View Full Version : What have you kept/bought?

Danni
8 Nov 2002, 07:40
..from the 2001/2002 premiership memorabilia?

After the siren in 2001, one of the first messages I got was from Shinboners reminding me to buy a scrapbook to put all the newspaper clippings, my ticket, etc in to keep it all together.

Great idea - unfortunately I never got around to buying the actual scrapbook, but I do have a box still filled with all the newspapers from the week before and the week after the GF. Might be a summer project this year to actually put it all in order.

Those printed ticketmaster tickets tend to fade pretty badly as well, anyone got a way of preserving them?

Curator put together a cdrom of everything he could find on the net to do with the Lions. News articles, photographs, results and match stats for the season, video clips, the song, the entire years worth of stuff, and I don't think he missed anything at all that was published all year. Great little cd to keep.

Dad has bought the obligatory shirts and caps, and the replica cups (went up $30 in price in one year for a replica cup - talk about a price hike!) and has a can or 2 of each years premiership beer, but that is about it I think.

I've heard some ppl mention things like the 'pie wrapper' from the 4n20 they ate at the game, or have put the scarf they wore into retirement as their own memorabilia for what they did/wore that day.

Anyone got any strange bits'n'pieces they have kept?

Slax
8 Nov 2002, 09:39
Got the record and ticket from 2001. It goes well witht he 1989 one where Fitzory won the ressies and 1991 where the Bears won the ressies. Nothing else but fond memories.

BrisGirl
8 Nov 2002, 10:16
2001 Grand Final day - 28 degrees and in the sun.

We didn't have a hat, came to the realisation pretty quickly that if we didn't get one soon, we were going to die of heat exhaustion.

Went out to the merchandise booth, and the only hats on sale were..... LIONS 2001 Premiers, they had ripped open the boxes and there were Essendon ones and Lions ones.......I didn't know what to do, as the ball hadn't even been bounced yet, I was tempting fate.

....but, it was 'buy it or get burnt to death', so....I bought it.

I went back to my seat, not without a little apprehension, and proceeded to cover the hat with my scarf. (Add a hat with a Lions scarf and heat was the winner).

The fourth quarter, with five minutes to go, I took the scarf off, it wasn't until I took the scarf off, I realised we WERE the Premiers of 2001 and proceeded to cry. The unveiling of the hat 'LIONS 2001 Premiers'.

That hat has a special place at our home and it takes pride of place, because there is a strory behind it and it turned out to be one of the greatest days I have experienced.

NathanD
8 Nov 2002, 11:24
That is a wonderful story BrisGirl.

All I've got is a 2001 premiers T-shirt signed by Lynchy at the Tennis Centre and the record.

Ally
8 Nov 2002, 18:28
We have all the scarves,hats,Tshirts,fridge magnets,posters,photos, premiership beer,replica cup,bumper stickers,premiership book,videos,DVD,tickets,airline boarding passes( went and partied in Brisbane straight after the 2001 GF),B&F photos,place cards,last but not least 2001 real tattoos and back 2 back tattoo on this body tomorrow.

keatings_gal
8 Nov 2002, 20:55
heheh yeah brisgirl.. & i will never forget u ,... my grand final buddy from 2002....

i have nearlly all that ally.. bar the plane tickets & the tatt... LOL

CarterS
9 Nov 2002, 22:25
I had a carton of beer from the 2002 premiership but is somehow disappeared.

BrisGirl
10 Nov 2002, 00:43
Originally posted by keatings_gal
heheh yeah brisgirl.. & i will never forget u ,... my grand final buddy from 2002.... .. LOL

......and I will never forget u......you kept me sane on what was quickly turning out to be the most traumatic time of my life.

Two Grand Finals in two years and two different experiences....not one alike.....other than the end result.

Thank you again keatings_gal, for being my Grand Final buddy.

keatings_gal
10 Nov 2002, 17:31
hope we can do it all again next year

adey115
11 Nov 2002, 10:14
I'm a bloody lucky bloke.

I did the traditional "run round getting your Weg poster signed by the players" thang in 2001. Got about half a dozen signatures (Harty, Scottie 2, Ferret Power, Pikey, amongst a few others). Shonkily framed it to take pride of place at home.

Then a mate of mine pulls some strings with a mate of his from one of the major memorabilia places - and for my birthday I got a magnificently framed Weg Poster, with plaque and full scores and details, signed by Vossy (Capt, eq B&F), Lethal (Coach), Aker (B'Low), Harty (N.S), Blackie (eq B&F).... so that one took pride of place at home.

So to get the matching pair, out I went again with my half crumpled Weg poster and texta in 2002... came out with 9 or so sigs - Aker, Shatts, Scotties 1 and 2, Pikey, Mal, others). Nice job from an amatuer I thought.

And over the weekend - my mate has done it again. He's organised a couple of doozies:
a) the 2002 Weg Poster, signed by the entire team, plaque, magnificently framed. oh my lordy its on the way and it will be good
b) the 2001 Panaroma GF shot - the one that is about 1.5 metres wide, taken at the point where the siren goes - Lynchy holding up the ball.

So this means that I have the pro 2001 and 2002 Web posters magicly framed, and the 2001 panorama shot... all with certificates etc. And I am one happy fella to have them.

And I've got a spare 2001 and 2002 web set signed by a few players which I no longer really need I guess. Any idea what they are worth?? (no certificate of authenticity though, but I guess theres proof in that I'm a mad Lions fan, and only a mad Lion would get them signed..) Should I give them a go on ebay??

allystar
11 Nov 2002, 17:23
ok well i have a box from last years grandfinal. which contains; the cork from one of the wine bottles we polished of b4 the game in the carpark, a bit of streamer which exploded onto the ground after the pre-match stuff had finished,i have my ticket, i have one of those ansett stickers which they were handing out to save the airline( not that it did anything), and last but not least my ground pass.
Now in this years one.. i have another cork, another gf ticket, no sticker, a ground pass, no streamer.

BUt i also have a few premiers tshirts from this year and last year, books.... everything!!! except for a tatto

blackys_chick20
11 Nov 2002, 17:49
by the way i did that last reply...... not allystar

keatings_gal
11 Nov 2002, 19:41
yeah forgot about the ground pass.........
& the streamer as well...
i got me one from both years... & from round 1 in sydney... LOL

roostersgal4eva
13 Nov 2002, 13:34
you guys and gals must realise how luck you are to have all that stuff and are able to meet the players - brizzie only come to adelaide once or twice a year & you dont get much here on the lions =8^)

still i'll neva, eva, eva, eva forget this year when lynchy got to hold the cup with vossy - pure magic!

keatings_gal
14 Nov 2002, 11:23
yeah mate....... u should start up the c/s down there & then u could meet them when they do go down there...........

keep up the great work,,,,,,,,,,,

& that was a great moment when lynchy & vossy both held it up

roostersgal4eva
14 Nov 2002, 12:15
yeah mate....... u should start up the c/s down there & then u could meet them when they do go down there...........

keep up the great work,,,,,,,,,,,

& that was a great moment when lynchy & vossy both held it up

thanx - yeah and the look on lynchys face when the final siren went in 2001 was fantasic 2 - he has worked so hard for so long to get those flags

i should shoudnt I but the only prob is that i dont know of any lions fans apart from the ones in bigfooty :(

http://www.smiliegenerator.de/s2/clicksmilies60403.png

keatings_gal
14 Nov 2002, 14:45
i dont know any either i dont reckon......:p
but maybe we could see if anyone on here knows anyone....... or ask the c/s's if they know of any in SA...... or ask the ppl on here if they know others.... i dunno...... just making up crap really..........

LOL

yeah both of the 2 lynchy moments will never be forgotten by anyone i dont think........they will both be etched in my mind forever........

roostersgal4eva
14 Nov 2002, 14:48
yeah both of the 2 lynchy moments will never be forgotten by anyone i dont think........they will both be etched in my mind forever........

I guess we are a sucker for fairytales :D

keatings_gal
14 Nov 2002, 14:56
yeah mate it is just too sweet

roostersgal4eva
14 Nov 2002, 14:58
i know :D

i think he was robbed of the colman medal by the tribual but he might get it seccond time around

LionsForever
14 Nov 2002, 16:27
- A 2002 Lions Gernsey
- A box of photo's from the papers of basically all the Lions
- Maroon, Blue, and Gold ribbons
- A Mini Brisbane Lion's pillow I've had for a few years (mum got it, funny though cos' she a Hawthorn fan)
- A Brisbane Bear pillow (still sleep with it every night)
- A Lion Teddy bear decorated in maroon, blue and gold ribbons tied in bows
- A 2002 Brisbane Lions poster signed by most of the guys when i went down to meet them at my first ever meeting with them :p
- 2002 tape from the radio (took up 4 tapes)
.. and today I got the AFL Grand Final book (geez, it's thick!)

Hmm, I'm missing something but can't exactly think of what it is i'm missing on this list!

Bjay
15 Nov 2002, 11:15

I play the 2001 GF video/DVD every so often just to see Sticks with the ball at the siren - brings a lump to my throat every time.

Of course, I have to watch the whole game first and then I need to watch the 2002 GF as well - seems I spend most of my time changing videos - what is my life coming to?

keatings_gal
16 Nov 2002, 21:11
yeah mate..........

roostersgal4eva
17 Nov 2002, 14:26
Originally posted by Bjay
Of course, I have to watch the whole game first and then I need to watch the 2002 GF as well - seems I spend most of my time changing videos - what is my life coming to?

dunno bjay =8^)

i copied the 2002 GF & I am still watching it today - it still is a great feeling to see the boys win ;D

I play the 2001 GF video/DVD every so often just to see Sticks with the ball at the siren - brings a lump to my throat every time.

im the same (& with 2002 when lynchy got to hold the cup 2) - you never foget magic moments in any footy game - THATS WHY THEY R MAGIC!

keatings_gal
17 Nov 2002, 19:47
heheh yeah we were watchin it on rippers computer on friday arvo.,....