View Full Version : #22 Luke "The Freakin' shoe" Shuey
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/2008_Draft_Image_Sets/Luke_Shuey_Draft_246a.jpg
LUKE SHUEY
NUMBER 22EY
WHAT A FRICKEN GUN
Taken at number 18 in the draft, (before tom swift i might add), The freaking Shoe is bound for glory.
An inside mid, thrives within stoppages, and has excellent ball usage. Very pacy, with the ability to go forward. heres hoping the shoe gets on the park in 2009.
Shuey won Vic metros best and fairest, rated as the most valuable player over the course of the carnivals five games.
Luke possesses excellent empathetic qualities, and bears a real sense of comradeship and care for his team.
LUKE SHUEY FLIPPING RULES
From AFL.com
LUKE SHUEY
Date of birth: 2/06/90
Height: 185cm
Weight: 84kg
Club: Oakleigh Chargers
Bio: Shuey is an inside midfielder who excels at stoppages and has good ball-winning ability. He has pace and can go forward with good effect. A Vic Metro under-18 representative in 2008. From Marcellin College.
Jason McCartney says: Luke had 18 disposals, five clearances and also snared a couple of goals playing through the midfield and across half-forward against South Australia in the under-18 championships. He plays with a really good intensity and, even though he got rushed with a few disposals, when he had those opportunities to finish around goal, he did.
Vic Metro U18 coach David Dickson says: Luke won our best and fairest at Vic Metro. Not many people would know that because we keep that pretty in-house, but he was our most valuable player over the five games at the carnival.
We had a bit of a situation with him at the start because he collided with Jackson Trengove at a training session and he was terribly upset that Jackson then had to have a knee operation and missed the year. We actually had to get Jackson to ring him and tell him not to worry about it and that it was just one of those things that happens in football.
He's a very caring kid for his teammates, but as a player he's really hard at it. He's got good skills and is a good hard runner. When we knew we were going to have to challenge Western Australia with Daniel Rich and those sorts of players he was our number one midfielder that really had to lift up and we thought he was just outstanding.
I would liken him a little bit to Luke Ball. We didn't play Luke (Shuey) against New South Wales on the Saturday before the WA game because we were concerned that he is so intense at the ball that he might have got injured and not been able to come up for the next game.
Stats: NAB AFL Under 18 Championships Team Mt K HB D M HO T G Vic Metro 4 8.0 10.3 18.3 3.5 0.0 2.8 0.8
Draft Camp highlights:
4th shuttle run/beep test 14.4
9th agility test 8.34sec
=9th 20m sprint 2.92sec
In his own words
What sort of player are you?
I'm generally an inside player and I don't run with the ball that much. I play midfield. I generally rest forward with Oakleigh and also my school team (Marcellin College).
Strengths?
My clearance work and aerobic capacity are my two main strengths.
Weaknesses?
I've been told I've got to start kicking a few goals as a midfielder. I've also been told to get my speed under three seconds for 20m. I ran a 2.94 [at the NAB AFL Draft Camp], but those two areas.
Which AFL team do you support?
I'm a Melbourne supporter.
Which AFL player do you feel you most resemble?
I model my game around Nathan Jones. I do most of my work inside and I've got a bash-and-crash game. I like that stuff and I look up to him.
ZXvvrWJyKpI
wHFIIDGRilk
According to his facebook, Luke is a fan of Stephanie Rice, Chris Judd, The television show Friends and likes to shop at Crown Casino!
Also, there are some worries over luke's disposal by foot, as evidenced in the first video. Its nothing to phone home about though, as his hand disposal looks great.
Local Poster's talk-ups *cough fanwank cough*:
From a highlights point of view he certainly presents better than Masten did last year
From the second video he looks damn impressive I must say but for some reason he just isn't getting much love from the anybody on here. Guys with genuine pace, big engines, clean hands in close that kick goals that are tough as nails and are reliable kicks are far harder to find than you might think - look how much fuss Adelaide make about Dangerfield - Shuey has equal pace (2.92 20m) and is definitely a better kick than him and far more proven as far as inside midfielders go.
Get excited people - the bloke was selected BEFORE Tom Swift ffs
Many have compared him to Sewell. That would be a best case scenario for us. He definately has the potential and attributes though...tough, inside player, selfless team player. Seems to be pretty much ready to go as well which is a bonus.
The kid has an amazing handball.
Kerr-esc.
I dont see the Sewell comparison to be honest. He looks very class and has pace and grunt. He is more on the Kerr spectrum of hard and classy than Sewell who is just hardworking and tough. He reminds me a little of Marc Murphy.
The youtube clip of him in the U18 Champs doesnt do him justice, the TAC Cup video is much better.
Yeah he has the pace to be much more than your blue-collar, bash n crash inside mid. I reckon that, in time, the coaching staff will teach him to back himself to run and carry a bit more. So potentially he could beat other players to the ball, scoop it up and sprint away from the pack Judd-style. Has a good goal sense apparently too.
I think it's why we pounced on him so early - he has a lot of upside, but even the basic package is pretty damn good.
I think out of all the Rookies he will be the most likley to crack a game this year. He has a Fairly developed body already and could play as a inside midfielder.
Great handball, reminds me of Kerr dishing it out of a pack. Funnily enough kerr's kicking isn't his strength either.
I hope Shuey can fix his kicking, I think he turned it over with every kick in that youtube video.
Strongly-built Shuey was one of the draft’s leading inside midfielders.
His strengths are his explosive pace and an outstanding vertical leap.
http://oakleigh-monash-leader.whereilive.com.au/sport/story/big-draft-charge-by-oakleigh-stars/
WCE have got a top young man here.Gun TAC Cup player,Part of the Oakleigh Chargers leadership group,Captain and B& F at Marcellin and coaches award,MVP for Vic Metro,Top performer at Draft Camp,a top clubman throughout his junior footy,held in high regard by his peers at all levels of football he has played and plenty of room for further learning and development under the right people,which WCE now look like they have with Daniher joining the club.
Be patient but he won't be.Look for s strong showing in 2009.
Will play 10 games next year. Fremantle were livid he didnt slip to there pick 21. Subi will suit him to a tee because he loves to run with the footy and enjoys the space despite the fact hes a inside hard nut midfielder. A certain 150 game player. At worst hes the next Shane O Bree at best hes the next Luke Ball.
turns out i know shuey
he is not a real big party boy and loves camping
I rate him Kerr-esk, will be a good inside player.
Runs hard like Braun, needs a better disposal but I think well worth it.
Could be a very good player.
Swift I think we will make him a outside mid/HFF with his speed and ability.
Luke Shuey will be a Shue-esque player in the vein of Luke Shuey
I agree. I see a lot of Luke Shuey in the way he plays.
you guys have nfi, the only thing he has in common to shuey is his name.
luke shuey - tough and persistent. This guy will run and chase til the cows come home (or the siren goes off). Has resoanble disposal by foot, and is pretty good by hand and he loves the hard ball gets, and pace is ok. For me shuey remids me a of sewell as i see him being a very good tagger at afl level,but with more improvement in his skills he will be a very handy player who will always dish out hand balls in packs to his more skillful teammates.
being a melbourne supporter is a bonus, but it should have zero infulence on whether or not we pick a player. I do like shuey though, i have him just outside my top 20, as a mid-late 2nd round pick. He's a real gut-runner and he is a great clearance player.
Wouldn't be surprised if he was a considered at pick 19, but i would think that there will still be better midfield options available at this stage. Could be a chance at pick 35, but that depends on if we're looking for a mid and if he's even still available.
monday - shuey
tuesday - shuey
wednesday - shuey
thursday - shuey
friday - shuey
saturday - shuey
sunday - shuey and shuey
if i was selecting for my opponent, banner all the way.
If i was selecting for my team, shuey!
shuey's a more reliable kick, and he's got a bigger body which will be more likely to cope with afl football. He's also more naturally inside, and surprisingly quick.
About all that banner has on shuey is that he's better at finding space and racking up loose touches.
i suspect i might be in the minority here, but i do rate this kid. Good inside midfielder who is composed around the contest. One thing i really like about shuey is his ability to get a handpass away when he is under a heap of pressure. At this stage, i have him ranked well inside my top 50 - infact, i have him going in the 30's.
went onto daniel rich in the 2nd half of the vic metro game and completely shut him out while getting a fair bit of the ball himself. would take him before stephen hill and a bunch of other players who i think are overrated. Could slide due to doubts over disposal but a 2nd round pick at worst imo.
take that freo
seems a good prospect, has the defensive mindset/work ethic in place and very team oriented, but doesn't seem to make full use of his athletic qualities. If he can develop the attacking side of his game will end up a very well rounded player.
i think he will be a solid contributor and is very underrated here
having played against him a few times, i rate him pretty high. He is so clean in a contested situation which will attract interest and will see him get picked from 20-40.
i reckon 3rd or 4th round for shuey.
His athleticism and physical build is a real plus for an inside midfielder, but he'll probably be slightly pushed down the pecking order because his kicking isn't a real feature of his game from what i've seen...
Think he could be a really good player at afl level if he can improve his kicking and decision making when passing by foot...
I'd be pretty surprised if he was overlooked in the nd though...
he wont be overlooked, i would have to be sure of that.
I dont think he will last till the 4th round but who knows..
shuey has amazed me, as a yarra valley student i saw him play in his younger year levels and was nothing special at all but now put himself in the elite of the tac cup bottom age players and has done it with pure hard work, i really like this kid but still has many areas to improve on.
luke shuey is a gun. One of the best under age players in tac, dominates school footy with marcellin 1sts. Luke stanton also a great player extremely versatile. Yeah first cousins to nick dal santo
luke shuey where do u start writtin bout him, just an awesome footballer. Shuey has an awesome footy brain, and good skills the kid wont stop workin for the whole game he is always running. He wont stop until the final siren has gone. Ive played with him since tackers and he is a dead set freak, i still play with him now for bulleen and oakleigh an i can tell ya he will go a mile with his footy carreer. Seriously a dead set gun. He dominated in the yjfl divi 1 granny getting 38 possies was so so so stiff not to get bog, he was robbed. Next year mate, ur a fkn superstar mate.
luke shuey is a freak.
watched the oakley chargers game on the w.e and was suprised by one kid luke shuey. Wearing the #28 gurnsey he has good skills on both sides of his body and sure clean hands. Well built to add to his hardness.
mitchzz
18 Dec 2008, 12:48
Nice work Kall, I like Shuey alot. Just looks to have something about him. :)
Masten_Magic
19 Dec 2008, 08:31
just talkin to his dad right now
shuey said he was havin a ball on rotto
mitchzz
19 Dec 2008, 11:07
just talkin to his dad right now
shuey said he was havin a ball on rotto
Tell him to tell Luke that mitchzz says hi. http://i39.tinypic.com/2qbdgmv.png
Will play in 09.
Like the look of him.
Bumpity bump bump.
The shoe deserves first page honours.
wirra44
29 Dec 2008, 19:08
great thread. Like all the quotes you found from people on bigfooty.:thumbsu:
Every time I hear his name I think of the croc shoes.
I don't know why.
http://www.shoesite.co.uk/uploads/images_categories/140.jpg
Cant wait to see him in action.
mitchzz
30 Dec 2008, 12:41
He's a possibility for my DT bench. :D
Masten_Magic
30 Dec 2008, 14:19
He's a possibility for my DT bench. :D
he is going on my bench to
Ruckman08
30 Dec 2008, 18:38
he is going on my bench to
hes gotta get a game first boys..
Oh, he will. :thumbsu:
Luke shuey will get a game, and his awesomeness impregnate EVERYONE in the crowd. And they will have little shuey babies who will vomit pure awesome and then explode one baby at a time in a huge fireball of awesome, every touch Shuey gets. By the end of the game, Luke Shuey will be wanted for the mass homicidal killingss of 40 thousand babies... But he'll be acquitted, all blame placed on the unpreventable awesomeness that dwells within his loins (like a flaming hawk ;) )
Wow, I feel a little wierd after reading that post.....:p
Embrace the Shuey. You know you want too.... :D
I am doing that right now......
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=533837
Interview with the champ.
bodazoka
19 Jan 2009, 08:36
Every time I hear his name I think of the croc shoes.
I don't know why.
http://www.shoesite.co.uk/uploads/images_categories/140.jpg
Because your a closet croc shoe lover?
bodazoka
19 Jan 2009, 08:57
Is there an award for weirdest man love post?
Masten_Magic
19 Jan 2009, 10:32
shuey was brought up by his dad
his parents are not together
to me he seems the perfect role model for young kids proves not matter your background footy takes you places
bodazoka
20 Jan 2009, 14:01
^^ proves how far you can get in life when your dad starts living his football dreams through you?
Masten_Magic
20 Jan 2009, 14:49
his dad was a good footballer but stopped playing to bring him up
so he deserves to live the glory through shuey
EagleMan87
20 Jan 2009, 16:25
shuey was brought up by his dad
his parents are not together
to me he seems the perfect role model for young kids proves not matter your background footy takes you places
Just because he was raised by a single parent?:confused:
Masten_Magic
20 Jan 2009, 17:09
he is a nice guy and not a troublemaker
EasternHills
20 Jan 2009, 17:58
Future Captain. ;)
bodazoka
21 Jan 2009, 13:52
he is a nice guy and not a troublemaker
Future Captain. ;)
I dont think you understand what the pre-requisites for being an Eagles captain are.
EasternHills
21 Jan 2009, 18:32
I dont think you understand what the pre-requisites for being an Eagles captain are.
It was a play on the fact every recruite and his dog is a potential captain according to BF.
bodazoka
22 Jan 2009, 09:09
^^ A dog as captain??? Its crazy but it just might work dammit!
My dog has the best attack on the ball you will ever see, never shirks a contest and is 100% focused on the ball. Shows leadership by example for all the young blokes.
^^ A dog as captain??? Its crazy but it just might work dammit!
My dog has the best attack on the ball you will ever see, never shirks a contest and is 100% focused on the ball. Shows leadership by example for all the young blokes.
WHY DIDNT WE DRAFT HIM :eek:
EagleMan87
25 Jan 2009, 13:50
WHY DIDNT WE DRAFT HIM :eek:
Salary cap:(
Masten_Magic
31 Jan 2009, 13:42
out with groin soreness
bodazoka
2 Feb 2009, 15:37
Na he is actually a black dog, WC dont draft aboriginal players remember....
EagleMan87
2 Feb 2009, 18:50
Na he is actually a black dog, WC dont draft aboriginal players remember....
I think we recruited Bedford and Cockie just so we'd have more than one player to send to A&TS team this year:D
:(
Apparently injured, and out for three months.
Lets hope for a quicker than expected recovery.
*Sigh*
Get well Luke, hopefully a speedy recovery.
Masten_Magic
3 Feb 2009, 19:44
i hope the injury isnt that serious :)
Did his dad end up getting back to you MM?
EasternHills
3 Feb 2009, 21:34
Sounds like he needs to keep the pelvic thrusts down to a min.
http://www.watoday.com.au/sport/naitanui-still-a-chance-for-2009-worsfold-20090203-7wsa.html?page=1
Meanwhile, another of West Coast's top recruits in last year's draft has had his first season seriously hampered by injury, with Victorian midfielder Luke Shuey struck down with groin soreness.
Following Naitanui's problems, Shuey - the Eagles number two pick - felt pain this week, and the Eagles hierarchy made the decision to restrict his training this week and assess the 18-year-old.
Masten_Magic
4 Feb 2009, 15:53
nope not yet
his dad normally responds in a flash
maybe consolling shuey!
EasternHills
4 Feb 2009, 21:21
Does not sound that serious and given the wraps this guy has received by people who go to training, westcoast and people from Vic im very happy to keep him under wraps for a bit.
EasternHills
8 Feb 2009, 14:51
Not anything to do with the fires i hope?
Yeah, hopefully it has nthing to do with those fires.
:(
Not a great sponsorship so far. :(
BUT THE SHUE WILL RETURN STRONGER AND GREATER THAN EVER. :thumbsu:
Mark My Words.
The face of the eagles in 2 years time :thumbsu: :D
I'd also like to point out that this is the most popular of the 08 draftees sponsor threads.
Masten_Magic
8 Feb 2009, 18:06
yer cause i post on here heaps
you hardly post on here anymore
yer cause i post on here heaps
you hardly post on here anymore
And thankyou for that service :)
I'm only allowed on, during weekends :thumbsd: School year.
Shocked at the news by the way, as Shueys player sponsor, and as a human being, i wish Luke, his father and all family the best in this horrible time.
My prayers are with you guys.
Just a quick update, for refernce sake, Shuey is on indefinite leave, but is also out for at least three months with an injury to the pubic bone.
Crimson King
11 Feb 2009, 12:52
Question, if at the end of his contract, he wants to go back home to be close with his family would it be alright with us?
Lynch takes a mark
11 Feb 2009, 12:58
Didn't Stenglein go through a similar situation ?
Crimson King
11 Feb 2009, 13:00
I think so, or was it Chick?
crazzzy_grrl
11 Feb 2009, 14:03
I think so, or was it Chick?
Yes, it was Chick. His brother died of an asthma attack, leaving his wife and kids, so Chick wanted to be there for them
RhEF JC
11 Feb 2009, 14:08
Question, if at the end of his contract, he wants to go back home to be close with his family would it be alright with us?
Of course. It would be disappointing, but surely no one would hold a grudge?
Eagle Ant
11 Feb 2009, 16:49
What if its at the end of the year not at the end of the conract and he wants to go home who and what would we expect in return?????
Would we just let him go cheap for his sake or would we expect another player inreturn and hold fast regardless of luke wishes????
Personally I would like to think we would just get what we could but I wouldn't mind 1 of these 3: Jamie Bennell, Neville Jetta or Jarrad Blight in a straight swap for the Kid if it make his life easier.
Also with Luke being on indefinate leave ( You would expect 3 to 6 months) does that mean we can elevate a player in his spot ???
Crimson King
11 Feb 2009, 17:21
All valid questions, EA though I thought it was new draftees have to see out their initial 2 year contract?
Masten_Magic
11 Feb 2009, 18:32
id dont think shuey will leave wa to go back permantly
i think his dad may move over here
Willow_2000
11 Feb 2009, 18:36
id dont think shuey will leave wa to go back permantly
i think his dad may move over here
Gotta feel sorry for the poor dad right now, If he stays here in vic he'll be all alone:(
Hopefully he moves to WA so he can be closer to Luke
mitchzz
12 Feb 2009, 08:08
Yep, that's what I'm hoping too.
Didn't Ebo's dad move over here?
crazzzy_grrl
12 Feb 2009, 19:02
Yep, that's what I'm hoping too.
Didn't Ebo's dad move over here?
No... I think he works for the club in Adelaide to watch the SANFL for the club
Masten_Magic
12 Feb 2009, 19:18
as like a talent scout
im pretty sure
Whatever choice Shuey makes, I'm sure it'll be the right one. Family is definitely more important than football.
Heard luke is back in perth
Masten_Magic
3 Mar 2009, 11:35
correct he flew back last wednesday
Heres hoping luke makes the transition back into the schedule well.
Much thanks to masten magic for the reliable updates by the by
masten magic, are you aware how is injury is going?
Thanks for all the info
Masten_Magic
5 Mar 2009, 15:51
saw him on the news with the recovery group (cox)
mitchzz
30 Mar 2009, 15:48
Any recent news on how he's going?
Be playing wafl round 4 or 5 last i heard..:)
mitchzz
30 Mar 2009, 17:40
Be playing wafl round 4 or 5 last i heard..:)
Very good news. :thumbsu:
Masten_Magic
2 Apr 2009, 20:25
i reckon he will debut
23rd may against collingwood at subiaco
just my view i may be wrong
Lol..hope you are right Masten_magic can't wait to see him in the middle.
:thumbsu:
Luke Shuey for rising star :cool:
i reckon he will debut
23rd may against collingwood at subiaco
just my view i may be wrong
Anything could happen from now to then.. :p
But I hope you're right.
Masten_Magic
2 Apr 2009, 21:03
yer with groga saying about him playing wafl soon
all fingers crossed
Too much expectation from this young kid.
Get a grip.
Been placed onto the long term injury list :(
Just because he's on our LTI, (but people said he was gonna play round 4 or 5 WAFL, what's up there?), he can still play WAFL right? I can't see why not.
His injury was on the improve. but it took another step back when he started training again... damn groin/hip :(
What happens when he's recovered?
Does he go back on the senior list or to the rookie list?
Crimson King
6 Apr 2009, 22:23
I dont think he will be risked at all for the rest of the season. Better he gets over his problem completely, there are other guys ahead of him at this stage.
True...
... but it's Shuuuey? :(
Let's just hope he get's the injuries out of the way early.
And then release Shuey when he is 100%
Yes once he is fit he is back on the senior list.(may be mistaken)
Let's just hope he get's the injuries out of the way early.
And then release Shuey when he is 100%
Yes once he is fit he is back on the senior list.(may be mistaken)
They can put him back onto the senior list after a minimum of 7 (8 maybe?) weeks, but they can keep him on there longer after that too?
EasternHills
7 Apr 2009, 00:49
No need to put him on the LTI list? Wish we knew more.
Davis is playing and Cockie can be mid season if we need him, less they want Sul as well? Like everyone else has said he just needs to be 100%, from all accounts he can play football and can be a solid long term prospect for us.
They can put him back onto the senior list after a minimum of 7 (8 maybe?) weeks, but they can keep him on there longer after that too?
i am pretty sure the minimum is 8 weeks out, and yes they can keep him there longer. If he is playing wafl, I am pretty sure he has to be back on the senior list though...
Will tear it up for WC in 2010
Crimson King
8 Apr 2009, 17:28
And then return home in 2011? ;)
the bastard, lets just sack him now.
Masten_Magic
26 Apr 2009, 11:52
interview with the shuey
http://www.sportfm.com.au/podcasts/
from the 21 minute mark
Willow_2000
1 May 2009, 17:57
Shuey reckons hes about 4 weeks away from playing
Masten_Magic
4 May 2009, 09:57
i reckon he will make his debut
against collingwood on may 23rd
i know it seems soon
haha, not a chance. he hasnt even played 1 wafl game yet, let alone had a preseason.
he's got a long way to go before getting a shot in the AFL considering he's behind the majority of the players on the list.