View Full Version : Cousins a possibility
Just reported on Channel 7 news that Essendon are a real chance to take him in the PSD at pick 5.
Colin D'Cops
8 Dec 2008, 17:00
Was watching the sport news on Ch.10 before, and didn't see anything of importance regarding our club besides a little story talking about our three Northern Knights recruits.
Could be a different story on Ch.07 though, but they all sort of copy stories off each other so I won't believe it until I see it with my own eyes.
Knighter states we are looking for Maturity with our PSD pick and the media pulls the whip and starts riding it for all it's worth.
Shane Hird
8 Dec 2008, 17:11
If its reported on 7 it must be true..
What number will he wear?
Call Me Cake
8 Dec 2008, 17:14
I managed to get it on video & uploaded it on YouTube...
http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=NYwy3d-J3ks
(Why doesn't the YouTube embed feature work anymore?)
Quicktime ruins everything, so it isn't the best quality around. But the sound is good.
I realize Essendon has already ruled out Ben Cousin's... but, initially it was because of his age. You see, it wasn't even Knights who made the call. I'd say considering maturity is now in his sight... who is to say he hasn't changed his mind?
Plus, almost everyone commenting on the draft throughout the Essendonfc website is begging the EFC to consider the guy...
I know I wouldn't mind him at our club!... but that is of course, my opinion.
Bottom line, Knights has changed his plan on "age"... it leaves room for speculation.
If its reported on 7 it must be true..
What number will he wear?
Not number 9. :D
Ludwig van Bertstare
8 Dec 2008, 17:19
Ok, can we please stop the Cousins threads?
WE WILL NOT PICK HIM UP!
Noddy Holder
I would like to see the Dons give him a chance.
hille2prismal
we need to get him, he's got 3 years of quality left in him and it makes sense after not taking rich.
The Chairman doesn't want him. 'Nuff said.
Ludwig van Bertstare
8 Dec 2008, 17:20
Just reported on Channel 7 news that Essendon are a real chance to take him in the PSD at pick 5.
They're only guessing because Knights said we're after an experienced player and he was likely hinting towards Skipworth.
Noddy Holder
8 Dec 2008, 17:21
WE WILL NOT PICK HIM UP!
Oh ok. You're a mod so it must be true. No need to shout.
WE WILL NOT PICK HIM UP!
Start carding people. It's been said enough times we're not picking him. Should mean people start to get the message....
Ludwig van Bertstare
8 Dec 2008, 17:23
Oh ok. You're a mod so it must be true. No need to shout.
Yeah... :rolleyes:
Or it could be the fact that our Chairman straight out said we will not pick up him.
WE WILL NOT PICK HIM UP!
Sorry.. Missed what your point is there..
But anyway.. Maturity comes in many different forms.. And honestly I don't see why we'd pick him up when we're not a realistic strong chance for a flag in the 3-4 year time frame he'll still be good value..
Call Me Cake
8 Dec 2008, 17:25
Here's a resport from the The Age. -
http://news.theage.com.au/sport/bombers-seek-experience-in-draft-pick-20081208-6tv0.html
Shane Hird
8 Dec 2008, 17:26
Not number 9. :D
No9..
Perfect!
We should make him captain as well.
Here's a resport from the The Age. -
http://news.theage.com.au/sport/bombers-seek-experience-in-draft-pick-20081208-6tv0.html
http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,24667180-5016140,00.html
No9..
Perfect!
We should make him captain as well.
hahaha
Plus we should elevate him to match committee :D
SirJimi05
8 Dec 2008, 17:31
They're only guessing because Knights said we're after an experienced player and he was likely hinting towards Skipworth.
Please don't let that be true!:(:thumbsd:
Lance Uppercut
8 Dec 2008, 17:31
make him president of the social club
Shane Hird
8 Dec 2008, 17:32
hahaha
Plus we should elevate him to match committee :D
Great idea.
Its the sensible thing to do. Let him become the face of Essendon.
...and get 'such as life' added to all our future logos:thumbsu:
Call Me Cake
8 Dec 2008, 17:32
The fact that our Chairman straight out said we will not pick up him.
Why did he say that?...
Because his age would clash with Knight's youth policy. He flat out said "It's because he's too old!"...
What has Knights considered?...
Stepping outside his youth policy... "If the right person is there, I'll consider it."...
As far as I'm concerned, whether or not Cousin's is picked up, this does raise a few questions when it comes to what we all assume is set in stone...
I can understand why you're frustrated RIG, you never wanted Cousins anyway.
carntheroos4eva
8 Dec 2008, 17:34
Or it could be the fact that our Chairman straight out said we will not pick up him.
RIG,
Why would the chairman be making that call when really it is totally up to the coaching staff to make the call?
Just a question here mate. Not meaning to upset you further
"He is off our radar, not because of his illness, we just wouldn't recruit a 30-year-old," Horsburgh said.
Maybe could replace Ray as Chairman?
Ludwig van Bertstare
8 Dec 2008, 17:36
Why did he say that?...
Because his age would clash with Knight's youth policy. He flat out said "It's because he's too old!"...
What has Knights considered?...
Stepping outside his youth policy... "If the right person is there, I'll consider it."...
As far as I'm concerned, whether or not Cousin's is picked up, this does raise a few questions when it comes to what we all assume is set in stone...
I can understand why you're frustrated RIG, you never wanted Cousins anyway.
Quite the opposite actually. He's one of my favourite players ever and I was really hoping we'd pick him but I know that it's not realistic anymore since the club hasn't shown much interest and the Chairman ruling it out.
I hope like hell we pick him, but I really don't think we will even entertain the option.
make him president of the social club
Should be a pretty good vibe at the functions, which will then be held on a nightly basis :D
Ludwig van Bertstare
8 Dec 2008, 17:38
RIG,
Why would the chairman be making that call when really it is totally up to the coaching staff to make the call?
I have no idea. I'm not upset about it at all, I hope the club will draft him.
Should be a pretty good vibe at the functions, which will then be held on a nightly basis :D
Ahem, get back on-topic young man.
:p
Start carding people. It's been said enough times we're not picking him. Should mean people start to get the message....and while we're at it, card people ruining threads with that 'metal arm' rubbish :p
RIG,
Suzi a matter as serious as drafting Cousins would have been debated at board level as well as in the football department.
I would also guess the board would have the final say in a case such as this.
Call Me Cake
8 Dec 2008, 17:48
http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,24667180-5016140,00.html
"He is off our radar, not because of his illness, we just wouldn't recruit a 30-year-old," Horsburgh said.
"But Matthew Knights wouldn't recruit a 30-year-old whether it be Ben Cousins or Joe Blow or John Coleman reincarnated."
That was on November 18. Horsburgh was commenting on behalf of Knights himself.
What has Knights said today?
He is considering experienced, mature players, anyone who seems to fit in the playing group. His stance has changed, so therefore, who is to say it's wrong to assume the view on Cousins' age has changed too?...
AFIAK, today's report contradicts the one from a month ago. Just my opinion.
"But Matthew Knights wouldn't recruit a 30-year-old whether it be Ben Cousins or Joe Blow or John Coleman reincarnated."
That was on November 18. Horsburgh was commenting on behalf of Knights himself.
What has Knights said today?
He is considering experienced, mature players. His stance has changed, so therefore, who is to say it isn't wrong to assume the initial opinion on recruiting Cousins has changed too?...
AFIAK, today's report contradicts the one from a month ago.
You are confusing 30 year olds and mature players.
A 25 year old is also a mature player. Skipworth is both mature and experienced.
IMO, the whole age thing is just a politically correct way of saying we don't want him anywhere near our club
Agreed. People need to consider that the age excuse is just a polite way to say we are not interested. We could come out and say that we consider him too risky but that wouldn't be the best move for the club and would hurt Cousins' effort to play again.
St. Kilda used the same excuse, the only difference is we do have a policy mainly geared towards youth, so unlike them we don't look so transparent when we use that line.
and while we're at it, card people ruining threads with that 'metal arm' rubbish :p
Sssshhh, you're not supposed to say those words on the main board. Not as if we're ruining any threads in The Hanger anyway....
Call Me Cake
8 Dec 2008, 18:09
A 25 year old is also a mature player. Skipworth is both mature and experienced.
Fair enough... I respect your opinion.
However, I still disagree.
Doesn't it seem possible that Knights may be saying all of this, as a way of picking Cousins up without looking like he's contradicting himself too much?
He may have hinted at "experience" over "age" as a way of reeling Cousins in without his initial view coming to bite him on the arse.
I Just think it's an awkward turn-around, is all.
cousins will not be drafted by us.
stay true
8 Dec 2008, 18:37
I'll be extremely surprised if we pick up Cousins.
I'll also eat my hat.
carntheroos4eva
8 Dec 2008, 18:42
I have no idea. I'm not upset about it at all, I hope the club will draft him.
I wouldn't mind if the bombers picked him up. But I wouldn't know if Knights would be able to handle him because don't forget Ben Cousins is still to recover from his illness.
carntheroos4eva
8 Dec 2008, 18:44
Merv,
That would be the article doing all of that mate. As what call me cake says it was a contradiction from the first article because the 2nd one said the exact opposite.
dons_fan185
8 Dec 2008, 18:51
all this media attention and the possiblities and rumours that are churned out more or less daily leading up to the PSD cannot be good for his 'health'. If he doesn't get picked up next week (which i think by all respectable accounts is likely) then I'd be seriously worried about a major relapse and that anyday between now and the New Year someone will find him dead from an overdose.
He's a very troubled guy and his only outlet looks like its going to shun him. building his hopes up like this isn't going to make his life after AFL better.
Is that the guy that said "We did not discuss Kevin Sheedy tonight" ;)
Lance Uppercut
8 Dec 2008, 19:03
He's a very troubled guy
:D cocaine is a hell of a drug
bomber39
8 Dec 2008, 19:18
The reasons FOR picking him up FAR outweigh reasons not too!
Understandable we dont instil a bad culture as ess, but trust me, over the past few years we have had a few on our list just as bad as Benny!
They just werent good players luckily or it could have been exposed!
Not saying that i know this for sure, just speculating so could be completely wrong.
Skeeta Olly
8 Dec 2008, 19:25
The reasons FOR picking him up FAR outweigh reasons not too!
Understandable we dont instil a bad culture as ess, but trust me, over the past few years we have had a few on our list just as bad as Benny!
They just werent good players luckily or it could have been exposed!
Not saying that i know this for sure, just speculating so could be completely wrong.
I find it much the opposite. Ben Cousins is an epic risk. The reputation of the club would be on the line, not to mention, the effect it will have on the club from many other views.
Mr Mosquito
8 Dec 2008, 19:34
It seems odd to me, that we have relaxed the youth policy and would consider a player like Skipworth who would offer less to use in 5 years that cousins will in 3 years. To me if u relax the policy then you are looking at the best player available with what you have to choose from, and to me.....thats Ben Cousins.
Cousins is an acceptable risk....either we choose Skipworth who plays no senior footy or we choose cuz who will play plenty. He will not be allowed to relapse, the club will have the strictest of boundaries on him. If he does relapse he will test positive no more than a week later and be gone from AFL for good, which he obviously doesnt want
bombersno1
8 Dec 2008, 19:53
He is not an acceptable risk. I will ask you this:
Can you 100% GUARANTEE he will not re-offend?
If your answer is NO or PROBABLY NOT, then the risk is too high. Cousins is bad news for EFC, and it is probably good we won't draft him
Jonesy1987
8 Dec 2008, 19:57
Do we have pick 3 in the psd? Thought freo and port filled their lists??
bombersno1
8 Dec 2008, 20:01
Port have not (likely to pick up Josh Carr). West Coast have finished their list assuming there is no further delistments
stay true
8 Dec 2008, 20:01
Yeah pick 3.
1.Melb 2.Port - Josh Carr 3.Essendon 4.Carlton - Chris Johnson 5.Brisbane 6.Richmond
Do we have pick 3 in the psd? Thought freo and port filled their lists??
Port are taking Carr, so effectively we are pick 2
Ya Can't See Me!
8 Dec 2008, 20:05
And you do realise when it come timeto read the name of our pick out he wont be in the building cause he has nothing to do with our recruitin, therefore him saying we wil not take him means absolutely less than nothing
How about that the board have most likely discussed it several times and most likely would have vetoed it if the football dept had of wanted him?
bombersno1
8 Dec 2008, 20:13
If you don't think the coach has a HUGE say in recruitment think again. Knights and the board would have been consulted about Cousins, probably more than once and they have made a final decision. I don't particularly want Skipworth (Klemke would be my pick) but he is better than a drug addict.
bombersno1
8 Dec 2008, 20:14
Port are taking Carr, so effectively we are pick 2
Honestly people are bagging us for thinking about Skipworth but Carr is just as bad.
Call Me Cake
8 Dec 2008, 20:22
I'd put Cousins on a performance based contract.
In a competition that is so even from 3rd to 14th place, adding a player of that caliber would be the difference between finishing out of the finals or a top four chance. Aged around the 30 mark and at his fitness level, it is not unrealistic to hope for five years out of him. This would allow ample time to build a side around him and lead the Bombers to their next premiership.
He would definitely compliment our mid-field. Can you see a fit Cousins, Lovett, Davey, Jetta, plus Reimers & Monfries? What an effect that would be. Looks quite delicious.
But of course... this is assuming everything goes to plan & I digress, this is just my wishful thinking. Until Knights comes out & actually comments on Ben himself (if ever) - the guessing games should just, end already. ;)
If you recruit him knowing what a risk he is, and that two clubs with a poor history of bad-boys have looked him over and rejected him, and then he stuffs up, then you have nowhere to go....you can't plead innocent. Totally unacceptable risk!
SirJimi05
8 Dec 2008, 20:39
Honestly people are bagging us for thinking about Skipworth but Carr is just as bad.
Two wrongs dont make a right.
I will cry if we pickup Skipworth!
If you recruit him knowing what a risk he is, and that two clubs with a poor history of bad-boys have looked him over and rejected him, and then he stuffs up, then you have nowhere to go....you can't plead innocent. Totally unacceptable risk!
Totally agree. He needs to have a hair drug test before anyone thinks of picking him up, good luck with that, he will stay hairless until he realises his footy career is over.
Call Me Cake
8 Dec 2008, 20:52
http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=EVoouUBu2JE&feature=related
Truly magnificent. :thumbsu:
Hayden Skipworth would be a totally unnecessary recruitment, and something I would expect from Sheeds, not Knighter.
I'm not really sure where else we're going to get 'maturity' from.
I'd rather Cousins than Skipworth.
Strike Swiftly
8 Dec 2008, 21:21
i'd take cousins. i think he is an acceptable risk. He will be well managed at essendon, and I think the greater community will get behind essendon giving him a fair go. if he mucks up, he will look the goose, not essendon. He has paid the price for his sins and I think we must all move past this media circus. I cannot believe how backward the afl has been with this situation. players in mainstream/international sports return to the top after commiting worse sins, why cant he.
The_Young_Gun
8 Dec 2008, 21:27
Ray Horsburgh hasn't blurted anything out yet... So this rumour musn't be true.
Either that or Ray's gone missing.:(
Ray Horsburgh hasn't blurted anything out yet... So this rumour musn't be true.
Either that or he's gone missing.
I think he is worried that his fat arse, is going to be thrown out after the elections. :D
jaydenrussell
8 Dec 2008, 21:44
oh please make it happen, Ben Cousins is an absolute gun and could add alot to our team, if Knights is a serious coach he will take cousins (being the best availabe player) rather than drafting Skipworth for being a nice bloke. If it were to go pear shaped, i think Cousins would be the one copping it in the media not so much Essendon, come ON kNIGHTS PLEASE MAKE THIS HAPPEN :thumbsu:
Rubbish, all the media would be saying we were the only idiots, who ignored the warning signs & drafted him. They'd be saying it's just like the Sheedy years, drafting old risky players, in hope of making finals & they would be right.
jaydenrussell
8 Dec 2008, 21:56
Rubbish, all the media would be saying we were the only idiots, who ignored the warning signs & drafted him. They'd be saying it's just like the Sheedy years, drafting old risky players, in hope of making finals & they would be right.
Well maybe so, but i think its worth the risk, he is going to be tested 3 times a week and afl is his life and he needs it, i dont think he would be stupid enought to fck this oppurtunity up. he could potentially add so much to our club, a brownlow medalist for free or skipworth? his experience is invaluable
Did you miss the part, where he has made sure ALL his body hair is too short to drug test?
Plus the fact he will be 31 next year, plus in his last season he tore his hammy & he hasn't played for nearly two years, think about it a bit. Forget the hero worship, he isn't worth it & look at the facts.
We didn't think he'd be stupid enough to do everything he has done but it kept happening! It'd be nice to see a club pick him up but everyone has firmly said no, including Essendon. He is a huge risk and I believe his AFL days are over. Sad but true!
PS. Sorry to intrude on your board!
Strike Swiftly
8 Dec 2008, 22:15
Did you miss the part, where he has made sure ALL his body hair is too short to drug test?
Plus the fact he will be 31 next year, plus in his last season he tore his hammy & he hasn't played for nearly two years, think about it a bit. Forget the hero worship, he isn't worth it & look at the facts.
Im pretty confident his hammy would have recovered with a two year break. if llloydy can come back from tearing his hammy from the bone, im sure ben can recover from a minor tear. and yes he hasnt played for two years, but its not like he is carrying weight like stewie dew. he is in top notch shape
The_Young_Gun
8 Dec 2008, 22:15
I'd only pick up Cousins if he were to be paid a rookies salary. a.k.a. almost nothin!
I think it'd be best if he got a huge pay cut anyway... Then he wont have enough money to buy drugs anymore. :D
Strike Swiftly
8 Dec 2008, 22:16
last time i checked plenty of dole bludgers afford drugs? dont think that is the issue. i reckon essendon have a sufficient support network to look after cousins.
The body hair part is a red herring !
Cousins has to have a hair test if drafted by an AFL footballer.
Measure the hair on your body and see if it is 1cm long.
Not everyone has 1cm hair length.
The_Young_Gun
8 Dec 2008, 22:33
last time i checked plenty of dole bludgers afford drugs? dont think that is the issue. i reckon essendon have a sufficient support network to look after cousins.
I'm talkin bout the REAL good shit!:cool:...:D
He is over 30, with a crook hamstring and hasn't played a decent amount of football for the best part of 2 years.
No thanks.
Shane Hird
8 Dec 2008, 22:40
10 minutes after this highly rivoting thread started,my son yelled out to me and said a Bomber story was coming up on the sport segment on Ch10..Perth's 10 version.
We both stayed glued to the tube and waited for the footy story that might include a word about Cuz. Golf,EPL,car racing and other important sports rolled by untill suddenly..!!An Essendon story!!!...in December!!!....on Perth TV!!!
But there was no Cuz. Only a great piece on our young recruits and how their enjoying their time so far at Bomberland.
I breathed a sigh of relief..:)
Was that Jetta with blonde surfy like hair my son asked.....???
Strike Swiftly
8 Dec 2008, 22:49
He is over 30, with a crook hamstring and hasn't played a decent amount of football for the best part of 2 years.
No thanks.
it happened two years ago. fair bit of time for it to recover. :rolleyes:
He did two hamstrings in 2007 and apparently (according to Collingwood) strained one this year training with Perth.
Maybe if he wasn't 30, and didn't have baggage which would fill a carousel at Tullamarine, then your argument would have more weight.
Call Me Cake
9 Dec 2008, 00:03
He did two hamstrings in 2007 and apparently (according to Collingwood) strained one this year training with Perth.
Maybe if he wasn't 30, and didn't have baggage which would fill a carousel at Tullamarine, then your argument would have more weight.
Not to add any fuel, but as far as I know, he had one minor hamstring injury in 2007.
And I haven't heard of this 'Collingwood report' claiming an injury, can you please put up some sort of validation to that?... it sounds like phooey to me.
There are plenty of quality players who have their fare share of injuries throughout a 2 year period. Why is it that you ignore Lloyd's encounters, yet you treat Cousins as some superhuman who's past his due date? - they are both about the same age, I'm sure.
Stop splitting hairs. :rolleyes:
Strike has just as much weight to his argument as you do. Both of which are heresay.
Not to add any fuel, but as far as I know, he had one minor hamstring injury in 2007.
And I haven't heard of this 'Collingwood report' claiming an injury, can you please put up some sort of validation to that?... it sounds like phooey to me.
The "Collingwood report" was reported here - http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,24666523-5012432,00.html
And Ben Cousins did have two hamstring injuries in 2007, he missed a couple of weeks in June right before he was due to make his return, and the one against Collingwood in the finals.
It's much of a muchness really, because his hamstring isn't the be all and end all.
There are plenty of quality players who have their fare share of injuries throughout a 2 year period. Why is it that you ignore Lloyd's encounters, yet you treat Cousins as some superhuman who's past his due date? - they are both about the same age, I'm sure.
Lloyd has not kept company with every shady character in Western Australia, and Lloyd has not had issues with substance abuse.
Strike has just as much weight to his argument as you do. Both of which are heresay.
That's something we can all agree on.
It's a shame, because the best thing for Cousins, I believe, is to get back into the AFL system. But realistically, it would have to be with a club that needs that extra little bit in the midfield to get them into Top 4 territory. And that won't be Essendon, for a while yet anyway.
stay true
9 Dec 2008, 00:47
It's a shame, because the best thing for Cousins, I believe, is to get back into the AFL system. But realistically, it would have to be with a club that needs that extra little bit in the midfield to get them into Top 4 territory. And that won't be Essendon, for a while yet anyway.
Yeah I feel the same about this. My stance on Essendon picking him up has changed a bit in the past few weeks. At first I was dead set certain on us not picking him up, but a player of his class doesn't come along for this price very often at all. For Cousins personally, he'll benefit from the strict conditions imposed on him.
So really I'm on the fence now. Even though he's 30, he's missed the better part of 2 years of footy and he's one of the most elite athletes in footy. He would have around 3 years left in him. He would also add more to the list than Skipworth.
I dunno. Whatever the recruiters decide to do at the PSD will be best for the club.:rolleyes:
Lol at the people who think Cuz is a real chance to come to the Bombers :o
Two clubs (St. Kilda and Collingwood) who would draft Pol Pot, Hitler, and Stalin if it meant they could win a flag just said "no thanks" to the bloke, and a club such as Essendon with Lloyd and Knighter at the helm is going to be welcoming Cuz with open arms? Honestly, think about it logically...
Call Me Cake
9 Dec 2008, 03:32
Lol at the people who think Cuz is a real chance to come to the Bombers :o
Two clubs (St. Kilda and Collingwood) who would draft Pol Pot, Hitler, and Stalin if it meant they could win a flag just said "no thanks" to the bloke, and a club such as Essendon with Lloyd and Knighter at the helm is going to be welcoming Cuz with open arms? Honestly, think about it logically...
Lol at you comparing Cousins to Hitler.
table tennis
9 Dec 2008, 07:28
General Consensus is that Ben Cousins is not clean yet. Hence the shaved head and body hair.
I think the Ben Cousins is far from ready or in a state to play football. Hence the reason no one wants to touch him.
There have been plenty of 30 year old stars that have had clubs jumping all over them in the past. Why is this different if Ben Cousins is clean and Healthy? the answer is he is not......
I dont think that Ben Cousins or his idiodic manager have done themselves any favours either.
When Ben Talks, he is always smug and very vague. When Ricky Nixon speaks, its with an arrogance that makes you clench your fist and want to smack him. Ben Cousins is just a marketing tool for Nixon imo.
Player managers should be behind the scenes. Ricky has a habit of making himself the story and pumping up his own tyres, i suspect for a recruiting drive on all younger upcoming sports players, especially high profile ones.
Ben Cousins will not be at the bombers next season, nor will he be at any other elite football club. he may have to wait another year, or suit himself and do something else. I gauarantee you, that if clean, and still fit, football clubs nearing a premiership window would be keen to sign Ben Cousins, especially if he is coming at a low price tag.
I would love a fit and healthy Ben Cousins at the Bombers, but I dont think that Ben is meeting that criteria at the moment.....
Wahooti Fandango
9 Dec 2008, 08:37
and while we're at it, card people ruining threads with that 'metal arm' rubbish :p
:eek:
Wahooti Fandango
9 Dec 2008, 08:38
:D cocaine is a hell of a drug
I'm Rick James, bitch! :D
I would love a fit and healthy Ben Cousins at the Bombers, but I dont think that Ben is meeting that criteria at the moment.....
that i think we can all agree on
so skipworth it is then
loopy_cam
9 Dec 2008, 09:00
Was that Jetta with blonde surfy like hair my son asked.....???
I believe so.
http://i435.photobucket.com/albums/qq71/nick_rudich/n506167915_1217903_7312.jpg
Curtesy of nick rudich from BB.
Skipworth has probably played his cards right in signing with a SANFL club!
If taken in the PSD it will only be as a top up in case of injury's such as last year, but what he offers is great mentoring skills to the young guys coming into the system who highly respect him.
Might very well be worth a couple of years on a list to help develop our future 10 year players into quality men.
It's really just a ploy to keep him at Bendigo!
Sucked in Hayden! :p
:D
Orenf318
9 Dec 2008, 09:21
WE WILL NOT PICK HIM UP!
People have opinions which is what this forum is about, so cracking the shits is pointless.
The Chiarman (fat piece of crap) said we're not picking up Cousins.... Matthew Knights said we were only drafting kids... but alas! THINGS CHANGE!
Ben Cousins is a matchwinner... Skipworth isn't. Essendon has a track record of recruiting mature aged players who are useless (with exception to Barnard, Denham, McPhee and a few others).. and some of them never even played a single game!!!
Whoever drafts Cousins is taking gamble and there is no reason why it cant be Essendon. At Essendon there is a strong culture, history and people that can help Ben Cousins get through his issues.
You are all forgetting the simple point - WINNING GAMES!
Unless you've been living in Botswana with no Internet for the past 10 years you'd know that Ben Cousins is a champion footballer and can help OUR team in 2009 and beyond!
Stop being so frekin negative.
People have opinions which is what this forum is about, so cracking the shits is pointless.
The Chiarman (fat piece of crap) said we're not picking up Cousins.... Matthew Knights said we were only drafting kids... but alas! THINGS CHANGE!
Ben Cousins is a matchwinner... Skipworth isn't. Essendon has a track record of recruiting mature aged players who are useless (with exception to Barnard, Denham, McPhee and a few others).. and some of them never even played a single game!!!
Whoever drafts Cousins is taking gamble and there is no reason why it cant be Essendon. At Essendon there is a strong culture, history and people that can help Ben Cousins get through his issues.
You are all forgetting the simple point - WINNING GAMES!
Unless you've been living in Botswana with no Internet for the past 10 years you'd know that Ben Cousins is a champion footballer and can help OUR team in 2009 and beyond!
Stop being so frekin negative.
You have a reading problem do you ?
RIG has already admitted that Cousins is a star and was one of his favourite players.
:)
bombersno1
9 Dec 2008, 09:30
Yet there are ridiculous risks. He WAS a matchwinner..2 years ago. Long time in footy, he is 30 with hamstring issues..plus is a addict. I wish him the best in his recovery, but he has a while to go. Maybe a club may offer him a chance in the 2009 draft when he actually is 100% healthy. Our club is not in a position to punt on a drug user.
Orenf318
9 Dec 2008, 09:43
You have a reading problem do you ?
RIG has already admitted that Cousins is a star and was one of his favourite players.
:)
I'm talking about everyone. not only him.
Pevers-Legend
9 Dec 2008, 09:45
Although I want Cousins as he is a gun and love watching him play - we don't have the best record of sorting people out.
enter Zantuck, Cupido, Murphy, Hislop, Lovett.....
We have struggled like all clubs to curb wayward players what makes you think we can do it with a senior player like cousins.
The only way he woudl come to us is under the one strike (as menial as missing training) and you can sod off policy.
We'll probably end up taking one of the kids not picked up already.
But it is nice to dream......
Orenf318
9 Dec 2008, 09:51
The only way he woudl come to us is under the one strike (as menial as missing training) and you can sod off policy.
But it is nice to dream......
i dont mind the one strike policy. After everything the guy has been through - he knows not to stuff up. EVERYONE will be watching him. not only on the field but off field as well.
bombersno1
9 Dec 2008, 10:29
If he uses that "strike" then we are down 1 player for the rest of 2009, fair dinkum he is not over his drug use otherwise clubs would be dead set lining up to sign the bloke.
Just ignore it as we won't be taking him as we have stated.
It's an argument for no reason.
centurion
9 Dec 2008, 10:37
Just ignore it as we won't be taking him as we have stated.
It's an argument for no reason.
Just say it once more Merv, just in case no one understands it. :rolleyes: