View Full Version : First Spine of Gold Coast FC
Viva la Mattner
13 Dec 2008, 08:03
whats your thoughts on gold coasts first spine to build thier team around?
mine is as follows:
FB: L. McGuane
CHB: C.Cornes
C: No.1 midfielder from the draft
CHF: N.Riewoldt
FF: N. Ablett
1R: K.Tippett
krisholio14
13 Dec 2008, 08:09
Be interesting to see if you can get Nate to play for you.
Funnier things have happened, and the boy can play.
Stereophonic
13 Dec 2008, 10:19
Im more intrigued by the Cornes addition, that boy would never leave Adelaide, or his brother, what gives have you heard otherwise?
TigerGlory
13 Dec 2008, 10:19
Who says anybody will leave their original club in the first place?
I find it very unlikely that Cornes will leave.
Stereophonic
13 Dec 2008, 10:24
And further, does anyone really see Tippet as a ruckmen?????
Is that where he played his junior footy?
ghostdog
13 Dec 2008, 11:02
I don't reckon Nathan Ablett would play unless he needed the dough. His heart's obviously not in it.
Stereophonic
13 Dec 2008, 11:07
I don't reckon Nathan Ablett would play unless he needed the dough. His heart's obviously not in it.
Unless of course he has the urge to play at the top level without the limelight, though he will get the limelight for a period if he does in fact sign on with an AFL club, regardless of the location.
ghostdog
13 Dec 2008, 17:03
Anyone for Rhys Palmer?
Trent Cotchin?
Marc Murphy?
Josh Kennedy?
Headless
13 Dec 2008, 21:11
May as well take Gary Ablett and Lance Franklin while you're at it...
ghostdog
13 Dec 2008, 22:09
May as well take Gary Ablett and Lance Franklin while you're at it...
True. It's pie in the sky really...
Stereophonic
14 Dec 2008, 12:46
Anyone for Rhys Palmer?
Trent Cotchin?
Marc Murphy?
Josh Kennedy?
overated hack of the highest order
TheGeneral
15 Dec 2008, 23:05
Anyone for Rhys Palmer?
Trent Cotchin?
Marc Murphy?
Josh Kennedy?
I can just see Murphy joining the Gold Coast when he knocked the Lions. :confused: :rolleyes: :o
You should be worried about losing Courtney Dempsey to the Gold Coast.
ghostdog
16 Dec 2008, 21:07
I can just see Murphy joining the Gold Coast when he knocked the Lions. :confused: :rolleyes: :o
You should be worried about losing Courtney Dempsey to the Gold Coast.
You should be worried about losing.
minson 4 brownlow!
18 Dec 2008, 11:32
You should be worried about losing.
You should both be worried about losing
ghostdog
18 Dec 2008, 13:51
touche! :thumbsu:
raffrox
18 Dec 2008, 16:25
You're funny.
Im more intrigued by the Cornes addition, that boy would never leave Adelaide, or his brother, what gives have you heard otherwise?
As I just inferred in the captaincy thread, would you want him to want to leave? Turns 31 in Nov 2010 and would have one or two years left by then - and they'd be lucky to be anywhere close to the superstar level he enjoys now and very doubtful in a KPP position.
Wouldn't be worth the dough or any compensatory pick you might have to concede.
K-Tip didn't really play junior footy bar a handful of games for the Qld U-18s in 2006 as he was another very late switcher from basketball. Played for Southport seniors before being drafted.
At 201cms he looks like your quintessential ruck/forward although the Crows will be banking on him as primarily a KPF in the coming years.
halfback dasher
1 Jan 2009, 19:05
Recon you may see renouf.as ya #1 ruck....:(
you are a fool
We won't give away Riewoldt and McGuane, we won't give away either!
melbdocker
8 Jan 2009, 20:02
Jarrod roughead anybody? will be asking for big coin come 09 when is out of contract and with the hawks list doubt the could match what gc could offer, better prospect than Riewoldt by the start of the 1st gc season
TheGeneral
9 Jan 2009, 14:07
I think we will get the chance to beat the Dogs again this year with a full strength side and Yarran. ;)
Stereophonic
10 Jan 2009, 08:39
Jarrod roughead anybody? will be asking for big coin come 09 when is out of contract and with the hawks list doubt the could match what gc could offer, better prospect than Riewoldt by the start of the 1st gc season
NO doubt that these two players will be on the radar, but so much has to happen before now and then.
dyl_tigerman
10 Jan 2009, 12:33
We won't give away Riewoldt and McGuane, we won't give away either!
i think it is nick reiwoldt cos he is from up their but jack is from tassy...
i can't see richmond giving up mcguane who they have spent so much time on...
go ahead and take raines or schultz
Stereophonic
23 Mar 2009, 19:08
Any thoughts on whether this is the area we will be keen to develop in the DRAFT?
FB O'Shea
HB Williams
C Reid/Harbrow/Akermanis(:D)
HF Mulligan
FF Hahn
Sadly i think one of these players will go home, hopefully it's O'Shea or Mulligan:D
Stereophonic
24 Mar 2009, 17:25
FB O'Shea
HB Williams
C Reid/Harbrow/Akermanis(:D)
HF Mulligan
FF Hahn
Sadly i think one of these players will go home, hopefully it's O'Shea or Mulligan:D
Hahn will be too old by then:D
You should see him at training in the ruck, there are days he looks head and shoulders better than Maric and Griffen. He has a phenomenal leap and has some real tricks with his hands, something I suspect came from his basketball background.
We need him as a forward but he's certainly a ruckmen. No, you can't have him, feel free to chase his kid brother ;)
Neville Bartos
24 Mar 2009, 22:20
As everyone will say about their own team, I can't see Roughead leaving so soon into his career. There would be way more factors to him staying than leaving:
Leaving:
Money
Chance to be no.1 forward
Staying:
Family is in Victoria
Premiership player at Hawthorn
Will be 23/24 when the Gold Coast come knocking
Gets the second best defender every week
Has brilliant delivery from midfield
His best mate is Buddy
He's a pasty white guy. The sun would kill him
Really likeable guy around the club. Gets on well with everyone.
Hawthorn should have much more success ahead of them than the Gold Coast
Most of the players who leave clubs, have serious personality clashes with their teammates, unless it's a 'Go Home' factor. Can't see it happening. Brent Renouf and Brendan Whitecross are the only two of our players I could possibly see heading North because they're both Queenslanders who might struggle to get a game