View Full Version : Chappell-Hadlee Trophy Game 2: Australia v New Zealand @ Melbourne (Fri D/N)
http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/4404/bankchaphador9.png
http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/4149/aus8ir.gif vs http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/3180/nzl5ka.gif
Melbourne Cricket Ground
2:15pm Friday Feburary 7
Make that 4 out of 13 home ODIs for Australia as the Kiwis take a 1-0 lead to the G. Shane Harwood and Jake Haberfield got a bit out of the pitch that will be re-used for this game in Wednesday's domestic one dayer, perhaps a Mitchell Johnson sort of pitch, though O'Brien and Mills would like a bowl on it too, as would Shaun Tait. He, like Johnson and Mills, had a very good game in Perth but the Australian batsmen didn't, making 181 only thanks to Mike Hussey and Brad Haddin at 6 and 7, with 80 between them. To make matters worse they've lost their best two one day batsmen of the summer so far - Shaun Marsh with a hamstring injury and Ricky Ponting who is being rested for at least the first two of five games in 9 days before the South African tour begins a fortnight today (Thursday). Despite losing two of the top three they haven't gone with either of the NSW Phil openers, instead choosing middle order players Adam Voges and Callum Ferguson, who will compete with Cameron White for, at best, two spots. It's two weeks short of two years since the Western Australian vice captain played his only 50 over game for Australia, making an unbeaten 16 off 10 in an unsuccessful total of 346 against the Kiwis. He's averaging around 45 in the Ford Ranger Cup, but a strike rate of 70 and a Shield average in the mid 20s doesn't really say he's 'in form'. On the other hand Ferguson's taken a big step forward this year, still getting out when he shouldn't but instead of that being between 40 and 70 it's now between 80 and 110, hence his average of just under 50 in both the Shield and one day competitions, with very healthy strike rates just below 70 and 100 respectively. He has batted at three for half the one day games this season, but until Wednesday's 89 on this pitch hadn't had any success there. Hard to see a way in for Ben Hilfenhaus who remains the leading wicket taker for the summer, but with Hopes a contender to move to the top of the order, that may persuade the selectors to play the extra bowler.
For the Kiwis the Jeetan Patel experiment wasn't a great success in Perth, conceding 47 of those 181 runs in only 9 overs. Vettori still didn't feel the need to bowl Grant Elliott, but he wouldn't have felt overly comfortable when his spinner came into bat - batsman Craig Cumming (replacing Jesse Ryder who is now out of the tour) and batting powerplay all rounder Brendon Diamanti would be tempting, with Trent Boult not out of contention. Gareth Hopkins has joined Ryder in returning to New Zealand, with McCullum's hip good enough to keep the gloves for now.
Steve Bucknor will no doubt be keeping a closer eye on what Brad Haddin's gloves are up to in this game, with Paul Reiffel out there with him to make his debut as an ODI umpire, hopefully a little more prepared to make the tough calls than he was in the box on Sunday.
Australia XIII:
Michael Hussey
David Warner
Callum Ferguson
*Michael Clarke
David Hussey
Cameron White
Adam Voges
+Brad Haddin
James Hopes
Mitchell Johnson
Nathan Bracken
Ben Hilfenhaus
Shaun Tait
In:
Callum Ferguson
Cameron White
Adam Voges
Ben Hilfenhaus
Out:
Shaun Marsh (hamstring)
Ricky Ponting (rested)
New Zealand XIV:
+Brendon McCullum
Martin Guptill
Craig Cumming
Peter Fulton
Ross Taylor
Grant Elliott
Neil Broom
Brendon Diamanti (international debut)
*Daniel Vettori
Kyle Mills
Tim Southee
Trent Boult (international debut)
Iain O'Brien
Jeetan Patel
[COLOR=green]In:
Craig Cumming
Brendon Diamanti
Trent Boult
Umpires:
Steve Bucknor (Jamaica)
Paul Reiffel (ODI debut, Victoria)
Rod Tucker (New South Wales)
Recent History:
2007-08 in Australia
Australia won 2-0
April 20, 2007 @ Grenada
Australia won by 215 runs
2006-07 in New Zealand
New Zealand won 3-0
2006-07 in Australia
Australia 17 points, New Zealand (0 games)
2006-07 in Mohali
Australia won by 43 runs
Weather:
Fine, 32 degrees
Session Times
First innings: 2:15-5:45pm
Second innings: 6:30-10pm
Coverage:
http://img129.imageshack.us/img129/9092/99na.gif Live from 2pm AEDT (Delay 2pm Perth). No ACA anywhere but the news stays at 6:00 in Adelaide, and Extra and News from 5:30 in Brisbane
http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/7972/abclocalvx4.png - from 2pm AEDT (online Real (http://www2b.abc.net.au/grandstand/streaming/cricket.ram) Windows (http://www2b.abc.net.au/grandstand/streaming/cricket.asx))
Cricinfo's scorecard and commentary (http://content-aus.cricinfo.com/ausvrsa2008_09/engine/match/351690.html)
Cricket Australia's scorecard and commentary (http://ls.cricket.com.au/HomeFullScorecard90_2349_2.html) or analysis (http://cricket.com.au/?s=cascoreboard&seriesId=2349&matchId=2)
Tickets:
Adults - $31 GA, seats from $41
Concession - $26 GA, seats from $33
Children - $5 GA, seats from $10
Family - $65 GA, seats from $88
(Gates open 12:15, members 11:30)
bombersno1
5 Feb 2009, 13:35
I am hoping Ferguson plays and bats 3.
damochandler
5 Feb 2009, 13:37
i hope warner doent play. its time to give him a rest and put him back to the blues. its just about a must win situation here for the aussies. if they get anything over 200 when they and if they bat first. they will win. that was just about proven the over night. i am going to tip the aussies to bounce back and teach kiwis to fly with their boot
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
5 Feb 2009, 13:40
Whats the bet if we win, then some n00b will start a thread claiming that Michael Clarke should be captain of the side?
Any takers?
Cousin Jed
5 Feb 2009, 13:53
Times are tough when you have to go back to Craig Cumming.
bombersno1
5 Feb 2009, 14:03
Whats the bet if we win, then some n00b will start a thread claiming that Michael Clarke should be captain of the side?
Any takers?
He should be..he is a better tactical captain than Ponting anyway.
barely.
Nobody in the Aussie team is fit to captain.
Cousin Jed
5 Feb 2009, 14:22
http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/200701/r122695_395822.gif
bombersno1
5 Feb 2009, 15:00
barely.
Nobody in the Aussie team is fit to captain.
Katich and Clarke are ten times better than Ponting tactically!
Cameron White has to play tomorrow!
The Reaper
5 Feb 2009, 19:38
Cameron White has to play tomorrow!
why?
clearly not up to international standard
Do we select specialist captains now?
roostersgal4eva
5 Feb 2009, 20:00
I am hoping Ferguson plays and bats 3.
hope so too :)
Kane McGoodwin
5 Feb 2009, 21:06
1. Hopes
2. Warner
3. Ferguson
4. Clarke
5. Hussey D
6. Hussey M
7. Voges
8. Haddin
9. Johnson
10. Bracken
11 Tait
Why play White when both Voges & D Hussey offer more with bat & ball? Can easily get 10 overs along with Clarke.
Hilf unlucky.
Younger & more exciting team.
High Ryder
5 Feb 2009, 21:24
Voges has to be the most overrated player in Australian cricket. How he made the squad has me gobsmacked.
rdhopkins2
5 Feb 2009, 22:00
That NZ side looks like a bunch of schoolkids. Surely we can win this, even without Punter and the poor form thus far this series. Hopefully Warner makes a big one and the team plays some great cricket.
Wonder what Harrry Potter will have to say this time?
If Australia can't win this series, then darn it. That NZ side is very average. From the form from our past 3 games, Zimbabwe would give us a run for our money.
stmookeyj
5 Feb 2009, 23:52
From the form from our past 3 games, Zimbabwe would give us a run for our money.
Zimbots are actually in winning form winning 7 of their last 10 (2 against Bangladesh, 5 against Kenya) and we are simply not. Once again, I never underestimate NZ in a 50 over contest, and simply speaking we cannot afford to let Vettori go for 20-odd off his 10.
A full strength NZ, I agree shouldn't be taken lightly in ODI's,. However besides McCullum and to a lesser extent Taylor, the rest of their batting side is very inexperienced, so I don't see NZ getting big scores at all. Question is, are the Australian batsman even half competent now to chase down or obtain a satisfactory score?
New Zealand to smash a Bangladesh-like Australian side and expose the 'captain in waiting' Michael Clarke as a pretender.
chaddles
6 Feb 2009, 07:16
Haddin should open with Warner IMO - has looked good when opening for Australia and NSW previously and should be given a go. Hussey isn't up to it, and don't want to see too much shuffling of the order.
bombersno1
6 Feb 2009, 08:00
Can Ferguson or Voges open?
pinkus maximus
6 Feb 2009, 08:07
Can Ferguson or Voges open?
No, well maybe they could but they don't do it domestically. Re the guy who said Voges shouldn't be in the team. 65 ODD's at an average of 46 not good enough?
aussie1st
6 Feb 2009, 08:39
Rather not move non openers to opener with only 1 game experience between the two. I would try Dussey at 6 or 7 where he can just go out and smash it rather than building an inns which he has failed so far at this level. Voges can build an inns so I would go
Haddin/Hopes
Warner
Ferguson
Clarke
Voges
Hussey
Dussey
Hopes/Haddin
Johnson
Bracken
Hilfy/Tait
bombersno1
6 Feb 2009, 09:01
Haddin opening gives me as much confidence as Warner lasting 50 overs..not much at all! Hopes..god that would be worse..but who else is there.
You would think White would play at the MCG and one of Ferg or Voges misses out along with either Hilffy or Tait. Given Ferg made 89 on Wednesday I would give him the nod and I think Hillfy and Tait are rotating so Hillfy will most likely play unless Tait has rested enough from Sunday.
A half decent score and this game will be won. NZ got the wobbles on a low chase so something with some bite should hurt.
240 will be enough to win today and they will.
bombersno1
6 Feb 2009, 10:04
What does White add beside being equally rubbish at both bowling and batting in ODI's? Please tell me I would really love to know. He has no temperment and he has failed numerous times with bat and ball. Play your best side, White is not in our best side!
Couldn't agree more how a bloke who averages 20+ with the bat and can't bowl continues to get chances at international level i'm not sure. He'll obviously play today given it's in Vic, but there is no way he should be as he's not in the best XI even in this 13 man squad, play both Fergy and Voges.
bombersno1
6 Feb 2009, 10:27
Couldn't agree more how a bloke who averages 20+ with the bat and can't bowl continues to get chances at international level i'm not sure. He'll obviously play today given it's in Vic, but there is no way he should be as he's not in the best XI even in this 13 man squad, play both Fergy and Voges.
People bag Voges but hell at least he can show some temperament at this level. White is terrible, just a glorified slogger who fails time and time again..and we already have 1 slogger in Warner! He should not play. See I might be old fashioned but I come from society that whenever possible play your BEST SIDE..no token selections. These token selections have caused us to lose the last 5 ODI's FFS! Voges is a better version of White and Ferguson replaces Ponting at 3. Easy, and I'd be tempted to play Hilfenhaus ahead of Tait but that selection would not worry me either way.
Cousin Jed
6 Feb 2009, 12:00
NZ have won the toss and will bowl.
1 David Warner, 2 Michael Clarke (capt), 3 Brad Haddin (wk), 4 Michael Hussey, 5 David Hussey, 6 Callum Ferguson, 7 Cameron White, 8 James Hopes. 9 Mitchell Johnson, 10 Nathan Bracken, 11 Ben Hilfenhaus
TimeIsRunningOut
6 Feb 2009, 12:01
Clarke opening, Haddin at 3 and Ferguson at 6? WTF?
Kiwis won the toss and will bowl first. They're unchanged, Australia bring in Ferguson, Voges and Hilfenhaus for Marsh, Ponting and Tait.
aussie1st
6 Feb 2009, 12:04
Our lineup Australia: 1 David Warner, 2 Michael Clarke (capt), 3 Brad Haddin (wk), 4 Michael Hussey, 5 David Hussey, 6 Callum Ferguson, 7 Cameron White, 8 James Hopes. 9 Mitchell Johnson, 10 Nathan Bracken, 11 Ben Hilfenhaus
Ferguson should be at 5 for mind or even 4.
Well that is a different setup compared to many expected, if it works than it will be called a 'masterstroke' however if it fails people will call for Pups head.
Drummond
6 Feb 2009, 12:08
So pumped to see Ferg in the side but batting at 6 is just flat out stupid. He should be at 4, 5 at the lowest. 6? Clarke you idiot.
roostersgal4eva
6 Feb 2009, 12:09
I would of like ferg a little higher but ah well - at least he's there
for those who are wondering Taity is injured again :(:(
aussie1st
6 Feb 2009, 12:10
If they wanted a guy at 6 then Voges should have been picked as he is a bigger hitter.
FiveStrings
6 Feb 2009, 12:14
We're not restricted to the named order, fellas.
First ball duck to Clarke (here's hoping) :D :thumbsu:
TimeIsRunningOut
6 Feb 2009, 12:20
Punter is having a rest, you bring an in form number 3 to replace him and where do you play him? 6. Genius :rolleyes:
Please shut up about Warner ffs!
Edit: He's not ready for this level. Needs to be dropped.
Warner fails again. Stupid shot
TimeIsRunningOut
6 Feb 2009, 12:26
Another patheticly soft dismissal for Warner.
Drummond
Warner. :rolleyes: So sick of the hype for a guy that had one good T20 innings.
Get him out PLEASE! Hughes >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Warner.
TheBrownDog
Hopeless by Warner.
Kiwis played him like a fool. He's not mentally ready for this.
Get him out of the side before he gets destroyed mentally :(
Drummond
6 Feb 2009, 12:28
Did the crowd seriously just boo Haddin? Gee we're a fickle bunch.
Unless it was the Kiwis, and I can't imagine there were that many, that's pathetic.
roostersgal4eva
6 Feb 2009, 12:29
Kiwi fans giving it to Haddin - sheeps by name and nature
hope he gets a ton!!
roostersgal4eva
6 Feb 2009, 12:29
Get him out of the side before he gets destroyed mentally :(
agreed - they are ruining the guy
Can we drop this grade cricketer out of the national team now?
RE: Warner... party over?
Kiwi fans giving it to Haddin - sheeps by name and nature
hope he gets a ton!!
They have every right to Boo Haddin
No, if you even mention droping Warner you have no idea about cricket apparently :rolleyes:
Tony's on his soapbox :eek: :thumbsd:
roostersgal4eva
6 Feb 2009, 12:35
it was up to the umpire - there is no way he knew you idiot
kiwis should check their fact before you start making assumptions
XFactor1979
6 Feb 2009, 12:35
the crowd's almost as big as a game between two neutral nations in the old triangular series
should have really given warner a rest for this match, by 'rest' i mean not come back.
Team Mo'
6 Feb 2009, 12:36
I think I've seen state games with a bigger crowd...
WTF has Warner changed his game to looking for singles? I am pretty sure that is not what he is picked for. Chewing up a couple of overs for bugger all runs is doing no-one any favours, the run rate is way down putting the new batsman under even more pressure. If he gets us off to a flier and then gets out, no biggie. Id rather be 1/50 off five overs than 0/10.
I am all for him being in the side but while the field is up get on with it!
it was up to the umpire - there is no way he knew you idiot
kiwis should check their fact before you start making assumptions
Have you ever kept wicket? ever?
Every keeper in the world would know if their hand hit the stumps 1st
As for the facts they are there on tape his hand hit the stumps 1st
WTF has Warner changed his game to looking for singles? I am pretty sure that is not what he is picked for. Chewing up a couple of overs for bugger all runs is doing no-one any favours, the run rate is way down putting the new batsman under even more pressure. If he gets us off to a flier and then gets out, no biggie. Id rather be 1/50 off five overs than 0/10.
I am all for him being in the side but while the field is up get on with it!
The reason why he is struggling is because he has been worked out. He can only hit big on the on side and has one shot.
He needs to go back, play first class cricket and more domestic one dayers and imrpove his batting and strokeplay. Should never have been picked in the first place after the 20/20 game. Selectors fell for public opinion rather than smart choices. Keeping him in the side now could really set him back through lack of confidence.
aussie1st
6 Feb 2009, 12:45
Finally a 4 but still way too much blocking leading to dot balls. At worst we need to be getting singles.
Team Mo'
6 Feb 2009, 12:46
Dominate batting display here :)
Do you consider batsmen who don't walk when they nick the ball cheats? What happened with Haddin is no worse.
It is an error on the umpires part as much as anything and i am amazed they haven't copped more criticism over the incident.
Bombers_Forever
6 Feb 2009, 12:51
I think I've seen state games with a bigger crowd...
A Friday afternoon when most people are back at work or school - at least on a Sunday you can see the whole game, not just half of it.
As for Warner - lets face it, he is only there still because we have so many unfit players and Ponting is being 'rested'.
aussie1st
6 Feb 2009, 12:52
Clarke test success has really stuffed his attacking flair
davey_magik
6 Feb 2009, 12:56
Do you consider batsmen who don't walk when they nick the ball cheats? What happened with Haddin is no worse.
It is an error on the umpires part as much as anything and i am amazed they haven't copped more criticism over the incident.
Yes I do consider them cheats mate, and I think Haddin would have had some doubt in his mind whether Broom was out but he chose not to ask the umpire to double check. It is the same when Dhoni claimed a catch off Pietersen last year and it was clearly a bump ball. Poor sportsmanship by both of them.
I don't mind the fact that Pup is more solid and less flash than he was a year or two ago, but not sure it has benefited his ODI game anywhere near as much as it has his Test game.
Haddin got what he deserves and is on his way back to the dressing room :thumbsu:
aussie1st
6 Feb 2009, 12:57
Here we go again, Haddin is playing himself out of the ODI side atm.
TheBrownDog
Poor form Reifell. :thumbsd: Your country needed you then. :p
Team Mo'
Haddin got what he deserves and is on his way back to the dressing room :thumbsu:
Oh god...:rolleyes:
Team Mo'
6 Feb 2009, 12:58
Dussey needs to get more then a 20 or 30 today. A 70+ is required to post a good score me thinks.
Ignore the troll.
Cheap dismissal, poor form.
TheBrownDog
6 Feb 2009, 12:58
Haddin got what he deserves
He sure did.
He got a Cricket Australia contract while you are merely relegated to sniping at him on an internet forum.
Yes I do consider them cheats mate, and I think Haddin would have had some doubt in his mind whether Broom was out but he chose not to ask the umpire to double check. It is the same when Dhoni claimed a catch off Pietersen last year and it was clearly a bump ball. Poor sportsmanship by both of them.
Fair enough.
Personally i expect the umpires to do the job required of them. They are there for a reason.
Do you consider batsmen who don't walk when they nick the ball cheats?
Yes I Do
aussie1st
6 Feb 2009, 13:00
Should have got a form player in at 4 i.e Ferguson. Oh well lets see if Dussey can finally build an inns.
Love how the Aussies defend a cheat.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
6 Feb 2009, 13:07
Nice to see the ground is full, great turn out from the Victorians.
Ah Jealousy is a curse
Cousin Jed
6 Feb 2009, 13:15
Are they still talking about Warner's 20/20 innings?
Costanza_
6 Feb 2009, 13:18
Another piss poor start. What happened to trying to capitalise on the first 15 overs with the requisite fielding restrictions?
aussie1st
6 Feb 2009, 13:18
Well in Pup now hes coming back to his best.
TimeIsRunningOut
6 Feb 2009, 13:19
Yes I Do
So you'd class pretty much every batsman in the world a cheat? Fair enough.
Fair enough.
Personally i expect the umpires to do the job required of them. They are there for a reason.
didak04. fair enough but in cricket there a few unwritten laws that the palyers are expected to follow.
You don’t run when the ball hits you from a throw or a play back as a batsman, you don’t claim a catch if you don’t know you’ve taken it cleanly and when the keeper takes the stumps in error he puts his hand up to it.
Wally Grout did once.
I’m not going to have a big go at Haddin but if the Kiwis are going too boo him lets not to high and mighty about it because if it was McCullum who did it we would be giving him heaps.
Mind you McCullum does have his own dirty laundry running someone out when they were simply going to congratulate Sangakarra on as ton.
Cousin Jed
6 Feb 2009, 13:26
If Hussey fails today I would drop him for good.
Team Mo'
6 Feb 2009, 13:26
Dussey is goneski.
Team Mo'
6 Feb 2009, 13:27
If Hussey fails today I would drop him for good.
Which one?
aussie1st
6 Feb 2009, 13:28
Do these guys know how to run between the wickets? :rolleyes:
Dussey like Warner just isn't working at this level.
Hussey must be getting close to getting the drop now.
Cousin Jed
6 Feb 2009, 13:29
Wow. talk about a jinx
FFS, the footy season can't come quick enough.
aussie1st
6 Feb 2009, 13:31
As expected no Ferguson, I would have got him in hes much better when he has time.
TheBrownDog
6 Feb 2009, 13:31
More ****ing runouts.
The rest of our batting lineup should fold like tissue paper now... true to form.
grimlock
6 Feb 2009, 13:32
see ya Dudssey
Cousin Jed
6 Feb 2009, 13:33
The more Victorians we pick, the worse Australia performs.
I'd go if the match was between two international sides, Australia arn't worth watching in person these days.
TheBrownDog
6 Feb 2009, 13:35
I'd go if the match was between two international sides, Australia arn't worth watching in person these days.
Your trolling is Dutch cricket team standard at best.
It's a friday, don't you really have something better to do?