View Full Version : What's up with Chris Rogers?
Tyberious Funk
23 Dec 2008, 04:52
From an article in The Age:
"Hayden's departure would leave selectors with a difficult decision ahead of the tours of South Africa and England. Their original choices, Phil Jaques and Shaun Marsh, are returning from surgery and battling a form slump respectively, while Chris Rogers' off-field demeanour remains a sticking point with some members of the Australian team."
What the hell is that supposed to mean?? With Jaques injured, surely this guy is the next cab off the rank for an openers spot.
courtjester
23 Dec 2008, 06:03
Wondered that myself when I read the paper. Very vague journalism. Obviously didnt want to say any more and have to name his sources within the team.
courtjester
23 Dec 2008, 06:20
Could it just be that he's not quite good-looking enough to be in the Ford backyard cricket ads?
Ah, ugly ranga syndrome makes more sense. :thumbsu:
chaddles
23 Dec 2008, 07:27
My guess is that his personality doesn't fit into the team culture - he may have done something off the field that p'd a few senior players off in the test he played. He will never play a test for Australia again.
Phil Hughes would nearly be the next cab off the rank, after all he is from NSW.
davey_magik
23 Dec 2008, 07:46
Oh for ****s sake.
****ing anti-Vic bullshit yet again, we didn't hear anything like this when he was a WA player.
Apparently it is the same with Noffke with regards to an off-field incident in the Windies.
krisholio14
23 Dec 2008, 07:51
Oh for ****s sake.
****ing anti-Vic bullshit yet again, we didn't hear anything like this when he was a WA player.
I most certainly did.
I just hope he's not a reader, like that MacGill. Bad for morale, that.
chaddles
23 Dec 2008, 07:52
Ah, ugly ranga syndrome makes more sense. :thumbsu:
Haddin is in the team...:D
Maybe they only allow 1 in the teams URS policy...
krisholio14
23 Dec 2008, 07:53
Perhaps Australia could field two international teams. One for the boys club and New South Welshmen, and one for the outcasts and Victorians? :D
chaddles
23 Dec 2008, 07:55
Or just have the NSW team and then an Australian team selected from the rest... NSW always had majority of players in the test team anyway.
krisholio14
23 Dec 2008, 07:58
Or just have the NSW team and then an Australian team selected from the rest... NSW always had majority of players in the test team anyway.
You can't do it that way because Victorians still won't get a game then.
japaljarri
23 Dec 2008, 08:01
Or worse still a writer. Cue Ponting, Hayden, Symonds etc "What the **** do you mean you don;t believe in ghostwriters?"
Cousin Jed
23 Dec 2008, 08:05
Apparently it is the same with Noffke with regards to an off-field incident in the Windies.
Maybe the other princesses in the team should suck it up. I'd rather pick the best players thanks.
Dixie Flatline
23 Dec 2008, 08:08
Or worse still a writer. Cue Ponting, Hayden, Symonds etc "What the **** do you mean you don;t believe in ghostwriters?"
Or drinks wine rather than stubbies.
japaljarri
23 Dec 2008, 08:11
Or drinks wine rather than stubbies.
l believe Warnie was a Midori man?
Optimax
23 Dec 2008, 08:37
Maybe the other princesses in the team should suck it up. I'd rather pick the best players thanks.
Yep could well be a team of ****s as long as they are the best players they play
themuddy#3
23 Dec 2008, 08:52
Could it just be that he's not quite good-looking enough to be in the Ford backyard cricket ads?
Didnt cut it for the Men of Cricket Calendar.
Tyberious Funk
23 Dec 2008, 11:49
Maybe we can make a list of "unfashionable" players... you could start in the 80's / 90's with this trio;
Dean Jones
Tim Zoehrer
Greg Matthews
ManWithNoName
23 Dec 2008, 11:57
"Come out on the piss with us mate, come get smasheddddddddddd"
"No thankyou, I think I'll just retire to bed for the night"
"Ere Punter, this blokes a poof. Drop him"
Bond,ShaneBond
23 Dec 2008, 12:34
That is such bullshit. Hayden, Ponting, Symonds come across as complete wankers yet they seem to have all the power and can blackball whoever they want.
The Reaper
23 Dec 2008, 14:30
A true proffesional should be able to work alongside people they dont like
FFS Don Bradman and Bill O'Reilly hated each other and yet were the first two people selected in the team during their careers.
fraser25
23 Dec 2008, 14:52
Yep could well be a team of ****s as long as they are the best players they play
"Come out on the piss with us mate, come get smasheddddddddddd"
"No thankyou, I think I'll just retire to bed for the night"
"Ere Punter, this blokes a poof. Drop him"
That is such bullshit. Hayden, Ponting, Symonds come across as complete wankers yet they seem to have all the power and can blackball whoever they want.
A true proffesional should be able to work alongside people they dont like
FFS Don Bradman and Bill O'Reilly hated each other and yet were the first two people selected in the team during their careers.
My gosh, it's an unsubstantiated line by another grandstanding writer trying to get his name up in lights. Probably just fairfax version of Pierik/Craddock, stop believing all the crap you read in the media!
ManWithNoName
23 Dec 2008, 15:02
My gosh, it's an unsubstantiated line by another grandstanding writer trying to get his name up in lights. Probably just fairfax version of Pierik/Craddock, stop believing all the crap you read in the media!
Why do you think Stuart Macgill was never popular amongst the team?
Illinois Nazi
23 Dec 2008, 16:08
Why do you think Stuart Macgill was never popular amongst the team?
Because he was an arrogant wanker who thought his shit didn't stink? But they put up with him because he was undoubtedly talented.
That was the case when I was in a team with him, anyway.
As for Rogers, I thought he was a tosser when he was still in WA so it's not an anti-Vic thing. He'd be the only WA player I've ever laughed at when he failed miserably on Test debut.