View Full Version : Pick your best Essendon team from the '84','85,'93 & 2000 Premiership sides

Shane Hird
5 Dec 2008, 00:12
Choose from...'84,'85 sides:

Nobby Weston Billy

Bradbury Walsh Heard

Neagle Baker Foulds

Hawker Vanders T.D

Ezard Roger Dunell

Madden Watson Williams

Harvey, Bomber

1985 Flag side..swap Heard,Neagle,Bradbury and Frank Dunell for

Elshaug,Carey,Wood....and the Big Fish

Wangas Fletcher Grenvold

Bomber Harvs Joey

Ricky Denham Hills

Mercs Hird Longy

Boris Salmon Watson

Somerville, G O'D

Calthorpe,Chris Daniher,Wallis

Johnno Fletcher Hardwick

Wellman Solly Wallis

Blumfield Joey Heffernan

Hird Lucas Mercs

Caracella Lloyd Moorcroft

Barnes,JJ,Barnard,Alessio,Longy,Rama

My team would be...

Wangas DF Foulds

Wellman Harvs Hardwick

Longy Williams Vanders

Hird Roger Lucas

Mercs Lloyd Boris

Madden,Watson,Misiti

Alessio,JJ,Bomber,Leon Baker.

Pretty hard to pick..eg: Solly vs Foulds,Neagle vs Vanders,Blumfield vs Hardwick.

Can't squeeze in Duckworth,Heard,Caracella,Paul Weston..

Bomber32
5 Dec 2008, 01:09
B: Wanganeen, Fletcher, Hardwick
HB: Harvey, Terry Daniher, Foulds
C: Long, Baker, Neagle
HF: Hird, Merrett, Lucas
F: Mercuri, Lloyd, Bewick
R: Madden, Watson, Williams
I/C: Alessio, Misiti, Van Der Haar, Thompson

Gunnar Longshanks
5 Dec 2008, 05:09
How come both you guys have left out Salmon?

Wasn't he in your Team of the Century?

Smyth94
5 Dec 2008, 06:14

Yeah, thats a big oversight

Longy413
5 Dec 2008, 06:18

In the two flags he played in (Nobby should have had him as an in for 1985 in place of Bradbury), he played as a full forward.

Lloyd is a better full forward than Salmon.

That said, he's a better second ruck option that the others.

He made Hawthorn's Team of the Century, not ours.

Shane Hird
5 Dec 2008, 08:08

Was he?

Left Salmon out..others took his spot.

Shane Hird
5 Dec 2008, 08:12
In the two flags he played in (Nobby should have had him as an in for 1985 in place of Bradbury), he played as a full forward

On the ball as usual longy..:)

Why don't don't i learn to not do late night bourbon induced threads?:o

Gunnar Longshanks
5 Dec 2008, 08:12
In the two flags he played in (Nobby should have had him as an in for 1985 in place of Bradbury), he played as a full forward.

Lloyd is a better full forward than Salmon.

That said, he's a better second ruck option that the others.How rigid do you want to be about it?

I don't think anyone would complain if you snuck him into a FP or picked him on the bench.

I'd take him ahead of Alessio all day long.

He made Hawthorn's Team of the Century, not ours.Are you sure about that?

I reckon he was picked in both - I recall a big deal being made about it because it's obviously quite an achievement to make that kind of side at two clubs.

Shane Hird
5 Dec 2008, 08:21
I reckon he was picked in both - I recall a big deal being made about it because it's obviously quite an achievement to make that kind of side at two clubs.

He was No28 in the Champions of Essendon list....

Its got me thinking,but Longy will confirm.

Spikey
5 Dec 2008, 08:26

He got named in Sheeds's best team in his coaching career, but pretty sure he didn't get named in the TofC

Merv
5 Dec 2008, 08:47
Salmon was not in the Essendon Team of the Century

Longy413
5 Dec 2008, 09:10
How rigid do you want to be about it?

I'm not being rigid about it at all.

I don't think anyone would complain if you snuck him into a FP or picked him on the bench.

I'd take him ahead of Alessio all day long.

Mercuri and Bewick are better forward pockets than Fish.

I said he's a better option than Alessio, I implied that I'd pick him on the bench by stating he's the best second ruck option.

He wasn't picked in our Team of the Century.

The big deal made, was that he actually made Hawthorn's after a relatively small number of games.

Shane Hird
5 Dec 2008, 10:29
I know a thread on this subject has been done a few times over the last few years but there has been many new members to the BF Essendon board in the last 6 to 12 months and it would be interesting to hear people's opinions on who they think are the stars of Sheedy's flag years.

I still can't replace Mark Johnson for Wangas or Foulds.

For me,Rama and Merv Neagle can't nudge out a Longy or the Flying Dutchman.

I can't fit in Bill Duckworth with his Norm Smith medal and Solly is stiff not to join Wellman and Hardwick who were both so very good in our 2000 season.

I always put Baker in. Alot of people have disagreed on this one in the past. But he was such a dynamic player I can't help but always slotting him in as one of our best Premiership players. Maybe we might win another flag in 3 or 4 years time and players like jetta,Reimers,Davey,Houli,Stanton,Watson or Monfries might take his place...

Salmon raises the old question yet again. Some of us (me included) just have too many memories of bad days at the office for Salmon. Yes he kicked tons of goals and was a pretty handy ruckman when at EFC..but Alessio added more value around the ground and was terrific when playing in defence.

Shane Heard was a great player for us...opposition supporters hardly remember the tough nugget but us folk who saw those great early-mid 80s sides remember Heard as very valuable player for Essendon.

FandangoDingo
5 Dec 2008, 10:40
Can't squeeze in Duckworth,Heard,Caracella,Paul Weston..

Really tough job. The game has changed so much across that period. eg. How would Billy Duckworth go in today's game?

No room for TD?? :eek:

PS. I want to go to an Allan Jeans BBQ!!!

Ludwig van Bertstare
5 Dec 2008, 10:49
B: Gavin Wanganeen - Dustin Fletcher - Damien Hardwick
HB: Mark Harvey - Terry Daniher (C) - Mark Thompson
C: Michael Long - Leon Baker - Merv Neagle
HF: James Hird - Roger Merrett - Scott Lucas
F: Mark Mercuri - Matthew Lloyd - Darren Bewick

FOLL: Simon Madden - Tim Watson - Darren Williams

I/C: Paul Salmon - Gary Foulds - Paul Van Der Haar - Joe Misiti

EDIT: How could I forget Harvs?

Ben the Gooner
5 Dec 2008, 10:50
I only saw two or three of the 84 and 85 players play, so I'm going to pick from 93 and 2000.

Wanganeen - Fletch - Harvey
Solomon - Wellman - Thompson
Long - Misiti - Caracella
Hird - Lucas - Mercuri
Rioli - Lloyd - Bewick
Salmon - Johnson - Denham
Alessio - Wallis - Johnson - Blumfield

Shane Hird
5 Dec 2008, 10:51
Really tough job. The game has changed so much across that period. eg. How would Billy Duckworth go in today's game?

No room for TD?? :eek:

PS. I want to go to an Allan Jeans BBQ!!!

Jesus,I've done it again... forgot a champion.

Tezza..??? Who do you take out?

Lucas? Nah.

Roger? Nah

Put TD at CHB and take Hardwick out?....maybe.

Put Hird in the centre,take Daisy out,put TD on the half forward line?..maybe.

Can't fit Neagle in...

It would even tougher if the bench was only two.

Shane Hird
5 Dec 2008, 11:01
I only saw two or three of the 84 and 85 players play, so I'm going to pick from 93 and 2000.

Hird - Lucas - Mercuri
Rioli - Lloyd - Bewick

If its just 93 and 2000,I'd have Rama on a wing over Blake...

FandangoDingo
5 Dec 2008, 11:27
B: Wanganeen - Fletcher - Hardwick
HB: Harvey - TD (C) - Bomber
C: Long - Hird - Merv
HF: Vander - Merrett - Lucas
F: Mercuri - Lloyd - Bewick
R: Simon Madden (VC) - Tim Watson - Misiti
I/C: Salmon - Foulds - Daisy - Wellman

EMG: Baker - Duckworth - J Johnson
Stiff: GO'D - Weston - Heard & maybe Solly.

Lucky there's not a '99 team to choose from too! :o :mad:

Ben the Gooner
5 Dec 2008, 11:40
If its just 93 and 2000,I'd have Rama on a wing over Blake...

It's so hard, isn't it?

Shane Hird
5 Dec 2008, 12:59
It's so hard, isn't it?

It is hard to choose. It done my head in thinking about last night.:p

Spikey
5 Dec 2008, 13:04
It's so hard, isn't it?

That's what she said.

I would pick a team, but I haven't seen anything from '84 or '85 and not much from '93 so....

Ben the Gooner
5 Dec 2008, 13:37
It is hard to choose. It done my head in thinking about last night.:p

84 and 85 would make it twice as hard. I struggled with two.:eek:

Gunnar Longshanks
5 Dec 2008, 19:02
He wasn't picked in our Team of the Century.

The big deal made, was that he actually made Hawthorn's after a relatively small number of games.Fair enough.

I must be confusing Sheeds' side with the Team of the Century.

frosty1
5 Dec 2008, 19:44
85 makes it easy

Nobby Weston Billy

T.D Walsh Foulds

Hawker Baker Wood

Harvey Roger Vanders

Ezard Salmon Elshaug

Madden Watson Williams

Bomber Carey

You don't mess with pefection, even to try and get Hird in there!

Sigmund
5 Dec 2008, 20:42
Great thread Nobby... A lot of fun putting that together...Here goes...

B Wanga Fletcher Thompson
HB Wellman TD (C) Foulds
C Long Baker Mercs
HF Hird (VC) Dutchman Lucas
FF Salmon Llyod Bewick
O/B Madden Watson Misiti
B Harvs Hardwick O’Donell Williams

Big apology to Roger the dodger.....

My forward line is a little top heavy but full of quality..

Can't see any team like this not having the great Leon Baker in the middle... I used to just love watching this guy play as a kid.. magic....

foj1
5 Dec 2008, 21:47
B. Wanganeen Fletcher TDaniher
HB. Thompson Lucas Harvey
c. Neagle Long ODonnell
HF. Hird Merrett Mercuri
F. Baker Lloyd Salmon
Foll. Madden Watson JJohnson
res Wallis Vanderhaar Williams Hawker

Smyth94
6 Dec 2008, 03:07
85 makes it easy

Nobby Weston Billy

T.D Walsh Foulds

Hawker Baker Wood

Harvey Roger Vanders

Ezard Salmon Elshaug

Madden Watson Williams

Bomber Carey

Don't be silly, Hird would've walked into that side

yodellinhank
6 Dec 2008, 10:31
B Wanganeen Fletcher Duckworth
HB Bomber T.D. Harves
C Long Baker Neagle
HF Hird Vander Mercuri
F Bewick Lloyd Salmon

R Madden Watson Johnson

I/C Hardwick Wellman Misiti GOD
Emerg: Merrett Lucas Soloman Foulds

LeeARM
6 Dec 2008, 11:22

Hird - Lucas - Mercuri
Rioli - Lloyd - Bewick

Rioli was injured for the 2000 grand final. he only got to play in the 2001 grand final as i remember

Ben the Gooner
6 Dec 2008, 12:07
Rioli was injured for the 2000 grand final. he only got to play in the 2001 grand final as i remember

If that's the case, chuck Blake in the pocket, and Rama on the wing.

Shane Hird
6 Dec 2008, 15:03
85 makes it easy

Nobby Weston Billy

T.D Walsh Foulds

Hawker Baker Wood

Harvey Roger Vanders

Ezard Salmon Elshaug

Madden Watson Williams

Bomber Carey

So,you're telling everyone that Hird couldn't push out Steve Carey,Tony Elshaug,Nobby Clarke or Kevin Walsh..?

I know ur joking..right?:(

:)

frosty1
6 Dec 2008, 20:39
So,you're telling everyone that Hird couldn't push out Steve Carey,Tony Elshaug,Nobby Clarke or Kevin Walsh..?

I know ur joking..right?:(

:)

Of course I'm joking. I'd slip him onto an extended 2000 style 4 person bench.

In my opinion the 85 team would have smashed the 2000 team (given a level playing field). In the 00 GF Essendon beat Melbourne. A team of such credentials that they were a basket case the year before and the year after. In 85 Essendon beat Hawthorn who were playing in their 3rd of 7 GFs in a row (is that right?), and they beat them by 78 points. Obviously there were a few players that you could replace, but it wouldn't be many.

Nobby Weston Billy -

Weston vs Fletcher...different eras and different games. Depends if you want a stopper or an attacking option. And depends on the style of game played at the time and the rules at the time. It's a coin toss. I'd probably replace Nobby with Wanganeen.

T.D Walsh Foulds

Walsh you'd think would be the weak link...but do you replace him with the undersized Harvey or the 1 good season, 2 flags of Wallis. Better off moving TD to CHB and Wellman to the HBF

Hawker Baker Wood

Probably get Long onto the Wing in place of either Hawker or Wood. In my memory there's not much in it between Hawker and Wood. (or Neagle)

Harvey Roger Vanders

I can't change that.

Ezard Salmon Elshaug

Elshaug obviously has to go, I could argue for Long circa 2000, but I've got him circa 93 on the wing. Bewick perhaps? Lloyd replaces Salmon I guess. Although Salmon pre knee (was that 84? or 83?) was kicking goals at a rate that Lloyd rarely equalled in his career. I'll make the change though based on the goal kicking accuracy.

Madden Watson Williams

again, you just can't change that

Bomber Carey

Hird replaces Carey

This gives me

Wanganeen Fletcher Duckworth
Wellman TD Foulds
Long Baker Wood
Harvey Merret Vander Haar
Ezard Lloyd Bewick
Madden Watson Williams

Thompson Hird

(apologies to Weston, Neagle, Mercuri, Lucas, Misiti....I can't make arguments for anyone beyond that list...except maybe Blumfield?!!)

angus6
6 Dec 2008, 23:15
Wanganeen - Fletcher - Hardwick
Wellman - Harvey - Bomber
Longy - Baker - Neagle
TD - Vanders - Lucas
Mercuri - Lloyd - Bewick
Madden - Hird - Watson
Salmon - Roger - JJ - Joey

Apologies to G'OD, MJ, Caracella, Solly, Barnes. If a tagger is needed then Dunny Brush Denham.

FandangoDingo
7 Dec 2008, 17:50
In my opinion the 85 team would have smashed the 2000 team (given a level playing field). In the 00 GF Essendon beat Melbourne. A team of such credentials that they were a basket case the year before and the year after. In 85 Essendon beat Hawthorn who were playing in their 3rd of 7 GFs in a row (is that right?), and they beat them by 78 points.

Think "Smash" is a bit over the top. The 2000 team would only be behind the Brisbane dynasty on the "greatest team of all" list. Might have knocked them off in 2001 (& for title of "Best ever" too), if it wasn't for our horror injury run at the end of the season.

Didn't matter who was playing Essendon in 2000. We were always going to win that Premiership, after the disappointment of the year before. There was a real fire in the belly that season. You can only beat your opposition on the day... and Melbourne were pummeled!

I think the "playing-field" changed a lot between 1985 & 2000. The draft has made sustained success (a dynasty) much more difficult. When you take Brisbane's concessions into account (& without detracting from Brisbane's achievements), what the Bombers did from 1999-2001 is pretty astonishing... apart from a couple of games. :o

Re: Melbourne being a basket case in 2001.... I reckon their flogging in the previous GF might have had a fair bit to do with it! :D

Probably get Long onto the Wing in place of either Hawker or Wood. In my memory there's not much in it between Hawker and Wood. (or Neagle)

Suggest your memory isn't serving you too well. ;)

Neagle >>>>>>> Wood

Wood fulfilled a role, but he lacked both the toughness and polish of Merv.

Shane Hird
7 Dec 2008, 19:48
Think "Smash" is a bit over the top. The 2000 team would only be behind the Brisbane dynasty on the "greatest team of all" list. Might have knocked them off in 2001 (& for title of "Best ever" too), if it wasn't for our horror injury run at the end of the season.

Didn't matter who was playing Essendon in 2000. We were always going to win that Premiership, after the disappointment of the year before. There was a real fire in the belly that season. You can only beat your opposition on the day... and Melbourne were pummeled!

I think the "playing-field" changed a lot between 1985 & 2000. The draft has made sustained success (a dynasty) much more difficult. When you take Brisbane's concessions into account (& without detracting from Brisbane's achievements), what the Bombers did from 1999-2001 is pretty astonishing... apart from a couple of games. :o

Re: Melbourne being a basket case in 2001.... I reckon their flogging in the previous GF might have had a fair bit to do with it! :D

Neagle >>>>>>> Wood

Its funny to think back now how that '84-'85 group came together and how they made such an impact on the League.
In the late 70s it didn't seem like we were going anywhere at all. The glory days of Coleman,Fraser,Hutchy and Co were becoming distant memories for our fathers.
We had a young kid from the Wimmera called Timmy and a local school teacher called Simon,but not many players were lighting up Windy Hill with star studded performances.

But in 1977,the club started to bring some talent to the field and a super side started to form. That year we 'drafted' Watson,Van Der Haar,Nobby Clarke,Merv Neagle and a tough little bugger named Shane Heard.

In '78 we got a handy tall man named Merrett,a guy called Hawker and we made a deal with Sth Melbourne to get a player from country NSW called Terry. Giving South one of our champs for him paid off for us in the end..seeing TD ended up captain and being one of the stars of the Essendon '80s line-up.

In '79 we got Terry's brother Neale,who didn't play in the GFs but he ended up a champion even though injury struck him down in his prime. 1979 also saw Darren 'Daisy' Williams,Frank Dunell and Crackers Keenan:D

1980 saw us get Steve Carey,Phil Carman (didn't that work out well:rolleyes:) and Justin Madden,the later two soon departed.

'81 brought Kevin Walsh to our backline and Kevin Sheedy to the coaches box. A little bloke from W.A called Buhagiar started playing and help us get to where we would ultimately end up in a few years time.

1982 was big for recruiting. Bill Duckworth was flown over from Perth and our full back line was almost complete.
A local boy from Airport West and a classy defender from W.A filled the gap when recruited in '83 and we went on to play in our first GF in 17 odd years.

Mark 'Bomber' Thompson went on to become a Premiership captain later on in his career and Paul Weston played vital roles in our flag success.

Paul Salmon came up from the U19s (we used to watch him play in the early games and marvel at his height..freak show!) and after being belted by Hawfawn in the '83 GF we were still confident the next year would be ours.

Bryan Wood was brought over from Richmond and played no games in 1983 but played solid football for us on the wing in '84 playing 14 games including the GF.

To cap it all off in 1984 we got lucky again with local Essendon boys and recruited a tall skinny blonde kid from down the road called Harvey. Playing mostly in the forward line that season he provided 28 handy goals for the Dons and helped us win the Premiership. Elshaug was recruited that year as well and some bloke called Baker....

G.Foulds came to Bomberland in 1974 and I always remember him say how great it was to finally win a flag after 10 long years. Most of them played in the 70s when losing was common.

In 1985 we didn't recruit anyone of note. The team was settled and we went about our business destroying any side that got in our way of back to back flags. Nothing could stop us that year....ahhh the memories:)

un_eggs
7 Dec 2008, 19:59
Wanganeen Fletch Thompson
Wellman T. Daniher Harvey
Long Baker Neagle
Mercuri Merrett Lucas
Bewick Lloyd Salmon
Madden Watson Hird
Misiti Van Der Haar O'Donnell JJ

Emerg: Hawker Williams Foulds

frosty1
7 Dec 2008, 20:03

Neagle >>>>>>> Wood

I had 34 on my jumper back in the day. I was trying to keep my obvious biases out of it. I probably went too far! OK. Neagle on the wing!

(Still, I reckon 85 was a better team than either 2000 or the Lions in 'the best team of all time' stakes. But I was younger, and everything looks better with age! At that stage I still believed they were superhuman!)

FandangoDingo
7 Dec 2008, 20:49
Great post Nobby! Great memories indeed. I remember going along to VFL Park and watching us get eliminated in the elimination final (by Fitzroy!!) every year. I had my face painted and hair dyed at the 1983 GF.... Shit train ride home, but made 1984 sweet!!!

PS. On Merv Neagle... came 2nd in the 1980 brownlow (Watson came 5th) and 5th in 1981. Was one of my faves and I was quietly devastated when he went to Sydney. Class act.

Great thread. Thanks for the trip down memory lane! :thumbsu: :D

foj1
7 Dec 2008, 21:05
Its funny to think back now how that '84-'85 group came together and how they made such an impact on the League.
In the late 70s it didn't seem like we were going anywhere at all. The glory days of Coleman,Fraser,Hutchy and Co were becoming distant memories for our fathers.
We had a young kid from the Wimmera called Timmy and a local school teacher called Simon,but not many players were lighting up Windy Hill with star studded performances.

But in 1977,the club started to bring some talent to the field and a super side started to form. That year we 'drafted' Watson,Van Der Haar,Nobby Clarke,Merv Neagle and a tough little bugger named Shane Heard.

In '78 we got a handy tall man named Merrett,a guy called Hawker and we made a deal with Sth Melbourne to get a player from country NSW called Terry. Giving South one of our champs for him paid off for us in the end..seeing TD ended up captain and being one of the stars of the Essendon '80s line-up.

In '79 we got Terry's brother Neale,who didn't play in the GFs but he ended up a champion even though injury struck him down in his prime. 1979 also saw Darren 'Daisy' Williams,Frank Dunell and Crackers Keenan:D

1980 saw us get Steve Carey,Phil Carman (didn't that work out well:rolleyes:) and Justin Madden,the later two soon departed.

'81 brought Kevin Walsh to our backline and Kevin Sheedy to the coaches box. A little bloke from W.A called Buhagiar started playing and help us get to where we would ultimately end up in a few years time.

1982 was big for recruiting. Bill Duckworth was flown over from Perth and our full back line was almost complete.
A local boy from Airport West and a classy defender from W.A filled the gap when recruited in '83 and we went on to play in our first GF in 17 odd years.

Mark 'Bomber' Thompson went on to become a Premiership captain later on in his career and Paul Weston played vital roles in our flag success.

Paul Salmon came up from the U19s (we used to watch him play in the early games and marvel at his height..freak show!) and after being belted by Hawfawn in the '83 GF we were still confident the next year would be ours.

Bryan Wood was brought over from Richmond and played no games in 1983 but played solid football for us on the wing in '84 playing 14 games including the GF.

To cap it all off in 1984 we got lucky again with local Essendon boys and recruited a tall skinny blonde kid from down the road called Harvey. Playing mostly in the forward line that season he provided 28 handy goals for the Dons and helped us win the Premiership. Elshaug was recruited that year as well and some bloke called Baker....

G.Foulds came to Bomberland in 1974 and I always remember him say how great it was to finally win a flag after 10 long years. Most of them played in the 70s when losing was common.

In 1985 we didn't recruit anyone of note. The team was settled and we went about our business destroying any side that got in our way of back to back flags. Nothing could stop us that year....ahhh the memories:)

Paul Weston came from the Glenelg footy club in South Australia. A very good footballer. Would have been a bigger name at our footy club if he came earlier and stayed longer- we tried to get him across for years.

Shane Hird
8 Dec 2008, 16:38
Paul Weston came from the Glenelg footy club in South Australia. A very good footballer. Would have been a bigger name at our footy club if he came earlier and stayed longer- we tried to get him across for years.

Yes of course you're right..that will teach me to post stuff from memory:p

My little book says he cost $200k to be cleared from Glenelg and he was a player who came to Essendon as a 26 year old with 10 years experience and had captain the state twice. He was a member of 5 losing GF sides in S.A and must have thought it was all going to happen again after the 1983 smashing from HFC...made up for it the next two years though:thumbsu:

BomberAce7
8 Dec 2008, 16:53
B - Wanganeen Fletcher Hardwick.
HB - Harvey T Daniher Wellman.
C - Long Baker Hills.
HF - Hird Lucas Mercuri.
F - Ezard Lloyd Merritt.

Ruck - Madden Watson Bewick.
Interchange - Barnes Solomon M Thompson Neagle.
Emergencies - J.Johnson Caracella D.Williams.

windyhill
8 Dec 2008, 18:52
Too hard, almost impossible to answer, just very fortunate to have been at all four games.

B. Thompson Fletcher Wanganeen
H.B Harvey T.Daniher Hardwick
C. Long Baker Neagle
H.F Hird Vanderhaar Mercuri
F. Bewick Lloyd Salmon

R. Madden Watson J.Johnson
I/C Merrett Wellman Lucas Ezard
Emerg Misiti Hawker Denham

This team reminds why I never flinch when the membership renewal comes through.

Shane Hird
8 Dec 2008, 22:48
C - Long Baker Hills.
HF - Hird Lucas Mercuri.
F - Ezard Lloyd Merritt.

Emergencies - J.Johnson Caracella D.Williams.

Hills was never one of our best wingers.

Why is he highlighted btw?

Gunnar Longshanks
9 Dec 2008, 02:10
C - Long Baker Hills
HF - Hird Lucas Mercuri.
F - Ezard Lloyd Merritt.

Emergencies - J.Johnson Caracella D.Williams.Ezard, Solomon and Caracella over Salmon?

Were you born in 1990 or later?

Daytripper
9 Dec 2008, 10:30
I
I always put Baker in. Alot of people have disagreed on this one in the past. But he was such a dynamic player I can't help but always slotting him in as one of our best Premiership players. Maybe we might win another flag in 3 or 4 years time and players like jetta,Reimers,Davey,Houli,Stanton,Watson or Monfries might take his place...

Nobody could ever replace Leon and he should be the first picked in any of these types of compilation teams.

One of the finest players I have ever seen in an Essendon jumper.

Smyth94
9 Dec 2008, 10:32
Nobody could ever replace Leon and he should be the first picked in any of these types of compilation teams.

One of the finest players I have ever seen in an Essendon jumper.

You share the same sentiments as my father...he always told me when watching the 84/85 GF's on video/dvd that Baker would always, always rise to the occasion in September

Giggidy Giggidy
9 Dec 2008, 11:47
Very, very difficult, and too many apologies to mention (as you would expect when trying to fit 55 premiership heroes into 22):

B: Gavin Wanganeen - Billy Duckworth - Dustin Fletcher
HB: Mark Harvey - Sean Wellman - Mark Thompson (DVC)
C: Michael Long (DVC) - James Hird (C) - Merv Neagle
HF: Paul Van Der Haar - Scott Lucas - Terry Daniher (VC)
F: Darren Bewick - Matthew Lloyd - Mark Mercuri
FOLL: Simon Madden - Tim Watson - Leon Baker

I/C: Paul Salmon - Roger Merrett - Darren Williams - Damien Hardwick

EMER: Gary Foulds - Shane Heard - Gary O'Donnell

Most controversial selection would probably be Duckworth, but IMO he has to be in there. We wouldn't have the 4 flags without him, whereas if we never had some of the stars of the '85 & 2000 (& to a lesser degree '93) teams, we still would have won anyway.

Hard to structure that half forward line, didn't want to put TD down back, but gives pretty good flexibility to the side, and we all know that Sheeds loved that!:D

pazza
9 Dec 2008, 13:04
Ask an easier question next time Nobby!

B: Wanganeen, Fletcher, Duckworth
HB: Thompson, Wellman, Wallis
C: Long, Baker, Neagle
HF: T. Daniher (c), Merrett, Harvey
F: Salmon, Lloyd, Van Der Haar
R: Madden, Watson, Bewick
Int: O' Donnell, Hardwick, Heard, Hird
Emerg: Hawker, Ezard, Williams

Ludwig van Bertstare
9 Dec 2008, 13:16
Hird on the interchange, pazza?!?!

pazza
9 Dec 2008, 13:21
Pretty hard to squeeze everyone you want into the side.

Had to have Wally down back. Him and Billy protecting the other 4 would be fun to watch.

People forget how good Harvey was up forward. We all know how good he became down back, but, he was prbably one of the best forwards we had in the 80's.

Imagine having to defend that FF line. Goals and high marks a plenty. And with big Roger protecting all of them as well.

My theory with Hird is that he would come and give Watson or Baker a break in the middle.

swoodley
9 Dec 2008, 15:51
I've just read this thread from start to finish and I am completely and utterly flabbergasted that any of you could possibly consider naming a team without James Hird.

The guy was rated third in our all time list of champions behind only the great Dick Reynolds and John Coleman and yet some of you can't find room for him in a team made up of players four premiership teams over a 17 year period.

Hird was third best of all time including all 16 premierships.

Not one player mentioned in any of those teams deserves to be picked before him.

He would be captain and first picked ffs.

My team:

B: Wanganeen Fletcher Duckworth
HB: Thompson T Daniher Wellman
C: Long Baker Neagle
HF: Lucas Merrett Harvey
F: Williams Lloyd Mercuri
R: Madden Hird Watson
I/C: Salmon Van Der Haar O'Donnell Bewick

BomberAce7
9 Dec 2008, 17:43
Hills was never one of our best wingers.

Why is he highlighted btw?

Paul Hills was an absolute Gun! The best wingman in the history of the game. Forget Greig, Schimmelbusch, Matera, they have nothing on Paul Hills.

Shane Hird
9 Dec 2008, 20:47
Paul Hills was an absolute Gun! The best wingman in the history of the game. Forget Greig, Schimmelbusch, Matera, they have nothing on Paul Hills.

I can hear your sarcastic tone from 3000kms away......

Shane Hird
9 Dec 2008, 21:47
Very, very difficult, and too many apologies to mention (as you would expect when trying to fit 55 premiership heroes into 22):

The side that Giggi picked here is pretty much on the money I reckon.

Johnno and Solly were sensational players in 2000 and combined beautifully with Wellman,Hardwick,JJ and Rama in forming that hard running,hard tackling half backline. But as good as they were,Solly and Johnno can't find a spot in the this Bomber 'superteam'.

Hardwick stood slightly above Solly and MJ and I can't rate his skills highlyb enough. Its an easy pick to slot him in a position.

Bomber and Wanganeen take backpockets,they were outstanding champions and can't be ommited.

Fletcher and Wellman have to be in. Fletcher stands alone as probably the best backman in the history of the club and Wellman comes close to being in 2nd place. Wellman gave us great service over a long period of time and his aggressive at the ball ,in every game he played, and his skill at making and spoiling and setting up out MFs with supreme footpassing was truly first class.

Harvey? Gotta have him in. I could write pages of glowing tributes about Harvs.

Foulds or Duckworth? Foulds was unbelievable. He hardly played a bad game. I had his No 10 on my back when I was 10 years old (way back in 1980). He was extremely valuable to our side and I always remember the respect the 'adults' at essendon games would give to this great Bomber stawart. By '83,'84,'85-he was by then a very experienced league player and no doubt gave handy advice to Bomber,Nobby,Heard and others and helped them on their way to being elite players.

Duckworth was tough and he was a fantastic defender. He was our blue collar hero down back and we looked to Billy when things started to get out of control.(ie: when playing Hawthorn)

Duckworth wasn't afraid of anyone and would keep a cool head and do his job week after week. Norm Smith medalist in GF side that was choc-full of stars.

Long,Hird,Neagle in the centre? Hird is in,Long too.

Its either Merv,JJ,G O'D,Misiti,Daisy or Vanders( who was more of a half forward but played often up the wing) ....its hard to pick.

T.D-Roger-Lucas at half forward. Can't dispute that selection.

Boris Lloyd Mercs......has to be.

Madden,Watson,Baker.....set in stone those positions.

26 goals in '84,including 3 in the 2nd semi,6 in the Pre-lim and 4 glorious goals in the Grand Final for Leon...not bad hey?

Baker followed that up with 27 goals in the 1985 season-including 2 in the GF.

It sort of does do you're head in this one hey?

Not even gunna try to think of a bench......:o:D

Giggidy Giggidy
10 Dec 2008, 06:52
The side that Giggi picked here is pretty much on the money I reckon.

Thanks Nobby :thumbsu:

greatwhiteshark
10 Dec 2008, 14:51
Actually played footy with Leon Baker at South Bunbury and it was no suprise to anyone how well he did at the bombers. The ultimate big game player.

I remember seeing Sheedy talk one night and he said forget Hird, Madden, Watson etc tec.
The red carpet comes out when Baker comes to the club.
Not sure if he was tongue in cheek but thats a big compliment.

You guys know better than I do and it would be interesting to hear some more detailed thoughts on the great leon Baker.

Ludwig van Bertstare
10 Dec 2008, 15:09
Actually played footy with Leon Baker at South Bunbury and it was no suprise to anyone how well he did at the bombers. The ultimate big game player.

I remember seeing Sheedy talk one night and he said forget Hird, Madden, Watson etc tec.
The red carpet comes out when Baker comes to the club.
Not sure if he was tongue in cheek but thats a big compliment.

You guys know better than I do and it would be interesting to hear some more detailed thoughts on the great leon Baker.

Sheedy was probably Baker's number one fan.

table tennis
11 Dec 2008, 07:24

Most controversial selection would probably be Duckworth, but IMO he has to be in there. We wouldn't have the 4 flags without him, whereas if we never had some of the stars of the '85 & 2000 (& to a lesser degree '93) teams, we still would have won anyway.

Hard to structure that half forward line, didn't want to put TD down back, but gives pretty good flexibility to the side, and we all know that Sheeds loved that!:D

I have only one change to your side. O'Donnell in, Darren Williams out, again just down to personal opinion. fantastic job!

Daytripper
11 Dec 2008, 11:16
Sheedy was probably Baker's number one fan.

I think anyone who ever saw him play would be his number one fan.

Not surprising that Sheedy would say that as most Bomber fans 35+ absoloutly worship the guy.

windyhill
11 Dec 2008, 19:20
I've just read this thread from start to finish and I am completely and utterly flabbergasted that any of you could possibly consider naming a team without James Hird.

The guy was rated third in our all time list of champions behind only the great Dick Reynolds and John Coleman and yet some of you can't find room for him in a team made up of players four premiership teams over a 17 year period.

Hird was third best of all time including all 16 premierships.

Not one player mentioned in any of those teams deserves to be picked before him.

He would be captain and first picked ffs.

My team:

B: Wanganeen Fletcher Duckworth
HB: Thompson T Daniher Wellman
C: Long Baker Neagle
HF: Lucas Merrett Harvey
F: Williams Lloyd Mercuri
R: Madden Hird Watson
I/C: Salmon Van Der Haar O'Donnell Bewick

Not a Hird man, but I agree, how anyone could leave him out is outlandish. T.D is my skipper btw.

Shane Hird
11 Dec 2008, 19:29
Disagree table tenis (cracks me up that user name),I think G.O'D and Daisy have to stay in Giggi's selected side.

After having another look,the only changes I'd make-to an otherwise perfect team- is replace Shane Heard with Misiti.

Shane Hird
11 Dec 2008, 19:36
I think anyone who ever saw him play would be his number one fan.

Not surprising that Sheedy would say that as most Bomber fans 35+ absoloutly worship the guy.

I was worshipping Baker in the last qrt of the '84 GF:D...he was like a faster,more slippery version of Watson! Oh the sublime skills of Leon:thumbsu:

stander
13 Dec 2008, 08:54
I was worshipping Baker in the last qrt of the '84 GF:D...he was like a faster,more slippery version of Watson! Oh the sublime skills of Leon:thumbsu:

Disagree here, Baker was slippery, Watson was explosive and in full flight, could weave through, or break packs at will.

windyhill
14 Dec 2008, 00:28
Baker was brilliant. Watson was another level all together.