View Full Version : Aflq News Part 2
Pages :
[
9]
damochandler
25 Sep 2009, 11:06
Rumour has it that Southport are going very hard on their recruiting. A mate from down south told me that a few guys down there have been offered big $$. When i said that they didn't make the GF and wouldn't be happy, he replied they were having a go before the finals started. Interesting.
Any player movement talk? The season only just over but you can bet there are some players to'ing and fro'ing
clubs would have been trying to recruite players for the last 3 months
bromanbomber
25 Sep 2009, 15:20
clubs would have been trying to recruite players for the last 3 months
will redlands retain eagle?
damochandler
25 Sep 2009, 16:21
will redlands retain eagle?
your guess is as good as mine. i have heard he is headed to the a.c.t. that is what i have heard. i dont know if it's true
footyfanatic1
25 Sep 2009, 17:18
your guess is as good as mine. i have heard he is headed to the a.c.t. that is what i have heard. i dont know if it's true
I heard the other day that he has resigned at the Bombers for $1000/game. Rumours, Rumours probably but Redlands do pay top $ for blokes so it may have some truth to it, he is a very good player.
mongrel_punt
4 Oct 2009, 08:22
Redland Bombers 2009 B&F:
1st - Carse
2nd - Myers
3rd - White
Anyone else got any info on any other B&Fs?
Lifes a Beach
7 Oct 2009, 10:52
Southport 2009 B & F
1/ Kahlefeldt
2/ Nicklaus
3/ McCauley
Adrian Shelton
7 Oct 2009, 11:51
Saw some of the replay on Briz31 the other night but seeing i was bowling i missed all the nasties, might head to youtube for a look see
I think one player to keep an eye is Craig Malone. At 16 he is playing State u/16 for QLD, U/18 and seniors for his club. He has been named Junior Club Champion for the last 3 years in a row and at this young age has been named as the best ruckman the club has ever witnessed. He is 6'5 in height and weighs in at 95 kilo's. I beleive that he will be picked by an AFL club once he reaches 17 in late Feb or at least be approached by a state league club in the short term.:thumbsu:
Adrian Shelton
7 Oct 2009, 23:50
has GC (god help us!!!) been sniffing around?
Roadkill
9 Oct 2009, 10:32
Congratulations to Russell Harding on his appointment as the Aspley Senior Coach for 2010. Well done Aspley board on a great appointment.
are there any players on the move? Any clubs made any big signings for 2010. Any rumours?
stickskernahan4
21 Oct 2009, 16:28
Glenn Conroy from Morningside to Alex Hills, Derek Wirth from Redlands looking for new home, Bill Cleary to Springwood, thats all ive heard so far.
Lenny29
21 Oct 2009, 16:59
Cleary?
Excellent news.
Wonder if Wirthy wants to come "home", too?
morphous
21 Oct 2009, 17:13
Cleary?
Excellent news.
Wonder if Wirthy wants to come "home", too?
Karmichael Hunt might want to go "home" too.
Lenny29
21 Oct 2009, 19:08
Karmichael Hunt might want to go "home" too.
?
Have no idea what your point is.
Wirth was a junior at Springwood, in case you didn't get what my point was.
morphous
22 Oct 2009, 09:31
?
Have no idea what your point is.
Wirth was a junior at Springwood, in case you didn't get what my point was.
I know Wirthy is, I thought Hunt was from down that way too.
Ranga69
22 Oct 2009, 10:56
Heard eagle and huy movin to vic from redlands. Heard both are jets??
Lenny29
22 Oct 2009, 19:09
I know Wirthy is, I thought Hunt was from down that way too.
You're thinking of Darren Lockyer, who played very very junior footy at Springwood
Ranga69
22 Oct 2009, 20:35
Heard on shepparton news that huy will be ass coach at shepparton united and eagle is coming with him. How do these boys go??
damochandler
23 Oct 2009, 15:07
Glenn Conroy from Morningside to Alex Hills, Derek Wirth from Redlands looking for new home, Bill Cleary to Springwood, thats all ive heard so far.
i heard after the gf tha5 glenn conroy was going to alex hills. i think his uncle is coaching or the president at the club
eagle is talking to everyone. Very popular player at the moment. Been offerfed serious coin from a few clubs. Interesting to hear that vfl clubs are chasing aflq players
morphous
27 Oct 2009, 16:57
eagle is talking to everyone. Very popular player at the moment. Been offerfed serious coin from a few clubs. Interesting to hear that vfl clubs are chasing aflq players
He and Huy have gone to Shepp Utd
bromanbomber
29 Oct 2009, 12:47
i heard after the gf tha5 glenn conroy was going to alex hills. i think his uncle is coaching or the president at the club
good pick up then. will it be enough to get them over the line for the flag. Only just fell short this year. What are the chances of Wynnum doing a 3peat? Any word as to whats happening out there by way of player or coaching recruits? retirements etc?
Roadkill
2 Nov 2009, 10:22
are there any players on the move? Any clubs made any big signings for 2010. Any rumours?
Matty Payn returning from Sturt and has been signed by who else Southport Sharks. LOOK OUT he will be start of many
damochandler
2 Nov 2009, 10:55
Matty Payn returning from Sturt and has been signed by who else Southport Sharks. LOOK OUT he will be start of many
big pick up for them. they would be hurting more than ever after that capitulation in the prelim final.
bromanbomber
2 Nov 2009, 11:47
big pick up for them. they would be hurting more than ever after that capitulation in the prelim final.
could be a few of their players venturing south to the VFL though if you listen round the traps.
morphous
2 Nov 2009, 11:48
could be a few of their players venturing south to the VFL though if you listen round the traps.
Or read the AFLQ website.
hurtsville
2 Nov 2009, 13:16
Cleve Hughes also heading to Southport apparently...
footyfanatic1
2 Nov 2009, 21:48
Cleve Hughes also heading to Southport apparently...
I believe the cheque book is really working overtime down at southport, looks like they are trying to buy another flag.....you'd be looking over your shoulder if you were a current player, most probable kicking off the dew or being moved along.
bromanbomber
3 Nov 2009, 05:49
I believe the cheque book is really working overtime down at southport, looks like they are trying to buy another flag.....you'd be looking over your shoulder if you were a current player, most probable kicking off the dew or being moved along.
I'm sure there would be plenty of PHC sides down the coast that would snap up any Southport players that are moved on and would be paid a bit of coin for their troubles as well! :p
While there is no possible way that the QAFL competition can be a ‘level playing field’ while ever Southport have the incredible advantage in resources (aka money). I think is good that they continue to challenge the rest of the competition in terms of lifting their game by striving to be the best in the league.
Congratulations must go to the likes of Morningside and Mt Gravatt for continuing the ‘lift their respective bars’ to challenge the Sharks. Pity that the Eagles didn’t have the financial resources to stay alive as they were another club that often found a way to be competitive.
Having said that, it is disappointing that the Sharks find it necessary to search the rest of the country for players to win them a Grand Final.
While I don’t wish to drag the Sharks down, I hope the Guru’s at QAFL Head Office are making sure that the Salary Cap rules are being adhered to. You can’t tell me that the existing Sharks, plus the addition of Payne, Hughes & Pfieffer, etc are not going to put a strain on the Southport Salary cap, even with the likely departure of some players to the south. Players in the SANFL and Country Victoria are on big bucks and while the thought of living and playing footy on the Gold Coast must be a massive attraction, none of these new players are in it just for the love of the game and the Southport footy club. I assume there must be plenty of work for footballers on the coast at the moment. :D
cheque book is well an truly open. Why dont the other clubs follow suit. redland offer big coin. The others need to follow otherwise it will be an extremely uneven comp and a long season for a few clubs.
damochandler
3 Nov 2009, 13:37
they might be signing some good players. but they still have a pretty good list with out them. i wouldn't say they are buying a flag like pbc did. southport are pretty smart and have the right people out there scouting for players. i am still going to say morningside will still be the team to beat next year
cheque book is well an truly open. Why dont the other clubs follow suit. redland offer big coin. The others need to follow otherwise it will be an extremely uneven comp and a long season for a few clubs.
Easy to say, but not so easy to do.
Over the years the demise of Mayne, Sandgate, Sherwood and Zillmere to either a lower grade or extinction is most likely a result of spending above your means. In some cases those 'means' weren't very much.
Redland offered plenty of coin this year and failed to win a finals game and look like they have already lost at least two expensive recruits. While the finals experience will be good for them, I would think they would have liked more than one season out of Eagle.
I think the Magpies showed what a lack of resources (aka money) and time can do to a club in State League. I would assume that Aspley have the resources (aka money), looking at their social club, but either won't spend it or don't know how to spend it wisely.
Morningside, seem to have a dedicated group of Panthers who are more about success than personal reward. Hard to tell with the Vultures as the licensed club is not theirs, so I guess they rely on a blend of dedicated locals and a couple of big names.
Broadbeach and Labrador might have the Gold Coast location on their side, but can't attract enough good players to make the difference.
Southport seem to do it easily and would appear to be very selective with their recruiting, and while the Gold Coast attractions and a successful club are worth a lot - it would seem the reality is the Sharks just spend more money, because they have it.
Back to my original point - I hope the QAFL management have the Salary Cap spending under control.
footyfanatic1
3 Nov 2009, 14:35
they might be signing some good players. but they still have a pretty good list with out them. i wouldn't say they are buying a flag like pbc did. southport are pretty smart and have the right people out there scouting for players. i am still going to say morningside will still be the team to beat next year
Memories from years gone by when Southport have opened the cheque book like this. They will start the season with some unconvincing performances, but still be up near the top. Midway through the year all the 'big name' players start to gel and they go into the finals with massive momentum and 'voila', a bought premiership. I agree morningside will be very strong again. It is difficult for other teams to simply step up and pay the same money when most clubs are battling a little as it is. And lastly you can't tell me Southport give the salary cap a single thought. They have got that much pull at league headquarters ($$$$$$) that they will never be held to account with there player payments. I believe some bogus jobs have been a good way of paying players down there for years.
damochandler
4 Nov 2009, 09:46
Memories from years gone by when Southport have opened the cheque book like this. They will start the season with some unconvincing performances, but still be up near the top. Midway through the year all the 'big name' players start to gel and they go into the finals with massive momentum and 'voila', a bought premiership. I agree morningside will be very strong again. It is difficult for other teams to simply step up and pay the same money when most clubs are battling a little as it is. And lastly you can't tell me Southport give the salary cap a single thought. They have got that much pull at league headquarters ($$$$$$) that they will never be held to account with there player payments. I believe some bogus jobs have been a good way of paying players down there for years.
alot of the player contract's would be performance based contracts. what the team do to try and get players to the clubs. the 2 main points for a player coming to that certain club are
1. can they find a job for that player.
2. living arangements
i am all for the aflq doing something about dodgy deals and rorting the system. but to be honest how on earth can they stop it. what are they going to do. go to every player and club negotiation at every club in the comp. everyone believes there are dodgy deals happening and i am one of those people. but no one has proof. so they really cant stop these things from happening can they
bromanbomber
4 Nov 2009, 11:38
alot of the player contract's would be performance based contracts. what the team do to try and get players to the clubs. the 2 main points for a player coming to that certain club are
1. can they find a job for that player.
2. living arangements
i am all for the aflq doing something about dodgy deals and rorting the system. but to be honest how on earth can they stop it. what are they going to do. go to every player and club negotiation at every club in the comp. everyone believes there are dodgy deals happening. but no one has peoof. so they really cant stop these things from happening can they
Agree, salary caps are useless when you consider that all the players playing are not full time professional. There will never be a way to fully police the salary cap. If clubs want to pay big $$ they will and players will come and go as they please.
Morningside appear to be one club that bucks against the trend where they promote from within and are able to retain their good players. Hopefully they are up to the task again next year! :thumbsu:
thoselionslads
5 Nov 2009, 14:43
More player movements...looks as though Andrew Scott (Mt Gravatt) will join Subiaco in the WAFL
is doering heading back to strathmore... big loss for labrador
footyfanatic1
5 Nov 2009, 21:53
is doering heading back to strathmore... big loss for labrador
I thought i read on the AFLQ website that he had signed at Labrador for next season. I believe he's bought a franchise business in SEQ also. Stranger things have happened though, where is Strathmore?
strathmore is in melbourne. Essendon league thats where he played before labrador
mongrel_punt
6 Nov 2009, 13:37
I think JD is staying put at Labrador has just set up a new business for himself.
Redlands have signed Daniel Dzufer and Ben Weightman but have also lost quite a few players.
damochandler
8 Nov 2009, 17:25
More player movements...looks as though Andrew Scott (Mt Gravatt) will join Subiaco in the WAFL
good to see him going over and having a crack at that level. i wonder carins will join him. any news on tommy and adam tarrant.
i wonder if david mapelston is heading back to brissie and maybe back to the siders
Krakour Magic
9 Nov 2009, 11:04
good to see him going over and having a crack at that level. i wonder carins will join him. any news on tommy and adam tarrant.
i wonder if david mapelston is heading back to brissie and maybe back to the siders
Could be a stronger Div 2 Gold Coast side come round 10 next year? Similar colours (and approach) as David Rhys Jones?
i would have too say that southport is the most self run club i'v ever seen and that they would barely have any recruitting scouts about!
if your moving too the gold coast from vic of s.a where would u head, the club that has been in about 20 out of 26 grand finals with a 10 man coaching stuff that includes meritt, with a multi million dollar clubhouse/gym or broadbeach and labrador that has struggled. southport have barely opened the cheque books up for anyone (previous to this yr don't no about it), it's the bright lights that attract people too southport. As for your jobs basis and accommodation, rubbish. i no of players leaving purely because they said before they left they could easily get jobs for them, but not giving them jobs. they don't even like putting people in the clubs as it might hurt the 'image'.... Cotters is a muppet at this! he has the easiest job in Australia. :o
footyfanatic1
9 Nov 2009, 19:17
i would have too say that southport is the most self run club i'v ever seen and that they would barely have any recruitting scouts about!
if your moving too the gold coast from vic of s.a where would u head, the club that has been in about 20 out of 26 grand finals with a 10 man coaching stuff that includes meritt, with a multi million dollar clubhouse/gym or broadbeach and labrador that has struggled. southport have barely opened the cheque books up for anyone (previous to this yr don't no about it), it's the bright lights that attract people too southport. As for your jobs basis and accommodation, rubbish. i no of players leaving purely because they said before they left they could easily get jobs for them, but not giving them jobs. they don't even like putting people in the clubs as it might hurt the 'image'.... Cotters is a muppet at this! he has the easiest job in Australia. :o
I disagree with part of this. I agree interstaters would find the bright lights attractive but often that is not enough. I personally know of numerous players being offered BIG coin to play at Southport, both in the past and especially this season. My mate from country Vic shopped himself around a little and was they offered him just about double that of any other club in the QAFL. He doesn't know if he is going to move yet but that surely is an open cheque book. It seems they don't offer everyone the big $$ but the ones they want, they do not hold back.
A mate played there a few years ago and said the facilities were awesome but the culture was sadly lacking. Is it worth all the bright lights and $$ if you don't really enjoy your footy?
footyfanatic1
9 Nov 2009, 19:19
Could be a stronger Div 2 Gold Coast side come round 10 next year? Similar colours (and approach) as David Rhys Jones?
Reading between the lines, is Tommy Tarrant playing/coaching at Coolangatta?
bromanbomber
12 Nov 2009, 06:21
Reading between the lines, is Tommy Tarrant playing/coaching at Coolangatta?
wasn't he rubbed out in the finals?
Chasing the Dream
15 Nov 2009, 06:51
I disagree with part of this. I agree interstaters would find the bright lights attractive but often that is not enough. I personally know of numerous players being offered BIG coin to play at Southport, both in the past and especially this season. My mate from country Vic shopped himself around a little and was they offered him just about double that of any other club in the QAFL. He doesn't know if he is going to move yet but that surely is an open cheque book. It seems they don't offer everyone the big $$ but the ones they want, they do not hold back.
A mate played there a few years ago and said the facilities were awesome but the culture was sadly lacking. Is it worth all the bright lights and $$ if you don't really enjoy your footy?
Depends on the kind of 'culture' you are after.
thoselionslads
15 Nov 2009, 11:21
Have you heard anything on Carins leaving - news to me?
Looks as though A.Tarrant will stay id think, don't know about Tom
damochandler
15 Nov 2009, 17:43
Have you heard anything on Carins leaving - news to me?
Looks as though A.Tarrant will stay id think, don't know about Tom
i doubt he will go with him. those 2 feed off each other every game. adam tarrant will be a better player next year
catsprowler09
16 Nov 2009, 14:44
cairns signed at labrador on friday
damochandler
16 Nov 2009, 16:18
it's actually carins. it's just pronounced cairns.
they are buildin a good side down there for next year. they will be a top side next year if the team doesnt crumble around them like it did in 2008
thoselionslads
22 Nov 2009, 19:51
been training with mt gravatt....
damochandler
25 Nov 2009, 10:28
gawd they are taking there time bringing out the fixture for the top 2 divisions. they should have brought it out when the afl brought out their's
thoselionslads
25 Nov 2009, 15:18
agreed. there are a few head-cases at AFLQ headquarters. anyone got any other news on recruits? Heffernan-Roper from Western Magpies also heading to Subiaco with A.Scott. Have the Magpies recruited anyone? They desperately need to.
damochandler
25 Nov 2009, 15:28
agreed. there are a few head-cases at AFLQ headquarters. anyone got any other news on recruits? Heffernan-Roper from Western Magpies also heading to Subiaco with A.Scott. Have the Magpies recruited anyone? They desperately need to.
good on those 2 for going over and having a crack at that level. i would rather see players going over and playing that level. than being rookie listed by the lions and having too only play in the qafl instead.
Lenny29
25 Nov 2009, 17:04
gawd they are taking there time bringing out the fixture for the top 2 divisions. they should have brought it out when the afl brought out their's
They're up to the second round of club review I believe.
Going to be a very early start apparently.
damochandler
25 Nov 2009, 18:06
They're up to the second round of club review I believe.
Going to be a very early start apparently.
maybe we will have more than 18 rounds this year. i cant see anything wrong with that
Lenny29
25 Nov 2009, 20:21
maybe we will have more than 18 rounds this year. i cant see anything wrong with that
Nah, staying at 18 rounds.
damochandler
26 Nov 2009, 08:04
Nah, staying at 18 rounds.
well the only reason i see them starting the season so early is. they have fit in 3 byes and the country carnival somewhere this year into the fixture
poorpunter
28 Nov 2009, 08:42
spud kahlafeldt...coburg /richmond
jason burge ..fraser pope...port mebourne
mark lynch central murray league
hpvectra
28 Nov 2009, 09:49
What team is this for
thoselionslads
28 Nov 2009, 19:20
Don't rate him??
poorpunter
30 Nov 2009, 08:14
from southport sharks
damochandler
3 Dec 2009, 07:32
The Velocity sports cup dra is out
STATE FOOTY AT SOUTHPORT IN 2010
Wednesday, 2 December, 2009
Queensland will host Tasmania at Southport’s Fankhauser Oval in June next year to headline another busy season for the Queensland Australian Football League.
The Maroons, beaten by Tasmania in June this year after an historic victory over Tasmania in 2007, will seek revenge on Saturday 12 June in a double-header with the Queensland U21 side.
It will be the first full-scale interstate match played at Southport, which will be the training centre and primary match base for the Gold Coast VFL side next year while the Carrara Stadium is redeveloped.
And it will be the first ‘home’ match for the State side since 2005, having traveled to Canberra in 2006, Launceston in 2007, Townsville in 2008 and Hobart in 2009.
The Queensland U21s will play the Victorian Amateur U21 side in a curtain-raiser to the int
erstate clash on what will be a bye weekend for a QAFL State League premiership that will culminate with the Grand Final on Sunday 19 September (venue to be decided).
In other features of the 2010 QAFL State League draw announced today:-
• The NT Thunder, such a huge success in their first season in the QAFL in 2009, will have their travel load reduced by three games. They will play eight games in Darwin and four in Alice Springs, and make only six visits to south-east Queensland.
• Each team will travel to the NT at least once – premiers Morningside, Broadbeach and the Western Magpies will travel twice. Morningside, Mt.Gravatt, Redland and the Magpies will visit Alice. Broadbeach will visit Darwin twice, and Brisbane Lions, the Magpies, Southport, Aspley, Labrador and Morningside will visit the NT capital once each.
• Morningside (Alice Springs - Round 3), Western Magpies (Darwin - Round 6) and Broadbeach (Darwin - Round 18) will surrender a ‘home’ game to the NT to fill the Thunder’s 12-match quota.
• Each QAFL team except Southport will play a Gabba curtain-raiser against the Brisbane Lions Reserves. The Sharks’ scheduled ‘away’ game against the Lions will be played at Coorparoo due to a clash of dates with a Queensland U18 match against NSW/ACT in the NAB Australian U18 Championships.
• Morningside and the Western Magpies will play at Heritage Oval, Toowoomba, on Saturday, 5 June as they look to strengthen their presence in the western region.
• Western Magpies will have the most expansive travel schedule – they will play seven games at ‘home’ at Sherwood, will visit the home of each of the other eight QAFL clubs in south-east Queensland (including the Gabba), plus Darwin, Alice Springs and Toowoomba.
• Seven QAFL matches will be played as curtain-raisers to Gold Coast home matches in the VFL, which will be split between Southport (4), Broadbeach (2) and Labrador (1). These will involve Southport (5 times), Broadbeach (4), Morningside (2), Redland, Labrador and Mt.Gravatt.
• The Gold Coast will also play a ‘home’ game in Cairns on 17 July, a stand-alone match at Southport on Saturday 29 May, and at Labrador on 24 July, when there is a bye in the QAFL due to the Australian Country Championships in Canberra.
• The QAFL premiership season will open with a clash between the Brisbane Lions and Mt.Gravatt at the Gabba on Thursday 1 April as a curtain-raiser to the eagerly-awaited AFL clash that pits boom Lions newcomer Brendan Fevola against his former club Carlton. This match will come from Round 11 of the QAFL draw to accommodate a bye for the Lions Reserves in Round 11 to coincide with the Lions AFL bye.
• The first full round of QAFL fixtures will be played on the weekend of 9-10-11 April, with games in Darwin and at Southport, Aspley, Labrador and Morningside.
• All QAFL games will be played Saturdays and Sundays, except the Thursday night game at the Gabba to open the season, and the NT Thunder’s Friday night game on 9 April in Darwin against the Lions in Round 1.
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=10692367§ionID=56333
Gee, here's me thinking Townsville was part of Queensland:eek:. So A home game for the Qld state team only counts if its in SEQ then:rolleyes:
2 new melbourne recruits up to aspley thisweek one tac cup best and fairest this season just gone heard offering big bucks
new recruits? are these two signed or holidaying?
bromanbomber
7 Dec 2009, 13:06
new recruits? are these two signed or holidaying?
who are they?
QldFootysflying
10 Dec 2009, 14:12
2 new melbourne recruits up to aspley thisweek one tac cup best and fairest this season just gone heard offering big bucks
They played at Mansfield this year apparently. Tapp of to NT???
We have picked up Zantuck at the Magpies??? Well done Vinesy.
magies must have parted with some serious coin to lure zantuck
rockstarr
12 Dec 2009, 06:59
They played at Mansfield this year apparently. Tapp of to NT???
We have picked up Zantuck at the Magpies??? Well done Vinesy.
If this is true one of the Mansfield boys would be Jamie Sheehan, pretty sure he won Murray bushrangers B&F in 2008 and maybe Dan Roy would be the other? Very good pickups if true.
bomberland
13 Dec 2009, 17:19
Sorry fellows not sure how to make my own post but was just wondering if anyone could help me with the closest n best club available to brisbane as i am looking to move there in late jan/early feb n wanna have a kick
Sweetie
14 Dec 2009, 20:10
Sandgate are always looking for new guys, give their coach Ben Long a call, 0415 868 013. They were the only Brisbane side to play finals in Div 2 this year and have apparently recruited pretty well. Club house due to be fully upgraded and opened for round one as well, worth a look
bombersbackwards06
18 Dec 2009, 14:16
Sorry fellows not sure how to make my own post but was just wondering if anyone could help me with the closest n best club available to brisbane as i am looking to move there in late jan/early feb n wanna have a kick
Closest to Brisbane? Wilston Grange - www.gorillas.com.au
Same league as Sandgate but superior facilities and great club and likely to finish higher than Sandgate in 2010 if the grapevine is correct!! ;)
Bring on the rivalry round he he he!!!
Oddball
18 Dec 2009, 22:20
WTF? Can you guys from Div 2 get back to your own thread where you belong! NOW! :D
Lenny29
19 Dec 2009, 09:33
WTF? Can you guys from Div 2 get back to your own thread where you belong! NOW! :D
Div 2 is an AFLQ competition, maybe you could start a QAFL thread ;)
Tiger G
19 Dec 2009, 17:57
Div 2 is an AFLQ competition, maybe you could start a QAFL thread ;)
Even better he can start a QSFL thread:eek:
The Mayne Tigers are a club well worth having a look at. A club that is on its way up. Great history and tradition, and a fantastic bunch of blokes. PM me if you are interested in some more info.
Sweetie
21 Dec 2009, 18:42
So what is the news on recruitment at Grange? I hope they go Ok, be good to get a few Brisbane teams into the finals this season. I think Sandgate will have "superior" facilities in around 4 months, club being completely re done, 73 pokies 3 bars and dining should have the home of the gorillas covered! Any other news on how Mayne have recruited, other than Faulkner and Vic guy? Local clashes in first 2 rounds for SAndgate against Mayne and Grange should be a top start to year!
Lenny29
23 Dec 2009, 16:43
So what is the news on recruitment at Grange? I hope they go Ok, be good to get a few Brisbane teams into the finals this season. I think Sandgate will have "superior" facilities in around 4 months, club being completely re done, 73 pokies 3 bars and dining should have the home of the gorillas covered! Any other news on how Mayne have recruited, other than Faulkner and Vic guy? Local clashes in first 2 rounds for SAndgate against Mayne and Grange should be a top start to year!
Don't suppose Sandgate are getting a decent canteen in any time soon are they? ;)
Looks like Sean Tighe is one.
http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?client=1-109-9631-0-0&sID=56350&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=10797553§ionID=56350
Who is the other?
Aspley will need a few more if the mail is correct that they have lost a few. (Which they really dont need!) Tapp, Matthews, Hill, Schultz, D Reid all played senior footy last year and have left, and a few other senior guys still unsighted pre season training. I hope they get it together, a wooden spoon could be coming there way!
Looks like Sean Tighe is one.
http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?client=1-109-9631-0-0&sID=56350&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=10797553§ionID=56350
Who is the other?
I know that justin van unen from oakliegh chargers was there also and are about to sign tighe's mate bryce carroll recently delisted from essendon
royboy16
3 Jan 2010, 09:32
Aspley will need a few more if the mail is correct that they have lost a few. (Which they really dont need!) Tapp, Matthews, Hill, Schultz, D Reid all played senior footy last year and have left, and a few other senior guys still unsighted pre season training. I hope they get it together, a wooden spoon could be coming there way!
tapp and matthews are huge loses, but the mail im getting is they have already been replaced with some key signings from VIC. lookout for some announcements very soon. some of these boys may be dissapointed they left, definitlely will improve on last years results. The spoon will be the magpies again
where has dylan reid gone to?
thoselionslads
3 Jan 2010, 16:44
tapp and matthews are huge loses, but the mail im getting is they have already been replaced with some key signings from VIC. lookout for some announcements very soon. some of these boys may be dissapointed they left, definitlely will improve on last years results. The spoon will be the magpies again
Very interesting. From what I have heard, there is a lack of leadership and enthusiasm around the group. Maybe these signings of yours can shake things up.
Has anyone heard anything on Magpies recruiting? I know they got Ty Zantuck but surely they have to do some serious recruiting - they didn't win a game
Surely by January at State League level your list should be pretty close to soughted. Not to many "elite" players stay unsigned this long. Starcevich and Kennedy have already left as well, bit wierd. Will be an interesting few weeks of "announcements"
royboy16
3 Jan 2010, 20:40
Surely by January at State League level your list should be pretty close to soughted. Not to many "elite" players stay unsigned this long. Starcevich and Kennedy have already left as well, bit wierd. Will be an interesting few weeks of "announcements"
i dont know of any state leauge club that has their list soughted by jan 3... plenty of good players still unsigned. not many elite players i agree, but how many elite players are playing in the qafl?
starcevich and kennedy are their till the end of Jan.
where has dylan reid gone to?
Reid to Redlands.
By "Elite" I meant more to the standard of QAFL elite, Gough, Payne etc. Sure there may be a few ok players who have yet to commit, but are these players going to make the bottom sides competitive given the standard of the top sides? Aspley should of gone with Wayne Brittain, he was ready to go and would of bought plenty of players with him. With such great facilities and money available, why are they finding it hard to sign new blood?
Dr Nogood
4 Jan 2010, 09:22
Aspley have been going along very quietly. Recently they have been to victoria and spoke to 20 odd blokes. If my mail is correct or should i say i know, Aspley will announce key signings in the comming weeks. Aready inclusions in Dan Roy and Jamie Sheean will be big gains as they have connections to player manager Craig Kelly. I have also heard Ex essedon rookie player has signed along with to B and F winners from the TAC Cup.
Mail is also around 5 more signings from Vic are on the cards with two guns from Country footballers to put pen to paper in the coming weeks. So look out guys Aspley to win in 2010.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Aspley have been going along very quietly. Recently they have been to victoria and spoke to 20 odd blokes. If my mail is correct or should i say i know, Aspley will announce key signings in the comming weeks. Aready inclusions in Dan Roy and Jamie Sheean will be big gains as they have connections to player manager Craig Kelly. I have also heard Ex essedon rookie player has signed along with to B and F winners from the TAC Cup.
Mail is also around 5 more signings from Vic are on the cards with two guns from Country footballers to put pen to paper in the coming weeks. So look out guys Aspley to win in 2010.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Dr Nogood, your mail is corect. tighe, roy and sheehan have signed. two more signed over xmas. i would expect another 8 or so new recuits will be signed in the coming weeks.
hornets will definitely improve on last years results.
Hole in bucket
6 Jan 2010, 06:20
Starcevich and Kennedy have already left as well,
Does anyone know why these 2 left after less than a month?
royboy16
6 Jan 2010, 18:30
Does anyone know why these 2 left after less than a month?
They havent left. starcevich is doing the conditioning training till the end of Jan. the boys have been going to kennedy's gym for boxing and running sessions.
Dr Nogood, your mail is corect. tighe, roy and sheehan have signed. two more signed over xmas. i would expect another 8 or so new recuits will be signed in the coming weeks.
hornets will definitely improve on last years results.
Welcome all to the 2010 season - it's good to be back.
Out of interest, how can it be that Aspley are OK when they can't hold on to the players they have. Notwithstanding some are no loss, the reality is that Tapp, Matthews and Hill are players they should have kept - surely they would come cheaper than a whole bunch of interstate recruits! Rumour has it the exodus might not be over. Then you have Matt Payne come back to Brisbane to live after a year with Sturt (also a GF player) and he is committed to travel down to Southport.
Add these names to the clubs failure to secure or lose a number of former 2008 Eagles players (3 of which played in the 2009 GF). Why did Weightman leave? You just have to wonder whats missing at the Hornets.
Why do the Sunny Coast boys bypass Aspley to travel to Redlands? (read Norman, Dzufer & Weightman)
Why don't they work on developing all those juniors they so proudly brag about, instead of spending time in Victoria talking to 20 or so players?
Aspley have the whole northside of Brisbane to themselves as far as State League is concerned as well as being the closest option for the SunCoast, yet they are looking in Victoria - how is that developing Qld footy?
Seriously they might do well to head over the river and learn a bit from last years Premiers about developing juniors. :D
royboy16
7 Jan 2010, 09:21
Welcome all to the 2010 season - it's good to be back.
Out of interest, how can it be that Aspley are OK when they can't hold on to the players they have. Notwithstanding some are no loss, the reality is that Tapp, Matthews and Hill are players they should have kept - surely they would come cheaper than a whole bunch of interstate recruits! Rumour has it the exodus might not be over. Then you have Matt Payne come back to Brisbane to live after a year with Sturt (also a GF player) and he is committed to travel down to Southport.
Add these names to the clubs failure to secure or lose a number of former 2008 Eagles players (3 of which played in the 2009 GF). Why did Weightman leave? You just have to wonder whats missing at the Hornets.
Why do the Sunny Coast boys bypass Aspley to travel to Redlands? (read Norman, Dzufer & Weightman)
Why don't they work on developing all those juniors they so proudly brag about, instead of spending time in Victoria talking to 20 or so players?
Aspley have the whole northside of Brisbane to themselves as far as State League is concerned as well as being the closest option for the SunCoast, yet they are looking in Victoria - how is that developing Qld footy?
Seriously they might do well to head over the river and learn a bit from last years Premiers about developing juniors. :D
mathews was inevitable he would go back to noosa. just had a new baby and travel comittments were taking their toll.
the others have been replaced already by quality players from melbourne and as said before tapp, hill and the others might be dissapointed they left as it will be a much improved team on last year. from all reports these players left to play in better team???
zillmere issue is obvious, they wanted davis to be coach, he isnt so move on. and some of the players may have been influenced by their parents, and their dislike for some people at the club, which is ironic when some still frequent the club and socialise.
dzufer bypassed aspley because he is getting paid over the odds at redlands, weightman - father was not keen on last years coach.
Aspley have gone interstate because these players you speak of didnt want to play there.
stinger_21
7 Jan 2010, 10:58
first year was always going to be a building stage for aspley. rather competitive for the year considering they had 3 or 4 players over the age of 22 in their side. can't see oddball how you can be critical of the club for looking outside of QLD to poach specific position players to bolster the stock and further help the young squad develop their footy i.e. leadership players, key position full forward/centre half forward, additional ruckman, marquee onballer etc.
in your eyes oddball, how would you have gone about things? if players don't want to be there, there isn't too much you can do is there? the majority of aspley juniors are still kicking round at the club so maybe loyalty is a bit prevelant rather than just "hired guns"....
mongrel_punt
8 Jan 2010, 07:08
Quite a big off season for Redlands so far.
Big losses in Eagle, White, Davies, Huy and Marguccio.
But already signed Dzufer, O'Shea, Clouston, Weightman and Williams amoungst a few other young fellas from up north.
Eagle and White in particular will be very hard to cover but I think they will still be a fairly strong outfit in '10 with the majority of their state players (Carse, Norman, Charlesworth and Myers anlong with all state U21 reps) recommitting to the club.
yeehaaaaaaaaaaaa
8 Jan 2010, 07:12
Quite a big off season for Redlands so far.
Big losses in Eagle, White, Davies, Huy and Marguccio.
But already signed Dzufer, O'Shea, Clouston, Weightman and Williams amoungst a few other young fellas from up north.
Eagle and White in particular will be very hard to cover but I think they will still be a fairly strong outfit in '10 with the majority of their state players (Carse, Norman, Charlesworth and Myers anlong with all state U21 reps) recommitting to the club.
Also heard that Mick Aitken might be on the move?? Can he play or overated?