View Full Version : Club Cricket Discussion 08/09

OzBomber
1 Nov 2008, 19:53
Did a search but couldn't find anything.

How have we all been going fellas? I'm in my first season of U17s. Today was the end of the first game for us as our first round was a bye. Last week we got bowled out for 93. I made a solid 1 from 1 ball not out. I thought we had no chance of winning. But we romped them in to win by 38 runs. I took 2/4 from 6 overs.

Some of you may have seen MightyPies around here, well he plays on my team and took 2 wickets in 2 balls and 4 catches. He was awesome and won MOTM.

I wish I had one of those catches though, because another kid (Not MightyPies) was on a hattrick, and I dropped the hattrick ball at slip low to my right.

Ala Shane Warne (http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=IEtdchOGH6k) except mine was harder. :p

He said don't worry, but I know deep down he was pissed off. lol

TheMightyPies
1 Nov 2008, 19:55
and we wont forget that drop

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
2 Nov 2008, 00:06
Did a search but couldn't find anything.

How have we all been going fellas? I'm in my first season of U17s. Today was the end of the first game for us as our first round was a bye. Last week we got bowled out for 93. I made a solid 1 from 1 ball not out. I thought we had no chance of winning. But we romped them in to win by 38 runs. I took 2/4 from 6 overs.

Some of you may have seen MightyPies around here, well he plays on my team and took 2 wickets in 2 balls and 4 catches. He was awesome and won MOTM.

I wish I had one of those catches though, because another kid (Not MightyPies) was on a hattrick, and I dropped the hattrick ball at slip low to my right.

Ala Shane Warne (http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=IEtdchOGH6k) except mine was harder. :p

He said don't worry, but I know deep down he was pissed off. lol

Don't worry about that catch sean.

A few years ago for club cricket once i was walking back to my fielding position at long on to turn around to walk in with the bowler when i looked up and saw the ball coming straight for me, needless to say i shelled it.

One game i dropped 3 catchs in an innings.

In a rep game once we had our arch rivals on the ropes when they were chasing our target and you could literally see the rain coming over the horizon.

A few balls later and i dropped a relatively easy catch only for the rain to come a ball later (that ball was nicked through slip) and for the rain to cause play to end early. The other team had no home of winning but somehow they were awarded the game for their superior run rate :rolleyes:.

Anyway as the rain was coming over the horizon the set batsmen started taking guard and then deciding he wanted to take another guard and basically just stuffing around wasting time waiting for the rain to come then he wanted the other batsmen to tie his shoe up.

On the way off i asked the batsmen if he wanted me to undress him when we got back to the sheds and they both sledged me about the catch.

On the way off

aaronm46
2 Nov 2008, 12:43
i play u/17s

only made 9 with the bat in an innings that included two 4's (one inside edge and a very nicely timed straight drive) then got bowled going for the slog.

i bowled 2 overs and got 0/0 (ecomonical) bowling pup clarke style left arm offies

we lost by 4 wickets, decent match that

Dez!
2 Nov 2008, 13:02
Meh haven't been going to badly but not overly good either.

Made scores of 10, 20, 34 and 13 batting at 4 in our club's 2's which is C Grade for our competition.

So far I'm at 77 runs @ 19.25.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
2 Nov 2008, 17:44
Made 80 odd today with the bat playing first grade up here in Queensland.

Bit of controversy during the day when a player fielding tried to run out my batting partner at the time by breaking the stumps at the end of the over as the other batsmen was coming down to talk to me between the over. The fielder claimed the batsmen left his crease before the ump called over but he was given not out.

A bit of a riot started after this up on the hill at the ground where some young guys were watching the game and cheering on some fast bowler playing for the other team. They were obviously getting drunker and drunker.

Anyway got 81 off 102 balls before getting given out LBW to a searing yorker.

We are 305/4 at the end of day 1 with day 2 and day 3 to be played next weekend.

nicko99
2 Nov 2008, 18:31
i play un 17's my first year aswell and our team are versing willi
one of the best teams in the comp

its a 2 dayer and this was the first day
and our team were bowling

i came in 1st change had 5 overs 0/27 :o
i bowl way to F****N short

now were chasing 249 of 50 overs
it should be close. fast outfield

dr nick
2 Nov 2008, 18:44
a poor mans nicko18

nicko99
2 Nov 2008, 18:57
a poor mans nicko18
wat do u mean:confused:

davey_magik
2 Nov 2008, 22:03
Can't train so A grade was interesting, made a duck in the 1st innings then 16 not out off about 50 in the 2nd :D .

Hoping to be dropped down to Bs and find some form as it will be harder in As when I can't train and usually bat lower order.

Speck
3 Nov 2008, 08:26
Well...

U/16s: First game was a one-dayer. We batted first and we're 3/106 after our 25 overs. Only managed to make 2. In the field (well, behind the stumps) we got them all out for 62. Contributed with two stumpings and a runout as the keeper.

The second game was over two days. We sent them into bat first and they we're 188 after their 40 overs. Again I got among the play as a keeper with 2 catches and a stumping. Batting the next week after 20 overs we we're 0/77. It was looking ok but a bit slow. We ended up falling short by 22 runs. Made a second ball duck.

Now in the game I'm currently playing, we elected to field and got them all out for 106. Took one skied catch (which I almost stuffed up). Having 15 overs left to bat we ended up 1/41 with 40 overs to go. Looking like a wins coming up.

Seniors (I Grade): Played my first game on Saturday and they made 236 after 47. Contributed with a stumping and a run out. We're 5/36 after 15 overs and I'm next in.

Stumpings: 4
Catches: 3
Run-outs: 2

aaronm46
8 Nov 2008, 12:20
we had a good day today in a 40 over a side match

we batted first and made 7/181, i made a quickfire 23 coming in at #7

we got them all out for 99 and i took 1/3

so we smashed them by 82 runs which was good cus we had lost the last 2 before that

the grasshopper
8 Nov 2008, 13:17
www.glenorchymagpies.blogspot.com

magic_johnson!
8 Nov 2008, 22:26
First match was a twenty/20
they scored 77 and we easily got the total losing just one wicket in the first over (LBW- a very bad call). :thumbsu:

Second game
We bowled them out for 173 of 55 overs and we scored 215 in reply :thumbsu:

third game
again a 55 over match. We lost the toss and batted first. the grass was very long which made it hard to score runs. i was batting number 10 as i rocked up right as the game was about to start because my alarm clock decided not to work and the game was at torquay; a 45 minute drive. we were in a slump and were 8/123 when i walked in with 10 overs to go and at stumps we were 8/167. Not the best score- but competitive.

Come back the next week and the cocks had cut the grass so it turned a very slow outfield to a very fast one. we bowled well, but failed to get wickets and this came back to bite us and we recorded our first loss for the season. :thumbsd:

cats2rise
8 Nov 2008, 22:53
Game 1: DNP
Game 2: DNP
Game 3: 46* (off probably about 60 balls) and 0/47 (I think) off 7 overs. Got spanked in my second spell. Was a one dayer.

B grade has the bye in Game 4, so I went to watch A grade and was 12th man.

The Cotch
9 Nov 2008, 08:07
U/17s are undefeated :thumbsu:

Playing seniors as well and we are 2-3.

Personally, having an ok season so far, batting at 3, 210 runs @ 30.

OzBomber
9 Nov 2008, 08:14
Made a nice 4 not out from 5 balls. :p

We were 5 for 19 until 2 of our blokes put together a partnership of 99. We ended up making a nice 140. Wasn't the best conditions either. It was freezing cold.

carn tigez
9 Nov 2008, 08:32
U17's - Undefeated
1st game - 1
2nd game - 21

I didn't play 1st game, and in 4th game I'm coming in next and we are 0/20 chasing 110

Seniors (C grade) - 1-3
1st game - 8 (run out :mad:)
2nd game - 0 (1st duck in 2 years)
3rd game - 11
4th game - 35

Open in seniors, bat at 3 in U17's

BluesMan
9 Nov 2008, 12:40
E-Grade..

in the middle of a two dayer(yesterday and next saterday).
We elected to bowl first, I opened and got the opener with a pearling outswinger caught at slip, for a duck. but from there the team went down hill! They ended up making 317 off there 72 overs( a days play). I got 3/48 off 14 overs. I bat about number 9 so if we crumble next week i might have to get a 50 or something:D not a chance!

davey_magik
9 Nov 2008, 13:00
Bowled them out for 176, had them 2/8 early but their best bat (And probably the 2nd best in the comp) came in at 4 so at tea they were 2/116, they were scoring slowly and it didn't help we put 4 catches down for the day :thumbsd: (I wasn't a culprit however).

After tea we took 4 wickets in about 8 overs (Including an idiotic runout that started the rot) but the tail wagged a little and held us up. We had 15 overs to bat and are 1/63 (We have the best bat in the comp, came out at 3 and made 34 in about 8 overs :D ). If the guy who is 34* stays in for 15 overs next Sat we'll be guaranteed 1st innings and maybe have a chance at an outright if we can hold our catches.

I can bowl a little bit of offspin but definitely won't get a bowl in As anytime soon, so fielded at gully all day. Usually bat lower order which is why I'd probably rather play B grade and bat a lot higher up.

legend166
9 Nov 2008, 13:37
How many of you play in comps that use MyCricket? You can link to all your stats with that.

Anyway yesterday we lost by 2 runs. I play in A3 seniors in Manly Warringah. We were playing the 6th grade Manly side who play in our comp. They're like all the developing 15 year olds. We should have won easy, bowled them out for 135 last week. I picked up 4/26. The problem is our best batsman, who's averaged 71 for the last two seasons, broke his finger last game. So we ended up 2 runs short.

D:

bigburger
9 Nov 2008, 14:44
Just started playing senior cricket for the first time this year after 3 years of not playing at all and I am enjoying it big time. Missed the first game with work then in the second game got 1 with the bat and none for 11 off 8 overs with the ball. We smashed them. This game just finished yesterday we got smoked and I bowled pus in my first spell but come back in the second and bowled 1 for 58 off 13 overs. Looking forward to the next game as we are on turf for the first time this season and being the opening pace bowler I should see a better effort from myself and hopefully we win.

jozeph
9 Nov 2008, 14:57
Played 'b's yesterday, 40 over one dayer, opened the batting and made a scratchy 4, before being comprehensively bowled, team made 169, and we bowled them out for 84, got to bowl my offies and ended up with 3 for not many, I think it should've been 4 for, but a stumping was called a runout I think, I haven't looked at the score sheets, dropped a sharp catch off my own bowling and had another put down off me as well.
Last game was in the 'A's and we won that as well, made 257, of which I contributed 42 from about 35 overs and had numerous chances, bowled them out for 181, so the club is going ok atm.
The A's won a onedayer yesterday too.:thumbsu:

OzBomber
15 Nov 2008, 19:12
Made a nice 4 not out from 5 balls. :p

We were 5 for 19 until 2 of our blokes put together a partnership of 99. We ended up making a nice 140. Wasn't the best conditions either. It was freezing cold.Coincidence? I took 5/19 today bowling my great leg spinners. That makes 7/23 in 2 games this season. That's quite a nice start.
In my first over I took 3 wickets. First wicket was caught at deepish square leg, next ball bowled the guy around his legs (If you read my last game, I did it then as well). Then for my hattrick ball I tried the toppy but it was a wide. Ahh well, I've already taken a hattrick before. :p Got another wicket 2 balls later. My 2nd over, I took another 2 wickets. My coach said that I had 4/4 at one stage. After 1.3 overs I had 5 wickets. :eek: I bowled pies for the next 4 overs and couldn't get my 6th wicket. But it's my best figures and I go MOTM. :)

My previous best was 4/14 from a couple of years ago.

We bowled em out for 101 and won by 39 runs.

aaronm46
15 Nov 2008, 19:22
Coincidence? I took 5/19 today bowling my great leg spinners. That makes 7/23 in 2 games this season. That's quite a nice start.
In my first over I took 3 wickets. First wicket was caught at deepish square leg, next ball bowled the guy around his legs (If you read my last game, I did it then as well). Then for my hattrick ball I tried the toppy but it was a wide. Ahh well, I've already taken a hattrick before. :p Got another wicket 2 balls later. My 2nd over, I took another 2 wickets. My coach said that I had 4/4 at one stage. After 1.3 overs I had 5 wickets. :eek: I bowled pies for the next 4 overs and couldn't get my 6th wicket. But it's my best figures and I go MOTM. :)

stop talking to yourself mate :p

but well done taking a 5-fa is a great achievement, my best bowling figures are 4/22 taken last year

magic_johnson!
15 Nov 2008, 20:22
today in the first day in a 2-dayer we elected to bowl, had em on the ropes for 7-80 but their tale wagged alot and our fielding dropped and ended up mkaing 147 :thumbsd: should be able to knock that off though, just disappointed we couldnt get those last 3 quickly.

How many of you play in comps that use MyCricket? You can link to all your stats with that.

my comp uses my cricket, how the hell do you access your stats though? :p

The Cotch
15 Nov 2008, 20:58
edit

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
15 Nov 2008, 22:43
Coincidence? I took 5/19 today bowling my great leg spinners. That makes 7/23 in 2 games this season. That's quite a nice start.

My previous best was 4/14 from a couple of years ago.

We bowled em out for 101 and won by 39 runs.

Are you fair dinkum?

If your bowling leg spin with a wrist spinning action, higher honours await you in future years Sean.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
15 Nov 2008, 22:50
Started another 2 day game this today, won the toss and batted on a nice wicket with a tinge of grass.

Opened up and lost my partner clean bowled in the 3rd over, 1 / 5.

The next batsmen lasted 2 balls before going LBW, 2/5.

Me and the next batsmen put on 50 odd before he went caught behind for 28.

3/70.

I ended up getting 95 before i got done by an quicker flatter arm ball from a offspinner and the bat got caught behind my back flap and i was out plumb LBW.

Ended up at stumps 8/395. At the ground where we play at we always have trouble with idiots who drive past yelling and beeping horns, shouting "balling warnie". The road is a notorious drag strip and its only a 50 zone, the local cricket association had been on to the police for a month about idiots that drive past during the game and today the cops sent up a radar trap and the copper running it decided to come and watch the cricket from under the shaded area. Needless to say a few people would have got caught today, everytime some idiot would speed past a guy at first slip would mutter to the keeper "got him, yes" in a bill lawry voice.

Classic stuff.

OzBomber
16 Nov 2008, 07:07
Are you fair dinkum?

If your bowling leg spin with a wrist spinning action, higher honours await you in future years Sean. Yeah, I am (http://mycricket.cricket.com.au/common/pages/asphost.aspx?loc=/cricket/reports/match.asp&locx=MATCH&matchID=547008). People were calling me a freak after I took 3 wickets in 1 over. I was even more of a freak when I took 2 more in the next. haha.

OzBomber
16 Nov 2008, 07:09
today in the first day in a 2-dayer we elected to bowl, had em on the ropes for 7-80 but their tale wagged alot and our fielding dropped and ended up mkaing 147 :thumbsd: should be able to knock that off though, just disappointed we couldnt get those last 3 quickly.

my comp uses my cricket, how the hell do you access your stats though? :pYou have to customize it to your team. Top right it will say "Customised for: bla bla bla".

OzBomber
16 Nov 2008, 07:14
Started another 2 day game this today, won the toss and batted on a nice wicket with a tinge of grass.

Opened up and lost my partner clean bowled in the 3rd over, 1 / 5.

The next batsmen lasted 2 balls before going LBW, 2/5.

Me and the next batsmen put on 50 odd before he went caught behind for 28.

3/70.

I ended up getting 95 before i got done by an quicker flatter arm ball from a offspinner and the bat got caught behind my back flap and i was out plumb LBW.

Ended up at stumps 8/395. At the ground where we play at we always have trouble with idiots who drive past yelling and beeping horns, shouting "balling warnie". The road is a notorious drag strip and its only a 50 zone, the local cricket association had been on to the police for a month about idiots that drive past during the game and today the cops sent up a radar trap and the copper running it decided to come and watch the cricket from under the shaded area. Needless to say a few people would have got caught today, everytime some idiot would speed past a guy at first slip would mutter to the keeper "got him, yes" in a bill lawry voice.

Classic stuff.What level of cricket you play? You seem quite the player. I'd love to play on a turf pitch, it'd be awesome.

coke_zero
16 Nov 2008, 08:35
took 3 for 17 this week.:thumbsu:

nicko99
16 Nov 2008, 09:34
whats the highest grade/comp you guys have played, currently playin premier cricket in vic made 45 yesterday

Blind Blink
16 Nov 2008, 09:45
Yeah, I am (http://mycricket.cricket.com.au/common/pages/asphost.aspx?loc=/cricket/reports/match.asp&locx=MATCH&matchID=547008). People were calling me a freak after I took 3 wickets in 1 over. I was even more of a freak when I took 2 more in the next. haha.

Did you try out for Hatch or Dowling this year/last year?

Yesterday I had 0/10 off 5 overs opening the bowling and then in my second spell got carted by a guy who made 108*. But I took a wicket with the second last ball of the innings at least.

OzBomber
16 Nov 2008, 10:19
Did you try out for Hatch or Dowling this year/last year?

Yesterday I had 0/10 off 5 overs opening the bowling and then in my second spell got carted by a guy who made 108*. But I took a wicket with the second last ball of the innings at least.Nah, mate. I wasn't chosen for Dowling. But a couple of people from my club were chosen to. Mightypies is one, and a couple who I played with last year.

Blind Blink
16 Nov 2008, 10:36
Ahk. Bad luck, but it's a pretty tough comp. You should of tried out for Hatch last year, you would of made it.

nicko99
16 Nov 2008, 10:43
Nah, mate. I wasn't chosen for Dowling. But a couple of people from my club were chosen to. Mightypies is one, and a couple who I played with last year.

is your region south east country sharks for dowling sean?

OzBomber
16 Nov 2008, 11:09
is your region south east country sharks for dowling sean?
Not sure mate. Whatever covers the MPCA. Are there different Dowling teams?

Ahk. Bad luck, but it's a pretty tough comp. You should of tried out for Hatch last year, you would of made it.
Is Hatch the same as Dowling?

scooterb
16 Nov 2008, 11:34
Yeah, I am (http://mycricket.cricket.com.au/common/pages/asphost.aspx?loc=/cricket/reports/match.asp&locx=MATCH&matchID=547008). People were calling me a freak after I took 3 wickets in 1 over. I was even more of a freak when I took 2 more in the next. haha.
Haha, juniors was so easy.
I was a wicket keeper, but I broke my thumb on my left hand so I was placed down at mid-off.
I was put on to bowl and I got 3/1 in 2 overs before being taken off for no apparent reason.
I was bowling trashy off spinners as well.

One of my mates got 7/2 in under 17's in 5 overs including a hatrick (all bowled middle stump). He then got another wicket 2 balls later (once again bowled middle stump). On the previous over he was on a hatrick as well.

Blind Blink
16 Nov 2008, 12:24
Is Hatch the same as Dowling?

Nah, Hatch is an u15 comp with all the sub-district teams in it, whereas Dowling is u16 (I think?) and it has district teams plus a few country Victoria regional teams.

Dowling>>>>>Hatch

OzBomber
16 Nov 2008, 12:39
Nah, Hatch is an u15 comp with all the sub-district teams in it, whereas Dowling is u16 (I think?) and it has district teams plus a few country Victoria regional teams.

Dowling>>>>>Hatch
Ahh, I wasn't in Sub-District last season. I was in East(U15). The only reason we're in sub-district is because we have 3 teams.

nicko99
16 Nov 2008, 13:55
this is a link with the male pathway:
http://www.cricketvictoria.com.au/page/male_pathway.html
ive been through this pathway from u/14s up

just by looking at the club you play for i think this is your region sean
http://secountry.cricketvictoria.com.au/aboutthesoutheastcountryregion.html

hatch is a U/15s comp in the victorian sub-district cricket assosiation

U/14s, 16s(dowling) and 18s are all team the top rep teams in victoria made up from the 16 regions in the male pathway

rocker_oz33
16 Nov 2008, 14:51
G'day guys l play Geelong local cricket lower grade l came back after 2 years off (l had to work Saturdays:mad:)l'm not the best bat,l bat lower order and bowl my medium's when l get the call from skipper,I've had a alright start to the year I've been in 2 30plus parterships and batted 4 times only dissmissed once and bowled 5 times for 8 wickets best 4/30 from 10 it was a match winning effot.. at home l have 6 wickets @ 6.25

OzBomber
16 Nov 2008, 15:05

U/14s, 16s(dowling) and 18s are all team the top rep teams in victoria made up from the 16 regions in the male pathwayYep, that's it. I'd love to get an invitation to try out for that.

Cotchin 9
16 Nov 2008, 18:40
Made 14 odd today with the bat, dissapointed got a start and couldn't go on with it.

also nicko what grade of premier cricket do you play?

Marklar_33
16 Nov 2008, 20:15
Not much of a start to the year for me

Team is 3-1 and equal top but poor NRR. Personally, I have 2 runs at 0.66 :o and 4 wickets at 24 opening the bowling.

Got 2/32 yesterday in the worst conditions... wind was just howling over the ground, which helped my inswinger... managed to bowl a couple of unplayable balls which picked up the wickets, but the rest was just poo.

Had them 9/120 chasing 220... the last pair hit 75 in 10 overs to scare us a little, but got them for 195

TheMightyPies
17 Nov 2008, 20:16

U/14s, 16s(dowling) and 18s are all team the top rep teams in victoria made up from the 16 regions in the male pathway

thats the one were in, i made the top 60 for the SE country sharks but didnt get any further

i opened and got 1/17 off 6(had better days)

and made a solid 6 last week batting at 10 with only a couple of overs to go

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
18 Nov 2008, 00:16
What level of cricket you play? You seem quite the player. I'd love to play on a turf pitch, it'd be awesome.

Alternate between 2nd and First grade, about 50/50 in both. My form in 2nd grade is good but in first grade i have struggled at times.

Thats a great effort to bowl spin successfully on non-turf wickets sean, i presume you play on Astro turf, wait till you get to turf, you like it a lot more being a spin bowler.

bigburger
18 Nov 2008, 00:49
Played thirds again on the weekend. We lost the toss and were sent in to bat. The pitch was quite green and had a few cracks on it...i would most definately say it had more for the bowlers than the batsmen. This turned out to be true as we were 7 for 87. Then a couple of blokes come in and one of them is a gun and he smashed his way to 67. Anyway he got out and the next guy that came in got out fairly cheap. I enter at 11th which i was happy to be at. First couple of balls i am just blocking them then bang a big six lol just slogged it over midwicket. Because I only played juniors before this that was the first one i'd ever hit :thumbsu:. Anyway i end up with 33no (which btw is ****en amazing for myself as i am the biggest rabbit ever) and the other guy i was batting with gets 43 and we had a 60 run partnership for the final wicket which gets us to 210. We bowled a few overs and I got to open, the ball is doing a bit so i am looking extremely forwards to next week.

bigpapagman
18 Nov 2008, 12:15
stats for the year playing ones.

http://warraguldca.vic.cricket.com.au/showrvcontent.aspx?playerID=83963&dispCID=2144&seasonID=63&loc=/cricket/reports/player.asp&loc1/player.asp

OzBomber
18 Nov 2008, 16:32
Alternate between 2nd and First grade, about 50/50 in both. My form in 2nd grade is good but in first grade i have struggled at times.

Thats a great effort to bowl spin successfully on non-turf wickets sean, i presume you play on Astro turf, wait till you get to turf, you like it a lot more being a spin bowler.What's so hard to bowl spin on astro turf? It's heaps easy.

Toshowyouwhy
18 Nov 2008, 17:05
Anyone playing in the Brisbane Grade or U17s comp??

retroparty
18 Nov 2008, 18:39
The other week I made a dodgy 7 not out before I ran outta batting partners. I'm the wicketkeeper so never bowl but yeah took a nice catch but sadly my team were all out for about 90 odd when the opposition made 150 odd.

Ben the Gooner
20 Nov 2008, 13:22
What's so hard to bowl spin on astro turf? It's heaps easy.

The ball grips so much more on turf.

I'm no good, but when I bowl, it's offies (I normally keep). Only do anything on turf, because you get so much more turn.

OzBomber
25 Feb 2009, 19:14
Had a pretty good season. Took 12 wickets at an average of just over 11. Made only 40 runs for the season at number 10, but only went out twice. :p

Half the games were T20s so I reckon I could've taken more wickets if we were playing 45 over games.

Team didn't go well, only won 2 games for the season.