View Full Version : Music that sounds similar

Darky
3 Nov 2002, 14:52
Listening to the end bit of "Amazing Journey/Sparks" on my newly bought The Who - Live at Leeds CD, I noticed a similarity between its riff, and the riff on Van Halen's "Little Guitars" off the Diver Down CD. Not enough of a resemblence to spark a copyright war, but enough to remind the listener of the other song.

Other examples I can think of, off the top of my head, are :
- The first bits of the guitar solos of The Choirboys Run To Paradise, and The Knack's My Sharona
- The solo of Gamma Ray's White Winged Horse to the solo of Rainbow's A Light In The Black

Of course, there has also been publicity in the past about rappers like MC Hammer and Vanilla Ice "borrowing" bass lines etc. for their lone chart success.

Can anyone else think of some songs that are a bit same-ish?

Stocka
3 Nov 2002, 15:58
The songs 'Cherub Rock' and 'Rocket' off of Smashing Pumpkins 'Siamese Dream' record share a common riff, and at one point, the solo guitar towards the end of 'Rocket' almost harmonises the tune of 'Cherub Rock'.

The Pumpkins actually recycled a lot of riffs in various parts of their own songs over their duration. Without listening carefully, they get away with it due to the composition being different between various songs. However, for those who listen more closely, you can pick up various similarities.

coxon
3 Nov 2002, 16:10
um, all oasis' sh1t...

:p

i recognised this one...

'wonderwall' & 'd'ya know what i mean'

eg.

'cigarettes & alcohol' = T-rex's 'get it on'

to his credit, noel admits it..

found a few here:
plagiarism (http://www.thefame.dk/biograph/plagiarism.htm)

Darky
3 Nov 2002, 16:12
Originally posted by Stocka
The songs 'Cherub Rock' and 'Rocket' off of Smashing Pumpkins 'Siamese Dream' record share a common riff, and at one point, the solo guitar towards the end of 'Rocket' almost harmonises the tune of 'Cherub Rock'.

The Pumpkins actually recycled a lot of riffs in various parts of their own songs over their duration. Without listening carefully, they get away with it due to the composition being different between various songs. However, for those who listen more closely, you can pick up various similarities.

Bands can sort of get away with copying their own stuff, because at least they're not ripping off anyone else's material. I reckon a few tracks off RHCP's "Californication" were recycled off previous albums, but when a band does it to their own material it's not regarded as rippping themselves of, but as being a "trademark sound" of that band.

As for the Pumpkins comparison, having had a quick listen I thought some of the guitar in "Rocket" was more similar to "Today" than "Cherub Rock" but once again, just a reminder of it, not copying.

Mcchawk
3 Nov 2002, 16:35
Originally posted by Darky
The Who - Live at Leeds

Always meant to buy this album any good Darky?

Darky
3 Nov 2002, 17:22
Originally posted by Mcchawk

Always meant to buy this album any good Darky?

Great value, especially considering it was in the JB "2 for $25" bin alongside Ramones Mania when I got it on Friday. It was recorded in 1970 though, so it came before my favourite Who album "Who's Next?".

Keef Moon is the highlight as usual, especially on "Happy Jack".

Mr Eagle
3 Nov 2002, 17:39
Motor Ace were obviously borrowing Oasis' string section for "Carry On"...

and just about anything by Green Day sounds very very close to anything ELSE by Green Day...

M29
3 Nov 2002, 18:42
Originally posted by coxon

'wonderwall' & 'd'ya know what i mean'

Wonderwall? :confused: You'e getting confused with Don't Look Back in Anger which starts the same as Imagine.

M29
3 Nov 2002, 18:47
Originally posted by coxon

to his credit, noel admits it..

found a few here:
plagiarism (http://www.thefame.dk/biograph/plagiarism.htm)

LOL @
Half The World Away, Burt Bacharach: This Guy´s In Love With You - Almost every chord is the same (though not in the same order)
So Burt 'owns' these chords? :rolleyes:

Half of the songs listed there sound nothing like the ones listed.
Eg Some might say sounds nothing like Ooh La La. (Which is a 2 chord tune btw.) ;)

M29
3 Nov 2002, 18:49

Of course, there has also been publicity in the past about rappers like MC Hammer and Vanilla Ice "borrowing" bass lines etc. for their lone chart success.

No no Darky, DJ's and Rappers who can't play instruments 'sample' these remember.

Shinboners
3 Nov 2002, 19:01
The melody from Aberdeen's "Cities And Busses" is the same as the Magnetic Field's "Take Ecstacy With Me".

sandeano
3 Nov 2002, 19:09
Essendon's theme song, "See the Bombers Fly Up" sounds suspiciously like an old 30'sd tune, "Keep Your Sunnyside Up".

The Brisbane Lions theme has a certain similarity to the French national anthem.

If you listen closely you'd swear that the Geelong football club has plagarised the opera, "La Traviata".

Man, I could be onto something here....

clucas91
3 Nov 2002, 20:45
Most of Kylie Minouges more recent songs have the same beat, just different tempo or depth.

vanders
3 Nov 2002, 22:12
eminems new one sounds rather similar to fight music that D12 did

vanders
3 Nov 2002, 22:15
Originally posted by clucas91
Most of Kylie Minouges more recent songs have the same beat, just different tempo or depth.

even i can agree with that...but doesnt bother me, i like it :D

Rusty Brookes
4 Nov 2002, 07:37

Great value, especially considering it was in the JB "2 for $25" bin alongside Ramones Mania when I got it on Friday. It was recorded in 1970 though, so it came before my favourite Who album "Who's Next?".

Live at Leeds is a great album. Entwhistle's Heaven and Hell is incredible.

Back to the thread, interesting that you mention the Ramones because: every second Ramones song (Blitzkrieg Bop, Suzy is a Headbanger, Loudmouth) and Louie Louie have very similar chord structures. The Ramones play at about 4 times the speed of the Kingsmen though.

Holy Grail by the Hunters and Collectors is exactly the same as More than a Feeling by Boston.

I heard some crappy so called R&B song at HMV which was exactly the same as P*ssing in a River by Patti Smith.

Leaping Lindner
4 Nov 2002, 08:12
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes

Back to the thread, interesting that you mention the Ramones because: every second Ramones song (Blitzkrieg Bop, Suzy is a Headbanger, Loudmouth) and Louie Louie have very similar chord structures. The Ramones play at about 4 times the speed of the Kingsmen though.

Yeah but who cares??;)

What about that new one by Chakira(?) and "Rock Lobster" by the B-52's.Has anyone else noticed this?
Also the old chestnut "Cocaine" by JJ Cale and "Sunshine of your love" by Cream.
And my all time favourite "Come see me" by the Pretty Things and "Counting the Beat" by the Swingers.They are IDENTICAL right done to the guitar solo.

Rusty Brookes
4 Nov 2002, 10:23
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner

Yeah but who cares??;)

What about that new one by Chakira(?) and "Rock Lobster" by the B-52's.Has anyone else noticed this?
Also the old chestnut "Cocaine" by JJ Cale and "Sunshine of your love" by Cream.
And my all time favourite "Come see me" by the Pretty Things and "Counting the Beat" by the Swingers.They are IDENTICAL right done to the guitar solo.

Good pickups with Chakira and the B52's. A mate pointed it out to me the other day. I never noticed that Counting the Beat is the same as Come See Me. Might have to dig out at the Pretty Things when I get home tonight.

As for the Ramones, well I own around 15 albums of theirs - if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

hourn
4 Nov 2002, 10:36
Under Pressure by Queen and Vanilla Ice - Ice Ice Baby but that ones pretty obvious.

I know there are a few out there that i notice, but i can't think of any right now. Mental blank and its annoying me :mad: :p

carneagles
4 Nov 2002, 10:38
Most of Kylie Minouges more recent songs have the same beat, just different tempo or depth.Kylie Minogue's latest single sounds like "Can't Get You Out Of My Head" sung in a silly voice.

That Shakira song reminds me of what you'd get if Lene Lovich joined the B52's.

Darky
4 Nov 2002, 15:40
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner

Yes definitely, TeenybopperFM (Nova?) is always on at work, and they flog that friggen song. Of course the market that mole appeals to, wouldn't have been around when the B-52s were.

Mcchawk
4 Nov 2002, 16:52

Thanks might be making the trip to JB

coxon
4 Nov 2002, 22:20
dandy warhols' 'bohemia like u' & rolling stones' 'start me up'

Brett Li
5 Nov 2002, 08:13
Primal Scream's "Loaded" and Rolling Stones "Sympathy for the Devil"

Oh yeah and did Crowded House ever write a follow up song?

Stealth bomber
5 Nov 2002, 12:49
Some of the most common samples involve drum loops. Countless numbers of rap songs have drums taken from James Brown or Sly and the Family Stone records.

James Brown's "Funky Drummer" has been sampled 134 times.

Another popular sample is "When the Levee Breaks" by Led Zeppelin. John Bonham's drums at the beginning have been sampled and looped so many times that it has almost become a cliche.

There is a comprehensive listing somewhere of popular sampled songs, by artist, song title, and genre, but I can't seem to find it at the moment.

PrideofSA
6 Nov 2002, 09:45
Shakaya (however it is spelt) Stop Calling Me (a terrible song)
vs
Buggin' Me by some Aussie dude (can't remember his name)

the Buggin' me song is better, but not hugely great

Darky
6 Nov 2002, 12:47
WASP's "Sunset & Babylon" is a rip-off off both "Blind In Texas" (also WASP), and Rocky Horror's "Time Warp".

Also, there's a passage (mainly on bass) in Black Sabbath's "Lady Evil" which is very reminiscent of Cliff Richard's "Devil Woman"! :o

Porthos
6 Nov 2002, 14:52
paulmac & Abby Dobson's `Gonna Miss You' is like the theme to Chip & Dale Rescue Rangers (except the choruses)

coxon
6 Nov 2002, 16:20
Originally posted by Porthos
paulmac & Abby Dobson's `Gonna Miss You' is like the theme to Chip & Dale Rescue Rangers (except the choruses)

now paul mac...
where the f*ck was he ranked in top 100 DJ's thread??

;) :p

Carlos
7 Nov 2002, 06:18
Just about any song Creed releases sounds exactly like the last fricken song they released.

For Chilli pepper's fans, the bass line throughout "Don't Forget Me" from their latest album has exactly the same melody as "Otherside" from Californication.

Darky
7 Nov 2002, 07:54
Almost forgot this one... the guitar solo for Gamma Ray's "All of the Damned" is a sped-up note for note rip off of one section of Hotel California.

bobbity2
7 Nov 2002, 08:15
Originally posted by M29

Wonderwall? :confused: You'e getting confused with Don't Look Back in Anger which starts the same as Imagine.

Biggest bit of Beatles plagiarism by Oasis would have to be the end coda of 'She's Electric' which is a straight lift off the end of 'With A Little Help From My Friends'.:(