View Full Version : Peter Foster
Dry Rot
22 Oct 2002, 20:39
Peter Foster was before my time as an AFL supporter. I note that many posters regard his career highly.
Can you tell me about his time at the Dogs?
OldSchool
22 Oct 2002, 20:50
Originally posted by Dry Rot
Peter Foster was before my time as an AFL supporter. I note that many posters regard his career highly.
Can you tell me about his time at the Dogs?
Talented key defender who also did some damage when he went forward. He was a great mark and a long left foot kick.
Great clubman.
Played on the best players and really made them work hard for a kick.
Opposition teams often tried to lure away from CHB by dragging him to FB in an effort to curb his influence.
His career was cut short by a Paul Dear kick to the shins that broke his leg. When he came back he lost another yard in pace and was never the same.
Fantastic bloke
Dry Rot
22 Oct 2002, 21:00
When did he play? Which well known opposition CHFs did he sort out?
OldSchool
22 Oct 2002, 21:10
When did he play? Which well known opposition CHFs did he sort out?
Played in the 80's and 90's and won the club B & F in 1990
Foster played on the likes of Kernahan, Brereton and Dermie rates him as one of the best that played against him
Dry Rot
22 Oct 2002, 21:15
When did he retire (or break his leg)?
Does our dodgy defence date from then? Seems that from the mid nineties our defence has not been well regarded, with no stand-out CHB (exzcept when Grant played back there).
OldSchool
22 Oct 2002, 21:25
When did he retire (or break his leg)?
Does our dodgy defence date from then? Seems that from the mid nineties our defence has not been well regarded, with no stand-out CHB (exzcept when Grant played back there).
I think he went at the end of 95. perhaps 96.
We really have had had problems with our defence for at least 10 years and even guys like Toohey, Campbell and Southern couldn't really cover the key posts that well.
Dry Rot
22 Oct 2002, 21:29
Thanks for the info OldSchool.
How are handling the off-season? I'm really missing my footy. (:
OldSchool
22 Oct 2002, 21:46
Thanks for the info OldSchool.
How are handling the off-season? I'm really missing my footy. (:
I am actually enjoying it and I am not missing it too much at all.
Looking forward to the upcoming trade period and of course the draft.
Bulldog1954
22 Oct 2002, 21:55
Wouldn't it be great to have our side now With Fossy and Rick at CHB and FB
I remember a story that he was about to quit the dogs and head to perth at the end of 1983 , at that stage he was 22/23 and had played 10 games. Malthouse got appointed and moved him to CHB , the rest is history . Again proves that a big man takes a while to develop unless you are Wiggins.
The Doctor
22 Oct 2002, 22:09
Originally posted by Bulldog1954
Wouldn't it be great to have our side now With Fossy and Rick at CHB and FB
Absolutely.
Just imagine if we could throw in Angelo Petraglia on a HFF and Zeno Tzatzaris on a HBF as well :) .
Originally posted by The Doctor
Absolutely.
Just imagine if we could throw in Angelo Petraglia on a HFF and Zeno Tzatzaris on a HBF as well :) .
dont start........... Sedat Sir on the other flank and Cronin or Love on the other HFF ............... i think its started
Bulldog1954
22 Oct 2002, 22:13
Originally posted by jboyar
dont start........... Sedat Sir on the other flank and Cronin or Love on the other HFF ............... i think its started
Seeing its been started, how tantaslising would thew prospect be of Griffin and Nicholsons on the HBF's feeding ther ball through the middle through Cullen and Quill to a leading John Georgiades and Ballantyne
The Doctor
22 Oct 2002, 22:17
Seeing its been started, how tantaslising would thew prospect be of Griffin and Nicholsons on the HBF's feeding ther ball through the middle through Cullen and Quill to a leading John Georgiades and Ballantyne
seeing that it's been continued.....
How about all of the above feeding the great man, the Colossus of the Goal Square, the brilliant Daniel Del-Re :) .
i was thinking of Komp at CHF and a fast leading Loveless at FF.
Peter Foster - To say he was our 2nd best CHB behind Mr Football really sums it up.
Hard as nails, tough, gave Stewie Loewe bathes twice a year by leaning all over him. Dermie rated one of the best CHB he played on. Did well against Sticks but Sticks kept getting frees. I remember when he moved to CHF v Essendon and towelled up Terry Daniher in 1 quarter. The end was tragic, it didn't look like much, just a sweep of the leg. He tried to get up kick the ball but just collapsed. Plate placed in leg got infected and instead of missed 4-6, it got doubled. Played again but never got the speed or strength back. Was getting on a bit.
With Kennedy at FB, defence was not a worry. No offence to Epplestun, Ford, Zeno and a number of others but they were made to look very good.
We had no forward line but with Malthouse defence wasn't a problem.
sigscotty
23 Oct 2002, 00:38
Originally posted by OldSchool
I think he went at the end of 95. perhaps 96.
It was well before that. The broken leg came in 92 i believe (pretty close to certain, i remember as a youngster hoping very much he could get back for the finals), i don't think he was on our list by the 94 season.
I remember him playing on a young but highly rated Wayne Carey and giving him an absolute hiding. Another one i remember well is a week where Stewie Lowe had been in great form and was getting heaps of attention in the media during the week (including a news item showing how many eggs he could hold in his huge hands). We played them that weekend and Fossie didn't let him near it.
Chicago1
23 Oct 2002, 02:41
Originally posted by Chops
Peter Foster - To say he was our 2nd best CHB behind Mr Football really sums it up.
Hard as nails, tough, gave Stewie Loewe bathes twice a year by leaning all over him. Dermie rated one of the best CHB he played on. Did well against Sticks but Sticks kept getting frees. I remember when he moved to CHF v Essendon and towelled up Terry Daniher in 1 quarter. The end was tragic, it didn't look like much, just a sweep of the leg. He tried to get up kick the ball but just collapsed. Plate placed in leg got infected and instead of missed 4-6, it got doubled. Played again but never got the speed or strength back. Was getting on a bit.
With Kennedy at FB, defence was not a worry. No offence to Epplestun, Ford, Zeno and a number of others but they were made to look very good.
We had no forward line but with Malthouse defence wasn't a problem.
You've summed up my own thoughts quite well, Chops! I loved watching Peter Foster give Stuart Loewe a bath almost every match. I remember one particular match at Moorabin when Stuart Loewe was killing everyone else at the time and Foster cut him to shreds! Foster and Kennedy were our "Dynamic Duo". They'll always be two of my favourites.
I'm surprised no one has mentioned Peter Foster's fantastic "goal" at the Whitten Oval. I still remember sitting up in the Whitten Stand and having a great view of the angle. Wasn't even close! Seeing Foster go up to the goal umpire and try to shake his hand will always be etched in my memory. The cheers and laughter that went up from the Whitten Stand that afternoon are what is missing from the plastic confines of a place like Colonial. We were one and we were Bulldogs!
I worked with Fozzie in about '82.
He started out as a CHF with Fitzroy and they traded him to us for practically nothing as they thought he was a dud.
Fozzie was really soft when he started and went to a Rudi Webster type who sorted his head out big time.
When Dear broke Fozzies leg in '92, I have no doubt that incident cost Footscray a premiership. We had no problems with West Coast that year but couldn't cover both Brownless and Stoneham. With Fozzie to contend with, Brownless wouldn't have kicked 17 goals against us in 2 finals.
bulldogs1
23 Oct 2002, 13:05
The Doggies were a fantastic unit that year. Yes, a hard-at-it Foster would have been the difference.
Didn't Danny Delre kick eight in the losing final against Geelong? From memory we were up something like 30+ points just before half-time. Sounds familiar, doesn't it?Originally posted by jim440
When Dear broke Fozzies leg in '92, I have no doubt that incident cost Footscray a premiership.
Captain Sensible
23 Oct 2002, 14:44
Yep with Justin Charles starring in the ruck.
Fossie came at the start of '83 in a package deal with Chris Hansen. While we were negotiating with Fitzroy over Hansen Shane O'Sullivan asked if they had anyone who could fill a key defensive post and the 'Roys handed over Foster for $30,000.
He played for the Victorian side at both CHF and CHB.
sigscotty
23 Oct 2002, 15:36
Originally posted by bulldogs1
Didn't Danny Delre kick eight in the losing final against Geelong? From memory we were up something like 30+ points just before half-time.
With Scotty Wynd out too.
W. W. Biscuit
23 Oct 2002, 17:06
Or the sight of a Micheal Rolfe streaming downfield, pumping it down the throats of Con Gorizidis and Russell Shields :D
LondonBulldog
23 Oct 2002, 17:14
Don't quite know if we would have won a premiership that year with Fossie at centre half back as Barry Stanfield took over at CHB and had a good year.
Unfortunately we lost Wyndy for the prelim against Geelong therefore Bazza Stanfield had to ruck.
Fossie retired at the end of 1993 for memory.
Captain Sensible
23 Oct 2002, 18:33
Originally posted by LondonBulldog
Unfortunately we lost Wyndy for the prelim against Geelong therefore Bazza Stanfield had to ruck.
It was definitely Justin Charles that rucked in that game. Barry Stoneham took over just before half time and that was all she wrote Jack.
Bulldog1954
23 Oct 2002, 22:02
It was 1994 against Melbourne that Fish had to ruck, I think
ronnie deroni
24 Oct 2002, 03:04
It was 1994 against Melbourne that Fish had to ruck, I think
You are right there B54. 92 Wynd played in the prelim and the semi, only missed the qualifyer.
94 we lost Grgic and Wynd and had only Bazza left. Darcy played in the twos, it was his first year. He knocked somebody out during the ressies that day. Darcy that is.
Originally posted by LondonBulldog
Don't quite know if we would have won a premiership that year with Fossie at centre half back as Barry Stanfield took over at CHB and had a good year.
You're kidding. Standfields good game was in '94. In '92 he was a first year and really struggled. Keanan Reynolds and Tony Campbell were our two best defenders that year.
Fossie 32
12 Nov 2002, 14:30
In the book 'Sons of the SCray - Footscray's Finest 50' Fossie was rated 32nd - ironic!!
He was from Coragulac, played 162 games for us and 7 at Fitzroy, kicked 51 goals for us and 2 at Fitzroy. He was our best and fairest in 1990 at the age of 30, was deputy vice captain and three time State player. His giant killing feats have been well described above. He retired at the end of 93 and went to coach Yarrawonga.
Anybody able to fill in what he has been doing since?
:)
Originally posted by Fossie 32
In the book 'Sons of the SCray - Footscray's Finest 50' Fossie was rated 32nd - ironic!!
He was from Coragulac, played 162 games for us and 7 at Fitzroy, kicked 51 goals for us and 2 at Fitzroy. He was our best and fairest in 1990 at the age of 30, was deputy vice captain and three time State player. His giant killing feats have been well described above. He retired at the end of 93 and went to coach Yarrawonga.
Works for a chemical company - not ICI/Orica
Originally posted by Fossie 32
Lives around Essendon/Moonee Ponds/Ascot Vale.
Saw him at Ascot Vale Leisure Centre probably 10 year back and before last years draft.
Also saw him at Windy Hill swimming pool at start of year.
Sure he isn't Suzi's cousin?
desipura
14 Nov 2002, 18:11
Bumped into Fossie last week, he is regularly seen at the shops, buying a "sanga" on Mt Alexander Rd opp The Grand Hotel.
Looks like he could still play............top bloke!
Fossie 32
14 Nov 2002, 18:29
Originally posted by desipura
Bumped into Fossie last week, he is regularly seen at the shops, buying a "sanga" on Mt Alexander Rd opp The Grand Hotel.
Looks like he could still play............top bloke! [/B]
Awesome!! Did you say g'day to him for me?