View Full Version : SCG Curator should be shot

likka
5 Jan 2009, 15:39
Well maybe not shot, but he should be ashamed of the pitch he has produced for this test.

Only day 3 and the pitch has the stability of an apple crumble causing the ball the shoot on a very regular basis.

Usually when this sort of thing occurs it is a small section of the pitch causing the problems, but we've had shooters all day from all over the pitch on all sorts of different lengths.

alfy!
5 Jan 2009, 15:43
I don't know, I have seen some very entertaining cricket over the past few days. Better than an absolute road.

sherb
5 Jan 2009, 15:46
The thread title is hardly the way to lift the quality of discussion on the cricket board. :rolleyes:

But I agree that the pitch has opened up too early. It shouldn`t be playing like this on day three of a test.

Blue Dimension
5 Jan 2009, 15:53
It's terrible how it has broken up so early.

But its still 100x better than any Indian pitch or Road that we have played on recently. At least there's something there for the bowlers.

Dez!
5 Jan 2009, 15:54
It's better than the roads that they have been playing on for the summer.

Bowlers finally have a chance and batsmen have to work hard for their runs.

likka
I don't know, I have seen some very entertaining cricket over the past few days. Better than an absolute road.

The Saffas had no problem getting 20 wickets on these "roads" you speak of.

Got no problems preparing a dry pitch, but when it disintegrates so early into a test match the curator should be ashamed.

Hate to think how poorly it will be playing by day 5.

Spikey
Prefer this than to Adelaide....

likka
5 Jan 2009, 15:56
It's better than the roads that they have been playing on for the summer.

Bowlers finally have a chance and batsmen have to work hard for their runs.

What a load of tripe. The Saffas had no problems getting 20 wickets... don't mistake the impotence of our attack for substandard pitches excuses.

The occasional shooter on day 5 is acceptable, regular shooters on day 3 is inexcusable.

Warwick
5 Jan 2009, 15:57
There is a difference between a road and a tough wicket where the occasional ball keeps low or really starts to turn.

This is just shit. You shouldn't see a ball an over hit the pitch and roll through ankle height.

I'm all for more challenging wickets, but batsmen should have the confidence that the ball will not stop dead on the 3rd day.

potatomasher
5 Jan 2009, 16:01
I want to see a result, and some generally interesting cricket. A stuffed-up pitch will provide that.

alfy!
5 Jan 2009, 16:05
Don't mistake poor batting for South Africa's ability to utilise a pitch.

Johnson#26
5 Jan 2009, 16:09
Agree with Spikey, it gives us something.

It's very similar to the pitch used in the Fifth Ashes Test of 2002/2003, when Caddick ran through us, and Bichel top scored with 49 batting at number three.

crownie
5 Jan 2009, 16:15
wah wah the wickets are roads

wah wah now the wickets are to tough to bat on

:rolleyes:

Bomber Bears
5 Jan 2009, 16:23
Good to se eplayers being made to play on tough wickets, rather than the usual tripe that gets served up around the world

caboose
5 Jan 2009, 16:35
There is a difference between a road and a tough wicket where the occasional ball keeps low or really starts to turn.

This is just shit. You shouldn't see a ball an over hit the pitch and roll through ankle height.

I'm all for more challenging wickets, but batsmen should have the confidence that the ball will not stop dead on the 3rd day.

Totally agree.

I prefer to see Tests played on pitches that have plenty in them for the bowlers (which is a rarity these days), but this pitch is a disgrace.

And it's not only the fact that balls are regularly keeping low. It's the fact that the bounce is so inconsistent. When balls are also rearing and cutting alarmingly out of cracks, then it starts becoming dangerous.

We've already lost the best batsman of the series to an injury purely because of the pitch (on day 2, no less!), nearly lost Boucher to exactly the same thing, and it wouldn't be a surprise to see it happen to others before the game is done.

You had to really feel for guys like Boucher, Morkel, Harris and Steyn this afternoon, because they clearly had very little confidence at times about what the ball was going to do. And probably every expectation they were going to be badly hurt.

Thank God it's a dead rubber, because the thought of a match on this pitch deciding the series isn't a great one to contemplate.

bombersno1
5 Jan 2009, 17:18
This is how the SCG pitch was in the 80's or early 90's. Nothing wrong with it. A good batsman can stay in on this pitch as Boucher did. Not our fault Kallis smacked a pie to slip and De Vilelrs ran himself out!

Marklar_33
5 Jan 2009, 17:23

Well said... sort of :cool:

Im all for the pitch, been ages since we've seen an Aussie pitch crack up like that... now that our talent is beginning to lag, we need our curators helping us out to stay up top, although Indai wouldnt do it :p

bombersno1
5 Jan 2009, 17:29
Seriously most of you on here must be batsman..fair dinkum 95% of pitches are made to suit batsmen..and the 1 or 2 pitches that suit bowlers you cry blue murder. This is a perfect SCG pitch. Allows for turn, the pacemen have a chance and you can score runs if you stay in for a while.

fairdinkum
5 Jan 2009, 17:29

Just about sums it up.

emperor
5 Jan 2009, 17:56

Because we have gone from one extreme to another:rolleyes:. That's not the solution. Regular shooters on day 3 is pretty ordinary. Those cracks were very discernible to the eye on day 2.

Warwick summed it up nicely.

acuguy
5 Jan 2009, 18:06
I think the pitch has created excellent cricket, real heroics occur with the bat on day 4 and 5 on wickets such as this. The wicket hasn't caused too many dismissals, the wicket will also prompt some very exciting shot play by the Aussies tomorrow. It also means players must watch the ball the whole way and take nothing for granted. If the ball keeps low that is fine it is when it spits up at you consistently then that is when you should be concerned as a batsmen.

aaronm46
5 Jan 2009, 18:08
dont worry, ill take him down

smoovy
5 Jan 2009, 18:35
Still got a long way to beat the Perth pitch of 96/97. I remember Curtly Ambrose being run out when upon trying to slide his bat, it got stuck in a crack.

THRILLHO
5 Jan 2009, 18:50
We've already lost the best batsman of the series to an injury purely because of the pitch (on day 2, no less!), nearly lost Boucher to exactly the same thing, and it wouldn't be a surprise to see it happen to others before the game is done.

Hmm? I must admit, I missed a fair bit of yesterday's play. What happened to Clarke?

davey_magik
5 Jan 2009, 18:56
Hmm? I must admit, I missed a fair bit of yesterday's play. What happened to Clarke?

He was talking about Smith mate.

bombersno1
5 Jan 2009, 19:07
The pitch had nothing to do with Smith's injury. It was just a rearing ball from Johnson who at his pace will do that sometimes

jozeph
5 Jan 2009, 19:41
The pitch had nothing to do with Smith's injury. It was just a rearing ball from Johnson who at his pace will do that sometimes

The ball bounced off the pitch so it does share some of the blame.

bombersno1
5 Jan 2009, 19:45
Not when the ball was short of the length and it was a result of GOOD FAST BOWLING. Opening batsmen get injuries, barely any are a result of the pitch. That ball did not go off a crack, it was a result of Johnson bending his back and bowling a quality short of the length ball. It came back in with the angle, but that is the way Johnson bowls.

This is a great test pitch.

acuguy
5 Jan 2009, 19:46
Let's not forget it isn't call TEST cricket for nothing.

jozeph
5 Jan 2009, 19:52

Its good but not great.

sherb
5 Jan 2009, 19:52
I strongly disagree. A great test pitch is not like this on day three. If it were like this on day five, I wouldn`t have so much of an issue with it.

I wonder how many of those defending the pitch would be adopting the same stance if it were the Australians in South Africa`s position?

fraser25
5 Jan 2009, 19:56
attention seeking title, just like gee I dunno 'Ian Healy is an insufferable twat'.

roostersgal4eva
5 Jan 2009, 19:58

spoken like a batsman apolgisit - better than the boring roads we have been dished up

this has produced the best cricket all series

With 20/20 and ODI its about time Batsman were make to work for their runs for a change!

Cricket has always been a batsmans game - its time we see the pendulam(sp?) was returned to the middle

roostersgal4eva
5 Jan 2009, 20:01
What a load of tripe. The Saffas had no problems getting 20 wickets... don't mistake the impotence of our attack for substandard pitches excuses.

You dont want to see bowlers use that as an excuse and yet your using it here for the batsman.

http://thevoiceforschoolchoice.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/pot-and-kettle1.jpg

rickyp
5 Jan 2009, 20:03
are you serious?

relatively even contest between bat and ball. Runs are there to be had, if the batsmen is willing to make them. Accurate bowling is rewarded with inconsistent bounce and seam movement. Far better than the majority of pitches we have played on last year.

weevil
5 Jan 2009, 20:08
attention seeking title, just like gee I dunno 'Ian Healy is an insufferable twat'.

Maybe you should report it?

Juddism
5 Jan 2009, 20:23
I strongly disagree. A great test pitch is not like this on day three. If it were like this on day five, I wouldn`t have so much of an issue with it.

day three, it was like this on day two!

YOTC
5 Jan 2009, 20:33
This is a fantastic pitch. Every ball on day 3 was like "okay what's this one going to do?"

Enjoyed just about every minute of the days play.

Mario the Lothario
5 Jan 2009, 20:36
I'm not that fussed after watching the entire series in India and the first two matches in Australia on featherbed pitches.

It's about time the bowlers got a break.

weevil
5 Jan 2009, 20:40
I'm not that fussed after watching the entire series in India and the first two matches in Australia on featherbed pitches.

It's about time the bowlers got a break.

Yeah, got to say. I am just enjoying the genuine difference in the pitch from all the others.

Marklar_33
5 Jan 2009, 21:08

And if he had full movement in his elbow maybe he would have avioded it ;)

dr nick
5 Jan 2009, 21:10
i just hope this match last 5 days so i can see this pitch in its prime

Warwick
5 Jan 2009, 21:25
spoken like a batsman apolgisit - better than the boring roads we have been dished up

this has produced the best cricket all series

With 20/20 and ODI its about time Batsman were make to work for their runs for a change!

Cricket has always been a batsmans game - its time we see the pendulam(sp?) was returned to the middle
Not the first time I have been called an apologist. And yes I am an opening batsman and this is the sort of pitch we dread.

As I said earlier, i'm all for more challenging wickets as it has become boring to see bat dominate ball - grow some grass on the bloody things so the ball moves around on the first couple of days; let's see some inconsistent bounce that requires absolute concentration from the batsmen every ball; dish up a dust bowl that even Hauritz could turn one on...

But there is a difference between inconsistent bounce on the 4th and 5th days and balls rolling through ankle height every over after lunch on the 3rd. Batsmen should expect the pitch to rough up and crack as the game continues - but they shouldn't have to put up with pitch-length cracks that were starting to open on the 2nd day.

And cricket has never always been a batsman's game - uncovered pitches, lack of protective equipment, and Bodyline tends to indicate differently.

If the bowlers want to have a cry about the roads being dished up, perhaps they should learn to swing (or turn) one every now and then.

Total_Juddshanks
5 Jan 2009, 21:27
How is it a bad thing if the pitch occasionally favours the bowler from the get-go? Lord knows we frequently see pitches which favour the batsmen.

So far it has basically been a summer of roads, from a spectating perspective it's fascinating to see how the in form batsmen cope with a more challenging pitch, and which set of bowlers can get more out of it.

The only thing which sucks is that Krejza isn't playing- he would have been a lot of fun to watch on the last day.

Spook
5 Jan 2009, 21:27
It's terrible how it has broken up so early.

But its still 100x better than any Indian pitch or Road that we have played on recently. At least there's something there for the bowlers.

Its amazing that when we are winning the pitch is good but shit when we lose.

Total_Juddshanks
5 Jan 2009, 21:38
Its amazing that when we are winning the pitch is good but shit when we lose.

I dunno that we will necessarily win- matches have swung crazily already, and with our current flimsy batting order and the state of the pitch, it would not be particularly shocking to see us get rolled in a session or two.

It's going to be very interesting to see what happens over the next few days. One slightly bizarre theory is that it may actually ultimately favour the team which bats last, because it will be effectively unplayable for the last two innings rather than markedly worse for the last one as you'd expect for most pitches.

caboose
5 Jan 2009, 21:45
That ball did not go off a crack, it was a result of Johnson bending his back and bowling a quality short of the length ball.

Whatever you reckon. But I suggest you go find a replay and take another look at it before being so sure of yourself.

And is there actually a logical reason why you need to make multiple posts that do little more than say the same thing over and over and over again?

Romeo
5 Jan 2009, 21:59
I don't like roads but I can't see why we can't have a pitch with grass on it that helps the quicks on day one, the batsmen in the middle part of the match and the spinners later on. The captain winning the toss has to balance the difference between negotiating a fiery first session with batting last on a wearing surface. This sort of deck means the one losing the toss is in a poor position. Having said that if the Saffas had held their catches off Clarke and Johnson and not chased the latters wide ones it would be even stevens but it's not an ideal pitch. How about one which provides a contest between bat and ball but not one which ends up taking wickets by virtue of the batsmen's psyche getting in the way of how they approach the ball bowled. I don't think Steyn for instance could be bothered getting behind the ball which bowled him preferring to avoid getting hit on the glove. Morkel got out the ball after one which kicked viciously off a crack and some balls simply grubbed.

skipjack
5 Jan 2009, 22:38
Yes the pitch has broken up earlier than expected. As an (ex) bowler, I enjoy watching the batsman squirm a little.

However it is on a pitch like this that a batsman might make the best "40" of his career and win the game with pure guts and concentration rather than just planting his foot down the wicket and swinging through the line without a care in the world.

I am so bored of the absolute banality of Test match pitches in Australia. The WACA last week was a disgrace.

If the bowlers want to have a cry about the roads being dished up, perhaps they should learn to swing (or turn) one every now and then.

And maybe the batters who are having a cry should learn to get their body in behind it and play the ball late...

Warwick
6 Jan 2009, 00:36
And maybe the batters who are having a cry should learn to get their body in behind it and play the ball late...
A ball travelling at 140km/hr that hits a crack and shoots through bootlace height is simply un-playable.

It's not a question of "getting the body in behind it" or "playing it late".

It is pretty much: if it's on the pegs - you're out, if it's not - you survive.

Simple as that.

Anyone who has had the misfortune of playing on a similar surface would agree.

corporal
6 Jan 2009, 07:45
Awesome pitch, finally some excitement, can't wait to see how Australia go trying to post a good score and then how Sth Africa go chasing it!

After such a great day of cricket yesterday you'd have to be a fairly joyless cricket watcher not to be looking forward to seeing how this contest plays out on this pitch!

Bring it on!!!

acuguy
6 Jan 2009, 08:21
A ball travelling at 140km/hr that hits a crack and shoots through bootlace height is simply un-playable.

It's not a question of "getting the body in behind it" or "playing it late".

It is pretty much: if it's on the pegs - you're out, if it's not - you survive.

Simple as that.

Anyone who has had the misfortune of playing on a similar surface would agree.

Come on Warwick it is at this stage the batsmen needs to get proactive, bat a foot outside your crease be willing to get a big stride in and be willing to cop one on the body, i think if you ask Allan Border what he would prefer between batting against the Saffers on the SCG deck or facing the Windies on any deck in the 80s i am sure he would take the Saffers and the Scg deck anytime.

red+black
6 Jan 2009, 08:33
Yeah, great pitch, well-prepared :rolleyes:

http://www.theage.com.au/news/sport/cricket/boucher-blasts-underwatered-scg-pitch/2009/01/05/1231003939477.html

VETERAN curator Tom Parker yesterday admitted he made an error in under-watering the SCG pitch for the third Test between Australia and South Africa.

Snaking cracks on the pitch have caused some balls to shoot through at ankle height and others to clear the wicketkeeper's head during play on day three.

Parker said he was influenced by forecasts of showers for the eve of the Test and the first morning to keep watering to a minimum, but the rain did not appear. He said it was common for SCG pitches to crack and deteriorate because of the type of soil used, especially in hot weather.

"I didn't want to end up with a sticky wicket," Parker said. "The last thing you want is to take the covers off on day one and play is delayed because it's deemed tacky by the umpires. I didn't put as much water in, hence I'm not as happy with the pitch. It is dryer than I would normally like it.

Sort of like saying the Telstra Dome pitch isn't quite 100% at the moment.

Mario the Lothario
6 Jan 2009, 08:36
Mark Taylor just made the best comments I have heard on pitches.

the_interloper
6 Jan 2009, 08:44
Like a few people have already said, I like the fact that the pitch isn’t a road, about time. Some of the fifth day decks this summer have resembled a Day 2-3 belter, this is the way cricket should be played, tests the mettle of the batsmen. Think about how many advantages batsmen have over old players: more protective gear, restrictions on bouncers, better bats, smaller boundaries, covered pitches, the list goes on, harden up gents! :thumbsu:

Simon_Nesbit
6 Jan 2009, 09:01
It's a pity the weather didn't come on the 1st/2nd - as this would have been a cracking pitch. Instead it's a cracking pitch. :D

If you pretend today is day 5, it's almost the perfect test pitch.

Why can't we have the pitch deteriorate quicker?

Start with a Gabba Greentop on Day 1, then a (80s) WACA fast bouncy on Day 2, then the Adelaide belter on Day 3, the MCG low/slow on Day 4, and the SCG crumbler on Day 5.

Make the captain think, and the toss less important.

Can anyone remember the last green-top we played on?

Spook
6 Jan 2009, 09:07
It's a pity the weather didn't come on the 1st/2nd - as this would have been a cracking pitch. Instead it's a cracking pitch. :D

If you pretend today is day 5, it's almost the perfect test pitch.

Why can't we have the pitch deteriorate quicker?

Start with a Gabba Greentop on Day 1, then a (80s) WACA fast bouncy on Day 2, then the Adelaide belter on Day 3, the MCG low/slow on Day 4, and the SCG crumbler on Day 5.

Make the captain think, and the toss less important.

Can anyone remember the last green-top we played on?

Brisbane this year.

the_interloper
6 Jan 2009, 09:29
Brisbane this year.

For a session or two anyway.

alfy!
6 Jan 2009, 09:33
In conclusion, the SCG curator should have his hand shaken, when comparing his pitch to others played on this summer.

THRILLHO
6 Jan 2009, 09:37
He was talking about Smith mate.

Yeah, I know, but Clarke has been the best batsman of this series, not Smith.

caboose
6 Jan 2009, 10:03
Yeah, I know, but Clarke has been the best batsman of this series, not Smith.

You're joking, right?

Before this Test, Smith had 293 runs to Clarke's 204. (And that's without even taking into account Smith has been playing with a busted elbow and having to face the new ball in every innings.)

Underdog
6 Jan 2009, 10:14
crap pitch but gee it's been entertaining and refreshing.

rickyp
6 Jan 2009, 10:28
You're joking, right?

Before this Test, Smith had 293 runs to Clarke's 204. (And that's without even taking into account Smith has been playing with a busted elbow and having to face the new ball in every innings.)

Yeah agreed, Smith has been better than Clarke this series, but Clarke is definitely second, with Ponting third.

djboonie
6 Jan 2009, 10:36
This curator would be hailed as king in India.

Lucky we won the toss I say, and even luckier that our tail can bat!

Romeo
6 Jan 2009, 11:40
Curator has admitted that he ****ed up.

Tyberious Funk
6 Jan 2009, 11:45
If you look through the current score cards, the only guys that haven't really got a start have been Ponting in the first innings and the South African tailenders. Well, call me crazy, but guys like Steyn, Harris and Ntinni aren't supposed to be scoring runs. Normally, they're mugs with the bat.

And so far in Australia's second innings, the batsmen are working pretty hard but otherwise going pretty well. Heck, things can't be too bad if Ponting can score at almost a run a ball.

Would I like to see all games run this course? No. But it's fantastic to see batsmen actually working for their runs from time to time.

the_interloper
6 Jan 2009, 12:01
Curator has admitted that he ****ed up.

Yeah he did, it seems he was caught out by the lack of rain. There was rain forecast so he didn't water it much, but the rain didn't come. This would probably be the toughest bit about preparing a pitch (I really have no idea though), you'd have to be right on top of the latest forecasts.

Nankervis brothers
6 Jan 2009, 13:54
I don't think the pitch is too bad. Batsman are getting runs, bowlers are taking wickets. In many regards i actually prefer it to the roads they prepared in India. Or, for that matter, the roads they prepared throughout Australia this summer.

Illinois Nazi
6 Jan 2009, 14:15
4/257 on Day 4, yep this pitch is just a nightmare to bat on.

THRILLHO
7 Jan 2009, 11:18
You're joking, right?

Wow. Big deal. Flintoff was man of the series in the '05 ashes and his stats arent exactly mind-blowing. He just stepped up as has been needed, in big moments of tests. Clarke has done the same. His 88 and his 130 in this test have put Australia into good positions.

Doesnt matter what the aggregates were before this test, over the series, Clarke has been better. For all we know Smith could have come out and had a king pair in Sydney like Ponting almost achieved.

Spikey
7 Jan 2009, 11:20
Well he was 30* when he retired hurt so I don't think a king pair was gonna happen......

Oh and Smith didn't stand up?

the_interloper
7 Jan 2009, 11:54
Well he was 30* when he retired hurt so I don't think a king pair was gonna happen......

Oh and Smith didn't stand up?

Exactly, I think Smith should be man of the series. And what was the point of Clarke standing up, he didn't help his side win and Smith did, Smith >>> Clarke in this series.

nineteen eighty
7 Jan 2009, 12:14
Wow. Big deal. Flintoff was man of the series in the '05 ashes and his stats arent exactly mind-blowing. He just stepped up as has been needed, in big moments of tests. Clarke has done the same. His 88 and his 130 in this test have put Australia into good positions.

Doesnt matter what the aggregates were before this test, over the series, Clarke has been better. For all we know Smith could have come out and had a king pair in Sydney like Ponting almost achieved.

Mate I tend to think you may be a little blinded by your bias on this one. As much as I like Clarke, Smith has had a greater series than him and all other Australians. They will win this series 2-1 and a large part was due to Smith. Clarke making runs in a dead rubber does not make him a greater player in this series than Smith.

Oh and the pitch is a belter. Batsmen have had it too easy for too long.

Adelaide Hawk
7 Jan 2009, 16:18
Oh and the pitch is a belter. Batsmen have had it too easy for too long.

Couldn't agree more. What's wrong with seeing batsmen struggle a little for a change? Batsmen are the real softc**ks of cricket. Unless the wicket is a featherbed, it's called a shocker. You hear batsmen crap on every time they get out .. "the wicket was two paced, it wasn't coming on, etc" ... never a word about the crap shot they just played.

I wouldn't want to every pitch to play like the Sydney one, but it was nice to see for a change.

Fender
7 Jan 2009, 16:22
Best pitch of the summer. Was thoroughly entertaining and actuall offered something for the bowlers.