View Full Version : Would you vote for a president jack?

JG.
22 Oct 2002, 09:38
If i run for president, would you Support me?

My ticket will be:

Jack Gibbons (President)
Localyokal (Vice President)
Oldschool
Scoreboardend
Fansquad
Trent Bartlett (Hopefully he will give up his successful career with the boots)

I asked Terry Wallace to join the board, he wanted $600,000 per annum (the amount sydney promised him) so naturally I told him to get stuffed.

The Doctor
22 Oct 2002, 11:03
Good to see that you are having a crack at becoming our resident comedian.

Speaking of comedy what happened to the Campbell Rose thread?

Captain Sensible
22 Oct 2002, 11:24
Originally posted by JG.

My ticket will be:

Jack Gibbons (President)
Oldschool
Scoreboardend
Fansquad

I asked Terry Wallace to join the board, he wanted $600,000 per annum (the amount sydney promised him) so naturally I told him to get stuffed.

You want to watch me Jack. I might want the top job myself. :D

JG.
22 Oct 2002, 12:46
Originally posted by localyokel

You want to watch me Jack. I might want the top job myself. :D

yes I contemplated that, How about you let me be president for 5 years and then you can succeed me? who cares what the members think. I like to refer to it as the Carlton approach.:D

PC28
22 Oct 2002, 12:52
There's two votes, none of them a "yes" vote...

Seems as though Jack won't even vote for himself!!

Hey JG - The soccer team you refered to in the Rose thread which has now vanished... Can you tell me where and when? I have no recolection of it.

JG.
22 Oct 2002, 13:20
Originally posted by PC28
There's two votes, none of them a "yes" vote...

Seems as though Jack won't even vote for himself!!

Hey JG - The soccer team you refered to in the Rose thread which has now vanished... Can you tell me where and when? I have no recolection of it.

Yeah i didn't vote for myself, I thought i would follow the voting trend.

Brunswick Juventis they were called. They played some games at the Whitten Oval. Not many. I think they where in the National League for a while. I believe it was a ploy by the club to get more use out of the ground. Apparntly they had a conflict with the cricket club which ended in them leaving the ground. Don't take this for gospel.

PC28
22 Oct 2002, 13:31
Originally posted by JG.

Brunswick Juventis they were called. They played some games at the Whitten Oval. Not many. I think they where in the National League for a while. I believe it was a ploy by the club to get more use out of the ground. Apparntly they had a conflict with the cricket club which ended in them leaving the ground. Don't take this for gospel.

I believe that Footscray CC left the Whitten Oval because the Football Club was unhappy with the condition the hard pitches left the centre square in, although we were only ever to play one more game there after. (Ground was reserfaced in the summer of 96 if i remember correctly) The FCC moved to the Merv Hughes oval.

I still can't quite place Brunswick Juve with the club, although the more i think of it, i can remember something about soccer at the WO.

JG.
22 Oct 2002, 13:36

I believe that Footscray CC left the Whitten Oval because the Football Club was unhappy with the condition the hard pitches left the centre square in, although we were only ever to play one more game there after. (Ground was reserfaced in the summer of 96 if i remember correctly) The FCC moved to the Merv Hughes oval.

Yeah that sounds about right.

scoreboardend
22 Oct 2002, 13:37
Originally posted by JG.

My ticket will be:

Jack Gibbons (President)
Oldschool
Scoreboardend
Fansquad

Hey Fansquad, we got a guernsey. At least the meetings will be lively. Start stocking the bar Jack. :D

Bulldog1954
22 Oct 2002, 13:50
Me and 5 of my aliases will stand against you

Captain Sensible
22 Oct 2002, 14:04
Originally posted by JG.

Wasnt it Footscray JUST(Jugoslav united soccer team) that played at the Western Oval? It was around the time that the Yarraville VFA team played there as well, that would make it around the early '80s.

The cricket club thing was a complete balls up. At least the cricket club got a ground out of it where they are happy.

BTW Didnt have you down as a trend follower Jack. My plan is to see out at least 4 years and then to resign sensationally a year before taking offiice.:eek:

I am also planning on having a big factory around the corner from Optus Oval but give all my financial support to a club on the other side of town.

scoreboardend
22 Oct 2002, 14:05
Originally posted by JG.

My ticket will be:

Jack Gibbons (President)
Oldschool
Scoreboardend
Fansquad

Jack, i have just sent off for the Saddam Hussein video on "how to win votes and influence people" which i sent off for on one of those late night marketing shows, so we should have some useful tips on how to seize power from the current board (not that it will be too difficult.)

JG.
22 Oct 2002, 14:12
Originally posted by Bulldog1954
Me and 5 of my aliases will stand against you

I am not scoreboardend, Fansquad or Oldschool. Get over it.

JG.
22 Oct 2002, 14:17

Wasnt it Footscray JUST(Jugoslav united soccer team) that played at the Western Oval? It was around the time that the Yarraville VFA team played there as well, that would make it around the early '80s.

nah we had a team playing there in the mid 90's. I'm sure. I'm definatly not thinking of the early 80's.

BTW Didnt have you down as a trend follower Jack. My plan is to see out at least 4 years and then to resign sensationally a year before taking offiice.:eek:

I am also planning on having a big factory around the corner from Optus Oval but give all my financial support to a club on the other side of town.

we can call you local de lutis.

JG.
22 Oct 2002, 14:22
Originally posted by scoreboardend

Jack, i have just sent off for the Saddam Hussein video on "how to win votes and influence people" which i sent off for on one of those late night marketing shows, so we should have some useful tips on how to seize power from the current board (not that it will be too difficult.)

We need all the help we can get.;)

Bulldog1954
22 Oct 2002, 14:23
Originally posted by JG.

I am not scoreboardend, Fansquad or Oldschool. Get over it.

???

I wasn't suggesting you were.

I was just making a very poor joke that had no relevance to you having any aliases, and if you did I couldn't care less.

I think your a touch paranoid, why would I think you were any one of them?

JG.
22 Oct 2002, 14:34

???

I wasn't suggesting you were.

I was just making a very poor joke that had no relevance to you having any aliases, and if you did I couldn't care less.

I think your a touch paranoid, why would I think you were any one of them?

play dumb, it suits you.

Chops
22 Oct 2002, 14:46
Originally posted by JG.

Yes I remember It was Brunswick Juventus alright, I think they played 1 or 2 games at the Western Oval but it was deemed as unsuitable for soccer. Melbourne Monarchs baseballers played there too. This was all during the Gordon era.

A lot of soccer clubs have gone under and the whole national baseball league has disappeared.

PC28
22 Oct 2002, 14:59
Originally posted by Chops

Yes I remember It was Brunswick Juventus alright, I think they played 1 or 2 games at the Western Oval but it was deemed as unsuitable for soccer. Melbourne Monarchs baseballers played there too. This was all during the Gordon era.

A lot of soccer clubs have gone under and the whole national baseball league has disappeared.

Yeah Dave Neilson did brilliant things with the Baseball League :D

robertkay
22 Oct 2002, 15:03

Yeah Dave Neilson did brilliant things with the Baseball League :D

yeah the league is stuffed now.

I use to enjoy going to watch the baseball at the Altona staduim. I remember we beat Perth Glory one year for the title.

PC28
22 Oct 2002, 15:07
Originally posted by robertkay

yeah the league is stuffed now.

I use to enjoy going to watch the baseball at the Altona staduim. I remember we beat Perth Glory one year for the title.

G'Day Robert, Nice to have you aboard.

Yes, Australia missed the boat with getting baseball up and running in Australia, the league was sold to Dave Neilson with the hope that a high profile owner could boost dropping attendances and corporate sponsorship. Sadly, the league faded away.

robertkay
22 Oct 2002, 15:13

G'Day Robert, Nice to have you aboard.

Yes, Australia missed the boat with getting baseball up and running in Australia, the league was sold to Dave Neilson with the hope that a high profile owner could boost dropping attendances and corporate sponsorship. Sadly, the league faded away.

Personally I think it was a good idea to involve the club with the Monarchs. I really enjoy baseball and you dont get enough of it over here. Except on cable, which i don't have.

PC28
22 Oct 2002, 15:20

Personally I think it was a good idea to involve the club with the Monarchs. I really enjoy baseball and you dont get enough of it over here. Except on cable, which i don't have.

I enjoyed the Monarchs too and thought the clubs involvement was a good one, it also helped to have Mr Justin "Two Sports" Charles playing for the Bulldogs and Monarchs for a little while.

Baseball is a very popular game, and i believe the MLB has quite a following over here, even if it's just the casual observer of the game.

Sadly however like i said, the chance to make anything out of baseball here is gone.

Bulldog1954
22 Oct 2002, 16:05
Originally posted by JG.

play dumb, it suits you.

Are you a couple of beers short of a 6 pack?

I'm telling you I was not inferring you had any aliases, I would have no idea if you had any aliases, and wouldn't care if you did. Why would I all of a sudden have a go at you for having aliases for christs sake?

I joke about my aliases and being a troll all the time, it had nothing to do with you. I don't give a crap if you don't believe me and are just a very paranopid person, but thats the truth

Fansquad
22 Oct 2002, 16:45
Originally posted by JG.

My ticket will be:

Jack Gibbons (President)
Oldschool
Scoreboardend
Fansquad

cheers Jack:D

I'm in. As long as I can be the Football Director.

Fansquad
22 Oct 2002, 16:50

Are you a couple of beers short of a 6 pack?

I'm telling you I was not inferring you had any aliases, I would have no idea if you had any aliases, and wouldn't care if you did. Why would I all of a sudden have a go at you for having aliases for christs sake?

I joke about my aliases and being a troll all the time, it had nothing to do with you. I don't give a crap if you don't believe me and are just a very paranopid person, but thats the truth

Maybe his paranoid becoz every time someone agrees with him (me, Scoreboardend or Oldschool) he is accused of having multiple usernames. Dropkicks out there who like towing the party line just like to discredit him becoz they know most of his arguments are valid. While he may always go off the deep end when putting his point across, the substance of his arguments are ussually very solid.

Fansquad
22 Oct 2002, 16:53
I know that I have stopped posting here frequently because some (not all) of the posters in here can't hack an alterntative view. I have been often accused of using mutiple usernames. This annoyed me as well.

I just stick to the soccer board now, and have an occasional glance at the bullies board.

Go the dogs! may they prosper in 2003 and beyond!!

Curly5
22 Oct 2002, 17:24
JG, you will have to develop a very thick skin if you are going to be president of an AFL club.

I think it's time there was a woman on the board. For a start we understand how to stretch the household budget. Secondly, we know how to smooth ruffled feathers and keep the peace. And finally, we insist on good manners. ;)

Mr. Walker
22 Oct 2002, 18:14
Originally posted by Curly5
JG, you will have to develop a very thick skin if you are going to be president of an AFL club.

I think it's time there was a woman on the board. For a start we understand how to stretch the household budget. Secondly, we know how to smooth ruffled feathers and keep the peace. And finally, we insist on good manners. ;)

Would you keep the colours the same?

Curly5
22 Oct 2002, 20:16
Originally posted by Mr. Walker

Would you keep the colours the same?
Definitely.

dancingdoggie17
22 Oct 2002, 20:46
i'll vote for you....IF I CAN BE MASSEUSE!! lol.

either that or forward pocket. lol

Bulldog1954
22 Oct 2002, 21:48
Originally posted by Fansquad

Maybe his paranoid becoz every time someone agrees with him (me, Scoreboardend or Oldschool) he is accused of having multiple usernames. Dropkicks out there who like towing the party line just like to discredit him becoz they know most of his arguments are valid. While he may always go off the deep end when putting his point across, the substance of his arguments are ussually very solid.

I have never accused him or any of you of having mulitple usernames (would be a tad hypocritical), I can assure you I was not having a go at him

OldSchool
22 Oct 2002, 22:04
Bulldog1954 was not having a go at anyone just a bit of a joke at those who like to have multiple usernames.
It was not directed at Jack or anyone else that posted on the thread.
Lets move on :)

JG.
22 Oct 2002, 23:32

Definitely.

I believe that question was for my ticket to answer. I don't recall asking you to join my future board

and for the record we would keep the same colours. Yellow, Black and Green...as it has always been.

JG.
22 Oct 2002, 23:46
I would have asked Rocco to join my ticket if he knew how to find Whitten Oval without a melways.

he seems to have selective memory that only dates back til 1997. Everything before that is a blur.

Westy_Boy
23 Oct 2002, 00:19

Dropkicks out there who like towing the party line just like to discredit him becoz they know most of his arguments are valid.
His valid arguments have consisted of the Colonial Stadium deal, the high turnover rate of employees, and the training centre loss - all issues and mistakes which the majority of supporters are already concerned with, and I'm sure the management of the club are concerned with as well.

Among his other arguments have been suggestions of:

* Giving Chris Grant a 30% wage cut
* Smorgo shouldn't have donated $10,000 to the club out of his own pocket
* Smorgo should stop giving supporters hope that there's a possiblility the club might survive
* Pay whatever it takes to get Whitten Oval up to scratch, to play 1 game there a year
* Invest heavily (in terms of time and finances) into a pokies venture which, given new government legislation on restricting new pokie centres (especially in low socio economic areas), may never get off the ground.
* Everyone on our board is a gutless, incompetent monkey

So what you're saying Fansquad, is that if anyone dares disagree with some of the arguments above, they're a dropkick and an idiot. Is that what you're saying?

Most people have tackled him on most of the issues at hand, and yeah, some people don't like him - this is coz a) he has a go at anyone who disagrees with his views, so they perceive him as a bit of a tosser b) members generally would rather support our president and our board members who are working their arses off for the club (without being paid a cent for it), rather than some internet hero who, no matter what the board does, will do his utmost to criticise, undermine and belittle the management of the club.

You may disagree with that stance and dismiss it as 'towing the party line', but we love the club, and we've got as much right to an opinion as you and Jack do, and we'll voice it whenever we damn well f**kin please.

Chops
23 Oct 2002, 09:15
Well said Westy!

Curly5
23 Oct 2002, 09:50
Originally posted by JG.

I believe that question was for my ticket to answer. I don't recall asking you to join my future board

and for the record we would keep the same colours. Yellow, Black and Green...as it has always been.
I think if you read the post, the quote referred to was mine.

Your ticket may not be the only one. Already I sense dissatisfaction with your performance and you haven't even taken office.

Chicago1
23 Oct 2002, 10:56

I think if you read the post, the quote referred to was mine.

Your ticket may not be the only one. Already I sense dissatisfaction with your performance and you haven't even taken office.

Please don't be so negative, Curly!;)

Fansquad
23 Oct 2002, 12:40
Originally posted by Westy_Boy

Among his other arguments have been suggestions of:

* Giving Chris Grant a 30% wage cut
* Smorgo shouldn't have donated $10,000 to the club out of his own pocket
* Smorgo should stop giving supporters hope that there's a possiblility the club might survive
* Pay whatever it takes to get Whitten Oval up to scratch, to play 1 game there a year
* Invest heavily (in terms of time and finances) into a pokies venture which, given new government legislation on restricting new pokie centres (especially in low socio economic areas), may never get off the ground.
* Everyone on our board is a gutless, incompetent monkey

* Chris Grant is no longer our most important player. Brown, Darcy and West all rate above him. Thus his pay packet is disproportionate to the value of his onfield performances.

* Smorgon donated the 10 grand to buy himself into history. It was a self-glorification technique. To put himself in the background of the team of the century photo was a sad event. Why couldn't he donate the money without having himself in the photo? Smorgon is worth millions. Maybe he should buy out the debt that he created and leave the club gracefully, letting someone else take over who knows what they are doing.

* I didn't say pay whatever it takes to play a game at the Whitten Oval. I said if the numbers add up, we could play a game there a year against an Interstate team. Getting 25,000 at the Whitten Oval once a year would make a hell of alot more than a game at Docklands, which gets 16,000 people. It would make us a couple of hundred grand better off. This is subject to getting the ground up to a suitable condition of course.

* Now is not the time to invest in poker machines. The time was 5 years ago. We have missed the boat. With the cap restrictions in place now we could not afford to invest in projects that may fail.

* Yes. The board are a bunch of gutless wonders, led by David Smorgon, The biggest failure the club has ever seen. the club is only as strong as its weakest link. Sadly, that weakest link is Mr. D Smorgon.

robertkay
23 Oct 2002, 13:10
While I don't agree with Fansquads "gun ho" approach, I do agree that the club has been poorly managed in recent times. We are probably the worst managed club in the league. For us to move forward we need to turn things around off the field. I would suggest a change in the board, but there seems to be no other options. So we must work with what we have and hope that we can get through the tough times. Smorgon is trying his hardest, and til there are other options, we should support him .

Captain Sensible
23 Oct 2002, 15:09
Fansquad.
We all have a view on how the footy club should be run. All of us, from JG to Westy Boy, manage to ge it across without resorting to personal abuse.

Please learn to do so as well.

Captain Sensible
23 Oct 2002, 15:10
Originally posted by JG.
I would have asked Rocco to join my ticket if he knew how to find Whitten Oval without a melways.

he seems to have selective memory that only dates back til 1997. Everything before that is a blur.

I have seen Rocco heaps of times at the Whitten Oval. He has never had a melways.:cool:

sigscotty
23 Oct 2002, 16:21
* Chris Grant is no longer our most important player. Brown, Darcy and West all rate above him. Thus his pay packet is disproportionate to the value of his onfield performances.

* Smorgon donated the 10 grand to buy himself into history. It was a self-glorification technique. To put himself in the background of the team of the century photo was a sad event. Why couldn't he donate the money without having himself in the photo? Smorgon is worth millions. Maybe he should buy out the debt that he created and leave the club gracefully, letting someone else take over who knows what they are doing.

* I didn't say pay whatever it takes to play a game at the Whitten Oval. I said if the numbers add up, we could play a game there a year against an Interstate team. Getting 25,000 at the Whitten Oval once a year would make a hell of alot more than a game at Docklands, which gets 16,000 people. It would make us a couple of hundred grand better off. This is subject to getting the ground up to a suitable condition of course.

* Now is not the time to invest in poker machines. The time was 5 years ago. We have missed the boat. With the cap restrictions in place now we could not afford to invest in projects that may fail.

* Yes. The board are a bunch of gutless wonders, led by David Smorgon, The biggest failure the club has ever seen. the club is only as strong as its weakest link. Sadly, that weakest link is Mr. D Smorgon.

* Do you or JG actually know what Chris Grant is on? If you don't have details, how can you argue for him to be on less? You are just guessing.

*Wasn't that option of getting into the team of the century pic available to anybody who had the money and was so inclined? First and foremost Smorgon is a Bulldog supporter like you and me, if i could afford it, i would have got my mug in there too. Who gives a **** either way.

*Do you have any evidence that Smorgon has not looked at getting games back at WO? It is interesting that you can criticize a guy when it is quite possible he may completely agree with you. (Westy never said YOU said that)

*Your pokies point supports Westyboy and is contrary to posts made by JG previously (you do realise Westy's post was about JG's so called "valid arguments" and not you?)

*Biggest failure the club has ever seen? Insert stats about comparitive membership levels attendances and sponsorship levels from before Smorgons time compared to now here.

In smorgon's time at the club the amount it takes to get an AFL club on the field has exploded like never before. I don't believe he has been perfect at all, but if he was even close to as bad at managing our club as some would like to think he is:
*We would be dead already. (Remember we were on the verge of death when he took over, seems to me we have at least held ground since then)
*You may want to say it is only because of the AFL(which is true) so Smorgon has nothing to do with it. However the AFL has had a very close look at us before giving us any help, and there is no way they would be willing to assist us financially if we were managed by "the biggest failure the club has ever seen".

dancingdoggie17
23 Oct 2002, 18:18
I'm with you sig.

Fansquad you have no evidence, it's all just guessing and you are just constantly negative.

Who cares if smorgo gave the club money? Who cares if he's in the friggen photo? are u jelous???

Chris Grant is our captain and a bloody legend. He should be given a chance and everyone at the club respecets him. He deserves whatever he can get. He has had a bad year, it doesn't mean we have to get rid of him. You'd probably be the first to complain if he went.

You are a gutless wonder by not wanting to stick with anyone. I don't think there is anyone who could do it much better than smorgo has done it the last few yrs.

Our membership is up. The AFL is screwed. Everyone is posting losses. In rugby they have a similar type of set up except the league gives out (i think) 80% of the money it makes evenly to the clubs. The AFL gives 20% to the clubs.

It's not working and it's not smorgo's fault.

OldSchool
23 Oct 2002, 18:45
While I don't agree with Fansquads "gun ho" approach, I do agree that the club has been poorly managed in recent times. We are probably the worst managed club in the league. For us to move forward we need to turn things around off the field. I would suggest a change in the board, but there seems to be no other options. So we must work with what we have and hope that we can get through the tough times. Smorgon is trying his hardest, and til there are other options, we should support him .

Welcome Robert,

Not sure if we are the worst run club because I think Freo, StKilda Carlton and the Kangaroos would beat us but the is plenty of scope for improvement.
I agree with you that Smorgo is our best option and we should support him.

Bulldog1954
23 Oct 2002, 21:51
Fansquad, Smorgon didn't create the dent for us, we have been in debt and struggling financially since vefore I was born. Do you think when he took over we were in a real powerful position???

And we will never find out but you can bet your bottom dollar that Smorgo has donated more then that 10 grand to the club. The man has done a good job, the facts are you can't change problems that have existed for 77 years overnight. He has made mistakes, but he obviously has the club at heart and has also done a lot of good for the place