View Full Version : "New" Nirvana album out 2mor...

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
27 Oct 2002, 18:16
Was just readin that the "new" Nirvana album is out 2mor. It's called Nirvana :rolleyes: how original. What i wanna kno is wot's so new about it if it's only one supposedly "new" track on it? (even that one i already have) Even tho its the best song they've ever done IMO it's still only 1 song that isn't already on one of the other 6 releases. Although they're still my all time favorite band and i used to be more obsessed over them than footy even, somehow this barely excites me. Can't see it being any different from the muddy banks compilation released a few years go. Just another one that ppl buy for the sake of being able to say you've got the whole collection i think! Saying that i will be buying it for this very reason :D here's the track listing...

1.You Know You're Right
2.About A Girl
3.Been A Son
4.Sliver
5.Smells Like Teen Spirit
6.Come As You Are
7.Lithium
8.In Bloom
9.Heart-Shaped Box
10.Pennyroyal Tea
11.Rape Me
12.Dumb
13.All Apologies
14.The Man Who Sold The World
15.Where Did You Sleep Last Night

There's gonna be a clip for it too which is wot i am more excited about coz this is actually going to have footage we haven't seen yet or so they say!

BT
27 Oct 2002, 18:22
Pretty good line-up of songs there but where's "Drain You!"

I realise it's basically a singles compilation but there's a few other good songs missing like Anuerysm,Blew etc.

I'll be buying it for the sake of completing the collection.

Nic
27 Oct 2002, 18:23
Is that the one they all sued each other over?

Not terribly fussed with Nirvana.

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
27 Oct 2002, 18:26
Originally posted by Nic
Is that the one they all sued each other over?

Yep went to court over songs that were already out anyway grrh i thought they were gonna have at least 4 or 5 of my fave unreleased ones on it :(

jod23
28 Oct 2002, 07:03
I may buy it....I only have two Nirvana albums and I believe this is kind of like a Best Of right?

morpheus
28 Oct 2002, 19:33
Originally posted by jod23
I may buy it....I only have two Nirvana albums and I believe this is kind of like a Best Of right?

Yep!

It looks like I might go & buy it just so I know have the full set of cd's & singles:cool:

Dissapointing to see no Anuerysm, Negative Creep & Something In The Way, but then again they are some of my favs.:)

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
28 Oct 2002, 19:55
Originally posted by morpheus
Dissapointing to see no Anuerysm, Negative Creep & Something

Exactly!!!

Negative Creep Bleach version is the best bloody song i've ever heard (hmm ok one of them) apart from a few of Nirvana's unreleased tracks that i love!

The Hitman
29 Oct 2002, 06:26
What a f*cking jib. I don't believe that they'd be fighting over releasing one new single with the rest a 'best of'. I'm absolutely livid that the only "new" song is the one which I've heard flogged on JJJ for the past month. What ever happened to all those songs never heard of before?

I wont be satisfied until we see an album full of unreleased tracks. All the hardcore Nirvana fans have all their albums anyway, so what's the point of shelling out $25 for one new song? I'll probably pick it up at some stage, but reluctantly.

:(

The Hitman

GOALden Hawk
29 Oct 2002, 17:25
The rumours are a special edition boxed set will come out with another 6-10 unreleased tracks sometime next year. However, most of these can be downloaded or found on bootlegs already.

I bought it even though I had all the tracks already, but hell I paid $150 for a 6 track Nirvana EP!

Aneurysm is clearly the big omission, I can't really understand how that missed. Dive must have been considered, and given Love Buzz was actually the band's first single I though they may have included that.

The "remastering" is non-existent bar the Scott Litt mixing of a (much-improved) Pennyroyal Tea.

But it's worth getting - particularly if you are not a huge Nirvana fan. Good for your younger brother or sister too, make them realise where half their music came from.

BT
29 Oct 2002, 19:52
Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

I bought it even though I had all the tracks already, but hell I paid $150 for a 6 track Nirvana EP!

Did you buy Hormoaning before the re-release? I was tempted to do that too.

I bought the Sliver single for $40 instead, gotta love that live version of Spank Thru!

Good ol Gaslight & Au go-go eh?

morpheus
29 Oct 2002, 21:16
Originally posted by BT

Yeah gotta love Gaslight & Au go-go.

Pipeworks in Campberwell used to be good and 2 other cd shops one in Dandenong and I think the other is in Oakleigh.

hourn
29 Oct 2002, 21:21
heard you know youre right for the first time today when i was walking through HMV and i got to say i reckon it is pretty good. I dont mind Nirvana but i'm not a huge fan. I still reckon Lithium is their best, i love that song, but the new song is right up there i reckon.

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
30 Oct 2002, 09:36
Originally posted by hourn
heard you know youre right for the first time today when i was walking through HMV and i got to say i reckon it is pretty good. I dont mind Nirvana but i'm not a huge fan. I still reckon Lithium is their best, i love that song, but the new song is right up there i reckon.

You know youre right is definately the best Nirvana song but it surprises me that people have taken this long to only just hear it? I have had it for years now, it's been on all of them JJJ specials they've had on the band and it's so easily available on the net. Listened to it yesterday at Sanity and it sounds like a pretty different version coz the one i play in the car is sung by Courtney.

GOALden Hawk
30 Oct 2002, 16:55
Originally posted by BT

Did you buy Hormoaning before the re-release? I was tempted to do that too.

I bought the Sliver single for $40 instead, gotta love that live version of Spank Thru!

Yeah - I bought Hormoaning - but it was the Japanese version from the Trading Post because everywhere I went didn't had it. It's legit though, hopefully will be worth something some day.

Spidey - that's the Hole version they played at their MTV unplugged session.

The only other version previously available was a very dodgy live recording from the only time they played it in concert at the Aragon Ballroom in Chicago in late 1993. It was called On the Mountain then.

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
30 Oct 2002, 17:08
how much did youz pay for hormoaning?
I remember years ago it was all we would ever talk about wanting to get but could never find it anywhere coz it was that rare. This is before the net tho now its all easy to get on here. Have got all the songs on it but still would like to own an actual copy of it. D7 and Even In His Youth r ****in mad!

Has anyone got Pay To Play? Managed to get a copy of that, pretty good stuff especially Opinion which is another favorite rare one. Gawd some of the songs on there r a crack up but particularly the song 'Moist Vagina' who would have ever heard a band sing about such a thing...only nirvana would of course hehe no wonder half their stuff wasn't released they'd probably get sued!

BT
30 Oct 2002, 17:49
Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
how much did youz pay for hormoaning?
I remember years ago it was all we would ever talk about wanting to get but could never find it anywhere coz it was that rare. This is before the net tho now its all easy to get on here. Have got all the songs on it but still would like to own an actual copy of it. D7 and Even In His Youth r ****in mad!

Has anyone got Pay To Play? Managed to get a copy of that, pretty good stuff especially Opinion which is another favorite rare one. Gawd some of the songs on there r a crack up but particularly the song 'Moist Vagina' who would have ever heard a band sing about such a thing...only nirvana would of course hehe no wonder half their stuff wasn't released they'd probably get sued!

I never bothered with Hormoaning, I have all the songs anyway.

I have Pay to Play on bootleg somewhere, it's merely "Stay Away" from Nevermind with different lyrics, nothing spesh.

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
30 Oct 2002, 18:08
Originally posted by BT

I never bothered with Hormoaning, I have all the songs anyway.

I have Pay to Play on bootleg somewhere, it's merely "Stay Away" from Nevermind with different lyrics, nothing spesh.

Nah not the song pay to play i mean there was an actual rare album called pay to play...has tonns of rare songs on it and's got courtney reading the eulogy at the end

Leaping Lindner
30 Oct 2002, 21:15
I don't know if this has been covered before... BUT I seem to recall the reason there was such a big gap between Nevermind and Inutero was that the band took a 'new' LP to Geffen who said they didn't like it and to go back and try again.Result Inutero. This story seemed legit at the time(1992-3) but it does seem unlikely that some 10 or so previously unreleased Nirvana songs wouldn't have been released(with GREAT fanfare)in the past decade!
Has anyone else heard this story?

McAlmanac
31 Oct 2002, 08:14
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
I don't know if this has been covered before... BUT I seem to recall the reason there was such a big gap between Nevermind and Inutero was that the band took a 'new' LP to Geffen who said they didn't like it and to go back and try again.Result Inutero. This story seemed legit at the time(1992-3) but it does seem unlikely that some 10 or so previously unreleased Nirvana songs wouldn't have been released(with GREAT fanfare)in the past decade!
I have the same recollection.

TheMase
31 Oct 2002, 08:36
Originally posted by hourn
Hehe!
One song I can play on the guitar ;)

BT
31 Oct 2002, 20:22

Ah so that's why we ended up with Incesticide then!

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
31 Oct 2002, 20:24
Originally posted by BT

that would have to be one of the weaker albums. Even tho most of Nirvana sounds weird this one just seemed TOO weird!

BT
31 Oct 2002, 20:38

that would have to be one of the weaker albums. Even tho most of Nirvana sounds weird this one just seemed TOO weird!

A few valuable songs but this one was obviously just released to keep the fans hungry.

And the 1st CD I ever bought btw :).

Leaping Lindner
31 Oct 2002, 21:34
Originally posted by BT

Yes spot on! I was working at a (public)radio station at the time and we heard there was a 'new' Nirvana album coming.When "Incestide" arrived it was like "What the hell is this???".And that's when we heard the story about the 'rejected' album and how "Incestide" was released to somehow placate fans who were hanging out for new stuff by the band!
Still it was worth getting if for no other reason than "(new wave)Polly":)

GOALden Hawk
1 Nov 2002, 09:31

As the resident Nirvana maniac, I can tell you this story is sort of true, but not really.

Nirvana didn't realise an album in 1992 because basically they had done a massive tour and they band was stuffed. This was the time Kurt first got heavily into heroin, and even he admitted the whole year was a complete wipeout.

Under the deal signed with Geffen to get released from SubPop Nirvana had to release 2 albums with the SubPop logo and also give some of their royalties to them. The first of these was Nevermind (which actually saved SubPop from bankruptcy).

After Nevermind went big both SubPop and Geffen decided to rush out a B-sides and rarities album to fill in the time, because they knew Kurt was struggling and the new album wouldn't appear until 1993. In the end both labels got together and it was released on Geffen, but if you have a look at your copy the SubPop label should be on there - thereby freeing Nirvana from the label for good.

The story you may have heard relates to the recording of In Utero in 1993. The recording with Steve Albini was very raw and rough, done in just 2 weeks. It was how the band wanted it at the time, but DGC hit the roof and called it "unlistenable" and demanded it be re-recorded. There was a huge fight, and Steve Albini was given most of the blame.

In the end they decided to keep the album, but the singles (Heart Shaped Box, All Apologies and Pennyroyal Tea) were all remixed by Scott Litt (who did REM) to make them more radio-friendly. Of course the remix off Pennyroyal Tea didn't make it public until last week, although 1000 copies of the single were released in Europe around Kurt's death.

So that's the story.

Spidey - I own Pay to Play - the bootleg CD. Some great tracks on there. I also own the song Pay to Play on the DGC compilation, along with Verse Chorus Verse, the hidden track from No Alternative.

Apparently the boxed set is not coming out until 2004, however a rarities album may be out next year. This will no doubt contain songs such as D7, Return of the Rat, Even in his youth, Opinion, Junkyard, Here she comes now and quite a few others. They have enough to fill an album, it's a matter of finding quality as some are dodgy recordings.

I paid $150 for Hormoaning EP, D7 is one of my favourite Nirvana tracks. MV or Moist Vagina was B-side on Heart Shaped Box, Even in his youth was a B-side off Smells Like Teen Spirit, both of which are available in the Singles Box.

Hope that helps people!

Stocka
1 Nov 2002, 14:03
Gawd some of the songs on there r a crack up but particularly the song 'Moist Vagina' who would have ever heard a band sing about such a thing...only nirvana would of course hehe no wonder half their stuff wasn't released they'd probably get sued!

The song was originally titled (and written about) 'marijuana', but the record company apparently wanted the title changed to avoid controversy (therefore the band changed it to 'moist vagina' as it rhymed). I don't see how it could be "less controversial" though!

However, regardless of the song's name or content, I certainly wouldn't regard it as being any worse than quite a lot of stuff you hear on the radio these days. No big deal at all.

Leaping Lindner
1 Nov 2002, 14:31
Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

As the resident Nirvana maniac, I can tell you this story is sort of true, but not really.

Nirvana didn't realise an album in 1992 because basically they had done a massive tour and they band was stuffed. This was the time Kurt first got heavily into heroin, and even he admitted the whole year was a complete wipeout.

Under the deal signed with Geffen to get released from SubPop Nirvana had to release 2 albums with the SubPop logo and also give some of their royalties to them. The first of these was Nevermind (which actually saved SubPop from bankruptcy).

After Nevermind went big both SubPop and Geffen decided to rush out a B-sides and rarities album to fill in the time, because they knew Kurt was struggling and the new album wouldn't appear until 1993. In the end both labels got together and it was released on Geffen, but if you have a look at your copy the SubPop label should be on there - thereby freeing Nirvana from the label for good.

The story you may have heard relates to the recording of In Utero in 1993. The recording with Steve Albini was very raw and rough, done in just 2 weeks. It was how the band wanted it at the time, but DGC hit the roof and called it "unlistenable" and demanded it be re-recorded. There was a huge fight, and Steve Albini was given most of the blame.

In the end they decided to keep the album, but the singles (Heart Shaped Box, All Apologies and Pennyroyal Tea) were all remixed by Scott Litt (who did REM) to make them more radio-friendly. Of course the remix off Pennyroyal Tea didn't make it public until last week, although 1000 copies of the single were released in Europe around Kurt's death.

So that's the story.

Spidey - I own Pay to Play - the bootleg CD. Some great tracks on there. I also own the song Pay to Play on the DGC compilation, along with Verse Chorus Verse, the hidden track from No Alternative.

Apparently the boxed set is not coming out until 2004, however a rarities album may be out next year. This will no doubt contain songs such as D7, Return of the Rat, Even in his youth, Opinion, Junkyard, Here she comes now and quite a few others. They have enough to fill an album, it's a matter of finding quality as some are dodgy recordings.

I paid $150 for Hormoaning EP, D7 is one of my favourite Nirvana tracks. MV or Moist Vagina was B-side on Heart Shaped Box, Even in his youth was a B-side off Smells Like Teen Spirit, both of which are available in the Singles Box.

Hope that helps people!

That makes sense.Cheers for that!

Radio friendly Nirvana ???!!!???!!??!:mad: (shudder, shudder)

Korn
4 Nov 2002, 18:40
The songs from this new album, are they live recordings or just studio recordings straight from their old albums?

It's a good list of songs, except for Been a Son. Should have replaced it with Anerysm or other unreleased tracks.

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
4 Nov 2002, 18:51
Radio friendly Nirvana ???!!!???!!??!:mad: (shudder, shudder)

EXACTLY which is wot i was crappin on about in the other thread only to be told i am not a Nirvana fan :mad:

Korn...It's supposedly different as they r digitally remastered :rolleyes: I reckon they've just wacked them straight off the other albums coz i really can't tell much difference cept on Been A Son it sounds slightly different but only slightly. Wot a jib :mad: thought they would at least be live versions. I got heaps of live ones on old tapes and videos and they sound mad as....shoulda put them on this album for sure! And at least one more unreleased track like Opinion or Even In His Youth as they r two of their best rarities!