View Full Version : Best rock movie

you_idiot
7 Nov 2002, 19:53
Apologies in advance if the topic has been done on this board before, but I'm inspired here...

What's the best rock and roll movie you've seen? Simple enough question...

Jen and I went to Blockbuster this evening and hired "Spinal Tap". Needs no description, really-- but all the rock cliches Rob Reiner really ripped on in this "mockumentary" still stand up, even 18 years after the movie's official release.

That's my personal preference... what's yours?

ozzult
7 Nov 2002, 20:00
Almost Famous

IAMDASH
7 Nov 2002, 20:13
Gimme Shelter

Stocka
7 Nov 2002, 21:27
Singles

Stocka
7 Nov 2002, 21:28
'Hype' was also good, albeit a documentary.

coxon
7 Nov 2002, 21:59
voted for spinal tap..

velvet goldmine was one i liked

jod23
8 Nov 2002, 02:27
Out of the ones listed I voted for The Doors. Kick ass movie about a kick ass band with kick ass music :D

Almost Famous was also very very good. As was Hard Days Night, just for the Beatles fantastic wit and humor.

Mcchawk
8 Nov 2002, 07:25
Sex Pistols "Great rock and roll swindle" probably one of the funniest thing's I've ever seen

pedrothelioness
8 Nov 2002, 07:51
Id go for Rock and roll highschool, that detroit city movie (with kiss) and for docos about music, the yr punk broke was ok, also like the movies decline of western civilisations...by pene spears.

Leaping Lindner
8 Nov 2002, 07:54
Originally posted by Mcchawk
Sex Pistols "Great rock and roll swindle" probably one of the funniest thing's I've ever seen

Worth seeing if for nothing else than Sid doing "My Way"!

My favourite Rock movie would be "Westway to the world"(albeit a doco).
Of the ones mentioned above I really liked "Almost famous" and "Velvet Goldmine".

Sinkers_9
8 Nov 2002, 07:58
SFW, That Thing You Do and AirHeads

Fat Pizza
8 Nov 2002, 09:02
Spinal Tap is great.
In a similar vein, The Rutles is also well worth seeing. The more you know about the Beatles, the more you'll like The Rutles.

The Hippie
8 Nov 2002, 09:27
Voted for Spinal Tap here, but among my favourites are The Blues Brothers, The Commitments and Eddie and The Cruisers. Not 'rock' movies as such, but good music anyway.

Agree with fat pizza about the The Rutles, is a bloody funny send-up about the Beatles...

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
8 Nov 2002, 09:38
My favorite is Nirvana Live Tonight Sold Out i reckon i have watched it 80 times.

I'll have to see Spinal Tap seeing as u recommended it to me on msn William.

The Woodstock one was on Foxtel and it was very very very weird but kinda cool. Looked better than the rubbishy festivals they have nowadays.

TheMase
8 Nov 2002, 09:41
Empire Records

TheMase
8 Nov 2002, 09:43
Originally posted by TheMase
Empire Records

Im pretty sure thats it :confused:

knuckles
8 Nov 2002, 11:55
"This is Elvis" was a doc/movie. Showed how badly he was losing it near the end. Especially all those karate kicks on stage:confused:

The CC rider theme on every stage entrance gets me pumped!

Good movie !

Rusty Brookes
8 Nov 2002, 12:28
Spinal Tap is a classic although more of a spoof than a rock film. I'll put a vote in for Decline of Western Civilization Parts I and II. Part I is a rather depressing but nonetheless excellent look at the LA punk scene in the early 80s. It's incredibly seedy but the music is great (Black Flag, Fear, the Germs). Part II (The Metal Years) looks the LA glam metal scene in the mid to late 80s and is one of the funniest films I have ever seen. Favourite scene is the 50 or so nobodies one after the other, ascertaining that "They're gonna make the big time". Other great scenes are Ozzy Osbourne attempting to cook breakfast, Chris Holmes from WASP lying crissed as a picket in his swimming pool with his mother watching him make an arse of himself and the legendary song Russian Winter by some no-name group, who in a show of US patriotism try to burn a Soviet flag and can't get the thing lit. Both films were directed by Penelope Spheeris who went on to direct Wayne's World.

Mcchawk
8 Nov 2002, 13:10
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Worth seeing if for nothing else than Sid doing "My Way"!

Yeah great when at the end he starts shooting everyone!! Pity some can't see this as a joke only :(

Pointy Birds
8 Nov 2002, 13:30
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes
...and the legendary song Russian Winter by some no-name group, who in a show of US patriotism try to burn a Soviet flag and can't get the thing lit.

The band was called London, and that moment's one of the funniest things I've ever seen on film. Truly hilarious. That was the political climate of the day though.

S.J Rollin
8 Nov 2002, 13:54
Hard Core Logo

Stealth bomber
8 Nov 2002, 14:15
Spinal Tap.

Its like "How much more black could this be?" and the answer is None.....none more black.

I actually bought the soundtrack. The songs really are well done considering they were written and performed by a bunch of actors. They can be quite listenable and catchy, even if the point is to completely take the p-ss out of rock and roll with all the pathologically blatant sexual innuendo. How can you not like "Big Bottom"?

lioness
9 Nov 2002, 10:41
The Rutles

:)

PrincessPark
9 Nov 2002, 14:47
Airheads
Empire Records
The Committments
The Blues Brothers

. . . and Garage Days for a new one.

Docker_Brat
9 Nov 2002, 15:11
This is Spinal Tap.

"Swimming in a sea of retarded sexuality.."

Docker_Brat
9 Nov 2002, 15:12
Originally posted by PrincessPark
. . . and Garage Days for a new one.

'Fun with Drugs Part 1'

:D

manutd/dogs
10 Nov 2002, 01:53
Wayne's World anyone?:p

Well, it's sort of a rock movie.

PrincessPark
10 Nov 2002, 11:37
Bill & Ted's Excellent Advnture/Bogus Journey

Particularly for Primus' appearance at the Battle Of The Bands and the Wyld Stallyns "God Gave Rock 'n' Roll To You" performance at the close.

"You might be a king or a little street sweeper
But sooner or later, you dance with the Reaper"

Darky
10 Nov 2002, 17:57
This Is Spinal Tap is the yardstick, but there are a couple of very underrated ones like Airheads and Still Crazy which don't often get mentioned.

Problem with some of these films is, that many of them (like films in other genres, eg Gladiator) always end up being love stories. Still Crazy has a bit of that, and even Airheads does (but not to any extent where it has an effect on the plot), but This Is Spinal Tap has none of it, which makes it all the more brilliant.

Watched Almost Famous on the weekend. It was good, but once again was tinged with a bit of sickening soppiness.

Most interesting thing for me, that came out of that film, was Billy Crudup's resemblence to The Scorpions' Rudolf Schenker, and the character of Rolling Stone chief Ben Fong-Torres bearing an absolutely scary carbon-copy resemblence to our own regular music aficionado Shinboners. :eek:

brampta
10 Nov 2002, 18:43
Originally posted by TheMase
Empire Records

yeah I enjoyed that one too!

TheMase
10 Nov 2002, 20:45
Originally posted by brampta

yeah I enjoyed that one too!
Yep great movie :p

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
10 Nov 2002, 20:53
Originally posted by Darky
Watched Almost Famous on the weekend. It was good, but once again was tinged with a bit of sickening soppiness.

Most interesting thing for me, that came out of that film, was Billy Crudup's resemblence to The Scorpions' Rudolf Schenker, and the character of Rolling Stone chief Ben Fong-Torres bearing an absolutely scary carbon-copy resemblence to our own regular music aficionado Shinboners. :eek:

Definately lookt like Shinners!!!

Nothin wrong with a bit of soppiness in a film either i thought it was quite cute. It does not make u any less of a guy for watchin a film that has a couple of soppy parts to it :p Anyway i pickt it so u can blame me.

Thought it was ok, dragged on a bit in the end. Was somethin i could relate to a bit how it had the groupies in it, kinda reminded me of a few of the things i used to get up to as far as footy goes. Does anyone kno who that girl was in it? The blondey with the curly hair....she was really really pretty!

coxon
10 Nov 2002, 21:02
Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk

Does anyone kno who that girl was in it? The blondey with the
curly hair....she was really really pretty!

kate hudson... goldie hawn's little girl ~

Leaping Lindner
10 Nov 2002, 22:32
I've just finished watching "The Filth and the Fury"(again) on cable.So that's gotta get a look in for me as well the previously mentioned ones.

"Ha Ha ever get the feeling you've been cheated"

Grendel
11 Nov 2002, 00:35
There is only one great 'real' Rock movie that I have seen. "The Last Waltz" about the final show of 'the Band'.

Simply stunning and a great piece of movie making in its own right even without the music (the interviews with the Band members could have been done as a doco alone).

An outstanding film.

lioness
11 Nov 2002, 16:55
I'd also like to mention 'The Beach Boys - An American Band', this now out-of-print doco captures the Beach Boys entire history (well to 1985 when the doco was made) with stunning detail considering it only runs for a couple of hours. :)

bragg
11 Nov 2002, 21:55
Singles
Sid and Nancy

Mr Ripper
13 Nov 2002, 16:23
Abba: The Movie.

Fun for dags of all ages.

Voted for TIST, btw. :)

GhostofJimJess
13 Nov 2002, 20:26
Wish I had of got in here a bit earlier ...

Spinal Tap, by the length of the straight, but notable mentions :

Decline of Western Civilisation I & II (did they ever do Part 3 Rusty?)
Filth & The Fury
Sid and Nancy
Pink Floyd The Wall
Blues Brothers

and a few under-rated faves ..
Singles
Dogs In Space
Airheads

TheSheik
15 Nov 2002, 19:25
Tommy & Velvet Goldmine are two of my favourites.

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
7 Feb 2003, 10:36
I just had to bring this back up after finally seeing Spinal Tap and say that it's the stupidest waste of time movie i have ever seen and god spare me i just received an e-mail saying that its gonna be on Channel V in a week or two blurgh!

Angus1
7 Feb 2003, 15:07
Pink Floyd Live at Pompei.

Awesome film about an awesome band.
Their arguments were lengendary to all fellow Floyd fans.

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
7 Feb 2003, 18:00
Originally posted by Angus1
Pink Floyd Live at Pompei.

Awesome film about an awesome band.
Their arguments were lengendary to all fellow Floyd fans.

Heard the best Pink Floyd cover this arvo when they played the Pearl Jam concert on the radio. Was that school song whatever its called?

Booze Hound
7 Feb 2003, 19:38
You're probably thinking of "Another Brick in the Wall".

Everybody

"We don't need no education........"

raticus
7 Feb 2003, 19:40
well a good subject methinks -

My fave of all time has to be "the filth and the fury" sad at the end

sid and nancy
great rock n roll swindle
Rude boy (clash movie)
got the sublime doco - has great music on that

dreamkillers
7 Feb 2003, 22:20
Originally posted by TheSheik
Tommy & Velvet Goldmine are two of my favourites.

I was almost going to add that surely Tommy had to be up there and even more surprised that Rocky Horror Picture Show hasn't rated a mention.

Other favourites are.....

This Is Spinal Tap
The Filth and The Fury
The Wall
Hype
The Doors
Buena Vista Social Club

Although not a rock movie in the traditional sense I have to add The Adventures of Ford Fairlane - Rock n Roll Detective......

and I'm sure I've missed quite a few others

roofus
7 Feb 2003, 23:36
Spinal Tap rulez!

btw, after Steven Tyler saw it he said that he didn't see what was so funny *grin*

Darky
8 Feb 2003, 03:08
Surely nothing can be funnier than a couple of dwarves dancing around an 18-inch Stonehenge.

Mr Eagle
8 Feb 2003, 03:19
"Do you have any artificial plates or limbs?"
"Uhh, not really"

Spinal Tap = classic stuff.

Wally
8 Feb 2003, 09:11
I'd go with This is Spinal Tap.

A few others worthy of a mention:

Sunbury '72
AC/DC - Let There Be Rock: The Movie
Cold Chisel - Last Stand
The Rolling Stones - Gimme Shelter
Joe ****er - Mad Dogs And Englishmen

These two, are more 'concerts' than 'movies' but very good:

Deep Purple - Scandinavian Nights: Live In Denmark 1972:
The MK II line-up in full flight recorded live for Danish TV just after the release of 'Machine Head'.

The Andrew Durant Memorial Concert:
Recorded in 1980 at The Palais, 16 of Australia's best rock artists of the time, among them, Mal Eastick, Jimmy Barnes, Richard Clapton, Broderick Smith, Don Walker, Ian Moss, Renee Geyer, playing together as one great band perform all of Durant's (who died of cancer a few months earlier) songs in concert.
Broderick Smith's performance of 'Ocean Deep' is brilliant.

-------------------------------------------------------
EFC: We Hate You Too

M29
8 Feb 2003, 11:03
Josie and the Pussycats.

WKB
8 Feb 2003, 12:33
I say Spinal Tap with a second place to Almost Famous.

If you get a chance listen to the bands Commentary Track on Spinal Tap it is as funny as the movie, brilliant.

Just one issue though where the hell was SPICEWOLD:THE MOVIE?

If you are serious about this poll then you must have the greats included.