View Full Version : Essendon mock Carlton
BomberAce7
15 Nov 2008, 05:46
Essendon mock Carlton
Friday, 14 November 2008
for essendonfc.com.au
Page 1 of 1
Essendon have mocked Carlton’s latest membership campaign slogan: “They Know We’re Coming”.
The shy and retiring Blues stirred up the rivalry with their latest slogan and the Bombers have responded in kind.
Essendon today posted a slogan on the club website (essendonfc.com.au): “They Know We’re Waiting”.
Click here to see the full "They Know We're Waiting" image.
Club insiders said the Bombers were counting down the days to their Round 3 clash with the Blues saying, despite a heavy injury count and very young team, Essendon beat Carlton twice in 2008.
The 2009 clash is expected to be Victorian tribal warfare at its best and has the hall-marks of a classic encounter between two young, improving Victorian teams desperate to return to finals action. A crowd of around 80,000 people is expected.
In general, the 2009 season is shaping as a big one for Victorian football with the likely resurgence of Essendon, Carlton and Richmond and the expected success of Collingwood, Hawthorn and Geelong.
Essendon has two massive Victorian rivalry clashes with Carlton, Collingwood, Richmond and Hawthorn next year.
A recent poll, run on essendonfc.com.au, showed that Carlton is the team Essendon fans most enjoy beating.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/08/waiting_bomber02-l.jpg
They know we are waiting
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6170
AndyLesPaul
15 Nov 2008, 05:54
Hahaha
Legendary.
http://essendonfc.com.au/images/08/waiting_bomber02-l.jpg
Smyth94
15 Nov 2008, 06:49
Looks even better as your avatar ;)
Essendonfc_4_lyfe
15 Nov 2008, 06:55
Looks even better as your avatar ;)
Gold. :D
jade_00
15 Nov 2008, 07:27
Absolute gold.
Johnny Utah #9
15 Nov 2008, 07:31
Kudos to the Bombers marketing department. Nothing wrong with playing up the strong Blues/Dons rivalry. Bring on Rd 3 and 90,000 at the 'G i say.
I'm sure we all agree though that both clubs campaigns are light years ahead of the rubbish the Colliwobbles marketing department have dished up for 2009.
http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=8apAD8hPbDw
Ben the Gooner
15 Nov 2008, 08:21
The shy and retiring Blues
Almost as good as the poster itself.:D
Wahooti Fandango
15 Nov 2008, 09:07
Kudos to the Bombers marketing department. Nothing wrong with playing up the strong Blues/Dons rivalry. Bring on Rd 3 and 90,000 at the 'G i say.
I'm sure we all agree though that both clubs campaigns are light years ahead of the rubbish the Colliwobbles marketing department have dished up for 2009.
That is the lamest promotion I have ever seen. :eek:
Essendonfc_4_lyfe
15 Nov 2008, 11:34
[/b]
That is the lamest promotion I have ever seen. :eek:
Surely the picture at 0:07 is a piss taker.
Sir James
15 Nov 2008, 13:44
I just watched it...........WHAT THE F@&# WAS THAT?
gandaal
15 Nov 2008, 14:08
Looks like the Dons are playing follow the leader.
But at least its not as embarrassing as that Collingwood ad :eek:
Hahaha
Legendary.
http://essendonfc.com.au/images/08/waiting_bomber02-l.jpg
Both the Essendon one, and the Carlton one would look awesome next to each other in the week leading up to the match.
loopy_cam
15 Nov 2008, 15:33
http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh73/loopy_cam/ComingWaiting.jpg
james_omahoney
15 Nov 2008, 16:15
What a pathetic advertisement. What were they thinking???
Blue Dimension
15 Nov 2008, 16:21
They look great :thumbsu:
I just watched it...........WHAT THE F@&# WAS THAT?
ROFL I think we all thought the same thing :p How funny is it?
Blueinblood
16 Nov 2008, 07:35
hahah collingwood.
Lance Uppercut
16 Nov 2008, 08:25
**** me I just spewed up a bit in my mouth. I'd be SOOOO embarrassed as a Collingwood supporter! :eek:
essendon2008
16 Nov 2008, 15:02
Surely that Collingwood promo can't be official. Gotta be a piss take...Hilarious nonetheless:D
What a pathetic advertisement. What were they thinking???
they weren't!!
they never think!!
thats why mick is still coaching the bunch of flogs!!
Call Me Cake
16 Nov 2008, 18:51
Good work.
Love the whole blue/red effect going on there. :)
drybones
16 Nov 2008, 19:48
This is what our game is all about.. loving one club and loving hating another.
Best campaign I've seen!! They do look awesome next to each other.
Looking forward to seeing both clubs back up somewhere in the 8.. just in time for Collingwood to make the fall out..
MatthewJN
17 Nov 2008, 06:24
Haha, Go Bombers!
StealthBomber
17 Nov 2008, 12:00
Just saw the Collingwood ad. Their supporters wont be too happy with that!! LMAO!! Too funny.
It's like a slap in the face for them. As chopper would say to their campaign, "Harden the f$%k up!!"
stay true
17 Nov 2008, 13:57
Haha this is cool. I can't wait for round 3!
and dear god, that collingwood advert is absolutely appauling. wow...
Bombers_Forever
17 Nov 2008, 15:20
Good to see two clubs with decent marketing - great work on both counts.
loopy_cam
18 Nov 2008, 14:44
Now we're mocking Collingwood aswell with this weeks poll.
What should be Collingwood's 2009 membership song?
The Great Pretender (by The Platters)
What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted (by Jimmy Ruffin)
The Tracks Of My Tears (by Smokey Robinson)
Dumb Things (by Paul Kelly)
After All These Years (by Silverchair)
Trouble With Me ( Robbie Williams)
Ben the Gooner
18 Nov 2008, 14:45
I voted the Great Pretender.:D
loopy_cam
18 Nov 2008, 14:48
I did to. Definitely the best fit. :thumbsu:
Ben the Gooner
18 Nov 2008, 14:53
I did to. Definitely the best fit. :thumbsu:
I was thinking the Silverchair option, but then I saw the Great Pretender, and the contest was over.
FandangoDingo
19 Nov 2008, 09:29
:D Top work.
"Together we are beautiful".... sheessh... since when has toothless, un-washed and stupid been beautiful? Why aspire to be beautiful, anyway... It's footy, ya half-wits!! What an embarrassment!
james_omahoney
19 Nov 2008, 21:35
http://www.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/6b4b6e42f9.jpg (http://www.freeimagehosting.net/)
We certainly do.
smcateer
20 Nov 2008, 03:24
:D Top work.
"Together we are beautiful".... sheessh... since when has toothless, un-washed and stupid been beautiful? Why aspire to be beautiful, anyway... It's footy, ya half-wits!! What an embarrassment!
Took the words out of my mouth.
"Together we're beautiful."
Then the ad should cut to:
"Individually ..."
:thumbsu: very funny.
Nice job when your marketing dept kicks one from 55m
That's a great poster. Well done to EFC marketing department.
TwiggleyFanClub
21 Nov 2008, 14:59
:thumbsu: very funny.
Nice job when your marketing dept kicks one from 55m
LOL you guys can have it next year. Players included.
Ben the Gooner
21 Nov 2008, 15:15
Yeah, that definitely wasn't posted by blue gunslinger at 16.16 EDST, while yours was at 16.59 EDST. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=519398
****ing wanker.
TwiggleyFanClub
21 Nov 2008, 15:28
Yeah, that definitely wasn't posted by blue gunslinger at 16.16 EDST, while yours was at 16.59 EDST. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=519398
****ing wanker.
You're mistaking me for someone who goes into Bay 13, which I didn't until I hit your link... oh. @#$&^%!@
Nice use of sarcasm too. You're getting better.
****ing wanker.
http://img260.imageshack.us/img260/4356/536294674lud6.gif
Good pwning Ben
Ben the Gooner
21 Nov 2008, 15:37
http://img260.imageshack.us/img260/4356/536294674lud6.gif
Good pwning Ben
Great gif.:D
And Twiggers (sic), I call bullshit.
ahahah gold ! although i think gumbleton lucas lloyd mcveigh hille watson would be better
F*$# Carlton
Ben the Gooner
22 Nov 2008, 19:30
F*$# Carlton
Don't often agree with Richmond supporters, but...
TwiggleyFanClub
24 Nov 2008, 15:51
You waited 2 days for a comeback?
TwiggleyFanClub
24 Nov 2008, 15:53
You're assuming I'm like you and have nothing better to do than trawl every forum on this site...
So did our posts like disappear?
You're assuming I'm like you and have nothing better to do than trawl every forum on this site...
Pfft, I'll have you know I've never entered the Fishing Board
Ben the Gooner
24 Nov 2008, 16:55
Pfft, I'll have you know I've never entered the Fishing Board
You haven't seen the 1.1m snapper?:D
And I'd have thought that my first post was far more offensive than my second. But it did spawn Spikey's fantastic gif, so maybe that's why it's still there.