View Full Version : Allan Border Medal - 2009

Ill Chicken
3 Feb 2009, 00:37
I'm unsure for the voting period. Feel free to suggest corrections.

Test Player of the Year
There are three contenders for this year's Allan Border Medal. Michael Clarke, Mitchell Johnson and Simon Katich. Katich will struggle due to not playing both forms of the game. Meaning it is a two horse race between Johnson and Clarke. Clarke's ODI form has been non existent in the last twelve months and could be the deciding factor in the medal going to Johnson.

Personal Opinion: Katich
The Guess: Clarke
The Bookies: Johnson
The Winner: ?

One-Day Player of the Year
Shaun Marsh, Michael Hussey and Nathan Bracken are the top three picks for this award. Marsh has cemented his spot in the side with consistent performances, Hussey has continued on his merry way while Bracken peaked as number one in the world for ODI bowling. It is hard to see it going anywhere but these three though the stand-out performances are few and far between and a dark horse could still get up.

Personal Opinion: Bracken
The Guess: Hussey
The Bookies: No market

State Player of the Year
Katich's run last season can't be ignored, while Klinger's start to the current puts him in the spotlight. Unsure on the voting period for this, so it has to be Katich.

The Guess: Katich

Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year
Again unsure of the period this plays, Hughes is the only option I can see but my memory from last season is shot.

Personal Opinion: None
The Guess: None

International Women’s Cricketer of the Year
Lisa Sthalekar looks set for a third straight year as the best in the business.

Personal Opinion: Lisa Sthalekar
The Guess: Lisa Sthalekar

Previous years winners;

Allan Border Medal
2008 - Brett Lee
2007 - Ricky Ponting
2006 - Ricky Ponting
2005 - Michael Clarke
2004 - Ricky Ponting
2003 - Adam Gilchrist
2002 - Matthew Hayden
2001 - Stephen Waugh
2000 - Glenn McGrath

Test Player of the Year
2008 - Brett Lee
2007 - Ricky Ponting
2006 - Shane Warne
2005 - Damien Martyn
2004 - Ricky Ponting
2003 - Ricky Ponting
2002 - Matthew Hayden
2001 - Colin Miller
2000 - Glenn McGrath

One-Day International Player of the Year
2008 - Matthew Hayden
2007 - Ricky Ponting
2006 - Michael Hussey
2005 - Andrew Symonds
2004 - Adam Gilchrist
2003 - Adam Gilchrist
2002 - Ricky Ponting
2001 - Glenn McGrath
2000 - Shane Warne

State Player of the Year
2008 - Ashley Noffke (QLD)
2007 - Chris Rogers (WA)
2006 - Phil Jaques (NSW)
2005 - Andy Bichel (Qld)
2004 - Simon Katich (NSW)
2003 - Martin Love (Qld)
2002 - Darren Lehmann (SA)
2001 - Darren Lehmann (SA)
2000 - Darren Lehmann (SA)

2008 - Luke Pomersbach
2007 - Ben Hilfenhaus
2006 - Daniel Cullen
2005 - Mark Cosgrove
2004 - Shaun Tait
2003 - Nathan Hauritz
2002 - Shane Watson
2001 - Nathan Bracken
2000 - Brett Lee

Women's International Cricketer of the Year
2008 - Lisa Sthalekar
2007 - Lisa Sthalekar
2006 - Karen Rolton
2005 - Karen Rolton
2004 - Cathryn Fitzpatrick
2003 - Karen Rolton
2002 - Karen Rolton

stmookeyj
3 Feb 2009, 06:39
My ABM Count

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=13418599&postcount=15

So for mine

ABM: Michael CLARKE (My count he was ahead of Ponting and Johnson but my count doesn't take into account umpires and media and Mitchell will be well ahead of Ricky in those votes)
TEST: Michael CLARKE (3 votes ahead of Katich and Ponting 3rd a couple behind Katich)
ODI: Shaun MARSH (By 1 vote from M.Hussey and 2 from Bracken)
STATE: Michael KLINGER (by an eye-lash from Hughes with Katich, Lee Carseldine and Brett Dorey completing the top 5)
WOMEN'S: Lisa Sthalekar (I had her beating Alex Blackwell by 2 votes with Shelly Nitschke a further vote behind. Blackwell may well take it if they consider Women's National League as well as Internationals)
BRADMAN: Phil HUGHES (Warner pretty much only competition, if any)
HOF INDUCTEE: Steve WAUGH

royboy2
3 Feb 2009, 14:30
Johnson for mine, Yes i know not exacty a big statement considering the odds

OzBomber
3 Feb 2009, 17:06
Watched this on CATV last year but couldn't find it now. This may be what the brownlow does as well.

They let all reporters, TV graphics people etc. into a room where they get all the results before hand. Only thing is, they aren't allowed to go out and aren't able to connect to the outside world until the result is over. This would have to be the only way that they would stop the result being leaked.

damochandler
3 Feb 2009, 17:35
i think mitchel johnson with take home the chocalates and mick clarke will go awfully close. katich really cant win it. he only played tests and mitch and mick have played both and done well in them. a dark horse ricky ponting.

damochandler
3 Feb 2009, 17:37
I'm unsure for the voting period. Feel free to suggest corrections.

Test Player of the Year
There are three contenders for this year's Allan Border Medal. Michael Clarke, Mitchell Johnson and Simon Katich. Katich will struggle due to not playing both forms of the game. Meaning it is a two horse race between Johnson and Clarke. Clarke's ODI form has been non existent in the last twelve months and could be the deciding factor in the medal going to Johnson.

The Guess: Clarke
The Bookies: Johnson

One-Day Player of the Year
Shaun Marsh, Michael Hussey and Nathan Bracken are the top three picks for this award. Marsh has cemented his spot in the side with consistent performances, Hussey has continued on his merry way while Bracken peaked as number one in the world for ODI bowling. It is hard to see it going anywhere but these three though the stand-out performances are few and far between and a dark horse could still get up.

Personal Opinion: Bracken
The Guess: Hussey

State Player of the Year
Katich's run last season can't be ignored, while Klinger's start to the current puts him in the spotlight. Unsure on the voting period for this, so it has to be Katich.

The Guess: Katich

Again unsure of the period this plays, Hughes is the only option I can see but my memory from last season is shot.

Personal Opinion: None
The Guess: None

International Women’s Cricketer of the Year
Lisa Sthalekar looks set for a third straight year as the best in the business.

Personal Opinion: Lisa Sthalekar
The Guess: Lisa Sthalekar

Previous years winners;

Allan Border Medal
2008 - Brett Lee
2007 - Ricky Ponting
2006 - Ricky Ponting
2005 - Michael Clarke
2004 - Ricky Ponting
2003 - Adam Gilchrist
2002 - Matthew Hayden
2001 - Stephen Waugh
2000 - Glenn McGrath

Test Player of the Year
2008 - Brett Lee
2007 - Ricky Ponting
2006 - Shane Warne
2005 - Damien Martyn
2004 - Ricky Ponting
2003 - Ricky Ponting
2002 - Matthew Hayden
2001 - Colin Miller
2000 - Glenn McGrath

One-Day International Player of the Year
2008 - Matthew Hayden
2007 - Ricky Ponting
2006 - Michael Hussey
2005 - Andrew Symonds
2004 - Adam Gilchrist
2003 - Adam Gilchrist
2002 - Ricky Ponting
2001 - Glenn McGrath
2000 - Shane Warne

State Player of the Year
2008 - Ashley Noffke (QLD)
2007 - Chris Rogers (WA)
2006 - Phil Jaques (NSW)
2005 - Andy Bichel (Qld)
2004 - Simon Katich (NSW)
2003 - Martin Love (Qld)
2002 - Darren Lehmann (SA)
2001 - Darren Lehmann (SA)
2000 - Darren Lehmann (SA)

2008 - Luke Pomersbach
2007 - Ben Hilfenhaus
2006 - Daniel Cullen
2005 - Mark Cosgrove
2004 - Shaun Tait
2003 - Nathan Hauritz
2002 - Shane Watson
2001 - Nathan Bracken
2000 - Brett Lee

Women's International Cricketer of the Year
2008 - Lisa Sthalekar
2007 - Lisa Sthalekar
2006 - Karen Rolton
2005 - Karen Rolton
2004 - Cathryn Fitzpatrick
2003 - Karen Rolton
2002 - Karen Rolton

i still dont know how michael clark won the medal in 2005. gawd martyn should have won it by a 100 votes

Coin_Toss
3 Feb 2009, 18:17
Dave Warner has to be a clear favourite to win the 'Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year' award. He's young and talented.
Pomersbach won it last year too after debuting in a Twenty20 international similar to what Warner did this year.

damochandler
3 Feb 2009, 18:20
Dave Warner has to be a clear favourite to win the 'Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year' award. He's young and talented.
Pomersbach won it last year too after debuting in a Twenty20 international, similar to what Warner did this year.

phil hughes will get the bradman award. channel 9 dont vote on it and hughes has been more consistant

OzBomber
3 Feb 2009, 18:26
Is it delayed tonight on 9? Usually it starts at 8:30pm. And Fox Sports don't have it.

Dez!
3 Feb 2009, 19:11
Is it delayed tonight on 9? Usually it starts at 8:30pm. And Fox Sports don't have it.

I thought it always started at 9:30 and they usual had the red carpet crap in the hour/half hour before.

Cotchin 9
3 Feb 2009, 19:16

Thought that aswell Sean. Channel Nine have been pretty decent this Cricket summer, skipping ACA when needed and pushing back the news :thumbsu:.

Cleavy
3 Feb 2009, 19:24
Pretty sure they started delaying it last year, b/c of ratings or lack of.

alfy!
3 Feb 2009, 19:37
Kato does well for himself. A lot of attractive ladies.

hong_kong_bond
3 Feb 2009, 19:47
Kato does well for himself. A lot of attractive ladies.
as does Andy G, and Mitch...

http://www.smh.com.au/photogallery/2009/02/03/1233423219503.html

alfy!
3 Feb 2009, 19:51
Warne's misses is decent.

Cousin Jed
3 Feb 2009, 20:03
Not leaving much to the imagination....

http://images.smh.com.au/ftsmh/ffximage/2009/02/03/jessica_bratich_gallery__266x400,0.jpg

fryingpan
3 Feb 2009, 20:09
God Lara Bingle is an absolute idiot. Says one line and is now famous living off some guy who's obviously not marrying her for brains.

Hate her with a passion

Ron
3 Feb 2009, 20:10
Who cares about the sexiest bloody cricketer.

Good lord.

JUBJUB
3 Feb 2009, 20:12

Fox Sports were plugging it during last Wednesdays FRC game that it was going to be live at 8.30pm on Fox Sports 1.I wonder why it's now not on.

damochandler
3 Feb 2009, 20:15
the best sort is probably mitch's misses by far. lara bingle looke terrible

ab: mitch johnson
odi: mick clarke
test: mitch
bradman young player: phil hughes by a mile
shield player: katich

thats the way i think things will go tonight

Cousin Jed
3 Feb 2009, 20:16
I'd change that ODI pick if were you since the winner has been announced ;)

damochandler
3 Feb 2009, 20:17
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,6470444,00.jpg

mike hussey's wife is a another good sort

damochandler
3 Feb 2009, 20:17
I'd change that ODI pick if were you since the winner has been announced ;)

who got it. mitch

Ron
3 Feb 2009, 20:19
Bracken

Cousin Jed
3 Feb 2009, 20:19
Well he does bowl left armed yes.

OzBomber
3 Feb 2009, 20:22
Mark Nicholas trying to crack jokes is cringeworthy. :o

Cousin Jed
3 Feb 2009, 20:23
Has he brought the toothbrush gag back again?

bluechampion
3 Feb 2009, 20:33
Wow. Put some of these dudes in suits and they look like they're off to court...

peternorth
3 Feb 2009, 20:45
wtf is this shit?

OzBomber
3 Feb 2009, 20:47
wtf is this shit?Nicho has been pathetic. Even mentioning porn. Wtf?

aaronm46
3 Feb 2009, 20:48
so who won?

w00dy
3 Feb 2009, 20:49
wtf is this shit?
i'm thinking the exact same thing?

they don't even show the interviews with the Bradman Young Cricketer, and State Player of the year (one who definately will, and the other who is a solid chance of wearing the baggy green sooner rather than later), and instead have a vote for the sexiest cricketer of the year?

crap nine, something I'd expect from channel seven...

damochandler
3 Feb 2009, 21:02
mick clarke won the test player. good on him. he has a great year. it doesnt mena he will win the lot

jimmy_clement#8
3 Feb 2009, 21:05
Flicked to Ch. 10, Brad McEwen was revealing the result. I presume he went on to break the embargo. Naughty naughty.

Spolier: ->heard Brad say it was a two way tie <-

Golden Duck
3 Feb 2009, 21:18
I've switched off, can't take anymore of this torture. Is this the Allan Border medal? or Australia's sexiest cricketer? forgive me of thinking of the latter with the amount "hot" Australian cricketer bodies I've seen :eek:. Gayest night of television to date. :thumbsd: Next year hoping for the hottest cricketers partners, with Lara Bingle taking out the honors. :D Someone please shoot Mark Nicholas, unbearable, just bloody unbearable.

Ron
3 Feb 2009, 21:24
Ponting and Clarke hey.

I thought Clarke would be up there with MJ. Didn't think Punter would finish top 2.

damochandler
3 Feb 2009, 21:25
Ponting and Clarke hey.

I thought Clarke would be up there with MJ. Didn't think Punter would finish top 2.

johnson had a better year than ponting. another flawed medal count for the ab medal

jimmy_clement#8
3 Feb 2009, 21:26
Ponting and Clarke. Captain and vice-captain. Four-time winner and two-time winner (I think that's right). Fancy that.

And fair call to be those previous, not the greatest TV tonight. It was ok in recent years, coz it was simple, they've tried too much this year and faultered.

And well done to Brad McEwan for going early.

damochandler
3 Feb 2009, 21:27
johnson only got 30 votes all up. katich got more than him and he played less games

jimmy_clement#8
3 Feb 2009, 21:28
And then Nicho misses the toast. Oh dear.

Thankyou and goodnight.

:)

Dez!
3 Feb 2009, 21:28
Nothing against Clarke but in both the Allan Border Medals he has won, he shouldn't have. Martyn should have got the first AB Medal Clarke won and Johnson should have got this one.

Although Clarke was definitely more deserving than Ponting but Johnson was the MOST deserving.

damochandler
3 Feb 2009, 21:30
Nothing against Clarke but in both the Allan Border Medals he has won, he shouldn't have. Martyn should have got the first AB Medal Clarke won and Johnson should have got this one.

Although Clarke was definitely more deserving than Ponting but Johnson was the MOST deserving.

that year martyn should have won by a 100 votes. he was that much better than anyone else. you got to wonder how much the media have a say in this

Jimthegreat
3 Feb 2009, 21:37
Alot of it is peer voting so they'd have an excellent idea. Wonder how much different umpire and media votes were?

tony_montana
3 Feb 2009, 21:38
how the #@$! did punter and hussey receive more votes than johnson and katich??

joke of a count

johnson, clarke and katich clearly a cut above everyone else this season

damochandler
3 Feb 2009, 21:40
how the #@$! did punter and hussey receive more votes than johnson and katich??

joke of a count

johnson, clarke and katich clearly a cut above everyone else this season

katich and hussey had the same amount of votes

Jimthegreat
3 Feb 2009, 21:42
If Hussey had even a half-decent Test summer he would've taken it out.

Jimmy Two Hands
3 Feb 2009, 22:00
Johnson only really came good against South Africa. I'm not surprised to see he didnt win.

hirthy
3 Feb 2009, 22:10
Clarke wins with the bloody media Vote again, absolute disgrace.

damochandler
3 Feb 2009, 22:17
it was good to see steve be inducted into the hall of fame. boonie hasnt even been inducted. him and mark waugh should be next

emperor
3 Feb 2009, 22:32
Just a total cringe fest really. Wish it wasn't so but it is. Highlight for me, and mind you I didn't watch the entire telecast because the lengthy ad breaks gave me the shits as well as the obsession with half naked cricketers, was Roy's crack at Slater (yes I know it is old footage) when he was trying to make some gag "leave the jokes to the funny men"

Could have been the theme of the night really :o

stmookeyj
3 Feb 2009, 22:40
Was actually reasonably close in personnel in my top 5 (Katich was equal with Shaun Marsh in my top 5), but when I did my count I was surprised at just how well Ponting did earlier in the year, which plenty I think overlook when doing their counts because they only really remember recent matches and collated statistics.

I was very disappointed though at Ch9 for not giving us the vote-by-vote count. From reading other sites the Test POTY was Clarke 12 from Katich 10 and Ponting 10 with Johnson 7 (I had Clarke 13, Katich 10, Ponting 8, Johnson 7) and the ODI POTY was Bracken 16 ahead of M.Hussey 15 (I had Marsh 15, M.Hussey 14, Bracken 13). I also am disappointed that they did State Player, Young Cricketer and Womens player earlier even though the women's player would not have been able to be there as the team's in NZ for the Rose Bowl series. I won't be surprised if the award ceremony disappears off the FTA TV screens sooner rather than later too, I reckon All Saints would have thrashed it in the ratings.

PalaceGun
3 Feb 2009, 22:57
Watched the "highlights" of the AB medal night on the news (I'm incapable of listening to Mark Nicholas). Seems to me to be a bit of piss take, they are having their backs patted for what has been quite a pathetic summer of cricket.

So Ponting shares the AB medal with Clarke? Surely a countback should take place with points taken off from Dick for shit captaincy decisions?

Pakeha
3 Feb 2009, 23:04
it was good to see steve be inducted into the hall of fame. boonie hasnt even been inducted. him and mark waugh should be next

I wonder if Mark will have a bet on himself to win the next :D

FuManchu
3 Feb 2009, 23:07
on a different note

you really goota see the picture on the Brisbane Times online edition of Mitchell Johnsons missus.

From a distance, it looks like the full motor showing

fair dinkum, I wish I could cut and paste it ....oh I can lol

but this is the link

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/news/national/wag-reveals-much-in-red-carpet-strut/2009/02/03/1233423222296.html

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/ffximage/2009/02/03/jessica.jpg

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Feb 2009, 23:23
LOL at all the posters getting stuck into Mark Nicholis. Don't you guys realise that his basically told what jokes to say? It's hardly his fault if some idiot producer tells him to start brushing his teeth when Andrew Symonds is mentioned.

No surprise Johnson didn't win, didnt have a great tour of the West Indies, his tour of India was promising but not outstanding. Really only came good against SA.

Clarke and Ponting probably deserving winners in a pretty bad year of Australian cricket.

If you dont like the awards, dont ****ing watch the. Whinging is the new Australian sport if you ask me.

Ricketts
3 Feb 2009, 23:26

Drop him!...

pinkus maximus
3 Feb 2009, 23:59
that year martyn should have won by a 100 votes. he was that much better than anyone else. you got to wonder how much the media have a say in this
Martyn hated the media and the feeling was mutual. Not voting for him in the AB medal was a way to get back at him

red+black
4 Feb 2009, 00:07
Such a stupid night and stupid award. So the next 4 ODIs go towards next year's count does it? And the weighting system is ridiculous. Tests and ODIs are worth the same (I know someone will come and say they aren't, but actually, yes they are).

So each year perhaps 1 of 3 or 4 players can win it. Here's my tip for next year: Michael Clarke! Huge surprise.

alfy!
4 Feb 2009, 04:48
I'm a pretty passionate cricket fan, yet even I turned this nonsense night off 40 minutes in. Nicholas was horrible, his script was the worst thing I have seen. Jokes went down woefully. Presentations looked B-grade. Made the night in to an absolute joke. What a shame.

DeadlyAkkuret
4 Feb 2009, 05:26
Granted the entire night is a joke, it's a bit rich to suggest that Clarke only won because of "media hype".

He was easily amongst the top 3 players and either one of them could have taken the award. The anti-NSW bias on this board is ridiculous.

JUBJUB
4 Feb 2009, 07:37
Flicked to Ch. 10, Brad McEwen was revealing the result. I presume he went on to break the embargo. Naughty naughty.

Spolier: ->heard Brad say it was a two way tie <-

The embargo was probably only until 11pm.I heard the result on the 11pm news on the radio.

davey_magik
4 Feb 2009, 07:43
From the sound of it glad I didn't bother watching it.

Smokey_22
4 Feb 2009, 09:13

Being easily the leading run-scorer in both the south african series and the NZ series will do that to you.

damochandler
4 Feb 2009, 10:07
clarke is a worthy winner this year. but i dont think ponting is. the media got him up. mitch had a better year than ponting. he took 64 wickets for crying out loud

DoubleO7
4 Feb 2009, 10:31
Michael Clarke deserved it more IMO

emperor
4 Feb 2009, 10:45
on a different note

you really goota see the picture on the Brisbane Times online edition of Mitchell Johnsons missus.

Immediately upon seeing that pic on that site I thought, that's not her you know what is it! :eek: Assumed that surely it couldn't be but still....not much imagination needed!

red+black
4 Feb 2009, 10:56
great award :rolleyes:. Here's the last 5 years and my predictions for the next 5.

2004: Ricky Ponting
2005: Michael Clarke
2006: Ricky Ponting
2007: Ricky Ponting
2008: Brett Lee
2009: Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke
2010: Michael Clarke
2011: Ricky Ponting
2012: Michael Hussey
2013: Michael Clarke
2014: Michael Clarke

DoubleO7
4 Feb 2009, 11:05
No Phil Hughes? He will win one by 2014 IMO

Wicked Lester
4 Feb 2009, 11:21
clarke is a worthy winner this year. but i dont think ponting is. the media got him up. mitch had a better year than ponting. he took 64 wickets for crying out loud

i thought Ponting was in the mix, but like you I was a little surprised he got up.

However I think it was the players who rated Ponting slightly better than the media and vice versa for Clarke.

tazhawk
4 Feb 2009, 11:22
great award :rolleyes:. Here's the last 5 years and my predictions for the next 5.

2004: Ricky Ponting
2005: Michael Clarke
2006: Ricky Ponting
2007: Ricky Ponting
2008: Brett Lee
2009: Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke
2010: Michael Clarke
2011: Ricky Ponting
2012: Michael Hussey
2013: Michael Clarke
2014: Michael Clarke

Where is Brad Hodge. :confused:

damochandler
4 Feb 2009, 12:01
thus is maybe the best pick of the night

http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,6471172,00.jpg

bigpapagman
4 Feb 2009, 12:47
+1. :thumbsu:

Admiral Afterworld
4 Feb 2009, 14:03
It did awful in the ratings (540,000) so I wouldn't be surprised if it is on Fox Sports next year.

Xtreme
4 Feb 2009, 14:46
The highlight for me was seeing Ponting's 'improved' hair, couldn't hide his regrowth under a cap :D

Ricketts
4 Feb 2009, 15:08
Katich was the only one of the top 5 that only plays in one form of the game. Just proves his greatness even more.

MAYURI
4 Feb 2009, 15:41
thus is maybe the best pick of the night

http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,6471172,00.jpg

any chance of ane extra larger size image.. you know, for scientific research..

red+black
4 Feb 2009, 15:46
My solution to raise the credibility of the night
- scrap the AB Medal entirely
- award a Test POTY, ODI POTY and T20 POTY
- do away with media votes
- as there is no AB Medal, no weightings need to apply to votes
- hold night only after the last international of the season in Australia

Cuzz09
4 Feb 2009, 16:00
Did anyone notice Mark Nicholas grabbing Alan Borders arm at the start? That was a bit weird.

The 747
4 Feb 2009, 16:05
The whole idea is stupid and farcical.

Looks even worse when all the team could do is beat NZ and WI when one of our players probably earns more than the entire WI side. And we are handing out medals.

Cleavy
4 Feb 2009, 16:18
My solution to raise the credibility of the night
- scrap the AB Medal entirely
- award a Test POTY, ODI POTY and T20 POTY
- do away with media votes
- as there is no AB Medal, no weightings need to apply to votes
- hold night only after the last international of the season in Australia

shouldn't we wait until we're playing more than 3 t20 games per season?

red+black
4 Feb 2009, 16:39
shouldn't we wait until we're playing more than 3 t20 games per season?
Yeah, agreed, but I would look at changing the whole summer format. Best of 3 ODIs and T20s against two visiting nations. That would mean 6 home T20s each Summer. We should be playing 1-3 on each overseas trip so we should be looking at about 10 per year, at which point a POTY would be valid. Even more in a T20 WC year, such as this year.

PalaceGun
4 Feb 2009, 16:45
The whole idea is stupid and farcical.

Looks even worse when all the team could do is beat NZ and WI when one of our players probably earns more than the entire WI side. And we are handing out medals.

Is the right answer. :thumbsu:

Who's bright idea was it to bring Mark Nicholas over to Australia?
I lived in the UK for 7 years until 2005, I thought I'd rid myself of this buffoon. Now when ever I talk to my old pommy mates they are laughing at us for acquiring his commentary services... :(

Dez!
4 Feb 2009, 18:36
Is the right answer. :thumbsu:

I lived in the UK for 7 years until 2005, I thought I'd rid myself of this buffoon. Now when ever I talk to my old pommy mates they are laughing at us for acquiring his commentary services... :(

Well at least he is better than the last Pom/Saffer whatever the hell he is we got.

Admiral Afterworld
4 Feb 2009, 18:42

Well he works for Nine so I imagine it was Nine's idea to hire him. Nine's commentary team has long been based on 'boys club' connections (that's why there's so many useless people in it) rather than actual talent, sadly.

Plugger35
4 Feb 2009, 19:35
Katich was the only one of the top 5 that only plays in one form of the game. Just proves his greatness even more.

Greatness? A bit premature don't you think. Katich has had just one good year of test cricket after being a failure at international level for the previous 4 or 5 years. I'd wait to see how he goes on the SA and England tours before you start getting too carried away.

This Allan Border awards night really is a complete load of wank. It's just a poor rip off of the Brownlow night but nowhere near as interesting because there is normally only 2 or 3 players who can win each award.

Most of the night is just made up of bullshit filler rather than actual voting and once the night is over no one cares or remembers who the winners were. You never hear people referring to Ricky Ponting as an Allan Border medallist like you do with Brownlow medallists like Robert Harvey.

perthbombersfan
4 Feb 2009, 19:53
LOL at all the posters getting stuck into Mark Nicholis. Don't you guys realise that his basically told what jokes to say? It's hardly his fault if some idiot producer tells him to start brushing his teeth when Andrew Symonds is mentioned.

No surprise Johnson didn't win, didnt have a great tour of the West Indies, his tour of India was promising but not outstanding. Really only came good against SA.

Clarke and Ponting probably deserving winners in a pretty bad year of Australian cricket.

If you dont like the awards, dont ****ing watch the. Whinging is the new Australian sport if you ask me.

i should put a picture of the aussie cricket team in my profile, cos apparently that makes you an expert on everything to do with the sport.

it also means that anyone else with an opinion is wrong.

PalaceGun
4 Feb 2009, 20:28
Well at least he is better than the last Pom/Saffer whatever the hell he is we got.

Tony Greig > Mark Nicholas, any day of the week.

Nicholas is the worst of a terrible bunch, I'm not sure how Richie has but up with these clowns for so long. Must be his love of the game and a nice big wedge from Channel Naan.

stmookeyj
4 Feb 2009, 23:55
Yeah, agreed, but I would look at changing the whole summer format. Best of 3 ODIs and T20s against two visiting nations. That would mean 6 home T20s each Summer. We should be playing 1-3 on each overseas trip so we should be looking at about 10 per year, at which point a POTY would be valid. Even more in a T20 WC year, such as this year.

Apparantly we can only play MAX 2 hit and giggles per opponent....

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
5 Feb 2009, 00:08
i should put a picture of the aussie cricket team in my profile, cos apparently that makes you an expert on everything to do with the sport.

it also means that anyone else with an opinion is wrong.

Do it then.

My point is that people just whinge about literally anything. The concept has been in for 10 years now, it is not new. It is simply a night to either celebrate success or, as in the case of this year, celebrate some great individual performances. It doesnt just concern Australian cricketers in the ODI's and Test teams. It also concerns womens cricket, state players, young players, legends of the game (hall of fame inductee) and allows the entire cricket community to come together and acknowledge certain people. Ranging from volunteers to the cricketers themselves.

My uncle went down to it a few years ago after being invited by Queensland cricket as acknowledgement for his services to cricket in Brisbane with regards to volunteer work. He said it was a great night and had nothing but praise for the concept.

Surely it's nice for the players to get together near the end of the Australian session and celebrate the year thats gone before and look to the future.

I can't cop it when people just whinge for the sake of it, the Australian public sems pretty damn good at it. It is an awards night, sure Mark Nicoholis isnt the best host but so what, he probably gets paid more then everyone here.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
5 Feb 2009, 00:14
Tony Greig > Mark Nicholas, any day of the week.

Nicholas is the worst of a terrible bunch, I'm not sure how Richie has but up with these clowns for so long. Must be his love of the game and a nice big wedge from Channel Naan.

My issue with Greig over the years is his continued misinterpretation of replays and gadgets such as hotspot or snicko. He always seems to miss obvious stuff, whether its the name of the players or a obvious nick on a slow motion replay.

Other then that his alright.

Nicholas, overall, is a very polished commentator to a point where it at times seems to be a bit fake, but thats a relatively minor point.

They are all pretty good in a combination. By himself Ian Healy is average, but in a combination of Ian Chappell and Bill Lawry for example his great in the sense that you get entertainment rather then just someone describing the game.

PalaceGun
5 Feb 2009, 01:21
My issue with Greig over the years is his continued misinterpretation of replays and gadgets such as hotspot or snicko. He always seems to miss obvious stuff, whether its the name of the players or a obvious nick on a slow motion replay.

Other then that his alright.

Nicholas, overall, is a very polished commentator to a point where it at times seems to be a bit fake, but thats a relatively minor point.

They are all pretty good in a combination. By himself Ian Healy is average, but in a combination of Ian Chappell and Bill Lawry for example his great in the sense that you get entertainment rather then just someone describing the game.

You must be kidding? :D