View Full Version : zzzzzzzzzzz

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
17 Oct 2008, 16:51
Id rather watch St-Kilda and Sydney then watch cricket on this wicket.

What a disgrace for such a marquee series.

No wonder 20/20 is thriving, when will the ICC n00bs and flogs realise that test cricket is on life support and that these wickets are part of the problem.

FFS, who wants to see batsmen have so much ease in scoring. The bowlers might as well be walking on the sun.

Thanks for nothing ICC and BCCI.

Cricket Australia pull your finger out as well, i am getting sick of run fests on roads, make sure our wickets have some juice in them this summer.

Bullshit.

Black Thunder
17 Oct 2008, 17:08
i agree with you amte. as a fast bowler this is the sort of track you just hate seeing. it's almost a case of the faster you bowl the faster the ball gets the boundary.

there is no assistance for the bowlers at all.

what about the outfield as well?? 80 of the 121 runs so far have come from boundaries (19 from the batsmen plus the four wides).... you only have to get it past the infield and its four.

as i said in the test thread, if you want a short term investment throw it on a draw....

DT_fanatic
17 Oct 2008, 17:25
any adelaide pitch, the same thing happens.

correct me then if im wrong, but most times we still get a result in those games.

you're just pissed LtD that australia didn't win the toss. bet we wouldn't be hearing a peep out of you if they did.

Team Mo'
17 Oct 2008, 17:25
Yeh this pitch is horrible. And it's not like i wouldn't say that if australia were playing. I would.

This pitch is laughable. And add to that the lacklustre crowd and shitty commentary it is just shocking to watch.

Absolute snooze fest.

Team Mo'
17 Oct 2008, 17:27

correct me then if im wrong, but most times we still get a result in those games.

you're just pissed LtD that australia didn't win the toss. bet we wouldn't be hearing a peep out of you if they did.
Why? India are doing just what we would do. Smashing the ball to all parts with shit all wickets lost. Doesn't matter who is batting it's still not entertaining at all.

now stop stirring crap and get back the DT board you wanker. :)

scooterb
17 Oct 2008, 17:34
When was the last time Dravid had a strike rate over 5, let alone 67? :thumbsd:

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
17 Oct 2008, 17:35
This series is ment to be the pinnacle of the test home and away fixtures. The one everyone cant wait for.

Such a shame to have a piss poor commentary team with idiots like Gavaskar and n00bs like Nicholis. COmbine that with a unsporting pitch and you get cricket which is unattractive and quite frankly, you cant blame the Indians for not turing up to watch. This is the type of wicket were you watch the first half hour and then just get score updates through the day.

Im not saying this because Australia isnt batting, im saying it because test cricket is on life support and still we get wickets like this. Why dont we shorten the game to 4 days to encourage groundsmen to make more sporting pitches to get a result. Its radical but this is a disgrace.

dr nick
17 Oct 2008, 17:36
n00000000b

Team Mo'
17 Oct 2008, 17:40
When was the last time Dravid had a strike rate over 5, let alone 67? :thumbsd:
haha i was also going to mention on a brighter note Dravid is getting them of the square.

something must be wrong!

King Elvis
17 Oct 2008, 18:14
I've been saying it for years - people are obssessed with having high scoring pitches where batsmen thrive.

It's crap - I want to see all kinds of pitches; raging turners, concrete roads, dry dustbowls, greentops, everything.

The bats get all of the advantages, I'd rather see pitches which favour the bowlers.

DT_fanatic
17 Oct 2008, 18:39
Why? India are doing just what we would do. Smashing the ball to all parts with shit all wickets lost. Doesn't matter who is batting it's still not entertaining at all.

now stop stirring crap and get back the DT board you wanker. :)

wtf are you on about? you haven't even remotely responded to what i said? i never even mentioned the word 'entertaining'. my argument was about how these pitches can still end up producing results.

maybe you're the one who needs to head off to another board, if there is an IQ improvement one, that'd help.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
17 Oct 2008, 21:09
Anyone else awake.

What a shit days cricket, if it wasnt for Tendulkar breaking the all time run record then it would be instantly forgettable.

aaronm46
18 Oct 2008, 15:48
these wickets should be banned by the ICC, adelaide too

OzBomber
18 Oct 2008, 15:53
There's going to be more z's if we keep bowling this short rubbish.

The 747
18 Oct 2008, 16:18

What a surprising post from you :thumbsu:

Some one makes a comment about the pitch being lifeless and you as usual turn it into an anti Aus troll. You are the weed of this board, springing up unwanted wherever people are attempting to talk about something. :)

King Elvis
18 Oct 2008, 16:47
Even more boring due to the fact Ganguly didn't walk.

Bunch of cheats - the result of this game is now null and void.

OzBomber
18 Oct 2008, 17:00
Even more boring due to the fact Ganguly didn't walk.

Bunch of cheats - the result of this game is now null and void.Do I detect sarcasm?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v358/AlexClarke/Starfighter/sarcasm_detector.jpg

DT_fanatic
18 Oct 2008, 18:56
What a surprising post from you :thumbsu:

Some one makes a comment about the pitch being lifeless and you as usual turn it into an anti Aus troll. You are the weed of this board, springing up unwanted wherever people are attempting to talk about something. :)

oh dear, you've really got an agenda against me haven't you? :o nothing better to do with your time?

it was more a whinge than a comment but i suppose, with those rose tinted glasses you've got on it'd be a bit hard for you to figure that out.

and so much for it being a lifeless pitch when a top order batsman goes out for a duck.

as for being unwanted, to be honest, any sane person would agree that your constant and useless barbs are just clogging up the board. maybe it's time you actually do what you appear to be preaching and just discuss some cricket ;)

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
18 Oct 2008, 19:02
HaHa.

When we pass 600 we'll see if your views have changed slightly.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
18 Oct 2008, 19:02
Also, have you ever heard of a CAPITAL LETTER.

DT_fanatic
18 Oct 2008, 19:31
Also, have you ever heard of a CAPITAL LETTER.

im gonna have to assume you can understand what ive been saying and im pretty sure we aren't on a board for budding novelists so, no need to be picky.

btw just in case you missed it, another batsman fails on a 'lifeless' pitch.

dr nick
18 Oct 2008, 19:54
HaHa.

it's called runs on the board and a new ball :rolleyes:

The 747
18 Oct 2008, 20:14
oh dear, you've really got an agenda against me haven't you? :o nothing better to do with your time?

it was more a whinge than a comment but i suppose, with those rose tinted glasses you've got on it'd be a bit hard for you to figure that out.

and so much for it being a lifeless pitch when a top order batsman goes out for a duck.

as for being unwanted, to be honest, any sane person would agree that your constant and useless barbs are just clogging up the board. maybe it's time you actually do what you appear to be preaching and just discuss some cricket ;)

It actually does not take much time at all to post and I can even manage punctation as well. ;)

Your posts really annoy me so when I read one I make the effort to tell you. :D

YOTC
18 Oct 2008, 20:27
HaHa.

Huss and Pup 400 run partnership?

dr nick
18 Oct 2008, 20:30
Huss and Pup 400 run partnership?

maybe then the run rate will go over 3 on this 'road'

YOTC
18 Oct 2008, 20:35
maybe then the run rate will go over 3 on this 'road'
I agree. This is very 'zzzzzzzzz' compared to the blistering Indian innings.

davey_magik
18 Oct 2008, 20:36
Gotta love these clowns who don't even follow a team in international cricket.

dr nick
18 Oct 2008, 20:39
Im just a bit more realistic by those who are blinded by the stars in their eyes.

YOTC
18 Oct 2008, 20:41
Gotta love these clowns who don't even follow a team in international cricket.
Yeah. Unbiased opinions are for idiots!

dr nick
18 Oct 2008, 20:42

you must be unaustralian. how dare you. :mad:

YOTC
18 Oct 2008, 20:45
you must be unaustralian. how dare you. :mad:
Westralia all the way! It's time to SECEDE!

OzBomber
18 Oct 2008, 20:46
I'd rather watching us fighting like this than bowling a team out in a day and posting 600 and winning by an innings.

jimmy.h
18 Oct 2008, 21:57
I
FFS, who wants to see batsmen have so much ease in scoring. The bowlers might as well be walking on the sun.

Thanks for nothing ICC and BCCI.

HaHa.

Oh Dear

Furn
18 Oct 2008, 22:07
What an idiotic cry baby thread.

If anyone scores over 200 against Australia it must be the best batting pitch in history.

Nothing to do with Australias inept 3rd rate bowling attack at all.

Pace bowlers that cant swing the ball and spin bowlers that cant turn the ball, combined with a captain that puts all his fielders on the boundary once a partnership reaches 20, makes for some big scores.

This is India, what do u want an english seemer covered in grass?

'We're seeing the end of an era here, it's plain to see.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
18 Oct 2008, 22:17
What an idiotic cry baby thread.

If anyone scores over 200 against Australia it must be the best batting pitch in history.

Nothing to do with Australias inept 3rd rate bowling attack at all.

Pace bowlers that cant swing the ball and spin bowlers that cant turn the ball, combined with a captain that puts all his fielders on the boundary once a partnership reaches 20, makes for some big scores.

This is India, what do u want an english seemer covered in grass?

'We're seeing the end of an era here, it's plain to see.

You do realise Warne, McGrath and Langer retired at the start of 2007.

The era ended long ago.

The pitch is a road, im not changing my original opinion.

Everyone knows runs on the board makes it very hard batting second. Scoreboard pressure is immense when you go out to bat 2nd.

Have a look at the amount of people in the ground, this is a cricket mad country in India with the highlight of the home and away test fixture in India V Australia and the crowd is half full and India is on top.

Test cricket is in dire straights. These lifeless wickets will not help proceedings or the future of test cricket.

Im not asking for a green top, im asking for a wicket that will allow the team bowling first to get some assistance rather then having the game decided by a toss of the coin.

Tetrazzini
18 Oct 2008, 22:17
Our bowlers are simply overated, batters are expected to do stuff and when they don't they look bad, australias team is a very individualy inconsistent team but a consistent team, never ever do more than three australians have a good test at a time but whoever those three individuals are they do well enough that they win and the failures by the other 8 are forgotten

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
18 Oct 2008, 22:19
FFS, if we batted first we would have got over 400.

Batting first allows the team bowling second to exert scoreboard pressure and often a road will turn into a minefield.

Tetrazzini
18 Oct 2008, 22:25
FFS, if we batted first we would have got over 400.

...or we could have made 150, I think Indian bowlers are better suited to their home conditions

OzBomber
18 Oct 2008, 22:26
I'd say the problem is the crowds. They've got 1 billion people and cricket is a like a religion for them, yet they can only get 5000 to a test match?

Furn
18 Oct 2008, 22:32
You do realise Warne, McGrath and Langer retired at the start of 2007.

The era ended long ago.

The pitch is a road, im not changing my original opinion.

Everyone knows runs on the board makes it very hard batting second. Scoreboard pressure is immense when you go out to bat 2nd.

Have a look at the amount of people in the ground, this is a cricket mad country in India with the highlight of the home and away test fixture in India V Australia and the crowd is half full and India is on top.

Test cricket is in dire straights. These lifeless wickets will not help proceedings or the future of test cricket.

Im not asking for a green top, im asking for a wicket that will allow the team bowling first to get some assistance rather then having the game decided by a toss of the coin.

Thats not the case at all. You need swing and spin to win on the sub-continent its always been that way.

If Australia won the toss they might have got a decent score but who's gonna bowl India out on the last 2 days? White? there isnt a pitch anywhere that he can take wickets on.

Saying its boring because your losing is just having a sook and if you think watching Tendulkar and Ganguly etc bat is boring you need to find another sport to watch.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
18 Oct 2008, 22:34
It is common knowledge that batting first is 95% of the time a clear advantage.

Runs on the board is always better then chasing a target.

The toss of the coin was always going to be the biggest moment of day 1. Lose it on a road and you nearly lose all chance of winning the match.

Look at us in the first test. Got 400 odd and then had India 140 for 6 or whatever it was.

Who knows we could come out tomorrow and Watson and Hussey could put on a 300 run stand and then you lot will come back and say what a road it is.

But i do know that these roads make for boring cricket, in which the toss plays so much of a part that it is astonishing.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
18 Oct 2008, 22:37
Thats not the case at all. You need swing and spin to win on the sub-continent its always been that way.

If Australia won the toss they might have got a decent score but who's gonna bowl India out on the last 2 days? White? there isnt a pitch anywhere that he can take wickets on.

Saying its boring because your losing is just having a sook and if you think watching Tendulkar and Ganguly etc bat is boring you need to find another sport to watch.

Not the case at all, i love watching us have to fight in a test match.

We saw the same thing in the first innings of the first test. We got a good score and then had India 140 for 6 on a good wicket. It is the advantage of batting first and getting runs on the board.

The team bowling first however is up shit creek.

Your kidding yourself if you think that wicket makes for good cricket.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
18 Oct 2008, 22:38
The idea has always been to have juice in the wicket or at least some grass so the team bowling first offsets the disadvantage of losing the toss.

Adelaide Hawk
18 Oct 2008, 22:39
Welcome my friends to Test Cricket in INDIA.

Different conditions to those in Australia huh? Well, get used to it, that's what TEST Cricket is all about. It's not about run rates, belting sixes on tin pot grounds with shortened boundaries and limited field placements .... this is REAL cricket.

You don't have to like it, but at least try to understand it.

OzBomber
18 Oct 2008, 22:42
The idea has always been to have juice in the wicket or at least some grass so the team bowling first offsets the disadvantage of losing the toss.
Mate, you're never going to get a pitch in India with a tinge of green or anything like that which will help bowlers who win the toss first. They will always be flat and provide lots and lots of spin.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
18 Oct 2008, 22:50
Sean mate. Listen. Im not saying that. But the pitch is a road.

Whoever bats first gets a massive advantage. Scoreboard pressure its called. Going out to bat when its 0/0 is different then going out to bat at 0/0 with a 469 run deficent.

If you enjoy having cricket matchs where such an emphasis is place on the toss well then good for you.

Just look at us in the first test, Indias attack was toothless in the first innings. We come out and the pitch is a minefield.

Such an advantage is gained from the toss that it does take away from the contest.

I can link many scorecards to illustrate my point.

Batting first is a massive advantage on a road. So much so that one team is almost taken out of the game before the first ball is bowled.

Alpha1
18 Oct 2008, 22:52
I haven't seen the Aussie innings but the pitch couldn't have changed so much in the 15 minutes it took between change of innings?. The Aussies have gotten to bat on exactly the same pitch as India. The Indians came out and obviously bowled really well, so credit to the Indians.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
18 Oct 2008, 22:52
Welcome my friends to Test Cricket in INDIA.

Different conditions to those in Australia huh? Well, get used to it, that's what TEST Cricket is all about. It's not about run rates, belting sixes on tin pot grounds with shortened boundaries and limited field placements .... this is REAL cricket.

You don't have to like it, but at least try to understand it.

I understand it alright.

Have a look at the crowd. Cricket mad India doesnt even show up when India are on top against the champs Australia.

20/20 is where the public care.

I love test cricket, but i hate these wickets. I hate having wickets where the toss is the most important event on the first day.

The Adelaide test match is always a borefest for the exact same reason.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
18 Oct 2008, 22:54
I haven't seen the Aussie innings but the pitch couldn't have changed so much in the 15 minutes it took between change of innings?. The Aussies have gotten to bat on exactly the same pitch as India. The Indians came out and obviously bowled really well, so credit to the Indians.

Of course, Credit to the Indians.

But the role was reversed in the first test.

We got first use of the road and made good use of it and then with scoreboad pressure India felt the pinch.

If you enjoy having cricket matchs influenced heavily by a coin toss then fine.

DT_fanatic
18 Oct 2008, 22:56
regarding the crowds during this match, maybe it'd help if people knew that in the punjab regions of india, cricket isn't actually as obsessively followed as it is in other parts of the country. and according to the ABC commentators, transport to and from the ground is hard to organise. there are a couple of reasons that might explain it.
the pitch in bangalore didn't help bowlers much either but you saw heaps of people still turned out at the game.

Alpha1
18 Oct 2008, 23:10
Plus there is heavy security as well. My cousin just got back form India and he told me that at the grounds the police set up barricades all around the ground about 500 meters from the stadium. So yes there could be a lot of factors and also there is a holy festival going on in India at the moment too.

davey_magik
18 Oct 2008, 23:45

Don't try and give me that shit mate. You sit here and constantly attack all the Australian players.

You must lead a sad life where you have to have tall poppy syndrome when it comes to your own cricket team :thumbsd: .

Belnakor
19 Oct 2008, 00:28
It is common knowledge that batting first is 95% of the time a clear advantage.

what was that WG Grace quote? "When you win the toss – bat. If you are in doubt, think about it, then bat. If you have very big doubts, consult a colleague – then bat."

Belnakor
19 Oct 2008, 00:30

NZ consistantly prepare absolute green tops for their tests - and when i think Sri Lanka toured last time there wasn an enquiry last time about the quality of the pitches (never mind the dustbowl prepared in mumbai last series)

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
19 Oct 2008, 00:34
Don't try and give me that shit mate. You sit here and constantly attack all the Australian players.

You must lead a sad life where you have to have tall poppy syndrome when it comes to your own cricket team :thumbsd: .

Mate the best bet is to put the n00b on ignore.

YOTC
19 Oct 2008, 00:38

And when biased Indian and England fans come around them, I attack them and their players.

You wankers are just more prevalent :)

Alpha1
19 Oct 2008, 09:46
And when biased Indian and England fans come around them, I attack them and their players.

You wankers are just more prevalent :)

I suppose if the Aussies were getting the ball to reverse swing after 9 overs it wouldn't be cheating would it? Sick of one eyed Aussie supporters making claims of cheating when things don't go their way.

Cousin Jed
1 Nov 2008, 20:36
Went off 1 test too early?