View Full Version : Official West Coast Eagles Trade Thread

i_luv_westcoast
24 Oct 2002, 10:39
I have to work today, so if we make any trades can you put them down here. Don't have access to a radio at work so will be in the dark until I get home.

Kenny_01
24 Oct 2002, 17:09
Well the thought of a Embley/Chick/French 3 way deal can be put to rest because apparently French was traded to Carlton for #18.

Porthos
24 Oct 2002, 17:15
Embley for Ackland might work though ;)

daddy_4_eyes
24 Oct 2002, 19:35
WC offered Brisbane picks #10+#26 but Brisbane immediately rejected it. Worsfold said he will do everything he can to secure Headland, but won't jeopardize the structure of the playing group in order to secure one more player.

If you ask me, Brisbane can go and make love to themselves. I hope Des leaves the lions, enters the pre-season draft and gets drafted by freo. See if Brisbane ever try that arrogant tactic again.

article (http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=65306)

Mead
24 Oct 2002, 20:02
The latest rumor is Fremantles' entire playing list for St Kilda's entire list, with St K's draft picks going to Brisbane for Headland, who will go to Freo. To sweeten the deal, St Kilda are reportedly throwing in that scary looking yellow away strip, so Fremantle players can wear something other than purple.
At least, thats what i heard.

carneagles
24 Oct 2002, 20:51
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
WC offered Brisbane picks #10+#26 but Brisbane immediately rejected it. Worsfold said he will do everything he can to secure Headland, but won't jeopardize the structure of the playing group in order to secure one more player.10 & 26 are too low. It was always going to be the case that a player would have to go to get Des in a straight swap.

Interesting rumour going around linking Keating with Essendon and Des with Freo in a 3-way deal. Maybe Tubby Brown as well?

Something that hasn't been mentioned in light of all of this trade talk - is Wirra's mum a factor?

Kenny_01
24 Oct 2002, 21:00
Originally posted by carneagles
10 & 26 are too low. It was always going to be the case that a player would have to go to get Des in a straight swap.

Interesting rumour going around linking Keating with Essendon and Des with Freo in a 3-way deal. Maybe Tubby Brown as well?

Something that hasn't been mentioned in light of all of this trade talk - is Wirra's mum a factor?

How would a 3 way deal work with Keating going to Essendon from Brisbane and Des going to Freo from Brisbane?

carneagles
24 Oct 2002, 21:40
Both Freo and Essendon give up players, and possibly picks.

Thrawn666
24 Oct 2002, 21:54
I have a strong feeling we're not going to do much by Thursday. Woosha isnt willing to trade any of our top players, and I dont blame him. He said tonight that he wouldnt trade Wirrpunda, because he wanted to stay at the club. Makes you wonder though if he put that question to anyone else. Maybe he just asked Wirra due to the family problems he has been having the last year with his Mum being crook.

Anyways my tip is not to expect anything much in terms of trades.

carlyp
24 Oct 2002, 22:01
Originally posted by Thrawn666
[/B]Anyways my tip is not to expect anything much in terms of trades. [/B]

hmmm I dunno, I think we'll make a late dash on late thursday arvo. Leave it till the end that is.

Kenny_01
24 Oct 2002, 22:11
Trade week ends Monday 12pm WA time.

carlyp
24 Oct 2002, 22:14
Originally posted by Kenny_01
Trade week ends Monday 12pm WA time.

Thanks for that Kenny.

i_luv_westcoast
24 Oct 2002, 23:24
Looks like Headland may be headed to Freo. If he is I think West Coast should offer Brisbane someone like Wirrpunda and out first round pick. This will force Fremantle to match the offer and means they will have to trade more players or draft picks to snare Headland. It seems to me Freo is much more desperate for Headland than West Coast is. If Freo doesn't take the bait then West Coast can say sorry, we are no longer prepared to trade Wirrpunda.

carlyp
24 Oct 2002, 23:27
Originally posted by i_luv_westcoast
Looks like Headland may be headed to Freo. If he is I think West Coast should offer Brisbane someone like Wirrpunda and out first round pick. This will force Fremantle to match the offer and means they will have to trade more players or draft picks to snare Headland. It seems to me Freo is much more desperate for Headland than West Coast is. If Freo doesn't take the bait then West Coast can say sorry, we are no longer prepared to trade Wirrpunda.

Nah I think we can offer less than Wirra. If we dont get him, who cares! We still have quite a good midfield anyway.

Kenny_01
24 Oct 2002, 23:58

Despite how supporters feel, aren't the two sides meant to be working together? If they are, then I don't think WC would do that.

carlyp
25 Oct 2002, 00:08

Despite how supporters feel, aren't the two sides meant to be working together? If they are, then I don't think WC would do that.

Your kidding yourself if you think we would 'give you' headland. Im sure our club will do whatever possible to make sure we have the best players available on the team.

Kenny_01
25 Oct 2002, 00:46
Originally posted by carlyp

Your kidding yourself if you think we would 'give you' headland. Im sure our club will do whatever possible to make sure we have the best players available on the team.

I didn't say you would 'give us' Headland. I am saying you wouldn't offer a bluff trade for the sake of having us pay more for Headland.

larrikin
25 Oct 2002, 01:20
I'm sure there's rules against making false offers to push up the price on players.

And besides, we are all compassionate to Des when he needs to leave Brissy desperately if there's a chance of him coming to us, so I hope this compassion is genuine enough so that is the Eagles aren't prepared to pay the price and Freo are, then all footy fans in WA congratulate Feo for getting him home.

Please note - the above sentence has many gramatical errors that I cannot be stuffed even trying to fix;)

larrikin
25 Oct 2002, 01:21
Originally posted by carlyp

I thought Brissy had Headland?:D

Eagle_Fan
25 Oct 2002, 01:37
So after going on & on about 'not trading Headland to the West', Brissie came close to agreeing to a trade with Freo on the first day?

That's pretty soft hard ball if you ask me.

larrikin
25 Oct 2002, 01:52
Originally posted by Eagle_Fan
So after going on & on about 'not trading Headland to the West', Brissie came close to agreeing to a trade with Freo on the first day?

That's pretty soft hard ball if you ask me.
Which deal came close?

Kenny_01
25 Oct 2002, 02:11
Originally posted by larrikin

Which deal came close?

A 3-way involving Freo/Ess/Bris where Freo essentially give #5, #21 and McPhee for Headland.

Kenny_01
25 Oct 2002, 02:15
This was from the West Australian which might interest some of you.

The West Australian
West Coast had a lot of interest in utility player Andrew Embley but Worsfold indicated he is a required player.

Methuselah
25 Oct 2002, 02:20
you would expect Brisbane to reject the two draft picks offer from WCE. There is plenty of time left to stitch up a deal by Monday and all three clubs would be nuts to put a "final offer" on the table now.

From Brisbanes position why would you do anything other than reject the offers at first. It's called brinkmanship, and Brisbane will be hoping to gain leverage off each of the WA clubs over the next couple of days. I would not agree to any deal until Monday, 10am if i was representing Brisbane. By that time WCE might be offering both picks and 3 players, who knows? The offers are unlikely to be either withdrawn or downgraded.

From WCE 's position you offer the minimum first, see what you might get away with, knowing there is unlikely to be a deal on this till the very last minute. We can only guess at the final offer WCE will make, but it does look like it will not include "front line" players.

From Freo's perspective they would take exactly the approach adopted by WCE...minimum offer on the table first.

In other words there is no benefit in anyone declaring their hand yet.

Monday morning might be very interesting.

larrikin
25 Oct 2002, 02:26

A 3-way involving Freo/Ess/Bris where Freo essentially give #5, #21 and McPhee for Headland.
Why is Essendon even mentioned in this deal? From what I can gather they basically get McPhee and Keating for pretty much squat.

Sounds like cr@p to me.

Kenny_01
25 Oct 2002, 02:34
Originally posted by larrikin

Why is Essendon even mentioned in this deal? From what I can gather they basically get McPhee and Keating for pretty much squat.

Sounds like cr@p to me.

It is a bit complicated. Involves Heffernan, Keating, McPhee and Headland.

Headland to Freo

McPhee and Keating to Essendon

Heffernan, #5 and #21 to Brissy

Essendon would be the big winners if this went through though.

larrikin
25 Oct 2002, 02:43

It is a bit complicated. Involves Heffernan, Keating, McPhee and Headland.

Headland to Freo

McPhee and Keating to Essendon

Heffernan, #5 and #21 to Brissy

Essendon would be the big winners if this went through though.
I understand what has been posted, but why would Freo or Brissy want this deal to happen with essendon involved?

Why wouldn't Freo just do #5, #21 and McPhee to Brissy for Headland.

I guess the thought is that Essendon then trade McPhee and Keating to Brisbane for Caracella, but that neither equals value for Brisbane or helps them much with the salary cap.

Either way the deal is hardly three way, as Essendon and Freo really have nothing to do with each other.

Kenny_01
25 Oct 2002, 15:50
Apparently Eagles traded pick #10 for Daniel Chick. If true, congratulations, a nice pick up.

Ziggy1
25 Oct 2002, 16:14
Has this deal been confirmed?

carneagles
25 Oct 2002, 16:23
afl.com.au (http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=65404) says that Chick is "set to move to West Coast in exchange for a first-round draft selection", whatever that means.

noodle
25 Oct 2002, 16:28
"Hawthorn?s Daniel Chick is set to move to West Coast in exchange for a first-round draft selection. "

i'm very happy with that. i've kept our playing list together and gained the services of chick.

welcome aboard daniel.

i_luv_westcoast
25 Oct 2002, 16:33
I hope we trade for another first round pick. Our first pick isn't until 26 now. I doubt we will pick up anyone decent in the draft this year :(

Kenny_01
25 Oct 2002, 16:38
I hope we trade for another first round pick. Our first pick isn't until 26 now. I doubt we will pick up anyone decent in the draft this year :(

Don't worry, our first pick might be in the 50's :D

This years draft is weak anyway so not to worry.

Voice of Reason
25 Oct 2002, 17:11
Originally posted by noodle
"Hawthorn?s Daniel Chick is set to move to West Coast in exchange for a first-round draft selection. "

i'm very happy with that. i've kept our playing list together and gained the services of chick.

welcome aboard daniel.

I'll believe it when it's confirmed.

If so, I'd be happy with it and it's probably fair to both sides.

Incidentally, I marked the goal from Daniel Chick at Subiaco this year in the 3 tier stand. There's Chick's first piece of Eagles trivia for you.

Ziggy1
25 Oct 2002, 17:22
I know hindsight is a wonderful thing, but think about how easily we could have had an unbelievable midfield. We were offered Des for #6 last year and were about to pick up Steven Armstrong but for some reason passed on him for Seaby.

Cousins
Kerr
Judd
Headland
Chick (please confirm)
Wirrpunda
Matera
Armstrong

backed up by:

Fletcher
Wooden
Chambers
Jones

Think about it!

TheRealBuzz
25 Oct 2002, 17:34
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=65493

Not confirmed. Just looking very likely.

Pick #10 is nothing to sneeze at, but I'd be happy if we don't have to trade anyone from our actual list. If we can get Chick and still keep blokes like Brauny, Fletch and Embers, then I'm reasonably pleased.

Will anyone be changing their name to 'Danny Chook Fan Club'. ;)

noodle
25 Oct 2002, 17:37
but we didn't ziggy. we can kick ourselves and blame people all we want but it don't change squat.

lets move forward and make our midfield, sans headland (?), the best in the comp.

noodle
25 Oct 2002, 17:39
Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
Will anyone be changing their name to 'Danny Chook Fan Club'. ;)

maybe we can add another name to the west coast supporters thread.

carneagles
25 Oct 2002, 17:40
Originally posted by TheRealBuzz

Will anyone be changing their name to 'Danny Chook Fan Club'. ;) Thought about using "Danny Chook Fan Club, Western Henhouse". Can you have user names that long?

Ziggy1
25 Oct 2002, 18:02
Originally posted by noodle
but we didn't ziggy. we can kick ourselves and blame people all we want but it don't change squat.

lets move forward and make our midfield, sans headland (?), the best in the comp.

I'm not blaming anyone Noodle. Just pondering what could have been.

noodle
25 Oct 2002, 18:20
Originally posted by Ziggy1

I'm not blaming anyone Noodle. Just pondering what could have been.

yeah i realise that ziggy.

i just pretty happy that we got chick for pick 10

Ziggy1
25 Oct 2002, 18:26
Absolutely. We get a tough as nails midfielder/forward with ability and keep Wirra in the process.

Like it!

iceman
25 Oct 2002, 19:11
im happy, always been a fan of Chick and i reckon he'll add alot to our team

Uncle Tony
25 Oct 2002, 19:26
Getting Chick is good news.

Not getting Headland last year may still turn out to be a blessing in disguise, who knows what sort of player Sampi will be by 2004/05. I'm sure he'll come good, very good.

Thrawn666
25 Oct 2002, 20:36
Im very happy to have Chick at our club for the Number 10 pick in a weak draft.

Welcome aboard Daniel!

Goldenblue
25 Oct 2002, 22:07
Yay for Chickiebabe!!

jod23
26 Oct 2002, 06:15
Now Ive read that Whoosha is trying to trade for one of the first 4 picks in the draft to trump Freo's pick 5 and get back in front for the race for Headland.

Dont think it will happen and I'm just glad we got Chick. But I'll wait and see.

On a sidenote, can you imagine the hell that will break loose once Freo do get Headland. They crap on enough about how good Longmuir, Hasleby and Pavlich are...we will never hear the end of it.

Kenny_01
26 Oct 2002, 06:24
Originally posted by jod23
Now Ive read that Whoosha is trying to trade for one of the first 4 picks in the draft to trump Freo's pick 5 and get back in front for the race for Headland.

Dont think it will happen and I'm just glad we got Chick. But I'll wait and see.

On a sidenote, can you imagine the hell that will break loose once Freo do get Headland. They crap on enough about how good Longmuir, Hasleby and Pavlich are...we will never hear the end of it.

You left out McPharlin :)

jod23
26 Oct 2002, 06:39

You left out McPharlin :)

And Croad, Polack, Farmer etc etc ...

Stupid Freo supporters :rolleyes: :D

i_luv_westcoast
26 Oct 2002, 16:43
Woewodin is now on the market with Collingwood having talks with him. If we can't get Headland maybe we should have a play at Woey.

eagleskickass
26 Oct 2002, 19:33
I was thinking the same ILW!
If we can't get headland chick and woewoddin would be GREAT compensation IF he isn't TOO costly, id be very happy indeed.
SURELY we will put a bid in for the West Australian.
GO EAGLES!

daddy_4_eyes
26 Oct 2002, 19:37
Melbourne news says Melbourne are asking for Collingwoods 1st rd pick, #16 overall. Surely we can beat that?

jod23
27 Oct 2002, 04:23
Now what to do, continue to chase Headland which we are certainly on the outer or swoop on Woewodin to see if we can snatch him from Collingwood.