View Full Version : Accurate ?

OldLion
2 Nov 2002, 21:28
From the AFL site

" AFL is proving a huge hit with kids in Queensland, thanks to the double premiership success of the Brisbane Lions.

AFL Queensland (AFLQ) said the game's appeal had filtered through the ranks following the Lions' back-to-back premierships.

"There's been a huge increase in junior club numbers, in Auskick, primary school football, high school football, right across the board," AFLQ state development manager Mark Browning told AAP.

"I think it's been a gradual thing but there's no doubt the success of Lions has meant a huge drive in the push for boys to at least want to have a crack at it.

"More importantly, the understanding of the game by the boys is increasing."
There are now 80 teams across various age groups in AFLQ's independent schools competition involving schools traditionally dominated by rugby union.

"There was a lot of inquiries from the boys as to how they could get on the talented player pathway and realistically how these guys could find out if they have what it takes," Browning said.

To capitalise on the understanding and interest, AFLQ and the Lions last year set up a talent identification program, "Athlete Rookie Search".

Athletes are taught about and tested on the essentials of playing AFL.

Because it proved to be such a success last year with one participant, Daniel Merrett, pressing for draft selection this year, the program is being run again.

Stage one was completed at the weekend and stage two begins on November 27.

Mr Browning said exposure to the game was a key factor in the interest in it.

"On average these guys go to the Gabba three to five times a year with their mates so there's a general interest in the game," he said.

"I think because they are exposed to it they don't feel like they're starting from square one, they already understand the game a little bit."

... what do you Qld Lions think about this ? And this Merrett lad , what's his story ?

Danni
2 Nov 2002, 21:48
I think in some ways - ie participation numbers - it is very accurate.

I think in other ways - ie the inroads into the school areas - it can be misleading.

I attended orientation day today for the school my son will be attending from next year. An all boys school. This school is part of the CIC (Combined Independent Colleges) and Zone based sports, along with the ability to compete in other independant school/colleges sporting competitions.

It is in a 1klm or so radius of the Gabba and the Coorparoo football ground (that includes the offices of AFLQ, and AFLQ Development offices) and in a 500 - 600m zone of the head offices of the AFLBJ (AFL Brisbane Juniors).

Rugby Union is the code of 'offer' to the students. Aussie Rules, even as an Auskick Rules Clinic style that is most often run during the 4th/final term of the year, and as an after school optional sport, is not even considered. That is despite the fact that a number of the committee members of the Coorparoo Juniors either work or hold parental support roles in other areas at the school, and that those parents and other parents, have been pushing for the inclusion of the code.

If they can't break into a school in their own backyard yet, I don't know how many others they can break into, or ever sustain the ones way out that they have made inroads into.

How I wish that 1 vote that chose RU over Aussie Rules for the GPS and TAC schools all those years ago could be reversed.

BTW, any ideas on how to start a powerful petition for the inclusion/option of Aussie Rules would be muchly appreciated. With a couple of hundred 'new boys' starting at the School next year in the Yr5 and Yr8 intakes, and hot on the tail of the back to back premierships, it might be our best bet yet to strike a blow for the best code of footy in a school that is so far lost to the cause!

Danni
2 Nov 2002, 22:04
Also - most definately junior club participation rates are well up.

They could be much further up if the inroads could be made into more schools.

For example as part of my son's enrolement is that I am required to a sign a form saying that any school sport he is participating in takes precedent over any outside sporting interest he may have. That all school training sessions must be attended even at the expense of his outside school training sessions, even if they clash on a weekend or well outside standard school hours.

That alone will preclude alot of kids from participating in 2 arvo a week aussie rules training sessions and Saturday morning games for an AFLBJ club as the schools sports are on at the same times, and of course Aussie Rules is not a sport on offer.

OldLion
2 Nov 2002, 23:41
Danni,

Excellent description of the problem that is central to this discussion that now seems to focus on salary cap relief. It's about providing choice and creating an environment for kids to embrace the code and become champions. I think this response should be sent to the AFL, as they're softening us up for the ol' 1-2 driven by the new John Wren - Maguire. He's got a column in the Herald Sun that continually cranks up this issue- it's a version of the 'we woz robbed' script and now of course with Nick Davis ...

The line will be .. well, footy's going great guns, mission accomplished, now where's the champagne...

My kids naturally have any number of junior teams and schools to play with and, even in the off season, are awash with footy. They even keep the goal posts up in the park for a few shots .. so your post is timely and pertinent. Thanks.

So what about Merrett ?

luthor
3 Nov 2002, 01:06
Originally posted by OldLion
Danni,
It's about providing choice and creating an environment for kids to embrace the code and become champions..

The line will be .. well, footy's going great guns, mission accomplished, now where's the champagne...

What a pity that the AFL is so busy bowing and scraping to the self interests of the Melbourne power brokers, that it seemingly fails to appreciate that the "developing" markets in Brisbane and Sydney will ultimately provide their kids with no better than a 1 in 16 chance of actually playing for their cities of origin.

That's unless of course the AFL had a bit of guts and provided the "developing" States with some sort of "first call" on the promising kids who are taking up the sport.

But we wouldn't want that would we?

campbell
3 Nov 2002, 08:08
Next week in sleepy Kilcoy, which is so pro thugby it aint funny. They have at the local high school a program involving the other schools in the area ( about 50k radius ), an AFL program. Mind you kids who have played before are not welcome to participate, its for novices only.

A huge step up here. I wonder if they will have Busy involved, as tha his old school. I wil have the pies out and let everyone know.

FattyLumpkin
3 Nov 2002, 12:11
Our local Auskick program (Ferny Grove) has grown from less than 20 to over 100 in about 3 years. Additionally the club is putting together more sides in the under age groups to about u 16 now. Unfortunately what happens thereafter???

Presumably the cream will be forced to look to other clubs (Northern Eagles probably the closest - unless Wilston Grange take a step up). A couple of the local primary schools are very AFL friendly - was yarning to a PE teacher the other day who said the AFL program for schools was light years ahead of anything else. Need to push that support into high schools

One idea is to have a "School of Excellence" for AFL types. I believe Wavell State High has such a program for Thugby League, Mitchellton High for Cricket. Basically a place where good footballers go to get a bit more towards their development. A few holes in this thinking (eg. what is the rest of the curriculum like?)

Back the Danni's comments on Union. I play a corporate 7's day each year at Ballymore - I'm there cos I can mark & kick - have absolutely no idea about anything else). Each team gets an "up & comer" on a Qld Reds scholarship. Half of these guys are 6 - 3 plus, well put together & can move across the turf. In essence they are AFL players in the making. Makes me drool at the prospects of getting this raw talent earlier enough and making "footballers" out of 'em. Why are they playing rugby - almost every response is " I played a bit of AFL in primary school, but as soon as I went to (insert college of choice) it was all rugby". Such talent wasted!!!!

Cheers

Fatty

keatings_gal
4 Nov 2002, 20:50
well... no one @ my school likes AFL & i still get the crap.. we have a boys team... but they just wanna play the sport & dont care about the AFL itself.....so even they bag me.. but i dont care.... & im sure that most Qlders have copped this.........

yeah DANIEL MERRETT,,,,, no relation to the man, is from Southport & played rugby until that program... saw a few of the sessions last year & i reckon that it is hilarious... stealing the players from other sports.... but it is veryvery good... LOL..... cheeky but good.... he had a great Qld state carnival being in the Grand final team which went down to THE BEST TEAM - THE SOUTH EAST QLD BUSHRANGERS! after the game being played over a 3 day period... LOL.. veyr very funny..... & him & fellow ruckman/ key position player Brad Box who i also liked were picked for the QLd team for the national championships.... box didnt make it through the training but daniel "STRAWB" did well & was ruck as well as being swung up forward coz he has a great strong mark above the pack & all.......when u see him u will understand why he is nicknamed strawb.... although he too died his hair blonde blonde... the thing on the AFL website says...
Daniel Merrett (Southport)
Former Rugby player with less than 12 months experience in football. Made rapid rise to represent Queensland State U18 team this year. Very strong in the contest and overhead. 12 Dec 84 194cm 90kg

OldLion
4 Nov 2002, 23:41
Keatings_Gal,

Excellent stuff ... I'm still trying to figure out how a game (?) went for 3 days but .. this guy sounds very interesting for a number of reasons. For one, his vital stats. look the go. Will he get on to the Rookie List ?

BTW thanks for your exceptional coverage during the year on all things Qld. Lions. We really don't have a clue in Vic. and live a little in hope that all this will generate some young champions from Qld. to add to the sum.

tapestry
5 Nov 2002, 07:47
The old boys network of Rugby has fallen down recently, with our new CEO being a product of Nudgee Rubgy Acadamy, as is Tony Kelly and Aka.
There is hope.

Diehard Lion
5 Nov 2002, 07:57
Danni, I can understand your frustration with school sport, however it is not only football that is affected. It is accepted that in the Independent School system that school sport comes first. Most junior sporting competitions compensate this by having games later in the day. So you play for school in the morning and club in the afternoon. Just makes a busy day on Saturday. Most training sessions are before school or immediately after. Then boys go off to club training.

I thought junior AFL swapped over to Sundays this year to avoid clashes with League and Union games (as a lot of boys play both or all codes). This also eliminates clashes with school sport.

After years of doing the juggle I can tell you it is hard work but very rewarding to see your children representing their schools. It is a very important part of the school culture.

Danni
5 Nov 2002, 08:06
Originally posted by Diehard Lion
Danni, I can understand your frustration with school sport, however it is not only football that is affected. It is accepted that in the Independent School system that school sport comes first. Most junior sporting competitions compensate this by having games later in the day. So you play for school in the morning and club in the afternoon. Just makes a busy day on Saturday. Most training sessions are before school or immediately after. Then boys go off to club training.

I thought junior AFL swapped over to Sundays this year to avoid clashes with League and Union games (as a lot of boys play both or all codes). This also eliminates clashes with school sport.

After years of doing the juggle I can tell you it is hard work but very rewarding to see your children representing their schools. It is a very important part of the school culture.

Oh I am certainly looking forward to watching my son play school sport.

It is just so frustrating that playing his sport of choice, at a school geographically located in the prime area to be targeted for Aussie Rules, is not an option. Not even as an end of year clinic style option.

Until Aussie Rules manages to break into, and be sustained, at a school like his, then the 'development' stage of the sport is not going as good as it could. It's fantastic the amount of AFLBJ registrations and clubs that are around now, but the schools are where the work really needs to be done too I think.

Diehard Lion
5 Nov 2002, 09:31
Danni

As an experienced parent who has gone through the school system here is some advice. The teaching staff are really stretched to do any coaching. If your school is the one I am thinking of you will come up against a brick wall, as Rugby ispart of a deeply entrenched traditional school culture. I have found a lot of co-ed schools are offering AFL but it plays second fiddle to Rugby.

If you are truly passionate about it, you will have to offer your services and seek the help of other parents to run the programme yourselves. At primary level most schools are obliging on this. It will require hard work. The goal you should set is to form an AFL club for the school. This is a huge task and requires many volunteers. You will find that the teaching staff are not qualified or very AFL wise so the kids don't get much in the way of expertise training anyway. Another factor may be that you may be charged extra as they will bring qualified people in.

Unfortunately what you need is AFL orientated staff who are keen to bring it seriously into the school. At any rate it is usually played in 3rd term after the Rugby season. It really requires passion, persistence and dedication. I know you have all those and you may require some assistance from the AFLQ.

keatings_gal
5 Nov 2002, 18:47
i was going to tell everyone the stpry again but i thought i may not be able to fit it in with that post........

it was the first time that they would play an U18 Qld State championships in the twilight....

the lights were turned on & all.........
with 2:45 to go in the 3rd quarter........
when a car hit a electricity pole just up the road which blacked out the entire area........ we ( South East Qld Bushrangers[bushies]) were 19 points ahead at that time & we had played more than a half so we thought that they may just give us the win... BUT NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
& it wasnt just us that were annoyed.... coz the team we played were the Gold Coast Stingrays.. so they all had to drive back uop from the coast.... for 2:45 in the 3rd & the last Qtr.......

that was a sunday & we were going to play it on the Monday night but the Lions reserves had a pre-season game on that night & then we had to play it on tuesday night... we ended up winning.. but it was just weird...... it was a great win coz we lost our ruckman to a knee injury & had to play with just another fella in there giving it a go........so that is our joke that we won the 3 day game.........

yeah i reckon he will get drafted i have heard that alot of the melbourne teams have been talking about him if he misses out i think the lions r crazy not to take him.......

BTW thanks for your exceptional coverage during the year on all things Qld. Lions

good onya mate...........hopefully it does help... & i know that our league is rising in stature & talent & i believe that this year we will get a few kids drafted & i hope this can continue into the future,,,,,,,,,