View Full Version : I'm surprised....
over the amount of bleating going on about the traded and delisted players.
It is not as if any of them were totally out of left field.
Cupido - was always going to be a 50/50 situation, and it was discussed here earlier this year about his future with the club due to injury and attitude etc. The general concensous back then was that something like this was going to happen.
Des - Hell we all knew what was going on there.
Nathan Clarke - Delisted then re-drafted, injury, no senior berth. Not a likely candidate to stay.
Bolton - oft mentioned as the sacraficial lamb and one of the most annoying inclusions in any given weekly team.
Hammond - Who? seems to be the pertinent question there. Never even heard of for quite a while, and most folks wouldn't know him if they tripped over him.
Martin - now get real on this one. This bloke had career threatening injury, and the club did more than alot of other clubs would have done by keeping him on the books for 2002. His greatest achievement was making the extended bench on 2 or 3 occassions. For 2 years he has been supported and paid and given every opportunity to get himself back into senior AFL form. I have no issue what so ever with the club offering him a performance based contract. And maybe, just maybe his non acceptance of that is an indication that he doesn't think he can 'perform' and isn't willing to rely on that for his income. He can't get a free ride. He has had a pretty good run at that for the last couple of years.
Headland, Cupido, Hammond, Bolton, Clarke, Martin, crikey anyone would think we just traded Voss for pick #99 and delisted Simon Black the way some of the tears are being shed.
Mr Ripper
31 Oct 2002, 22:39
WrittenandauthorisedbyDannionbehalfoftheBrisbaneLionsFootyCl ub.
This so called "bleating" or supposed "shedding of tears" over the issues mentioned, is no different to comments by people over various other issues. I'm surprised that anyone would make another topic out of it entirely, primarly to discuss why people are discussing something!
For instance, take some of the comments regarding the wearing of a Fitzroy jumper as a one-off next season. Or the comments when M.Pike was drafted to the Lions. Or the comments when we traded M.Clarke.
It's a discussion forum, so it is what is to be expected.
Not arguing with that Olmy - as I said - I am just surprised.
I don't see why it's surprising at all. People generally take an avid interest in their club, and likewise, individuals often fashion their own ideas in regards to what they envisage they club should/shouldn't or might/mightn't do.
If we had traded Keating and Bradshaw, instead of Cupido and Headland (if that had been possible), I think we would have had just as many people voicing their disappointment, albeit it, different people.
In that regard, you could say it is just as surprising that people started topics along the lines of "it's good that we are keeping Keating/Bradshaw", as it is for people to hint at their dismay of other decisions in the trading period.
Personally I believe that every trade or delisting we have made has made perfect sense. The only one we really didn't want to do was lose Des - we had no choice in that and have come up with a good result, so as mentioned it makes sense. Perhaps Cupido could have gone either way, but I still understand why it was done....
SpecialBruce
1 Nov 2002, 12:12
Originally posted by Danni
Cupido - was always going to be a 50/50 situation, and it was discussed here earlier this year about his future with the club due to injury and attitude etc. The general concensous back then was that something like this was going to happen.
Cupido will turn out to be a gun so we may regret this decision but the club had to make it.
Des - Hell we all knew what was going on there.
Yeah, good riddance to him.
Nathan Clarke - Delisted then re-drafted, injury, no senior berth. Not a likely candidate to stay.
Was never going to stay if he never got a crack. Good choice by the club.
Bolton - oft mentioned as the sacraficial lamb and one of the most annoying inclusions in any given weekly team.
About time he went.
Hammond - Who? seems to be the pertinent question there. Never even heard of for quite a while, and most folks wouldn't know him if they tripped over him.
He was always going to go because he never was going to look like he was going to make the senior team after being on the list for 2 years.
Martin - now get real on this one. This bloke had career threatening injury, and the club did more than alot of other clubs would have done by keeping him on the books for 2002. His greatest achievement was making the extended bench on 2 or 3 occassions. For 2 years he has been supported and paid and given every opportunity to get himself back into senior AFL form. I have no issue what so ever with the club offering him a performance based contract. And maybe, just maybe his non acceptance of that is an indication that he doesn't think he can 'perform' and isn't willing to rely on that for his income. He can't get a free ride. He has had a pretty good run at that for the last couple of years.
I back Martin 100% on his decision after thinking about it more. If I was in his shoes, I would have made the same decision easily with no regrets. There is no way in a highly successful team that I would want to play on a performance based contract. I am putting myself in his shoes. Not playing footy since round 10 2000, Brisbane are playing great footy and to get into the senior team and stay there will be a huge effort to make. So If I made the senior team, I would have probably only played a few games because of how this team is performing and therefore, I will be stuck in reserves getting paid less money. Overall a good choice by Martin and he should look to the draft becasue there are a few clubs that would show interest in him.
I wouldn't be surprised at all if M.Martin ended up being picked up by another club in the draft. He'd look (and possibly) prove to be a very useful prospect at a number of teams, I reckon.
I am pretty disappointed to see him go, as I reckon he could have added a bit to our side in 2003. It once again puts pressure on, and hangs a question mark over our depth.
Beausgirl43
1 Nov 2002, 15:53
Hammond - Who? seems to be the pertinent question there. Never even heard of for quite a while, and most folks wouldn't know him if they tripped over him. No of course not because people don't be bothered in taking an interest in the reserve's side or the rest the senior squad who don't play in the senior team every week. In my opinion if you SUPPORT THE BRISBANE LIONS you should at least make an effort to familiarize yourself with whole team, after all they are all part of the squad.
As for Hammo ... his first year was riddled with groin and hamstring injuries at the wrong times of the season when he could have easily been picked to play in the seniors.
And his second year was outstanding he improved so much, he would of been close to being in the top 5 on ground every week.
cheers ... Kaz :o
keatings_gal
1 Nov 2002, 16:58
Amen Karen!!!!
true true true...
the kid was a ready made footballer when he arrived... he was fit & has the muscle definition of a person who lived in a gym... i was like.. oh can he start playing seniors now........
like kaz said he could have been picked many times in his first season b ut he was injured .. poor thing...
& YEAH HOW EASY IS IT TO BREAK INTO A SENIOR TEAM GOING FOR BACK TO BACK PREMIERSHIPS?????????
Hope he gets picked up by a team that he can break intothe team & that the supporters @ the club respect him & know who he is.. even if he is still only in a reserves side,.... but i know he is higher than that...
SO GOOD LUCK BUDDY!!!! GONNA MISS U!