TheSaviour
14 Oct 2008, 12:25
About 3 World cups.

dr nick
14 Oct 2008, 12:27
next thread.

dr nick
14 Oct 2008, 12:29
ps: the injuns rate the 20/20 world cup higher than the ODI. Strange but true.

TheSaviour
14 Oct 2008, 12:34
Of course they do..they are Indian.

Anyway we won't make the same mistake in England next year.

King Elvis
14 Oct 2008, 13:07
ps: the injuns rate the 20/20 world cup higher than the ODI. Strange but true.

They wouldn't if they hadn't won it.

TheSaviour - I think there are also a few Test wins difference too :)

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 14:06
What is the purpose of this thread? Lol. Absolutely moronic

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 14:09
They wouldn't if they hadn't won it.

TheSaviour - I think there are also a few Test wins difference too :)

Overall we are just better than them arent we? We are just the most dominant team to have ever played the game. You guys should get a spot on the Australian Olympic commentary team. If we lose, its because we made mistakes, not because anybody else was our match or better than us on the day.

TimeIsRunningOut
14 Oct 2008, 14:23
Overall we are just better than them arent we? We are just the most dominant team to have ever played the game.

Well, yes.

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 14:27
Well no.

Windies of the 80's would have ripped any international team going around a new one

Marshall
Ambrose
Walsh
Garner
Roberts
Croft

Mind you the Aussie teams of the 70's and 80's werent exactly crap - Chappell, Lillee, Thommo. Its just that the Windies were that good they made every team look stupid.

dr nick
14 Oct 2008, 14:29
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v387/nicko18/85116bb3.jpg

TimeIsRunningOut
14 Oct 2008, 14:32
Well no.

Windies of the 80's would have ripped any international team going around a new one

Marshall
Ambrose
Walsh
Garner
Roberts
Croft

Mind you the Aussie teams of the 70's and 80's werent exactly crap - Chappell, Lillee, Thommo. Its just that the Windies were that good they made every team look stupid.

How many times did they win 16 tests in a row?

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 14:39
The competition of world cricket back in the 70's and 80's was a lot different to the landscape Australia had when they started their dominance.

Look at who Australia were coming up against back then:

Imran Khan
Miandad
Gower
Gavaskar
Richards
Haynes
Greenidge
Sobers
Hadlee
Crowe
(you could probably list another 20 who would be considered champions today but back then they were relegated to the back seat).

Windies beat these teams consistently. Infact didnt beat them. Usually battered them.

While Australia won 16 tests in a row, its fair to say the world cricket talent pool was at one of its lowest ebbs. Not taking anything away from the effort but you have to look at it comparitively against some of the geniuses listed above. I heard an interview with Dean Jones on SEN and he said the Windies of the late 70's and early 80's were the most terrifying bowlers he had ever faced.

dr nick
14 Oct 2008, 14:44
It's only cos australia were whacking their opponents in the early parts of this decade that people are under the impression world cricket was weak. Difference is Zimbabwe and Bangladesh, never should have been on the circuit, bit like SL in the early days and NZ before them. And of course the windies never played south africa in those days.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v387/nicko18/Untitledpicture.png

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 14:48
It's only cos australia were whacking their opponents from pillar to post in the early parts of this decade that people are under the impression world cricket was weak. Difference is Zimbabwe and Bangladesh, never should have been on the circuit, bit like SL in the early days and NZ before them.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v387/nicko18/Untitledpicture.png

If you think that the talent in world cricket in the early 2000's was on par when Lillee and Thommo were running around, you are deluded.

dr nick
14 Oct 2008, 14:53
Thommo wouldnt even make the current aussie side - so nobody had yet faced a ball > 140km/h.

Some people have the 'in my day' syndrome.

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 14:54
Ooops left Whispering Death himself, Michael Holding out of that bowling lineup :)

TimeIsRunningOut
14 Oct 2008, 14:56
Regardless of which era was better Australia dominated the game far more than the Windies did in the 80s. Thus we actually are the most dominant team to have played the game (as you mentioned sarcastically).

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 14:58
Thommo wouldnt even make the current aussie side - so nobody had yet faced a ball > 140km/h.

You think speed made him a great bowler? Hahahah mate that is the most ridiculous statement ever made.

dr nick
14 Oct 2008, 15:00
Imran Khan (Waqar/Wasim)
Miandad (Inzamam)
Gower (Hick)
Gavaskar (Tendulkar)
Richards (Lara)
Haynes (Dravid)
Greenidge (Kirsten)
Sobers (Kallis)
Hadlee (Bond)
Crowe (Cairns)

to name but a few

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 15:01
Regardless of which era was better Australia dominated the game far more than the Windies did in the 80s. Thus we actually are the most dominant team to have played the game (as you mentioned sarcastically).

Fair enough. I guess based on your love of statistics, once Tendulkar takes over as the greatest run maker ever, he sh*ts all over Bradman right? Did it over a longer period of time than the great Don didnt he?

We all know thats not true. Even the most biased of Indian supporters would admit that. Stats say one thing but there are other circumstances you need to take in to account.

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 15:04
Imran Khan (Waqar/Wasim)
Miandad (Inzamam)
Gower (Hick)
Gavaskar (Tendulkar)
Richards (Lara)
Haynes (Dravid)
Greenidge (Kirsten)
Sobers (Kallis)
Hadlee (Bond)
Crowe (Cairns)

to name but a few

I am ROFL at some of your comparisons. When were you born? Are you still at school?

Sobers = Kallis would have to be the funniest post ever made on BF. Congratulations

dr nick
14 Oct 2008, 15:06
I am ROFL at some of your comparisons. When were you born? Are you still at school?

Sobers = Kallis would have to be the funniest post ever made on BF. Congratulations

some of those players you listed are laughable with batting averages in the mid 40's.

That is substandard in this current era. In my day syndrome... but the funniest thing is you highlighted less then half of them. Could include gilchrist, ponting, hayden, warne, mcgrath as well who trump a fair majority of the in my day windians.

Leo Barry You Star
14 Oct 2008, 15:10
Imran Khan (Waqar/Wasim)
Miandad (Inzamam)
Gower (Hick)
Gavaskar (Tendulkar)
Richards (Lara)
Haynes (Dravid)
Greenidge (Kirsten)
Sobers (Kallis)
Hadlee (Bond)
Crowe (Cairns)

to name but a few
Are you high?

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 15:15
some of those players you listed are laughable with batting averages in the mid 40's.

That is substandard in this current era. In my day syndrome... but the funniest thing is you highlighted less then half of them. Could include gilchrist, ponting, hayden, warne, mcgrath as well who trump a fair majority of the in my day windians.

Agreed these are all great players but exactly who in my list is "laughable"? With the exception of Crowe perhaps, the rest were all modern day marvels.

Out of your Aussie only list (ofcourse thats how you think) Id rate Warne, McGrath and Ponting well ahead of Hayden and Gilchrist. I suppose with Jeff Thompson not getting a game because the Aussie team is so strong now, you would also drop Greg Chappell, Allan Border and Dennis Lillee for being "yesterdays' men.:rolleyes:

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 15:15
Are you high?

Hahahah GOLD! My thoughts exactly.

Papa G
14 Oct 2008, 15:20
For those too young to remember the West Indian teams of the early 80's you really need to STFU. When Courtney Walsh is your worst bowler and Clive Lloyd is your worst batsman, you know you've got a very very good team. I doubt there will ever be a team of such quality put together again. The only thing they lacked was a good spinner - but they didn't really need one.

cozmoz
14 Oct 2008, 15:22
guys i am an indian from delhi but i barrack for oz
i use to support india but since the 2003 world cup, i have supported oz(though i did support india for 1 test and 5 odis against pakistan in 2004)
the reason why i want the indian to loose all the time (i have wanted that since the 2003 world cup) is because of the overhype

consider this, india's population is about 55 bigger than oz and cricket in india is more than ten times bigger than oz, in india we have the richest cricket board, cricketers are the biggest so called celebs in india, cricket is our only major sport yet historically, we have not had even half the success rate compared to oz

whenever i open television here, i see cricket this, cricket that, criket everywhere-why such a big deal is made about, r in country it is cricket from 1 to 10
we have never even had a team that has been ever close to the top in a sport that has at max had seven competitive teams

we are around 1.2 billion and another around 25 million abroad yet there is only word that can describe r cricket and thats hype and not excellence ,indian cricket is a deadly mix of overzealous fans, slothful administrators and pampered players, we are just a one eyed, jingoistic country that cannot see the facts when it comes to cricket, haistyles of cricketers make 1st page headlines, every news channel gives 6 hours to cricket everyday, cricket and not war makes news in our media that is complete tabloid.

and can someone answer,why do indians abroad support india and not the country they are in?

i_hate_scams
14 Oct 2008, 15:30
back to the topic

they can give it but they cant take it...

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 15:36
guys i am an indian from delhi but i barrack for oz
i use to support india but since the 2003 world cup, i have supported oz(though i did support india for 1 test and 5 odis against pakistan in 2004)
the reason why i want the indian to loose all the time (i have wanted that since the 2003 world cup) is because of the overhype

consider this, india's population is about 55 bigger than oz and cricket in india is more than ten times bigger than oz, in india we have the richest cricket board, cricketers are the biggest so called celebs in india, cricket is our only major sport yet historically, we have not had even half the success rate compared to oz

whenever i open television here, i see cricket this, cricket that, criket everywhere-why such a big deal is made about, r in country it is cricket from 1 to 10
we have never even had a team that has been ever close to the top in a sport that has at max had seven competitive teams

we are around 1.2 billion and another around 25 million abroad yet there is only word that can describe r cricket and thats hype and not excellence ,indian cricket is a deadly mix of overzealous fans, slothful administrators and pampered players, we are just a one eyed, jingoistic country that cannot see the facts when it comes to cricket, haistyles of cricketers make 1st page headlines, every news channel gives 6 hours to cricket everyday, cricket and not war makes news in our media that is complete tabloid.

and can someone answer,why do indians abroad support india and not the country they are in?

Its an interesting one. A lot of Aussies will say its an obligation to cheer on the home team because you live in this country. But I think there are individual circumstances that not everyone understands.

For example I was born in Australia but my parents are immigrants. We came out here in the early 70's and despite what many people tend to believe (or ignore) there was a lot of racism back then, especially for coloured people like my parents and myself. Infact I have some pretty appalling stories which I wont share on here, I think it brought out an us against them mentality unfortunately and in many ways, when it comes to coloured teams playing Australia, I usually support the opposition.

Many might view that wrong but its a personal experience. I dont hold anything against the Aussie teams, respect them if anything but just dont like them. Still I couldnt imagine living anywhere else in the world. Im truly blessed to be an Aussie as are my family...just will never support them in cricket lol.

cozmoz
14 Oct 2008, 15:44
Its an interesting one. A lot of Aussies will say its an obligation to cheer on the home team because you live in this country. But I think there are individual circumstances that not everyone understands.

For example I was born in Australia but my parents are immigrants. We came out here in the early 70's and despite what many people tend to believe (or ignore) there was a lot of racism back then, especially for coloured people like my parents and myself. Infact I have some pretty appalling stories which I wont share on here, I think it brought out an us against them mentality unfortunately and in many ways, when it comes to coloured teams playing Australia, I usually support the opposition.

Many might view that wrong but its a personal experience. I dont hold anything against the Aussie teams, respect them if anything but just dont like them. Still I couldnt imagine living anywhere else in the world. Im truly blessed to be an Aussie as are my family...just will never support them in cricket lol.

i can completely understand what you are saying.
so should i conclude that those of indian origin born in oz support india as well as those of indian origin born outside of australia but living in oz?
are you an indian aussie?

cozmoz
14 Oct 2008, 15:45

so should i conclude that those of indian origin born in oz support india as well as those of indian origin born outside of australia but living in oz?

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 16:06

Im not Indian mate. Where I am from isnt really that important, it was more making a point regarding your issue with immigrants supporting their country of heritage rather than country of residence.

From what I can see of the Indians that live here they are a pretty patriotic lot and I dont see anything wrong with that. You have to remember that the Indians have 000's of years of culture and with that comes a lot of passion. Nothing wrong with them supporting the mother country IMO as long as they appreciate Australia for giving them what they have. I know I do.

Its what makes Australia great - everyone gets a fair say. If you did that in America you would be gunned down lol.

cozmoz
14 Oct 2008, 16:18
Im not Indian mate. Where I am from isnt really that important, it was more making a point regarding your issue with immigrants supporting their country of heritage rather than country of residence.

From what I can see of the Indians that live here they are a pretty patriotic lot and I dont see anything wrong with that. You have to remember that the Indians have 000's of years of culture and with that comes a lot of passion. Nothing wrong with them supporting the mother country IMO as long as they appreciate Australia for giving them what they have. I know I do.

Its what makes Australia great - everyone gets a fair say. If you did that in America you would be gunned down lol.

wonderful post but i have a few doubt, mate, can u make a few clarifications please.u can answer them in one line, i am curious as an indian who barracks for oz, i am sick of the hype in india and i see a purity in athletes in oz

1)are cricketers as well known as any sportstars in oz?

2)who are the most well known stars in oz?like in india, its cricketers and bollywood actors and bollywood actresses.
are they sportstars and australian hollywood actors and australian hollywood actresses?

3)so please clarify kindly, who do aussies of indian origin support and i am talking about both who are born in oz and outside oz.

thanx mate

dr nick
14 Oct 2008, 18:13
Agreed these are all great players but exactly who in my list is "laughable"? With the exception of Crowe perhaps, the rest were all modern day marvels.

Basically you say the talent pool was at its lowest ebb at the turn of the century, yet half of the players you listed from the in my day era, not really much statistically to write home about.

For instance:
Desmond Haynes averaged 42. Greenidge 44. Langer and Hayden trounce that. So do a fair few openers around the circuit. Richards, the master blaster, averaged 50. A hugely intimidating player in a era of run rates below 2, but fairly commonplace these days to have middle order bats at 50 striking above 60.

Not sure why you included david gower in your list, and youve said enough about Crowe.

The talent pool was not as shallow as the some try to make out... compared to the late 70's early 80's there are still many great players, and that is excluding all players from Australia, the side that dominated cricket at the turn of the century.

There will probably never be another sobers, but cmon - are you including him in the same era as the others youve listed? you're covering 20-30 years. Include Richie Benaud too.

DT_fanatic
14 Oct 2008, 18:28
*in reference to the opening post

obviously some insecurity on show. it's okay, australia are still #1. if that makes you feel better.

Zarrix
14 Oct 2008, 18:42
Australia has 20 million people, India has 1.1 billion ;)

YOTC
14 Oct 2008, 18:55
You think speed made him a great bowler? Hahahah mate that is the most ridiculous statement ever made.
Speed certainly didn't make him a great bowler. He was never a great bowler.

One trick pony.

dan warna
14 Oct 2008, 19:48
in part right, gower and hick were both overrated rubbish players :thumbsu:

cozmoz
14 Oct 2008, 20:13
Australia has 20 million people, India has 1.1 billion ;)
our population is about 1.2 billion

btw can u please help me by answering these, please mate, please

1)are cricketers as well known as stars from any other sport in oz?

2)stars from which all fields are the most well known stars in oz?

3)who do aussies of indian origin support and i am talking about both who are born in oz and outside oz?

Bennycoff
14 Oct 2008, 20:15
India are the most overrated team in the world. They have underperformed for years yet the cricketing public continue to talk them up as one of the greatest sides ever produced. Fact is they are a team of individuals who are more worried about themselves and their money than their teammates. Ganguly, Tendulkar, Dravid, Laxman, Sehwag...five class batsman yet the team continually struggles to perform well. They have quality spinners and decent enough quicks as well. Everyone talks India up and they've never won a series in Australia.
Overrated and thats it. Imagine if they performed like Australia...

India = overrated.

cozmoz
14 Oct 2008, 20:31
India are the most overrated team in the world. They have underperformed for years yet the cricketing public continue to talk them up as one of the greatest sides ever produced. Fact is they are a team of individuals who are more worried about themselves and their money than their teammates. Ganguly, Tendulkar, Dravid, Laxman, Sehwag...five class batsman yet the team continually struggles to perform well. They have quality spinners and decent enough quicks as well. Everyone talks India up and they've never won a series in Australia.
Overrated and thats it. Imagine if they performed like Australia...

India = overrated.
mate, the hype here in india is nauseating, its not in the subcontinent, only in india, because of which 5 years ago, i stopped supporting our indian cricketers who are jerks and started supporting oz who win, with the exception of tendulkar/dravid/ganguly/dhoni, all indian cricketers are average or ordinary performers though each indian cricketer is a hyped up sook

ponting said that cricket in india is more than 10 times bigger compared to oz coz we have no other major sports and our population is about 55 times bigger than oz and because we have 2 dozen 24x7 news channels that are no news and all tabloid and each one of them show cricket for 6 hours a day, then we also have a dozen so called sports channels that show cricket 24x7, our media is the biggest piece of sh!t with their one-eyed opinions and jingoism

now
can u please help me by answering these, please mate, please

1)are cricketers as well known as stars from any other sport in oz?

2)stars from which all fields are the most well known stars in oz?

3)who do aussies of indian origin support and i am talking about both who are born in oz and outside oz?

Bennycoff
14 Oct 2008, 20:41
1. No they are not. Some are well known however football stars in Victoria are far more well known and talked about than cricketers. I'm sure its the same for rugby in NSW and Qld. They are well known but other sports stars are more popular.

2. AFL/rugby.

3. I'm not sure however I know a few Indian guys who support Australia even though they were born and lived in India for some time. But a lot still follow India closely.

cozmoz
14 Oct 2008, 20:51
1. No they are not. Some are well known however football stars in Victoria are far more well known and talked about than cricketers. I'm sure its the same for rugby in NSW and Qld. They are well known but other sports stars are more popular.

2. AFL/rugby.

3. I'm not sure however I know a few Indian guys who support Australia even though they were born and lived in India for some time. But a lot still follow India closely.
mate, i am confused,
1)would u say that on a national level overall cricketers are not as popular as afl and nrl players?
2)of all the fields, who are the most popular people in oz overall on a national scale?is it sportspeople?if yes, then what all sports?

Bennycoff
14 Oct 2008, 20:59
afl and nrl would be more popular especially in their respective states.

sportspeople are very popular as are movie actors. probably sportspeople first i dunno.

cozmoz
14 Oct 2008, 21:20
afl and nrl would be more popular especially in their respective states.

sportspeople are very popular as are movie actors. probably sportspeople first i dunno.
geez i am pulling my hair out, this sweeney survey has 6 crickters in the top 11

1)i am asking u taking into account the whole of australia overall, players from which all sport/sports are most well known in oz?

2)and who all considered a-list stars in oz, as in people from what all fields, afl?nrl?cricket?aussies who act in hollywood?music??

Romeo
14 Oct 2008, 21:22
There are more footy players known to the public obviously because of the greater numbers playing but Punter would be more recognised in all states than any rugby or Aussie Rules player because for eg. in NSW, they're rather ignorant in general re. the native game and most states outside of NSW and Qld, aren't really into rugby.

I think the Windies of around the early 80s are the best team I've seen. When you're talking dominance you have to distinguish between team and country. We are the latter because we've regularly churned out world champion teams but which team are we talking about? Our great era has spanned a dozen years or more and the teams have been fluid with many changes.

On another note it's a pity SA was banned in the 70s as that was their golden era. Not only did they produce the ones who thrashed us 4-0, but there were a host of other stars who never got to strut their stuff but dominated county cricket and pundits were in awe of their ability.

Imagine the 70s with tests between the Windies, us and SA.

DT_fanatic
14 Oct 2008, 21:56
lol @ cozmoz sucking up to all the australian supporters so that you guys answer his questions

Phil McCreviss
14 Oct 2008, 22:18
Basically you say the talent pool was at its lowest ebb at the turn of the century, yet half of the players you listed from the in my day era, not really much statistically to write home about.

For instance:
Desmond Haynes averaged 42. Greenidge 44. Langer and Hayden trounce that. So do a fair few openers around the circuit. Richards, the master blaster, averaged 50. A hugely intimidating player in a era of run rates below 2, but fairly commonplace these days to have middle order bats at 50 striking above 60.

Not sure why you included david gower in your list, and youve said enough about Crowe.

The talent pool was not as shallow as the some try to make out... compared to the late 70's early 80's there are still many great players, and that is excluding all players from Australia, the side that dominated cricket at the turn of the century.

There will probably never be another sobers, but cmon - are you including him in the same era as the others youve listed? you're covering 20-30 years. Include Richie Benaud too.

Your argument fails on the highlighted part above. Firstly, try actually getting the bat to hit the ball when you have players like Croft, Lillee, Marshall, Holding and Hadlee bowling at you. With all due respect to your main man Hayden, he would get owned by each of these bowlers and then some.

Richards, the master blaster, was exactly that. He destroyed teams while facing up to Lillee, Khan and the rest of the awesome bowlers going around then. Can you comprehend how difficult that is? Its why Allan Border and Chappell have it all over players like Hayden and always will. They had to earn their runs against some frightening attacks. So say what you like about your stats but they dont mean jack. If you can come up with more than 3 or 4 great (and I mean great) all time opposition bowlers that Hayden has faced you might have an argument. Chappell and Border had to do that every single game and on some occasions, 4 great bowlers in 1 team. Think about having 2 McGraths and 2 Warnes and you might be able to comprehend it and might explain why batsmans averages were a little lower back then.

Also you lost all credibility when you compared Kallis to Sobers. That was either really ignorant or as somebody else suggested, you are high.

ManWithNoName
14 Oct 2008, 22:31
Test Match Wins

Indian National Cricket Team (Est 1932): 93 wins

Ricky Ponting (Debuted 1995): 84 wins

India are the Collingwood of Cricket. All the money and people in the world and yet nothing to show for it.

dr nick
14 Oct 2008, 22:33
yet you say how great greenidge, haynes and richards are without having to face any of the windies attack. Well overrated by the wouldve beens. Their averages are ho hum. Hussey would be disgusted.

in my day... blah blah blah. Their poor averages and slow run rates speak for themselves. Imran khan is just laughable - look at his bowling average and tell me he is a patch on mcgrath. Delusional. 2 warnes? nice to see youve even dug out the pre-sobers era on top of that to scrounge your half a dozen players or any spinners of note.

i_hate_scams
15 Oct 2008, 08:10
Test Match Wins

India are the Collingwood of Cricket. All the money and people in the world and yet nothing to show for it.

that really saids it all doesnt it?

nuey
15 Oct 2008, 09:38
Your argument fails on the highlighted part above. Firstly, try actually getting the bat to hit the ball when you have players like Croft, Lillee, Marshall, Holding and Hadlee bowling at you. With all due respect to your main man Hayden, he would get owned by each of these bowlers and then some.

Richards, the master blaster, was exactly that. He destroyed teams while facing up to Lillee, Khan and the rest of the awesome bowlers going around then. Can you comprehend how difficult that is? Its why Allan Border and Chappell have it all over players like Hayden and always will. They had to earn their runs against some frightening attacks. So say what you like about your stats but they dont mean jack. If you can come up with more than 3 or 4 great (and I mean great) all time opposition bowlers that Hayden has faced you might have an argument. Chappell and Border had to do that every single game and on some occasions, 4 great bowlers in 1 team. Think about having 2 McGraths and 2 Warnes and you might be able to comprehend it and might explain why batsmans averages were a little lower back then.

Also you lost all credibility when you compared Kallis to Sobers. That was either really ignorant or as somebody else suggested, you are high.

too true. we just wont see an era with bowlers of that quality again. just amazing to consider the windies team alone, garner, holding, croft, marshall all in one team! pity the game is all about the batsmen these days, hence the higher averages

Punchy Bassett
15 Oct 2008, 09:57
Test Match Wins

:eek: That can't be right surely? If so that is an amazing stat!

Phil McCreviss
15 Oct 2008, 10:04
yet you say how great greenidge, haynes and richards are without having to face any of the windies attack. Well overrated by the wouldve beens. Their averages are ho hum. Hussey would be disgusted.

in my day... blah blah blah. Their poor averages and slow run rates speak for themselves. Imran khan is just laughable - look at his bowling average and tell me he is a patch on mcgrath. Delusional. 2 warnes? nice to see youve even dug out the pre-sobers era on top of that to scrounge your half a dozen players or any spinners of note.

Has anyone on this thread backed up any of your arguments? Read through it! You must be 12 and think the cricket world ends with Hussey and Hayden lol. Border and Chappell centuries>>>>>>>>>.Hayden and Husseys total career. Clown!:rolleyes:

TigerCraig
15 Oct 2008, 11:10

Thommo ahead of Johnson, Watson and probably Clark

cozmoz
15 Oct 2008, 21:16
lol @ cozmoz sucking up to all the australian supporters so that you guys answer his questions
U R A BIG IDIOT, U R A BIG TWAT, A BIG FOOL, A BIG DUMBO

why can't i support australia?

and it takes a minute for anyone to answer.

i would be living in australia after a year.

cozmoz
15 Oct 2008, 21:21
Test Match Wins

collingwood are great, and aus have a small population, competition from sevral other vfl/afl clubs and sports and not a lot of money, though good sporting infrastructure, high earning population, they(magpies) have won afl/vfl 16 times

india have historically won about 20 percent test matches despite of no competition from other sports, a huge population and a lot of money though the sporting infrastructure is poor, so is the income of people

cozmoz
15 Oct 2008, 21:25
There are more footy players known to the public obviously because of the greater numbers playing but Punter would be more recognised in all states than any rugby or Aussie Rules player because for eg. in NSW, they're rather ignorant in general re. the native game and most states outside of NSW and Qld, aren't really into rugby.

I think the Windies of around the early 80s are the best team I've seen. When you're talking dominance you have to distinguish between team and country. We are the latter because we've regularly churned out world champion teams but which team are we talking about? Our great era has spanned a dozen years or more and the teams have been fluid with many changes.

On another note it's a pity SA was banned in the 70s as that was their golden era. Not only did they produce the ones who thrashed us 4-0, but there were a host of other stars who never got to strut their stuff but dominated county cricket and pundits were in awe of their ability.

Imagine the 70s with tests between the Windies, us and SA.
1) i mean international cricketers are as popular as sportstars from any other sport or not in australia?

2)who are the most well known people in oz?nrl and afl players, international cricketers and hollywood actors/actresses?

3)is cricket the no 2 sport everwhere in australia behind rugby league in nsw/qld/act and behind afl in rest of the places?

DoubleO7
15 Oct 2008, 23:02
collingwood are great, and aus have a small population, competition from sevral other vfl/afl clubs and sports and not a lot of money, though good sporting infrastructure, high earning population, they(magpies) have won afl/vfl 16 times

india have historically won about 20 percent test matches despite of no competition from other sports, a huge population and a lot of money though the sporting infrastructure is poor, so is the income of people

14 mate.

TigerCraig
16 Oct 2008, 07:56
In australia I think AFL players ...would be the most known.

Not in NSW or Queensland.

blackhead&boil
16 Oct 2008, 08:57

hadlee = bond is also pretty funny. :o

still, it's pretty clear that australia are more dominant than any other team has been in history. the windies in the 80's were intimidating and very difficult to beat, but they drew a lot of games. the current australian team has gone through extended periods where they have not ony won every single game but wrapping them up on the third day having lost 5 wickets in their only innings. they have taken dominance to a new level.

the argument that their opponents are weaker now is not relevant to the issue of dominance, unless you are using it to support the fact that they are more likely to dominate because of it. but really, how much weaker has the opposition been? they have appeared pretty weak when we have been beating their brains out, but seem to perform in other matches against other opposition. it's obvious that the stronger one team performs the weaker their opposition will appear to be. there are plenty of current day opposition players whose overall records rival the best of all time.

the difference between australia and india is our superior sanitation... :D

cozmoz
16 Oct 2008, 17:14
14 mate.
typing error mate

go swanies

cozmoz
16 Oct 2008, 17:18
In australia I think AFL players and cricketers would be the most known, with rugby league a little bit behind. Cricket fans are likely to not care much about actors/actresses, while people who don't follow sport would obviously know entertainment names more than sporting ones.

Cricket is the number one summer sport in popularity, AFL/rugby are played in winter.

(Also don't insult people like you did earlier, you'll end up suspended/banned from this board).
hi mate, i have insulted someone only after getting insulted, i never started it, good to speak to you, thanx, dude, champ

DT_fanatic
16 Oct 2008, 19:21
U R A BIG IDIOT, U R A BIG TWAT, A BIG FOOL, A BIG DUMBO

why can't i support australia?

and it takes a minute for anyone to answer.

i would be living in australia after a year.

jeez i hope for your sake you're 10.

yes, but you're not fooling anybody in your obvious attempts at sucking up.

that's nice, nobody cares.

cozmoz
16 Oct 2008, 19:29
jeez i hope for your sake you're 10.

yes, but you're not fooling anybody in your obvious attempts at sucking up.

that's nice, nobody cares.

very very very silly stuff written by you, very very very very very poor

i was born in sydney, my mother's parents live there, i wish to live there when the time is right, what is your stupid problem? u r just writing everything really really really really really crass

hi mate, i have insulted someone only after getting insulted, i never started it, good to speak to you, thanx, dude, champ

DT_fanatic
16 Oct 2008, 21:06
lol

alright 'champ'. im not going to bother arguing with you since you're not even actually responding to what im actually saying. just don't bring up your questions anywhere but the questions thread. thanks mate.

Alpha1
17 Oct 2008, 09:55
very very very silly stuff written by you, very very very very very poor

i was born in sydney, my mother's parents live there, i wish to live there when the time is right, what is your stupid problem? u r just writing everything really really really really really crass

cozmoz what you are doing does come across as sucking up. But hey that's fine. I follow India but I live here in Australia and I love this country, and I also love India. Thats the beauty of living in country's like Australia and India they are democratic country's and both are amazing places.

The 747
17 Oct 2008, 10:28
cozmoz what you are doing does come across as sucking up. But hey that's fine. I follow India but I lie here in Australia and I love this country, and I also love India. Thats the beauty of living in country's like Australia and India they are democratic country's and both are amazing places.

Get out :mad:

How can you not love our cricket team? :D

Alpha1
17 Oct 2008, 11:54
Get out :mad:

How can you not love our cricket team? :D

Good catch :thumbsu:

XFactor1979
17 Oct 2008, 12:28
india's got all the money
we have the talent

cozmoz
17 Oct 2008, 20:04
lol

alright 'champ'. im not going to bother arguing with you since you're not even actually responding to what im actually saying. just don't bring up your questions anywhere but the questions thread. thanks mate.

lol, i am not going bother

i have said many times that i would stick to pm or that one thread for the questions

cozmoz
17 Oct 2008, 20:11
cozmoz what you are doing does come across as sucking up. But hey that's fine. I follow India but I live here in Australia and I love this country, and I also love India. Thats the beauty of living in country's like Australia and India they are democratic country's and both are amazing places.

very stupid comments by you

i would be living in australia in a couple of years time out of choice

and the indian cricket team makes be sick

since 2003 world cup, i have been supporting the aussie cricket team and not the indian cricket team(i wanted the indian team to win the odi series and the first test in pakistan in 2004 else i have wanted them to loose every match since that world cup)

the hype around cricketers in india is very nauseating, almost same with bollywood actors/actresses

and they cannot even play properly, in india cricket is the only major sport, these guys our selected out of a population of about 1.2 billion and yet they have only won about 20 percent test matches in history

it is the hype and the one eyed nature that i hate about indian sports, i support australia in sport.

Alpha1
17 Oct 2008, 22:11
very stupid comments by you

i would be living in australia in a couple of years time out of choice

and the indian cricket team makes be sick

since 2003 world cup, i have been supporting the aussie cricket team and not the indian cricket team(i wanted the indian team to win the odi series and the first test in pakistan in 2004 else i have wanted them to loose every match since that world cup)

the hype around cricketers in india is very nauseating, almost same with bollywood actors/actresses

and they cannot even play properly, in india cricket is the only major sport, these guys our selected out of a population of about 1.2 billion and yet they have only won about 20 percent test matches in history

it is the hype and the one eyed nature that i hate about indian sports, i support australia in sport.

lol and you don't think the Aussies hype up their sports stars? And you don't think that Australians are one eyed? I think you are the sort of person who thinks the grass is greener on the other side.

NMFC ALWAYS
18 Oct 2008, 18:12
Overall we are just better than them arent we? We are just the most dominant team to have ever played the game. You guys should get a spot on the Australian Olympic commentary team. If we lose, its because we made mistakes, not because anybody else was our match or better than us on the day.

Why are you saying 'WE' ?
You don't follow Australia

Alpha1
19 Oct 2008, 10:58
Indian bowlers know how to swing the ball and Indian spinners can actually spin it. A Indian batsman owns the cricket world, both ODI's and Test.

sherb
19 Oct 2008, 11:54
Indian bowlers know how to swing the ball and Indian spinners can actually spin it. A Indian batsman owns the cricket world, both ODI's and Test.
Warne and MacGill couldn`t spin the ball? :rolleyes:

Kumble does spin the ball? :eek:

Alpha1
19 Oct 2008, 12:02
Warne and MacGill couldn`t spin the ball? :rolleyes:

Kumble does spin the ball? :eek:

Warne and MacGill did nothing against India. Warne got smashed in India and MacGill wasn't that good . Warne even got smashed here in Australia by the Indians. MacGill was only good against teams that had no idea against spin. Besides I am talking about the current crop of Aussie bowlers. If Indian bowlers can swing the ball as much as they have then how come our bowlers cant do it?.

sherb
19 Oct 2008, 12:09
Warne and MacGill did nothing against India. Warne got smashed in India and MacGill wasn't that good . Warne even got smashed here in Australia by the Indians. MacGill was only good against teams that had no idea against spin. Besides I am talking about the current crop of Aussie bowlers. If Indian bowlers can swing the ball as much as they have then how come our bowlers cant do it?.
You implied Indian spinners could spin the ball and Australian spinners couldn`t. Which is rubbish, as I pointed out.

And you made no mention that you were talking of current bowlers only. Nor of bowlers` degrees of success against various countries.

It is a bit late to be putting qualifications on your earlier post.

Alpha1
19 Oct 2008, 12:10
You implied Indian spinners could spin the ball and Australian spinners couldn`t. Which is rubbish, as I pointed out.

And you made no mention that you were talking of current bowlers only.

It is a bit late to put qualifications on your earlier post.

Ok then fair enough. I withdraw my qualifications from my last post.

sherb
19 Oct 2008, 12:15
Ok then fair enough. I withdraw my qualifications from my last post.
Mind you, I am happy to concede the point on swing bowling to a large extent.

It would be nice to find an Australian bowler or two who could consistently swing the ball. :o

Alpha1
19 Oct 2008, 12:21
Mind you, I am happy to concede the point on swing bowling to a large extent.

It would be nice to find an Australian bowler or two who could consistently swing the ball. :o

It is quite strange that our quick's can't seem to get the swing the Indian new ball openers got. But I think it was just great tactics by the Indians try something different by scrambling the seam. Every bowler gets told to hold the seam and release the ball with the seam straight down the middle. So good on India from thinking outside the square.

cozmoz
19 Oct 2008, 16:57
lol and you don't think the Aussies hype up their sports stars? And you don't think that Australians are one eyed? I think you are the sort of person who thinks the grass is greener on the other side.
lol, in australia people are not crazy about their stars, i don't think that grass is greener in oz than india but oz is better than india
and btw, ozzies are not one-eyed, here in the india media, all former aussie cricketers are always critising aussie players where all former indian players are jingoistic, the biggest sook is ian chappell other than neil harvey, ian chappell and peter roebuck always want oz to loose and then they behave hypocritally in the aussie media[press]

Bennycoff
19 Oct 2008, 16:58
India are only good at home. End of story.

Phil McCreviss
19 Oct 2008, 17:30
Why are you saying 'WE' ?
You don't follow Australia

Was being sarcastic but you wouldnt get that considering you support the North. Great coach by the way. :rolleyes:

weevil
19 Oct 2008, 19:14
Am I the only one who finds some of this stuff hilarious?

Had to delete some posts, try to settle down kids.

XFactor1979
19 Oct 2008, 20:34
250 odd runs with 10 wickets remaining in the second innings...

ManWithNoName
19 Oct 2008, 21:09
250 odd runs with 10 wickets remaining in the second innings...
If any country could lose this, it's India.

YOTC
19 Oct 2008, 21:16
Highest successful chase in India?

Must be getting close to it now.

footyfreak
20 Oct 2008, 05:14

so you were born in Australia, consider yourself Australian but barrack for the opposition when they consist of players that are the same skin colour as you :rolleyes::(

Adelaide Hawk
20 Oct 2008, 07:02

A fit Thomson prior to injuring his shoulder would make any team in Test cricket history.

serpico66
20 Oct 2008, 07:52
an effective sewerage system....

footyfreak
20 Oct 2008, 08:55

i must admit i nearly spat drink all over my computer :D

Phil McCreviss
20 Oct 2008, 12:24
so you were born in Australia, consider yourself Australian but barrack for the opposition when they consist of players that are the same skin colour as you :rolleyes::(

And there is something wrong with that? I have had different life experiences to you so I have no obiligation. It may be wrong in your eyes but thats my prerogative.

footyfreak
20 Oct 2008, 16:28
And there is something wrong with that? I have had different life experiences to you so I have no obiligation. It may be wrong in your eyes but thats my prerogative.

absolutely it is your prerogative. This is a free country and you are free to think and feel whatever you want.

Just as i am free to think yes, there is something wrong with that and yes it is wrong in my eyes. i was just looking for clarification, thanks.

Belnakor
20 Oct 2008, 17:56
Highest successful chase in India?

Must be getting close to it now.

only 2 runs off the highest chase in first class cricket.

robaba
20 Oct 2008, 21:39

Hawk fans would prefer India then/

its just sporn mum
21 Oct 2008, 16:07
About 320 runs and 7 wickets