View Full Version : Andrew Symonds - How Dumb Are You?

Pages : [1] 2 3

Johnny_Segment
23 Jan 2009, 17:18
For any MMM listeners, Roy & H.G interviewed Andrew Symonds this afternoon. Very early in the interview, it became obvious that he was quite drunk. Roy & H.G picked up on this and decided to play with it a bit and ask a few probing questions.

Firstly they asked him about the media's reaction to Hayden's poor form and he was able to slur out a defense for his friend, tripping over every sentence then repeating himself and saying "Tangent" about 15 times.

They then asked him about McCullums signing with NSW. He went on a bit how it was not the right thing, then halfway through could not properly pronounce his name and kept calling him McCallan. He then proceeded to call him a "New Zealand piece of Shit", then apologised and called him a "Piece of horse dirt".

They finished off by asking him about Haydens cooking. After commenting on how it's hard to focus on the cooking because he is too busy looking at Haydens wife, he went on a rant about how Hayden is a sissy because he has a coffee maker.

Now I don't begrudge the man having a drink on a hot Friday afternoon watching the cricket, all of us do it. But how dumb do you have to be to go on the radio drunk after publicly admitting a drinking problem. He would have known about the interview for some time, but still decided to get plastered by 6:00, then go on and embarrass himself yet again.

__aria__
23 Jan 2009, 17:43
Didn't catch it myself but sounds very funny. :thumbsu:

carntheroos4eva
23 Jan 2009, 17:45
Not funny. :thumbsd:

Willow_2000
23 Jan 2009, 17:48
He is a true Aussie!! Gotta love Roy

mark73
23 Jan 2009, 17:48
For any MMM listeners, Roy & H.G interviewed Andrew Symonds this afternoon. Very early in the interview, it became obvious that he was quite drunk. Roy & H.G picked up on this and decided to play with it a bit and ask a few probing questions.

Firstly they asked him about the media's reaction to Hayden's poor form and he was able to slur out a defense for his friend, tripping over every sentence then repeating himself and saying "Tangent" about 15 times.

They then asked him about McCullums signing with NSW. He went on a bit how it was not the right thing, then halfway through could not properly pronounce his name and kept calling him McCallan. He then proceeded to call him a "New Zealand piece of Shit", then apologised and called him a "Piece of horse dirt".

They finished off by asking him about Haydens cooking. After commenting on how it's hard to focus on the cooking because he is too busy looking at Haydens wife, he went on a rant about how Hayden is a sissy because he has a coffee maker.

Now I don't begrudge the man having a drink on a hot Friday afternoon watching the cricket, all of us do it. But how dumb do you have to be to go on the radio drunk after publicly admitting a drinking problem. He would have known about the interview for some time, but still decided to get plastered by 6:00, then go on and embarrass himself yet again.

So I take it you're not a fan of Symonds?

aussie1st
23 Jan 2009, 17:49
Someone needs to record it, sounds like something good for a laugh.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Jan 2009, 17:58
What a load of shit.

You honestly expect us to believe that.

Clown.

Johnny_Segment
23 Jan 2009, 18:04
They podcast the show, so it should be up on their site in the next few days. Really idiotic stuff by Symonds.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Jan 2009, 18:13
Look, i think everyone realises Symonds isnt the sharpest tool in the shed. So what? Why havent the media been all over it yet?

DIG
23 Jan 2009, 18:18
They podcast the show, so it should be up on their site in the next few days.

Cool. Should be a good laugh.:thumbsu:

Spikey
24 Jan 2009, 00:14
ANDREW Symonds will be quizzed by Cricket Australia today over a bizarre radio rant in which he labelled big-hitting Kiwi Brendon McCullum a "lump of s... ".

Symonds' six minutes of madness happened live on air with Roy and HG on Triple M last night. The hosts were heard giggling as Symonds babbled on about McCullum and, at one stage, Matthew Hayden's wife.
Symonds only a day earlier took a swipe at NSW for signing McCullum at the expense of a local player for tonight's Twenty20 final against Victoria.

Symonds told the hosts: "They're trying to use him (McCullum) as the out because he's a Kiwi.

"Yep, we love to hate them, but he's the lump of s..., sorry, lump of cow dirt, that people are thinking of. Now to get away from that, the actual topic is about playing cricket and getting into a final.

Asked later about Hayden's cooking, Symonds replied that he takes a "side glance at Hayden's wife'' as "it helps the meal go down amply well''.

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,24956196-5001023,00.html

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 00:19
Yeah, CA will investiage and do the usual stuff but nothing will happen.

Really, its a storm in a teacup.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 00:21
****ing hell, i just realised that Symonds is ment to be playing Grade Cricket today (Sat morning). I guess that offers some proof that when he turned up pissed in 2005 against the Bangladesh that his comment "I've played like this before (as in played drunk" was an accurate reflection.

Champion.

Spikey
24 Jan 2009, 00:22
Well, if it turns out he was drunk on air, you'd think he'll get in some trouble at the very least.

And isn't he still injured?

The Dice Man
24 Jan 2009, 00:35
Never really liked the guy, and I say this with a tinge of hypocrisy being the fine drinker I am, but never rated him as a cricketer and never understood the public's adulation for such a simple man.

Should retire and create a Fishing & Drinking TV program... Ill then become a fan :thumbsu:

Not a cricketer's asshole though.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 00:43
Never really liked the guy, and I say this with a tinge of hypocrisy being the fine drinker I am, but never rated him as a cricketer and never understood the public's adulation for such a simple man.

Should retire and create a Fishing & Drinking TV program... Ill then become a fan :thumbsu:

Not a cricketer's asshole though.

Never rated him as a cricketer?

Sure, at test level his career only really started to take off after that hundred against England. He could jag wickets here and there at test level and field like no-one else in the game.

At ODI level one can make a convincing case for Symonds being the best ODI batsmen of the last 5 years. At ODI level he is simply a superb all round cricketer.

At test level he is still not as highly regarded but there is no evidence his test career is finished yet.

You may not like him for whatever reason, helps of people no doubt dispise the man. He has earnt a lot of money for being a bloke of average intelligence. I love the guy, sure, i can admit his not the smartest bloke in the shed.

In saying that it is mildly to moderately disappointing that the day before he is ment to return to grade cricket he is moderately intoxicated. I guess that his business though and if he goes out tomorrow and peels of a ton then you really cant complain. There is really nothing to the interview, its all tongue in cheek. However, it doesnt look good but its really nothing more then a storm in a teacup.

Gibba
24 Jan 2009, 00:44
He's an arrogant and ignorant piece of shit. I would easily prefer to have a clean striker in McCullum than an overrated and overpaid idiot who continues to fail under pressure. The only occassions he has performed under pressure was in the 2003 world cup and against a mediocre Sri Lankan attack during the annual triangular series final in Sydney. He comes across from England to play for Australia and he whinges about a bloke who comes from NZ to play a game of domestic cricket. And people label him as a "true aussie"

The Dice Man
24 Jan 2009, 00:47
Never rated him as a cricketer?

Sure, at test level his career only really started to take off after that hundred against England. He could jag wickets here and there at test level and field like no-one else in the game.

At ODI level one can make a convincing case for Symonds being the best ODI batsmen of the last 5 years. At ODI level he is simply a superb all round cricketer.

At test level he is still not as highly regarded but there is no evidence his test career is finished yet.

You may not like him for whatever reason, helps of people no doubt dispise the man. He has earnt a lot of money for being a bloke of average intelligence. I love the guy, sure, i can admit his not the smartest bloke in the shed.

In saying that it is mildly to moderately disappointing that the day before he is ment to return to grade cricket he is moderately intoxicated. I guess that his business though and if he goes out tomorrow and peels of a ton then you really cant complain. There is really nothing to the interview, its all tongue in cheek. However, it doesnt look good but its really nothing more then a storm in a teacup.

The older I get, the less I consider the 50 over game a form of cricket. Dont even start me on 20/20.

As a kid I adored the ODIs but much like the NAB cup, I cant even recall who won it 12 months after the fact.

Gibba
24 Jan 2009, 00:55

I'm not a huge fan of the IPL but a bloke that was the highest paid international player delivered a crock of shit as opposed to a bloke who blasted a 150 with a minimal wage suggests how self-centered he really is. I find this argument similar to the case of foreign workers taking Australian jobs.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 00:56
He's an arrogant and ignorant piece of shit. I would easily prefer to have a clean striker in McCullum than an overrated and overpaid idiot who continues to fail under pressure. The only occassions he has performed under pressure was in the 2003 world cup and against a mediocre Sri Lankan attack during the annual triangular series final in Sydney. He comes across from England to play for Australia and he whinges about a bloke who comes from NZ to play a game of domestic cricket. And people label him as a "true aussie"

Do you know what the word "ignorant" means?

OVer-rated and over-paid.

I guess your entitled to your opinion that his "over-rated" but he is easily one of our finest ever ODI cricketers. If your to "arrogant" to consider ODI cricket "real" cricket then i suggest you move yourself to England. You'll fit right in there.

What the **** are you talking about regarding the times his performed at ODI level. His been the best ODI batsmen of the last 5 years. Easily.

Hardly Symonds fault his family moved here when he was a young child.

FFS, Symonds made an tongue in cheek comment regarding McCullum while he was pissed. I can assure you that everyone here has said something they regretted when they were drunk. Do you not see the hypocrisy in this?

The difference between Symonds going to the IPL and what not is the fact that he goes there from the beginning. It is a low act to fly a guy in for the final when he hasnt EVER been involved in the team at all. In that regard, Symonds does have a point, although he could possibly have expressed it in a less provocative manner.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 00:59
The older I get, the less I consider the 50 over game a form of cricket. Dont even start me on 20/20.

As a kid I adored the ODIs but much like the NAB cup, I cant even recall who won it 12 months after the fact.

Most likely the reason for that is that

1) There are so many games of ODI played. As a result it is harder to remember individual victories when compared to Test Matchs.

2) Most of those ODI's were one-sided. Lets hope Australia win on Monday and take the series 2 - 2 with one to go. You'll remember this one day series for years to come. I still remember the 2006 One Day Series in SA.

The Dice Man
24 Jan 2009, 01:03
Most likely the reason for that is that

1) There are so many games of ODI played. As a result it is harder to remember individual victories when compared to Test Matchs.

2) Most of those ODI's were one-sided. Lets hope Australia win on Monday and take the series 2 - 2 with one to go. You'll remember this one day series for years to come. I still remember the 2006 One Day Series in SA.

Disagree. I'll forget about it the moment the ball is bounced in the Rnd 1 game between Richmond and Carlton.

I'll remember this season's Test Series for a long time though.;)

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 01:14
Disagree.

I have always held the ODI in a high regard. Some of the greatest games of all time have been played in this format. Some of the greatest individual performances of all time have been played in this format.

The problem has been one-sided fixtures. I cant remember what happened in the Sri-Lankan test series in late 2007 other then Jacques got a hundred and Gilly hit a 6 and some tasmanian clown ran off with the ball.

One-sided ODI's are just as boring as One-sided test cricket. The problem of late has been that the cricket has been one sided. Now you can get Australia, India, South Africa and have a very hardly contested series. England would be in the same boat, and even the West Indies pushed us hard in 2008. The upcoming West Indies-England test series is going to be a lot closer then a lot of people think.

jozeph
24 Jan 2009, 05:09
The sooner this bloke is booted out of Australian cricket the better.

Glenno23
24 Jan 2009, 07:07
Isn't he recovering form surgery? It may have been a while ago, but why drink and go on radio the day before you are meant to play a grade game to help you get into some form to be picked for a very important tour.

Explosive cricketer, but he is a class A Knob. He just doesn't learn. That Bangladesh game, the fishing trip and this, I know we all make mistakes, but its getting kind of ridiculous.

likka
24 Jan 2009, 07:35
Ben Cousins board.

Has a documented history of alcohol issues, gives lip service to appease CA, but really has absolutely no intention of changing.

Cousins had many issues and incidents that were forgiven and swept under the carpet, similar to Roy, and he had to hit rock bottom before any form of rehab was a viable choice.

Showed in Darwin what sort of bloke he is... typical brain dead Qld bogan more suited to drinking and fighting than international cricketer.

Johnny_Segment
24 Jan 2009, 07:42
What a load of shit.

Clown.

Clown? I think we all know who the clown is now you dolt.

Alpha1
24 Jan 2009, 08:14
Proving once again why the world hates Australian cricket. LTD proving once again how in his eyes the Aussies can do no wrong. :)

mark73
24 Jan 2009, 08:47
Proving once again why the world hates Australian cricket. LTD proving once again how in his eyes the Aussies can do no wrong. :)

You seem to have a lot of angst in you regarding Australia. You don't show up here unless it's an opportunity to snipe at Australia. Is it just hatred or are you one of those people taking a stance?

sherb
24 Jan 2009, 09:09
How so?

Surveyed the "world" and categorically established the definitive reasons for their supposed hatred of Australian cricket have you?

Fender
24 Jan 2009, 09:16
What a gun.

The Cotch
24 Jan 2009, 09:17
Ben Cousins board.

Has a documented history of alcohol issues, gives lip service to appease CA, but really has absolutely no intention of changing.

Cousins had many issues and incidents that were forgiven and swept under the carpet, similar to Roy, and he had to hit rock bottom before any form of rehab was a viable choice.

Showed in Darwin what sort of bloke he is... typical brain dead Qld bogan more suited to drinking and fighting than international cricketer.
Cousins came out and publicly stated he had a problem, and is now doing something about it. Nice one. :rolleyes:

TassieSaint
24 Jan 2009, 10:06
Dead set legend. Literally lol'd at the coffee maker comment.

I think some of you guys need to lighten up, it was an interview with a couple of comedians after all. If he was supposed to be playing for Australia today, maybe I'd care.

carntheroos4eva
24 Jan 2009, 10:16
Um mate he's getting spoken to as we speak over the incident. You don't go calling an opposition player a pile of shit.

mediumsizered
24 Jan 2009, 10:19
Dead set legend. Literally lol'd at the coffee maker comment.

I think some of you guys need to lighten up, it was an interview with a couple of comedians after all. If he was supposed to be playing for Australia today, maybe I'd care.

He is supposed to be playing grade cricket today, as a step to proving he has recovered from his recent knee surgery. If he is not going to present himself in the best possible condition for grade cricket, then he should not be considered for selection at domestic or international level. I would confidently suggest that none of his teammates playing for the Gold Coast today will be turning up to play, after having had a 'skinful' last night.

Symonds obviously thinks he is above the game & can do what he likes. As pointed out by another poster, Ben Cousins was allowed to do what he liked for a number of years & we all know how that turned out. You can't just keep sweeping this type of behaviour under the carpet. Symonds must be penalised for this latest indiscretion, otherwise it will send the wrong message to other players in & on the fringe of the Australian cricket team.

It might just be about time for 'Roy' to go fishing with his mate 'Haydos'.

aussie1st
24 Jan 2009, 10:23
I see the funny side in it but geez if they got him talking about Harby he would be in huge trouble cause I can only imagine what he would be saying about him when drunk and the Indian board would be calling for his head right now.

Also don't think McCullum would be too happy being called a lump of shit.

crownie
24 Jan 2009, 10:33
Cousins came out and publicly stated he had a problem, and is now doing something about it. Nice one. :rolleyes:

shaving his head to get away with it?

likka
24 Jan 2009, 10:38

For many years he did not. It took his eventual sacking, de-registration, and arrest for him to accept the seriousness of his problems and begin addressing them.

There are parallels in behavior between the old Benny and the current Roy, except they have a different vice.

fryingpan
24 Jan 2009, 11:11
Symonds just needs to reitre, he's nothing but a nusiance and I'm sick of reading about him.

He's got a huge ****in head and he's not even that good.

Time to hang up the boots, matey.

borgsta2006
24 Jan 2009, 11:16
Pretty ****en dumb, but at least he speaks his mind instead of toeing the party line.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 11:23
The hypocrisy on this board is near unbelieveable.

Everyone who has ever been drunk can attest to the fact that they have said something they have regretted or didnt truly mean.

Anyone who has played cricket at a reasonably high level can also attest to the fact that players dont often turn up in peak condition.

I dont know how Symonds recovers from a drinking session, everyone knows those guys who can drink a cartoon a day and wake up as fresh as a dasy. At the end of the day Symonds hasnt really done anything wrong here that is worthy of punishment.

perthbombersfan
24 Jan 2009, 11:32

Everyone who has ever been drunk can attest to the fact that they have said something they have regretted or didnt truly mean.

Anyone who has played cricket at a reasonably high level can also attest to the fact that players dont often turn up in peak condition.

I dont know how Symonds recovers from a drinking session, everyone knows those guys who can drink a cartoon a day and wake up as fresh as a dasy. At the end of the day Symonds hasnt really done anything wrong here that is worthy of punishment.

not entirely sitting on the fence with this one, but i can see both sides of the argument.

you however have got some pretty serious blinkers on.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 11:37
not entirely sitting on the fence with this one, but i can see both sides of the argument.

you however have got some pretty serious blinkers on.

Lets examine the issue?

Sure his coming back from injury and drinking before the game isnt desirable, but as long as he presents himself in a good condition the next day then what should we do?

Fine him or suspend him for being a bit tipsy on a Friday afternoon?

Get real.

The only thing he said during the interview is that "McCullum is a lump of shit". Now that isnt that bad.

Im just not going to go over the top like everyone else is. Everyone else has been drunk and said stuff they probably wouldnt say sober, so why should Symonds be any different?

perthbombersfan
24 Jan 2009, 11:40
Lets examine the issue?

Sure his coming back from injury and drinking before the game isnt desirable, but as long as he presents himself in a good condition the next day then what should we do?

Get real.

The only thing he said during the interview is that "McCullum is a lump of shit". Now that isnt that bad.

Im just not going to go over the top like everyone else is. Everyone else has been drunk and said stuff they probably wouldnt say sober, so why should Symonds be any different?

has everyone else done it when they have been given as many warnings as he has?

have they all done it when they are walking such a fine line to be selected even when fully fit?

like i said, i am neither here nor there. i think he is valuable in some ways, but i also think that he just doesnt know when to pull his head in.

you really need some objectivity.

carntheroos4eva
24 Jan 2009, 11:40

It's not about him getting drunk it is about the comments that he made on Brendan McCullum calling him a pile of shit.

DK#8
24 Jan 2009, 11:44
Lets examine the issue?

Get real.

Because when most people say stuff they regret its only to their mates or to a lady at a bar. Not on live radio for thousands of people to hear (Many of them being kids who worship him).

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 11:46
Read my earlier posts, i said it was dissappointing to be drinking when his recovering from injury.

In saying that, its none of my business what he does in his spare time. It wouldnt be the first time someone playing grade cricket has consumed grog the day before a game.

But people here are going over the top.

As i said previously, those who dislike Symonds will be all over this, those who rate him as a cricketer will be slightly disappointed but hardly surprised. If he scores a ton today then all will be forgiven.

Spook
24 Jan 2009, 12:02

Yes I drink and get drunk (Did last night as a matter of fact) BUT getting drunk while getting paid is another thing. Symonds is recovering from Surgery FFS and had a game on the next day. I am involved with coaching A grade Amateur Colts and as a club we do not accept being drunk the day/night before a game.

You say he has done nothing wrong??? I bet his contract says other wise and then after making a 'promise' to his team mate and breaking that promise you say he has done 'nothing wrong'... well we all know you have very very low standards LtD but Cricket Australia and allot of other Australians may belevie that breaking a promise to close mates and breaking an employment condition is wrong.

I believe that Symonds does not deserve to represent his Country and IMO I do not want him representing our Country

Chris25
24 Jan 2009, 12:02
As i said previously, those who dislike Symonds will be all over this.

True, but it goes the other way too. Those who like Symonds will defend him to the death and not listen to any other opinions. Everybody will have a set opinion on this, there is no point trying to make people see the other side.

Personally, I hope this is the end of him :) He has had plenty of warnings, and realistically he will only be playing international cricket for another year at the most. Let's just move on.

Gibba
24 Jan 2009, 12:19
What the **** are you talking about regarding the times his performed at ODI level. His been the best ODI batsmen of the last 5 years. Easily.

I'm talking about the number of times he has performed under pressure. In the cb series, he ran out Hayden and failed in the 2nd final. In the test series, he goes out for a duck on a flat MCG wicket when Australia were pressured to post a total enough to bowl out SA. Yeah, he has done a lot of pinch hitting helped by the work of Ponting, Hussey and Gilchrist in the past to boost his average.

And honestly, what has he done in test cricket? He made a century in a dead rubber when the 5 match series was already won. And he had four lives in the century he made against India. He has contributed bollocks in the test arena yet the selectors persist.

LondonCalling
24 Jan 2009, 12:39
I'd hardly be considered Symonds' biggest fan, but, I reckon the good outweighs the bad here. It was fairly bloody entertaining to say the least.

The bigger picture is that things like this provide a bit of spice to 20/20 franchises that otherwise are soulless and otherwise, 11 blokes vs. 11 blokes. Hopefully there's some decent marketing types who can build up the "piece of shit vs. the alco" feud when their respective franchises play each other.

Hopefully this goes a long way to removing Symonds from the international cricketing picture, at least in a participatory aspect. I think he may have a bit to offer by letting rip occasionally from the sidelines. Probably would do it better than the likes of Hogg, Thompson and Harvey too.

And of course, what would the cricketing forum be without the clueless contributions from LtD? I listened to the radio show laughing at what Roy had to say, but also laughing more knowing that what he had to offer on the subject would be twice as hilarious. Give it up, mate. You're hopeless.

red+black
24 Jan 2009, 13:46
I dont know how Symonds recovers from a drinking session, everyone knows those guys who can drink a cartoon a day and wake up as fresh as a dasy.

This comment more than all of your others is a clear indication that you have been downing a few lately and don't always log on to BigFooty in the best condition.

Crissed as a picket much :p

TheColeTrain
24 Jan 2009, 13:59
A long was off being brought back in the Test team and quite frankly I am glad, do not want him anywhere near the plane that takes off to England in June, we can no longer carry his inconsistant stupid batting in the Test side.
And he has taken the opportunity to play for Australia for granted too many times, hopefully this is it for Symonds

Spook
24 Jan 2009, 14:01
I'm talking about the number of times he has performed under pressure. In the cb series, he ran out Hayden and failed in the 2nd final. In the test series, he goes out for a duck on a flat MCG wicket when Australia were pressured to post a total enough to bowl out SA. Yeah, he has done a lot of pinch hitting helped by the work of Ponting, Hussey and Gilchrist in the past to boost his average.

And honestly, what has he done in test cricket? He made a century in a dead rubber when the 5 match series was already won. And he had four lives in the century he made against India. He has contributed bollocks in the test arena yet the selectors persist.

I agree.

Also I wonder what his test average would be if;

1. He went to India
2. Was out for a low score rather than 162 not (but out 4 times) at the SCG
3. Didn't have the pleasure of great likes Hayden, Langer, Ponting batiing above him; and Hussey at a time when the Huss was averaging near Bradmanesk type numbers.
4. Played near 50% of his tests away rather than only 30% (18 of 26 at home). He averages 34 away and 90 with the ball away.

Also the following current players (who have played a test) all average more catches a match than him

Casson, Krejza, Hodge, Ponting, McDonald, Rogers, Hussey, Clarke,

Some examples of his 50 + not outs (average boosters)

14 v SRL in at 4-461 53 NO
15 v SRL in at 4-410 50 NO
20 v WI in at 5-326 70 NO

The above are facts and people like LtD try to make out he is one of our great players... FFS wake LtD and wipe up your sticky mess

didak04
24 Jan 2009, 14:06
Lets examine the issue?

Get real.

How many of us have the profile of Symonds? Have gotten drunk and done an on air interview on a well known radio show, slagging off a fellow international player?

Nobody is going over the top. What Symonds did is totally unacceptable and not the action of somebody who is serious about getting himself fit, in form and back in the Australian team.

OzBomber
24 Jan 2009, 14:48
I love Roy, but seriously. He's taken it too far. To him, everything is bloody un-Australian.

I still want him in our ODI side, just not our test side. But if he doesn't clean up his act, I can't see him getting back into the team.

http://austereo.castmetrix.net/podcast/378302368699164978/1/TheLifeWithRoyHGPodcast4AndrewSymonds.mp3

Here is the interview btw.

Spook
24 Jan 2009, 15:12
I love Roy, but seriously. He's taken it too far. To him, everything is bloody un-Australian.

And Symonds was born in Birmingham, England ... who is really Un-Australian??

Stupid F&#$sf&b&#$%c&k%

DIG
24 Jan 2009, 15:20
He's pretty dumb, lets face it.

But some of you guys have got to lighten up. And trying to downplay his achievements because people don't like his personality is pretty futile.

Been very good in the test side the last couple of years before the Saffy series - averaging 60-70 odd, and arguably the best ODI player in the world over the last 6 years, but................. we can't just keep making excuses for his lack of professionalism lately (this one particularly because he was playing the next morning).

Sean - your post is spot on.

potatomasher
24 Jan 2009, 15:36
Just listened to it, that was great. He said a few things he wouldn't have said sober, but I don't reckon it was too bad at all. Nothing worth worrying about.

Admiral Afterworld
24 Jan 2009, 17:55
If Symonds wasn't any good at cricket I suspect he'd be mixing concrete for a living.

__aria__
24 Jan 2009, 17:57
He didn't say anything too bad in the interview but my god he is dumb.

Colin Grigson
24 Jan 2009, 18:06
who cares if he was pissed, all of what he said is correct.

I always thought McCullum was a lump of 'dirt' and Roy's endorsement of this fact merely re-enforces my original assessment :thumbsu:

OzBomber
24 Jan 2009, 18:26
If Symonds wasn't any good at cricket I suspect he'd be mixing concrete for a living.
I reckon he'd be playing for the Broncos.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 19:21
I'd hardly be considered Symonds' biggest fan, but, I reckon the good outweighs the bad here. It was fairly bloody entertaining to say the least.

The bigger picture is that things like this provide a bit of spice to 20/20 franchises that otherwise are soulless and otherwise, 11 blokes vs. 11 blokes. Hopefully there's some decent marketing types who can build up the "piece of shit vs. the alco" feud when their respective franchises play each other.

Hopefully this goes a long way to removing Symonds from the international cricketing picture, at least in a participatory aspect. I think he may have a bit to offer by letting rip occasionally from the sidelines. Probably would do it better than the likes of Hogg, Thompson and Harvey too.

And of course, what would the cricketing forum be without the clueless contributions from LtD? I listened to the radio show laughing at what Roy had to say, but also laughing more knowing that what he had to offer on the subject would be twice as hilarious. Give it up, mate. You're hopeless.

Clueless?, who can forget the "boys in the office on a saturday" episode from you. I dont give your posts the time of day, nothing personal love.

I just find it very strange that people are willing to kick roy out of the international setup forever based on a few incidents. Sure, it isnt good that he was pissed before a grade game, im not going to disguise that. There were other incidents as well with the fishing episode and whatnot.

But in reality this latest incident is relatively harmless, its no-ones business what Roy does on a Friday afternoon. His not representing Australia the next day and he wouldnt be the first grade cricketer who has drunk grog before a game. People are making too much out of this.

The sad thing is if Roy did come back for the last SA one day game and blasted a ton all you people would be hailing him in typical BF style. **** just do a simple search on Mitchell Johnson and look at the shit written about him in the past year. You guys change your tune and jump on whatever rusted out bandwagon is passing your shithouse shanty in your bogan street.

There is a "bash Andrew Symonds" phase going on and certain posters are even willing to fabricate vile rumours (Such as the clown, London Calling). No doubt WHEN Symonds does return, and be in zero doubt he will return, and starts blazing tons and taking our ODI middle order and giving it a kick in the arse you lot will talking about him and hailing him.

Really, tall poppy syndrome is in evidence when a guy makes a tipsy radio interview and people are calling for his head. Roy isnt the smartest tool in the shed but neither are the bogan miners who pay 80 000 dollars for a ute and there are heaps of them around. Roy is a gun cricketer, we are missing him greatly in ODI cricket and in full fitness id have him in the test side as well.

PS: lets hope the NSW blues get up against the Vics shall we? :D

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 19:32

I still want him in our ODI side, just not our test side. But if he doesn't clean up his act, I can't see him getting back into the team.

http://austereo.castmetrix.net/podcast/378302368699164978/1/TheLifeWithRoyHGPodcast4AndrewSymonds.mp3

Here is the interview btw.

Taken it to far?

It was a radio interview, you have got to be joking.

I want him in the test side and ODI side. Not just for his batting but for his bowling, especially in test cricket. We have missed his seamers greatly.

This reminds me of the incident when Tony Greig was involved with the mail order bride incideny. Not so much the actual incident but the "investigation" that followed. Ch 9 send they were doing an investigation when in reality they sent Greig off on an all expenses paid holiday but it shut the masses up from their bleating and whinging.

You lot should get off your high horses.

Since the start of the Sri Lankan summer Symonds has averaged 37 with the bat and that doesnt include his 160 odd not out that everyone froths at the mouth when its mentioned.

More importantly, his taken 13 wickets @ 31 and i included the innings against SA when he was bowling off one leg.

Even when i have discounted his highest score his statistics are more then justifable for keeping in the side as an all-rounder.

You lot really dont know much about the game do you.

The Reaper
24 Jan 2009, 20:34
Taken it to far?

It was a radio interview, you have got to be joking.

I want him in the test side and ODI side. Not just for his batting but for his bowling, especially in test cricket. We have missed his seamers greatly.

This reminds me of the incident when Tony Greig was involved with the mail order bride incideny. Not so much the actual incident but the "investigation" that followed. Ch 9 send they were doing an investigation when in reality they sent Greig off on an all expenses paid holiday but it shut the masses up from their bleating and whinging.

You lot should get off your high horses.

Since the start of the Sri Lankan summer Symonds has averaged 37 with the bat and that doesnt include his 160 odd not out that everyone froths at the mouth when its mentioned.

More importantly, his taken 13 wickets @ 31 and i included the innings against SA when he was bowling off one leg.

Even when i have discounted his highest score his statistics are more then justifable for keeping in the side as an all-rounder.

You lot really dont know much about the game do you.

symonds does not belong in the test team

chapmanmagic35
24 Jan 2009, 21:36
He's an imbecile.

The dumbest man in sport.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 21:37
On what basis?

Behaviour, Form, Age?

I have given my reasoning. That is, if we are going to pick an allrounder at number 6, then our best bet is Andrew Symonds or Shane Watson. Andrew McDonald looks like a decent enough cricketer and he was probably the difference between the teams we selected in the first and second test matchs in that we had a guy who could 3 or 4 wickets a game and still bat.

Andrew Symonds to me is good enough to be in that side on the provision that he is fit enough to bowl his medium pacers. In my analysis i even discounted Symonds 163 not out and still it is clear that his numbers are good enough.

This board is going through a "Symonds hate phase" but lets be honest, if Symonds came back for the Perth ODI against SA and blasted a ton then this board would be in raptures.

LondonCalling
24 Jan 2009, 21:41
What a load of shit.

Clown.

I just thought this post didn't get the acknowledgement it deserved.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 21:50
So what?

chapmanmagic35
24 Jan 2009, 22:01
On what basis?

Behaviour, Form, Age?

I have given my reasoning. That is, if we are going to pick an allrounder at number 6, then our best bet is Andrew Symonds or Shane Watson. Andrew McDonald looks like a decent enough cricketer and he was probably the difference between the teams we selected in the first and second test matchs in that we had a guy who could 3 or 4 wickets a game and still bat.

Andrew Symonds to me is good enough to be in that side on the provision that he is fit enough to bowl his medium pacers. In my analysis i even discounted Symonds 163 not out and still it is clear that his numbers are good enough.

This board is going through a "Symonds hate phase" but lets be honest, if Symonds came back for the Perth ODI against SA and blasted a ton then this board would be in raptures.

Good player. Tool of a bloke.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 22:05
How insightful.

TimeIsRunningOut
24 Jan 2009, 22:16
What on earth would Symonds have to do to get some criticism from LtD? That's the real question. I reckon if he bumped off his mother it might draw a "even the best of blokes make mistakes".

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 22:47
I dont know what posts you have been reading of mine.

I have said constantly that its disappointing that he A) consumed alcohol the day before a return game and B) called McCullum a "lump of shit". I have already said that its no secret that Symonds isn't the "sharpest tool in the shed". In saying that there is heaps of people out in society who arent much smarter, exhibit a, the idiots who fork out 80 000 for a UTE.

However, looking at the incident in perspective in is no secret that often people playing grade cricket get on the turps the previous day. I have seen in constantly, especially if the game is in the afternoon. I have even seen guys half tanked feeling on the bounday, ****, one time one guy even had a beer during the lunch break and this was in first grade. So in that regard, it really doesnt surprise me Symonds got on the grog on Friday.

Calling someone a "lump of shit" isnt good but to me it was more tongue in cheek and he quickly realised what he had said.

It is interesting however that a guy like Shane Warne can get into numerous incidents during his career and not endure the type of hatred, at least from people who follow cricket, that Symonds does. Sure Warne was a great player but there is a bit of hypocrisy here.

mouche
24 Jan 2009, 22:55
So what?

You are a clown mate take some time out and go back a read your post in this forum you have gone from saying that it never happened to there was nothing in it. I heard the interview last night and was unable to post on this forum because some moderator locked it since it was "pointless". you are clearly missing the point which is not him drinking before a grade cricket match and say that he has done nothing wrong shows you complete unwillingness to admit fault in an australian cricketer. As i said before the point is not that he was drinking before a grade match it is that his bloke has admitted to a drinking problem and to humiliate himself and the people who have shown faith in him over the last 6 months by going on air blind drunk and running his mouth whilst mind you trying to resurrect his career.

Gibba
24 Jan 2009, 23:15
I agree.

1. He went to India
3. Didn't have the pleasure of great likes Hayden, Langer, Ponting batiing above him; and Hussey at a time when the Huss was averaging near Bradmanesk type numbers.
4. Played near 50% of his tests away rather than only 30% (18 of 26 at home). He averages 34 away and 90 with the ball away.

Also the following current players (who have played a test) all average more catches a match than him

The above are facts and people like LtD try to make out he is one of our great players... FFS wake LtD and wipe up your sticky mess

Thank you for providing some stats to justify my point and thus futher proving how much of an overrated flog this bloke is. LTD is blinded by patriotism, enough said.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 23:27
I agree.

1. He went to India

Wow, look out, they're facts are they.

Last time he went to India he absolutely annhilated the Indian cricket team, so take that how you wish.

Lets consider Symonds stats from AFTER his hundred against England at the MCG in 2006.

FOr you children ill leave out his 163 not out and consider not outs as OUTS even though its hardly his fault where he bats and if the captain declares. What a ridicilous argument.

So from Symonds scoring his century agaisnt England (his 2 centuries are not including in the analysis) he has averaged 38 with the bat. With those 2 centuries classifed as outs then he would average 47.

From that moment against England he has averaged 31 with the ball. Considering he is being picked as an allrounder then an average of 37 with the bat and 31 with the ball is very good.

Hey, i have even excluded his 2 centuries and clasified not outs as outs.

PWNED.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jan 2009, 23:27
Thank you for providing some stats to justify my point and thus futher proving how much of an overrated flog this bloke is. LTD is blinded by patriotism, enough said.

Refer to my post above.

weevil
24 Jan 2009, 23:29
I heard the interview last night and was unable to post on this forum because some moderator locked it since it was "pointless".

Just to be clear. It was locked because at the time it appeared to be a completely unsubstantiated claim. We get loads of trolls making massive exaggerations, the claims looked so OTT that they could not possible be real. Turns out they were real, and the thread was opened back up.

krisholio14
24 Jan 2009, 23:46
I wonder when Symmo will be asked to join Oasis?

I wish Roy and HG asked him if he'd been using an esky :D

I thought the interview was piss funny myself. He may be as thick as two planks but Roy Boy is pretty good value if you ask me :thumbsu:

fella1
25 Jan 2009, 00:01
I have to say that I don't think Symonds can really be condemned for his comments. Compared to flunking off his cricket duties to go fishing, this interview really is relatively innocuous.

With regard to the McCullum comments:
Technically, he wasn't even calling McCullum a "lump of shit". He was actually defending McCullum by arguing that he had been unfairly condemned, when in fact it is the system (which allows these ridiculous last minute transfers to occur) that is the problem. Here are the quotes to back it up:

"This isn't about McCullum the cricketer, this is about the system."

"That's what the hierarchy want us to do, to blame it on McCallum...They are trying to use him as the out, cos he's a Kiwi." <- defending McCallum

"He's the lump of shit that people are thinking about, but...the actual topic is about playing cricket and getting into a final." <- criticising the system which allows NSW to include McCullum at the expense of a young Australian player.

With regard to the Mat Hayden comments: he complemented his cooking ("he's never serve me a bad meal"), the only really inappropriate comment was regarding Hayden's wife - yes, in bad taste, but not really a serious offence.

Apart from the fact that he rambled a little bit, nothing harmful was actually said.

The main issue is the fact that he was drunk (and most likely in violation of his agreement with CA) the night before he was due to make his return to grade cricket - it really demonstrates that he might just be set in his ways, and may never have the commitment or discipline to exploit his full potential. Quite sad really.

I think the real issue (his continuing lack of commitment to his cricket) is being clouded by the interview with Roy and HG (which was really a non-event, but has been jumped on by the media/public keen to sensationalise the next Symonds' mis-step).

perthbombersfan
25 Jan 2009, 00:07
I have to say that I don't think Symonds can really be condemned for his comments. Compared to flunking off his cricket duties to go fishing, this interview really is relatively innocuous.

With regard to the McCullum comments:
Technically, he wasn't even calling McCullum a "lump of shit". He was actually defending McCullum by arguing that he had been unfairly condemned, when in fact it is the system (which allows these ridiculous last minute transfers to occur) that is the problem. Here are the quotes to back it up:

"This isn't about McCullum the cricketer, this is about the system."

"That's what the hierarchy want us to do, to blame it on McCallum...They are trying to use him as the out, cos he's a Kiwi." <- defending McCallum

"He's the lump of shit that people are thinking about, but...the actual topic is about playing cricket and getting into a final." <- criticising the system which allows NSW to include McCullum at the expense of a young Australian player.

With regard to the Mat Hayden comments: he complemented his cooking ("he's never serve me a bad meal"), the only really inappropriate comment was regarding Hayden's wife - yes, in bad taste, but not really a serious offence.

Apart from the fact that he rambled a little bit, nothing harmful was actually said.

The main issue is the fact that he was drunk (and most likely in violation of his agreement with CA) the night before he was due to make his return to grade cricket - it really demonstrates that he might just be set in his ways, and may never have the commitment or discipline to exploit his full potential. Quite sad really.

I think the real issue (his continuing lack of commitment to his cricket) is being clouded by the interview with Roy and HG (which was really a non-event, but has been jumped on by the media/public keen to sensationalise the next Symonds' mis-step).

spot on...........was really the fact that this is just another thing rather than a particularly bad offence.

seems as though he is never going to pull his head in.

i think the worst that was really said was the bit about haydo's wife. that could all be in the context of the friendship between them, but as it was said to the general public, prob should have kept that one to himself.

bottom line is, warnings dont seem to do anything.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
25 Jan 2009, 00:28
WEll considering Hayden rang him and laughed it off i dont think its going to do anything to the friendship.

It was really tongue in cheek.

Colin Miller used to have 6 rum and cokes every night during a test match, it really isnt that uncommon for grown men to drink before a game or even during it.

DoubleO7
25 Jan 2009, 00:32
WEll considering Hayden rang him and laughed it off i dont think its going to do anything to the friendship.

Colin Miller used to have 6 rum and cokes every night during a test match, it really isnt that uncommon for grown men to drink before a game or even during it.
Um, Earth to LtD, these are professional cricketers, they should not be drinking!

They are also role models for the younger generation, they have to set a respectable standard.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
25 Jan 2009, 00:36
I give up.

*facepalm*

Eagle87
25 Jan 2009, 00:48

Isnt the bigger picture issue here that Roy has admitted before to a drinking problem and undertaken rehab sessions with a psychiatrist to try and deal with his alcohol problem?

I mean having recovered more quickly than expected from knee surgery, the game today was the first step in proving his fitness for possible selection on the tour to SA.

So knowing he was on his last chance, knowing that injury recovery is enhanced by staying off the piss and knowing he needed to impress everyone with both his form and behaviour, .... he gets pissed the day before a game, while still in recovery and is clearly pissed during a radio interview. Thats about 4 or 5 bad choices in the one day.

At the very least he has given anyone who wants him gone plenty of ammunition.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
25 Jan 2009, 01:03
Im not arguing with any of that.

Symonds claims he had a "few beers over dinner at a pub".

He was in bed by "9 pm" and turned up at the game and was not hungover.

My point here is that there is no defintive proof that Symonds was "pissed" so to speak. There is no doubt he had a few beers but was he pissed? As i have said, in this situaiton he does have some things going for him. He was on his own time, and what he does in his own time is his own decision. He wasnt on a Australian tour or what not unlike previous incidents. It is not uncommon for cricketers to drink during test matchs from what i have read, Colin Miller used to stay in the bar til midnight apparently. Hell, Shane Warne apparently used to drink himself to sleep during the 2005 Ashes series.

Symonds is obviously going to say he wasn't pissed, and CA really dont have any conclusive evidence to suggest he was. If your going to tear a guys contract up your going to want more then a stuttering interview to base it on.

So really your going to have to go on Symonds word that he wasnt drunk. Most know he was probably moderately intoxicated but if your going to tear a contract up your going to need more then this, even when you consider Symonds previous record.

In Symonds favour is that he was in bed by 9pm and he wasnt hungover. Really, Symonds holds all the cards in this situation.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
25 Jan 2009, 01:20
WTF, i just listened to the interview and there is no doubt he wasnt drunk.

Anyone who has ever heard Symo speak knows that his not the most fluent speaker and really, this thread is an absolute disgrace.

Nothing in it what so ever.

Idiots.

ExTasDeeMan
25 Jan 2009, 06:04
Who cares, he's a cricket afterthought now. Anyway, someone calls someone a monkey in the heat of battle and its 'disgraceful', but someone calls someone a piece of shit in a taped interview and its acceptable. Drunk or sober, tongue in cheek or not - not wise.

jozeph
25 Jan 2009, 07:43
Who cares, he's a cricket afterthought now. Anyway, someone calls someone a monkey in the heat of battle and its 'disgraceful', but someone calls someone a piece of shit in a taped interview and its acceptable. Drunk or sober, tongue in cheek or not - not wise.

Ignoring LtD's hallucinations on this thread, there's not a lot of support for 'Roy', and to think a whole nation supported him through the 'monkey' name calling episode, no doubt there's another side to that story too.

chapmanmagic35
25 Jan 2009, 07:56
How insightful.

I'm not the only one who thinks this way.

I don't care whether he's "that intelligent" or not. He lacks common sense big time.

The fact is he was dumb enough to go on radio whilst under the influence of alcohol. Why would you even want to give the hint to anyone you're drinking before a game considering he'd come out not long before and admitted to a drinking problem?

Anyone who thinks it's really funny is pretty easy to please. Wow, he cracked a joke about a kiwi and someone's wife, that's really funny, what a hero. :o

didak04
25 Jan 2009, 09:15

Anyone who has ever heard Symo speak knows that his not the most fluent speaker and really, this thread is an absolute disgrace.

Nothing in it what so ever.

Idiots.

Your contribution to this thread has been an absolute disgrace, your contributions to the this whole board are absolute and utter crap.

His comments were immature and ill-timed. If he were at all serious about getting back into the Australian team he wouldn't have had anything to drink the night before a game and he definitely wouldn't have made such stupid comments on air. Even if people claim there was nothing to the comments he should have been smart enough to word his responses a little differently.

Now you've said that you have given up, so how about you do us all a favour and stick to that statement.

sherb
25 Jan 2009, 09:44

You mean he conducts himself like that in an interview when he is sober? :eek:

Thanks heavens he wasn't drunk. :rolleyes:

TheColeTrain
25 Jan 2009, 10:27
LtD needs to take his QLD blinkers off. To claim he wasn't drunk is laughable and claim their is no doubt he will be back in the team and blasting 100's even more so. Fact is he is 33, he has a long way to gp to even be state level let alone international level, he scored 7 runs yesterday. Test career is over no doubt IMO and ODI career is doubtful at best, don't think he has the drive for it to be honest.
And its not that this incident is thatbad really, but it isn't a one off thing is it?

fairdinkum
25 Jan 2009, 10:59
LtD, you have some pretty serious issues IMHO.

baba ganush
25 Jan 2009, 12:14
In Symonds favour is that he was in bed by 9pm and he wasnt hungover. Really, Symonds holds all the cards in this situation.

You've lost the plot.

Adelaide Hawk
25 Jan 2009, 12:25
Symonds lost a few points in my eyes with his attitude when he decided fishing was more important than a team meeting.

However, anyone who sees this latest occurance as an issue really needs to ask themselves why.

It would be at the very lowest end of possible offences and really doesn't require further disussion .. by us, the media, or Cricket Australia.

And ... his comments about Hayden's wife was having a good natured dig at Hayden's cooking .. nothing more, nothing less.

Admiral Afterworld
25 Jan 2009, 12:37
However, anyone who sees this latest occurance as an issue really needs to ask themselves why.

It is an issue because he was publically drunk (via radio) and the day before a game.

carntheroos4eva
25 Jan 2009, 12:38
I think that it was stupid of Roy and HG actually. I just listened to the interview and I reckon that they caught him at the last minute.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
25 Jan 2009, 13:17
Your contribution to this thread has been an absolute disgrace, your contributions to the this whole board are absolute and utter crap.

His comments were immature and ill-timed. If he were at all serious about getting back into the Australian team he wouldn't have had anything to drink the night before a game and he definitely wouldn't have made such stupid comments on air. Even if people claim there was nothing to the comments he should have been smart enough to word his responses a little differently.

Now you've said that you have given up, so how about you do us all a favour and stick to that statement.

Isn't it ironic someone with the username "didak04" is getting stuck into someone for "off-field issues". You are the disgrace here mate, as well as the lemmings which follow you on this board and all stick the boot into Symonds when most of you would have thought he was a superstar a year ago.

You really lower the bar don't you champ.

Fact is, i dont know how much cricket users on this board actually play or are involved in. I have been involved at a cricket club environment for 10 years and i have seen people consume alcohol during the lunch breaks of games, i have seen guys party the night before. I have read numerous anecdotes about Australian players drinking in the bar during test matchs. Colin Miller for one. In fact John Buchanan once walked past the bar at midnight and saw Miller in there and said "just to let you know, Colin, its midnight" to which Miller replied "yes, well past your bedtime" and they both laughed.

Drinking during games is quite common even when representing Australia. In that regard people on here trying to crucify Symonds for daring to drink the day before a grade game are either just blinded by their hatred for Symonds to admit that it is common or are just completely stupid.

Symonds holds all the cards here, i personally dont think he was even that pissed, Roy and HG is a program where things are often said tongue in cheek and Symonds may have got caught up in the banter. He is going to argue that he wasnt drunk and that he had a few beers over dinner and was in bed at 9 pm. CA have no other reason not to believe him and no conclusive evidence.

The double standards on this board is embrassing when you consider serial oath Shane Warne was involved in a lot more incidents and the Symonds. Warne was a great cricketer but an absolutely disgraceful human being but you lot forn over him like his some sort of role model.

You guys better get it through your thick skulls that Symonds will be back in Australian colours sooner rather then later.

Cheers.