.
My Partner and I are fond of all SANFL clubs, their Histories and the health of the individual Clubs.
I have an active interest in the Historical research and record of all SANFL clubs.
We are vitally concerned about the health of the SANFL in these AFL dominated days.
PA1870
Uncle Steve
14 Oct 2002, 11:12
Your replies of late are leaning towards a personal attack on the football club I've followed all my life..
Nope. But if you want to miss the point, just keep on believing that.
You for your own reasons continue to refer to a non existant AFL club called " Port Power". I would sumise simply to ire me. I have no intention of allowing you to derail an important perspective merely for cheap shots at the club I follow.
"Port" or "Port Adelaide", by itself, could refer equally well to the SANFL or AFL Port. If anything, in the context of this board it would default to the SANFL Port. "Port Power" specifically refers to the AFL entity. Hence, I chose this term. I'm not alone - many people will colloquially refer to the AFL entity as "Port Power".
But if you really want to believe I'm just using the term to wind you up, well don't let me stop you. It's probably easier to believe that than to actually think about what I've said.
Sarcastic terminology such as "Nasty" in the referance you used it, detracts from any valid point or reply you make.
The context (sic) in which I used it was with respect to the AFL and its historical revisionism. Examine the text: see how the word "nasty" appears before the word "AFL"? Adjectives will usually precede a noun in English text. The term is, in essence, a condensation of your entire anti-AFL diatribe into one word.
I value your input on so many issues found on Big Footy, There is no need to be so bitter towards me..I dont take it upon myself to be pre-emptively so towards you ..
It isnt a personal thing..its only a football perspective.
FFS, PA1870, I was not taking a pot shot at you personally.
I see your position as hypocritical in the extreme. That is my point; it is my only point. All your anti-AFL rhetoric is well and good - it might even be admirable, coming from another's mouth. But not from yours. It remains that your mob bent over backwards to be part of this league that you are now denouncing. I presume that you (collectively) attend all Port Power games, thereby patronising the AFL. You (collectively) bought in to the AFL ideals, and you (personally) do it every time you walk through the turnstile at Footy Park.
You posted on a public forum. I have pointed out the hypocrisy of your stance. To suggest that I am simply taking pot-shots at you is a knee-jerk reaction. Come on, PA1870, I gave your intelligence more credit than that. You disappoint me.
Sheesh... :rolleyes:
Port Adelaide 1870
15 Oct 2002, 08:37
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Uncle Steve
Nope. But if you want to miss the point, just keep on believing that.
"Port" or "Port Adelaide", by itself, could refer equally well to the SANFL or AFL Port. If anything, in the context of this board it would default to the SANFL Port. "Port Power" specifically refers to the AFL entity. Hence, I chose this term. I'm not alone - many people will colloquially refer to the AFL entity as "Port Power".
But if you really want to believe I'm just using the term to wind you up, well don't let me stop you. It's probably easier to believe that than to actually think about what I've said.
The context (sic) in which I used it was with respect to the AFL and its historical revisionism. Examine the text: see how the word "nasty" appears before the word "AFL"? Adjectives will usually precede a noun in English text. The term is, in essence, a condensation of your entire anti-AFL diatribe into one word.
FFS, PA1870, I was not taking a pot shot at you personally.
I see your position as hypocritical in the extreme. That is my point; it is my only point. All your anti-AFL rhetoric is well and good - it might even be admirable, coming from another's mouth. But not from yours. It remains that your mob bent over backwards to be part of this league that you are now denouncing. I presume that you (collectively) attend all Port Power games, thereby patronising the AFL. You (collectively) bought in to the AFL ideals, and you (personally) do it every time you walk through the turnstile at Footy Park.
You posted on a public forum. I have pointed out the hypocrisy of your stance. To suggest that I am simply taking pot-shots at you is a knee-jerk reaction. Come on, PA1870, I gave your intelligence more credit than that. You disappoint me.
Sheesh... :rolleyes: [/QUOT
Uncle Steve...
You are certainly one angry young man!
Accusations and assertions of Hypocrisy, Drongoism, referances to non existant clubs ( trying to define Port Adelaide to me:rolleyes: ) , Knee jerk reactions ,One word summations, diatribe,..
I am really sorry you feel the way you do...truly.
Those that know me personally Know my passion for the Port Adelaide Football Club, Port, Port Adelaide, The Power
I have supported them all my life, irrelavant what comp they play in.. I also have preferance for their SANFL replacement Port Magpies. ( which is what the SANFL team is called}yet you continue to Call Port Adelaide Port Power a non existant entity ? and you call Port Magpies Port Adelaide ...? and then you go about rationalising it for me...
AS I have stated, I follow my club Port Adelaide in the AFL, I have a preferance for the Port Magpies in the SANFL, We support all SANFL clubs and offer them our assitance whenever we can.
I am dissapointed that the SANFL has fallen the way it has, I am picking up that somehow you think Port Adelaide are to blame for that and perhaps thats why you are vindictive towards me..
I like the SANFL, I like the PAFC, however I have little time for the AFL, I will not stop supporting my Club simply because I dont like the Comp its in..if thats hypocrasy..have it your way..you can see it from your perspective with every right to...
I am not up to arguing with you. If you wish to continue to try and discredit me..up to you...have fun !
kindest regards...and Go the Glenelg Tigers
PA1870
Uncle Steve
15 Oct 2002, 10:57
PA1870,
English must be your second language, since your reply shows absolutely no comprehension of anything I have written in this thread.
Alors, Monsieur, vous ętes vraiment con.
McAlmanac
15 Oct 2002, 11:31
Will you be cheering when Port wins the AFL, PA1870?
mud n blood
15 Oct 2002, 12:09
Good stuff gang !
Unfortunately up here though we actually need the AFL to prop the game up locally. :(
Port Adelaide 1870
15 Oct 2002, 16:58
Originally posted by McAlmanac
Will you be cheering when Port wins the AFL, PA1870?
Macca...
I continue to reiterate..Port are the team I support..? Why am I asked if I support them ?
PA1870:confused:
Port Adelaide 1870
15 Oct 2002, 17:01
PA1870,
English must be your second language, since your reply shows absolutely no comprehension of anything I have written in this thread.
Alors, Monsieur, vous ętes vraiment con.
Uncle Steve,
It is exactly how I perceive your understanding of what I say..
PA1870
Getting back to the original point of this thread...
I would love to see something done about the appalling television coverage (in particular free-to-air) we get here in NSW (and Qld).
I'd be more than happy to participate in any action that would attempt to have this situation rectified.
McAlmanac
15 Oct 2002, 17:33
Originally posted by DaveW
Getting back to the original point of this thread...
I would love to see something done about the appalling television coverage (in particular free-to-air) we get here in NSW (and Qld).
I'd be more than happy to participate in any action that would attempt to have this situation rectified.
Unfortunately, the AFL left a loose end open on this issue and relied on the goodwiil of the broadcaster. I would be very surprised if this situation was any different next year. Channel 9 are beholden to one group and one group only - their advertisers. This group is in turn driven by one thing and one thing only - ratings. So while Channel 9 hold both rugby league and AFL rights, there will be no joy on this front. I believe Channel 10 gave the Swans and Lions a crack on Saturday nights but once again, the ratings weren't good (correct me if I'm wrong on that).
PA - the point of confusion is that you quite openly despise the AFL, but the team you support are a stakeholder in the competition. It could be argued that the team you support have sold out by joining the infidel. Were you opposed to Port joining the AFL back in 97?
As for rewriting history, erasing all non-Victorian records etc. The CEO is a bloody South Australian! You want to spend some time in Melbourne and gauge the mood of Victorians who believe that the Victorian-ness has gone out of the game. The beauty of the AFL is that half the time now Victorian teams don't win a premiership or the Brownlow. WA (Eagles), SA (Crows) and Qld (Lions) have all had their pound of flesh. It's our NATIONAL game. As previously alluded to by mud'n'blood, the AFL is the entity pouring money into the non-traditional states to make it the number one football code in the nation.
What other game has provincial competitions as the highest standard to aim for?
Port Adelaide 1870
15 Oct 2002, 18:53
As for rewriting history, erasing all non-Victorian records etc. The CEO is a bloody South Australian! You want to spend some time in Melbourne and gauge the mood of Victorians who believe that the Victorian-ness has gone out of the game[
The CEO cannot change what is not his. The AFL dont care about Football outside of Victoria except for shareholders in their comp.
The beauty of the AFL is that half the time now Victorian teams don't win a premiership or the Brownlow. WA (Eagles), SA (Crows) and Qld (Lions) have all had their pound of flesh. It's our NATIONAL game.
The winners of a provincial victorian suburban town officials namesake medal, from a suburban comp....being given credence way above his suburb prominence..NOBODY can defend that piece of self importance thrust upon US in OUR National comp by Victorians..
As previously alluded to by mud'n'blood, the AFL is the entity pouring money into the non-traditional states to make it the number one football code in the nation.[B]
for the good of Football or for the growth of a Melbourne based business ? I admit it is important for them to do it and applaud their actions.
[B] What other game has provincial competitions as the highest standard to aim for?
To Aim for, Shoot, watch bleed to death...then push VFL history into our face as "the History of Australian Rules"
Port Adelaide 1870
15 Oct 2002, 19:03
PA - the point of confusion is that you quite openly despise the AFL, but the team you support are a stakeholder in the competition. It could be argued that the team you support have sold out by joining the infidel. Were you opposed to Port joining the AFL back in 97?
I was involved in Ports AFL bid. the two are distinctly seperate.
I support the Port Adelaide Football club...I would not stop supporting my club because they joined the infidel..it is this partisan that reflects SANFL suburban football at National level..it does not reflect VFL standard, but SANFL ( in a Club )..the PAFC was good enough to get into the AFL with a SANFL record...I am proud of that. it is the tool with which their is a direct link to SANFL club footy.
I have major concerns with the AFL as OUR National comp..they want to be perceived as an unbiased National comp with the best interests of Australian Rules at heart, however we know this is not so.
VFL records dont equate to a National comp..despite the VFL being the Antecedent to the National Comp..I agree the AFL once was the VFL..but it in no way reflects the suburban game it once was, nor standard, nor quality, nor direction, nor interests,.
on reflection I do not despise the AFL, I disagree with the way they are making extinct all other football relevance that rivalled the VFL.
PA1870
Port Adelaide 1870
15 Oct 2002, 19:06
Despite what some may think on this board, I have no animosity towards other posters, sometimes I disagree with thoughts put forward, but I hold no value judgments against fellow Big Footyites..I forgive and forget very quickly..
My interests is to see SANFL footy at the highest level it can..even at the expense of the AFL and to see Port Adelaide prosper wherever it plays.
PA1870
:)
Hollypig
15 Oct 2002, 19:23
Funnily enough, as I have met both PA1870 & Uncle Steve, I reckon you guys would get on well.:eek:
Port Adelaide 1870
15 Oct 2002, 19:57
Originally posted by Hollypig
Funnily enough, as I have met both PA1870 & Uncle Steve, I reckon you guys would get on well.:eek:
I drink copious amounts of Beer...
Hollypig
15 Oct 2002, 20:49
I drink copious amounts of Beer...
But will you obey the "three cheers & your out" rule we put on Uncle Steve to drink with us ?
He obeys it to a tee. NOT.
Port Adelaide 1870
15 Oct 2002, 21:30
But will you obey the "three cheers & your out" rule we put on Uncle Steve to drink with us ?
excuse my ignorance?
Port Adelaide 1870
15 Oct 2002, 22:06
Originally posted by waflwatcha
After reading a few threads I get the feeling there are a many disenfranchised people outside Victoria (and within) that are concerned about the administration of Australian Football and its obvious Victorian Bias.
I have always thought the best way to cause change in an unjust environment is form an action group and just keep pounding at the doors of those that think they are above accountability. So maybe in this electronic age where we can communicate so easily from afar, we should consider creating an action group, say called the “Australian Football Action Group”. The reason for the name is we are trying to change for the better the administration of football to cater Australia-wide– not just SA and WA – not just QLD, NSW and Tasmania - and not just Victoria.
I do not mean that an Anti-Victorian group should be started but a group to ensure any decision made by the power-brokers (the AFL in this case) at least shows considers all parties affected by their decisions, right through to the country leagues. I am too experienced not to realise with football that people actions are influenced by which team they support and not all verdicts will please everybody.
By simply making the AFL very aware that a number of active people we will not continue to accept their bullying will in itself cause some change. A groundswell against them would certainly make them take note.
If the group was extremely organised through communication I believe we could force change the following ways:
- If a decision was about to be considered, then mass e-mail the parties concerned so they were flooded with opinions. Once again to be effective then this would need to be co-ordinated and the correct people targeted.
- Continually bombard the media, both local and national, with conflicting views to the propaganda the AFL provides. Once again timing is the key.
- Be involved in creating an ever-evolving alternative strategies and policies for the betterment of Australian Football.
I am willing to set up and host a website just for this purpose – will cost me $120 for a domain name, and about $25 a month for hosting – but I will wear that if the group is a fair and active entity. Eventually we may need donations for some actions, but initially through the electronic medium is the way we would act.
I would think teh website would contain the current events/decisions the AFL are in the process of determining and our strategy to deal with it… eg email the following people, send letters to the media, with sample documents/responses to guide people. The site would also contain the evolving policies and strategic document (plan) for the Group which people would add their opinions…. We would probably also need a co-ordinator from each state. People would also register for the group so we could send weekly newsletters, updates and calls for action.
If you want to email me directly, my anonymous address is waflwatcha@mbox.com.au, please understand I do not wish to exist as a clandestine entity but I have to be careful as I am officially involved with a WAFL club and may jeopardise their position/status within the WAFL.
What do people think? What name should be used? Any graphic artists out there that could create a logo?
Hows it all going ?
PA1870
Uncle Steve
15 Oct 2002, 23:20
My point in a nutshell, and more diplomatically put. Bravo.
Now be prepared to be told that you're denigrating the team that PA1870 has followed all his life :rolleyes:
Uncle Steve
15 Oct 2002, 23:24
Despite what some may think on this board, I have no animosity towards other posters, sometimes I disagree with thoughts put forward, but I hold no value judgments against fellow Big Footyites..I forgive and forget very quickly..
PA1870,
I think you are a complete goose.
But I'd still have a beer with you.
Make of this what you will. :cool:
Uncle Steve
15 Oct 2002, 23:26
It's an easy rule to obey, when one follows the Tigers... I only get three chances to cheer all match :(
Port Adelaide 1870
15 Oct 2002, 23:27
PA1870,
I think you are a complete goose.
But I'd still have a beer with you.
Make of this what you will. :cool:
I have never been known to refuse an offer for a beer:D
PA1870
Port Adelaide 1870
15 Oct 2002, 23:33
My point in a nutshell, and more diplomatically put. Bravo.
Now be prepared to be told that you're denigrating the team that PA1870 has followed all his life :rolleyes:
I was involved in Ports AFL bid. the two are distinctly seperate.
I support the Port Adelaide Football club...I would not stop supporting my club because they joined the infidel..it is this partisan that reflects SANFL suburban football at National level..it does not reflect VFL standard, but SANFL ( in a Club )..the PAFC was good enough to get into the AFL with a SANFL record...I am proud of that. it is the tool with which their is a direct link to SANFL club footy.
I have major concerns with the AFL as OUR National comp..they want to be perceived as an unbiased National comp with the best interests of Australian Rules at heart, however we know this is not so.
VFL records dont equate to a National comp..despite the VFL being the Antecedent to the National Comp..I agree the AFL once was the VFL..but it in no way reflects the suburban game it once was, nor standard, nor quality, nor direction, nor interests,.
on reflection I do not despise the AFL, I disagree with the way they are making extinct all other football relevance that rivalled the VFL.
just repeated my former reply..
I dont perceive Maccas response as denigrating, as you can see in my reply above....If my stance is Hypocritical, there's little I can do to divorce myself from my Football club..the fact it happens to play in the current day AFL, which I believe has been the ruination of WAFL and SANFL football doesnt change my support of Port Adelaide..
there are other ways to get at the AFL and their myopic view of Football..
PA1870
McAlmanac
16 Oct 2002, 10:30
Strangely enough, I think a drinks session between the three of us would go a long time as well. The common ground being a thorough understanding of the SANFL.
I agree to some extent about the Brownlow point and think you'll find that it is an issue raised by people such as Kevin Sheedy.
Living in Melbourne gives one a different perspective. Having said that, I'm coming home for the Adelaide Test match and can't wait. :)
waflwatcha
20 Oct 2002, 13:50
Disappointed...
Haven't received one e-mail.
Doesn't anybody care enough?
Remember ....waflwatcha@mbox.com.au
And let's get some action started!!!!
waflwatcha
21 Oct 2002, 01:31
Just an update... Two people have now contacted me, just a couple of thousand to go I hope.
Send me an email, I'll store it, then let you know when I think we need some action like flooding the media/AFL about a certain subject. The Website will come a tad later.
Remember...
waflwatcha@mbox.com.au
You've mis-spelt your email address twice now. (I got a failed notice sending to it)
waflwatcha@mbox.com.au
is what you had in your original post. :cool:
waflwatcha
21 Oct 2002, 03:47
Sorry 'bout that - all amended now.
Shows how much the AFL is getting me down.
Eg Headland & Davis are castigated for wanting to move home, yet Carey does the same with his move to Adelaide and nothing is said.
Once again the heavy-handed actions of Andrew Demetriou are typical of the entity that is the AFL. An unaccountable and undeniable Victorian biased bully.
Demetriou is a pig of a man.
timelord
23 Oct 2002, 10:48
Can't leave this thread alone! It's right up my alley! If only I had the time to get really involved!
Congrats, Waflwatcha!
The AFL do need their heads kicked in and realise what they are REALLY doing to the game - in ALL states (including Victoria!).
The only states they even appear to be doing anything at all is in New South Wales and Queensland. And every time they get criticised for not supporting the grass roots they come back and say "Yes we do we put heaps into the grass roots" and go and point at the National Bank sponsorship and Auskick. JUNIOR football! OI! What about community footy. OPEN AGE! Player retention at that level - UMPIRE retention for that matter! Watch the AFL squeal!
Really, all the football states are being screwed. Tasmania has all but fallen apart. Western Australia is heading the same way. At least there's some resistance in Adelaide. There's virtually none in Victoria but then we are the hub of the game (there's more leagues in Victoria than there are in the rest of the country combined almost) so we have a "back up". But that back up is being too heavily relied upon as the answer and it ain't working even though some say it is (and have their heads stuck in the sand).
PA1870, you are in a terrible position right now. Caught between a rock and a hard place. You support the Port Adelaide FC. That's all fine and dandy, but the instant you appear to support the Power you look like a hypocrite - whether you like it or not. On the other hand if you support the Magpies you are applauded (outside of the usual tribal differences - if you understand what I mean). By tearing up your Power membership ticket, you aren't turning your back on Alberton. If you took a Magpie membership your conscience would be clean. Take both, and you look both good and bad - and that's not a good look! IMHO
The best way to hurt the AFL is to encourage the football public to support the grass roots. I haven't paid money to view a VFL/AFL game since 1992, and only once since 1986. I haven't taken out a club membership since I was a kid (that was Collingwood). If everyone did that the AFL and the clubs would HAVE to sit up and take notice!
The game is in trouble, and the AFL are too wilfully blind to see it!
McAlmanac
23 Oct 2002, 12:42
Originally posted by waflwatcha
Sorry 'bout that - all amended now.
Shows how much the AFL is getting me down.
Eg Headland & Davis are castigated for wanting to move home, yet Carey does the same with his move to Adelaide and nothing is said.
Once again the heavy-handed actions of Andrew Demetriou are typical of the entity that is the AFL. An unaccountable and undeniable Victorian biased bully.
Demetriou is a pig of a man.
Excuse me, but the only people castigating Headland and Davis are their own supporters who can see themselves losing quality players.
What the faaark does Andrew Demetriou have to do with these situations? Headland and Davis are bound by draft rules. They deal with their clubs and take their chances on the issue of being traded/drafted/shafted. And Carey? He's not moving home - he's about as South Australian as an NBL import.
Port Adelaide 1870
23 Oct 2002, 14:38
Originally posted by timelord
PA1870, you are in a terrible position right now. Caught between a rock and a hard place. You support the Port Adelaide FC. That's all fine and dandy, but the instant you appear to support the Power you look like a hypocrite - whether you like it or not. On the other hand if you support the Magpies you are applauded (outside of the usual tribal differences - if you understand what I mean). By tearing up your Power membership ticket, you aren't turning your back on Alberton. If you took a Magpie membership your conscience would be clean. Take both, and you look both good and bad - and that's not a good look! IMHO
Its irrelevant if others see me as a hypocrite...totally irrelevant..It doesnt bother me, nor will it affect the persons perception of me Once they meet me..
So it is a non event whether I like it or not.
If I tear up my Port Adelaide Football Club ticket as you put it..I am turning my back on Alberton and the club I've followed since my earliest football memories.And if I take a Magpies membership how can my conscience be clean..simply by abandoning my Football club to take up a Magpies membership ?
I support Both clubs as they are both part of the Port Adelaide Heritage..One because it is the PAFC, the other because it carries on the name of the Magpies once synonomous with the PAFC..
The AFL is a different issue, I believe I can change more from within the ranks than outside.....
Many here work for a living, some cant stand it , openly criticise ,their employers, products and all about the company they work for..yet each day they go to work in the same place..Hypocrites ?
I can criticise the AFL despite my club playing in that competition and I can suggest they are the ruination of the SANFL/WAFL/TFL/VFA/ and every other league..But I will still support Port Adelaide, whilst finding ways to undermine the AFL..
If the AFL stopped tomorrow.. It would be of little consequence to me.
PA1870
:) :)
But then Port Power
would have no where to play.
Port1978
23 Oct 2002, 17:08
Originally posted by killer
But then Port Power
No such club as Port Power....:rolleyes:
Port Adelaide 1870
23 Oct 2002, 18:56
Originally posted by killer
But then Port Power
what is this Port Power ? are they a NBA or NFL franchise ?
many referances are made about them on Big Footy , but I cant seem to find any team or club with that name in Any league in Australia ?
regards
PA1870;)
Uncle Steve
24 Oct 2002, 00:12
what is this Port Power ?
Can't you guess?
Go on, we'll give you three shots.
Even you Port Power (sic) fans should be able to work it out in three goes.
:D
Port Adelaide 1870
24 Oct 2002, 12:16
Can't you guess?
Go on, we'll give you three shots.
Even you Port Power (sic) fans should be able to work it out in three goes.
:D
Why should we subjected to guessing ? As I've stated before
one word would suffice "Power"...yet extra effort is used to ad Port to the front of it, which despite some peoples:rolleyes: attempts to refute it, is simply to ire Port Adelaide supporters
If two words are required at least use Port Adelaide then everyone will know you are talking about the Power...
otherwize state Port Magpies...then there is simply no confusion
PA1870:D
naughty monkey
24 Oct 2002, 12:44
what is this Port Power ? are they a NBA or NFL franchise ?
many referances are made about them on Big Footy , but I cant seem to find any team or club with that name in Any league in Australia ?
regards
PA1870;)
I dunno, but "Port Power" is mentioned 4 TIMES in Port Adelaide Aggression!!!!!!
Why is this such a sore point for you PA1870?
You, and everybody else, knows who is being referred to when the term "Port Power" is used.
Why are you being so pedantic????
McAlmanac
24 Oct 2002, 13:34
I'm with PA1870 here. It's Port Adelaide, whose nickname is "The Power". The two words do not appear together. I believe they did originally, but then the club changed it (correct me if I'm wrong). The song just ends with them screaming "Power" like demented wharfies, whereas they used to scream "Port Power". The only time they should appear together is in a headline such as "Port power to convincing win" or "Port power to fifth consecutive loss".
naughty monkey
24 Oct 2002, 15:08
I'm with PA1870 here. It's Port Adelaide, whose nickname is "The Power". The two words do not appear together. I believe they did originally, but then the club changed it (correct me if I'm wrong). The song just ends with them screaming "Power" like demented wharfies, whereas they used to scream "Port Power". The only time they should appear together is in a headline such as "Port power to convincing win" or "Port power to fifth consecutive loss".
I Don't dispute anything you say Mac, but I don't understand why it's such a problem for PA1870. He can never let it go.
And you are right, I think initially they were PORT POWER (perhaps this is what upsets PA1870), but I don't hear Kangaroos supporters complaining when they are called North Melbourne (or shinboners, for that matter), or the numerous Central Districts supporters objecting to the term Centrals. There are far worse things the Power have been called (and will continue to be called!) by opposition supporters.
Blues_Brat
24 Oct 2002, 15:25
Originally posted by naughty monkey
I dunno, but "Port Power" is mentioned 4 TIMES in Port Adelaide Aggression!!!!!!
Good pick up.
Port Adelaide realised their mistake in their original logo which emphasised the 'Power' part of it, ended up with a lot of people calling them 'Port Power'. I think they're stuck with it, giving people the correct information isn't going to change a mindset.
The O-Bahn was actually originally called the 'Busway' but how many people called it the latter?
Mobbenfuhrer
24 Oct 2002, 15:52
We always called it the monorail. It just seemed right.
Port Adelaide 1870
24 Oct 2002, 17:22
I Don't dispute anything you say Mac, but I don't understand why it's such a problem for PA1870. He can never let it go.
And you are right, I think initially they were PORT POWER (perhaps this is what upsets PA1870), but I don't hear Kangaroos supporters complaining when they are called North Melbourne (or shinboners, for that matter), or the numerous Central Districts supporters objecting to the term Centrals. There are far worse things the Power have been called (and will continue to be called!) by opposition supporters.
Naughty Monkey,
You can ad dress me on this issue, I wont bite !
Intitially they were Port Power, but all referance to Port Power is now gone from the club, It is not Port Power
The Club song refers only to "Power" the logo is "Power"
Kangaroos are North Melbourne, but Port Adelaide arent
Port Power.. Its simple ....... just plain ..."Power"..
That is what the club wants the team to be called , so I will correct those that are ignorant, stupid, foolish, ars*holes or just plain sh*t stirrers.
There is no Port Power except to those outside of the PAFC so sooner or later they will get the message..if they dont , I and others will continue to correct the problem...
Let me explain it like this..
You meet Jim Jones for the first time, your mate tells you he's called Jimmy Jones, next person walks up and tells you he's Jimmy, third says same..and so on..You walk up to him and say
"Good day Jimmy" and he replies, "its Jim if you dont mind"
You either reply.."Sorry, Champ everyone calls you Jimmy its in our mind set"
or you say
" OOps , my apologies, sorry for being so rude.. Jim"
or you do what everyone here seems to think..
"Ok Jimmy, get over it, we'll give you three guesses on what we are gonna call you........... Jimmy"
Its not a Problem for me to correct those that are calling Port Adelaide a fictional name,
But it seems to be a problem when you are asked not to.....
that curiously seems to me to be a strangely more interesting scenario...
PA1870:)
Mobbenfuhrer
24 Oct 2002, 17:27
One issue ... I didn't think Kangaroos are North Melbourne ... I thought they'd changed their name from North Melbourne to Kangaroos.
And a second ... one to be careful of, unless I am wrong I believe when South Melbourne moved to Sydney, the initial name they took up was 'Swans' or 'The Swans'. What happened there?
McAlmanac
24 Oct 2002, 17:43
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
One issue ... I didn't think Kangaroos are North Melbourne ... I thought they'd changed their name from North Melbourne to Kangaroos.
Isn't the legal entity still the North Melbourne Football Club?
In any case, I reckon they should go back to being "North Melbourne". It's one of the few true footy clubs left in the AFL.
Uncle Steve
24 Oct 2002, 17:57
There is no Port Power except to those outside of the PAFC so sooner or later they will get the message..if they dont , I and others will continue to correct the problem...
Others?
You mean there's another Port Power fan with an irrational, pathological hatred of common colloquialisms?
:p
naughty monkey
24 Oct 2002, 18:18
Its not a Problem for me to correct those that are calling Port Adelaide a fictional name,
so why don't you correct everyone who refers to them simply as Port, since this is not their name either???????????
Port Adelaide 1870
24 Oct 2002, 22:01
Others?
You mean there's another Port Power fan with an irrational, pathological hatred of common colloquialisms?
Irrational ? pathological ? common?
it is your colloquialism. Ifsomeone called Glenelg the "tiger Blueys" everytime they were at a Glenelg game watched them...what would be the perception of them ?
Carn tigey bluey , Carn Tigey Bluey...youd think they were mentally challenged...
well after being explained that it is not the name to be used, for someone to continue using it falls into the same category.
there is no such name, no such team, no such club..it refers to noone...
calling them Power, requires less effort psychologically. yet the pathological requirement to call them another name is frightening.
PA1870
Port Adelaide 1870
24 Oct 2002, 22:04
so why don't you correct everyone who refers to them simply as Port, since this is not their name either???????????
You are trying to defend the indefensible, trying to justify your position...it is incorrect.
North , South, West , East, Port, ?
why continue with it..? what is the agenda ?
PA1870
Port Adelaide 1870
24 Oct 2002, 22:05
Others?
Gnarl , Gnash, spit, Snarl...yep..I met him last week !!:D ;)
PA1870
Uncle Steve
24 Oct 2002, 23:50
Gnarl , Gnash, spit, Snarl...yep..I met him last week !!:D ;)
PA1870
That wasn't the mirror was it...? :D ;)
Uncle Steve
25 Oct 2002, 00:12
it is your colloquialism.
Not only mine, but shared by most of the SA football public. Nobody gives a flying fig whether or not the name is strictly orthodox - not even the other Port Power (sic) supporters.
Open up last week's Sunday Mail, if you still have it, to page 11. Read the first sentence of the story featuring Gavin Wanganeen. Here is the salient part, reproduced as printed:
"It was to be the trip of a lifetime for Port Power star Gavin Wangeneen..."
The media uses it. Other Port Power (sic) fans use it. Heck, many of them still wear gear emblazoned with "Port Power". I can use the term in conversation in any other footy fan, and they can use it in return, and both parties will understand exactly what is meant.
You sir are the only person here who has a beef with the term. Nobody else begins frothing at the mouth, quivering uncontrollably at the utterance of the phrase "Port Power". Only you.
I originally (though not now, I confess ;) ) used the term in this thread quite innocently. When asked, I explained to you why I used it: it was solely to disambiguate the term "Port". Nothing more, nothing less. No malice was intended or implied. You chose not to believe me. I emphasise, your choice.
Still, no hard feelings. Best wishes to you and Port Power (sic) in the coming season.
Port Adelaide 1870
25 Oct 2002, 12:28
Right thats it..Im done arguing...
regards
PA1870;)
McAlmanac
25 Oct 2002, 12:41
"We're not the Judean People's Front. We're the People's Front of Judea".....
Leaping Lindner
25 Oct 2002, 12:53
"We're not the Judean People's Front. We're the People's Front of Judea".....
:D 10 out of 10.
Mac that is the best quote on these boards for quite sometime!
Mobbenfuhrer
25 Oct 2002, 12:55
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
splitter!
McAlmanac
25 Oct 2002, 12:56
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
I am pleased. Now I can have my $6.50 lunch on Victoria Street content in the knowledge that I have done something good today. :)
McAlmanac
25 Oct 2002, 12:58
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
splitter!
Bruce Weber
Port Adelaide 1870
25 Oct 2002, 13:30
Albatross !, , Albatross !, Al-ba-tross !,
PA1870
Blues_Brat
25 Oct 2002, 14:11
Two choc ices please.
dreamkillers
25 Oct 2002, 14:17
As we're digressing slightly...........
Romanes Eunt Domus
[scary music]
CENTURION: What's this, then? 'Romanes Eunt Domus'? 'People called Romanes they go the house'?
BRIAN: It-- it says, 'Romans, go home'.
CENTURION: No, it doesn't. What's Latin for 'Roman'? Come on!
BRIAN: Aah!
CENTURION: Come on!
BRIAN: 'R-- Romanus'?
CENTURION: Goes like...?
BRIAN: 'Annus'?
CENTURION: Vocative plural of 'annus' is...?
BRIAN: Eh. 'Anni'?
CENTURION: 'Romani'. 'Eunt'? What is 'eunt'?
BRIAN: 'Go'. Let--
CENTURION: Conjugate the verb 'to go'.
BRIAN: Uh. 'Ire'. Uh, 'eo'. 'Is'. 'It'. 'Imus'. 'Itis'. 'Eunt'.
CENTURION: So 'eunt' is...?
BRIAN: Ah, huh, third person plural, uh, present indicative. Uh, 'they go'.
CENTURION: But 'Romans, go home' is an order, so you must use the...?
BRIAN: The... imperative!
CENTURION: Which is...?
BRIAN: Umm! Oh. Oh. Um, 'i'. 'I'!
CENTURION: How many Romans?
BRIAN: Ah! 'I'-- Plural. Plural. 'Ite'. 'Ite'.
CENTURION: 'Ite'.
BRIAN: Ah. Eh.
CENTURION: 'Domus'?
BRIAN: Eh.
CENTURION: Nominative?
BRIAN: Oh.
CENTURION: 'Go home'? This is motion towards. Isn't it, boy?
BRIAN: Ah. Ah, dative, sir! Ahh! No, not dative! Not the dative, sir! No! Ah! Oh, the... accusative! Accusative! Ah! 'Domum', sir! 'Ad domum'! Ah! Oooh! Ah!
CENTURION: Except that 'domus' takes the...?
BRIAN: The locative, sir!
CENTURION: Which is...?!
BRIAN: 'Domum'.
CENTURION: 'Domum'.
BRIAN: Aaah! Ah.
CENTURION: 'Um'. Understand?
BRIAN: Yes, sir.
CENTURION: Now, write it out a hundred times.
BRIAN: Yes, sir. Thank you, sir. Hail Caesar, sir.
CENTURION: Hail Caesar. If it's not done by sunrise, I'll cut your balls off.
BRIAN: Oh, thank you, sir. Thank you, sir. Hail Caesar and everything, sir! Oh. Mmm!
Finished!
http://www.mwscomp.com/movies/brian/inlines/08_finis.jpg
ROMAN SOLDIER STIG: Right. Now don't do it again.
[CENTURIONS chase BRIAN]
http://www.mwscomp.com/movies/brian/inlines/08_chase.jpg
MAN: Hey! Bloody Romans.
Port Adelaide 1870
25 Oct 2002, 15:17
Poor WAFLwatcha, what have we done to his thread....
sorry mate..Darn South Aussies and Porpowa followers.
Oh..well..just remember this...
Always look on the Bright side of life ..........
PA1870:D
Uncle Steve
25 Oct 2002, 15:49
(Well, since this thread has devolved into parodies of Monty Python sketches, I reckon I'll just go with the flow...)
----------------
Host: Good evening. One of the most passionate Port Adelaide Power supporters of this age, or indeed of any age, is Mr. Port Adelaide 1870. He has just completed a diatribe on the Power's history on the BigFooty Regional Leagues board and we are very fortunate to have him here in the studio this evening.
PA1870: Good evening.
Host: Port Adelaide... you don't mind if I call you Port Adelaide?
PA1870: No, not at all.
Host: Because it does worry some people - I don't know why - but they are a little sensitive so I take the precaution of asking on these occasions.
PA1870: No, that's fine.
Host: So Port Adelaide's all right. Splendid. Splendid. I'm sorry to have brought it up, only, eh...
PA1870: No, no. Port Adelaide it is.
Host: Well, thank you very much for being so helpful... only it's more than my job's worth to... er...
PA1870: Quite, yes.
Host: Makes it rather difficult to establish a rapport... to put the other person at their ease...
PA1870: Quite.
Host: Yes, silly little point but it does seem to matter. Still - less said the better. Um... Power... when you first started in... you don't mind if I call you Power?
PA1870: No, no, no, everyone calls me Power.
Host: Well it's shorter, isn't it.
PA1870: Yes it is.
Host: Yes, and much less formal!
PA1870: Yes, Power, Port, anything!
Host: Splendid, splendid. Incidentally, do call me Steve, I don't want you playing with any of this Uncle Stephen nonsense, ha ha ha! Now where were we? Ah yes. Port Power, when you first started in the...
PA1870: I'm sorry, but I don't like being called Port Power.
Host: I'm sorry?
PA1870: I don't like being called Port Power.
Host: Did I call you Port Power?
PA1870: Yes, you did. Now get on with it.
Host: I don't think I did call you Port Power.
PA1870: You did call me Port Power.
Host: (Looking off-screen) Did I call him Port Power?
Voices: Yes. No. Yes
Host: I didn't really call you Port Power, did I, PAP Smear?
PA1870: Don't call me PAP Smear!
Host: Can I call you Flower Power?
PA1870: No.
Host: Power Failure?
PA1870: No!
Host: Power Tool?
PA1870: No you may not! Now get on with it!
Host: Frank?
PA1870: What?
Host: Can I call you Frank?
PA1870: Why Frank?
Host: It's a nice name. Robin Day's got a hedgehog called Frank.
PA1870: What is going on?
Host: Frannie, little Frannie, Frannie Knickers...
PA1870: (Getting up) No. I'm leaving. I'm leaving, I'm off...
Host: Tell us about the history of Port Adelaide, PA1870.
PA1870: (Off-screen) What?
Host: Tell us about your club's history, if you'd be so kind, PA1870.
PA1870: (Returning) None of this "Flower Power" nonsense?
Host: Promise. (Pats seat.) Please, PA1870.
PA1870: (Sitting down) My club's history?
Host: Yes, PA1870.
PA1870: Well the club, funnily enough, came from an idea had by some boys at the Port in 1870. Of course in those days I was only a wharf worker...
Host: Oh shut up!
----------------
see http://www.graphicszone.net/monty_python/scripts/Series_1/4.htm for the original.
PS - good to see you dreamy, where you been?
Port Adelaide 1870
25 Oct 2002, 16:25
Freakin' Porpowa1894 is a Comedy star !!!!!
:D :D
Thankyou, thankyouverymuch, POwerpieman1843 haz left the building:cool: :cool:
cue: duh dada daaaaaa, duh dardardarrrrrrrrrrrr...
PA2001 a space oddysey:D
dreamkillers
25 Oct 2002, 17:30
PS - good to see you dreamy, where you been?
Cheers.......
Only got back from holidays in Adelaide just over a week ago and have been pretty busy catching up with things and getting warm again (I think there was 2 days in the 5 weeks I was down there where the temp got above 20)..............
As usual didn't quite do half the things I wanted to do whilst down south but had a good break from work which was the main thing...........
Now just have the joys of a house shift to get through in the next 4 weeks...........:D
timelord
30 Oct 2002, 20:26
Just quickly picking something up on this Port Power business.
First off, PA1870 is right. Both clubs are called Port Adelaide. The reason the media persists with Port Power is to make sure people don't confuse the Power with the Magpies. OK maybe I'm stating the obvious there, but I thought I'd point that out.
And PA1870, I look forward to you getting to the AFL "from within". Nice thinking I have to admit - even though I still have a problem with ANY money going into the hands of an AFL club. But that's your choice. Personally - I wouldn't do it, but that's me.
Kev, I think Sydney got the message that the fact that they were calling themselves "The Swans" wasn't putting bums on seats. I called them Sydney right from the start in 1982 - just like I still call the Kangaroos North Melbourne now. Hopefully North will get a similar message - given that their push to get a national base without a home base is a dismal failure (and was always going to be IMO).
Lastly, yes - all this talk about Port Adelaide has taken this thread of it's root topic.
Port Adelaide 1870
30 Oct 2002, 21:27
Originally posted by timelord
Just quickly picking something up on this Port Power business.
First off, PA1870 is right. Both clubs are called Port Adelaide. The reason the media persists with Port Power is to make sure people don't confuse the Power with the Magpies. OK maybe I'm stating the obvious there, but I thought I'd point that out.
And PA1870, I look forward to you getting to the AFL "from within". Nice thinking I have to admit - even though I still have a problem with ANY money going into the hands of an AFL club. But that's your choice. Personally - I wouldn't do it, but that's me.
Kev, I think Sydney got the message that the fact that they were calling themselves "The Swans" wasn't putting bums on seats. I called them Sydney right from the start in 1982 - just like I still call the Kangaroos North Melbourne now. Hopefully North will get a similar message - given that their push to get a national base without a home base is a dismal failure (and was always going to be IMO).
Lastly, yes - all this talk about Port Adelaide has taken this thread of it's root topic.
Dont worry Timelord..Its a very Adelaide thing...Non Port people trying to derail anything Port...
regrds
PA1870
Unley Legend
31 Oct 2002, 21:16
Originally posted by dreamkillers
As we're digressing slightly...........
Romanes Eunt Domus
[scary music]
CENTURION: What's this, then? 'Romanes Eunt Domus'? 'People called Romanes they go the house'?
BRIAN: It-- it says, 'Romans, go home'.
CENTURION: No, it doesn't. What's Latin for 'Roman'? Come on!
BRIAN: Aah!
CENTURION: Come on!
BRIAN: 'R-- Romanus'?
CENTURION: Goes like...?
BRIAN: 'Annus'?
CENTURION: Vocative plural of 'annus' is...?
BRIAN: Eh. 'Anni'?
CENTURION: 'Romani'. 'Eunt'? What is 'eunt'?
BRIAN: 'Go'. Let--
CENTURION: Conjugate the verb 'to go'.
BRIAN: Uh. 'Ire'. Uh, 'eo'. 'Is'. 'It'. 'Imus'. 'Itis'. 'Eunt'.
CENTURION: So 'eunt' is...?
BRIAN: Ah, huh, third person plural, uh, present indicative. Uh, 'they go'.
CENTURION: But 'Romans, go home' is an order, so you must use the...?
BRIAN: The... imperative!
CENTURION: Which is...?
BRIAN: Umm! Oh. Oh. Um, 'i'. 'I'!
CENTURION: How many Romans?
BRIAN: Ah! 'I'-- Plural. Plural. 'Ite'. 'Ite'.
CENTURION: 'Ite'.
BRIAN: Ah. Eh.
CENTURION: 'Domus'?
BRIAN: Eh.
CENTURION: Nominative?
BRIAN: Oh.
CENTURION: 'Go home'? This is motion towards. Isn't it, boy?
BRIAN: Ah. Ah, dative, sir! Ahh! No, not dative! Not the dative, sir! No! Ah! Oh, the... accusative! Accusative! Ah! 'Domum', sir! 'Ad domum'! Ah! Oooh! Ah!
CENTURION: Except that 'domus' takes the...?
BRIAN: The locative, sir!
CENTURION: Which is...?!
BRIAN: 'Domum'.
CENTURION: 'Domum'.
BRIAN: Aaah! Ah.
CENTURION: 'Um'. Understand?
BRIAN: Yes, sir.
CENTURION: Now, write it out a hundred times.
BRIAN: Yes, sir. Thank you, sir. Hail Caesar, sir.
CENTURION: Hail Caesar. If it's not done by sunrise, I'll cut your balls off.
BRIAN: Oh, thank you, sir. Thank you, sir. Hail Caesar and everything, sir! Oh. Mmm!
Finished!
http://www.mwscomp.com/movies/brian/inlines/08_finis.jpg
ROMAN SOLDIER STIG: Right. Now don't do it again.
[CENTURIONS chase BRIAN]
http://www.mwscomp.com/movies/brian/inlines/08_chase.jpg
MAN: Hey! Bloody Romans.
On a positive note-you've shown excellent taste.
On a negative note-you've shown you have too much time on your hands!
P.S.- I found one of our birds dead on ther bottom of the cage during the week, and all I could think of was-"Nah, he's pining for the fiords", " that is an ex parrot, bereft of life, gone to meet it's maker, that parrot wouldn't move if you put 40,000 volts through it, etc, etc."
timelord
1 Nov 2002, 07:23
P.S.- I found one of our birds dead on ther bottom of the cage during the week, and all I could think of was-"Nah, he's pining for the fiords", " that is an ex parrot, bereft of life, gone to meet it's maker, that parrot wouldn't move if you put 40,000 volts through it, etc, etc."
Did you get a sloth to replace it then? :D :D :D :D :D
Unley Legend
1 Nov 2002, 08:58
I was thinking of an African Swallow, but , of course, they're non-migratory!