Ben the Gooner
10 Dec 2008, 20:24
The rules are simple:
One video clip each.
A poll for 3 days to decide the winner.
Winner stays on.
You cannot repeat bands.
If you win 5 in a row, you make the final 4
The final 4 will play off over 7 rounds with a category which I choose, e.g. a certain band, or a certain genre, or another category.
If you lose, you will automatically be re-entered 5 spots later, or at the end of the current list, whichever is later.
If you're interested, put your name down here. This is open to opposition supporters as well.
I'm open to suggestions, e.g. same genre, same era etc.
Finalists:
1. whomb
Ben the Gooner
10 Dec 2008, 20:31
Round 1: GreaT SourcE (Sweet Child o' Mine - Guns N' Roses) d Merv (You Could Have Been Mine - Guns N' Roses)
Round 2: GreaT SourcE (Hotel California - The Eagles) d Ben the Gooner (Long Road Out Of Eden - The Eagles)
Round 3: Skeeta Olly (Dani California - Red Hot Chili Peppers) d GreaT SourcE (Highway to Hell - AC/DC)
Round 4: Skeeta Olly (Creep - Radiohead) d Spikey (There She Goes - The La's)
Round 5: loopy_cam (Where'd You Go - Fort Minor) d Skeeta Olly (Petrified - Fort Minor)
Round 6: Jono B (New Born - Muse) d loopy_cam (Livin' on a Prayer - Bon Jovi)
Round 7: FandangoDingo (Weapon of Choice - Fatboy Slim) d Jono B (Human After All - Daft Punk)
Round 8: FandangoDingo (Ride - The Vines) d Pawtucket Patriot (Debbie - Architecture in Helsinki)
Round 9: whomb (Juicebox - The Strokes) v FandangoDingo (Town Called Malice - The Jam)
Round 10: whomb (Heartbeats - Jose Gonzalez) d GoDons (Cold December - Matt Costa)
Round 11: whomb (Prisoner of Society - The Living End d dons_fan185 (When the River Runs Dry - Hunters & Collectors)
Round 12: whomb (Insane in the Brain - Cypress Hill) d Ryder Is God (It Ain't Hard To Tell - Nas)
Round 13: whomb (Money - Pink Floyd) d Merv (More Than A Feeling - Boston)
Round 14: bomber69 (Heart Shaped Box - Nirvana)d Ben the Gooner (Losing My Religion - REM)
Round 15: Thrust (Give it to me Baby - Rick James) d bomber69 (TV - True Live)
Round 16: AndyLesPaul (The Gnome - Pink Floyd) d Thrust (Earthquake - Electric Sun)
Round 17: AndyLesPaul v GreaT SourcE
The Single:
Round 18: Winner round 17 v XIsDonIsGoodX
Round 19: Winner round 18 v jellis
Round 20: Winner round 19 v Skeeta Olly
Round 21: Winner round 20 v FandangoDingo
Round 22: Winner round 21 v donsfan_185
Round 23: Winner round 22 v Bomberlicious
Round 24: Winner round 23 v Ben the Gooner
Round 25: Winner round 24 v Thrust
The B Side:
Round 18: danzan22 v Spikey
Round 19: Winner round 18 v tristo
Round 20: Winner round 19 v Pawtucket Patriot
Round 21: Winner round 20 v GoDons
Round 22: Winner round 21 v Ryder Is God
Round 23: Winner round 22 v Merv
Round 24: Winner round 23 v bomber69
Round 25: Winner round 24 v ghostdog
Colin D'Cops
10 Dec 2008, 20:32
I've got this competition in the bag. It'd be silly for me not to participate. :thumbsu:;)
Questions.
Who picks first?
Is the judging on the band or the song provided?
Should we have to stick to an era or could it be Rolling Stones vs Celine Dion?
Colin D'Cops
10 Dec 2008, 20:37
Round 1: Merv v GreaT SourcE
Will be a tough match-up, but I'm sure I can cope with the pressure. Easy win coming up here for GS, no doubt about that. :cool:
Ben the Gooner
10 Dec 2008, 20:40
Both will PM their video links to me, and I will put them both into a poll.
Winner is the best clip. e.g. Smythy's Harvester of Sorrow vid in the other thread would beat the studio version of Harvester of Sorrow with the lyrics.
I'd say same genre, but any era. So Black Sabbath against Slayer is fine, and the Beatles against Snow Patrol (:eek::p) is fine, but not Jay-Z against Carlos Santana.
I'll sort the first one in the morning. You and GS should agree on a genre in this thread.
Colin D'Cops
10 Dec 2008, 20:42
So it could be a below par song but the video clip is what matters?
Or is it a combination of both?
Skeeta Olly
10 Dec 2008, 20:42
Questions.
Who picks first?
Is the judging on the band or the song provided?
Should we have to stick to an era or could it be Rolling Stones vs Celine Dion?
well, reading your signature, i'd go with music in the years 2000+ to keep up with the young ones (and muzteks)
Colin D'Cops
10 Dec 2008, 20:44
GS can pick the Genre
I'm not fussed to be honest Merv.
But as you seem to like rock songs I noticed in the other thread and I don't mind them at all, rock would probably suit us down to the ground.
I have very diverse tastes mate and like a lot of different music.
Rock it is GS.
Good luck mate.
Colin D'Cops
10 Dec 2008, 20:47
Good luck mate.
I'd probably prefer if it was based on the music as well, but the video clip can have a small effect on the outcome.
Maybe a scoring system like ;
10 points for the music quality
5 points for the video clip
Skeeta Olly
10 Dec 2008, 20:47
Merv, one think you could win the hard votes with this:p
EwEk62HViIA
Ben the Gooner
10 Dec 2008, 20:53
The music in the clip is the main criterion.
The quality of the picture is irrelevant. However it's not based on the song itself, more on the rendition of the song. So if I put up a horrendous version of Livin on a Prayer, don't vote for it just cos it's your favourite song.
Olly, are you in?
GS, Merv, PM me your rock songs, including YouTube link by tomorrow at 7pm.
The poll will be anonymous, so there's no sucking up to the admin.:p
LOL @ Skeeta :thumbsu:
Does Barry Manilow count as rock :D
Colin D'Cops
10 Dec 2008, 20:56
I'm raring to go. Sent the song & youtube link, should get this easily..;)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oHg5SJYRHA0
Had to be done:cool:
Colin D'Cops
10 Dec 2008, 21:15
The poll will be anonymous, so there's no sucking up to the admin.:p
Good stuff Benny. Brilliant idea/s. :thumbsu:
loopy_cam
10 Dec 2008, 21:54
The tension is killing me.
I will play the winner of the third match.
FandangoDingo
11 Dec 2008, 00:44
Both will PM their video links to me, and I will put them both into a poll.
Winner is the best clip. e.g. Smythy's Harvester of Sorrow vid in the other thread would beat the studio version of Harvester of Sorrow with the lyrics.
I'd say same genre, but any era. So Black Sabbath against Slayer is fine, and the Beatles against Snow Patrol (:eek::p) is fine, but not Jay-Z against Carlos Santana.
I'll sort the first one in the morning. You and GS should agree on a genre in this thread.
I'm up for it.... but you just coughed up a ripper!!! :mad:
Ben the Gooner
11 Dec 2008, 07:00
I'm going to assume if you post in here you're interested. If you're not, let me know.
Also, I've updated the rules.
Wahooti Fandango
11 Dec 2008, 08:08
I'm in if there are any places left.
Skeeta Olly
11 Dec 2008, 08:31
I'll be in.
dons_fan185
11 Dec 2008, 10:37
me too....
i'd be interested.. so is the winner simply decided by who has the most people liking their choice? (i.e. metallica nuts are a shue-in?)
Wahooti Fandango
11 Dec 2008, 12:29
I'm in if there are any places left.
Hey, BtG, you forgot me, I am not on the list of competitors.
Ben the Gooner
11 Dec 2008, 12:54
Hey, BtG, you forgot me, I am not on the list of competitors.
Sorry mate, I thought I already had you.
Wahooti Fandango
11 Dec 2008, 12:55
Sorry mate, I thought I already had you.
No worries, however my metal hand was poised to bitch slap you. :D
Like the idea, put me down.
Ludwig van Bertstare
12 Dec 2008, 14:24
I'm in.
Skeeta Olly
12 Dec 2008, 18:24
Merv vs GS
Ben Vs Spikey
Olly vs Loopy Cam
Jono B vs Fandangodingo
PP vs Dons_fan185
Whomb vs GoDons
RIG vs ????
Would be better, but would take longer.....
Ben the Gooner
14 Dec 2008, 08:10
GS, thoughts on a genre?
Colin D'Cops
14 Dec 2008, 08:39
GS, thoughts on a genre?
Up to you mate, I'm not fussed.
Ben the Gooner
14 Dec 2008, 09:51
Another rock one?
Colin D'Cops
14 Dec 2008, 11:23
Why not?! Lets get this show on the road.
Who do I PM my song to?
Ben the Gooner
14 Dec 2008, 11:26
Me I guess.
I need to think about it, actually.
Skeeta Olly
14 Dec 2008, 11:27
Me I guess.
I need to think about it, actually.
Probably someone thats not participating in this round ..... RIG or Merv i'd say.
Ben the Gooner
14 Dec 2008, 11:30
Probably someone thats not participating in this round ..... RIG or Merv i'd say.
Why? What could I do to cheat? It's a public poll.
Skeeta Olly
14 Dec 2008, 11:32
Why? What could I do to cheat? It's a public poll.
You receive his song by PM and then choose one that will pwn it :p. Meh, up to you :thumbsu:
Colin D'Cops
14 Dec 2008, 11:41
Going out now, will think about it whilst I'm out.
Will send it to you by the end of the night Ben.
Ben the Gooner
14 Dec 2008, 12:01
All right.:thumbsu:
Just to clarify, I can pick a song by Guns N' Roses now, but GS can't.
Send them to me that will remove any doubt and complaints later.
Colin D'Cops
14 Dec 2008, 18:05
Just got home.
Almost made my decision, will send it to Merv within the next 10 minutes.
Ben the Gooner
14 Dec 2008, 18:09
Sent my utterly brilliant song through to Merv, so we should have a poll soon.
Merv, it's 3 days for the poll.
Colin D'Cops
14 Dec 2008, 18:23
Sent it through to Merv and this match-up should be a walk in the park for myself, Ben's no competition.
Good luck BtG, hope you don't get slaughtered mate. ;)
Ben the Gooner
14 Dec 2008, 18:36
You won't be so cocky when you see the supreme awesomeness of my song.:cool:
I don't recall entering this. Oh well, as long as it's Rock or maybe Punk I should fine.
this game could get a bit iffy. people's interpretations on music genres differ quite a bit; for example some people would consider The Clash to be either of the following:
punk, rock, rockabilly & ska.
i guess it's ultimately up to ben (or whoever gets sent the clips) to decide if the songs apply to that genre.
can't wait to get stuck into it though! :thumbsu:
Funnily enough I'm listening to Rudie Can't Fail right now and was thinking about what genre it would be
Colin D'Cops
15 Dec 2008, 22:01
Round 3: Winner round 2 v Skeeta Olly
I'm almost across the line against BtG, so maybe we should decide the genre nice and early.
What genre would suit you Skeeta? I'm up for suggestions, I like most forms of music.
Funnily enough I'm listening to Rudie Can't Fail right now and was thinking about what genre it would behmm.. ska would be my pick?
bomber69
16 Dec 2008, 17:20
Am I too late to sign up?
Colin D'Cops
16 Dec 2008, 17:23
Round 1: GreaT SourcE (Sweet Child o' Mine - Guns N' Roses) d Merv (You Could Have Been Mine - Guns N' Roses)
Round 13: Winner round 12 v Merv
Hey hey hey.
What's going on here boys? :D
Colin D'Cops
16 Dec 2008, 17:27
Not sure. Probably not, give BtG a PM to confirm your position.
Ben the Gooner
16 Dec 2008, 17:29
Hey hey hey.
What's going on here boys? :D
The rules are simple:
One video clip each.
Winner stays on.
You cannot repeat bands.
The final 4 will play off over 7 rounds with a category which I choose, e.g. a certain band, or a certain genre, or another category.
If you lose, you will automatically be re-entered 5 spots later, or at the end of the current list, whichever is later.
If you're interested, put your name down here.
I might have to disqualify you for not reading the rules.:cool:
Colin D'Cops
On a said note, Skeeta and I have decided to do rock yet again.
The rock theme continues...
Ben the Gooner
You're in.:thumbsu:
Colin D'Cops
16 Dec 2008, 17:30
Ahh ok, cheers BtG. ;)
Will there be an eventual winner though or will it just keep on keeping on until it dies?
Ben the Gooner
16 Dec 2008, 17:35
Ahh ok, cheers BtG. ;)
Will there be an eventual winner though or will it just keep on keeping on until it dies?
The rules are simple:
One video clip each.
Winner stays on.
You cannot repeat bands.
If you're interested, put your name down here.
Colin D'Cops
16 Dec 2008, 17:40
Got caught again. Shit! :D
Ben the Gooner
16 Dec 2008, 17:42
I have to tell your club doctor now.;)
On a said note, Skeeta and I have decided to do rock yet again.
The rock theme continues...
Hopefully it will for my battle as well!
Wahooti Fandango
16 Dec 2008, 19:28
How broad/narrow can our nominated category be? For instance there are many sub-categories under rock, can we do one of these? I am thinking of probably using Kenny Gee. ;)
I've just got a really big urge to do a Bubblegum pop battle....
Skeeta Olly
16 Dec 2008, 19:33
I've just got a really big urge to do a Bubblegum pop battle....
Strawberry Kisses?
dons_fan185
16 Dec 2008, 20:02
Strawberry Kisses?
the Jonas Brothers!
whoever thought they'd be good for something!!
Ben the Gooner
16 Dec 2008, 20:06
Merv, delete the last few posts. They aren't related to music.
dons_fan185
16 Dec 2008, 20:11
Merv, delete the last few posts. They aren't related to music.
they are too
they're llike that strange old aunt you only see every second christmas, who smells llike cabbage and cats every time she sees you she'll give you a 2 dollar coin and tell you not to spend it all at once
that = bubblegum pop to music
Beerfish
16 Dec 2008, 22:41
I don't really get it but I'll be in if there's any room.
Its music. I can't lose. :thumbsu:
Colin D'Cops
17 Dec 2008, 17:19
Lets get the ball rolling Skeeta, the other poll is almost finished and I'm up by nine votes.
Rocks the genre as mentioned before, so send your song to BtG when ready mate.
AndyLesPaul
17 Dec 2008, 17:27
I'd say Great Source would'nt have won either if he hadnt chosen songs people know.
This thing would be fair if no well known songs were used.
Colin D'Cops
17 Dec 2008, 17:32
I'd say Great Source would'nt have won either if he hadnt chosen songs people know..
Every participant can choose what ever song they want under that category, whether it's well liked or not. So I hardly have any advantage ALP.
Colin D'Cops
17 Dec 2008, 17:35
This thing would be fair if no well known songs were used.
That would defeat the purpose of the whole competition if that rule was brought in. To generate more discussion would be the aim of this competition, not for people to skip that particular music thread and say, 'shit song' and go straight to another board.
Skeeta Olly
17 Dec 2008, 17:43
Lets get the ball rolling Skeeta, the other poll is almost finished and I'm up by nine votes.
Rocks the genre as mentioned before, so send your song to BtG when ready mate.
No worries mate
AndyLesPaul
17 Dec 2008, 18:24
That would defeat the purpose of the whole competition if that rule was brought in. To generate more discussion would be the aim of this competition, not for people to skip that particular music thread and say, 'shit song' and go straight to another board.
Yeah, but the song you've chosen in comparison to the other songs are like major
ah well
and ALP? lols
Colin D'Cops
17 Dec 2008, 18:39
Yeah, but the song you've chosen in comparison to the other songs are like major
That's your opinion mate I don't aim to change it.
But some people must like my songs if I've gone this far, surely.
Ben the Gooner
17 Dec 2008, 18:40
btw, I assumed you wanted in, ALP (heh).
dons_fan185
17 Dec 2008, 21:38
i have a feeling i'll be away in my given round
just to be sure, can I swap with GoDons??
Ben the Gooner
18 Dec 2008, 16:17
i have a feeling i'll be away in my given round
just to be sure, can I swap with GoDons??
Yep. I'll move you down two, and the people in between up 1.
FandangoDingo
18 Dec 2008, 17:23
I agree (someone said it. Couldn't find the quote) that the quality of the song appears to be dominating voters' thinking.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but this comp is more about the video clip than the song, right?
Therefore Average song with a great film clip >>> Great song with a sh1te clip.
Hotel California film clip was a C-Grade slide show?? How did that dominate voting?
:confused:
Discuss/Explain.
PS. I also liked it better when the songs were submitted anonymously.
dons_fan185
18 Dec 2008, 19:06
Yep. I'll move you down two, and the people in between up 1.
appreciated :thumbsu:
Colin D'Cops
18 Dec 2008, 19:14
Correct me if I'm wrong, but this comp is more about the video clip than the song, right?
No, it's more revolved around the quality of the song.
The quality of the picture is irrelevant.
AndyLesPaul
18 Dec 2008, 21:31
btw, I assumed you wanted in, ALP (heh).
Ah nvm i doubt i'll have the time to make a video clip, i think? or do you just find a youtube vid?
Beerfish
19 Dec 2008, 08:27
No, it's more revolved around the quality of the song.
Okay I'm a bit confused.. if its got nothing to do with the clip then why are we posting youtubes when we could just be posting a song title and artist? :confused:
I presumed that you could vote for the song based on any criteria..
Seems a cool idea, could I get in on this?
Colin D'Cops
19 Dec 2008, 11:29
Okay I'm a bit confused.. if its got nothing to do with the clip then why are we posting youtubes when we could just be posting a song title and artist? :confused:
Mainly for entertainment purposes, might get a few more people to the board.
Ben the Gooner
19 Dec 2008, 13:52
Ah nvm i doubt i'll have the time to make a video clip, i think? or do you just find a youtube vid?
Just YouTube.
I presumed that you could vote for the song based on any criteria..
It's the music in the clip that counts. So a live version will either be better or worse than the studio version. Also for people who haven't heard the song, it's easier.
Beerfish
19 Dec 2008, 18:41
Hmm I could be argumentative here but I'm just going to nod my head, say okay and wait for my opportunity. :D
loopy_cam
22 Dec 2008, 11:08
I may not be around for my go as I'm going away for a few weeks so if I'm not here just skip me and I'll go later.
Looks fun, if its not to late sign me up.:cool:
Ben the Gooner
22 Dec 2008, 11:58
I'm thinking about having one last one before Christmas (starting today/tomorrow if possible), and then having a couple of weeks off, as everyone seems to be going away.
Thoughts?
Skeeta Olly
22 Dec 2008, 12:07
I'm thinking about having one last one before Christmas (starting today/tomorrow if possible), and then having a couple of weeks off, as everyone seems to be going away.
Thoughts?
Yeh, sounds good.
Just about to send you my clip:thumbsu:
Just about to think about my clip. Might go with a smaller known band than the others so far.
FandangoDingo
22 Dec 2008, 12:50
Christmas cease-fire would suit me. I'm away from Dec 24 - Jan 4.
danzan22
22 Dec 2008, 23:34
Still time to enter?
Colin D'Cops
23 Dec 2008, 00:37
Thoughts?
I'm going away for two and a half weeks, so that idea sounds good to me.
Ben the Gooner
23 Dec 2008, 09:33
You're in danzan.:thumbsu:
GS, I think I'll give it until Monday the 12th of Jan until we start up.
Wahooti Fandango
15 Jan 2009, 09:48
When do we recommence?