View Full Version : Player sponsorship

Shinboners
7 Dec 2000, 14:39
Hi all

I was just wondering if any of you (and that includes non-North fans! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif ) were interested in getting together and sponsoring a player? I just got the club's membership info and the cost of sponsoring a player is $1,750.

Anyway, I'll be going back to a Pagans Patron membership after one Blighty inspired year as a Legends Club member. What is everyone else getting?

Aussie_Roo
7 Dec 2000, 14:44
I'm usually renew my AFL Membership each year, as well as take out a Captain Club's membership with reserved seating at every ground. Do you go to any of the home games in Sydney?

Paulkanga2000
8 Dec 2000, 11:15
I purchased my paagan's patron today from the club at a cost of $252 (pagans patron with reserved seat at MCG and level1 at CS) and as i was leaving i ran into Gavin Crosisca!

Shinners, i'd be interested in player sponsorship if we can get 5-10 people i'd be interested in joining you.

Paul

35eye
10 Dec 2000, 15:04
I did the same, Shinboners & went the Pagans Patron. I did Legends Glendinning, Kekovich & Blight before defecting over for next season.
I couldn't wait to receive my renewal in the mail & filled out the forms at the club & paid up on Friday. I also got the upgrade & reserved seat for Colonial. I understand the club is looking after seat allocation next season year after the ticketing agency ballsed it up this year. So it pays to get your application in early if you've got an idea where you want your reserved seating. Even if you opt for deferred payment.

I wonder which players might still be un-sponsored at this stage. Would you be particularly picky who you took?

Darky
10 Dec 2000, 15:06
Will KFC be sponsoring Cartman Calthorpe again hehe?

------------------
Live by the sword, or die by the law!

Shinboners
1 Feb 2001, 14:51
Okay, now that we've got plenty of regular North posters here, I just thought it might be worthwhile floating this idea again.

Anyone interested in sponsoring a player? We'd have to work out how much and how to divide up the benefits, but for the time being, I just want to guage how much interest there is for the bigfooty-roos to sponsor a player.

Malibu
1 Feb 2001, 15:07
Shinners, I was a player sponsor in 2000 (by the way, I dumped Langey for another player so he's up for grabs!)

I don't think they'll be any benefit for all people involved as you only get one membership, but you DO get 2 Grannie tickets should we make it.....

hotham
1 Feb 2001, 15:24
I already have my platinum pagans etc. But if there were a few of us I may be interested in sharing a player sponsorship. Maybe we could call ourselves pagans ducks. I am sure we could work out a fair system in relation to the GF ticktes. Maybe we could donate them to a charity.

[This message has been edited by hotham (edited 31 January 2001).]

Paulkanga2000
1 Feb 2001, 15:52
I'd love to ne a part of it shinners and i reckon the pagan ducks idea is a great one too

Rooboy 96
3 Feb 2001, 07:49
Wha about this for a charity "Rooboy 96 needs free GF Tickets" my wife would kill me if I spent anymore then I do now... and sorry but I enjoy living...

warrior
3 Feb 2001, 08:08
I would contribute $250 Ie one seventh towards the sponsorship.

If we got GF tickets we could draw straws for them!!!!

I`d prefer to sponsor one of the new draftees such as Dylan Smith or Harris?

warrior http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Shinboners
3 Feb 2001, 10:00
How about if we get 8 people, and I like Warrior's idea of drawing straws for the GF tickets (yeah, I'm an optimist....we'll be there in September!!!!!!).

Gonzo
3 Feb 2001, 10:50
Might be interested!!!

Anyone know the process?

Who, what, why, how much etc??

Cheers

Gonzo

Shinboners
3 Feb 2001, 11:04
Player sponsorship is $1,750.

Shinboners
3 Feb 2001, 11:06
p.s. I've just rung the club for more info, so I'll post it here once I get it.

Shinboners
3 Feb 2001, 11:26
Originally posted by warrior:
I`d prefer to sponsor one of the new draftees such as Dylan Smith or Harris?

If we get to pick, I'm happy to go along with Warrior's suggestion. It'd be great to follow the career and give support to one of our younger players. Again, what does everyone else think?

The invisible mullet
3 Feb 2001, 11:30
I agree with the idea to sponsor one of the recruits and would not be interested in sponsoring Stuart Cochrane.

Gonzo
3 Feb 2001, 11:40
Agreed

A youngster if we do indeed get a pick!

Cheers

Gonzo

Shinboners
3 Feb 2001, 11:47
Fair enough. For the fans that are interested, just include player preferences, or if you want, players that you don't want to sponsor.

So, scratched so far are Cochrane and Calthorpe.

Gonzo
3 Feb 2001, 11:59
I'd go for anyone that we have drafted in the last 3 years except those who have played at a previous club (ie players like Sav, McLaren, Sinclair, CALTHORPE! etc)

A player that is just starting out in the big time.

My 2 cents (or proportion of 1750 bucks anyway!)

Cheers

Gonzo

Malibu
3 Feb 2001, 15:39
If you guys really are interested in sponsoring a player, mail me privately at mallibu@bigpond.com and I will get my contact at North Melbourne who is actually looking after Player Sponsorships to get in touch............

http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

------------------
If you see me getting mighty,
If you see me getting high,
Knock me down,
I'm not bigger than Life

R.H.C.P.

hotham
4 Feb 2001, 06:45
Drawing straws is fine with me. Stuart Cochrane and Shane Clayton are proudly supported by the North Melbourne Past Players Association. I stand to be corrected but i think they also have Corey Jones.

Malibu
4 Feb 2001, 10:45
Oooh Corey Jones would be a nice little pickup........to take home anyway.....

SLAP

JUBJUB
4 Feb 2001, 10:47
Malibu
I hope after that comment that your female http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

------------------
"No matter how good you are at something,there's always a million people better than you"

hilton
5 Feb 2001, 06:04
I was a player sponsor in 2000 but that player has since left the club but I am still sponsoring a player this year.

Malibu
5 Feb 2001, 06:34
Jubjub - I was 100% chicky-babe last time I checked......

(o)(o)

http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif

------------------
If you see me getting mighty,
If you see me getting high,
Knock me down,
I'm not bigger than Life

R.H.C.P.

Damir Dokic
5 Feb 2001, 06:47
Damir volunteer to make double check.

Shinboners
8 Feb 2001, 11:31
Just wanted to send this back to the first page. Hope people don't mind.

Malibu
8 Feb 2001, 13:27
Damir - aren't you busy with Jelena?

Damir Dokic
8 Feb 2001, 13:35
Damir busy vorking on new CD. Look for him in shop soon. Damir put details on "Brissie Bort" topic shortly.

warrior
8 Feb 2001, 14:49
Perhaps Damir should be working on a new CV?

warrior http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Rooboy 96
9 Feb 2001, 08:11
Shinners... you can thank me later.. for putting back on page 1...

Shinboners
15 Feb 2001, 10:02
Sending this to page one again. I've got the info from the club and will post details by the end of this week.

Shinboners
17 Feb 2001, 10:38
Okay, here's the player sponsorship info:

Cost: $1,750

Benefits:

Identified on players board at the club, recognised in the roos news and year book, framed certificate signed by president, coach, and the player sponsored.

Access to Hassett Room and Medallists Bar at the MCG, and after match social club at Colonial at North home games

Cocktail party at the Crown

The right to purchase up to 4 prime tickets at finals.

Right to purchase two Grand Final tickets if North make it.

Invitation to pre-match lunch or dinner (note, catering charge of $145 per person).

-----------------------------

The way I see it, the benefits are unimportant compared to putting money into the club and getting a special interest in following the player we sponsor. So, I'm interested, whoever else is, list your names down below.

hotham
19 Feb 2001, 10:49
Hotham.

hilton
19 Feb 2001, 10:55
Any thoughts of who you might sponsor?

Malibu
19 Feb 2001, 12:20
Shinners, Langey may be up for grabs this year as I dumped him for a new improved model to sponsor in 2001.

Just kidding about the new and improved, well maybe just a little bit.

Gonzo
20 Feb 2001, 04:53
May sound like a silly question guys but does the money go to the club or to the individual player concerned?

Cheers

Gonzo

Malibu
20 Feb 2001, 05:04
Gonzo,

From what I can remember, the money goes to the club and towards purchasing equipment for the players - Don't know what they mean by equipment though.

Kaz
20 Feb 2001, 07:00
Count me in.....provided it is a young player, who we can follow and cheer on to greater things.

Don't need the grannie tickets....the Pagans Patron ticket will take care of that.

http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Gonzo
20 Feb 2001, 07:29
Yeah sign me up!

As with Kaz the Pagan's Patron will sort me out with the Granny ticket WHEN we get there!!

Shinboners
20 Feb 2001, 14:48
Okay, I've checked through the thread and those who are interested are:

Me
PaulKanga
Hotham
Warrior
Gonzo
Kaz

With 6 people, that's $292 each (the extra few cents will go to postage). If we get two more, we can drive the cost down to $218.75....so, come on kids.

Carey_is_King
20 Feb 2001, 14:58
I'm in. That's a round $250 each. Why don't you start a second one if others are interested.
------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

[This message has been edited by Carey_is_King (edited 19 February 2001).]

Darky
20 Feb 2001, 15:19
I'd love to participate, but once I return to student-hood, I'll probably be looking for contributions myself http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif. I'm getting a Pagans Patrons membership which is about as far as I can stretch my footy dollar for the time being.

Shinboners
20 Feb 2001, 17:24
Okay, 7 people at $250 each is fine by me. Is that fine by everyone else? Post here or e-mail me to confirm.

DOC
20 Feb 2001, 19:13
Keep up the good work Shinboners. I took T.Makepeace for my first year as a player sponsor last season . And I found it to be most rewarding it ads a whole new aspect to being a member. Get on Harro would be my advice he looks the goods. Hopefully the crew can stick togeather and sponsor the player for his entire N.M.F.C life. Thats what I plan to do.

Go The Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC

Gonzo
21 Feb 2001, 08:58
Shinners

Email on the way!

Cheers

Gonzo

hotham
21 Feb 2001, 09:42
Confirmed. hotham.

Shinboners
21 Feb 2001, 09:49
Cheers to PaulKanga, Gonzo, and Hotham.

Hotham, CIK, Warrior, and Kaz, will you all e-mail me at shinboners68@yahoo.com so that I can get your e-mail addresses and can let you know what's happening.

hotham
21 Feb 2001, 10:38
Shinboners,

I emailed you a short while ago. hotham.

Shinboners
21 Feb 2001, 10:39
Yep. Got it hotham.

Kaz, CIK, and Warrior, will you please e-mail me?

Cheers
SB

Redd
21 Feb 2001, 19:05
Hey guys, whats going on?
is there room for a small one to slip in?
I'm all for it.. and i even have my son's permission.(20 months)
As for GF tickets.. I reckon they should be sold and the money put towards next years sponsorship. Follow some kid all the way!!

can i join..can I?
Money is no object.. just don't tell my wife.

Shinboners
22 Feb 2001, 02:40
Redd, e-mail me off list. With 8 people, the contribution becomes $218.75 each.

Shinboners
22 Feb 2001, 14:56
Sending this back to the top as well.

Rooboy 96
23 Feb 2001, 07:40
Originally posted by Redd:
Hey guys, whats going on?
is there room for a small one to slip in?
I'm all for it.. and i even have my son's permission.(20 months)
As for GF tickets.. I reckon they should be sold and the money put towards next years sponsorship. Follow some kid all the way!!

can i join..can I?
Money is no object.. just don't tell my wife.

Redd how do you hide it from your wife??? sending it back to the top Shinners...

Shinboners
16 Mar 2001, 05:30
Just sending this back to the top of the board.