View Full Version : The Royal Hotel

Wally
12 Oct 2002, 11:57
The Royal Hotel Essendon,
On my way to meeting a couple of the brothers at the Windy Hill social club yesterday, thought i'd drop in for old times sake, didn't bother going in. A once great pub, like most others, has been turned into a f*cking pokies/capuccino venue.

The old Main Bar (ah, the memories) is now a restuarant for f*ck's sake. :mad:

-------------------------------------------------------
EFC: We Hate You Too

M29
12 Oct 2002, 12:12
Is this 'The Royal' across the road from the 7-11 and the trainstation? If so, it's been that way for years. O'sullivans isn't bad. The other 'Royal' down the road, towards the freeway is a complete utter **** hole.

topdon
12 Oct 2002, 12:21
Originally posted by M29
The other 'Royal' down the road, towards the freeway is a complete utter **** hole.

You're lucky! Never will you see more skanky hoes in the one establishment!!

M29
12 Oct 2002, 18:59
Actually, the other royal I meant was The Grand. Which is a **** hole. :D

topdon
12 Oct 2002, 19:10
Originally posted by M29
Actually, the other royal I meant was The Grand. Which is a **** hole. :D

Oh don't worry ... i knew what you meant! :p

Da Bomberman
13 Oct 2002, 15:50
My mum and dad go to O'Sullivans all the time. The Grand is a flee bag, there's always brawls going on in there.

rednugget
14 Oct 2002, 11:24
Originally posted by M29
Is this 'The Royal' across the road from the 7-11 and the trainstation? If so, it's been that way for years. O'sullivans isn't bad. The other 'Royal' down the road, towards the freeway is a complete utter **** hole.

O'Sullivan's isn't bad if you want to pick up a 40yo, I worked there for a year and it's very sad the amount of desperate old hags that frequent that joint.

Apparantly a pub has just opened in the strip of shops across from StColumba's & there is one about to open in Fletcher st where the National bank was, hopefully these pubs will bring out a bit more talent than the old hags at O'Sul's or the fatty's at the Grand. :D

TDLLO
14 Oct 2002, 15:45
Don't like the Royal any more either...but when desperate for a drink after a Friday night game, sometimes it has to do. But they ****ed me off one night when they wouldn't let my 12 y.o. nephew in while we waited for an hour for our bus. Bloody gaming venues! And the restaurant turned into some poor excuse for a nightclub - or tried to, anyway.

Oh well, stuff them, I just bought a few stubbies from the Bottlo and drank them at the bustop. Probably saved me a bob or two as well.

gozzo
14 Oct 2002, 18:24
What a shame.

My memories of the Royal involve young ladies, who are probably married with 2.3 kids by now, and don't need reminding!

Now what about the Brickmakers Arms???

Great place for a jar before the footy as I recall.

(I also remember getting the crap beaten out of me at Brewsters and some poor guy on his buck's night getting tied out onto the post between the tram lines...stripped buck naked, urinated on and then left to wait for the trams to pass by his "mates"!!!!)

5CougarsThanks
14 Oct 2002, 18:34
Both the Brickmakers and the Grand are due to close soon.

Both are being turned into the other great tragedy of this century 'Luxury Apartments".

Many a great Hot Dogs have been consumed at the front of the Grand early Sunday mornings.

The other disaster of the area is the renovations made to the Lincolnshire's TAB. It used to be seperate to the Public Bar but has now been turned into a PUBTAB. Drunken Yobbo's smoking and drinking make it a touch hard to listen to a race.

Wally
15 Oct 2002, 15:47
Originally posted by gozzo
What a shame.

My memories of the Royal involve young ladies, who are probably married with 2.3 kids by now, and don't need reminding!

Now what about the Brickmakers Arms???

Great place for a jar before the footy as I recall.

(I also remember getting the crap beaten out of me at Brewsters and some poor guy on his buck's night getting tied out onto the post between the tram lines...stripped buck naked, urinated on and then left to wait for the trams to pass by his "mates"!!!!)

Ah yes,
Often got up to a bit of mischief at The Brickies, had a great blue out the front one night...........

Remember the retro 70's glam band The Melody Lords?, played at Brewsters a lot in the late 80's. Musically, they weren't that good, but were ok for a laugh 'cause they never took 'emselves too seriously. All that glitter.......uugghhh!!!!

------------------------------------------------------

Da Bomberman
16 Oct 2002, 06:54
The Brickmaker's Arms is crap. My cousins and my family all went there after the 2000 grand final for a celebration and it was crap. So expensive for so amounts of food.

I live in Fletcher Street, I haven't seen any sign of a pub opening up. I know a new Kebab House has, but thats about it.

gozzo
16 Oct 2002, 20:12
Originally posted by Wally

Ah yes,
Often got up to a bit of mischief at The Brickies, had a great blue out the front one night...........

Remember the retro 70's glam band The Melody Lords?, played at Brewsters a lot in the late 80's. Musically, they weren't that good, but were ok for a laugh 'cause they never took 'emselves too seriously. All that glitter.......uugghhh!!!!

------------------------------------------------------

Wally,

I don't remember them.

But there was one band who played lots of covers of Aussie 60's music....Easybeats, Masters Apprentices, Russell Morris...that sort of thing. Now they were HOT!!! Probably all working "straight" jobs, by now...

MJ_RULES
24 Oct 2002, 16:46
Originally posted by Da Bomberman
The Brickmaker's Arms is crap. My cousins and my family all went there after the 2000 grand final for a celebration and it was crap. So expensive for so amounts of food.

I live in Fletcher Street, I haven't seen any sign of a pub opening up. I know a new Kebab House has, but thats about it.

I love the Brickmakers Arms...it's a great pub.
Last time I was there about 4 months ago it wasn't expensive at all.........and I have never had a dud meal there either... :)

gozzo
25 Oct 2002, 20:37
And it's easy walking distance from Windy Hill...

Jeff_99
28 Oct 2002, 14:55
I live in Moonee Ponds and you guys are right - there are no decent pubs around. I can't work it out - I thought Mt A road was on the way to the goldfields so there should be one on every corner, - there must have been some sort of alcohol prohibition or something.
However, a couple of new bars in Ascot Vale either side of Jimmy Rowes are pretty good - Dreux and Kube.

tails
8 Nov 2002, 19:39
didn't the royal change overnight, old royal one day new royal the next. i didn't even notice it change. does anyone know what exactly is going to happen to the brickies, because they look like they are still doing buisness. i know that it is suppose to be turned apartments or something, but i read somewhere that it wasn't going to happen. anyone know it's current status?