View Full Version : Anyone do any sorts of Martial Arts?
delirious1
19 Jan 2009, 14:13
Including Boxing/Kung-fu/wrestling?
Im looking to get back in it, ive tried a few, they never really held my intrest, Anything someone could recommend me?
Im not looking for a style where i can go into town and beat the crap out of a few people, something a bit challanging and fun
It's all good fun. I do BJJ and am currently purple belt. I do it with Mag but he's still blue. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Screwed by the new grading system bitch. All your stripes are belong to us!
It's all good fun if you can find a good club that weeds out the ********s up front I've found, regardless in what you train in.
Shame you're in Freo, cos I'd get you signed up at our club and scam an Ipod from this stupid deal they got going :D :D :(
lennypham
19 Jan 2009, 16:00
It's all good fun. I do BJJ and am currently purple belt. I do it with Mag but he's still blue. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Screwed by the new grading system bitch. All your stripes are belong to us!
It's all good fun if you can find a good club that weeds out the ********s up front I've found, regardless in what you train in.
Shame you're in Freo, cos I'd get you signed up at our club and scam an Ipod from this stupid deal they got going :D :D :(
Drew, where do u train BJJ mate? I assume u are in melbourne, got a mate looking to get into it, but he havin trouble finding a place.
Delirious - Find somethin that suits ur personality/what u are looking for.
Is there an aspect of ur game u looking to work on?
delirious1
19 Jan 2009, 17:53
Delirious - Find somethin that suits ur personality/what u are looking for.
Is there an aspect of ur game u looking to work on?
Im looking for something which isnt just heavy on the fighting, i know how to throw a punch, im just looking for something which would help with my dodge groins, a little bit of fitness,
I would like something which uses kicking as well, because it looks super cool!!!!
I've done karate/Tai Chi/Kick boxing(didnt like it) in my lifetime, but only lasted about a year with Karate which was the longest
Drew, where do u train BJJ mate? I assume u are in melbourne, got a mate looking to get into it, but he havin trouble finding a place.
At Dominance Richmond (is it still Richmond mag?) http://www.dominance.com.au/
Tell your mate that Drew sent him ;)
But there are places all over, this is our "allegiance" so to speak but there are others as well
http://www.bjj.com.au/main/?page_id=31
If he wants he can look up Peter De Been or Extreme. They are ok schools from what I can see from the outside. There are others around but I cbfed looking them all up. De Been is the biggest franchise with the most students, Will/Machado (ours) is the first and has probably the best higher up ranks teaching in pure BJJ and Extreme are more a MMA and wrestling background with a few absolute guns in their ranks, you're always up for a fight competing against and Extreme guy. But without arrogance I'd recommend Dominance. We've got the most black belts teaching there in the state from what I know. And the facilities are second to none in Melbourne and probably Australia. You are welcome and comfortable if you just want to learn how to roll for a bit of fun and learn some self defense and you can go all the way if you are serious about training.
EDIT: And the instructors are genuinely intelligent top blokes. That can be hit and miss in martial arts no matter what you train in
Im looking for something which isnt just heavy on the fighting, i know how to throw a punch, im just looking for something which would help with my dodge groins, a little bit of fitness,
I would like something which uses kicking as well, because it looks super cool!!!!
I've done karate/Tai Chi/Kick boxing(didnt like it) in my lifetime, but only lasted about a year with Karate which was the longest
Yeah KB can be hard if you go into a place and all they want to do is get you in the ring ;) Great workout if you can find a relaxed atmosphere though.
Definately come along to Dominance, do a coulple of MT (or BJJ classes if you like the look of it) and see what you think.
While worth the trip I'm not sure he could justify flying too an from Perth 3 times a week to train ;)
Bodicifer
21 Jan 2009, 11:33
Aikido, but it is not so much a fighting art like MT or Boxing. I watch a lot of MMA and BJJ really interests me. Looks like it can be a good cardio workout as well and using a mix of power and leverage looks interesting.
RobbyRoy
21 Jan 2009, 15:05
I train MMA, but I'm basically useless. I'm alright at wrestling, but not a lot going on anywhere else, although I love doing BJJ.
Hehe, I've done a few MMA classes, but it's too hard ;) We just used to call them sprawl calss cos it seems all you ever did. That and burpies. Man I hate that exercise. Then when you're completely ****ed they make you spar. I think it's easier just being fat.
Bodicifer
22 Jan 2009, 11:11
I love watching MMA but the wrestlers and BJJ guys do make it boring sometimes to watch. Nothing better than watching the Ice Man go at it or some of the others like Bonnar and Griffin and of course Silva who are prepared to take you on standing up as well.
Haha, wrestlers yes, especially when they're main aim is to grind up against the cage and "nullify" their opponents abilities. The cage promotes that somewhat...
Watching good BJJ guys though, never. I'm a huge fan of the ground game, I'd much prefer a technical ground battle with some striking over a pure standup battle. I'm happy to watch ADCC and jiu jitsu comps too though. I'm always pumped watching guys like Maia, Paharles, BJ, aoki, almeida, jacare etc ...
Stand up wars are also good, but technical striking like Davis/Lytle for example was pretty boring whilst slugging fights Taylor/Lytle are more exciting to me, but then again I have never been all that enthused with Chuck Liddells standup either.
I appreciate all MMA, but yeah, I prefer not watching the cage grinding wrestlers given the choice...
RobbyRoy
22 Jan 2009, 14:31
Hehe, I've done a few MMA classes, but it's too hard ;) We just used to call them sprawl calss cos it seems all you ever did. That and burpies. Man I hate that exercise. Then when you're completely ****ed they make you spar. I think it's easier just being fat.
Burpies are quite possibly the worst thing in the world. The whole training sessions as a whole are massive workouts. I've dropped 15kg since I started doing it 18 months ago.
DoubleO7
22 Jan 2009, 22:20
I did kickboxing at one time, but left shorty after...
Burpies are quite possibly the worst thing in the world. The whole training sessions as a whole are massive workouts. I've dropped 15kg since I started doing it 18 months ago.
Agreed. Burpies are the most hideous excersise invented. I remember when grading for my blue belt in BJJ, I was made to do about 100 burpies over the course of a 45 minute "warm up" and then the other 45 minutes was grappling with the senior belts with burpies in between each roll. Vomit inducing.
krisholio14
23 Jan 2009, 07:12
I know Karate.
He lives two doors down from me :D
Bodicifer
28 Jan 2009, 08:58
Agreed. Burpies are the most hideous excersise invented. I remember when grading for my blue belt in BJJ, I was made to do about 100 burpies over the course of a 45 minute "warm up" and then the other 45 minutes was grappling with the senior belts with burpies in between each roll. Vomit inducing.
For all round torture I reckon the Beep Test is a shocker.
Grapppling is crazy. Until you actually do some wrestling or grappling on the ground you don't realise how fit they really are at the top level.
Beep test >>>>>> Burpies
I'll take a Beep test over doing burpies anyday. I only just restarted doing some training, Just bag work and fitness shit but want to start doing some BJJ again. It is an insane workout MMA, crazy fit at the top level. When you incorporate it all you realise how unfit you really are lol.
Burpies are full body destruction. Especially if you do about 100 of them :)
The beep test is just running. Hard sure, but it's just running, you definately get the 'i'm going to vomit' feeling, but you dont get the feeling of full body destruction where the next day you feel like you've been hit by a truck.
Actually the crossfit blokes seem to have the hardest fitness routines, they are just insane. Search youtube for crossfit.
Do burpies for as long as you do a beep test then get back to us ;) I think you'll be singing a different tune.
Bodicifer
3 Feb 2009, 12:03
Do burpies for as long as you do a beep test then get back to us ;) I think you'll be singing a different tune.
Ha ha ha...that'd be about 1,000 burpies wouldn't it !!! Let's set the 1,000 burpies challenge for anyone crazy enough...I'm tipping death would have to be close around the 500 mark !!!
I know burpies are killer, not denying it, but I just find the beep test a lot harder.
RobbyRoy
3 Feb 2009, 16:44
I'd do 50 beep tests before ever attempting 1000 burpies.
Yeah KB can be hard if you go into a place and all they want to do is get you in the ring ;) Great workout if you can find a relaxed atmosphere though.
I train Muay Thai, it's heaps of fun. I find the fighter gyms are better as you can learn heaps just from watching the fighters train, even if you have no intention of getting in the ring. It gives you extra motivation to be the best you can be. Otherwise, if you train for too long at the one place, you just end up going through the motions.
Yeah, I did a bit too. I wanted to suppliment some high impact cardio with my anerobic BJJ workout, which it was fantastic for. I wasn't bad at it and the coach kept on trying to get me in the ring. I have no intention of being punched in the head, and the constant requests to put me on a card forced me to quit. Great fun though, now I play squash instead.
Hmm, I heard that the Muay Thai trainer's protocol is generally that if you want to fight, you tell your trainer, not vice versa. Maybe he was just joking around, trying to put ideas in your head???
I think that depends on the club and the trainer. Certainly wasn't the case with me or a person I've know that went to another club. Not saying it's the norm though, just my limited experience. I don't think my coach singled everyone out though. Just those with enough co-ordination etc.
blue gunslinger
7 Feb 2009, 22:26
Pure Muay Thai and boxing for fitness and stress release
TheTrav
11 Feb 2009, 13:13
Just got the Bas Rutten MMA workout, the all-round fighting routine is f**king ridiclous, 29minutes of Bas yelling at you through your stereo, heaps of fun :p
Seriously though it's probably some of the best shit you can do, check it out if you haven't already.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mYmfmwUc3p8
It's pretty much 10 rounds of that, but gets harder in parts. Hardest part about it is the sprawling, once he says defense 3 times in a row you feel f**ked
If anyone wants the MP3, pm me.
Ludwig van Bertstare
12 Feb 2009, 21:05
BJJ.
Looking to study Muay Thai in a couple of years.
OneEyedHawk
6 Mar 2009, 17:36
I did quite a few years of Kickboxing/Muay Thai throughout my teens, and loved every minute of it. Is really good, practical stuff that starts to take shape after only a few months.
After a long lay off though, I'm looking at taking up an art which I can work towards a black belt, as much for the discipline and satisfaction side of things. My problem though is that I had an unsuccessful shoulder reco about 4-5 yrs ago, and am pretty curtailed by it. I can do very, very light weights, and could possibly (?) manage something like Karate or taekwondo, I really had my heart set on BJJ, but am thinking that all the groundwork would probably put too much pressure on the shoulder. Am leaning towards taekwondo, I did a little Karate yrs ago (about 6 months), and could take it or leave it.
Anyone know much about Taekwondo?
haha. And here I was thinking that that PM you sent me was merely representative of your kind and giving nature.;)
DESTRUKTOR
7 Mar 2009, 22:19
I did MMA for 2-3 years about 6-8 years ago. The class was called Bushido (in ref to the Japanese pro-wrestling/MMA hybrid), but was all 100% real. It was the fittest I had ever been. I loved it. I think part of being successful in your chosen skill is also to enjoy it.
We used to train stand up, but a lot of focus was on guard work, and submission holds. Once Dave the wrestler joined our club, things advanced a hell of a lot. Wrestling with stand up ability is to me, the most effective fighting style.
I am about to start training again after all this time, and expect to lose some weight and get fit again. There are no belts, no bowing to anyone, no foreign language crap, and a mix of boxers/kickboxers and BJJ fighters. I am not into formal fighting systems, so it sounds like it is made for me.
Will be in Geelong, if anyone else wants to come along, PM me, and we'll work something out!
If you're in Geelong you should try black belt studios, the BJJ school run by John Will. It has BJJ belts etc, but is pretty informal as BJJ usually is. Not sure how much it costs, but it would be worth the money.
haha. And here I was thinking that that PM you sent me was merely representative of your kind and giving nature.;)
They owe me an Ipod nano already damit! I've got 4 people there and you only need 2! Ahh well, come down anyway. It's great fun, if you can handle a beating at first. You will be owned for at least the first 3 months.
SonOfScray
13 Mar 2009, 14:35
I have a mate who is a black belt in BJJ and said I should come down and have a go. Would love to squeeze a night or two a week into my schedule. I think I'd prefer to have a go at some MMA training just for the sake of seeing which skills I might be more adept at and enjoy training in?
BJJ lads are just looking forward to having someone a bit taller, heavier in the midst to throw around I think. Saw them doing gradings and thought they would struggle but these guys were really well trained. I'll be 24 this year, so its a bit of a late start considering I've only done some boxing classes for fitness purposes.
Who's your mate SoS, where does he train? I might know him, there aren't that many blackbelts around....
GentlemanJeff
18 Mar 2009, 18:26
I have just returned home from 6 months in Brazil training with some of the Gracie clan.
I showed up with no bjj experience, and I left with a black belt in gracie bjj.
Changed my life. The day before I left Brazil to return home one of the instructors pulled me aside and told me that he wanted me to be the best of the best.
RobbyRoy
18 Mar 2009, 19:50
Haha that sounds feasible.
Tiger Fury #3
19 Mar 2009, 20:46
Im going to wait until after ive finished school (2 years) until i start, and im torn between MMA and Kung Fu. What do you fellas reckon i should do?
I almost guarentee you are lying about getting a black belt in BJJ in 6 months. That is actually just plain simple 'lol'.
I do Judo, im an orange belt could probably go for my green but my sensei doesnt really bother much about grading. I train BJJ every now and then but just with a guy who is self taught, but his being doing it for 5-6 years though. BJJ is mostly just to improve my ground game in Judo though.
As much as i love Judo, there is little to none work going around in my town espically for a recently graduated high schooler with no qualifications. So im moving to Port Hedland in Western Aus. Sadly there are no Judo clubs there so i may have to self train and hope to find someone interested in the little i can teach. Fortunatly there is a Tae Kwon Do club there which i will look at joining and also someone who trains in Kung Fu which im particuarly interested in training in.
Should be interesting. A change will be good but I still want my blackbelt in Judo, lol.
And Tiger Fury, i would suggest you take a good look into Kung Fu and see if its for you, then decide.
Maybe not so strenuous but wall sits are pretty painful after 4-5 mins, I hate them things
Our old wrestling coach made us all wall sit in a line next to each other. The person on the right would then stand up and walk across the knees of the others and wall sit on the left side then the next person would go. In a big class you're sitting there for a good 5-6 minutes including the people standing on your legs. Pure hell.
Yep, the Rev was a sadist wasn't he... :)
Another one of his classes, this was was MMA, we all lined up at the end of 1.5 hours of hard training and he asked how many times everyone tapped... going down the line of about 25 of us, everyone had tapped probably 1-2 times, and his count was 38 taps. So there after we're all destroyed he makes us to 38 burpies each to finish the class.
Sadism I tell you.
Our old wrestling coach made us all wall sit in a line next to each other. The person on the right would then stand up and walk across the knees of the others and wall sit on the left side then the next person would go. In a big class you're sitting there for a good 5-6 minutes including the people standing on your legs. Pure hell.
haha thats insane, Its bad enough the wall sit, let alone guys walking on ya legs
wce4premiership
28 Apr 2009, 23:37
I wouldn't mind doing muay thai...purley fitness based and self defence not looking for competitions.
Anyone reccomend it or is there better forms?
absolut9
29 Apr 2009, 23:13
I been training muay thai for a good six months and my fitness strength blance and stamina are far more than ever.
If you are going to study muay thai do your research and find the traditional styled gyms. Most claim to teach may thai but they're just kickboxing gyms that throw in a few elbows n a little grappling. However if you just want it for fitness then there is plenty of kickboxing gyms that will help.
Muay thai is the study of 8 limbs, but it can develop your whole body in a way you wont believe, especially for the also high cardio footy presumes.