View Full Version : Past Players Thread
TigerAntho
1 Nov 2008, 11:52
Does he have a future beyond 2009? And if so waht must he do to warrant it?
Will he be a one hit wonder (that brisbane game a few years ago)? Or can he become a key backman/forward? The way I see it, he is sticking around only until we get some more height - thats about it.
Although that snap shot on the run in a game towards the end of the year was awesome! Asign of the future Sarge!???
coke_zero
1 Nov 2008, 11:55
hopefully he stays in one position for atleast 75% of the game. just get him settled in and not keep changing him forward and back. he really has to work next year because he will get overtaken by other talls. i hope he can fit in the forward line with hughes and riewoldt.
With the injury to Polak, I think Schulz will stick around. He is versatile and probably our only KP who can play either end. If we need him down back or up forward he is an option.
2009 will be a big year for him, he needs to play close to 22 matches to confirm his spot in our best 22.
I expect 2009 to be a lot like his 2008 (position wise). He will be put where ever we need him most. I have a gut feeling we will use him more as a forward, working with Jack Riewoldt. Unless Hughes can push into the 22.
Tetley Tigers
1 Nov 2008, 13:56
To play better
tony_montana
1 Nov 2008, 14:58
will be very good
bookmark it
Les Grossman
1 Nov 2008, 16:39
He will have a good year if played in one spot and allowed to settle.
I'm a fan of Schulz
Madtiger2006
1 Nov 2008, 16:45
I like Schultz too :thumbsu:
getthefooty
1 Nov 2008, 17:23
will be very good
bookmark it
I'm a fan of Schulz
I like Schultz too :thumbsu:
I'm all for being positive, but seriously, Schulz is a hack.
Expectations on him should be fairly low. All I want to see from Mark in 2009, is first, an injury free pre-season.
If he gets that, I'd love to see him line-up in the NAB Cup and Round 1 and gradually work his way into form and into our 22, becoming an important part of our side.
It will be intertesting to see how he goes in 2009, if he struggles to get into the 22 or gets another injury, it will be all over IMO. :(
tony_montana
1 Nov 2008, 17:42
yep its all about the pre season and how he tunes himself? would love to see him get through the summer and hit the NAB cup.
really dont expect nything of him, any games are a bonus for mine
tucker777
1 Nov 2008, 17:43
Question is will Sante start a 2009 Expectations thread for every player.....
If he doesn't play 12 games or so then it's lights out. If he gets through the season without a hammy injury or a knee flare up then he could be that hard tackling, inside mid we seem to need.
So if Cogs makes it then Adam Thomson gets delayed a year, if he gets injured then its Adam Thomson's year and bye bye cogs.
getthefooty
1 Nov 2008, 17:47
bye bye cogs.
I don't want cogs to ever be delisted. It wouldn't be fair.
Question is will Sante start a 2009 Expectations thread for every player.....
If he doesn't play 12 games or so then it's lights out. If he gets through the season without a hammy injury or a knee flare up then he could be that hard tackling, inside mid we seem to need.
So if Cogs makes it then Adam Thomson gets delayed a year, if he gets injured then its Adam Thomson's year and bye bye cogs.
I can't. Someone made one for Schulz. :mad:;)
I thought it was a good idea. Something to talk about during the off-season. Then, we can bump these at the end of '09. I think we need one for Thommo, though. I'll let you do that one Tucker...
Ize Of The World
1 Nov 2008, 17:50
To exaggerate, with all he's got going for him, it's hard to see why he isn't the best player in the comp. He's a great field kick, hard, tough, tall, strong, can certainly win the pill. Put it together Sarge!
My expectations for Cogs is a slow build up through pre season. Depending on fitness and form he might start round 1 against the Blues or it might be a few games a Coburg. As mentioned already though if he can't get at least 50% of the season at AFL level then I'm afraid it could well be Cogs delisting that people are protesting about this time next year.
Cogs will never be delisted.
If he's unable to return to the top level next year, I suspect he'll retire, and make the decision for the club himself.
I expect he will break down.
i would expect nothing less of your expectations :cool:
Top_4_Tiger
1 Nov 2008, 21:08
In 2006 after his first full pre-season from injury he built up from 18/20 possies a game to 25 possies a game within the first 10 weeks.
I expect a similar build over the first 10 weeks then sustained excellence through to the finals :cool:
Seriously - high hopes for Cogs in 2009, he had a better start to his career than Deledio FFS he's a superstar.
Mario Speedwagon
2 Nov 2008, 01:31
To exaggerate, with all he's got going for him, it's hard to see why he isn't the best player in the comp. He's a great field kick, hard, tough, tall, strong, can certainly win the pill. Put it together Sarge!
Yeah, just slighty...:o
:thumbsu: /thread
Rancid_Beasties
2 Nov 2008, 15:45
I expect nothing, sadly. But I sincerely hope he can get back into the side for at least a couple of games.
My biggest (fanciful) wish for any facet of the Richmond football club if for Mark Coughlan to be our 2011 premiership captain.
Tigersman
2 Nov 2008, 16:42
This was the first year Schulz was allowed to play most games and his stats doubled. If he is allowed to settle in one spot he will improve further.
I think he is our best bet as a key forward.
Fevola did nothing for 4 years before kicking 60 odd in his fifth year. That was with his club leaving him in the one roll the whole time. Im not saying that Schulz will kick 100 but it shows that key forwards can take time to come on. They cant all be Buddy Franklin. We finally have a decent midfield that might give good service to our forwards too.
Schulz has shown he can fill a hole down back if needed. He can take a grab and given time to settle and the confidence that will bring, I think he can be a damaging forward. Far from a hack.
beaver fever
2 Nov 2008, 16:45
This was the first year Schulz was allowed to play most games and his stats doubled.
Most player's stats go up when they play loose man in defense. Look at Polak's numbers for 2007.
50 odd goals in 70 odd games. 6 goals in 4 games at Coburg. He's no forward. His stats were inflated, as previously said, by playing the loose man in defence. Wonderful.
He's a barely passable defender. As a forward, he has minimal impact. People complain he hasn't been allowed to settle in a specific position. You know why? Because he fails at them, so they move him somewhere else. He's a swingman who can't swing anything.
I had hopes he'd take over CHB this year. Good speed, a good mark...just had to learn how to defend. But no, just like the rest of his career, he was a let down.
Only reason he is still on the list, surely, must be the injury to Polak. Otherwise, its inconceivable he hasn't been traded to a SA side. He's not a dud...but he's pretty damn close. Sure, he's not 24 yet. But he's been here since 2003. 2009 will be his seventh season. Unless he starts farting gold or something else suitably brilliant, 2009 will be his last season at Richmond. In my opinion, 2008 should have been his last. But anyway...
coke_zero
3 Nov 2008, 06:39
if no injuries. then play in coburg and make him earn his spot dont just give him games for his name that way he will respect his spot when he actully gets it. i think he could become a good FP player he had a good mark which i hope he still has. and as he plays more games his cruming skills would come back.
No expectations.
Anything he does is a bonus.
Improved considerbly in '08.
If he can stay fit will have a great year.
I would like to see more games from Schulz like the one he played against the Hawks in round 20. If we get to see that we'll be seeing Schulz in a Richmond jumper for many years to come.
No expectations.
Anything he does is a bonus.
Yep.
deliberate!!
3 Nov 2008, 16:03
I'm a fan of Schulz
The thing with Schulz in 2009 is that whatever spot he is played in, HE HAS To make it his own, or he's gone.
We can't spend the year again trying him everywhere, only to see him not be able to play that spot regularly.
It's not our fault. It's time for him to realise that the game of Aussie Roles only has a finite set of positions.
Find one spot to play well in regularly or go play table tennis!
2009 = Last chance for Schulz.
And Schulz......stop running into team-mates. Look, listen & learn.
deliberate!!
3 Nov 2008, 16:07
In 2009, I'll close my eyes every time he runs into a pack.
Will never be the same as that break-out year when we asked more of him. The state of the Richmond mid-field has seriously changed since then.
One long-term injury away from the knackery.
Sad, but true.
the ranger
4 Nov 2008, 22:14
Stay healthy all year and work his way into senior form by mid-season. Not expecting too much but I'd be disappointed if he didn't force his way into the team at some point, and show that he has a chance of being part of our future.
the ranger
4 Nov 2008, 22:15
To have a season somewhat like Polak's 2007.
beaver fever
5 Nov 2008, 07:57
To have a season somewhat like Polak's 2007.
Eh, what do you think Schulz's 2008 season was?
Azzleberry
5 Nov 2008, 08:59
To get his mrs to appear in zoo magazine... She is a STUNNER!!!:cool:
bigstyletiger
5 Nov 2008, 12:41
Well conversely to most of you guys i expect Coughlan to have a good season. Let's look at the facts:
- he had OP - came back and was beginning to play some handy footy
- suffered ACL in an inocous incident and the graft didn't take - this meant another graft had to be harvested from his hammy which is what was causing him trouble throughout this year.
- he then went to germany and had his hammy treated and then managed to play a handful of games for Coburg.
This leaves him fit and ready to go for the preseason - so i expect him to find some touch in the NAB cup and then work into it in the first few rounds of the home and away season. I've had a knee reco and while i don't play professionaly i do play and it is highly possible to come back from such injuries.
the ranger
5 Nov 2008, 12:43
Eh, what do you think Schulz's 2008 season was?
Almost as good as Polak's 2007.
beaver fever
5 Nov 2008, 13:57
Almost as good as Polak's 2007.
Averaged 0.6 less disposals, 1 less mark, kicked 0.2 more goals and had 0.3 more tackles did Schulz in 08 compared to Polak's 07. Sheesh settling the bar high for loose men in defense there ranger:eek:
Ralphy09
5 Nov 2008, 13:58
Jay is a not a good AFL footballer and never will be.
Ralphy09
5 Nov 2008, 13:59
A gun but the fact is he won't return to anywhere near his best.
Sad but true.
the ranger
5 Nov 2008, 14:38
Averaged 0.6 less disposals, 1 less mark, kicked 0.2 more goals and had 0.3 more tackles did Schulz in 08 compared to Polak's 07. Sheesh settling the bar high for loose men in defense there ranger:eek:
You're expecting more? I like Schultz but I don't expect him to turn into a Brownlow medallist next season. Just to play 22 games and be a bit more consistent.
beaver fever
5 Nov 2008, 14:50
You're expecting more? I like Schultz but I don't expect him to turn into a Brownlow medallist next season. Just to play 22 games and be a bit more consistent.
Brownlow Medalist? Sheesh no need to go overboard. Yes I expect more from Schulz. If he can't secure a key post, then what is the point of persisting with him? 6 years we have given him and that is way more than necessary. We should have traded him for pick 28 last year. Now I fear by the time we realise he is indeed the hack we feared, his trade value will be zero.
im a legend
5 Nov 2008, 16:10
Pretty sure he got about 40 possessions in the last game of the VFL home & away season and got BOG.
captain foley
5 Nov 2008, 16:49
I expect nothing, sadly. But I sincerely hope he can get back into the side for at least a couple of games.
My biggest (fanciful) wish for any facet of the Richmond football club if for Mark Coughlan to be our 2011 premiership captain.
That has a nice ring to it! That would be 1 of the best things that has happened to the RFC in my lifetime
tucker777
6 Nov 2008, 14:33
Pretty sure he got about 40 possessions in the last game of the VFL home & away season and got BOG.
i did some highlighting for you.....
VFL is not the AFL. It's an insult for Cogs to play VFL but we don't know whether he can play AFL ever again.
im a legend
6 Nov 2008, 15:09
i did some highlighting for you.....
VFL is not the AFL. It's an insult for Cogs to play VFL but we don't know whether he can play AFL ever again.
i was pointing out that he was still able to play some pretty good footy amongst some pretty good players
tigerdan
7 Nov 2008, 06:39
My expectations are that he will not play a single game.
My hope is that he's able to play 5 games and look ahead to a successful 2010. I am not optimistic though.
I'm feeling particularly positive this morning so here goes...
I'm expecting Coggs to be the "feel-good" success story of the AFL in 2009.
Will work up to peak fitness over summer & regain touch in the NAB before starting on the bench in round 1 versus Carlton.
Shows he has regained fitness and not lost any of his in-and-under ball winning skills or tough at the man qualities.
By mid year is back to being a starting mid-fielder for The Tigers forming a formidable partnership with Deledio, Foley, Cotchin, Tuck & Tambling.
& The Tigers surge towards a top 8 finish and a finals campaign...
He'd be a shoe-in for the captaincy if it wasn't for his injuries.
richoatthedisco
13 Nov 2008, 19:01
Agreed Sante.
He's in my top 10 favourite Tigers of all (my) time, but I'm not expecting anything from Cogs. Hoping, on the other hand...
Richo_is_god
13 Nov 2008, 20:00
a brownlow would be nice :)
I would ease him into the game. Around round 5-6 before he makes his big break. He's not a definite shoe-in but he has to prove himself in the preseason. He has to make a big impact.
You really can't expect much from a player who has been injured for ages. Mind you, I think it was pretty good how Richmond kept him for a long time. It just goes to show how much the list manager has faith in Coughlan.
Coughlan should do his utmost best this year, so much confidence and faith has been invested in this man, he should return it by playing consistent football without getting injured, otherwise he would be one of the AFL tragic story where he has been cut down by injuries.
Darth_Tiger
14 Nov 2008, 18:39
look, after such a long wait i have to expect alot next year. the wheel is sure to turn for him so im expecting at least 22 quality games.
GhostofJimJess
16 Nov 2008, 15:10
Only caught a snippet of it in the background but there was a report on SEN yesterday arvo relating to Cogs, that he was in full training and looking very ship shape.
It didn't even sound like your typical cherry-ripe-training-the-house-down-having-his-best-pre-season-ever reports.
Very positive for the lad.
getthefooty
16 Nov 2008, 16:40
Thought I may as well get this going.
http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2007/12/15/mbs_coughlan.jpg
Mark Coughlan -
Here he is pictured doing what he did best back in 03 - Dishing out a handball after doing the hard yards to extract the ball from a pack. Was an extremely influential midfielder at his best, and before he got injured was on the peak of being an elite midfielder in the AFL - one may have thought a brownlow was not far away. Tough as guts, with good enough disposal, Coughlan inspired everyone on the field.
2 knee recos later, Coughlan is barely holding his spot on the list and has gone from a bright light in a shocking Tigers outfit to a "what could have been". Still only 26 so has time to get rid of that - although surely '09 is his make or break season.
One question - if Coughlan comes into the seniors, say, midway through the year and performs indifferently, do we persist with him?
Feel free to merge with Coughlan expectations thread Mods.
cormick
16 Nov 2008, 16:45
If his body hols up, I don't see why we shouldn't keep him playing. The more games we get into him, the better he will get and so the better we will get.
It will be a choc-a-block midfield if the likes of Thomson and Cogs come on the scene...
He was so good. Unfortunately, he will probably never reach his best again. I think hope like hell he can get back into the team.
The Big Man, Richo Man, has had arguably his best season in 2008 playing 20 out of a possible 22 games, and at the end of the Home and Away season was the AFL's leading marker; and Richmond's leading goalkicker once again.
Richo ended up coming third in the 2008 Brownlow Medal, just two votes away from taking it home (Beaten by Adam Cooney and Simon Black.)
After his move to the wing he started to flourish, and is regarded as one of Richmond's best, if not the best player of the Richmond Football Club.
His stunning season however means the community will have extremely high expectations; and luckily I think that Richo Man will come through and hopefully bring us his best season in 2009; winning the Brownlow.
Who is this Richo Man you talk about?
Everybody loves Richoooooo. Hopefully his last few years playing AFL involve finals.
dyl_tigerman
18 Nov 2008, 08:41
supposedly hes training awesome down at punt road and is looking very fit
http://blogs.abc.net.au/grandstand/images/2008/07/20/joel_bowden.jpg
Born: June 21, 1978
Games: 253
Height: 188cm
Weight: 91kg
At age 31 next year his career is coming to a close and had an interesting year. What do we expect from Bowden in 2009?
http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/200706/r152927_547919.jpg
Born: February 10, 1978
Games: 206
Height: 182cm
Weight: 80kg
What do we expect from Nathan Brown in 2009?
http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/200806/r263799_1100687.jpg
Born: January 15, 1987
Games: 16
Height: 193cm
Weight: 93kg
Showed what he can do against Port Adelaide but then had back troubles and was with Polak during the incident that reportedly took it's toll. Would be great to see Clever play most games and kick 40-odd goals.
http://www.theage.com.au/ffximage/2007/08/13/laser_narrowweb__300x351,0.jpg
Born: March 15, 1978
Games: 220
Height: 187cm
Weight: 90kg
No longer captain, will probably even come under pressure as a best 22 player in the final year of his contract I'd say. I'd make the guess that 2009 will the last year of Kane Johnson's career.
http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/5552/aaoakley246apa8.jpg
Born: February 9, 1988
Games: 9
Height: 188cm
Weight: 81kg
Another quiet year for JON where he looked okay against Melbourne and Port but was then dropped and unseen. Will only be 21 next year but its the must breakout season for him to show what he's got or he will be gone. Wouldn't put it beyond him but he's in for a tough year to hold a spot on the list.
http://blogs.abc.net.au/grandstand/images/2008/04/07/kayne_pettifer_3.jpg
Born: January 22, 1982
Games: 109
Height: 183cm
Weight: 84kg
Had a knee recon after being forced out of the team by Mitch Morton and so will probably not play until the 2nd half of the year at Coburg and even then it's hard to see him getting a spot in the seniors so late in the season with a lack of match fitness. In a pretty tough spot to resurrect his career.
emperor
19 Nov 2008, 07:52
So many threads.
Did you ever think that maybe we don't want to discuss Kayne :cool:
Then why are you posting in his thread to put him back at the top of the page. :rolleyes:
Soon enough a natural order will be in place despite how it looks now.
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/9538/puttdeanroarvisionlgejo8.jpg
Born: 10th April 1989
Games: 0
Height: 202cm
Weight: 90kgs
Not sure what to expect from Putt but I'd like to see him play the majority of the season in the Coburg seniors kicking quite a few goals and maybe snatch a game or two for Richmond. Wouldn't like to see too many Coburg reserves games or his spot on the list would come under question.
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/7831/user18341157421026ly5.jpg
Born: March 8, 1986
Games: 53
Height: 184cm
Weight: 81kg
Since being a Rising Star runner up Raines has had one disappointing year and then an injury riddled year. I really don't know which to expect from Raines next year but hopefully it's something like the Rising Star year.
emperor
19 Nov 2008, 08:36
Because its the interweb and I HAVE to voice my opinion :confused:
emperor
19 Nov 2008, 08:41
Like most of us I am unsure what to expect from AR next year. I believe he will force his way back into the 22 though, as I think he has real ability as a small defender.
Well yes but my point still stands. Back to the top again for Petts. ;)
emperor
19 Nov 2008, 08:48
I know. :D
Moreaux
20 Nov 2008, 06:50
Was playing Coburg seniors until he hurt his knee, played some very good footy looks a likely type was a lot more mobile as a CHF than i thought will be ok, should meet your expectations this year PHX :thumbsu:
RichosGuns
20 Nov 2008, 09:29
With Riewoldt and maybe Hughes probably starting the first couple of rounds in the AFL Putt will be given every chance at the Coburg seniors level to put his hand up. Ideally he would end up as a good foward/ruck option similar to David Hale
Keeping Petts at the top.
He has ability, we all know that. I want to see him return. With the new generation taking affect, I'm very interested to see how it affects Kayne. If he can change his ways, he'll be very valuable for us. Very doubtful though, with most of 2009 out of the question.
Madtiger2006
22 Nov 2008, 13:11
Petts is a pretty good forward who can kick 40-50 goals a season if he plays every game. The club dropped him to improve his second efforts and hardness. He would have got the hint after playing half the season at Coburg and will be forced to improve these parts of his game. If he comes back well from his knee and improves his game another cog then he'll be pretty handy in 2010 if Morton goes down. Definately worth keeping him :thumbsu:
Madtiger2006
22 Nov 2008, 13:17
We found out in 2007 that he is a bit of a dodgy kick. If he doesn't improve much over the next year or 2 he'll be gone
TigerGlory
22 Nov 2008, 13:23
Can definatley be part of our midfield rotation because hes a little bugger who loves the contest.
If he fixes his kicking a little bit, he'd be in every week no problem. :thumbsu:
Hope he plays more than 4 games this year. Otherwise delist him for wasting precious resource.
Darth_Tiger
27 Nov 2008, 18:37
will be interesting this one. we need a good hard reliable small defender to shut down the goal sneaks. hopefully he is the one to do it.
Madtiger2006
27 Nov 2008, 20:01
will be interesting this one. we need a good hard reliable small defender to shut down the goal sneaks. hopefully he is the one to do it.
he's not quick enough by foot or head to be a quality small defender imo. Not too skillful either. If he surprises me, he will keep his spot on the list at the end of 2009
Darth_Tiger
27 Nov 2008, 20:20
quick by head. i would like to see that. (and i mean that in a totally non-sexual way too)
Madtiger2006
27 Nov 2008, 20:37
quick by head. i would like to see that. (and i mean that in a totally non-sexual way too)
you know what i mean :cool:
beaver fever
30 Nov 2008, 18:58
Should have retired. Is not in our best 22, and is now a list clogger.
emperor
30 Nov 2008, 20:37
Now feenix you wouldn;t be taking the piss out of mr kane with that silly pic would you :D
Probably will start the year in the 22.
Should be ousted by year's end.
Will be his last year for sure.
I reckon he will be looking to help the younger mids establish themselves during the year and with finals footy almost an expectation for the Tigers in 2009, if his form holds up his experience will actually be very valuable in September.
Will retire playing a final for The Tigers I would think.
Rancid_Beasties
11 Dec 2008, 22:19
Superb athletic prospect up forward...faster than most of our mids AND has a bigger tank than most players on the team. Good thing too because from all reports he is a dud in the ruck.
What type of player should he model himself after? There havent been too many 202cm+, sub 3 second for 20m, 14+ beep test key forwards. Especially considering he has good skills aswell, having played footy all his life unlike many other athletic big men.
I think he should be a paul salmon circa essendon years :thumbsu:
richoatthedisco
12 Dec 2008, 09:58
I'm with RB. This kid is drool-worthy. Sublime skills and agility for a big man, awesome below his knees. Could be a real star. I'm happy to be patient with him until his body catches up to itself.
Themi#9
14 Dec 2008, 15:54
Will be our next FF, needs to cement a spot and kick about 40-50 goals in 09.
Themi#9
14 Dec 2008, 15:57
is GOD at Richmond, just do what he does best:thumbsu:
Themi#9
14 Dec 2008, 21:01
Delist him please!
Just can't see him breaking into the side. His best bet is to have a good pre-season and start Round 1.
beaver fever
15 Dec 2008, 08:30
His best bet is to remember which side to kick the football to.
Rancid_Beasties
16 Dec 2008, 22:34
The Forgotten Superstar at Richmond. He is the same age as cousins, and is now fully fit! Furthermore, he, much like cousins, has played quite a reduced amount of games over the last few years due to injury, which should actually prolong his career.
The awesomeness of our midfield next year should mean that Browny will kick at least 50 goals. I am backing him to win our leading goalkicker award and push for the coleman.
2009 Expectations:
22 games + finals
70+ goals
Reduced time in the midfield, so less possessions but more meaningful ones. He should not only lead our goalkicking, but also our goal assists.
getthefooty
16 Dec 2008, 22:55
The Forgotten Superstar at Richmond.
Well put. Looking forward to a good year from Browny.
rfctigerarmy
17 Dec 2008, 08:50
I'm not sure 40-50 is reachable at the moment. I'd be happy with 35 or so..
He really needs to take the next step - even if its a little one.
Captain_Brown_7
19 Dec 2008, 06:42
I personally cannot wait to see this guy back and fully fit. His presence in the centre square is going to be a great addition to a midfield that is starting to look very potent.