View Full Version : Aflq News Part 2

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11]

hpvectra
17 Feb 2010, 14:43
tapp left to enhance his draft /rookie chances, hes been sold on the idea he will get more exposure playing for NT. good luck to him hes a good kid.
Argus, same idea, dont like his chances
Hill, shultz note sure. are they in the vultures best 22??? time will tell
matthews, travel committment too much with a newborn, fair enough
Cadzow lol... give us a break
if the problem was with the football department, they have been replaced. and we must rememebr they were all ex zillmere ;). i still believe a lot were dissapointed in getting thrashed most weeks, which i understand, but that wont happen this year. hope this has helped with some of your concrern oddball.
ladder
panthers
sharks
nt
vultures
aspley ;)

any one with website for clearences

bencadz
17 Feb 2010, 19:11
Haha im pretty sure i crossed from aspley twos and played in a senior grand final side at mt gravett, shows how much u know pal catch ya:):thumbsu:
tapp left to enhance his draft /rookie chances, hes been sold on the idea he will get more exposure playing for NT. good luck to him hes a good kid.
if the problem was with the football department, they have been replaced. and we must rememebr they were all ex zillmere ;). i still believe a lot were dissapointed in getting thrashed most weeks, which i understand, but that wont happen this year. hope this has helped with some of your concrern oddball.
ladder
panthers
sharks
nt
vultures
aspley ;)

bencadz
17 Feb 2010, 19:17
also hill will more then likely be starting in the ruck at mt gravett, where do u get your information?
ladder
panthers
sharks
nt
vultures
aspley ;)

BigE
17 Feb 2010, 21:42
also hill will more then likely be starting in the ruck at mt gravett, where do u get your information?

bencadz if you read the post it has ??? which means it is a question not a statement.:confused:
hope hill is there number one ruckman. good luck to him

mongrel_punt
18 Feb 2010, 08:53
Interesting to see pretty much nobody rates Redlands as top 5 this season.

It was the same last year (pretty much everyone had them bottom again), and they are a better side this season...

BigE
18 Feb 2010, 11:56
Haha im pretty sure i crossed from aspley twos and played in a senior grand final side at mt gravett, shows how much u know pal catch ya:):thumbsu:

thats right and probably played more games at vultures than aspley, hence your not included in the departures.
i didnt catch the gf how did you go bencadz?

Sweetie
18 Feb 2010, 14:54
thats right and probably played more games at vultures than aspley, hence your not included in the departures.

Word I am getting is the bencadz will struggle to get a game in the two's at Mounties this year, due to his lack of talent. Aspley better off without his infuence on the younger players, I'm sure the party will be great with Pratt Schultz Hill etc but that is where it ends for Bencadz.

bencadz
18 Feb 2010, 15:33
you heard wrong pal im actually playing at caboolture and starting at chf. i appreciate your support though.
Word I am getting is the bencadz will struggle to get a game in the two's at Mounties this year, due to his lack of talent. Aspley better off without his infuence on the younger players, I'm sure the party will be great with Pratt Schultz Hill etc but that is where it ends for Bencadz.

bencadz
18 Feb 2010, 15:34
well we lost and i played fairly average.

bombcat
18 Feb 2010, 16:39
How will Redlands cater for the loss of White especially? Eagle might have kicked 80 but Whites 30 and his work around the ground was invaluable. Do they have anyone to take his place in the middle?

Where are all of the GC boys playing this year there will be a few missing out everyweek and they all can't play for southport!

Have heard down here in Victoria that Jeff WHITE is joining the Shepparton Swans with YZE BROWN and ROBERTSON. Is this true or where is he playing?

morphous
18 Feb 2010, 16:48
Have heard down here in Victoria that Jeff WHITE is joining the Shepparton Swans with YZE BROWN and ROBERTSON. Is this true or where is he playing?

Very doubtful. He's retired and is assistant coach at Redland's

royboy16
18 Feb 2010, 22:01
how have the top two from last year recruited?
Panthers? Very quiet havent heard much. Picked up rogers, should be good kpp.
Vultures. Cpl from aspley and return of ash evans.
Any other news?
Those two and southport still look the benchmark.

damochandler
18 Feb 2010, 22:25
how have the top two from last year recruited?
Panthers? Very quiet havent heard much. Picked up rogers, should be good kpp.
Vultures. Cpl from aspley and return of ash evans.
Any other news?
Those two and southport still look the benchmark.

the vultures and the sider wouldn't have had to do a lot of recruiting. the siders always go about their recruiting quietly and they would have picked up a few good players

chicknfeed
19 Feb 2010, 07:07
hey all i am from victoria and just wanted to let anyone know who played for labrador
back in 2003-2004, that unfortunetly Jarrod Fearon-Brown passed away sadly on the 12th of feb, jarrod moved to queensland and played for labrador in 2003.

Lifes a Beach
19 Feb 2010, 07:57
That is a shame, was a decent kid what happened?

As I recall Fez moved to Qld to get out of mixing in the wrong circles, played some good footbal for Labrador, who also put him back to school at helensvale high as a mature age and he played in the Brisbane Lions cup gf in 2003. Could play, came to Qld on the back of a very good Tac gf game at full back in 2002. VFL weren't keen to see him move up.

chicknfeed
19 Feb 2010, 09:05
he was mixing with the wrong people back then but moving to queensland done him the world of good, was lucky enough to get to know him that year, really was a good bloke
and certainly could play footy, unfortunetly over the past twelve months he was suffering from a few things within himself and ended up taking his own life

Oddball
19 Feb 2010, 09:33
well we lost and i played fairly average.

Good assessment of Ben's GF game, but I doubt this is the real Cadz as many of his posts have big words and the spelling is correct!

By the way, how come he wasn't good enough to get a game with the Hornets but made it to the final 22 of the Vultures GF team - puzzled :confused:

PINNACLE HEALTH
19 Feb 2010, 14:36
Any info on this player would be much appreciated.
Shane Makin- Played in the backline for Palm Beach 2008 missed last season due to broken collarbone.
Did Shane play seniors?

Oddball
19 Feb 2010, 20:39
he was mixing with the wrong people back then but moving to queensland done him the world of good, was lucky enough to get to know him that year, really was a good bloke
and certainly could play footy, unfortunetly over the past twelve months he was suffering from a few things within himself and ended up taking his own life

A tragedy if that's true

Tiger G
19 Feb 2010, 21:14
very sad thoughts to his family

stinger_21
24 Feb 2010, 06:48
Gone a bit quiet on the AFLQ front. Any confirmed practice games for the upcoming weeks?

mongrel_punt
24 Feb 2010, 10:14
Redland Vs Mt Gravatt @ dittmer park March 13th...

morphous
24 Feb 2010, 10:27
Redland Vs Mt Gravatt @ dittmer park March 13th...

That's at Coorparoo at 6pm

damochandler
24 Feb 2010, 12:28
That's at Coorparoo at 6pm

yes after the final of the 18's comp

2010 QAFL Pre Season Games
DATE DAY TIME D/N HOME V AWAY VENUE RES
6-Mar Sat 6.00pm N Brisbane Lions v Southport Coorparoo No
12-Mar Fri 6.30pm N Brisbane Lions v Morningside Coorparoo No
12-Mar Fri 7.30pm N Aspley v Labrador Graham Rd No
13-Mar Sat 1.00pm W Magpies v Broadbeach Sherwood No
13-Mar Sat 2.00pm Southport v Gold Coast FC Fankhauser Res No
13-Mar Sat 6.00pm N Mt Gravatt v Redland Coorparoo No After u/18 champs game
19-Mar Fri 7.00pm N NT Thunder v Sturt TIO Stadium
20-Mar Sat 2.00pm Aspley v Broadbeach Graham Rd OK
20-Mar Sat 2.00pm Southport v Mt Gravatt Fankhauser Res OK
20-Mar Sat 2.00pm W Magpies v Labrador Sherwood OK
20-Mar Sat 6.00pm N Morningside v Redland Coorparoo OK After u/18 champs game
27-Mar Sat 2.00pm Broadbeach v Mt Gravatt Merrimac Oval OK
27-Mar Sat 2.00pm Redland v Aspley Victoria Point OK
27-Mar Sat 2.00pm Southport v W Magpies Fankhauser Res OK
27-Mar Sat 2.00pm Labrador v Morningside TBA OK
27-Mar Sat 3.50pm Brisbane Lions v Gold Coast FC Merrimac Oval No

i found this on southports website

Electric Eel
26 Feb 2010, 14:00
Justin "FERRET" Wilson has signed as Captain/Coach of Central Murray League side... Nyah nyah west united, for the 2010 season.

Another one at Southport bites the dust!!!

damochandler
26 Feb 2010, 15:14
Justin "FERRET" Wilson has signed as Captain/Coach of Central Murray League side... Nyah nyah west united, for the 2010 season.

Another one at Southport bites the dust!!!

good on fez and good luck to him. will southport go after another midfielder

damochandler
27 Feb 2010, 18:15
Hi All,

Leading Division 1 Essendon District team looking for quality forward, excellent remuneration available.

Contact the club on 0429121426.

your about 4 months too late tbh. most players if not all have already been signed

Electric Eel
28 Feb 2010, 08:52
Jarrod Thompson returning to Warnambool due to lack of employment oppurtunities.

Seems like an ongoing trend @ Fankhauser... You can promise players the world but unless you find recruits suitable employment they will not stay longer than one year.

Another one bites the dust!

That makes the total of 13 that have left from last years preliminarary final side WOW hard to replace names such as

Fraser Pope

Justin Kahlefeldt

Broc McCauley

Justin Wilson

Jason Burge

Damien Charleston

Mark Lynch

David Meli

Luke Jarjoura

Cameron Betts

Ben Headland

Dane Carmody

Southport need to have a look at the managing of the football department as this does not reflect well on the club!

Rumour has it that there are more names to come!

New recruits from country victoria are to have employment & could be gone before even donning a shark jumper!!!!!

Lifes a Beach
28 Feb 2010, 11:07
Jarrod Thompson returning to Warnambool due to lack of employment oppurtunities.

Seems like an ongoing trend @ Fankhauser... You can promise players the world but unless you find recruits suitable employment they will not stay longer than one year.

Another one bites the dust!

That makes the total of 13 that have left from last years preliminarary final side WOW hard to replace names such as

Fraser Pope

Justin Kahlefeldt

Broc McCauley Rookie Listed by the Lions

Justin Wilson

Jason Burge

Damien Charleston

Mark Lynch

David Meli Rookie Listed by Essendon

Luke Jarjoura

Cameron Betts

Ben Headland Injured, not leaving

Dane Carmody Not going anywhere

Southport need to have a look at the managing of the football department as this does not reflect well on the club!

Rumour has it that there are more names to come!

New recruits from country victoria are to have employment & could be gone before even donning a shark jumper!!!!!

Mostly work related issues and employment is difficult on the Coast at the moment, all coast clubs will have this problem in some form or another.

footyfanatic1
28 Feb 2010, 15:28
Mostly work related issues and employment is difficult on the Coast at the moment, all coast clubs will have this problem in some form or another.

I know Labrador don't have any problems finding blokes work!

Employment is tough but that doesn't excuse telling blokes you'll get them work and then not delivering, especially someone who moves from interstate.

Surely southport could 'create' a job if they really wanted to keep a player

Electric Eel
28 Feb 2010, 16:38
:confused:Couldn't agree more with the footy fanatic!!

In fact the word on the street is that Labrador & Broady both indicated to Jarrod that they have work for him if he was considering a move but was still keen to stay in the lifestyle of the coast!

The murmurs that keep rumbling from within the shark tank indicate to me that a change in management is needed due to a lack of effort & care in finding suitable employment for new players.:confused:

Sweetie
2 Mar 2010, 15:03
Just reading the AFLQ site story on Aspley, Im putting money on Josh Walker playin elsewhere this year. Find it hard to understand how they can announce players playing for them who havent trained at all, and from all reports have been training at another club. Similar to the way their website has Brendan Forbes announced to be playing and he isnt either? Seems irresponsible at best.

damochandler
2 Mar 2010, 19:44
they wouldn't call the practice games off would they. i would tipping all clubs would be pissed if they did

Dogmatic6
3 Mar 2010, 06:45
Just reading the AFLQ site story on Aspley, Im putting money on Josh Walker playin elsewhere this year. Find it hard to understand how they can announce players playing for them who havent trained at all, and from all reports have been training at another club. Similar to the way their website has Brendan Forbes announced to be playing and he isnt either? Seems irresponsible at best.

Irresponsible on who's part Sweetie? The club for taking the player's word for the fact they have committed to a club or the player's for whom their words can't be relied on??

BigE
3 Mar 2010, 08:18
both these players have trained with aspley pre and post xmas. but i believe both will be playing at sandgate this year. forbes last session before leaving was apparently vomitting. maybe training was too tough for him. its a shame b/c forbes was number one ruckman at aspley, once he got himself fit last year. Walker is a loss, good player with heaps of potential

damochandler
3 Mar 2010, 10:30
it is a big loss for the hornets if it is true of course. forbes was in good nick last year when he made out onto the park. walker is a good up and coming player

Tiger G
4 Mar 2010, 17:09
FORBES ON THE MOVE?
Thursday 4 March 2010

Aspley have another fight on their hands to retain a key player with ruckman Brendan Forbes keen to join Sandgate in the Pineapple Hotel Cup competition.

A former State Under 21 representative who won Queensland’s best player against the VAFA in Melbourne three seasons ago, Forbes gave the Hornets great drive in the ruck and up forward when fit last season.

The quality big man has been beset by injury, hamstring problems in particular, since making his debut with the Zillmere Eagles in 2007.

Having already lost the impressive David Hill to Mt Gravatt, the Hornets can ill afford to lose another talented big body.

Rugged defender Jake Panaho, who played senior QAFL football and 16 and has hardly missed a game in two years with Zillmere and Aspley, is also looking at a move to Second Division with Noosa.

Panaho has commuted from the Sunshine Coast for the past two seasons.

chikka ferguson
6 Mar 2010, 11:43
Interesting to see pretty much nobody rates Redlands as top 5 this season.

It was the same last year (pretty much everyone had them bottom again), and they are a better side this season...
francis should be sacked at the end of this year if they dont win gf after all these players they have bought

chikka ferguson
6 Mar 2010, 11:48
FORBES ON THE MOVE?
Thursday 4 March 2010

Aspley have another fight on their hands to retain a key player with ruckman Brendan Forbes keen to join Sandgate in the Pineapple Hotel Cup competition.

A former State Under 21 representative who won Queensland’s best player against the VAFA in Melbourne three seasons ago, Forbes gave the Hornets great drive in the ruck and up forward when fit last season.

The quality big man has been beset by injury, hamstring problems in particular, since making his debut with the Zillmere Eagles in 2007.

Having already lost the impressive David Hill to Mt Gravatt, the Hornets can ill afford to lose another talented big body.
Rugged defender Jake Panaho, who played senior QAFL football and 16 and has hardly missed a game in two years with Zillmere and Aspley, is also looking at a move to Second Division with Noosa.

Panaho has commuted from the Sunshine Coast for the past two seasons.
Jake Panaho off to grange,Todd at noosa.Is Gav Grose departing vultures?Will there be another Clark playing for the reigning premiers?

morphous
6 Mar 2010, 12:04
francis should be sacked at the end of this year if they dont win gf after all these players they have bought

So should Harding and Crowley.

chikka ferguson
6 Mar 2010, 18:08
Surely aspley will give harding 3 months to perform.Will Luke Weller be capt coach next year at hornets?

blueboy87
9 Mar 2010, 23:07
Word is that Gerard Moore at the Magpies has settled back in to the club after having a disappointing year being shunted around between CG17 and Labrador. Should fill a hole in the ruck brigade and have quite a good year

Oddball
10 Mar 2010, 08:51
Surely aspley will give harding 3 months to perform.Will Luke Weller be capt coach next year at hornets?

Geez, Chikka that's unfair - I remember you running wide on the wing for the Newtown Jets, but are you sure you didn't put your head in a scrum or two? :D

footyfanatic1
10 Mar 2010, 12:04

If Harding is the man for the job (and they only just hired him so i guess they think he is) he should get at least 2 seasons. So far he has recruited some very good players. But just getting good players on your list doesn't guarantee success, the whole culture of a club has to change, so more time is needed. Francis has done a pretty good job at Redlands, more time should be given i reckon.

Crowley is a different story being at a successful club and also having a good list, i reckon the pressure is right on down at Southport. Last year their seniors finished 3rd, reserves near enough to last and their under 18's near enough to last. Not like the Southport of years gone by.

Testing time for a few clubs this year. Recruited well and rumours suggest some big $$ thrown around. But money doesn't make someone want to bleed for their teammates. Very interesting year ahead.

BigE
10 Mar 2010, 13:32

how can you have harding in this group.. francis and crowley both coached finals sides last year. harding has taken on a team that finished 2nd last on the ladder..:rolleyes:

Electric Eel
10 Mar 2010, 13:34
Crowley is the right man for the job... according to some high profile senoir players.

The problem lies in the retention of recruits, this is the area that needs addressing!

Cotter has to go... He shows a lack of care for a position that most people would give an arm and a leg to be in.

It's all well and good to offer blokes from Victoria $1k a game but if they are unemployed whats the point? This is a problem that the other two coast clubs don't have!

The high turnover of players will finally bite them on the ass this year. Fifteen is just way too many and word has it there are more to leave in coming weeks as they still aren't employed.

Players want suitable employment more than inflated match payments this is what i have learnt when dealing with potential recruits.

Cotter has a lot to answer for... But the question is who does he answer to?

morphous
10 Mar 2010, 15:16
how can you have harding in this group.. francis and crowley both coached finals sides last year. harding has taken on a team that finished 2nd last on the ladder..:rolleyes:

It was in regards to how much teams are spending on players.

chikka ferguson
10 Mar 2010, 16:29
Geez, Chikka that's unfair - I remember you running wide on the wing for the Newtown Jets, but are you sure you didn't put your head in a scrum or two? :D
Hey bro,no need to go anywhere near the scrums.All they did was smell each others farts and get wacked by tommy.As in raudonikis,not tt.;)

chikka ferguson
10 Mar 2010, 16:31
It was in regards to how much teams are spending on players.
Morningside should have been fined by aflq for not spending enough of there salary cap.:thumbsu:

chikka ferguson
10 Mar 2010, 16:33
Word is that Gerard Moore at the Magpies has settled back in to the club after having a disappointing year being shunted around between CG17 and Labrador. Should fill a hole in the ruck brigade and have quite a good year
Plenty of ball should be serviced to his mid fielders then despached off to zantuck.:rolleyes: