View Full Version : Number 3 Pick??

hourn
24 Oct 2002, 15:51
Do you think we'll try and get the number 3 pick of St Kilda??

We'd probably have to lose Chambers and pick 10 or Fletcher and pick 26 to get it.

but the only reason i would want to get pick 3 is to try and get Daniel Wells. Or is it seemingly certain that Wells is going to Carlton??

Either way though, if we got pick 3 and Carlton picked up Wells. We could get Salopek/Goddard and if he gets homesick, we could end up trading Salopek/Goddard for Wells in a couple of years time.

carlyp
24 Oct 2002, 15:54
Originally posted by hourn

We'd probably have to lose Chambers and pick 10 or Fletcher and pick 26 to get it.

but the only reason i would want to get pick 3 is to try and get Daniel Wells. Or is it seemingly certain that Wells is going to Carlton??

Either way though, if we got pick 3 and Carlton picked up Wells. We could get Salopek/Goddard and if he gets homesick, we could end up trading Salopek/Goddard for Wells in a couple of years time.

I didnt think Wells wanted to play in WA. I thought he was really keen on playing in Victoria, for a change of scenery or something.

hourn
24 Oct 2002, 15:55
Originally posted by carlyp

I didnt think Wells wanted to play in WA. I thought he was really keen on playing in Victoria, for a change of scenery or something.

really??? hmmmm thats interesting.

I dont think Salopek or Goddard are to interested in coming to WA, so we might scratch that idea.

Although you never know how Wells may feel once he gets that change of scenary. He mentioned in one article that if he ended at carlton there was a risk of homesickness, so if that happened, and we had someone liek Salopek or Goddard to trade back for him, it could all work out good.

irish
24 Oct 2002, 16:39
would not worry about it if you could get pick no 3 it would be traded to the lions for headland its your only chance if you want him the lions will want heaps and will get it if not from you then from the dockers !!!

hourn
24 Oct 2002, 16:44
Originally posted by irish
would not worry about it if you could get pick no 3 it would be traded to the lions for headland its your only chance if you want him the lions will want heaps and will get it if not from you then from the dockers !!!

If we got the number 3 pick i think i'd rather take the Salopek/Goddard/Wells risk than Headland because we still dont know exactly how good he'll be.

On the AFl web-site there is poll saying the Brisbane want more than our first two picks in the draft. If that's the case they can **** themselves.

There not going to get any higher than pick 10 and a midrange player, otherwise i'd be majorly ****ed.

daddy_4_eyes
24 Oct 2002, 16:54
Originally posted by hourn

Fletcher+#26 for #3 would be a fantastic swap for us, I'd love that. Wouldn't really want to swap Chambers+#10 for #3 though, mostly cause I like Chambers and the role he plays within the team.

IF we got #3 would it really be worth trading #3+#10 for Headland? I'd prefer to hold onto the #3 and pickup Wells, and trade maybe #10 + #26 for Headland. Wells is very highly rated, would be great to add him to our midfield.

hourn
24 Oct 2002, 16:58
if we got pick 3, i wouldn't be too displeased then if we traded pick 10 and 26 for Headland.

As it stands now though, i dont wanna go into this draft which has no depth with our first pick in the third round.

Kenny_01
24 Oct 2002, 17:07
I doubt you would get the #3 for Fletcher and #26. St. Kilda fans would probably burn the place down.

Falchoon
24 Oct 2002, 17:25
Originally posted by Kenny_01
I doubt you would get the #3 for Fletcher and #26. St. Kilda fans would probably burn the place down.

zero chance

daddy_4_eyes
24 Oct 2002, 17:28
Originally posted by Falchoon
zero chance

More lobsided trades have occurred in the past.

saiak
24 Oct 2002, 17:36

I didnt think Wells wanted to play in WA. I thought he was really keen on playing in Victoria, for a change of scenery or something. ]

Two points...the Blues have told Goddard that he is going to be #1 so take that as you will, it makes it unlikely that we wouldn't get him at all.

Wells said he wants to play in Melbourne because "that's where the real footy is played"...again, take that as you will

carlyp
24 Oct 2002, 17:39
Originally posted by saiak
]Wells said he wants to play in Melbourne because "that's where the real footy is played"...again, take that as you will

Yes thats what I heard. The kids obviousley stupid though

daddy_4_eyes
24 Oct 2002, 17:48

Yes thats what I heard. The kids obviousley stupid though

Only stupid person would be one who disagreed with what he said. There are ten AFL clubs in victoria, the strongest state league in Australia (VFL), best youth development system, etc. How can anyone say victoria is not the heart of football?

But apparently his statements were taken out of context by the media. He said he wouldn't mind moving to victoria to play if he was drafted by Carlton, he didn't say he doesn't want to play in WA.

carlyp
24 Oct 2002, 17:51
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
Only stupid person would be one who disagreed with what he said. There are ten AFL clubs in victoria, the strongest state league in Australia (VFL), best youth development system, etc. How can anyone say victoria is not the heart of football?

That may all well be true but I just think there is alot of real football being played in WA too. I really dont think you can call Victoria the home of AFL. The other states have developed some talent along the way and are all just as good.

eagleskickass
24 Oct 2002, 19:10
Wells is not a West Australian, thats why he doesn't mind, he was either born in the NT or SA/Vic, i did read where but can't remember now. I just know he only moved here 2-4 years ago.

noodle
24 Oct 2002, 19:20
Originally posted by saiak
]
Wells said he wants to play in Melbourne because "that's where the real footy is played"...again, take that as you will

i was talking to a daniel wells lookalike last night and he told me that the only reason that wells came out with these comments is because he was sure that the only WA club with high enough picks to take him would be fremantle.

evertonfc
24 Oct 2002, 20:15

WCE fans want pick three?

So would I! ;)

Realistically, there is no way we'd part with anything less than Kerr or Judd.

I can't see West Coast giving up either. I think Richmond's pick 4 is quite flexible, have a crack at that one - the draft top three are settled...Goddad, Wells, Salopek (in that order I believe) after that it's a lottery.

Next year we'll launch a big swoop (as if any Vic club won't??) for Judd if he hasn't signed up, going on what our president says about him during their period together. But I have a gut feeling he'll stay on @ WCE...I'll bet he's enjoying the profile of being a big fish in the WA pond!

Kerr...will be interesting to see how he goes around Cousins. Came out and played a blinder in the IR 1st leg, looks as if anyone will be upset by it, Cousins will be.

I reckon St.Kilda would have to consider #3 for Kerr or Judd. Whether the club would be prepared to let go of drafting Salopek would be another. Whether West Coast would even entertain letting these guys go would be another variable with a .0001% chance.

Oooooh a thought just jumped into my head. #10 and Wirrapunda for #3 and #19?

Wirrapunda or Salopek...sheesh..I know Wirra is an ex-#1, but he's got 5/6 years on the Sala, who's also a mad keen Saints fan. SS looks more far more appealing and stable to me at this stage, but #10 for #19 could make it interesting?????

?????

I think however WCE would be happy to leave pick 3 with us if the Chick and Des line up together in Eagles colours next season!

Kenny_01
24 Oct 2002, 21:16

That may all well be true but I just think there is alot of real football being played in WA too. I really dont think you can call Victoria the home of AFL. The other states have developed some talent along the way and are all just as good.

Carly, you seem to follow what the media say. If you havn't realised, the media talk a lot of ****, and they basically take everything out of context to create a story. After all, thats their job.

carlyp
24 Oct 2002, 21:39

Carly, you seem to follow what the media say. If you havn't realised, the media talk a lot of ****, and they basically take everything out of context to create a story. After all, thats their job.

I dont neccesarily follow what the media say but just note that that is what is being said

Goldenblue
25 Oct 2002, 02:44
Originally posted by evertonfc

Aint gonna happen.

Kerr is untouchable and by AFL law Judd must stay at the club for 2 years minimum.

Niether player is up for grabs and if we did let Kerr go, we would have rocks in our heads.

larrikin
25 Oct 2002, 02:50

Kerr...will be interesting to see how he goes around Cousins. Came out and played a blinder in the IR 1st leg, looks as if anyone will be upset by it, Cousins will be.

It wasn't a problem for either player this year (the two were exceptional in their combination on field) and the issue has been around all season.

Can't see how it's gonna be an issue in the future.

larrikin
25 Oct 2002, 02:53

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

(Wiping his eyes)

I guess we have different definitions of realistic. If Headland is worth two first round draft picks, and the Eagles (Trevor Nisbett) have already said that Judd or Kerr would not even be considered for Headland, then I think our perceptions of the trade market might be different to yours EFC.

Kenny_01
25 Oct 2002, 03:12
Originally posted by larrikin

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

(Wiping his eyes)

I guess we have different definitions of realistic. If Headland is worth two first round draft picks, and the Eagles (Trevor Nisbett) have already said that Judd or Kerr would not even be considered for Headland, then I think our perceptions of the trade market might be different to yours EFC.

#3 is probably worth more than #10 and #26, and the Eagles offered pick #10 and #26 for Headland so...

larrikin
25 Oct 2002, 03:19

#3 is probably worth more than #10 and #26, and the Eagles offered pick #10 and #26 for Headland so...
Kenny. What are you on about?

On day 1 of trading the Eagles offered a very unlikely offer to Brisbane. It wasn't going to happen, and was never meant to.

Nisbett has said that if the Eagles trade for an early draft pick they won't keep it (ie that plus #10 would be offered to Brissy). Nisbett has also said that Kerr and Judd would not even be considered as straight up trades for Headland, therefore their worth to the Eagles is higher than two early picks (not 10 and 26).

Kenny_01
25 Oct 2002, 03:22

Kenny. What are you on about?

On day 1 of trading the Eagles offered a very unlikely offer to Brisbane. It wasn't going to happen, and was never meant to.

Nisbett has said that if the Eagles trade for an early draft pick they won't keep it (ie that plus #10 would be offered to Brissy). Nisbett has also said that Kerr and Judd would not even be considered as straight up trades for Headland, therefore their worth to the Eagles is higher than two early picks (not 10 and 26).

I agree with ya. They are worth more than pick #3, but it was nothing laugh so much about :)

I am just saying, you wouldnt expect Brisbane to be in hysterics with the Eagles initial offer.

larrikin
25 Oct 2002, 03:34

I agree with ya. They are worth more than pick #3, but it was nothing laugh so much about :)

I am just saying, you wouldnt expect Brisbane to be in hysterics with the Eagles initial offer.
If i were Brissy and the eagles offered #10 and #26 in a weak draft for a guy who just came 6th (I think) in the Brownlow and won a premiership my laughs would have gone twice as long.

I think freo are a much bigger chance to get him because they will actually give something up, while West Coast are always tight on trades, preferring to develop players.

Having said that, after's Freo's "bending over" of Hawthorn last year, I can't see Chick ending up anywhere but West Coast. Hawthorn will not trade with Freo simply based on principle.

Kenny_01
25 Oct 2002, 03:42

If i were Brissy and the eagles offered #10 and #26 in a weak draft for a guy who just came 6th (I think) in the Brownlow and won a premiership my laughs would have gone twice as long.

I think freo are a much bigger chance to get him because they will actually give something up, while West Coast are always tight on trades, preferring to develop players.

Having said that, after's Freo's "bending over" of Hawthorn last year, I can't see Chick ending up anywhere but West Coast. Hawthorn will not trade with Freo simply based on principle.

Yeah I agree with all of that.

jod23
25 Oct 2002, 03:51

HHAHAHAHAHHAHHAAHHAAHHAH Im sorry...but i couldnt help but laugh like so many before me.

larrikin
25 Oct 2002, 04:02
Originally posted by jod23

HHAHAHAHAHHAHHAAHHAAHHAH Im sorry...but i couldnt help but laugh like so many before me.
Now Jod let's all be balanced in our laughter.

jod23
25 Oct 2002, 04:04

Now Jod let's all be balanced in our laughter.

I couldnt....I was laughing too hard :D